“3 Tuns in Selective Amnesia” – Will Liong Sik undertake that he will not copy Mahathir’s example of selective amnesia when he appears before the PAC on the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal?

Former MCA President and Transport Minister Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik has said he has nothing to hide and is ready to appear before the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) to explain his role in the controversial RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

Can Liong Sik undertake that he will not copy his former boss, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad’s example of selective amnesia at the Lingam Videotape Royal Commission of inquiry when he appears before the PAC on the PKFZ scandal, so that Malaysia will not have “Three Tuns in Selective Amnesia”?

In January last year, Malaysians were treated to the sorry spectacle of the former Prime Minister and former Chief Justice Tun Eusuff Chin competing with each other in selective amnesia when they were summoned to give testimony by the Lingam Videotape Royal Commission of Inquiry.

Mahathir said “I cannot remember” or its equivalent 14 times during his 90-minute testimony before the Royal Commission while Eusuff Chin said “I cannot remember” or its equivalent 18 times in his testimony.

Malaysians did not believe that Mahathir had become so forgetful that he had to invoke the “I cannot remember” mantra 14 times in his short testimony especially as Mahathir was still famed for his poem, Melayu Muda Lupa.

The Malaysian public was really aghast at Mahathir’s testimony because of the public perception that Mahathir had a reputation for remembering details others could hardly recall as illustrated by his mastery to recall effortlessly details of Rafidah Aziz’s excesses in the AP scandal without any prodding.

Can Liong guarantee that the country would not be presented with a third Tun in selective amnesia when he is called to appear before the PAC to give testimony about the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal?

“Three Tuns in Selective Amnesia” will really be intolerable, insufferable, a great national shame and infamy.

In the past 36 days of “three questions a day” on the PKFZ scandal to the Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat, I have posed 108 questions.
Ong’s failure and inability to answer the 108 questions is akin to his failure to pass as Transport Minister and McA President like Shaolin disciples in “fighting stories” who could not pass the gauntlet of the 108 movements of Shaolin Wooden-men Lane and 18 Lohans to to leave the Shaolin Mountain to out into the world.

I am taking a three-day break from the 36-day “three questions a day” session and 108 questions and will decide whether to continue with the daily questioning on the PKFZ scandal, and if so, in what new form.

I note that Ong’s “hired guns” and “cultural assassins” in MCA Hqrs continue to pour out attacks on me, which are issued in the name of MCA small fries and operatives from the various states, the latest emanating from Bukit Mertajam.
These “hired gun” attacks from MCA’s “cultural assassins” from the MCA

headquarters, purportedly to defend Ong from my persistent questions to get to the bottom of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal, would support the decision that I continue with “three questions a day” as I have no problem in coming out with another 108 questions to Ong on the PKFZ scandal.

I will announce my decision in two days’ time.

1. #1 by ALLAN THAM on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 1:10 pm

All these while the MCA are perceived by Chinese as the crooks and they are supported by all those who has immense business link.

I may believe in OTK who from the face look decent and in deed modest and have the genuine inclination to serve the people, but he was in the wrong party, who is just a running dog of another big boss. How on earth he can really want to go to the bottle of this evil project? No way he will as if he do this will cost his head in MCA which I believe nobody want. after all he fight so hard to get to the top of MCA and get the Minister post.

2. #2 by YK Leong on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 1:17 pm

“I will take a three-day break from the 36-day “three questions a day” session and 108 questions to decide whether to continue with the daily questioning on the PKFZ scandal, and if so, in what new form”. Brother Lim Kit Siang since you are taking a break, please allow me to contiue. I CAN’T STOP THE MUSIC.

Perhaps, I will gamble my luck with the MCA secretary-general, Wong Foon Meng for answers over the PKFZ scandal. STAR (5 July 2009) headlined: “MCA to address public complaints effectively”.

My complaint for today (5 July 2009) to the MCA Public Services and Complaints Bureau is whether Ong Ta Kut is willing to release the full PKFZ report together with its appendices to the taxpayers, who are entitled for it without a doubt? STAR (8 April 2008) headlined: “Ong to tell all on Port Klang Free Zone” quoting him: “I wish to inform the rakyat about the true situation – whether it was actually squandered, not squandered, and whether it has gone to, as well as the breakdown of the budget.”

3. #3 by monsterball on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 1:43 pm

hahahahahaha….He and Samy Vellu worshiped Mahathir…non stop for 22 years.
    Now Ling Liong Sik.. have a chance to copy his master again.
    Expect…”I forgot”…from him.
    He is a Tun. I heard you cannot jail a Tun…unless stripped off the title…..correct?
    Mamak also said..he was looking forward to be summoned to the Royal Commissioners….on Lingam case. He has nothing to hide..same words…what happened?
    Better lie than admit and go to jail.
    Lie…..the burden of proof lies with the prosecutors…still got chance to stay free.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 1:50 pm

Of what use is calling all these personalities when the PAC itself cannot function properly? They can’t even have the Appendices to study so that they can perform a more effective role in questioning the witnesses.

If I am a member of the PAC, I would not return the Appendices back to Parliament. I would let the officilals try to detain me and prevent me from leaving the premises.

So why don’t the PR representatives do just that?

5. #5 by frankyapp on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 2:07 pm

What do we expect from Tun Ling,nothing except bla bla bla and don’t count your chicken before before its hatches.Chances he may not be called. Should LLS is summoned to attend before the PAC,he would only say things which will save his neck . He and TDM must have by now,formulated a grand plan to save themselves from prison term.On the other hand what can PAC do ?. We know PAC is toothless.After PAC,you know the AG too well.We also know pretty well who’s the JC and the rest of his judiciary judges.Against all these strong great walls,what can an ordinary cannon(LKS) do ? Perhaps your guess is better than mine.

6. #6 by monsterball on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 3:06 pm

If you have lived through Ling Liong Sik as MCA president and a minister..you will know…he is the worst of all MCA presidents…which leads to what MCA have …now…even worst than him.
    Liong Sik is all out to support and make sure Mahathir likes him.
    He is good in giving speeches with his nice voice….and give promises…he never kept.
    He is gas bag..a liar and very cunning fella….successfully protecting his position…making sure Mahathir likes him.
    And Mahathir likes anyone…that can support his race and religion politics…dictatorship..corruptions…to make..chosen cronies and Malays rich…with no objections and complaints from Ling Liong Sik and MCA.
    Liong Sik..sold the Chinese as second class citizens to UMNO.
    Look at his 18 years as minister….so much corruptions in the ministry he managed..the Transport Ministry.
    Yes..Port Klang Free Zone is a shipping transport giant.
    Mahathir was smart to make sure Liong Sik gets Chinese support……by approving TAR college… into a University..fully owned by MCA.
    Few more temples and Chinese schools…18 years went by.
    Everything Chinese want…..must depend on UMNO’s good moods.
    Liong Sik….had his fair share of dirty politics within his own party….which we all know the details.
    Smart honest noble people were ousted out.
    Who is Liong Sik?
    “moe mun tai …sup sup soe”…meaning …”small mater..no problem” is is famous reply for those asking for help….and all got none.
    He is a Chinese out-dated fast ass… opera actor.
    Do you expect such a man ..to tell the truths on the PKFZ matter?
    An established dirty politician..a crook and a liar like Mahathir…you must be nuts to trust him.

7. #7 by k1980 on Sunday, 5 July 2009 - 4:55 pm

There is only 1 way to cure selective amnesia, and that is by administering the “A. Kugan treatment”.

8. #8 by taiking on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:36 pm

tunone: “errrr …. err …. errrr”
    tuntwo: “erm ….errr …. erm”
    tunthree: “I am an old man. You expect me to remember so many things?”

9. #9 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:45 pm

Ling Liong Sik will come to the Committee and talks his cock and bulls stories, worthless.

It is just a waste of time to call him to appear.