Leaders To Bring Us Together

by M. Bakri Musa

In having to appoint a Royal Commission of Inquiry to investigate the Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission (MACC) following the death of one of its witnesses, Prime Minister Najib clearly demonstrated his lack of leadership and inability to be in command of a rapidly evolving crisis. Essentially, events forced Najib’s hand; he was reacting, not leading.

Najib is not a leader, at least not the type Malaysia desperately needs today. His meteoric rise in the party and government is less an expression of talent, more the gratitude his party has for his late father. For his part, Najib has not shown any indication that he benefited from those splendid opportunities. On the contrary, like a spoiled child, those amenities merely indulged him.

Unfortunately for Najib, more so for the nation, there are no ‘training wheels’ to the Prime Minister’s office.

Najib’s deputy Muhyyuddin is in the same kampong league. Earlier, Muhyyuddin dismissed calls for a royal commission, insisting that the police and the MACC are quite capable of undertaking the investigations. It reflected his low standing in the cabinet that many, including fellow UMNO minister Rais Yatim, pointedly pushed for the setting up of the commission. Even the lowly UMNO Youth leader did not share Muhyyuddin’s faith in the police and MACC.

Consider a different scenario. If upon his return from his Middle East trip, Najib had summoned his Home Minister Hishammuddin and the Director of MACC for an immediate briefing. They of course would not be able to give a coherent explanation. Whereupon Najib would at a press conference announce his directing the MACC to put the involved officers on immediate administrative leave pending a full independent investigation.

Had Najib done that, with his commanding baritone voice, he would have projected an image of a decisive leader who was on top of the situation. He would also put an immediate end to the current ugly spectacle of an unfortunate death degenerating into a polarizing political and increasingly racial issue.

As senior statesman Tengku Razaleigh noted, there have been too many deaths while under custody, and Teoh Beng Hock’s demise marks a watershed in the attitude of the public towards the government, setting a new low. This essence is missed by many in the government.

The ordering of a coroner’s inquest or Royal Commission should have been an executive decision; Najib does not need to involve his cabinet. The cabinet should be deliberating substantive issues, like how to make our economy competitive or reform our rotting education system.

Najib should have learned how his late father handled the national tragedy of the May 1969 race riot. Tun Razak stood in front of the cameras and in a solemn voice and serious demeanor announced the immediate imposition of martial law and a “shoot to kill” order for the police and military. He struck a reassuring and take-charge image, in stark contrast to the hapless weeping Tengku Abdul Rahman, who was then Prime Minister.

The world may condemn him as a dictator or worse, but there was no disputing that Tun Razak established law and order quickly. To put that in perspective, the modern flare up of sectarian violence in Northern Ireland began at about the same time as our 1969 riot. Today, while to most Malaysians that nightmare is but a dim distant memory, the folks in Northern Ireland are still busy settling old scores.

The evolving public furor over Teoh’s death shows every sign of continuing its destructive downward spiral, fed by racist opportunists of all flavors and colorations, with Najib on the sideline reacting and not leading.

What stunned me were not the responses of the bigoted and uneducated; their chauvinistic views were expected and perhaps excusable because of their ignorance. It would be too much to expect them to have a perspective beyond their clan or kampong. To them this crisis is nothing more than yet another ethnic Chinese-Malaysian victimized by Malay officialdom, or the belligerent Chinese not missing an opportunity to mock Malays.

What took me back instead were the responses of those ‘educated’ ministers and leaders. They just could not comprehend the public outrage over the MACC’s interviewing a ‘friendly’ witness into the wee hours of the morning and who would later be found dead outside its premises. Perhaps those civil servants were trying to impress the public on how diligent and hard working they were in attending to their duties! If that was how MACC’s personnel treated their ‘friendly and cooperative’ witness, I shudder to think the reception a suspect would get.

Far from expressing condolences to the poor bereaved family, these ministers went on to impute evil motives on the victim and those who were outraged by the needless tragedy. How would these ministers feel if it was their son who had been victimized? Don’t they have any empathy?

To their credit Najib Razak and his Women’s Affairs Minister Sharizat Jalil did convey their condolences to the family of the deceased. The two were the exceptions. Najib was even thoughtful enough to send his personal representative to the funeral. The vulgar behaviors of the others, especially Muhyyuddin, were eagerly picked up by the toadying commentators and columnists in the mainstream media. They fueled the fire.

In seeking answers and justice to this cruel death, we must refrain from injecting additional unnecessary and divisive elements. The case is complicated enough; there is no need to inject or impute extraneous factors. As The Star columnist and law professor Azmi Sharom rightly observed, people are angry over the needless death of a young Malaysian, not a young ethnic Chinese, and what they perceive as the abuse of power by MACC officers, not the abuse of power by Malay officers.

We need to mobilize the masses to this injustice. We are a democracy and public opinion matters. Thus far public outrage has caused the cabinet to set up the Royal Commission, but that is not enough. Without continued public pressure the commission’s findings would suffer the same fate as befell the Police Commission and the one investigating the so-called Lingam Tape. Nothing happens. We need continued public pressure so the coroner’s inquest and the Royal Commission would be conducted openly and transparently, their findings readily available.

There is an art to mobilizing public opinion, and I am not attuned to its many subtleties. However, I do know that many share my disappointment that at one public rally over Teoh’s death most of the speakers were unable to convey their outrage in our national language. Many were young and presumably born and raised in Malaysia, yet they were unable, unwilling or uncomfortable to speak in our national language. That is definitely not the way to go about seeking broad pubic support.

I was similarly unimpressed with the rallying cry of HINDRAF, Makkal sakthi (People Power). That would be fine to gain public support in Kerala, but if it is fellow Malaysians you wish to influence, then you had better articulate your arguments in our national language. HINDRAF would have converted a few more to it cause had it substituted its slogan with Kuasa Rakyat.

Being a plural society Malaysia faces many challenging and continuing centrifugal forces threatening to rip it apart. We need leaders who must recognize this grim reality and then mobilize countervailing forces that would bring us together. We need leaders who would view our diversity not as a liability but an asset, and a valuable one at that.

Unfortunately his much-touted slogan of “1Malaysia” notwithstanding, Najib Razak is not that kind of a leader. Neither is his deputy Muhyyuddin Yassin. Instead, we need leaders the caliber of Tengku Razaleigh, Anwar Ibrahim and Zaid Ibrahim. The challenge for Malaysia is to make sure that they prevail.

1. #1 by Joshua on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 8:02 am

enough is enough of the old rotten system including even 2 of the three names in the last para.

Good article.

Najib BN and UMNO have too much of evil social burden and too much ‘deaths’ weights to move the nation forward.

It is timely for Interim Government for Good Governance IGGG – a total new vehicle.

2. #2 by Joshua on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 8:08 am

I hope to lodge two Police Reports today – on Sabah Consumers Association by the role of the two whistle blowers with hidden agenda and the case of the decline of assets in BNM of RM157b over 12 month period 2008-2009 and also my 28 Police reports worth RM30 trillions and more -somewhere stored- for a royal commission of inquiry.

http://malaysia-police-reports.blogspot.com/

3. #3 by frankyapp on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 8:47 am

NR not just cannot lead but is unable to lead.Within Umno,there’s no democracy .Umno has become an authoritative organisation run by some mighty powerful and wealthy authoritarians such as what is now known as”Umnoputras/Warlords”.These guys are in the driver’s seat,not NR nor MY.Both are always in the passengers’s seat. You guys find NR and MY are not decisive and seem to make counter decision at each other.Looks likely now Umno has been divided by two powerful groups,one led by the old “Putras” and the other led by the “Putras Baru”.We have witnessed how AAB fell victim of these Putras.These guys control the party,they decide who holds the president and the deputy president posts.Hence what can NR and MY do decisively.It’s Putras’s decision and the PM/DPM have to obey and to carry it out as they(putras) wishes,failing which NR/MY would become another victim or two just liked AAB. You guys must have realised why Umno usually do not have election for these two top posts.And aslo why NR dares not to have a vote of confidence for him in parliament.If he is in control,he would have done that even before the opposition challenged him to do so.Hence as long as these putras and warlords are in control,as long as Umno/Bn is in power,any change in the PMship and Dpmship is unlikely to have changes in the government.

4. #4 by taiking on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 9:17 am

Bakri said: “As senior statesman Tengku Razaleigh noted, there have been too many deaths while under custody, and Teoh Beng Hock’s demise marks a watershed in the attitude of the public towards the government, setting a new low. This essence is missed by many in the government.”

That is the precise problem. Anything said about the umno gobermen by the people or by pakatan which is negative would be treated by them as an exercise of political opposition. And they would then react in manner which is totally uncalled for. They must be feeling very insecure about their position or they have something to hide. The gobermen is a mere institution. If the controlling political party of the day cannot do its job then it will be voted out of their seats in that institution. No big deal. That is our system isnt it? And if someone lower down inside that institution has committed a wrong, he must be removed and punished. That is no different from an ordinary man on the street who commits a crime. Again that is no big matter. Why is it that umno find it hard to see these simple points? Vested percuniary interest. The several decades of control and power was long enough for them actually to cultivate and grow their very own money trees using public resources of course. Losing those trees is one problem. The other problem is the completely lavish and expansive lifestyle that has been acquired using money harvested from those trees. Ferraris, porsche, s500, european holidays, zak and toy mansions, yatch, etc etc. Giving all that up is an impossibility. And I blame the son of kutty for all of these for tying politics up with business.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 9:42 am

“How would these ministers feel if it was their son who had been victimized?”
    Ministers and senior civil servants never worry about that ‘cos they know their sons and daughters will never be interrogated or victimized
    They are powerful in this land and they know all the agencies work for them
    Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely

Did Ahmad Said Hamdan worry when his pilot son was questioned in Australia for taking child pornographic material into Australia?
    Victimized?
    No lah. “I can bet with you that it’s something that you will find on most men’s handphones.”

Even sodomy which involves two persons. Who is charged and victimized?

6. #6 by Ramesh Laxman on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 9:52 am

The person who uses political power to force others to conform to his ideas seems inevitably to become corrupted by the powers he holds. In due course he comes to believe that power and wisdom are the same thing and, since he has the power he must also have the wisdom. At this point he begins to lose to ability to distinguish between what is morally right and what is politically expedient. Admiral Ben Moreell. Points to Ponder. Reader’s Digent March 1991

7. #7 by Ramesh Laxman on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 9:54 am

Correction ;Reader’s Digest Maech 1991

8. #8 by SpeakUp on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 10:09 am

Well there are leaders and there are Leaders …

9. #9 by ekompute on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 10:32 am

“Najib should have learned how his late father handled the national tragedy of the May 1969 race riot.”

Is M. Bakri Musa aware of the declassified documents released by the London Public Office as to the causes of the May 1969 race riot? He should read Wikipedia’s article, May 13: Declassified Documents on the Malaysian Riots of 1969 at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/May_13:_Declassified_Documents_on_the_Malaysian_Riots_of_1969

10. #10 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 12:53 pm

//To put that in perspective, the modern flare up of sectarian violence in Northern Ireland began at about the same time as our 1969 riot. Today, while to most Malaysians that nightmare is but a dim distant memory, the folks in Northern Ireland are still busy settling old scores.//

You ought to know whether our peace is genuine and lasting or is it based on dominance and subservience. No war/open conflict does not mean we are at peace, more so the recent events unfolding.

11. #11 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 12:55 pm

//Well there are leaders and there are Leaders …//

Well at which kopitiam are you saying this? do you need me to send some reporters over.

12. #12 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 1:09 pm

//The cabinet should be deliberating substantive issues, like how to make our economy competitive or reform our rotting education system.//

You are right about what the cabinet ought to be doing, Bakri. But you must also understand most of our Cabinet members can even hold more than two variables in their heads and you are asking them to deliberate on difficult and challenging issues confronting this nation.

Taking about reform, don’t you think may be it is time we revamp the whole West Minster model. Why appoint only members from among the legislature many of them are mere politicians devoid of any technical and professional capability? These people can’t understand complex issues, don’t talk about making decisions on them. Yes the civil service was relied on once upon the time. But now the civil service is not just mere eunuch but also lack quality and ability to lead and foresee future challenges.

13. #13 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 1:17 pm

//As The Star columnist and law professor Azmi Sharom rightly observed, people are angry over the needless death of a young Malaysian, not a young ethnic Chinese, and what they perceive as the abuse of power by MACC officers, not the abuse of power by Malay officers.//

Either the professor or you must state more explicitly who were behind twist. Who really want to turn this whole episode, no matter how unfortunate, into a racial one? When the call for justice went a bit loud (and believe rightly so), these elements have no qualm to pour petrol into fire. Please you must say who.

14. #14 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 1:22 pm

//Many were young and presumably born and raised in Malaysia, yet they were unable, unwilling or uncomfortable to speak in our national language. That is definitely not the way to go about seeking broad pubic support.//

You may want to know why, don’t just think something is important when in actual fact it is not. Just like we have mountains of causes for disunity, but if you ask certain people, it must be due the existence of vernacular schools. Get rid of vernacular schools, we shall have everlasting national unity, so the bigots say.

15. #15 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 1:26 pm

//I was similarly unimpressed with the rallying cry of HINDRAF, Makkal sakthi (People Power). //

Agree, in Indian Malaysians are like a basket of carrots, everyone you pick up is a head. Malaysian Indians must wake up to the reality that it is their leaders that failed them. Learn to accept fair leaders even from other races would be a better bet.

16. #16 by ch on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 1:42 pm

It is much easier to criticize on hindsight. While I certainly believe that there are more drastic improvements needed in the current administration but I concur that it is a little bit to early or even premature to lob such heavy negative conclusion on Najib’s ability to administrate. We have to understand and be resigned to the fact that UMNO has been ruling Malaysia the way they wanted it to be and most often than not these unwritten rules were drafted and approved by numerouse warlords within UMNO. To change the unwritten rules by a stroke of a pen is probably something too much to ask for. We have to also reconcile with the fact that most in UMNO and even in the oppositons for that matter are resistance to changes, let alone drastic and swift changes. It is something which may not happen overnight.

We have now witness the ability of Pakatan to administer the various state governments and perhaps be able as well to understand and appreciate the difficulties that they are going through administering the respective state governments without the financial backing from the Federal government. Although this may be a true and real difficulty to administer effectively without the help from the Federal, voters are a lot of realists and would move away from Pakatan in the next general election should the various promises made by Pakatan in the last general election were not fulfilled or met. Making excuses like the state government is powerless without the assistance from Federal cannot be played as an old broken record whenever ceratin issues are not amicable resolved as voters aren’t interested to listen to them. They are only interested to have their problems and issues solved. For example, the Kampung Buah Pala issue was cleverly manipulated by BN politicians and even I can safely say certain individuals in the community took advantage of the situation for their own respective interests. Are we to blame them? No, as everyone is out there for their own self interests and this is something which we can change nor deny. Some may say that Indian leaders had failed them but have they been presented an effective alternative? Similarly the Chinese and Malays. The flip-flop attitude of PAS on the talk with UMNO has clearly demonstrated to us that there are also self-centred. This is the basic reaction of human-being.

17. #17 by SpeakUp on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 1:46 pm

Klung klang … klung klang … dang, do I hear an empty Milo can making some noise? Hmmmm …

18. #18 by jbozz on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 2:07 pm

No doubt Najis is not a good leader, there will be none in Malaysia, reason is as long as religion and race status (Bumi and non Bumi or Malay Supreme) existed and is not clear or fair, there will never be One Malaysia. It can either be One Malay Malaysia or One Muslim Malaysia or One Bumi Malaysia as long as 40% of M’sian serves the Slaves. 10% little aristocrats get first hand info on contract 10% govt. official, armies, teacher association 10% vote fishing and 10% work on

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 2:29 pm

Good leader? I think my vote goes to KuLi and LGE … so far these two seem most realistic. KuLi with an upper hand for obvious reasons, he has more experience. Still LGE is level headed enough and will not take nonsense, that is good. DSAI for me would be a disaster.

20. #20 by drago2008 on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 2:36 pm

As stated rightly by M. Bakri Musa, the present PM has yet to show true quality and wisdom as a leader. Assuming he’s sincere in his undertakings, he still has to reckon with those Umnoputras and warlords who have shown on many occasions how they would love to press the other races under their thumbs.

As unpromising as Najib is in the eyes of many of us, there is a spectre of greater apprehension if another person were to take over as PM. His name is Muhyiddin. In his many remarks, he has revealed to us with a keen sense of observation, that we will be in deeper sh*t if he were to come to power.

We are locked in between the devil and the deep blue sea unless a ‘miracle’ of sort happens to bring forth a new leader that we all can look up to with trust and respect.

In the present hierarchy of BN, especially in Umno, there is none except for one who has articulated his rational views of the present malaise that’s afflicting this country. He has been invited to leave the party as he has become a ‘nobody’ inside it. Yes, he had left the party once before during the reign of Dr M, but we are wondering whether he would do it again. Of course, he has stated his reason why he’s staying put.

We can’t fault the man for following his own conscience but how we hope it would be otherwise while he still has the energy to help put things right.

Let us hope this country does not degenerate into a ‘banana republic’, or at worst, a Balkan of the East.

21. #21 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 2:52 pm

The demise of UMNO and BN is on the path of no recovery!!! If UMNO and BN are able to reverse that, it would be a miracle in human history!!!

First thing first, go and sell all your ill gained possession!!! Return all of them to our country treasury!!!

22. #22 by Bigjoe on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 3:19 pm

Dr. Musa implies that both Najib and Muhiyiddin are of poor quality leader because they are essentially prodigal children. But what prodigal children of are they? Muhiyiddin did not come from well-known political family.. So why is he of such poor quality? Why is Zaid Ibrahim NOT of poor quality, why is Khalid Ibrahim NOT of poor quality?

At the core of the problem is the inheritance from Mahathir’s UMNO – the post 1969 UMNO. In other words, they are prodigal children of post-Mahathir UMNO. Both Zaid Ibrahim and Khalid Ibrahim were not children – merely business relatives that took advantage of being close to the family of politics but they were not direct inheritors of UMNO whose business is wholly politics – a business that had run its course and need to be ripped apart and redone.

In other words, Najib and Muhiyiddin is of poor quality because they were wholly in UMNO politics whose usefulleness is declining and has been declining. Like people in the business too long, they can’t see that they have become irrelevant. It takes new entrants and new player to renew the business, renew the enterprise.

Its not just Najib and Muhiyiddin that need to be changed, its UMNO – the mother ship that ails usi…

23. #23 by grace on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 5:01 pm

“most of the speakers were unable to convey their outrage in our national language”
    Hey Bakri,
    you were very enthusiastic in teaching Science and Maths in English and now you are complaining.
    If the policy still persist, you will find that even Malays would do it in English.
    Already people in KL and big cities are using English as if it is THE language in Malaysia.
    I know of many families whose children only speak in English. They can’t speak their own dialect.

24. #24 by OrangRojak on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 5:52 pm

convey their outrage in our national language
    I would be much obliged if Bakri Musa would express himself exclusively in his national language. After reading this article this morning, I was seriously considering suing LKS for five minutes of my precious life back.

25. #25 by Loh on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 6:04 pm

///In having to appoint a Royal Commission of Inquiry to investigate the Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission (MACC) following the death of one of its witnesses, Prime Minister Najib clearly demonstrated his lack of leadership and inability to be in command of a rapidly evolving crisis. Essentially, events forced Najib’s hand; he was reacting, not leading.///– Bakri Musa

Najib can continue to be in denial and insisted that Police would be able to determine the cause of death; but the citizens do not trust the government any more. Najib did the only right thing to establish a Royal Commission. Unfortunately, he missed the opportunity to allow the Commission to establish the truth, to prevent a recurrence, and to ensure that MACC is truly independent; who knows he might not want MACC to be independent.

///Najib should have learned how his late father handled the national tragedy of the May 1969 race riot. Tun Razak stood in front of the cameras and in a solemn voice and serious demeanor announced the immediate imposition of martial law and a “shoot to kill” order for the police and military. He struck a reassuring and take-charge image, in stark contrast to the hapless weeping Tengku Abdul Rahman, who was then Prime Minister.///– Bakri Musa

Tunku wept because he was sad that a peaceful harmonious multiracial Malaysia that he founded met with the tragedy of racial riots. He guessed that it was the work of his subordinates. (Tans Sri Abdullah Ahmad recently confirmed Tunku’s suspicion).

Tunku had already declared a state of emergency, and he appointed Razak as the Director of Operation, answerable to the PM. (Razak went before the TV two days later and announced that as Director of NOC he answered to the King; the coup d’etat was complete). A curfew had been declared, and shoot to kill order was the only correct order in curfew.

///The world may condemn him as a dictator or worse, but there was no disputing that Tun Razak established law and order quickly. To put that in perspective, the modern flare up of sectarian violence in Northern Ireland began at about the same time as our 1969 riot. Today, while to most Malaysians that nightmare is but a dim distant memory, the folks in Northern Ireland are still busy settling old scores.///– Bakri Musa

One might be tempted to conclude that a riots organised by the party in power can start and stop as the powers-that-be wished it.

///The evolving public furor over Teoh’s death shows every sign of continuing its destructive downward spiral, fed by racist opportunists of all flavors and colorations, with Najib on the sideline reacting and not leading.///– Bakri Musa

Police might have to enter into direct combat with terrorists and dangerous undesirable persons. Death in custody cannot be condoned, but the people had accepted somewhat that police face the threat of their live in performing their duties.
    MACC is only responsible to gather evidence for the court to decide quilt or otherwise. There was no requirement to use excessive ‘force’ in conducting their enquiry. The death involved a witness who was asked to provide evidence to possible corruption valued at RM 2,400. It would cost MACC more in investigating resources than the amount of corruption it served to prevent. On the other hand, there is a prima facie example of corruption where an ex-MB is clearly living beyond his means to own a home valued at RM 24 million and yet MACC has shown no interest. The double standards display by MACC shows that it uses its official role to serve political interest of its master, the BN government.

///I was similarly unimpressed with the rallying cry of HINDRAF, Makkal sakthi (People Power). That would be fine to gain public support in Kerala, but if it is fellow Malaysians you wish to influence, then you had better articulate your arguments in our national language. HINDRAF would have converted a few more to it cause had it substituted its slogan with Kuasa Rakyat./// –Bakri Musa

Language is only for communication, and people are free to use whatever language to get the messages across. People are free to be fluent in whatever they chose, and to use any that they feel comfortable to communicate. One can use either the left or the right hand to write, as he is able to.

26. #26 by Bobster on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 6:11 pm

Agreed with M Bakri.

With sub-standard ministers leading this nation, where else would we be heading?!

It is pretty sad that case of a innocent witness died in MACC custody being ‘pusing’ into racial and religion issue by Umno and associations.

Irrespective of race and religion, an innocent Malaysian died into MACC custody but nobody seems to heck care about the main issue.

1Malaysia = 1Najib

More Attantuya cases appearing in the nation.

Malaysia boleh, apa pun boleh!

27. #27 by Joshua on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 7:18 pm

I have lodged 30 Police Reports since 2004 worth RM30 trillions and more.

Like YB LKS had lodged Police Report on behalf of Datuk Sri Ong, I hope our fellow M’sians would follow up with their urge to see that the nation do not slip further down.

More than 1,000 pages is already compiled in a package.

pw:Alice ignores

28. #28 by Jaswant on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 8:12 pm

“Well at which kopitiam are you saying this?” nincompoop

For more on the politics of ‘kopitiam’ go to this popular blog, one that rivals this blog in number of hits. Unfortunately you have to queue to get in. The blog host cannot accommodate the number of requests made daily to participate in this ever popular blog. To those waiting to participate in the on-going debate on roads and pot holes, please be patient.

http://limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/

29. #29 by Jaswant on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 8:22 pm

“Agree, in Indian Malaysians are like a basket of carrots, everyone you pick up is a head.” nincompoop

The current topic is ” Nincompoop gives good head”. And that has nothing to do with carrrots.

30. #30 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 8:27 pm

Look scumbag, say something constructive. Well i guess not, this pea brain can’t hold more than two variables in “its” head.

You know nothing about me, you know nothing about the site, so i suggest you don’t talk about things which you know nothing, scumbag.

Yes indian Malaysians are like a basket of carrots, do you have a problem with that?

31. #31 by Jaswant on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 9:15 pm

LOL

32. #32 by SpeakUp on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 10:22 pm

Jaswant … is this not tiring? Name calling, slanderous remarks, belittling? Sigh … when will things ever change in Malaysia. This is why Malaysians truly cannot have total freedom. We cannot handle it. This is truly sad, really …

33. #33 by limkamput on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 10:42 pm

SpeakUp :Jaswant … is this not tiring? Name calling, slanderous remarks, belittling? Sigh … when will things ever change in Malaysia. This is why Malaysians truly cannot have total freedom. We cannot handle it. This is truly sad, really …

Well begin with you.

34. #34 by Jaswant on Monday, 27 July 2009 - 11:59 pm

I’m doing a public service here. Keeping schitzos like this one in check or else he will run amok especially without the medications.

35. #35 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:02 am

Jaswant … such people really do not care. They feel good when they put others down. They are resorting to slanderous remarks now. Not realising that this forum is also open to potential litigation when slanderous remarks are posted. You think they really care?

36. #36 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:23 am

Slander is an untruthful oral (spoken) statement about a person that harms the person’s reputation or standing in the community.

Nincompoops have neither reputation nor standing in the community. You cannot slander a nincompoop.

37. #37 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 12:31 am

Jaswant … Mr Lonely-AttentionSeeker is making slanderous remarks in here. Its getting to that level.

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 1:07 am

///Nincompoops have neither reputation nor standing in the community. You cannot slander a nincompoop./// – Jaswant. Yes it is a defence of justification/fair comment!

Conversely, nincompoop likewise cannot slander anyone as well since he has not the credibility to inflict any damage to anyone’s reputation or standing in the community, in this context, the blog community….

Whenever an insult is thrown by a nincompoop, it cannot posibly gave any detrimental effect on the target’s reputation or standing and hence no injury to that may be proven! Arguably the animus of the nincompoop even makes his target looks good.

[Hustler vs. Falwell as depicted in 1996 film People vc Larry Flint (starring Woody Harrelson & Edward Norton) has reference].

In November 1983, Larry Flynt’s sex magazine Hustler carried a parody of a Campari ad, featuring a fake interview with Pastor Jerry Falwell in which he was depicted to admitting that his “first time” (sexual encounter) was incest with his mother in an outhouse while drunk. Falwell sued Hustler for compensation based on libel/slander. Supreme Court dismissed libel claim based on no reasonable person reading the ad would have believed it (hence no damage was proven as having been inflicted on Jerry Farwell’s reputation or standing in the community.]

For these reasons, and in address of SpeakUp’s concerns, this forum is not really at risks to potential litigation when slanderous remarks are posted against or exchanged with nincompoops.

The risks are when they are posted against (say) BN politicians, and even then subject to commentator being not a nincompoop whose comments (even lies) cannot be taken seriously by any reasonable person reading them..

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 1:10 am

Typo omission in 3rd para rectified in capitals: “… it cannot posSibly gIve any detrimental…”

40. #40 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 1:36 am

Jeff … sigh … I am so so wrong. Hahahahahaahahaaaa … good one! So anyone who is sued for defamation can plead the defence of NINCOMPOOPTISM? :0)

41. #41 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 1:43 am

NINCOMPOOPTISM may be due to ignorance and stupidity which is seldom a good defence. A debilitative medical condition will be ideal like for example schizophrenia or some kind of other dissociative identity or multiple personality disorder or split will, in my humble opinion be ideal …

42. #42 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 2:07 am

Instead of M’Naghten’s rule we have M’Nincompoop’s rule? Hmmmmm … I have much to learn.

43. #43 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 6:16 am

Jeffrey,

You are my man! And SpeakUp, continue to speak up!

44. #44 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 6:22 am

“Jaswant … Mr Lonely-AttentionSeeker is making slanderous remarks in here. Its getting to that level.” SpeakUp

It is a medical condition referred to as ADS or ‘attention deficit syndrome’ acquired since childhood. He is old now.

45. #45 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 6:54 am

ADS is common among kids but much more serious is his ‘paranoid schizophrenia’. He suffers from delusions and hallucinations. Sometimes he thinks he is the Prime Minister. At other times he thinks he is the IGP.

46. #46 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 7:13 am

M’Nincompoop’s rule? (SpeakUp) Hmmmmm…the M’ stands for Malaysia, our Malaysian contribution to the CommonLaw.

As the M’Naghten Rules are a defence to a criminal wrong, so M’Nincompoop’s rule is defence to civil wrong (tort of defamation, whether slander/libel).

The test for M’Nincompoop’s rule (raised as a defence) is thus so re-fomulated : whether the person accused of defamation is, on account of congenital defect or lack of parental guidance in formative years, so defective in sense, judgment and reason that it is immediately apparent to all who come across that what he says or publishes, no matter how vile, false or intentionally hurtful, cannot (1) reasonably be taken seriously or attributed any credibility to have any injurious effect and that (2) he stands in parallel position not far removed from brutes and thus, in the free will versus determinism debate, can no more be held accountable and responsible (for slander/libel) than minors or infants.

47. #47 by Joshua on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 7:14 am

LImkamput, I want to read your blog, invite me there.

48. #48 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 7:44 am

Joshua, you have to give me your gmail address and may be i will let you in. Please understand the difficult situation now, sorry. I have visitors more than i can handle, seriously even before these nincompoops here made it even more popular. Many of the writtings have also appeared in other publications, not just in that blog. I have stopped writing for few months due to travel and work commitments. I will update it once i find more time.

It is not true i have zero visitors. The visitors “register” was discontined.

49. #49 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 7:48 am

So much for all the “civil” people including Jeffrey. When strip them naked, these people are no more than chief monkey and sidekick monkeys.

A monkey is what a monkey does, pure and simple.

I am not running away, if you find me not responding to you. Got more important work to do.

50. #50 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 7:56 am

//I am not running away, if you find me not responding to you. Got more important work to do.//

Thank you.

51. #51 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 8:20 am

“Joshua, you have to give me your gmail address and may be i will let you in. Please understand the difficult situation now, sorry. I have visitors more than i can handle …” nincompoop

“More visitors that I can handle” – I have only one response to that. ROFL !! Pathetic.

52. #52 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 8:25 am

Joshua,

You must give the guy time. Now he is going to use different handles to talk to himself. ROFL.

53. #53 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 11:47 am

Jaswant … yeah it must be ADs … causes loneliness and the need to seek attention to overcome it.

Jeff … M’Nincompoop’s rule is a PRESUMPTION in the event that the defendant was dropped on his head as a child. Hehehehee …

He says, strip them naked and they are monkeys? Wow … this is so profound! So much depth in the posting.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 4:00 pm

He’s talking of ‘civility’ to which everyone is entitled but he forgets that to deserve it one has first to accord civility to others, and he who accords none to others in the first instance deserves his just deserts!

55. #55 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 4:10 pm

We should have a 3-Malaysia concept:-

1. Peninsula (for Malay and Mamaks only)

2. Sabah (for Kadazans and illegal immigrants only)

3. Sarawak (multi-racial)

That means there will be three independent PM.

56. #56 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 4:34 pm

Jaswant :Joshua,
    You must give the guy time. Now he is going to use different handles to talk to himself. ROFL.

Oh, LIMKAMPUT is my one and only handle. I will never be like this scumbag who is now jaswant. Before that he was tomdumb, undergrad2, diaperhead, bodosingh etc. See, we all know about him, no issue.

Jeffrey :He’s talking of ‘civility’ to which everyone is entitled but he forgets that to deserve it one has first to accord civility to others, and he who accords none to others in the first instance deserves his just deserts!

No body is talking about civility except the chief monkey. What can we expect; the monkey would not know its word was quoted.

57. #57 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:06 pm

Jeff aka Chief Monkey … looks like someone is unable to retort about the M’Nincompoop’s rule. I thought that person was so well versed with the law. Looks like triviality is the name of his or her game. Not to forget name calling and constantly belittling others. :)

58. #58 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:09 pm

Jeff … may I please enroll to be your sidekick … was thinking of pleasing someone, make their day. Hahahahahaaa …

59. #59 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:14 pm

SpeakUp,

You should enroll to be his backkick – kick his but for he does not know what he’s talking about.

Lim Kam Put said to me, ” No body is talking about civility except the chief monkey…” so the chief monkey must be him since none other than he himself broached the subject in his earlier posting on July 28th, 2009 07:48 when he commented “So much for all the “civil” people including Jeffrey.”

Or it must be his other split personality talking then!

60. #60 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 5:15 pm

“..butt..”

61. #61 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 6:18 pm

When i said “So much for all the “civil” people including Jeffrey” I was referring to you who keep saying about being civil. Of course I can expect a monkey to know what he is talking about.

Chief monkey, you already have so many sidekicks, i am sure one of them is specialising in kicking your butt. Why do you need another one. You don’t want to exp my kick i assure you.

62. #62 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 6:49 pm

“Jeff … M’Nincompoop’s rule is a PRESUMPTION in the event that the defendant was dropped on his head as a child. Hehehehee …” SpeakUp

Naaah. He is a product of an incestuous relationship. Common among his ilk.

63. #63 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 10:46 pm

///…..I was referring to you who keep saying about being civil…./// – Lim Kam Put.

Yes I will still keep saying about the importance of being civil – for everybody -except for the likes of you for reasons stated in my earlier posting #3 of July 28th, 2009 16:00, do you not get it Nincompoop???

64. #64 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 10:54 pm

Jaswant … I wanted to say inbreeding but them thought he may not understand it. Anyways, let’s not be like him/her. No point using such words, might be truly beyond him …

Jeff … I am getting confused now, which personality are we talking about now? Too many personalities to keep track of.

65. #65 by limkamput on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 - 11:48 pm

//Naaah. He is a product of an incestuous relationship. Common among his ilk.// jaswant@scumbag sob

YOu are more than the product of incest. You are a sob.