Will the Parliamentary Roundtable tomorrow support Najib’s KPI for crime prevention to reduce street crime by 20% in 2010 as it is late by four years and should have covered all categories of crime as proposed by Dzaiddin Police Royal Commission in May 2005

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak has announced the reduction of the crime rate on the streets by 20 per cent in 2010 as one of the KPIs (key performance indicators) of the six National Key Results Areas (NKRA).

Will the Parliamentary Roundtable for a new IGP to create a safe Malaysia support Najib’s KPI for crime prevention to reduce street crime by 20% in 2010 as it is late by four years and should have covered all categories of crime as proposed by the Dzaiddin Police Royal Commission in its report in May 2005?

When the Dzaiddin Royal Police Commission submitted its final report in May 2005, it said that Malaysia’s reputation as a safe country was “seriously dented” by the “dramatic increase” in the incidence of crime in the past few years and that “Malaysians in general, the business sector and foreign investors grew increasingly concerned with the situation”.

The Royal Commission warned that “if the trend continues, there would be major social and economic consequences for Malaysia”.

The Royal Police Commission was referring to the “dramatic increase” in the crime index from 121,176 cases in 1997 to 156,455 cases in 2004, which registered an increase of 29 per cent in eight years.

As a result, the Royal Police Commission proposed a sustained nation-wide drive against crime “until crime levels have reached a point considered no longer alarming”, with an immediate target of “a minimum 20 per cent decrease in crimes” in all categories of crime within the first 12 months after the Report.

Instead of achieving the Police Royal Commission’s target of reducing the intolerably high incidence of crime of 156,455 cases in 2004 by 20 per cent in 12 months (i.e. 125,164 cases), the reverse took place.

In the seven years from 1997 to 2004, crime index increased by 29%, but in the four years from 2004 to 2008 crime index increased by 35.5%.

From the latest statistics given in Parliament, crime index have galloped to break the 200,000 mark, with the incidence of crime shooting up to 209,582 in 2007 and 211,645 in 2008.

The endemic crime situation is no surprise except to the Prime Minister and the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein who have to learn of the severity and magnitude of the problem from public feedback that Malaysians have lost all confidence in the police force to carry out its most elementary duties, i.e. to keep the streets, public places and the privacy of homes safe for Malaysians, tourists and investors.

In the last four days, the Home Ministry website has sought feedback from the public as to whether they feel safe from crime in the country.

Right from the beginning, there had been a sustained 97% of those polled who feel unsafe and 95% who hold that their security is not assured, as illustrated from the following results which I had been tracking:

Feel unsafe Security not assured
23.7.09 12 midnight 96%(866) 95%(894)
24.7.09 7.40 am 97%(1,187) 95% (1,119)
2.20 pm 97%(2,846) 95% (2,619)
25.7.09 12.30 pm 97%(4,905) 95% (4,495)
26.7.09 10 am 97% (6,058) 95% (5,549)
27.7.09 3.10 pm 97% (7,804) 95% (7,117)

Only 1% of Malaysians felt safe while 2% were uncertain.

As at 3.10 pm today, more than half of the respondents (i.e. 63% or 4,720) formed this opinion because they or their family members were victims of crime while 36% of the respondents (2743) were influenced by news about crime.

To a question whether the Government has done its best to ensure that the safety of the people was at the best level, 95% of 7,427 respondents replied in the negative. Only 3% felt that the government has taken the necessary measures to ensure public safety.

Najib’s KPI for street crime and the Home Ministry’s website poll with only 1% of Malaysians who felt safe while only 3% of Malaysians felt that the government has taken the necessary measures to ensure public safety are the most appropriate subjects for deliberation by tomorrow’s Parliamentary Roundtable for a new IGP to create a safe Malaysia.

Among the organizations and Malaysians who will attend the Parliamentary Roundtable in Parliament at 10 am tomorrow are: Ragunathan Kesavan, President, Bar Council; Dr. Lim Teck Ghee and Helen Ang from Centre for Policy Initiatives; representatives from SUARAM, Hakam, KLSCAH Youth and Datuk Seri Yuen Yuet Leng, retired CPO of Perak and Sarawak.

Those who wish to attend the Roundtable can still contact the organising secretariat (Shabrimi 016-4124735; Lim Swee Kuan 016-6266848; Boon Kia Meng 012-5180863).

Let the Parliamentary Roundtable tomorrow be a milestone in the journey to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service regarded as an international model for all polices forces in keeping crime low, eradicating corruption and protecting human rights in Malaysia.

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 5:16 pm

Milestone? It will be a joke because I think most of the BN MPs will not attend. This is one time where they can think to act for the nation, let’s see if I am wrong. I wish I am …

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 5:59 pm

Want to play a cruel joke on Najib and IGP?

You know how many people don’t even report the crimes happening to them such as snatch thiefs? Lets have a campaing to get EVERYONE TO REPORT. There is no way they can bring crime down even 1% if everybody actually report ALL the crimes…

Lets screw with them since they seem intend on screwing with us..

3. #3 by -ec- on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 6:14 pm

what is the rationale to reduce street crime by 20%? does it mean that last year the street snatch killed 100 malaysians, now these snatch theft could still kill 80 malaysians this year? the target should be zero crime rate. why is there so low a target? maybe nr already know the incapability of the police chief. both of them should resign!

what about commercial crime, cyber crime, house breaking, arson, blackmailing etc. etc.? NO NEED TO REDUCE? and it took so many months to come out with these measures? shame on nr’s inefficiency. nr and ktk should resign!

4. #4 by -ec- on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 6:33 pm

and by looking at all of nr’s kra, it is obviously not good enough:

* To reduce street crimes by 20% by the end of 2010 as part of the Government’s KPI target. (i have commented this)

* To ensure 80% of Malaysian children get access to pre-school by 2012. Currently only 60% have access.
    (what is the actual plan? close all the private pre-schools? more people lose job and lose business? so more government contract will be given out, to whom? how much? open tender? i doubt it. what about the children of sabah and sarawak? can you have 99% of peninsular students and 60% or less east malaysians, and the average is 80%?)

* By 2012, all school kids must master reading, writing and mathematics by Year 4.
    (what is the measurement criteria of ‘master’? is this another failed project of 3M, introduced by the then minister of education, now the pm of the country?)

* The Kelana Jaya LRT line is to get 35 new four-car train sets by 2012 as part of the Government’s efforts to increase public transport usage to 25% from the present 16%.
    (what about road congestion? traffic jam? what about toll? what about pkfz?)

* To ensure that by 2012, no one lives further than five kilometres from a tarred road and to build 50,000 homes for the poor.
    (what is the current status? is the former already achievable soon and now become a glorifying objective? the latter: how many population living under the poverty line? the measure is ambiguous. the measure should be expressed as a ratio, e.g. 1 new house for 5 poors.)

* To improve the international perception of corruption in Malaysia by improving the country’s ranking in the world’s corruption index.
    (from what to what? not specific! it should take the marks of all measured area of the corruption index, all the marks in all areas should be improved by at least 50% all categories. don’t we have the macc now? they have to do the real besides threatening the oppositions and kill the rakyat)

5. #5 by -ec- on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 6:42 pm

why only 6 kra’s? does it mean the economy is not a key area? foreign affair is not a key area? unemployment is not a key area? number of tourist not important? (that reminds me of pempena, how now?) inflation not a key area?

what are the rest of the ministers doing? they are not important and no key area to look after? then these ministries should be closed down and all these ministers should be sacked. waste the rakyat’s hard earned tax money.

6. #6 by Justitia on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 7:52 pm

Well, here we go again. Another quick, sleight of hand by Najib again – cutting street crime by 20%.

First, this is not a BHAG (Big, Hairy, Audacious, Goals). At the risk of being sexist, the “hairy” part is to connote masculinity. How about some long terms thinking? How about cutting crime by 50% in three years or at least a 20% reduction every year? How about linking performance to pay or promotions or tenure?

Second, by focussing on a narrow segment of crime, it runs the risk of misallocation of resources to fighting crime. This can result in other serious crimes rising as resources are pulled away.

Third, I do not see how this is going to work without cultural and structural changes in the way police work is being handled. The police presence on the street currently is to prevent legislators from entering the legislative places like in Perak, dispersing peaceful assembly, etc.

Fourth, I do not see a monitoring system to ensure that the police are not monkeying around with the data via under-reporting or shifting reporting to another category? What is the system health check here with respect to data? I guess this is driven by the gutter-level credibility that the man-on-the-street views our police. Let me also hasten to add that there are honest, honourable and professional police. However, your reputation has been sullied by those colleagues who are dishonourable, dishonest, and unprofessional.

Last, but not least, I expect at the end of the day, the numbers will be met or close to being met so that someone can declare victory and move on while the reality faced by the people will be no different. There will be no heads that roll if the target is not met or somebody falling on their own sword. I would love to see leadership by example if the targets are not met – do the honourable Japanese thing, Harakiri with the police leadership following. That way, we at least have a chance to build something new from scratch that is not tainted or polluted by politics or political affiliations.

7. #7 by sean on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 10:57 pm

The only one that felt safe must be those from umno and bn putras.And this include the dirty cops and filthy macc dirt bags.

8. #8 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 11:28 pm

I think we are missing the whole point of managing a modern nation. We can’t set narrow targets to assess our performance. Managing a country is multi-facet. The government must think and act professional, efficient and productive at all time. Take policing as example. It is not just street crimes. It is about being professional, fair, disciplined and corruption free. If we have all these in place, not only the streets will be free from crimes, major crimes will be thoroughly investigated and solved, public order secured, people will be willingly cooperating, drug and weapon smuggling and illegal migrants minimised, commercial crimes controlled, gangsterism and underworld war lords checked and illegal gambling and prostitutions controlled. Each of these is linked to the other. Street crimes, in a way, is just the manifestation of many things that have gone wrong in our policing as mentioned above. If we set wrong targets or irrelevant targets, resources are challenged to wrong use. Worse still, performance targets are manipulated to gain political points. I think the rakyat will know whether the government as a whole is performing or otherwise. And when they judge, I don’t think we will ever judge with one or two narrow targets.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 11:30 pm

Round table, square table, oval table….all these are very tiring lah. Right or wrong the people are fed-up.

Just table a no-confidence motion against the PM and the BN government for the October sitting of Parliament and take it from there.

10. #10 by ROARING LION on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 11:53 pm

So long the BN led by UMNO ,the people of this country will not get justice and fairness…..only way is to wait for the next GE and we shall bury BN and UMNO in the sea….

11. #11 by ROARING LION on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 11:55 pm

justice and fairness are nonexistent under BN rule…

12. #12 by ROARING LION on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 11:56 pm

The entire system of government must go if we want justice and fairness……

13. #13 by elvie ho on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 11:59 pm

crime have been so bad that recently one of my neighbour CD player was snatch in the morning while on the way for a line dance,one of my friend open his car boot and a men snatch a drilling toolbox from the van in front of my friend! we are fed up of all the empty talk.Its better the gov approve gun lisence and we will just carry guns like the cowboys since we are staying in cowboy

14. #14 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:06 am

“Round table, square table, oval table…all these are very tiring lah.”

Nothing that cannot be resolved under the table.

15. #15 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:07 am

Elvie … you can’t just shoot someone for robbing you of a CD player. That is why our government is not issuing licenses that easily. Lethal force is used for self preservation only when faced with lethal force. Owning a handgun is a huge responsiblity, most can’t even obey traffic laws or even act decently here. How la?

16. #16 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:12 am

How arr?? Go here to find out how.

http://limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/

17. #17 by House Victim on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:24 am

IF RULES & REGULATIONS ARE NOT FOLLOWED BY THE PUBLIC SERVANTS WITH TRANSPARENCY, ACCOUNTABILIY AND JUSTICE , NOTHING CAN BE ACHIEVED!!

IF OBVIOUS CRIME SUCH AS THOSE IN THE PKFTZ CANNOT BE CONDUCTED WITH THE NECESSARY HEARING IN PARLIAMENT, WHO CAN CONFIDE THAT THE GOVERNMENT MACHINES ARE WORKING?
    With Breach of Duty and Trust of Court, Police, MACC, and even the Ministers and PM to deliver their Job, should any Criminal or crooks should afraid of the Governing System?
    ONLY THOSE WHO CANNOT AFFORD TO CORRUPT will be scared of the System! They are the ordinary People – 99% living in Malaysia!

When a notorious Lawyer assaulted Clients with staffs, clients, neighbors, family members as witness can not even get the proper handling of the Police, KUP, AG and even the PCB, can we depend on Police fighting crime in the Street?

YB, IF YOU ALLOW ALL COMPLAINTS OF MISHANDLING OR FAILURES TO ACT BY THE POLICE TO BE PRESENTED IN TOMORROW ROUND-TABLE, I AM SURE THE WHOLE FLOOR OF THE PARLIAMENT WILL BE FLOODED OR SUNK!!

HOW MANY CRIMINAL HAD SLIPPED THROUGH THE FINGERS OF THE COURTS?

Not only King is wearing his New Clothes. but PM, ministers and many many Senior Officers! The Government is wearing the King’s New Clothes paid by Sweat, Tear and even Blood of the People!!

Only when Public Servants. especially those key posts know what is SHAME when Duty and Justice failed, Malaysia could have hope!!

ONLY WHEN ALL CORRUPTION CAN BE PUT ON THE TABLE, THEN, THE TABLE OF PARLIAMENT CAN REALLY BE TERMED “ROUND”!

18. #18 by klaikw on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:47 am

211645 – 20% = 169316 and yet they thinks malaysia is a safe country by 2010. So 2009 crime rate is 211645 – 10% = 190480 cases. By year 2010 190480 – 10% = 171432 . God bless all malaysian. Forecast 2009 to 2010 : 190480 + 171432 = 361912 agar agar …….. the future is doom. I thought is zero % crime free .

19. #19 by donplaypuks on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:50 am

YB

My apologies for venturing into another topic, but this is important.

The very 1st invoice purporting to show DAP councillors planning fraud and kickbacks at T4TBH http://www.t4tbh.blogspot.com/ is a FAKE.:

$1,800 (less 5%) should be -$90 = $1,710. Instead it is written as %1,800 (less 5%) – $180 = $1,620!!??

Bernie Madhoff school of Maths, Finance and Projects? Ha, ha, ha, ha!

Only fools will believe this guy who can’t add 2 + 2!

T4TBH – fake of the century!! Muahaha!

20. #20 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 1:02 am

We need the police force to be reformed. Of course it needs a good leader to make it happen. How do we have a good police force when you can be a constable with a mere SRP and being underpaid you decide to make some side income. How can we move forward? Its pathetic … the cadets take no pride in their jobs.

21. #21 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 1:35 am

Mohamad Ramli Abdul Manan should educate people about the proper and improper procedures practised by MACC when interrogating witnesses and suspects.

22. #22 by YK Leong on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:27 am

We would also like to remind the PDRM, MACC and Judiciary, they are all creations of the Constitution and hence, must abide by its laws. In other words, not any other law except what is being provided in the context of the Constitution.

We witnessed:-
    1. Police storming the Perak State Assembly with firearms and dragging Speaker Sivakumar like an animal out of the assembly hall as well as illegally detaining him for about 90 minutes on 7 May 2009.
    2. On 27 July 2009, police denying Speaker Sivakumar and his Rights and Privileges Committee members entry into the Perak State Secretariat. Thereby, denying them their rights to act as the people elected representatives.
    3. Police blocking movies screening in Kampung Buah Pala. In other words, the rights of people taking photographs are denied.
    4. MACC had yet to give a clear and explicit explanation whether TBH was detained or released at 3.45am on 16 July 2009 due to TBH’s personal possession in MACC’s possession beyong a slightest doubt. The people are still awaiting answer for TBH.

23. #23 by YK Leong on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 6:07 am

Correction to item 3, please delete “In other words, the rights of people taking photographs are denied”. Sorry for the inclusion of this sentence.

24. #24 by ekompute on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 6:28 am

“Right from the beginning, there had been a sustained 97% of those polled who feel unsafe and 95% who hold that their security is not assured… Only 1% of Malaysians felt safe while 2% were uncertain.”

The 2% of Malaysians who felt uncertain must be those who live in extreme poverty, while the 1% who felt safe are the criminals who believe the police can do nothing to them, hahaha.

25. #25 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 7:09 am

Crime rate to be reduced by 20% by 2010.It looks great .Do the PDRM got the “will” to do it ?.OR NR is just saying it to please the rakyat in respond to LKS’s persistently calling the IGP to reduce the high crime rate.Some of you guys may have known why the crime rate is so high and I wish to share my observasion with you and others.In Sabah alone especially in KK city,Sandakan,Lahad Datu,Tawau and Keningau,quite a number of police guys/officers from the rank and file are involved in smuggling goods like cigarette from Indonisia,beers from the Philipine and also cigarette,liqour and beers from duty free port Labaun .Some even involved in illegal drugs.If you walk along the pavements in any streets,night market(baser malam) and bus stop or station,you can find pretty lots of illegal immigrants,women,young boys and girls and even children under ten years old selling all these smuggled cigarettes in total broad day light.I have even witnessed several time police and city hall enforement officials buying cigarettes from these illegal street traders.Just drop in any bars in town,you would find cheap duty free liquors,beers ,cigas and cigarettes.In Karaokay and night hot spots or clubs,illegal drugs are readily avaiable for sale.Now guys,you tell me why are all these illegal activities are allow to florish ? Who are the lords of all these illegal things which have been florishing pretty good years after years right under the police,city hall and town broad noses ? And still no action being taken against them ?.Worst still off duty police ,city hall personnels including officers on duty from the CID were seen having happy time in most of these places.Why are all these “tiada apa ” attitude from these law enforcement agencies ? How can the police reduce crime rate when they ingrone the law themselves ?.Do you guys think a new IGP can do it as the depth of corruption in the PDRM is so well rooted. Wonder why too the new MACC can remain so still and silience.This is just Sabah alone, I understand in Sarawak the illegal business scenario is much worst. Maybe P.Malaysia is better,perhaps you guys over there can tell me.Only with GOD’s help,I think a new IGP can do to reduce the crime rate in the whole country.

26. #26 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 7:25 am

SpeakUp :We need the police force to be reformed. Of course it needs a good leader to make it happen. How do we have a good police force when you can be a constable with a mere SRP and being underpaid you decide to make some side income. How can we move forward? Its pathetic … the cadets take no pride in their jobs.

Again this is hopelessly outdated. Constables with SRP qualification? Ya, may be this was 20 years ago. Low pay among police force? Hmmm, may be constables are not getting higher wages, perks and benefits than this guy and his equally inept sidekick. How much you think they could earn if they just know how to kick each other.

27. #27 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 7:26 am

sorry repost:
    Again this is hopelessly outdated. Constables with SRP qualification? Ya, may be this was 20 years ago. Low pay among police force? Hmmm, may be constables are getting higher wages, perks and benefits than this guy and his equally inept sidekick. How much you think they could earn if they just know how to kick each other.

28. #28 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 8:19 am

Justitia suggests: At the risk of being sexist, the “hairy” part is to connote masculinity.
    Oh I envy your experience of women, I really do. Perhaps the authors of BHAG intended ‘hairy’ to mean like a wild beast … oh I see … maybe I should pity your experience of men! Speaking as a comparatively hirsute example of masculinity, I don’t believe it defines me any more as a man than it does as a carpet.

I’d like to see some more audacious goals being set by a Malaysian government. There’s no reason why they have to be hamstring-ingly expensive and benefit only a select few either. The towers may be big, but I think they make Malaysia look like a peasant with an expensive watch. “World class police force” would have been audacious. “Safe streets” would have been audacious. They’re just bad matches for the political culture of Malaysia.

29. #29 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 8:36 am

Badawi paid a price for over-promising but Najib got it wrong the other way for under-promising too much. Its one thing to moderate promises, its quite another to shirk responsibilities. Najib’s underpromising is shirking responsibilities. Even if he delivers on 20%, most people are not going to buy it. And if you keep doing it, even the dumb ones will figure it our sooner or later is just a technocrat cheap trick…

He does it too often just showing he is not up to the job. Personally I don’t particularly dislike the person although I suspect he is the reason for Altantuya death and should be accountable, but I just don’t think he is up to the job at a time where the job is very important to many many people. We need to move on to the next guy. This country actually does better everytime we move on to he next guy even if the next guy is not very good.

I personally don’t think he gets it. He just don’t get it what it really take to be a real leader…

30. #30 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 9:01 am

I think SRP qualification is not the problem,the low salary for a constables may have some problem.The core problem I think for any new IGP to tackle is the undiscipline conduct or manner and the low morale of most of the rank and file of the PDRM.These two charactoristic have been rooted in most of the police constables,junior and middle level inspectors/officers and some senior officers as well.Most of these guys are frustrated by their senior officers or superiors for not listening and helping them to do their job according to the law.Instead they were told to obey or be discharged.Some honest left but most stayed on and become “Yes Tuan” and joined their bosses to take the smallest pieces of the cakes(corrupt money). Hi guys,just common sense will tell you that most of the senior police officers’s live far beyong their incomes.Our Ex IGP Tun Hanif Omar once said it himself. So how and what a new IGP can do to up root,such deep rooted corruption,let alone eliminate it,in a huge police organisation.

31. #31 by taiking on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 9:03 am

Of course those idiots ought to see that the roundtable discussion is for the 97% malaysians who felt unsafe in their homes and on the streets. In the recent general election BN had about 40plus% support. That means the 97% actually includes an overwhelming majority of umno and bn supporters. In short this is a national issue.

Umno have been denying the severity of the situation for years thinking that the issue is a mere political agenda of the opposition. They have been wrong for decades and have been way way out of touch with reality.

And let me assure you people this. Before the survey was carried out at least they have the discomfort of taking shelter behind that “blind denial” thing, bad though it may be. And now with the survey result known they will still continue to ignore (now blatantly) the real issue for reasons of their own political insecurity. Dont be surprised if the figures should in the near future turn around to something which is more favourable to the police. Umno will do all they can to hide the real problem and to project a rosy front. It is not beyond them to coerce civil servants to go online and vote in the survey according to their directions.

Finally, for the greedy umnoputras this means mega-bucks to be made. The security issue is an incompetence issue (on the side of the force) which is a personnel issue and a social issue (on the side of the criminals). Umno will skirt these real issues and will instead concerntrate on something they fondly call “hardward”. To them the way to deal with the problem is firstly to make great sounding declarations (a favourite since the son of kutty’s time “world class” this and that) and then to spend money on all sorts of silly things like say new buildings, new living quarters, new uniforms and shoes, cctv etc etc as if these spendings will have an miraculous and positive impact on performance.

32. #32 by taiking on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 10:04 am

Consider these against the cry for “world class” police by najib:

1) policitician acquitted for receiving free dental service

2) police chief acquitted of using police aircraft for personal benefit

Two acquittals in a week. Proof that malaysia has no corruption.

33. #33 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 10:17 am

The government backed down on the IPCMC because some senior police officers objected and so we can only have piecemeal feeble attempts like this.
    Maybe a better KPI for the law and order segment would be for IPCMC to be implemented by June 2010.
    Those who cannot support/live with IPCMC will be allowed to resign/retire with full pension rights?
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/07/malaysiakini-and-hope-for-change-or-is.html

34. #34 by Mikewm on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 11:01 am

I agree that there is no point in treating the symptoms and not the root causes of crime. However, there is ample legislation here to cover most situations. What is sadly lacking is enforcement – efficient and effective enforcement without fear or favour. I always feel angry every time I pass Brickfields police station and see dozens of police cars parked like bricks in a wall and obviously not used at all! Why are they not on the road, helping to police the roads at least? Lack of manpower maybe? I think not as the police can always find dozens of its men to serve a notice or arrest a single person or even harrass innocent rakyar attending a candle-lit vigil! ggrrr

35. #35 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 11:31 am

Tin kosong is always a tin kosong … sigh … PDRM site says qualifications is as follows:

Kelayakan minimum akademik yang diperlukan adalah seperti berikut:- Konstabel Tambahan – Tamat Tingkatan 3 Konstabel – LCE/SRP/PMR/SPM

Sometimes I really wonder, why the need to belittle others just to cover up their own inequities?

36. #36 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:02 pm

frankyapp … yeah being frustrated is not a good idea for the officers. I was once informed an officer that is transferred to KL will only be given a few hundred ringgit for allowance but that is insufficient to cover the higher living expenses in KL.

37. #37 by LG on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 3:30 pm

What kind of KPIs are they? A kind of a joke.

I have being trained in handling KPIs and has been directly involved for nearly two decades with all kinds of KPIs (including sites inspections, audits and reviews) in a number of MNCs including some world-class companies & factories in various countries with various products & services

I laughed when the 6 KPIs are announced by our PM. What kind of KPIs? This is a Joke! I sincerely doubt that our PM knows what he is talking.

Four out of six NKRAs where the KPIs with targets set to achieved in 2012???? This is more than 3 years from now – such long term targets. Furthermore these so-called “KPIs with targets” announced are more of 3 years development projects & improvement plans rather than the actual functionality, objectives & usage of KPIs. You may have long term objectives, plan and targets however to monitor, control and achieve those plan & objectives, yearly KPIs with specific targets, sometimes breakdown into quarterly, with monthly reporting & monitoring, quarterly review to see the trends ….. etc.

Then 5th NKRA area and it for MACC where the KPIs with target set are ambigious and unquantified??? What kind of KPIs??? What were announced are more of improvement action plans rather than KPIs.

Then for the 6th NKRA, KPIs set for street crimes (incl. snatch thefts and unarmed robbery) – OK but covering only a small area of criminal activities i.e. 17% of overall crimes. Even the targets are met, a 4 or 5% increase in other areas of criminal activities will nullify an overall reduction of crime rate.

Note: Details of datas, areas of collections, reporting, validating the datas, reviews,…. etc are still questionable unless monitored, audited, validated and reviewed by an independent non-government body.

38. #38 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 3:47 pm

50 years of experimenting without success, while
    Singapore has proven “Singapore Boleh” and moving far ahead of “Malas-sia Bankrupt”.
    So instead of wasting time and money, we should join Singapore and be part of Singapore, a win-win strategy, and we all can live happily for ever after.

39. #39 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 4:21 pm

But the problem with this sidekick monkey is he does not know the different between constable and constable tambahan.

40. #40 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 4:24 pm

SpeakUp :frankyapp … yeah being frustrated is not a good idea for the officers. I was once informed an officer that is transferred to KL will only be given a few hundred ringgit for allowance but that is insufficient to cover the higher living expenses in KL.

Well, you are told by an equally inept monkey. It is called the monkey story. A monkey is what a monkey does.

41. #41 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:03 pm

Oh well … Mr Lonely-AttentionSeeker is at it again, does not seem to know how to read Malay for sure. Did I not say a constable only needs SRP? Maybe the PDRM website is wrong, it did not state SRP. ROFL!

Sad case man … so so sad …

A monkey is what a monkey does? Hmmmm … I truly wonder what sort of English that is? Interesting … yes, the decline of English in Malaysia is something to be concerned about.

42. #42 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:12 pm

//I truly wonder what sort of English that is? Interesting … yes, the decline of English in Malaysia is something to be concerned about.// phua tang sai

You really want to learn correct English? Let me show you:

I really wonder what sort of English is that? Yes, the decline in the standard of English in Malaysia is something to be concerned with. NOW Learn this.

43. #43 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:17 pm

ROFL! I love this … I love it! Hahahaha …

44. #44 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:19 pm

Smart alec, why don’t you apply with your SRP and see whether you get or not? Afterall SRP is your only qualification, right? No harm trying lah.

45. #45 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 6:01 pm

“Oh well … Mr Lonely-AttentionSeeker is at it again” SpeakUp

It is Mr Skitzo now.

46. #46 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 10:48 pm

Jaswant … okie dokie … I shall change the term. Thanks!

SRP was so long ago, anyways, no need to say what my qualifications are, bragging is pointless.

If someone only knew how good life is as a ‘paid blogger’ who takes a nice fat sum from the BN paymasters. Not to forget the contracts that come with the whole package, ooooooh … its so sweet. The cars one can own, the holiday homes in exotic places that someone can only dream of. That’s the life. :) MOOOOLAAAAAAHS!!!

47. #47 by Ajoe on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 11:57 pm

To get the Police Force to function again as they ought to, the IGP should be retired off. The DIGP, the second tier should also be retired off for not making a difference. Pick someone from the third tier from a number of Officers available and he will be able to steer the Police Force in the right direction for the Nation. When they reach retirement age, they should retire- no extension. Period.

48. #48 by limkamput on Wednesday, 29 July 2009 - 12:28 am

goodness me, speakup is actually mosterball. I think i better get out of this place.

49. #49 by anna brella on Wednesday, 29 July 2009 - 3:08 am

On that lame excuse given by the present government for not setting up the IPCMC:

Could we please have the names of the senior police officers who objected to the IPCMC?

Perhaps they can give us some justifiable reasons why they would want to object to the Royal Commission’s well considered and key recommendation?

And on that poll result:

I agree with ekomputes’ view that the 1% polled who said they feel safe are almost certainly the nation’s well-connected, well-heeled and well-insulated criminals. But on that 2% who are uncertain about their safety, I don’t think they are the very poor but are most probably those who are now in the police and other law enforcement agencies who know for a fact about all the stuff that is rotten and wrong now and who must therefore, be feeling the most vulnerable/exposed and threatened by any potential change in governance or leadership.

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon.

50. #50 by Callum on Wednesday, 29 July 2009 - 7:22 am

Enough for the bull cock story, it is another NATO propaganda. Show the citizen the result and not just talk.

51. #51 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Wednesday, 29 July 2009 - 1:45 pm

Half of the special branch officers should be directed to obtain the intelligence of criminals and the corruption within PDRM, instead of supervising the opposition parties of Malaysia.

52. #52 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 29 July 2009 - 5:44 pm

anna brella says: that 2% who are uncertain about their safety, I don’t think they are the very poor
    Are the very poor in Malaysia likely to respond to an online poll?