DAP does not insult Islam

By Aaron Ngui

I am an ardent reader of your blog. Your insights into the Malaysian political landscape are nothing short of biting and accurate. May you continue to write, and serve as MP, for a long time to come.

I’m writing this letter to you in response to your posting entitled “DAP does not insult Islam or any religion and does not condone any DAP leader or member in insulting Islam or any religion”. Your points in the posting are good and well noted. The post is in rebuttal to the recent brouhaha over Nik Aziz’s supposed comments. In addition, I have never seen any leader from DAP or Pakatan Rakyat insulting Islam.

Might I be so bold to point out that there might be errors in the news reports over Nik Aziz’s comments. I think the point to note is that Nik Aziz NEVER condoned DAP, or any other political party, to insult Malaysia’s official religion. From the report(s), he only opinied on why DAP leaders allegedly insulted the religion – a shallow understanding. Again, the PAS spiritual leader DID NOT give the green light for anyone to insult the religion; all he did was presumed that people who (supposedly and stupidly) insulted Islam were doing so out of ignorance. This is entirely different from what the report(s) presume.

Another point to note is the report has no direct quotation of Nik Aziz having no objection insulting Islam. As any first-year journalism student can tell you, a direct quotation is a word-for-word reproduction of what somebody said in writing. If Nik Aziz was supposed to say what he had said, any reporter worth his or her salt would put it in a “direct-open-inverted-and-close-inverted-commas-quote” to make the report as strong as can be. I know I would, being a former journalist.

Keep up the good work YB and thank you for reading my 2cents.

1. #1 by All For The Road on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 1:24 pm

It’s so obvious UMNO is waging a psychological war on religion against PAS to weaken the Pakatan Rakyat coalition. UMNO has a hidden political agenda on its hands!

2. #2 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 1:30 pm

Some people equate insulting Muslims with insulting Islam. I am fully aware that insulting Islam is wrong in a country where the official religion is Islam. In any case, Islam, like any other religion, teaches one to be good, so what is there to insult?

But is insulting Muslims also wrong? If a Muslim tells lies, practises megabuck corruption, abuses his power, does evil things… you mean we cannot insult him merely because he is Muslim. All I know is that he is an insult to Islam. So who is insulting Islam in Malaysia? Seems like quite many people.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 1:48 pm

The donation of a Public Address System by Teresa Kok to a mosque is solid proof that DAP does not insult Islam.

4. #4 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 2:01 pm

yhsiew :
    The donation of a Public Address System by Teresa Kok to a mosque is solid proof that DAP does not insult Islam.

No comments, I didn’t make any donation. Am I then insulting Islam, LOL.

If there is one man who stands out as an exemplary model Muslim in Malaysia, it is Nik Aziz, a hands-down no contest… And who is second? Really no idea. But definitely not Abdullah Badawi, the founder of Islam Hadhari. What is Islam Hadhari? Until today, I am still scratching my head. Under the Badawi administration, we see some of the worst excesses of the use of ISA, even making ISA a “protective” act. That is lying through the teeth in order to commit a gross abuse. Twisting and turning to make black turn into white. Is lying through the teeth part of Islam Hadhari? If so, better go back to the original version of Islam.

5. #5 by frankyapp on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 2:06 pm

Hi ekompute,you are absolutely correct,insulting Islam is not ok but insulting a muslim is ok when he or she has committed some very bad thing.When muslims become bad,it’s not because of Islam,hence again I say ,insulting a muslim is NOT equal to insulting Islam.

6. #6 by DAP man on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 2:24 pm

Gutter journalism, practiced by Utusan, Berita and RTM/TV3 is meant for the uninformed, illiterate, naive, extremist and plain stupid UMNO Malays.
    These are in the minority.
    The vast majority of the Malays are smart and they know the truth. They will not fall into this UMNO’s trap which is using all devilish means to start racial and religious conflicts in the hope that another May 13 will keep UMNO in power for all eternity.
    The Malays in PR outnumber those in UMNO.

If UMNO has the backing of majority Malays, there will be no need to resort to such uncivilized and barbaric tactics.

7. #7 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 2:28 pm

The greatness of Nik Aziz lies in the fact that he is incorruptible. Even though his position offers him tremendous opportunities to enrich himself and to live in a palatial mansion like other Menteri Besars, he lives in a house that is no better than mine. How many people can do?

Let’s not talk about people like me who have no power. We only know when we are in power. See what monkey things we will do when corruption is so tempting. Someone puts a million dollars on your table and all your so-called principles go down the drain. Temptation is hard to resist, but Nik Aziz is proven stuff. He is not a one-day Menteri Besar, being holding the position since 1990. That’s some 18 years ago. Many would have become billionaires.

So who upholds Islam better than Nik Aziz? Muhyiddin? Makes my toe laugh.

8. #8 by AhPek on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 3:03 pm

Paul Getty the man named the richest American by Fortune Magazine in 1957,once remarked that ‘Every man has a price.’. But then again he hasn’t met any Nik Aziz yet!
    He has met plenty in the likes of Mamak,Khir Toyo,Muhyiddin,Mohammed Taib,Abdul Taib Mahmud etc,etc

9. #9 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 3:16 pm

It makes no political sense for DAP to insult Islam. What have DAP to gain by doing so… not to mention that it is suicidal to do so in a predominantly Muslim country? Anyone who says that DAP insults Islam ought to have his head examined. He must be suffering from some psychopathological problems… self-delusion, hallucination, whatever.

“The worst enemies of Islam are from within”, writes American convert scholar of Islam, Hamza Yusuf, at http://www.islamfortoday.com/hamza01.htm In it, he says: “Our real situation is this: we Muslims have lost theologically sound understanding of our teaching. Islam has been hijacked by a discourse of anger and the rhetoric of rage. We have allowed for too long our mimbars [pulpits] to become bully pulpits in which people with often recognizable psychopathology use anger – a very powerful emotion – to rile Muslims up, only to leave them feeling bitter and spiteful towards people who in the most part are completely unaware of the conditions in the Muslim world…”

“It is ironic that the Western media, while producing many vile programs on Islam, has also produced and aired material of the highest quality with a high level of accuracy only to be vilified by Muslims because it was not good enough. Where is our media? Where are our spokespeople? Where are our scholars? Where are our literary figures? The truth is we don’t have any…”

“Conspiracy or not, we are to blame for the terrible backlash against Muslims. The simple reason is that when a crazy Christian does something terrible, everyone in the West knows it is the actions of a mad man because they have some knowledge of the core beliefs and ethics of Christianity. When a mad Muslim does something evil or foolish, they assume it is from the religion of Islam, not because they hate us but because they have never been told by a Muslim what the teachings of Islam are all about.”

10. #10 by imranj78 on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 3:47 pm

DAP does not insult Islam. It’s only some elements within DAP such as Jeff Ooi who has issues with Islamic concepts such as syariah laws. Nevertheless, DAP is two faced. It doesn’t openly say so, but it is common knowledge that if DAP ever comes to power, it will surely strive to dilute the Islamic face of Malaysia and God knows what it would do to the syariah courts.

11. #11 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 4:14 pm

imranj78 :
    DAP does not insult Islam. It’s only some elements within DAP such as Jeff Ooi who has issues with Islamic concepts such as syariah laws. Nevertheless, DAP is two faced. It doesn’t openly say so, but it is common knowledge that if DAP ever comes to power, it will surely strive to dilute the Islamic face of Malaysia and God knows what it would do to the syariah courts.

Syariah laws are Muslim laws and therefore should only apply to Muslims. And I agree that Muslims should follow Islamic laws in toto, not a diluted or corrupted version. And I would love seeing some hands being chopped off for corruption and adulterers being stoned to death. Then Malaysia would be among the best and most peaceful place in the world to live in. So far, I haven’t seen any. You mean there are no adulterers in Malaysia or there is no corruption? Or they haven’t fully implemented syariah yet?

But don’t try to apply syariah laws to non-Muslims because if other countries try to impose their religion on Muslims, what would you say? There are many religions in this world. If everyone claims that only their religion is the true religion and all other religions are false, there will be no end war in this world. Who in their right mind will join a religion that is false?

By all means, believe that your religion is the true religion, otherwise why would you bother to join….. BUT, and that is a big BUT, never ever try to impose your religion on other people. If you can follow what your religion preaches, that is good enough.

The worst hypocrites are those who impose their religion on other people but do not themselves uphold the values and teachings of their own religion. True victory is victory over self. And I know it is tough. Human greed and temptations are hard to overcome and many times, we rationalize… so start with ourselves, my friend!

12. #12 by sj on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 4:20 pm

“never ever try to impose your religion on other people. If you can follow what your religion preaches, that is good enough. ”

This is the gist of the entire story where many Malaysians fail to understand. Your religion is between you and God no one else. Do not try to impose your believes on the mass.

Imranj78,

If DAP is indeed two faced and try to water down Islamic faith as you would have claimed it, then that means they are digging their own graves and they will be losing support from the Malays. If you use this point of arguement then I can apply the same to PAS too. Where PAS is trying to water down other faith as well. This is a nonsense type of loop arguement that makes no sense.

UMNO however has successfully diluted the reasoning of Malay psyche. That is why they cannot differentiate what is white and what is black. To them RASUAH is ok and still acceptable, so long infidels does not come into power. This are the kind of backward non progressive garbage that they have been perpuating ever so long that DAP and alliance is trying to fight.

13. #13 by AhPek on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 4:21 pm

“Nevertheless,DAP is two faced.It doesn’t openly say so,but it is common knowledge that if DAP ever comes to power,it will surely strive to dilute the Islamic face of Malaysia and God knows what it would do to the syariah courts.” Imran78.

Isn’t he the same guy who says the police force in Malaysia is of world class standing
    matching that of the Hong Kong Police,the Japanese Police,the Australian Police or the Singapore Police.Making the above statement
    is typical of the guy who is prone to shoot off his mouth!

14. #14 by AhPek on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 4:52 pm

“Nevertheless,DAP is two faced.It doesn’t openly say so,but it is common knowledge
    that if ever DAP comes to power,it will surely strive to dilute the Islamic face of Malaysia
    and God knows what it would do to the syariah courts.”. Imran78.

Is this the same guy who says the Malaysian Police Force is of world standard ranking pari passu with the likes of such forces like the Hong Kong Police Force,the Japanese Police Force,the Australian Police Force or the Singapore Police Force.If he is then it is no small wonder he feels no restraint blurting out the above statement for he is prone to shooting off his mouth!

15. #15 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 4:56 pm

Hi Imranj78, I am not a DAP member but I can bet my last dollar that if the Muslim community wants to follow Syariah laws, DAP will not stop them if it ever come to power. Only that they will not allow one community to impose their religion on other communities, like what UMNO is doing. If your community wants to chop off your member’s hands for stealing or stone adulterers to death, who cares? It’s all up to your community. Fair enough?

I hope I am wrong, but you seem to have been brainwashed by UMNO. Ask yourself. Is it not true that Islam preaches religious tolerance? Well, read “The Tolerance of the Prophet towards Other Religions: To Each Their Own Religion” at http://www.islamreligion.com/articles/207/ And by the way, do you know that historically, Islam owes much to the three major Jewish tribes and other communities in Medina who allowed the Prophet to reside there after his flight from Mecca? Anyone of those Jewish tribes could have attacked the Prophet who was at his weakest then, but they didn’t. And not that they embraced Islam. If it had been otherwise, we can easily understand why. Only a handful joined the Prophet at that time. This is what we mean by religious tolerance.

What is happening today is that UMNO is doing the wrong things, like imposing Islamic rituals on non-Muslims (I won’t mind if it had been Islamic values like honesty, fairness, religious tolerance, etc etc), and you think they are doing the right thing. Read this very first line in the abovestated article from Islamreligion.com: ” Many mistakenly believe that Islam does not tolerate the existence of other religions present in the world…” And who are the many? Sadly, it seems to be the Muslims themselves. Makes me wonder whether they know their own religion.

16. #16 by Loh on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 5:08 pm

When a person get insulted, he can sue for defamation. When a religion gets insulted, can a believer of that religion sue on behalf of the religion? What is penalty for insulting a religion. If so, would tearing down the place of worship of a religion constitute and insult to the religion.

17. #17 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 5:11 pm

Loh :
    When a person get insulted, he can sue for defamation. When a religion gets insulted, can a believer of that religion sue on behalf of the religion? What is penalty for insulting a religion. If so, would tearing down the place of worship of a religion constitute and insult to the religion.

Elementary, Mr Watson! It all depends on whether that place of worship belongs to a true religion or a false religion, LOL.

18. #18 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 5:13 pm

Loh there is a provision in the Criminal Procedure Code for an offence to insult one’s religion. Hence, BN is using that term. They want to make it look so so serious.

Let’s face it, this same old game being played by BN is getting stale. Today, the public is well informed. Let BN say what they want la. Who cares? As long as PR does its job of serving the people who will care?

Look at Kelantan, BN is squeezing it BUT PAS is voted in all the time. Why? Because Tok Guru is serving the people. Even Indians and Chinese love him.

Look at Melaka under Thamby Chik, he brought so much prosperity to Melaka that the Chinese love him too. They did not really care about his nonsense, although perhaps they should have.

Keep the people happy and you stay on to serve. Can PR do that?

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 5:17 pm

///…It’s only some elements within DAP such as Jeff Ooi who has issues with Islamic concepts such as syariah laws/// – imranj78 on August 15th, 2009 15:47

As I understand it, Jeff Ooi & Karpal Singh apparently oppose syariah implementation because such implementation is contrary to the Federal Law Penal Code and the Federal Constitution . It means that it is not feasible to have one set of criminal laws for one segment of Malaysians, and other set for another segment: that would violate Constitutional guarantees of equal protection of law or equality before the law.

That is why I cited in earlier thread on same subject an example of how during the time PAS controlled Terengganu state assembly and passed the Terengganu PAS Syariah Criminal Offences (Hudud and Qisas) Bill on 7th July 2002, the BN’s Federal Government (rightly) blocked it by directing the police not to enforce it on similar grounds (cited by Karpal Singh and Jeff Ooi) that it was unconstitutional.

imranj78 then, in his reponse in earlier thread #22 on August 15th, 2009 13:49, contended that “BN and Mahathir are secular in nature, no matter how UMNO tries to potray its `Islamic’ image. The fact that BN does not believe in enforcing hudud, does not mean that it is right and used as an excuse for DAP/Karpal to do the same…”

Whether “BN and Mahathir are secular in nature” is debateable – and anyway besides the point.

Even the senior aide to Hadi, Zahari Mohamad, then acknowledged the same fact of supremacy of Constitution to Associated Press writer, Jasbant Singh that “We cannot enforce Islamic laws as the supreme law of the country unless federal legislation is amended. We have to form the federal government to be able to do that.”

Then what about the Supreme Court’s judgment in the case of Che Omar Che Soh v PP (1988) in which ex Lord President Tun Salleh Abbas (presently a PAS member) delivered Supreme Court judgment that the Federal Constitution was secular and supreme and that Malaysia was not an Islamic state.

Aren’t Zahari Mohamad or Tun Salleh Abbas in acknowledging the supremacy of Federal Constitution in context of syriah implementation) not in para/same position on this issue in relation to Jeff Ooi and Karpal Singh (the only difference being that they are not Muslims)?

I am trying very hard to fathom imranj78’s statement and its logic when he said, “the fact that BN does not believe in enforcing hudud, does not mean that it is right and used as an excuse for DAP/Karpal to do the same”…

Why?

Why would opposing syariah implementation on grounds that it contradicts and contravenes the Basic Law of the land – the Federal Constitution – be wrong or labelled as insulting the Official religion? Is the contravention of the Federal Constitution something “right” if it concerns syariah implementation that criticising it (the contravention) then becomes wrong for insulting Religion? If so since when and from whose perspectives – and upon which law?

Or is imranj78 implying here that where syariah implementation conflicts with the Federal Constitution, only Muslims can (rightly) say the Constitution should prevail in such a conflict over Syariah implementation but not non muslims who otherwise are wrong and stand accused of insulting the official religion???

20. #20 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 5:33 pm

When I was younger, I thought that being Muslim means you don’t eat pork, you pray 5 times a day, you go to mosques on Fridays, and you puasa during Ramadhan. That’s all.

Seems like nowadays, the criteria, as practised, is even easier. As long as you don’t eat pork, then you are Muslim, LOL. My ex-companies allow Muslims time off to go for Friday prayers and they go to shopping center. We have a surau for them to pray and they go there to sleep. To be fair, I must say that not all of them are like that. Some Muslims, however, tell me that Friday prayer attendance has been dwindling. Guess it is the same as in some churches. I was told that it is not compulsory to go every week but they must have time-off every week. And when we say that if you are caught not going to mosques on Friday after being given time off, you will not be given time off in future… they say we want to complain to Islamic Department as you don’t allow us to practise our religion, LOL. And they have the cheek to say that “what we do is up to us… it’s between us and God, nothing to do with you” when the company is paying for their time not worked.

Who is talking about Islamic values these days? Can anyone quote any Islamic values that have been spoken by UMNO or PAS leaders (other than Nik Aziz) lately or in the past? How about from the founder of Islam Hadhari himself?

21. #21 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 5:42 pm

That was a long, informative and incisive analysis from Jeffrey. Well, for me, I would think that the Constitution should prevail. And from here, I depart from Karpal Singh and Jeff Ooi. If the Muslim community thinks that the punishment meted out by the Laws of Malaysia is insufficient, they can add anything they want AFTER considering the punishment that have already been given. Why stop them if they want to chop their hands. After all, the Constitution guarantees the freedom of religion. Do not talk about double penalty in this case since religious practices is not imposed upon them. They do it out of their own volition.

22. #22 by a2a on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 7:07 pm

DAP/PK should compete Malaysian Malaysia theme with BN 1Malaysia.

Compose music songs of promoting Malaysian Malaysia in blog and webcasting in youtube.

It is clean and good competition environment for Malaysian choices.

Of course, Malaysian should choose anti-corruption parties partise democracy, justice and equality for our children.

23. #23 by a2a on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 7:13 pm

Of course, Malaysian should choose anti-corruption parties pratise democracy, justice and equality for our children.

Don’t be too late and stupid elect corrupted and liars politicians.

24. #24 by wanderer on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 7:38 pm

The UMNO elites, those corrupted goons accumulate their wealth unashamedly, that will even embarrass their Creator. These Muslim pretenders from UMNO through their despicable acts of greed have definitely, insulted their Allah and Islam!!
    Does Islam allows haram money to be got by dishonest ways…Islam teaches goodness, don’t insult your religion, UMNO dirts!

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 8:04 pm

“If the Muslim community thinks that the punishment meted out by the Laws of Malaysia is insufficient, they can add anything they want AFTER considering the punishment that have already been given. Why stop them if they want to chop their hands. After all, the Constitution guarantees the freedom of religion.” (ekompute)

ekompute,
    Freedom of religion is one thing, but equal justice for all is another thing. Even though Dr. Mahathir claimed that Malaysia is already an Islamic State, he no matter how refused to implement Hudud during his 22 years’ authoritative rule as the Prime Minister of Malaysia. I believe the main reason why Dr. Mahathir refused to approve implementation of Hudud along with the Federal Secular Law was that Dr. Mahathir knew very well that majority of alleged Muslim criminals would never be convicted in Syariah Court due to the stringent requirement by Islamic Law of 4 witnesses who stood to testify against the alleged before an alleged could be convicted for committing a crime. Cases like incest rape whereby father raped daughter or brother raped sister would never be checked by the deterrence force of legal punishment since nobody would have invited 4 persons to watch upon their incest rape behaviour and therefore make it very difficult to implement Hudud effectively.

As for your comment that Dr. Mahathir is secular, I think no one can be sure about whether this is an accurate description about Dr. Mahathir. We could hardly find any rumour of sex scandal on him, except during 1970s when he was closed to a sister of a Chinese politician. But it was just an unproven rumour. He might be upholding certain degree of religiosity because he hated the sin of homosexual or heterosexual. However, he could tolerate the sin of sexual immorality which had been discovered upon some of his loyal cabinet ministers. Dr. Mahathir would quickly stand up to defend his wife Siti Hasmah for not wearing “tudung” (head scarf) when PAS youth leader started to find fault on Siti Hasmah. Obviously, Dr. Mahathir has his own interpretation on Islamic doctrine, and we can find that sometimes what Dr. Mahathir upholds is quite different from the conventional belief of other conservative Muslim Sects! Perhaps it is not easy to find a true unity among many different denominations of a same religion. This fact must be true even when Islam is concerned!

26. #26 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 10:10 pm

Onlooker Politics says: “Freedom of religion is one thing, but equal justice for all is another thing.”

Well, I think we will end up with no end quarrels in Malaysia if you want equal justice as defined by you. Everyone has their own religious beliefs. But first of all, we cannot allow people to chose whether they want to be prosecuted under Syariah law or under the Courts of Malaysia. The Constitution must be the common denominator. Every citizen is subjected to the laws of this country. No one should be exempted from the law except the Sultans, as provided in the Constitution. And the Sultans are supposed to set a good example, which indirectly means that they too have a moral responsibility to abide by the Constitution, although not a legal one.

If a particular community wants to charge their members according to their religious beliefs, it is up to them but it should not exempt them from being charged under the Courts of Malaysia. Otherwise, Catholics can just go and confess to their priests and their crimes are forgiven without them being subjected to any legal punishment. If this is the case, you will suddenly find that every non-Malay have become Catholic overnight, LOL.

27. #27 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 10:13 pm

Onlooker Politics, you mentioned: “As for your comment that Dr. Mahathir is secular, I think no one can be sure about whether this is an accurate description about Dr. Mahathir.”

It was imranj78 who said that, not me.

28. #28 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 10:25 pm

“No one should be exempted from the law except the Sultans, as provided in the Constitution. And the Sultans are supposed to set a good example, which indirectly means that they too have a moral responsibility to abide by the Constitution, although not a legal one.” (ekompute)

You forget that Dr. Mahathir has already caused an addition of the Special Court clauses into the Federal Constitution during 1994-1995. Sultan does not enjoy legal immunity nowadays. Shortly a few months before the death of the late Tuanku Jaafar, the late Tuanku was ordered by the Special Court to pay back RM1 million for the money owing to Standard Charterd Bank.

Sorry for the mistake in addresing to wrong person. imranj78 should be the one who said “Dr. Mahathir is secular”. I was taking some flu medicine, which might cause some temporary mild impairment on my memory!

29. #29 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 10:42 pm

Hahaha, okay, Onlooker Politics, I have forgotten about Article 181 which says: “Article 181 guarantees the sovereignty, rights, powers and jurisdictions of each Malay Ruler within their respective states. They also cannot be charged in a court of law in their official capacities as a Ruler. The Malay Rulers can be charged on any personal wrongdoing, outside of their role and duties as a Ruler. However, the charges cannot be carried out in a normal court of law, but in a Special Tribunal under the purview of the Council of Rulers.”

Actually, I was trying to comment on your statement: “Dr. Mahathir claimed that Malaysia is already an Islamic State…”

I think he is insulting Islam if you see the following 2008 Corruption Perception Index statistics:
    1 Denmark
    1 New Zealand
    1 Sweden
    4 Singapore
    12 Hong Kong
    23 Chile
    23 Uruguay
    28 Qatar
    33 Israel
    35 United Arab Emirates
    36 Botswana
    41 Oman
    43 Bahrain
    47 Malaysia

30. #30 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 10:50 pm

Onlooker Politics, lest you think I am targeting you… no, but you did raise a number of very interesting points which I would like to add my 2 sen worth.

You said: ” I believe the main reason why Dr. Mahathir refused to approve implementation of Hudud along with the Federal Secular Law was that Dr. Mahathir knew very well that majority of alleged Muslim criminals would never be convicted in Syariah Court due to the stringent requirement by Islamic Law of 4 witnesses who stood to testify against the alleged before an alleged could be convicted for committing a crime.”

Wikipedia says: “However, while these standards of proof made hudud punishments very difficult to apply in practice, an offender could still be sentenced to corporal punishment at the discretion of the judge (see tazir), if he or she was found guilty but the standards of proof required for hudud punishments could not be met.”

So it seems like the reason cited by you on behalf of Dr Mahathir is not valid. Who knows? He is worried that his hand may get chopped, LOL.

31. #31 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 11:06 pm

“While these standards of proof made hudud punishments very difficult to apply in practice, an offender could still be sentenced to corporal punishment at the discretion of the judge (see tazir), if he or she was found guilty but the standards of proof required for hudud punishments could not be met.” (wikipedia as quoted by ekompute)

If the standards of proof are not required to be observed sometimes, then it is not much different from making the judge a “God”! No wonder it is so difficult for the Iranian people to replace the power-that-be with an alternative political party deemed to be elected during a general election. Hudud is not much different from an authoritarian law!

32. #32 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 11:13 pm

imranj78 :
    Nevertheless, DAP is two faced. It doesn’t openly say so, but it is common knowledge that if DAP ever comes to power, it will surely strive to dilute the Islamic face of Malaysia and God knows what it would do to the syariah courts.

If anyone is two-faced, they are those who claim to protect Islam, point fingers at those whom they imagined to be insulting Islam, but themselves do not practise what Islam teaches. No need to give names… you know who they are, and they know who they are too.

I believe imranj78 is a good Muslim, otherwise he would not want syariah laws (which implies hudud also) to be implemented. We will then be able to see a nation with many cacats, especially politicians, and we will also be able to go back to history and see how stoning is done… like how they wrongly stoned Puteri Mahsuri, resulting in Langkawi being cursed for 7 generations, LOL.

33. #33 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 11:23 pm

Utusans and Umnoputras are accusing DAP of anti-Islam in order to incite the Malays to go aganst DAP or even Chinese.

Are they not committing seditious offence ?

Why they are not charged by the police ? Why ?

34. #34 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 11:29 pm

If the Umnoputras and the Utusans are above the law, what will happen to this country ?

No body will respect the law. It is unimaginable.

35. #35 by tanjong8 on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 11:30 pm

This is our homeland.

How can we save it from destruction by the Umnoputras and the Utusans ?

How ? How ?

36. #36 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 1:00 am

tanjong8 :
    If the Umnoputras and the Utusans are above the law, what will happen to this country ?
    No body will respect the law. It is unimaginable.

I lost confidence in the law since Mahathir’s time. I know that if you go to court, chances are you won’t get a fair trial… more so if the other party is loaded. We hear of corrupted Ministers, corrupted judges… We see the way MACC acts. Who has confidence now?

37. #37 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:15 am

The way I see it, MACC will be a great help to PR, come the next general election. The harder they hit, the faster UMNO goes. This is what I mean by UMNO is going to kick the ball into its own goalpost yet again.

38. #38 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:29 am

We all can talk till the cows come home. DAP did ‘insult’ islam because some of their loud mouthed members did not shut their gaps well and gave BN bullets.

Jeff Ooi is a real politician. I have seen him on a few occassions, always smiling and all BUT in reality, he is an arrogant man. These are words from people within DAP, high ranking people too.

Let’s face it. Jeff Ooi’s statement about JIM was totally wrong. He made a mistake and till today he will not apologise for it. That is the level of statesmanship we have for Jeff Ooi. USELESS and cannot be trusted.

Not long ago he made an allegation about some officials from within who are doing some nonsense stuff with developers, I vaguely remember something like that. Well, like Wee Choo Keong, where is the proof? Shoot … but blanks?

What I am saying is because of some stupid members of PR, BN has been able to spin spin spin. Why give BN bullets? What for? This I will never understand. I think PR needs to really grow up.

When will they all learn to serve the people properly? There is too much feedback from people that the likes of Jeff Ooi, Ronnie Liu and even Theresa Kok are arrogant and high handed. All this can be read at anti-BN blogs.

Let’s not call them BN infiltrators ok. There are no bogeymen but only useless ADUNs or MPs.

Let me give you all a story. I was in Klang at the park and one of the councillors’ assistant came over to speak with us. He says the activity we are doing at the park is really good, we are utilising the park. He told us he would be happy to assist us to make it full time. Gave me his card.

I emailed him a few times … guess what? No reply. We never asked him for anything, he came over and offered something BUT did not bother about us after that. Is this not like BN in essence? Talk only … no action.

39. #39 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:46 am

SpeakUp :
    Let me give you all a story. I was in Klang at the park and one of the councillors’ assistant came over to speak with us. He says the activity we are doing at the park is really good, we are utilising the park. He told us he would be happy to assist us to make it full time. Gave me his card.
    I emailed him a few times … guess what? No reply. We never asked him for anything, he came over and offered something BUT did not bother about us after that. Is this not like BN in essence? Talk only … no action.

This story tells me more about you than about the councillors’ assistant, LOL. It simply means that you, just like me, are people of no status and of no consequence, hahaha. If I were you, I will just take the card and throw away, LOL. I won’t even bother to email him because I know all these are just shallow PR chats that doesn’t mean a thing.

40. #40 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:07 am

ekompute … yes … correct, correct correct! We are nobody to them. Yup … I don’t have the card anymore too. :)

41. #41 by limkamput on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:15 am

SpeakUp :ekompute … yes … correct, correct correct! We are nobody to them. Yup … I don’t have the card anymore too. :)

I think both of you are talking real cock. It depends what you emailed him for, got it? May be you are just writing inconsequential things like here, how is he going to reply you.

42. #42 by cong on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 10:01 am

Many Malays I know, including highly educated ones really believe that DAP is anti-Malay and anti-Islam. When asked for the rationale or reason for such a belief none can explain or answer. My guess is that they have been indoctrinated from young. Rather tragic.

43. #43 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 11:33 am

WHY ONLY NOW BN LUMPING UP ALL THIS NON-EXISTING CHARGE?

In China, Chin Kuei lobbed a “mok shee you” charge at hero Yueh Fei a few thousand years ago and till today, people spit at the statute of Chin Kuei until the authorities have to ban this action for health reasons.

“mok shee you” – means “not necessary exist” so the hero Yueh Fei was executed for a charge called “not necessary exist”

I can see a repeat from modus operandi on Teresa. Hurl MSY charges then try to apply process of law in a totally unfair manner!

44. #44 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 12:10 pm

Did I hear Mr Lonely-AttentionSeeker again? Hmmmm …

45. #45 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 1:18 pm

limkamput :

SpeakUp :ekompute … yes … correct, correct correct! We are nobody to them. Yup … I don’t have the card anymore too. :)

I think both of you are talking real cock. It depends what you emailed him for, got it? May be you are just writing inconsequential things like here, how is he going to reply you.

Limkamput, so you are not talking cock but talking hen? You are putting the cart before the horse, making judgement even before asking SpeakUp what he wrote. You said, “May be you are just writing inconsequential things like here…” How sure are you that he was writing inconsequential thing? You sound no different from UMNO and MACC. For a start, can you tell us what SpeakUp wrote and then we can ask SpeakUp what he wrote?

46. #46 by frankyapp on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 1:49 pm

You know ekompute,the common thing nowadays is talk about support for Hamas,Hesbolla,Taliban,Al-qaeda,Iran and palestine.These guys will shout,clap hands and show their fists and celebrate with wild dances in the house,in the bar,and also on the street,when ever they hear or see on TV channels about Islamist bombing and killing american and innocent people.Are all these kind of act or guesture really good Islamic value ?

47. #47 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:07 pm

SpeakUp :

My parents always say, “Who becomes government also the same,” LOL. And they always vote for BN, even though I ask them to vote for Opposition. Now, lest it be mistaken, I don’t think PR is an angel. LKS, on the other hand, may be good, but how sure are you that the rest of the DAP are also like him? But I will always vote for Opposition (i.e. even UMNO, if they are in the Opposition, LOL) because I believe that only a two-party system will ensure better democratic practices in any country… even in Singapore where PAP is practising good governance, what more Malaysia that is making corruption and what they call as “Islam” (although it is not the same Islam that I know from books) as a way of life, LOL.

48. #48 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:21 pm

Just a little elaboration on what I mean when I say that Islam as practised by UMNO is not the Islam I read from books.

All religion, whether Islam or otherwise, is the religion of the heart. When the heart is not clean, you don’t talk about religion because you will miss its whole essence. When the heart is full of greed and hatred, one cannot pursue a religious life. Thus, anyone who has lots and lots of money cannot pursue a religious life, just as in what Jesus says, “It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of God.” Is that not why Bill Gates want to give up 90% of his wealth upon his death? But our dear Mahathir, he is going to bring it along with him, LOL.

All organized religion eventually deteriorate into mindless ritual performance because it is hard to sustain a good heart. Human beings, by nature, are greedy and heartless, and invariably, God is replaced by $, when the two confict and one has to go. Humans are very good at rationalizing… and the better ones, such as politicians and lawyers, can tell you that black is actually white but because there do not reflect light, it only appears to be black. LOL.

49. #49 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:27 pm

frankyapp :
    You know ekompute,the common thing nowadays is talk about support for Hamas,Hesbolla,Taliban,Al-qaeda,Iran and palestine.These guys will shout,clap hands and show their fists and celebrate with wild dances in the house,in the bar,and also on the street,when ever they hear or see on TV channels about Islamist bombing and killing american and innocent people. Are all these kind of act or guesture really good Islamic value ?

No wonder Yasser Arafat married a Christian, LOL.

50. #50 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:28 pm

Hahaha, a simple message to frankyapp like “no wonder Y.A. married a Christian” also need moderation?

51. #51 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:35 pm

To prevent frustration, may I suggest that this blog practises transparency and displays what it considers to be inappropriate content before a post is censored or send for moderation, like what some forums do. This way, at least we do not waste time writing only to see it disappear into thin air. We can always reword it or delete the offending phrase or sentence and resubmit.

Thus in this recent case, I don’t know whether it is Frank Yapp’s passage that is the cause of the moderation or my remarks about Yasser Arafat.

52. #52 by sirrganass on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 1:03 am

Do you know that actually all this are raised by UMNO? PAS has always been apologizing DAP if you give the wrong interpretation of ISLAM simply because “SURELY, non-muslim doesn’t really understand ISLAM… it’s ok! – we can’t blame you!”.

DAP and PAS can have totally different vision and method on running this country, but our heart and intention is ONE: only good people must run this country! So stay together now for “doing good things only” – your own way!

53. #53 by frankyapp on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 11:58 am

Hi any guys know why all your comment is wipe out when you enter the recaptcha two words incorrectly.