Principled Politics

By Hussein Hamid

Why is it that I, as a Malay, show much disrespect to Najib? Why are there so many Hang Jebats as oppose to Hang Tuahs in this time of ours – ready to do verbal battle with our leaders? Menderhaka they say. Sometimes after I have written my piece I read them and I am appalled at the venom of what I write. While we are Hang Jebats we do what we do because of what Hang Tuah had said “Takkan Melayu Hilang di Dunia”. If we do not care for our survival as a viable partner to the other races in our country then who will?

We want to tell the Malays and the people of our country that there is an alternative to the excesses of the past fifty years when UMNO were in power and got totally carried away. You not only systematically steal from our national treasuries but also take from other Malays what as taken years to acquire. How else do you explain the use of the EPF and Petronas funds to bail out your failures?

If you ask how can DAP, Keadilan and PAS work together towards a common goal when their fundamental beliefs are so divisive? I say this….how about principled politics?

Politics with ethical and moral sense. A sense of what is right and what is wrong. It is wrong to govern our country as you do now. Money Politics, Corruption, Nepotism, no accountability, no taking of responsibility, putting away of your own citizens for their political beliefs, you every day deeds and actions totally focused on self preservation. It is right for Pakatan Rakyat to want transparency and accountability in the system of Government. Politics without principal as you now practice is without a soul. Empty and void of any decency and righteousness.

Our Nation’s hope for tomorrow lies with the young. One of them, Teoh Beng Hock is no longer with us. It lies with the young within our midst who believes that it is imperative to insist on principled politics if we are to survive as a Nation.

It also lies with the young who even now have no qualms about accepting bribes if they have the power and the opportunity. It also lies with the young who are with Pemuda UMNO – the same Pemuda UMNO headed by KJ – of whom many have said of his victory as Ketua Pemuda “KJ menang. UMNO kalah”.

It lies with Nurul Izzah Anwar – the same Nurul who won over Sharizat despite Sharizat being a Wanita UMNO who can work and contribute positively to the Nation.

So our Nation hopes lies with the young but while some of them will lead there are many that needs to be led. Our work to make them ready must begin now.

Our Nation hope for tomorrow lies with you and me. It lies with Anwar Ibrahim. With Tok Guru. With Karpal Singh and with Lim Kit Siang. It lies with Zacharia, Shahzlina, M Nasir, Misha Omar. Jacyln Victor with Nicol David, with Lee Chong Wei, with Quzier Ambak, with Shalin Zulkifli. It lies with everybody. It lies with all of us – and unfortunately it also lies with Najib Razak, Mahyiddin, JJ and all those people who are now with UMNO who have a preoccupation of looting the country’s resources without fear of God.

Why should thieving Politicians and Government Servants be treated different from other criminals? We have had snatch thieves caught and killed by community vigilantes. Pickpockets have been punished in the most gruesome manner when caught by the public, suspects are killed in shootouts with Police. These Politicians are allowed to go free with their grand theft – is there one law for the poor and another for the politicians? The stench continues to grow.

PKFZ. What UMNO can do MCA can do better? Go try and figure that out.

MIC. Maika. The Telekom Shares Debacle. Simply put in language that every one can understand. Ten Million Telekoms share were offered to MIC at $5 a share. Maika acquired only one million shares the rest were for the account of those identified by Samy Velu. When Telekoms shares were first traded it fetched RM6.15 per share. By mid 1992 the Telecom shares were worth RM11 to RM13. Had MIC been given the additional Nine million shares already on offer it would have realized a profit of RM120 million by just hanging on to those share. After 17 months of investigation the Anti Corruption Agency cleared Samy Vellu of any wrong doing. Do we expect anything less?

Samy Vellu was the largest individual shareholder with 2.8 million shares. The rich man that he is and he still needs to have some more by stealing from the poor of his own race? Go figure that out!

This is the same Samy Vellu who last week tells MIC “There is no point in going against the government just to release their emotions. Many of our requests have been met !!”

Mahathir blames this same Samy Vellu for the ills of the Indians. Was not this same Samy Vellu in your cabinet Mahathir? So do not lecture us on probity!! HAH !!

We have much work to do. We begin now.

1. #1 by Jaswant on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 5:07 am

“It is clear that the term Malay was only introduced by the British when Malaya became a colony. So when Malays feature in the constitution, the history of the country should date from British’s control of this land. Equally when the term Malay is defined in Article 160 of the constitution, the history should only date from Independence Day. The Malays now are clearly not Malays of pre-Independence, and do not have the right to claim benefits from past history.”

Brilliant!! Somebody is trying to wipe out the entire Malay race, change history with his finding, innovative look at history and a new definition. How does that play in with Pakatan’s People’s Declaration which refers to Malay special privileges?

2. #2 by Jaswant on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 5:13 am

Hussein Hamid is good for a Malay. He can think rationally. Has new ideas never thought of before by anybody.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 9:38 am

This guy have a high ideal for his own race. He has the confidence for it that is not shared by that that many. Perhaps the origin of it is Malay pride that is the source of what Malay struggle has been about for 50 years. The same pride is now reaching for higher ideals the way Tun Dr. Ismail had claim the Malays would.

But If you genuinely wish for the highest ideals possible for race, his view is actually quite logically. Given demographic, the probability of Malay as a race being marginalised is near zero. The issue is what is the best way to achieve equality and better or the best?

The fact of the matter is NEP is not going to get them there. NEP can only create more rich Malays and at best a group of less than globally competitive middle class in the long run. But at some point, its a system that will come crashing down because its simply unrealistic. Its no different than the promise of communism and fascism (its not surprising that UMNO behave much like them given the source of their success is the same).

Given that the issue is when to pull the rug and how to throw them into the throes of global competition and open economic warfare.. Now or later.

The key to success really is dynamism – you want as many Malays to keep trying as many times as possible when the do not succeed and fail. How do you ensure maximum dynamism.

If you do it now, at a time when cost are still low and this country still have rich resources to tap on, there is a cushion to embark on socialist policies that ensure that the free market brutality can be corrected for those not ready. Keep them in the game and hence ensure that the maximum number of Malays keep jumping back into the game and try as many times as possible..

But if you do it later, when cost are high and likely state resources not only depleted but also have much higher demands, then the resources, which also have to be higher, to put people ‘back into the game’ is less probable.

Hence it actually highly logically for what is being advocated here despite the risk and appearance of possibly unrealistic high ideal. There is risk because implied in a realistic version of this advocacy is the other races delivering a socialist program that is relatively generous – which of course is what DAP actually was all about originally which of course reveal the real wisdom of this man with his relationship with DAP.

The best hope of the Malay and this nation lies in wisdom that goes with what this man is talking about.

4. #4 by Loh on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 10:44 am

///Politics with ethical and moral sense. A sense of what is right and what is wrong. It is wrong to govern our country as you do now. Money Politics, Corruption, Nepotism, no accountability, no taking of responsibility, putting away of your own citizens for their political beliefs, you every day deeds and actions totally focused on self preservation.///– Hussein Hamid.

The central issue is what these BN political leaders take politics to be. If they accept that politics is a noble means to serve the nation, and by extension the people comprise thereof, then they would have considered it their responsibility to do the right things. And if they could not perform to the standards they ought to set for themselves, then they should ensure that better persons are elected to the positions. It would then be their duties to ensure that the selection process should produce those results.

Unfortunately none of the BN politicians has the right concept; they take politics as lifetime tenure to enrich them and their cronies, and they utilised the power entrusted them to do just that. Thus political parties and the government are no different from the secret societies of which sometimes the leaders might still practise righteousness to remain in power. But our present crop of leaders and those in power starting from July 1981 have taken the country as a corporation for them to milk, and they care not for the welfare of the corporation which they consider a vehicle rather than a home.

The only solution for the country is to have it re-colonised, and start again a new independent state without article 153 or its equivalent.

5. #5 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 11:11 am

Hussein Hamid has always been very level headed in his articles. Someone whose views are well respected.

“Politics with ethical and moral sense. A sense of what is right and what is wrong.”

I don’t think many in PKR can understand this, especially when DSAI is power crazy and you have that arrogant Kulim MP? How about PAS? Do some of them realise many are still starving in Malaysia and why kick a ruckus over the sale of beer?

6. #6 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 1:07 pm

Hussein Hamid is one good malay who has principle of right and wrong based on fact ,not based on race and religion.I wish many are like him. Hi SpeakUp,slow down,don’t bang bang bang so fast,about DSAI and PAS or DAP.Please get your facts first before you pull your triger.What’s happening to PR’s state governments could be beyong their control.You know certain matters are under the Federal Government which is controlled by BN. I think politic is politic.It’s up to the politicians to apply politics with ethical and moral sense .We need to judge them by their action and not their talk.Again politic is an art to win ,hence politicians have no permanent friends or permanent foes. Hence PKR,DAP and PAS,though have pretty lots of misunderstanding,I think they can come to good term when they confront their common enemy ie BN.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 8:04 pm

Principled politics? Apa itu?
    Really adakah?
    BN BBC chairman Tiong alleged that he gave a huge huge donation to OngTK and MCA
    And OTK flew 5 times in his Learjet (still belum bayar lagi)
    All for the sake of clean, principled politics – ka ki nan
    No u scratch my back i scratch your back one

8. #8 by tanjong8 on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 8:58 pm

This article should be written in Malay and published in Malay medium blog to reach more Malays so that they can be enlightened for their own benefits.

We wish everybody in Malaysia to be doing well with a good government.

9. #9 by Lee HS on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 9:50 pm

Where does Tiong get these monies to give the huge huge donation to OTK and MCA?

From his pocket?

10. #10 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 9:51 pm

Frankyapp … I know what you mean dun just shoot shoot, what I am saying is 100% not caused by BN infiltrators. I know BN is definately making life hard for PR but people like Johari, Wee, Azmin, Kulim MP, Dr PAS etc are getting away with their nonsense.

Do they not know how to work such issues out in private or at least SHOW PROOF and get it done once and for all? We are not saying close one eye but let’s have proof and not talk like a pondan like what Wee has done. I will show proof later … what is that man.

11. #11 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 9:55 pm

Lee HS :Where does Tiong get these monies to give the huge huge donation to OTK and MCA?
    From his pocket?

Not that I am saying DR Tiong does this (in case get sued la) BUT some of such businessmen do dip from the company accounts. So if its a PLC, then its the public’s money. Simple? :)

I am told that some who are politicians even take money from PLC to fund their political career. Again, this is not meant to say that DR Tiong did it ok. Its just something that is rumoured to be happening with some politicians. :)

12. #12 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 10:01 pm

The police will record statements from DAP Socialist Youth chief Loke Siew Fook for allegedly insulting Islam and the Sultan of Perak, through a blog.

Will it turn out that it was the work of this sweet-looking cat from Florida after all?

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/deadlineusa/2009/aug/07/cat-download-child-pornography

13. #13 by katdog on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 11:15 pm

“If you ask how can DAP, Keadilan and PAS work together towards a common goal when their fundamental beliefs are so divisive? I say this….how about principled politics?”

This is but a dream. Reality unfortunately is much harsher. No country in this world ever succeeded in such. Yes, opposing coalitions have often come together to oust corrupt dictators but very soon they fall apart. There will always be a period of chaos after the end of any long authoritarian rule. This will be no different for Malaysia.

Mar 08 was only but the tiptoe of signs of change. The journey for Malaysia is a long and hard one. I wonder if Malaysians have the stomach for it? Cause all around, i already see many scurrying to go back to the ‘good old days’ of ‘stability’ and the BN way, foolishly thinking that this would bring us back to the glory days of the spectacular growth of the 90’s.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 11:16 pm

Yes, definitely all these articles should be in BM as well and circulated among Malaysians
    Though we don’t condone racial politics, the sad truth is we need enlightened and fair-minded Malays to speak out and demand for change for the good of the nation – one fair nation for all peoples
    Their voices carry more impact
    Of course, they will be classified as traitors by Umnoputras for selling out their own kind
    This is the big fat mother of all problems in Malaysia, Umnoputras do not accept Malays to be fair Malaysians – it’s always Malay first, Malaysian last

As for PR, some of their MPs and state assemblymen have forgotten all the pledges and sweet promises that they made during the last GE while fishing for votes
    They forgot they are to serve people now that they are YB
    They have their own agendas and are trying to settle personal scores, even to the extent of fighting and destroying their own PR mates
    Sure si liao lah

15. #15 by negarawan on Thursday, 13 August 2009 - 12:07 am

Wang Malaysia (One Malaysia)
    UMNO First (People First)
    Sapu Now (Performance Now)

16. #16 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 13 August 2009 - 8:03 am

If today the PM of Malaysia is Hussein Hamid and all his ministers possess just 1/2 his wisdom and ideals, Malaysia where got problems?

All discontentments and disunity among the various races are purposely created by UMNO Baru/BN to perpetuate their power.

17. #17 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 13 August 2009 - 10:50 am

Taxidriver … its called Divide And Rule. Weaken the people and you can rule them.

18. #18 by Jaswant on Thursday, 13 August 2009 - 11:18 am

“If you divide, how to rule?” limkamput

Yep, you’re one smart ass.

19. #19 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 3:28 am

“Ten Million Telekoms share were offered to MIC at $5 a share. Maika acquired only one million shares the rest were for the account of those identified by Samy Velu. When Telekoms shares were first traded it fetched RM6.15 per share. By mid 1992 the Telecom shares were worth RM11 to RM13.”

ABC Company had a good year. The company decided to dispose of one of its subsidiaries for a handsome price to focus on what it called its core business. But before they disposed the subsidiary, each director was alloted a certain number of shares at book value.

These fictitious directors would have been charged for CBT. Why would they be charged when BN can do it? Well, BN is above the law. Moreover, Telekom was losing money at that time, according to Dr Mahathir. That is just trying to rationalize. For why would the Ministers want to take a personal loss? A personal contribution to public service? My foot! Why would Samy Vellu want to hijack the shares then, if he knows that the more Telekom shares he takes, the more he is going to lose. That RM6.15… was there a behind-the-scene effort to depress the price so that the thieves don’t look that bad?

20. #20 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 9:37 am

SpeakUp :
    Taxidriver … its called Divide And Rule. Weaken the people and you can rule them.

There used to be a time during the 1970s when UMNO used to condemn the British for its Divide and Rule Policy in Malaysia. Then they realize the syit in their own pants and stop condemning. Sounds so much like the pigs in Animal
    Farm by George Orwell.

21. #21 by ekompute on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 10:17 am

Jaswant :
    “It is clear that the term Malay was only introduced by the British when Malaya became a colony.”

Errrrr, did I get it wrong? Read this article in Malay Wikipedia where I was also one of the contributors:

“Perkataan Melayu mungkin berasal daripada nama sebuah anak sungai yang bernama Sungai Melayu di hulu Sungai Batang Hari, Sumatera. Di sana letaknya Kerajaan Melayu sekitar 1500 tahun dahulu sebelum atau semasa adanya Kerajaan Srivijaya… Ada juga sumber sejarah yang mengatakan bahawa perkataan “Melayu” berasal dari “Sungai Melayu” di Jambi.”

“Istilah “Melayu” untuk merujuk kepada nama bangsa atau bahasa adalah suatu perkembangan yang agak baru dari segi sejarah, iaitu setelah adanya Kesultanan Melayu Melaka. Walaupun demikian, tidaklah sehingga abad ke-17 bahawa istilah “Melayu” yang merujuk kepada bangsa semakin digunakan secara meluas. Sebelum itu, istilah “Melayu” hanya merujuk kepada keturunan raja Melayu dari Sumatera sahaja.”

“Istilah “Mo-lo-yu” juga dicatat dalam buku catatan perjalanan pengembara Cina pada sekitar tahun 644-645 Masihi semasa zaman Dinasti Tang. Para pengkaji bersependapat bahawa perkataan “Mo-lo-yo” yang dimaksudkan itu ialah kerajaan yang terletak di Jambi di Pulau Sumatera, serta juga Sriwijaya yang terletak di daerah Palembang.”

Errrrr…. Sumatera, Sumatera, Sumatera! Does it mean that historically, Melayus are royalties from Sumatera? And the so-called Malay race did not exist before the 17th century? 400 years of history must mean that the Malays as a race is probably the youngest in the world. But who are their ancestors? Can’t be that they suddenly exist in this world, rite? Obviously, their ancestors are not a homogeneous race…. a hotchpotch of many many races, just like the term “Malaysian”. Thus, Melayu di Tanah Melayu… a term akin to Malaysians in Malaysia. So why can’t we have a Malaysian Malaysia in as much as Tanah Melayu for the Melayus?

Greed, human greed… obviously, they don’t believe in life after death. They only believe in life in this world and they are going to hoard as much ringgit as possible so that they can live luxuriously as if this life is their last. Or do they still think that there is life after death and they can buy their way into Syurga, just like they do in Malaysia? Buy a cushy angel position in Syurga and lead another easy life, LOL.

22. #22 by Loh on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 1:36 pm

///It is clear that the term Malay was only introduced by the British when Malaya became a colony.”

Errrrr, did I get it wrong? Read this article in Malay Wikipedia where I was also one of the contributors///– ekompute

I wrote the above sentence that you quoted. I understand it from the article entitled “The Malays… more than just a people by Karim Raslan which appears in the Star on 11 August 2009” It referred to a recently published book entitled “The Malays” written by Anthony Milner, an Australian academic.

Article 160 defines Malays as persons satisfying three criteria. Thus the NEWMalays do not have the right to claim what the original Malays, however defined, were entitled to inherit from their forefathers.

23. #23 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 8:19 pm

Hi Loh, with the claims to Ketuanan Melayu, I have been very interested in the origins of the Malays in Malaysia and have done quite a bit of reading up on this matter. What I understand is that the concept of “Tanah Melayu” was introduced by the British, but the use of the word “Melayu” to mean at first the rakyat of Melaka began sometime in the 17th century.

History of Malaya by J. Kennedy says: “Each state was a world unto itself, and there was no idea of a larger Malay world, or of a union of Malay states… (NOTE: The union of Malay states were later introduced by the British when it began intervention in Peninsular Malaysia.) Even among the Malay population, the sense of common racial feeling did not extend beyond the state. A Malay from another state might be regarded as a foreigner, although Islam did provide a common bond. Many Malays were descendants of immigrants from Sumatra. The majority of these were Minangkabaus, but there were also Korinchi, Rawa, Mandiling, and Batak groups. In addition, there were Malays form Acheh and Java as well as Malays of old Peninsular stock (NOTE: I think Kennedy was referring to Deutero-Malays and Orang Laut.) There was a small but influential group of Arabs and people of mixed Arab-Malay descent, and there were Bugis, whose forefathers had come from Celebes. Despite a common general culture, the Malay population was very much aware of the differences between these groups, as shown in their language and customs.”

In short, there was no political entity called “Tanah Melayu” because the British intervention of the Malay states in Peninsular Malaya although there were many distinct Malay states.

24. #24 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 8:21 pm

CORRECTION: In short, there was no political entity called “Tanah Melayu” before the British intervention of the Malay states in Peninsular Malaya, although there were many distinct Malay states.

25. #25 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 8:30 pm

History of Malaya, written by J. Kennedy in 1919 before we have a lot of flakes and adulterations to try to change Malay history, says: “Many Malays were descendants of immigrants from Sumatra.”

Would not that make many Malays pendatangs too, ie. pendatangs from Sumatera? So what is this Ahmad Ismail, a third generation mamak whose grandfather came from India, trying to say? His geography must be damned bad that he must have thought that India is part of Malaysia, LOL.

26. #26 by Loh on Saturday, 15 August 2009 - 9:36 pm

The inhabitants in Malaya cannot deny that under the British there were no privileged citizens in the country though the royal houses were recognised. It should also be recognized that on granting independence to Malaya, the British had to agree to how the independent Malaya would be run, which was in accordance to the constitution. On the inclusion of article 153, The Reid Commission reports on Malayan Constitution states: …that in due course the present preferences should be reduced and should ultimately cease so that there should then be no discrimination between races or communities. That the Reid Commission held the view that preferences were discriminatory in nature was obvious. The reason why Article 153 was included was not based on the length of time the different communities had been migrants to the country, it was merely to assist “Malays” to be competitive. In fact in the original version of the Article, there was a provision for review, after 15 years. Obviously a review was based on needs rather than history accidents.

May 13 provided Razak the excuse to remove the review provision. Without the caveat, Mamaks chose to confuse the issue. Mamaks was only included as Malays since 1957 and prior to that they were Indians. They certainly cannot share any claim of Malays in pre-independence day. Why must Malays be led by Mamaks and be given bad name by Mamaks?