After being so badly savaged, can Najib’s 1Malaysia be salvaged?

In just four months of the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak unveiling his new and gleaming “1Malaysia” motto, the UMNO-owned Utusan Malaysia is already assuming the mantle of the “Undertaker” to bury Najib’s “1Malaysia” slogan with its recent series of unabashedly divisive and remorselessly seditious incitement of racial hatred and disharmony in plural Malaysia.

When Najib could fail the first test to stand up by his “1Malaysia” concept in just 130 days as Prime Minister, not from challenges from outside but threats from within, what credibility can the Prime Minister command to continue to advocate the concept of “1Malaysia”?

Is Najib going to order a halt to the millions or even tens of millions of ringgit which had been spent or budgeted for a massive nation-wide promotion of the “1Malaysia” concept when it is so publicly repudiated, almost on a daily basis, by Umno leaders and Umno institutions like Utusan Malaysia?

Yesterday, Najib called on the police to take action against those who incite racial and religious tensions.

Najib’s warning was given front-page banner headline by Utusan Malaysia today – “Siasat pihak hina Islam – PM mahu mereka terlibat didakwa membangkitkan keteganan kaum”.

Utusan Malaysia is the biggest culprit in trying to incite racial and religious tensions with its recent spate of incendiary incitements of communal and religious sentiments and yet it is so cynical with the audacity to put Najib’s warning on the front-page, as if it is a totally innocent party!

It is the latest mutation of “thief shout thief” or “arsonist shout arson” where the thief or arsonist are guaranteed full immunity for their thievery or arson.

DAPSY chief and MP for Rasah Loke Siew Fook had been blasted in the Barisan Nasional mainstream media for insulting Islam and the Perak royalty because of articles in the blog sjsandteam.wordpress.com, which has nothing to do with Loke whatsoever.

Are Umno leaders, including Ministers, Deputy Ministers and Mentris Besar like Datuk Seri Zambry Kadir as well as Utusan Malaysia going to apologise to Loke for making such baseless attacks or have truth and facts ceased to matter at all in the grand conspiracy to defame DAP leaders to break up the Pakatan Rakyat?

After being so badly savaged, can Najib’s “1Malaysia” motto and concept still be salvaged?

This seems to be impossible especially as Najib and Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin have publicly sided with Utusan Malaysia in its recent spate of racist and incendiary articles, making a total mockery of Najib’s “1Malaysia” concept.

Unless a political miracle happens tomorrow, with the MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat and the Gerakan President Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon taking a firm stand in the Cabinet tomorrow to uphold and salvage the “1Malaysia” concept by taking a firm stand to demonstrate that Utusan Malaysia does not enjoy immunity for sedition and incitement of racial hatred!

What can Malaysians expect from the Cabinet meeting tomorrow?

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 1:09 pm

BN will survive no matter what because they are in power and have the money BUT the question is will PR make it past another GE? I think that is the question that has arisen recently on even anti-BN forums.

2. #2 by ekompute on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 1:29 pm

“Siasat pihak hina Islam.”

I agree with that call. Siasat mereka yang menghina Islam… mereka yang mengisytiharkan diri sebagai penganut agama Islam tetapi tidak mematuhi ajaran dan nilai Islam… mereka yang terlibat dalam rasuah, penyalahgunaan kuasa, pengamalan ketakadilan, dan sebagainya. Merekalah yang mengakibatkan orang bukan Islam tidak menghormati agama Islam.

3. #3 by ekompute on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 1:37 pm

Don’t worry about 1Malaysia, it will die a natural death and the better for it. It was not built out of a desire for national unity since this is not UMNO’s political strategy to remain in power, but a ruse to strengthen their dismal position after the 12th general election.

4. #4 by ekompute on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 1:40 pm

UMNO survive all these years by playing the racial card. National unity is fatal to their survival, so how does 1Malaysia fit in? 1Malaysia can only fit in with DAP, an Islamic Malaysia under PAS, and new parties such as PKR that can invent any position they like since they have no past records to contradict their stance.

5. #5 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 1:43 pm

BN will survive if PR is destroy.BN will collapse if EastMalaysian component members leave and support PR. Umno/BN are currently doing the precise thing now to disintergate PR. Much Umno/BN intented to do to remain in power,its fate lies in the hand of the voters.For as long as PR can remain intact despite being hammered left and right,and below the belt by Umno/Bn,the majority of the voters will vote for PR. Under the present political scenario,even east malaysian BN components would not help BN to retain the centre stage. Power and money would not help BN to win as the people/voters have witnessed too much evil and bad things already done by Umno/BN.The only way Umno/BN will remain in power is through an emergency declaration.IN a nut shell,guys,there’s no 13th general election.Good guys like LKS,Anwar,K.Singh.Zaid I,LGE,Awang Hadi would be ISAed.Plus maybe some of you guys in this blog.Hence be prepared.If not,then better leave politic.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 2:12 pm

Don’t worry about 1Malaysia, it will die a natural death and the better for it. – ekompute

It is already dead, 1Malaysia suffered a premature death!

7. #7 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 2:28 pm

BN will survive if PR is destroy. – frankyapp

The weakest link in PR is PAS, but UMNO cannot consume PAS, and they don’t want to PAS in the BN coalition for obvious reasons, they only want to break PAS into few pieces, that is enough to weaken PR, may be a good thing for PAS too, but it isn’t necessary for PAS to learn this lesson. PAS is a party based on Islamic principle, to sit down on the table and play the unity government game with the devil itself is a joke, Hadi, Nash and Hassan should’ve known better.

8. #8 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 2:36 pm

Unless a political miracle happens tomorrow, with the MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat and the Gerakan President Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon taking a firm stand in the Cabinet tomorrow to uphold and salvage the “1Malaysia” concept by taking a firm stand to demonstrate that Utusan Malaysia does not enjoy immunity for sedition and incitement of racial hatred! – LKS

Actually, the more Utusan Malaysia incites racial hatred the better it is for PR. You will be scared if they start singing about 1Malaysia.

9. #9 by mmz18 on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 3:00 pm

Najib has 1Malaysia which favours the umnoputras.
    Uncle Lime also has 1DAP which favours thugs like Ronnie Liu.

10. #10 by bennylohstocks on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 3:15 pm

11. #11 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 3:35 pm

Talk big, LKS. You watch out.
    NR’s 1Malaysia will win BN Permatang Pasir buy election to bury PR.
    The end of the beginning or
    the beginning of the end?

12. #12 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 4:00 pm

Dawsheng … PR’s weakness is LOUSY LEADERS. Leaders who cannot control the army. Simple as that. If you go to war you think a coalition force takes instructions from many Generals? PAS is a problem but so are some PKR nutters who have been creating havoc.

Frankyapp … ISA? Hmmmm … the food ok or not? No internet access huh? Based on today’s political climate, BN will still be the government after GE13. Why? Simple?

PR has not gained any new ground or late. Period. Actually, PR is losing ground, voters are losing faith in it. That itself will kill off PR let alone wanting to garner more votes at GE13.

Wake up PR … wakey wakey!

13. #13 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 5:34 pm

PR’s weakness is LOUSY LEADERS. Leaders who cannot control the army. Simple as that. If you go to war you think a coalition force takes instructions from many Generals? – SpeakUp

What the “F” are you talking about?

14. #14 by k1980 on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 5:51 pm

1malaysia is just a slogan to cover up umno’s crimes.

PR should conter with slogans such as:
    Malaysians never been had so good

Had enough, Malaysians?

No Second Term for Naj

Give ‘Em Hell, PR!

1malaysia OUT, Malaysia 2.0 IN!

15. #15 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 6:15 pm

dawsheng … I am talking this ‘F’:

i. DSAI awarding that racist arrogant Kulim MP with cabinet committee post;
    ii. DSAI not speaking up about Johari boycotting LGE;
    iii. DSAI not speaking up about Wee Choo Keong and Azmin Ali’s allegations against you know who la;
    iv. DSAI not speaking up about PKR Penang speaking up against LGE over the Kg Buah Pala issue;
    v. Hadi allowing PAS Youth to have intellectual talks with UMNO Youth;
    vi. Hadi taking no action against Datuk Dr Hassan Ali for the nonsense in Shah Alam;
    vii. MB Selangor promising in Nov 08 that there will be no alcohol ban in Sleangor BUT there seem to be one in place except for beer etc;
    viii. DAP not showing its taken any action against Nibong Tebal DAP division chief Teh Hock Yong for unfounded allegations against Jawi assemblyperson Tan Beng Huat;
    ix. PAS/DAP/PKR agreeing on the Peoples Declaration and not living up to most of it.

I am not all that great in using the old Roman numbering so I better stop here.

Also, I think RPK says time for a TIGHT SLAP for PR la. Here are his own words:

“Pakatan Rakyat must remember that it was not they who won the 8 March 2008 general election. It was the rakyat who did. And now the rakyat is no longer part of the equation in whatever they do. Pakatan Rakyat must be given a tight slap on the face.”

For more fun reading try this:

http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2009/08/10/we-need-to-teach-politicians-a-lesson-pakatan-rakyat-politicians-that-is/

http://www.thenutgraph.com/indiscipline-within-pkr

Dawsheng … I am not here to criticise for fun, things are getting bad for PR and they need to wake up. Its like BN, thinking Petronas can pump money for the next 10 generations. Its the same problem. If we do not address the illness now it will be terminal soon. Get my drift now?

16. #16 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 9:27 pm

Anwar made the right decision by giving Zul a place in the cabinet committee, is kinda of punishment by reward. Johari, Wee, Azmin and Teh through their own actions suffered lost of credibility more than anything else, as leaders, to guide doesn’t mean you must reprimand, making things worst than they already are. If you respect democracy, you must respect dissenting views. As for Hadi, Nash, Hassan and PAS, we will just have to wait and see, whether or not they will become a political liability, for both side of the divide. I wouldn’t take RPK and Sam Haris too seriously, if they really want to change things in PR the only way is to join in.

17. #17 by GreenBug on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 10:47 pm

Barisan Nasional and 1Malaysia will succeed ONLY because Pakatan Rakyat fails. And the way things are moving, Pakatan doesn’t look too good and voters are having question marks about them. Unless those bunch of egocentric idiots who try to be little Napoleons themselves like Dzulkifli Noordin, Wee Choo Keong, Ronnie Liu, Jeff Ooi, Azmin Ali, Pakatan will lose the confidence of their supporters.

18. #18 by tanjong8 on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 10:49 pm

The madness and venom with which the Utusans and the Umnoputras are spouting have proven an old saying:

When god wants a man dead, he will make him mad first.

It is becoming clearer that the Utusans and Umnoputras’ days are numbered. Insanity is showing. The question now is how shall we protect the people from being harmed by the lunatics ?
    The mentally sicks can do savages which may be beyond our imagination. How can we take precautions to counter this possibility ?

We neglect to our own perils !

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 10:53 pm

Dawsheng … I like your take on Zul, that is pure nonsense please. It shows DSAI’s weak leadership, pure and simple. As for RPK and Sam Haris joining PR, you got to be kidding. They do not wish to be under any political umbrella so they can speak openly.

Dissenting views that are openly sabotaging another ally politician is not democracy. Even you would not tolerate it happening in your office by your colleague ok.

20. #20 by ekompute on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 11:29 pm

frankyapp :
    BN will survive if PR is destroy.BN will collapse if EastMalaysian component members leave and support PR.

Aptly said. East Malaysia will leave the Federation one day with all these Ketuanan Melayu talk. It’s a matter of time. Once they feel that they can stand on their own feet, they will say bye-bye.

21. #21 by ekompute on Tuesday, 11 August 2009 - 11:45 pm

Unless a political miracle happens tomorrow, with the MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat and the Gerakan President Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon taking a firm stand in the Cabinet tomorrow to uphold and salvage the “1Malaysia” concept by taking a firm stand to demonstrate that Utusan Malaysia does not enjoy immunity for sedition and incitement of racial hatred! – LKS

How can Tan See (Wait Die) Dr. Koh Tsu Koon take a firm stand when he can’t even help himself? Ahmad Ismail’s supporters tore down his photo and stepped on it and he could only swallow his pride? And who is Ahmad Ismail? Just a small fry mamak in UMNO.

22. #22 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 1:32 am

It’s funny how some people wanted more voices in a democracy and when they have it they don’t like it, they want PR to be another BN where members must toe the line, if so this is the beginning of the end for PR and democracy in Malaysia.

23. #23 by Lee HS on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 1:53 am

Whatever it is we cannot let UMNO governs for another term. We are heading towards oblivion whether we like it or not. Malaysia has lost its luster. The future is bleak under present government. After 52 years under UMNO we cannot even catch up with our emerging neighbours. Do you still want UMNO to lead?

We have to change in order to survive. What can change Malaysia right now? It is PR and there is no other way out.

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 9:43 am

It is much easier to be a doom-sayer in Malaysia but look at what happened for a brief priod in Perak.
    Nizar became the MB under a heavy cloud of unhappiness but he showed how such a government can operate with some good leadership.
    If not for the BN takeover plot, the PR state government would still be in power. Hopefully the lessons learned will be used properly.

25. #25 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 12 August 2009 - 11:29 am

dawsheng :
    It’s funny how some people wanted more voices in a democracy and when they have it they don’t like it, they want PR to be another BN where members must toe the line, if so this is the beginning of the end for PR and democracy in Malaysia.

I find it funny how you can see it as being forced to toe the line. Its called WORKING TOGETHER, not being DESTRUCTIVE. Can you see the difference? You like to have MPs who barge in on Bar Council meetings and call that DEMOCRACY? You want MPs/ADUNs who make allegations against their own without any shred of evidence? Yes … some in PKR are becoming like BN, can you not see how many in this blog are already noticing it?

26. #26 by pky103 on Thursday, 13 August 2009 - 2:02 am

27. #27 by johnnypok on Friday, 14 August 2009 - 4:56 am

Sabah and Sarawak pull out and form a new nation.

Malaya join Singapore