Is MCA so short of talents it cannot find different persons to hold the posts of MCA Secretary-General and Senate President?

Tomorrow DAP National Vice Chairman Tunku Abdul Aziz will be sworn in as a Senator, the first DAP Senator in the party’s 43-year history.

Tomorrow is also the last day for Tan Sri Dr. Hamid Pawanteh as two terms for six years as Senate President.

He was Deputy Speaker from 1983-1986 and I found him a level-headed, fair and just political leader who could distinguish between right and wrong, what are national interests as distinct from party and personal interests – a rare quality among those who walk the corridors of power in Putrajaya.

Hamid, 65, will be a loss to Malaysian politics as he is retiring from Malaysian politics after 31 years, which have included two terms as Perlis Mentri Besar from 1985 to 1995.

Replacing Hamid as Senate President will be the Deputy Senate President, Datuk Wong Foon Meng, which is a surprise for three reasons:

Firstly, Wong is also MCA Secretary-General and he has announced that he will not relinquish this post.

This is against parliamentary convention and practice that a front-line party official should not be appointed to positions like Speaker of Dewan Rakyat or President of Dewan Negara – which is why the present Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia resigned his post as divisional Umno Chairman on his appointment as Dewan Rakyat Speaker. Why is Wong flouting this parliamentary convention and practice that the Parliament Speaker or Senate President must not only be fair but seen to be fair by relinquishing all party positions?

Secondly, Wong will be appointed only to serve a mini-term of eight short months from July 7, 2009 as Senate President as he is a second-term Senator whose term expires on 12th April 2010 and there will not be a third reappointment.

Wong will be the shortest-serving Senate President as compared to the two previous MCA Senate Presidents – Tun Omar Ong Yoke Lin who served for more than seven years from 1973 to 1980 and Tan Sri Michael Chen who served for more than two years from 2000.

Hasn’t MCA another nominee who could serve as Senate President for two full terms of six years, such as former MCA Ministers, Dr. Ting Chew Peh or even Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting (although this will mean a by-election in Kulai) or former Dewan Rakyat Deputy Speaker Datuk Lim Si Cheng?

Or is the MCA only allowed to “warm the seat” of the Senate President for a brief spell of eight months instead of two full terms of six years before the MCA nominee has to vacate it because of the expiry of his term as Senator and the post of Senate President surrendered to another appointee from another Barisan Nasional component party, may be MIC or Gerakan for another mini-term?

Ong Tee Keat should be more serious about such appointments and should even consider nomination of qualified and eminent Malaysian Chinese who need not be MCA members to be appointed as Senate President

Where does it say in the Constitution that the Senate President must be members of MCA or other Barisan Nasional component parties?

Thirdly, is MCA so short of talents that the MCA President cannot find different persons to hold the posts of MCA Secretary-General and Senate President? Or is the MCA President finding himself more and more isolated in his own political party that he has little trust for other MCA leaders?

Wong also told the press yesterday that MCA does not rule out the possibility of co-operating with DAP to establish a joint secretariat for “intellectual discourse” if the proposal come from the DAP and depending on the topics concerned.

I do not know what Wong is talking about. Is he saying that MCA is prepared to form a joint secretariat with DAP for “intellectual discourse” on anyone of the following subjects which constitute the burning national issues of the day:

1. Why Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak was unable to start his premiership with public confidence in his credibility, integrity and legitimacy as was the case with previous five Prime Ministers, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein, Tun Mahathir and Tun Abdullah as not to be able to have the political honeymoon of the “First 100 days”.?

2. Why Najib’s 1Malaysia slogan failed to fire the imagination of Malaysians to foster great national unity, to the extent it has become “1Cracked Malaysia”?

3. To demand for a new Inspector-General of Police who could end the sufferings of Malaysians, visitors and investors who have lost two fundamental rights in the face of galloping crime – the right to be free from crime and to be free from the fear of crime.

4. To get to the bottom of the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal so that the culprits are brought to book and it does not become another RM2.5 billion Bumiputra Malaysia Finance (BMF) scandal of being a “heinous crime without criminals” though five times bigger!

5. To demand full accountability as to how the half-a-trillion ringgit contributed by Petronas to the Federal government in the past 33 years, i.e. RM426.6 billion made up of RM4.2 billion under the premiership of Tun Hussein, RM168.8 billion under Tun Mahathir and RM253.6 billion under Tun Abdullah had been prudently spent or irresponsibily squandered.

Over to you, Wong.

1. #1 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 11:09 am

“Wong also told the press yesterday that MCA does not rule out the possibility of co-operating with DAP to establish a joint secretariat for “intellectual discourse” if the proposal come from the DAP and depending on the topics concerned.”

– following the blue print from UMNO initiated tail waggling towards PAS in an attempt to break up Pakatan Rakyat

– if the proposal come from DAP? as far as I know, Ong TK and Wong spoke of this and none of the DAP chaps spoke about this so who is doing the proposing?

The Kedah situation. Whether it is PAS state government is insensitive to the minority Chinese needs or sabotage by BN-inclided civil servants, one thing is for sure, Azizan has to be politically shrewd and balance. If PAS lead state government can show some concern and action to the Chinese minority there, then it augurs well for “PAS untuk Semua” otherwise it is easy to accuse PAS of baing similar to BN i.e. “cakap tak serupa bikin”

If I remember correctly from my Sejarah Islam days, the Prophet’s administration showed kindness and understanding to non-muslim minority.

If we just take away the pig and Chinese element in this issue, it is about health, safety, cleanliness and location issues of agriculture activities.

If PAS state government has the relevant authority for the relocation of the facility, then make the owners invest in proper cleanliness and health systems in return for security of property ownership. Being reasonable businessmen, I am sure that they can accept any sensible proposal.

2. #2 by YK Leong on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 11:26 am

‘Wong also told the press yesterday that MCA does not rule out the possibility of co-operating with DAP to establish a joint secretariat for “intellectual discourse” if the proposal come from the DAP and depending on the topics concerned’.

Brother Kit Siang has already done his part. Now, it is over to you. Wong. Wong, do not chicken out. If not, you are labelled as “how sui thor kor char” (meaning in Cantonese is “saliva is more than tea”).

3. #3 by ekompute on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 11:48 am

“Is MCA so short of talents it cannot find different persons to hold the posts of MCA Secretary-General and Senate President?”

Does MCA ever had any people who had real talent, other than their early pioneers? Anyway, does the position of Senate President require any talent? To me, the Senate is just a useless body, occupying valuable space… a mere waste of resources, not to mention money.

4. #4 by wanderer on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 12:37 pm

The days of WINE AND ROSES are over for MCA…the social ladder climbers, who used this Beggar party for their fast track self promotions and interests are not that attractive anymore. This political racial party, is now left with dead woods and honey suckers…it is only a matter of time, it will become history.

5. #5 by Tonberry on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 1:01 pm

Wong Foon Meng – one of the biggest ball-carrier of Umno. Remember what he told the chinese not to vote for Oppositions during last year GE run-up bcoz the chinese could not afford not having representative in the Cabinet..

6. #6 by YK Leong on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 1:06 pm

“I will take a three-day break from the 36-day “three questions a day” session and 108 questions to decide whether to continue with the daily questioning on the PKFZ scandal, and if so, in what new form”. Brother Lim Kit Siang since you are taking a break, please allow me to contiue. I CAN’T STOP THE MUSIC.

Perhaps, I will gamble my luck with the MCA secretary-general, Wong Foon Meng for answers over the PKFZ scandal. STAR (5 July 2009) headlined: “MCA to address public complaints effectively”.

My complaint for today (5 July 2009) to the MCA Public Services and Complaints Bureau is whether Ong Ta Kut is willing to release the full PKFZ report together with its appendices to the taxpayers, who are entitled for it without a doubt? STAR (8 April 2008) headlined: “Ong to tell all on Port Klang Free Zone” quoting him: “I wish to inform the rakyat about the true situation – whether it was actually squandered, not squandered, and whether it has gone to, as well as the breakdown of the budget.”

7. #7 by monsterball on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 1:54 pm

If Najib cannot put those who lost in elections. from MCA and Gerakan….back as Ministers…why be surprised.
    Everyone knows…UMNO have no more quality members to show off.
    All must be yes men and women…and the good ones…resigned or refuse to be involved.
    Look at MCA…same thing.
    MIC..same thing.
    Gerakan…not same thing. It is Koh Tsu Khoon play thing…no more a party….just for show with few supporting him.
    Gerakan is insignificant.

8. #8 by monsterball on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 2:12 pm

I mean…”If Najib can put or install..those who lost in elections…as ministers….”

9. #9 by limkamput on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 3:17 pm

//5. To demand full accountability as to how the half-a-trillion ringgit contributed by Petronas to the Federal government in the past 33 years, i.e. RM426.6 billion made up of RM4.2 billion under the premiership of Tun Hussein, RM168.8 billion under Tun Mahathir and RM253.6 billion under Tun Abdullah had been prudently spent or irresponsibily squandered.//

Sdr Lim, I find your fifth question odd, unless it is a rhetoric question or a question aiming at embarrassing the way we manage our finances. I am also surprised that TDM did not know how the money was spent unless his intention was the same as yours.

First, all Petronas’ money, if given to Fed Govt either as dividends or taxes will go directly into the Consolidated Fund in the form of fed govt revenue. Money from the consolidated fund can only be expended through the annual budget in either operating or development expenditures (at least this is our constitutional and legal provisions). These expenditures are all tabulated in details in the annual budget. Our fiscal position is the function of revenue and expenditure as indicated in the annual budget each year.

Now, what then are the issues relating to Petronas’s money? I could think of a few:

1. the MPs while debating the annual budget all these years did not really know where the federal govt revenues had come from and what were they consist of;
    2. the MPs did not really know all the programmes and projects as tabulated in the budget; If they know, then they should know how much each ministry, agency, programme, and project get in terms of budget allocations;
    3. the MPs did not know that what was stated in the budget may not be actually happening on the ground, i.e. allocation for programmes “A” may actually be used for some other dubious purposes.

You have asked where did all the Petronas’ money go? Well, it is all in the fed govt revenue and expenditure accounts. But whether or not these expenditures are prudent, effective, beneficial, or squandered is a separate matter.

Now in addition to “on budget” payment (i.e. Petronas’ payments to federal government in the forms of dividends and taxes), there are also many “off budget” payments financed by Petronas. These are public or semi public programmes and projects that are not in the nation’s annual budget but financed by Petronas money. To know this, you have to open the book of Petronas.

10. #10 by Sony boy on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 4:21 pm

Uncle Kit,

Again, my fren studying law in uni told me:

1. There’s no convention against appointing anyone from political party as Speaker. He said it means if Pakatan Rakyat becomes government, PR can also apppoint their man as Speaker. He also remembers last time Ramli Ngah from UMNO also was speaker before.

2. He said as long as Speaker can do his job as Speaker taking care of the order /conduct of the Dewan session well, should not be a problem. He also said this Wong Foon Meng is ok as he has done his Speaker duty well. ???

3. He said since Wong Foon Meng is working with Senate President Pawanteh to upgrade standards of the Senate, why not let him continue the work to make the Senate more respected. He also said this meets the aspirations of Pakatan too to upgrade standards of Senate.

I see from youtube Dewan Negara proceedings are very calm, very different from Dewan Rakyat which is like a fish market, always scolding unneccessarily and wasting time. The only difference is how the speaker control the house proceeding. So far, I see Wong Foon Meng is ok and his Bahasa Malaysia is very commendable. No problem for me to let him continue good works.

Please don’t scold me Uncle Kit, or get angry with me if I support Wong Foon Meng if doing something ok.

It’s just that young people like me are more open sensitive and only judge people by how they treat other people nicely.

11. #11 by intan on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 4:56 pm

Sony boy, i think you are a real ball-carrier!

12. #12 by lopez on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 7:16 pm

m se hair has been pretending to be sleeping for too long, enriching thier members and ignoring those who they claim to represent.

Try visit their so call community centre, or just have a glance …there is something strange feeling as you enters….the air is filled with cold and goosey.

But many seem clean and tidy and new too…like a show room and probably only meant for show only…a community centre….for members only

Their leaders are shameless and no regard for brotherly chinese like what it suppose to represent.

Share and share a like lah…where is the 12 B from the PKFZ deals

13. #13 by lopez on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 7:28 pm

some people only think like a terowong, only see n tell others dont hurt *%# feelings,,,,and have no cow sense at all even after 50 years and forget so easily who taught them to wear shoes at all
    why need to have schools to learn one cultures and have a written language of your own.

If you like eating petai, go ahead, if it is good i take some too, if you got durians and if i like it i buy eat them too, if you cant eat what i can do go %^( tell others not to eat.
    And when you got stomach ache …dont go to see the sinseh…lah
    dip yourself into the mud and eat the cow dung…maybe it helps.
    you never know…if it works i may follow too……how probable …pondering ,,,

14. #14 by ekompute on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 7:57 pm

Tonberry Says: “Wong Foon Meng – one of the biggest ball-carrier of Umno. Remember what he told the chinese not to vote for Oppositions during last year GE run-up bcoz the chinese could not afford not having representative in the Cabinet..”

Do we need Chinese representatives that are like what Lim Chong Eu says, “Ya, botol, ya, botol,” while carrying a coconut in one hand and an empty bottle in another? What has MCA done so far? During the 2008 general election, I keep seeing one lady on TV saying how fortunate she was that Ong Ka Ting visited her house and gave her some financial assistance. And MCA’s TV advertisement punchline was, “Working quietly behind the scene….” Well, giving some financial assistance to a woman in need is NOT the only thing that we expect from a political party. That can be done even by a single individual. Seems like MCA had nothing less to show and that was the only thing MCA did during the honeymoon period under Abdullah Badawi’s country management leadership style.

15. #15 by monsterball on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 8:54 pm

Intan…you are right.
    This young fut Sony boy said he is sensitive…and want to be treated nicely…yet he ignores how nice UMNO is cleaning up his father’s income taxes money…into their pockets.
    I guess..he will not listen to his Dad…scolding and teaching him…to wake up his weak brain.
    He does not realize…LKS is fighting for his future at all.
    All he knows…is that…LKS is shouting at parliament…treating UMNO not nicely with respect.
    He knows next to nothing about sincerity and pure hearts.
    I hope one day…an unfaithful…smart two-timer girl… con him…to be her husband…and be the laughing clown… for the rest of his life.

16. #16 by clare288ho on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 11:55 pm

Uncle Kit,

I’m a neutral guy. i did not belong to BN or PKR. I’m totally agreed with Sony boy. What is wrong with Wong Fook Meng appointment as a senate president. So far he has done his job well. If Pakatan become the goverment, you will definetly recommend your DAP member to be Senate president but I have doubt whether you have the power to do so ? Just look at what happen in Kedah. Why the 50% quota issue could happen & the demolition of temple. From here we could see that the credibility of DAP is a question mark… It is worst than MCA.

i’m losing fate on DAP now

17. #17 by Sony boy on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 1:13 pm

Dear Intan and monsterball,

I do not know why you have so much hate for young people like me. I’m a pacifist, I don’t believe in violent speech, thought or action. I hope your party is non-violent too.

Young people have rights to express our feelings. Many of us nowaday do not like to cause unhappiness to others by scolding or cursing their future. We know everybody got rights to different thinking.

I am exercising my rights to voice my feelings, even though I do not blindly support only one party. Maybe you’ll be surprise but there are many of my frens thinking like me.

You may choose not to understand or continue to curse me, its your right to be so. But that doesn’t mean you can force me to support your party.

18. #18 by Sony boy on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 1:24 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

I read in Malaysiakini, you are speaking with the DAP people in Kedah and Penang.

My fren in management faculty said should leave to the state DAP managers to handle their own crisis as DAP Advisor is higher level. If the state managers are unable to handle their area, they should be sent for training, but the Advisor should not step over into the CEO duty.

My fren said in this case of management, the CEO is DAP Secretary General, so he should be responsible for party matters directly. The Advisor duty is to stay in the background so that the Secretary General can be free to do what he should be doing as he is not unanswerable to the Advisor. If the CEO is unable to do his job, then he should not be appointed in the first place.

I forgot to ask my fren, is he considering that DAP party management to be same as corporate management? Please elaborate DAP management so that we are more aware.

He also think DAP management is also need improvement cos not many talented managers around who can solve people’s problems.
    TQ

19. #19 by limkamput on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:36 pm

Sony boy, you are old fart, probably a MCA imposter. Oh, pacifist, exercising my right, etc. goodness me! Look, my little finger is already smarter than you, ok. It wouldn’t work here.

20. #20 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:42 pm

This is cronism at its worst in MCA under Ong Tee Keat as compared to previous MCA presidents.

21. #21 by Sony boy on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 2:36 pm

Dear limkamput,

I’m 23 years old this year.

I did not get the chance to vote in 2008, and will consider to not vote for any party that people like you support. Its very frightening to imagine the violent outcome should the likes of you who do not respect voices of young people become government.

I’m sorry for Malaysia that older people like you keep on thrashing young people who have different opinion from you. You do not seem to understand your behaviour is just the same as the ones you curse. So much anger is a put off for young people.

fyi, the world of young people is searching for more love in the world, please move with the aspirations of young people for harmornious civility.