30-member MACC task force into PKFZ scandal – public inquiry needed why MACC (previously ACA) failed to charge anyone although the first report on PKFZ was lodged some four years ago

The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission has announced a 30-member task force to investigate corruption in the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

In announcing this, MACC Deputy Commissioner Datuk Abu Kassim Mohamad said the MACC task force would investigate the findings of an earlier special task force set up to probe the legal and financial aspects of the controversial project – the 370-page report with 2,500 appendices made by the special task force comprising Skrine partner Lim Chee Wee, PricewaterhouseCoopers Advisory Services (PwCAS) managing director Chin Kwai Fatt and PwCAS senior executive director Lim San Peen.

The special task force found that there was possible fraud, unsubstantiated claims and over-charging by Kuala Dimensi Sdn Bhd, the PKFZ turnkey developer, ranging from RM500 million to RM1 billion.

The immediate response of everyone reading Abu Kassim’s announcement is the question why the MACC (and previously the Anti-Corruption Agency) had failed to charge anyone for the PKFZ scandal although the first report on the PKFZ scandal was lodged with the ACA some four years ago!

The ACA and later MACC had the opportunity to “clean house” in the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal but it failed in a colossal manner.

Can the MACC Chief Commissioner furnish any satisfactory explanation for such a colossal failure?

A public inquiry is fully warranted as to why MACC (previously ACA) failed to charge anyone although the first report on PKFZ was lodged some four years ago.

Furthermore, the Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat should explain why the report of the special task force into the legal and financial aspects of PKFZ, on the basis of which the Port Klang Authority (PKA) had lodged a police report, had not been made public in accordance with the principles of accountability, transparency and integrity?

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 2:58 pm

Eh RM10M donation is not looked into yet? Hmmmm … next month perhaps?

2. #2 by YK Leong on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 3:42 pm

MACC, WHY? WHY? WHY? Tell me WHY, WHY, WHY you cannot do it in the first place when the report was lodged once upon a time? Is it just to “tutup mata” and draw “buta gaji” all this while? OR, there is no instruction from the TOP (not the Japanese top). Can you do the work or not? It is better to resign and find some other works, which do not call for instruction from the TOP.

Is it the multi billion Malaysian Ringgit is too complicated for you to understand? Do you want a conversion formula to convert it to cows and cars? In what language did you learn your mathematics?

3. #3 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 5:18 pm

Datuk Abu Kassim Mohamad, show them that you can do it. Let Allah be your guide, not UMNO. UMNO will only lead you to Timbuktu in the hereafter.

4. #4 by Cinapek on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 5:35 pm

The special task force took only three months to find out what the MACC fail to uncover in 4 years.

Either they fail to find anything due to sheer incompetence or they were deliberately part of a cover up to hide the truth. I am inclined to believe the latter. Because the sheer scale and brazen scam was so obvious that the special task force needed only a mere few months to uncover the frauds. No way the MACC (or the ACA) could have been so blind or useless to have missed all these so very obvious misdeeds.

5. #5 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 5:47 pm

UMNO will try to keep Pakatan Rakyat leaders busy in court so that Pakatan leaders will have no time to attack the shameful evil deeds of UMNO.

Anwar Ibrahim is in court for sodomy.
    Karpal Singh is in court for sedition
    Ronnie Liu might be next.
    Also 2 other DAP leaders might be next for “insulting Islam” while no action is taken against Al Islam journalist.

This is 1Malaysia where UMNO is no.1. Whoever disagrees will be in jail and be regarded as traitor of the Malays.

Why MACC (Mother of All Corruptions & Criminals) arrested Ronnie Liu’s assistant but take no action against former MB of Selangor who owns a RM20 million house & those involved in PKFZ scandal?

Pakatan Rakyat leaders should wise up. Evil UMNO regime will find every little excuses to put PR leaders in jail.

Anwar Ibrahim, Lim Kit Siang are harapan rakyat Malaysia! Long live Lim Kit Siang & free Anwar!

6. #6 by yhsiew on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 7:32 pm

why MACC (previously ACA) failed to charge anyone although the first report on PKFZ was lodged some four years ago…..(Kit)
    ================================================

The logic is simple. MACC/ACA practices selective prosecution. If the wrong doer is an UMNO/BN VIP or has much to contribute to UMNO/BN, then he can escape prosecution. But the same cannot be said of someone who is an alien to UMNO/BN.

7. #7 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 8:54 pm

yhsiew :
    The logic is simple. MACC/ACA practices selective prosecution. If the wrong doer is an UMNO/BN VIP or has much to contribute to UMNO/BN, then he can escape prosecution. But the same cannot be said of someone who is an alien to UMNO/BN.

And they are still expecting to gain international recognition for their governance, LOL. Sometimes I just feel that Malaysia today is run by a group of gangsters who would do everything and anything at all just for money.

8. #8 by vsp on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 9:17 pm

ekompute,

And they wanted to teach Kenya how eliminate corruption!

9. #9 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 9:24 pm

vsp :
    ekompute,
    And they wanted to teach Kenya how eliminate corruption!

Actually, they want to bring them to Holland laaa, LOL.

10. #10 by oldman99 on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 11:10 pm

aiya, kenya came to learn from bn how to eliminate corruption from the eyes of the people only, not to eliminate corruption per say. ken-ya understand?

macc is under pm. no further action bcoz mca is member of bn. macc want to know if tks got anymore rm 10M to spare for sure. macc need the rm 10M to fix up more cctv & purchase video for the interrogations. no budget from pm bcoz all used for 1-malaysia campaign instead.

bn members have immunity from macc. except for some “incalcitrants” within bn. enuf said.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 12:11 am

No worry, the people involved will be investigated and charged, just like Kasitah G
    Likewise, the people involved will eventuallty be cleared of corruption because no case will be established against them

12. #12 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 12:34 am

“….. why MACC (previously ACA) failed to charge anyone although the first report on PKFZ was lodged some four years ago?………”

It is simple… their failure to act without fear and favour implies that MACC themselves are corrupted…..

13. #13 by kbong on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 11:15 am

The bigger the loss, the more likelihood that even bigger personalities are involved. If the status of the personalities involved reached high enough, then the chances of a meaningful result by the MACC Taskforce becomes zero. At most we will have a scapegoat who will be well rewarded for some temporary suffering.

Remember Perwaja? More than RM10 billion was lost. One scapegoat was charged for misappropriating a measly RM76 million. Trial started after 10 years and went on for a few years. Final verdict? Acquitted!

14. #14 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 12:50 pm

boh-liao :
    No worry, the people involved will be investigated and charged, just like Kasitah G
    Likewise, the people involved will eventuallty be cleared of corruption because no case will be established against them

Selective prosecution. Very simple… don’t investigate and then say no evidence. Standard trick. That was what Datuk Syed Ahmad Idid was complaining about when he raised a complaint of 12 High Court Judges involved in corruption. And according to Syed Ahmad, you don’t even have to investigate for those cases. All you have to do is open your eyes and see their lifestyles. They lived like lords and were obviously living beyond their means. How about that? To be judge by judges who are living beyond their means? You expect a fair trial? Who pays more, who wins… simple as that.

So here you have Muhyiddin complaining that people insult Islam… talking as if Islam encourages corruption and selective prosecution. I don’t think anyone will insult Islam per se. Islam, like any other religion, is a fine religion. It teaches people to be good. It is their adherents who insult Islam to the extent that some people confused Muslims and how they behave with Islam.

15. #15 by sightseeing on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 3:05 pm

why MACC (previously ACA) failed to charge anyone although the first report on PKFZ was lodged some four years ago…..(Kit)
    ============================

MACC is a dog raised by UMNO. How do you expect a dog attacking its owner or those who are closed to the owner.

16. #16 by madmix on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 3:44 pm

MACC besides being tasked to persecute Pakatan is also taskes to issue certificate of cleanliness to BN politicians. The MACC team will investigate PKFZ and at the end of their investigation will declare those implicated innocent of wrongdoing. Like SIRIM chop: certificate of Cleanliness!

17. #17 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 3:53 pm

SIRIM chop for ISO? Makes my toe laugh. I know one chinaman company seeking ISO. The SIRIM team came down for audit. The head of the team told the chinaman…. “if you bring all of us out until very late into the night, we will all be very sleepy tomorrow and we will just chop approved because we have to go back.” LOL.

18. #18 by siamo on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 10:52 pm

Now we know why Ong Tee Keat was so circumspect in deciding on the scope of the audit of the PKFZ scandal and took so long to make it public.

There is something in it for him. The spat about payment of the private plane gives us some clue. OTK, with pressure from all sides, had to do something and the disclosure has hurt Kuala Dimensi. And now Kuala Demensi blurted the news that OTK has used their plane and not paid for it. I am guessing it the report was not negative to Kuala Dimensi, would they have come out in the open. They will probably not mention it and borned the cost themselves.

Now, we know lah.

19. #19 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 1:35 am

Hahaha… what’s the big deal about sitting in a private plane when the plane is not yours? Our Ministers seem to be acting like small kids.

20. #20 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 1:46 am

This monkey business about flying in private planes is just like someone who hasn’t outgrown riding on one of those toy planes you find in amusement parks or one of those rocking toys where you put in some coins!

21. #21 by lopez on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:38 am

this is must be the biggest all time scandal of bolihland, otherwise ..why is it so sticky and gummy

it normal bolihland practice the matter will end up “close door meeting” and a statement release …”settled” like chieftains go meet under tent, with best cuisine of the times served and be served.
    All come s out smiling and handshake done in willing agreement.

But the tent is an internet cloud these days….what can you not do right.

22. #22 by Callum on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 10:45 am

When Mr PM said, Selangor shall return back to BN. A series of interrogation is happening to Selangor PKR leaders and aides. What does this signifies ? When someone said we cannot politcised MACC, where is their stands ? Ong vs Tiong case ?? Istana Khir has been scuttled ? Where the hell is MACC ? Can they work from 7pm until 7am to set it as top top top priority on these scandals ??????

23. #23 by siamo on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:58 pm

Following what Callum said, I think there is a campaign some PR assemblyman to join BN. BN is engineering a coup like that in Perak.

So, PR beware

24. #24 by siamo on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:01 pm

If (if) it happens in Selangor like in Perak, it will be end of PR. The people will think that PR members are so gullible, they will not have the confidence to vote PR again in the next election. DSAI, LKS, please take care.

25. #25 by Callum on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:46 pm

If that happens, then Malaysia is going to be world No 1 – the Most corrupted country in the world ! All of us jolly know well that MACC or ACA( LPPL) cannot be trusted, so where are the justice in this country ???