Five reasons why voters of Permatang Pasir must vote for PAS/PR candidate Hassan Man and reject Umno/BN candidate Rohaizat Othman

There are five important reasons why the 20,290 voters of Permatang Pasir, regardless of race or religion, should vote for the Pas/Pakatan Rakyat candidate Mohd Salleh Man and reject the Umno/Barisan Nasional candidate Rohaizat Othman in the by-election polling tomorrow.

They are:

• Firstly, declare what all Malaysians know but no Umno, MCA, Gerakan, MIC or Barisan Nasional component party Minister or leader dare to say – that Rohaizat is not fit to be candidate for any elective office because of his being struck off the lawyers’ rolls under the Legal Profession Act for breach of trust, dishonesty and unprofessional conduct “unbefitting” a lawyer which “brings the legal profession into disrepute”. The media conference statement by his former law firm partner, Yusri Isahak, in Kuala Lumpur yesterday has done nothing to cleanse his “tainted” reputation or made academic the question: “How can a person not honest enough to be a lawyer be trusted to be a candidate for elective office, let alone to be elected as a State Assemblyman.

• Secondly, demonstrate that public shock and dismay over the mysterious death of Teoh Beng Hock at MACC Headquarters on July 16, 2009 are the response of all Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, as it concerns the value of a human life and public confidence in the efficiency, commitment, independence, integrity and professionalism of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) to declare war on corruption instead of declaring war on Pakatan Rakyat;

• Thirdly, articulate the concerns of all right-thinking Malaysians across the race, religion and political divide for a thorough and comprehensive investigation into the causes and circumstances of the mysterious death of Teoh at the MACC precincts, which can only be done through a Royal Commission of Inquiry and not a mere inquest – and public concerns about Teoh’s death and the MACC have been further underlined by the appearance of a mysterious letter purportedly written by MACC officers containing serious allegations including collusion between a Barisan Nasional leader and a top ranking Selangor MACC officer;

• Fourthly, expose the hypocrisy of the Barisan Nasional by-election theme of “Anak Emas” for Permatang Pasir when the only “Anak Emas” is none other than Rohaisat Othman and to demand fair, just and progressive national policies by the Barisan Nasional Federal Government for all Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or territory, to be treated as “Anak Emas” of the country.

• Fifthly, give true meaning to the 1Malaysia slogan of Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the 52nd National Day theme on August 31 by deploring in the strongest possible terms the divisive, irresponsible and dangerous politics of double-speak and lies exploiting the race and religious cards to polarize Malaysians by playing a different tune to different voter ethnic groups – as alleging that Parliamentary Opposition Leader and PKR chief, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is “a traitor to the Malay race” and that PAS has sold out Islam to DAP for the Malay audience while accusing DAP of being a stooge of PAS among the Chinese electorate.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 12:58 pm

Last time RM160,000, if he becomes state assemblyman then 100 billion ringgit coz more money to play with!

2. #2 by pwcheng on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:14 pm

UMNO’s criteria and selection of leaders is clearly written on their face. “Preferably not trustworthy and had previously committed beach of trust” That is their most important criteria. Meritocracy is never found in their dictionary.

3. #3 by frankyapp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:20 pm

There’s handly any reason at all why the 20,000 plus voters of permatang pasir want to vote for BN ,or Umno candidate Rok who has a money cheating case around his neck.The voters there can see for themselves,this umno guy is untrustworthy and it’s beyong truth and common sense should any literate voters still want to vote for him.From a pretty mature voters point of view,a well trained monkey is more worthy than this guy.Hence PR/PAS landslide victory is not unexpected.

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:20 pm

Only need one reason … the BN candidate has no integrity. He has denied that he was wrong when he has been found to be so. That is enough.

5. #5 by BoycottLocalPapers on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:51 pm

You can give 5 million reasons why we must vote for PAS but that will not make me change my mind about PAS.

I hate UMNO for being racist but I won’t vote for extremists like PAS either.

If PAS in power, we can’t get the chance to see Avril Lavigne, Michael Learns To Rock, etc.

Pemuda PAS bantah konsert MLTR

Pemuda PAS membantah keras keputusan kerajaan membenarkan kumpulan Michael Learns To Rock (MLTR) mengadakan persembahannya di Genting Highlands awal bulan depan.

Konsert ini “penghinaan besar” kepada umat Islam dan negara ini, kata ketua dewan itu Nasrudin Hassan hari ini.

“Pemuda PAS mengutuk sekeras-kerasnya jemaah menteri yang membuat keputusan ini.

“Di mana ia adalah suatu tindakan yang kurang ajar dan penghinaan besar terhadap umat Islam di Malaysia,” katanya.

http://malaysiakini.com/news/111261

There is no hope left for Malaysia – the ruling party is extremely racist while the opposition party that could be in power after the next general election is extremely religionist. :(

Why can’t DAP just partner with PKR?

If only UMNO are not racist & corrupts, I would have supported Barisan Nasional.

6. #6 by k1980 on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:52 pm

Appoint Ro Hai Chat as the new PM, so that he can get his paws on RM 161 billion to play-play with. And you can expect him to blame Moo Hee Din for taking the money.

7. #7 by taiking on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 2:12 pm

Aiyah 160,000 thousand only ma. See 12.5billion and they can argue everyday in the press until they go blue in their faces. Still. Nothing happens. And look at beng hock. Already six feet under and those umno idiots are as indifferent as ever.

Actually pwcheng is closer to the truth with his view. Umno have no merit. Umno only play dirty games to maintain their greedy needs. So to umno a suitable candidate must be one who is able to do exactly that i.e. no merit and full of dirty tricks. Who could be better than a former advocate and solicitor who has been struck off the role for dishonesty?

I for one cannot imagine how they could still steam ahead so doggedly with what is now public knowledge that their candidate is seriously short/lacking in the honesty dept. But then again its umno we are talking about and for umno “apa pun boleh”. “Semua boleh bincang. Segala-galanya boleh di settle.” Umno is known for no integrity and yet umno could go on winning election after election for 50yrs.

But on reflection I can see that Umno is a goner. And I say this with a high degree of certainty. Umno may kick a spanner or two into pakatan’s hobs and gears but that will not arrest their demise. Pakatan’s position may be affected somewhat by those spanners. No one doubts that. But the fact of the matter is this: umno’s position vis-a-vis pakatan’s is NOT related or governed by inverse proportionality. In short, the demise of umno is a certainty and will take place regardless of what happens to pakatan.

The spanners in pakatan’s works (thanks to umno) will benefit pakatan. It would certainly strengthen pakatan in the process because it would work as a mechanism for eradicating undesirable elements and practices as well as underserving members, pretenders and opportunists within pakatan.

8. #8 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 2:18 pm

I want to ask this … why in Kelantan PAS is not deemed as extreme? In Kelantan I was informed by NON MUSLIMs that they support PAS. PAS seems to be very fair there.

Why out of Kelantan it goes awry? Why the fights in Kedah & Selangor? Trying to be smart ar5e is it?

9. #9 by k1980 on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 2:28 pm

Rohai is cussing: “Lu orang Cina curi RM12,500,000,000.00 boleh; limpeh saja ambik RM161,000.00 and lu mahu disqualify limpeh.”

10. #10 by my oumrie on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 2:43 pm

Bro Kit, don’t we have a chief minster who’s “not fit” to contest as deputy president of umno because of moni politics but is fit to govern his state? So, what’s the difference, after all this is only a small job in Penang mei….

11. #11 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 2:45 pm

k1980 … ROFL!

12. #12 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 4:25 pm

taiking :
    Aiyah 160,000 thousand only ma. See 12.5billion and they can argue everyday in the press until they go blue in their faces. Still. Nothing happens. And look at beng hock. Already six feet under and those umno idiots are as indifferent as ever.

Very soon, our ringgit will turn to rupiah, thanks to UMNO, the self-professed champion of Islam.

13. #13 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 4:28 pm

SpeakUp :
    I want to ask this … why in Kelantan PAS is not deemed as extreme? In Kelantan I was informed by NON MUSLIMs that they support PAS. PAS seems to be very fair there.
    Why out of Kelantan it goes awry? Why the fights in Kedah & Selangor? Trying to be smart ar5e is it?

Elementary, Mr Watson. Kelantan is under Nik Aziz. Wait till he retires and your question will become irrelevant, LOL.

14. #14 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 4:51 pm

ekompute … no good no good!

15. #15 by ctc537 on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 5:52 pm

The first reason listed by LKS is convincing enough for Permatang Pasir voters to make the obvious choice. PAS victory in tomorrow’s polls is a foregone conclusion. There will be no need for BN to conduct a post-mortem on their defeat.

16. #16 by Make A Difference on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 6:14 pm

I think the 1st reason is sufficient. The rest are irrelevant. Why cloud the issue.

17. #17 by yhsiew on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 7:07 pm

It is not surprising if PR gets a reduced majority vote in the upcoming Permatang Pasir by-election. Read what Hassan Ali has done. Why did he make this announcement at this crucial time? I suspect Hassan Ali is a mole of BN.

Hassan Ali’s religious police to nab errant Muslims
    ===============================

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 24 — Mosque committee members such as the imam and the bilal will be given powers to arrest Muslims drinking alcohol in public, in a move that highlights the fundamentalist face of PAS and could scare off non-Muslim voters from backing the Pakatan Rakyat (PR).

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/35927-hassan-alis-religious-police-to-nab-errant-muslims

18. #18 by katdog on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 7:52 pm

Never count your chickens before they hatch. Although at this point it seems that PAS will win this seat, but BN is looking for a narrow majority to give them a psychological edge.

After all, when has BN needed to win elections in order to rule (remember Perak)?. BN merely needs to shatter PR’s confidence so that it can get kataks to jump to their side.

Selangor and Kedah governments are next on the sights of BN. Therefore it is important for PR to win with a good majority.

19. #19 by ctc537 on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 8:27 pm

BN/UMNO lost the state seat even when Pak Lah was at the height of his popularity in 2004. So, I think BN will lose by 2000 votes. The use of development card in Permatang Pasir will not be as effective as in Manik Urai because Penang, unlike Kelantan, is a small state and not isolated.

20. #20 by GilaPolitic on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 9:57 pm

Hello LKS,

Well! now PP voters need to decide who to vote or choose on Tuesday 25.08.2009 on a Ghost Month. Let us read and listen to the voters comments in Permatang Pasir today.

A Malay voter said: ” It is better to vote a PAS Ghost we know for years rather than choosing a Devil UMNO who cheated his client money. Next time the Devil UMNO will corrupt all wang rakyat allocated for Permatang Pasir”.

A Chinese voter said: ” It is better to vote a PAS Ghost we dont know but reject the Money UMNO sucker who cheated the poor client we know today. Give Teoh’s his fair judgement to punish BN tomorrow”.”

A Indian voter said: ” It is better to get rid of the Devil UMNO candidate we know for 52 years for incite hatred among Malaysians. Let Makkal Sakti, People Power kicked the Devil UMNO out tomorrow and vote for MOON Pas ! ”

So your PP vote is very important , “A vote for PAS is a vote for Justice and Democracy!
    A vote for BN is a vote for Money Politics, Corruptions and ISA.” You decide !!

21. #21 by peter sng on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 10:11 pm

Yursi as an UMNO member don’t have a choice but was coerce to come out and made the 2nd statement. This, the rakyat know is the modus operandi of UMNOputras, but sorry lah it is already to late. PAS to win by a bigger majority.

22. #22 by vengai on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 10:23 pm

Uncle KIt,
    Why all the announcement of the people who take U-Turn on their statement and those defecting “Katak” do announcement in KL.
    That Radzi Katak Kurap from PKR said he is quit PKR and stay as an indipendabt in KL.
    Than the Yusri fellow who is That Rohaizat partner take a u-turn on his statement from condemming his friend and turn supportive also in KL.
    Is that after these traitors meet That JIBBY, Fart Dotty and TOTO TAN?
    Friends in these blog, please answer my curious questions?
    Curiosity kills a cat………..

23. #23 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 11:06 pm

SpeakUp :
    Only need one reason … the BN candidate has no integrity. He has denied that he was wrong when he has been found to be so. That is enough.

Ya, I agree with SpeakUp that we only need one reason. We need a two-party system, period.

So let’s give PR one chance to be the federal government this 13th general election to clean up the syit. We all know that Anwar is no angel, but he cannot be worse than UMNO. He is literally a chip off the old block and at worst, it’s same soup different bowl. And if PR does a syit job, we can still get BN back after five years. It’s like having your cake and eating it too. I can bet my last, opphhhs, now left 30 sen (just now just eat roti canai, LOL)… that you will get a newly refurbished BN with a new team…. no more Mooooooooo, mooooooo, momo chacha, kekekeke.

24. #24 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 11:12 pm

katdog :
    BN merely needs to shatter PR’s confidence so that it can get kataks to jump to their side.

If you give me RM10 million, I will also become a katak. UMNO is dirt rich. Just imagine that even a useless component party like MCA can have RM2 billion in assets! Just give PR a 90.4% majority and let the kataks jump. It would be interesting to see BN forming the government with an initial 9.6% minority, LOL.

25. #25 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 11:17 pm

vengai :
    Why all the announcement of the people who take U-Turn on their statement and those defecting “Katak” do announcement in KL.
    That Radzi Katak Kurap from PKR said he is quit PKR and stay as an independent in KL.
    Than the Yusri fellow who is That Rohaizat partner take a u-turn on his statement from condemming his friend and turn supportive also in KL.
    Is that after these traitors meet That JIBBY, Fart Dotty and TOTO TAN?
    Friends in these blog, please answer my curious questions?
    Curiosity kills a cat………..

Elementary, Mr Watson. UMNO wants these kataks to commit themselves by making an announcement first before the money actually change hands and the money is in KL. Doesn’t need a genius to figure that out, LOL.

26. #26 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 11:19 pm

P/S: Cash term only, no cheques.

27. #27 by vengai on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 11:50 pm

ekompute,
    Thanks for that clarification. I ni bangang sikit. I thought the cash is bank in by the UBN Officers of Corruption Enforcent straight to these “Kataks” accounts…..

28. #28 by monsterballssgoh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 5:15 am

Papers are smearing keDAILan and PAS ..with ministers predicting end of opposition.
    If you depend on the papers…you will think how noble….righteous and strong UMNO is.
    Now go read the 5 reasons why UMNO should be voted out in Permatang Pasir.
    Those are strong factual reasons…and involving Malaysian’s future.
    Does one PAS man resigned and giving his so call, reasons…sound noble and truthful to you?
    Go ahead..resign …but why at this time? Why not earlier or after the by-election?
    Anyway….PR still have vast majority to manage the State….even two more is to resign…no big deal.
    Money is still the root of all evil in holy Ramadan month.
    I guess more so needed now.. to the devils and hypocrites..to brag and show off…coming Hari Raya.
    You can never hope UMNO most of supporters to change for the better. Most are so greedy and downright arrogant….or just plain stupid.
    UMNO is succeeding to rule with laws of the jungle to his own members…but not to the vast majority Malaysians….who do not trust them at all.

29. #29 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:44 am

Najib is brilliant, extremely cunning, and versatile, unlike his predecessor. He has a bag of tricks in his head and seems to have done the following…. withdraw from the Penanti by-election (an unprecedented move) and wait for the durian to drop (i.e. waiting to invite any independent candidate who wins to join UMNO/BN), buy ADUNs directly into BN, and now instead of doing that, more refined… buy ADUNs to become independents. Honestly, we must take our hats off to him for his political acumen.

30. #30 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 8:40 am

What is to be noted is that Najib respond to a hopeless campaign for BN is to dig in deeper and attack the opposition with things that are even further than the issue at hand. Talking about PR problems rather than BN and their own..An desperate offense in the face of failed defensive strategy.

Given Najib record, everyone knows its very difficult to trust him, more so than any other PM before him. The only one who does not seem to understand it, is himself. He does not think he cannot be trusted and again and again think he can get either PAS or PKR to trust him..Even if he succeed in a few, there is no way he can get most of them to trust him enough. So the goal is actually to get the few strategic weak ones to trust him so that he can wreck havoc on the opposition. But this is where his intelletual pretension fails him. He assumes that the other side is also as dirty as him or not organised enough that the public can trust the opposition that his effort will fail for sure. Its a long shot a best. In other words, he will go for the long shot so long as it does not cost him personally. This is someone that will gamble away everything of ours if he can find an excuse for it.

To me the irresponsibility is just immoral which tells me the man is just an immoral person which we all suspect him to be and many already believe..

31. #31 by monsterballssgoh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 9:39 am

Ekompute…No matter how brilliant a crook is…half the time needed to spend defending himself…and half to think out ways and means to win votes..is an idiot.
    Is that what we voted UMNO in for..to talk about themselves…non stop?
    Look at the supposedly brilliant Mahathir…these 5 years. No more power….all exposed…his character…so clear. You consider him brilliant?
    Why…governing a country…all Presidents..Prime Ministers..in the world are being promoted as brilliant buggers…but infact…some are simply low class.. insincere actors..and clear low IQ guys.
    The media of promotional work..advertising and marketing work wonders.
    Unfortunately…in Malaysia…lead by UMNO…the marketing and promotional work are mostly to tell Malaysians….how great we are.. living under UMNO government which is bunkum and nonsense.
    If UMNO is great…no need to promote. Results will tell..and all by-elections…keep quiet and win them all.
    It seems UMNO is short of funds now. We don’t hear roads and lamposts are patched and replaced ..like Lunas.,….but you can bet..angpows from UMNO are flying like no body business.

32. #32 by k1980 on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 9:54 am

Rohai kicking his 2nd wife in frustration: “Itu GRO sudah diberi RM100,000 untuk kencing saja, mengapa gua tak boleh RM161,000 untuk gua punya kerja?”

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/5guest/Article/index_html

33. #33 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 11:20 am

The final “Intelligence” report this morning say PAS will win by a reduced majority of about 2,000 – 2,500.

34. #34 by BoycottLocalPapers on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 1:42 pm

I hope there’ll be Michael Learns To Rock’s fans in Permatang Pasir. :D

35. #35 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 2:24 pm

Too many people underestimate Najib … hahahahaaaaa … don’t be foolish. This one is smart … like I said he wants to be known as The Most Beloved PM. He will achieve this if he got the guts to run the show his way and not UMNO’s way.

36. #36 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 2:46 pm

This report is good:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/26077/84/

Maybe its time that both sides agree to disagree. If that is the result of the meeting then its a very good start. :0)

37. #37 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 3:24 pm

Hmmmmmm. What’s this rumour about a SECOND Deputy Prime Minister for …hmmmmmm? To countercheck …hmmmmmmm?

Naw. Just another rumour.

38. #38 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 3:48 pm

DSAI denied the meeting took place … from my inside sources, he was there. Games are being played …healing cannot take place for the nation. Like I said it before, some politicians who are power crazy cannot be trusted.

39. #39 by taiking on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 5:38 pm

About the hush-hush meeting between anwar and najib. If that is true and that further the meeting was initiated by najib then I see it as a significant indication coming from najib. If najib is in so strong a position he actually does not need anwar at all. He can cont to sneer at anwar and snub him and prosecute him for all sorts of alleged offences.

40. #40 by alaneth on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 11:54 pm

Sdr Lim Kit Siang. I think this article is very inappropriate. You are blindly supporting a fanatical Islamist party who’s main goal is establishing an Islamic State.

Sdr Karpal Singh will never ever write this type of article in his blog. I am supporting DAP, but I’m against PAS.

Given a choice, UMNO is better than PAS. At least it develops the economy. Given a choice, would you prefer to stay in Johor or Kelantan???

41. #41 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 3:52 am

taiking :
    About the hush-hush meeting between anwar and najib. If that is true and that further the meeting was initiated by najib then I see it as a significant indication coming from najib. If najib is in so strong a position he actually does not need anwar at all. He can cont to sneer at anwar and snub him and prosecute him for all sorts of alleged offences.

We cannot underestimate Najib. He is very versatile. I won’t be surprised if PKR joins UMNO, just like what happened to Semangat 46, LOL. In many ways, PKR is like Semangat 46. Moreover, Najib may be uncomfortable with Muhyiddin.