DAP does not insult Islam or any religion and does not condone any DAP leader or member in insulting Islam or any religion

Deputy Prime Minister and UMNO Deputy President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin is recklessly making great political capital out of a mistake made by PAS spiritual leader and Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat, completely oblivious of the harm it can do to the cause of national unity, inter-religious harmony and in particular Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia concept.

With screaming headlines today like “DAP hina Islam: Nik Aziz di bidas” (Utusan Malaysia), “’Nik Aziz jual Islam untuk politik’ – Muhyiddin selar pemimpin Pas halalkan tindakan DAP” (Berita Harian), “Muhyiddin in disbelief over Nik Aziz’s stand” (NST), the Barisan Nasional-controlled mainstream media have fanned and incited racial and religious sentiments in two ways:

• That DAP insult Islam; and
  • That Nik Aziz condoned DAP insulting Islam.

These are downright irresponsible and inexcusable tactics which can only incite racial and religious sentiments and the latest proof that Umno Ministers and leaders are the greatest threat to Najib’s 1Malaysia concept, as instead of tamping down irresponsible utterances which can arouse racial and religious hatred and animosity, they are doing their utmost in the opposite direction in inciting greater inter-racial and inter-religious discord.

In the first place, let me state without any equivocation that DAP does not insult Islam or any religion and does not condone any DAP leader or member in insulting Islam or any religion – as all the great religions in Malaysia must be respected by all Malaysians particularly Malaysian leaders if the country is to thrive and flourish as a developed country.

I welcome Muhyiddin to specify instances where the DAP had in insulted Islam or condoned DAP leaders or members in insulting Islam – or he should be mindful of his heavy responsibility as Deputy Prime Minister not to sabotage Najib’s 1Malaysia concept by making baseless but serious allegations of this nature.

I was already offended by Utusan Malaysia front-page headline yesterday: “DAP boleh hina Islam – Nik Aziz” as it implied that DAP had been guilty of insulting Islam, which is a baseless allegation emanating from Umno quarters.

In the Berita Harian today (p.7), in admitting that he had used a wrong word, Nik Aziz said:

“Pada masa itu (kelmarin), boleh jadi saya sebut tidak salah, ia sebenarnya tidak pelik kerana memang mereka tidak tahu Islam.”

In jumping into the fray by exploiting Nik Aziz’s wrong choice of word, when knowing that DAP does not insult Islam and does not condone DAP leaders and members from insulting Islam or any other religion, are we seeing the emergence of Muhyiddin as the worst possible example of a desperate Umno leader who is prepared to do anything to gain political popularity at the expense of inter-racial and inter-religious harmony and even Najib’s 1Malaysia concept?

1. #1 by k1980 on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 2:29 pm

To Muhideen, the mere act of opposing umno is insulting islam

2. #2 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 2:41 pm

Quote from Islam Today at http://www.islamfortoday.com/hamza01.htm

“Unfortunately, the West does not know what every Muslim scholar knows; that the worst enemies of Islam are from within.

Muhyiddin trying to teach Nik Aziz about Islam? Better he go and sleep… better still, take a good look at the mirror. Which Johorean doesn’t know Muhyiddin? All of us can smell the syit in his pants.

3. #3 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 2:50 pm

Who are the people who really hurt and insult Islam in Malaysia? They are those who profess to be Muslims but do not practise Islamic values nor show the non-Muslims the beauty of Islam as a religion, those who engage in corruption (institutional or otherwise), those who abuse their power, those who engage in unfair practices, those who tell lies, those who incite hatred like what Muhyiddin is trying to do…. and I am sure Allah knows all these, so let Muhyiddin bark as much as possible for the time being… cos he won’t be able to do so when his time comes.

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 2:57 pm

Of course its insulting Islam, DAP has insulted Islam, that is based on PM, DPM and Utusan Malaysia’s own interpretation of what insulting Islam amounts to la.

However, its funny that we build monuments of people such as Dr M, Tugu Negara etc. That in Islam is so forbidden. Then we also have JAIS who are so so caught up with small matters when we have Muslims who happily drink till they are drunk down in the Golden Triangle and that is ok. Well, Mulims who say that being offered a woman is REZEKI is not insulting Islam at all.

Anyone thought about ISA, detention without trial as insulting Islam since Islam forbids such laws? Heheheheee …

5. #5 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 3:33 pm

We can pull down your temples, but you cannot insult our religion, okay? Ya, last time we were Hindus, so what? That was so long that we cannot remember…. after Parameswara married the Pasai princess, we changed religion oledi.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 4:02 pm

Ok, this is just about the end of the road for UMNO. If after “DAP hina Islam” didn’t work, what’s next on UMNO’s political agenda?

7. #7 by SpeakUp on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 4:28 pm

ekompute … actually Sammi give order to pull down temple. Hehehehehee … Indian hammer Indian la …

8. #8 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 4:51 pm

Why no action is taken against Al Islam journalist that clearly insulted the Catholics? Why the police is so quick to take action against DAP?

Is 1Malaysia mean journalists of Al Islam is free to insult non-Muslims but DAP cannot defend non-Muslim rights?

There is no hope for Malaysia. In 20 years time we are going to be like Pakistan and then Afghanistan. Hopefully, the Americans will come and save us. God bless USA!

9. #9 by lucia on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 5:06 pm

in continuation of BoycottLocalPapers…

yes, they insult us, it’s ok? we are suppose to take it? it’s nothing really? they can go scout free, without so much as warning or apology?

but then the other way round. just a small little thing non muslim say/do, the muslim jumped 10 feet high and protest and screamed bl**dy murder! e.g. the recent jeff ooi and anthony loke case. they even use a vulgar word (and to think alongside with the word ‘islam’!!)

then on the al islam issue, there was a plan to hand over a memo protest to the home minister, this too they jumped 100 feet high!! when they can simply gather and protest, or gather to march to putrajaya to hand in memo or whatever… it’s ok but when we non muslim wants to do it, all hell break loose!!

true, no hope for malaysia, not only for non muslim but for those moderate liberal muslim. *cry*

10. #10 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 5:13 pm

SpeakUp :
    ekompute … actually Sammi give order to pull down temple. Hehehehehee … Indian hammer Indian la …

Hi SpeakUp, are you referring to the Padang Jawa Sri Maha Mariammam temple where the MIC was accused of doing nothing to stop the demolition, resulting in it paying a heavy price in the polls and losing most of its seats, including Samy Vellu’s seat which was also demolished? No, I am referring to general laaaa….

11. #11 by yhsiew on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 7:16 pm

Racist UMNO has to go in the 13th GE.

12. #12 by grace on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 7:24 pm

Muhideen is a very poorleader.
    He called Anwar traitor and now say that Nik Aziz has insulted Islam.
    Hey, Muhideen. Nik Aziz is the most exemplary Muslim that I have come across.
    The Chinese in kelantan respect him more thnt you and Najib.
    Let me compare Nik Aziz with UMNO leaders who claim to be very Islamic.
    Nik Aziz practises many virtues of Islam which is sorely missing in UMNO.
    1. Nik AZiz is not corrupted.
    2. He has no scandals. Aiya, you know la in UMNO who has plentyof scandals.
    3. He lives in a very humble house unlike UMNO corrupts who lived in palatial homes fit for Kings.
    4. He does not drink alcohol.
    5. He does not gamble.
    6. He does not smuggle. Hey, you knpw an UMNO leader tried to smuggle cash in a foreign country.
    THe list goes on.
    Hey, Muhidin, it is a sin to falsely accused a person.
    NIK AZIZ WOULD DEFEND ISLAM WITHHIS LIFE .
    IF DAP INSULTED ISLAM, HE WOULD NOT TOLERATE AT ALL!!!

13. #13 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 9:08 pm

Yes, I totally agree with Grace. I was astonished to see a photo of Nik Aziz’s house in Malay Wikipedia at http://ms.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nik_Abdul_Aziz_bin_Nik_Mat

If there are 5 persons in UMNO who are like Nik Aziz, PR will have no chance at all to form the next government. Well, fortunately for PR, UMNO does not even have one. Islam, or any religion for that matter, does not teach people to seek riches in this world. Jesus himself said, “It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of God.” And so my dear Muhyiddin, you better go and sleep. How much do you know about Islam as compared to Nik Aziz, and out of the little that you do know, how much do you practise? We all have eyes to see, so don’t think we Malaysian are stupid, okay?

14. #14 by SpeakUp on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 9:14 pm

Nik Aziz is HUMBLE … that is the best part.

15. #15 by tanjong8 on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 9:32 pm

Moreyoudin is interested only to climb up the ladder in Umno and does not care if his words hurt and cause hatred.

Most Umnoputras and Utusans behave the same way. That’s way there is no hope for Malaysia if they are still in charge of the country !

DAP should be more active in Moreyoudin’s constituency in Pagoh Johore and hopefully helps to topple him in his own backyard.

The same strategy should apply to other Umnoputras and Utusans who are extreme in their utterances and behaviour.

16. #16 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 11:12 pm

tanjong8 :
    DAP should be more active in Moreyoudin’s constituency in Pagoh Johore and hopefully helps to topple him in his own backyard.

That would be suicidal, my dear friend. Pagoh is a small area where you can practically buy up everyone. It is a backwater where practically everyone knows everyone. And this guy is so slushed with cash, he can make everyone “happy” there.

17. #17 by oldman99 on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 11:16 pm

1Malaysia was just a scam to pay someone for all the ad & publicity campaign. has anyone asked how much the govt spent on this scam? muhibbah already exists all the while. so why watse the tax-$ on all this a&p for. the $ could have been put to more important use.

18. #18 by imranj78 on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 12:04 am

I do not think DAP has any intentions of insulting Islam (at least not in the open). HOWEVER, the actions & words coming out of some of your members insinuate such attitudes and indicates that there are elements within DAP that does in fact throw such insults. Look at Jeff Ooi in Penang who obviously looks down on Syariah laws with his recent statement related to JIM. Karpal Singh has also said hudud laws as applied in Malaysia/Kelantan are unconstitutional, another indirect insult to Muslims in Malaysia.

19. #19 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 1:00 am

imranj78 :I do not think DAP has any intentions of insulting Islam (at least not in the open). HOWEVER, the actions & words coming out of some of your members insinuate such attitudes and indicates that there are elements within DAP that does in fact throw such insults. Look at Jeff Ooi in Penang who obviously looks down on Syariah laws with his recent statement related to JIM. Karpal Singh has also said hudud laws as applied in Malaysia/Kelantan are unconstitutional, another indirect insult to Muslims in Malaysia.

Jeff Ooi might be a damn arrogant guy but I don’t think he or Karpal Singh insulted Islam. Why it is okay for Mahathir to say that hudud law is unjust but it is not okay for non-Muslims to question hudud law?

Mahathir once said:

“Take the example of a woman who has been raped. How can she provide four witnesses of good character, who has seen her getting raped?”

Even if the victim succeeded in getting four witnesses, the question should be asked on why the four were watching instead of helping the woman.

“As for the caveat of good character, even I may not be deemed as one. So how can hudud law determine good character?”

See http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/political-news/13527-dr-m-hudud-law-not-suitable-for-msia.html

So, I think Tok Guru Nik Aziz was right when he said that it is okay for non-Muslims to question Islamic laws as they don’t believe in Islam but it is not okay for Muslims like Mahathir to reject Islamic laws.

20. #20 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 2:10 am

Muhyiddin wants to be known as Mujahiddin. That’s about it.

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 4:18 am

//Karpal Singh has also said hudud laws as applied in Malaysia/Kelantan are unconstitutional, another indirect insult to Muslims in Malaysia// -imranj78

Well when PAS controlled Terengganu state assembly in 2002, it passed the Terengganu PAS Syariah Criminal Offences (Hudud and Qisas) Bill on 7th July 2002 but the BN’s Federal Government blocked it by directing the police not to enforce it on grounds (cited by Karpal Singh) that it was unconstitutional. Was the BN Federal Govt directly or indirectly also insulting the official religion???

Even senior aide to Hadi, Zahari Mohamad, then confirmed the same thing to Associated Press writer, Jasbant Singh that “We cannot enforce Islamic laws as the supreme law of the country unless federal legislation is amended. We have to form the federal government to be able to do that.”

22. #22 by Nani on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 5:59 am

It is okay for non-Muslims to question Islam in a nice manner, with respect as we need to maintain religious harmony in this country otherwise you have the UMNO vultures flying about the issue until bone dry.

But it is not OK for our previous PM TunM to question Quran Hudud Law if he is a Muslim,
    i think.

UMNO has created Islam Melayu past 50years,
    made Islam Melayu so exclusive & even Malays cant say anything truth from the Al-Quran, in you go into ISA or banned from making
    ceramahs.

UMNO was preaching man-made religion called Islam Hadhari, Quran never mentioned even once “Islam Hadhari” it was man-made by previous PM PakLah.

All Muslims must accept Quran 100% as per Rukun Iman. But UMNO has cut & paste
    Quran to its advantage.

UMNO claimed they are Muslims but when come to Quran parts on Hudud Law,
    UMNO cut it out from their system becoz they still must rasuah, tipu, fitnah…whatever of Hudud is detrimental for them. This is Islam Hadhari.

Now after GE2008, UMNO silence of Islam Hadhari but it will come in another form.

After 50years, UMNO has created
    majority non-Muslims Malayisan citizens to become very limited understanding of Islam.

Even if any non-Muslim Malaysians starts to associate Muslims with terrorists (USA version of accusing Muslims in any bombing), I do
    not blame them becoz UMNO never made attempt to tell the truth.

Being a Muslims, I agree with Nik Aziz.
    He is much open compare to UMNO still
    very Islam Melayu “kolot”.

PR in governing states, please work forward together and less squabbles, you all are still far from Federal.

UMNO are forever vultures.

UMNO will use media which is their only
    LIFE LINE/TALIAN HAYAT to brainwash, fitnah and whataever ways just to win.

Thus, be always careful what you say & what you do, vultures are vultures.

23. #23 by imranj78 on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 1:49 pm

Boycotlocalpaper, Jeffrey,
    BN and Mahathir are secular in nature, no matter how UMNO tries to potray its `Islamic’ image. The fact that BN does not believe in enforcing hudud, does not mean that it is right and used as an excuse for DAP/Karpal to do the same.

24. #24 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 7:42 pm

imranj78 :
    Boycotlocalpaper, Jeffrey,
    BN and Mahathir are secular in nature, no matter how UMNO tries to potray its `Islamic’ image. The fact that BN does not believe in enforcing hudud, does not mean that it is right and used as an excuse for DAP/Karpal to do the same.

So imranj78, you don’t condemn BN but you condemn DAP/Karpal?

25. #25 by lopez on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:58 am

the mere act of preventing other eat what they can eat freely is an insult to others

the mere act of forcing others not to do in their cultures and beliefs is an insult to others

the mere act of destroying and damages other cultures property is an insult to others

throwing insults is a two way traffic

An insult can be an insult if you are part of the culture and beliefs that you have been brainwashed into.
    If you are not in that circle of beliefs and culture , how can you be accused of throwing insults.

So that leads us to respecting others
    the choice is same over the years of human civilisation,..
    if you dont respect others how can they respect you.

By doing what others preferred is respecting others, by responding in unwillingness is call retaliation,
    but agreeing under pressure is called duress.

in bolihland , we have many years of living experience on the matter.

26. #26 by BoycottLocalPapers on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 1:17 pm

imranj78 :Boycotlocalpaper, Jeffrey,BN and Mahathir are secular in nature, no matter how UMNO tries to potray its `Islamic’ image. The fact that BN does not believe in enforcing hudud, does not mean that it is right and used as an excuse for DAP/Karpal to do the same.

If UMNO who claims to be the defender of Islam & that Malaysia is Islamic country does not believe in enforcing hudud, then don’t expect DAP/ non-Muslims like Karpal to believe in the enforcement of hudud.

Before any law is accepted as a law, it has to be questioned and debated at the Parliament first. So, if you want to enforce hudud law on non-Muslims, then non-Muslims have every rights to question and debate about hudud law. Questioning Islam is not the same as insulting. How can we accept Islam or Islamic laws if we do not question it first? Those who quickly accused non-Muslims of insulting Islam whenever they can’t find answers to the questions posed by the non-Muslims must be very insecured about their religion.