“ISA? Yes we can!”

Protected

Protected

Arrested

Arrested

1. #1 by Tonberry on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 12:10 pm

This is one of the main reasons why this country cannot advance; because there are certain groups of fanatics going around destroying this country.

2. #2 by dawsonruby on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 12:24 pm

I’m glad, I’m not alone to think like Tonberry. Because of them, our country has stopped progressing to another stage of democracy..wait..is there even one in Msia?

3. #3 by blink4blog on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 12:30 pm

I wonder are the police going to continue arresting people for the upcoming 10 years?

4. #4 by sithakrish on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 1:06 pm

I really don’t understand. Can’t they know that the world is watching and laughing at us.

This rally pro-ISA, perhaps they want to show us that there are many saying yes to it by allowing them to the street. And we who say no to ISA are not even allowed to gather and if we do, no candles, no ISA t-shirts and so on..

It is always about the number with BN. They want the rest to know that many are with them.
    I am just wondering if we can actually go without paying tax in order to say no to ISA, can they see the number then????
    Curious…

5. #5 by k1980 on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 1:09 pm

From the above, then those protesting the C4-ing of Altantoyol will be arrested, while those supporting her C4-ing will be supported by police outriders.

6. #6 by melurian on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 1:17 pm

mari sama-sama sokong isa untuk kesejahteraan dan kemakmuran malaysia…..

7. #7 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 1:21 pm

Well, personally I think the street and outdoor protest of any kind should stop.

8. #8 by comingto50 on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 1:22 pm

Sometimes I just wonder how some people can support corrupted government that not only rob you and me but them also. The whole families. Beats me!

9. #9 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 1:40 pm

Why not the Pakatan state governments organize some meaningful activities for the Rakyat? If you disagree with the government and you want to gain supports, there are better ways to deliver that messages to the Rakyat than protesting.

10. #10 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 1:43 pm

It seems to me that Pakatan Rakyat is running out of ideas to gain supports. Organize a job fair for the retrenched workers for god sake!

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 2:07 pm

Would Pewaris be so pro-ISA if its used against them? Does this remind anyone of ‘Some animals are more equal than others, some pigs are more equal than other pigs’?

12. #12 by muscaa on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 2:22 pm

The country is \boleh\ only for \ketuanan melayu\. Otherwise Govt will ban yoga, Anti ISA rally, tomboy, multi language road sign… and the list goes on

13. #13 by CheeseBall on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 2:30 pm

That is what happens when the populace have been socially-engineered over the decades to be naive, stupid and intentionally brainwashed to feel insecure about themselves. Thus the reason for the so called, “Ketuanan Melayu” being imprinted into their thought patterns.

Malaysia is in a state of limbo (and fast falling), until the time something drastic happens for a change in government. What a pathetic joke, the whole country has become.

14. #14 by sybreon on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 2:32 pm

I just watched Animal Farm yesterday. It makes a very good film for the weekend – “All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others”.

However, the bigger question that needs to be asked is whether or not both these public rallies had permits. If one had while the other one didn’t, then please don’t blame the police for enforcing the law. They are doing their job.

I also agree with dawsheng. The Pakatan Rakyat state governments seem to be just as barren of ideas as the BN government they replaced.

1) What are the short/medium/long term plans for each state?
    2) Where are our local council elections?

At the very least, you can conduct registration drives to get everyone to register as a voter and practice their fundamental democratic right. You should all stop acting like opposition members and show your “colour”.

15. #15 by I Malaysian on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 2:45 pm

This is an undisputed evidence to show there is an existence of clear prejudice when police treat cases pro and anti government groups in Malaysia. Such a shame and disgrace to Malaysians.

16. #16 by Anak Msia on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 2:48 pm

shoudn’t the police treat everyone equal ?

it is dangerous to have the enforcer biased.

17. #17 by bc on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 3:44 pm

Don’t stop protest anti-ISA. This is the way to abolish the ISA.

Any people are human being will support anti-ISA.

Only those uncivilised people will support ISA for the corrupted government to protect themselves.

Those support the ISA are protecting their own interest, they have never under arrest by ISA and get to know the feel of the threat, they mislead their families and children.

Are they as well are corrupted and support the ISA to protect themselves?

18. #18 by All For The Road on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 3:49 pm

The police smacks of double standards when carrying out their duties!

Sunday’s two events in KL :

1. Pro-ISA rally organized by Pewaris, presumably a lackey of
    UMNO and

2. Anti-ISA rally organized by PAS

obviously and clearly showed the police acted biasedly, unfairly and unprofessionally in enforcing the law. The pro-ISA rally was not touched at all and was allowed to march undisturbed by the police whereas the anti-ISA gathering at Dataran MPAJ in Pandan Indah was rudely and roughly disrupted and dispersed by the same police force and there were even 9 arrests of the peaceful attendees.

Where is justice and fairplay? The IPCMC should be speeded up and legislated in its entirety of recommendations by the Royal Commission to clip the wings and powers of the partial police force and its arrogant enforcers! PR MPs should exert pressure to the BN government to see to IPCMC’s immediate implementation without further delay!

19. #19 by duckweed on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 5:11 pm

Do you guys seriously think that the smart government will abolish ISA?!

20. #20 by bc on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 5:47 pm

In a sense, yes, it will if many all races Malaysian support the Anti-ISA.

Do not underestimate the people power.

21. #21 by duckweed on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 6:07 pm

Power from the ground is never underrated. The point here is – can you tell me how united Malaysians are? Sometimes, it all boils down to the persistency we have.

More often than not, people start discussing an issue only after an incident takes place. After a while, when things cool down, people seem to have forgotten.

It’s nice to see for how long Malaysians can continuously call on the government to do away with ISA. For sure, it’d be lovely to note a fruitful outcome – ISA abolished! Let’s look forward to this while fighting for it.

22. #22 by sms on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 6:21 pm

I hope nobody will be stupid go to lodges police reports about people asking equal right for all Malaysian.

Because it would be an offence and disrespect to the statement of the Independent Father Tunku and the Malay rulers follow:

The Independent Father Tunku and the Malay rulers had asked the Reid Commission to ensure that “in an independent Malaya all nationals should be accorded equal rights, privileges and opportunities and there must not be discrimination on grounds of race and creed,”

The Independent Father Tunku and the Malay rulers had asked to ensure all nationals should be accorded equal rights in the Constitution.

It can consider a serious offence.

23. #23 by Loyal Malaysian on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 6:44 pm

These are pictorial evidence!
    They have reaffirmed the general perception that the police force here is on the take and also taking orders from the UMNOputras.
    How can such a police force commands the rakyats’ respect?

24. #24 by k1980 on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 6:59 pm

Looks like a fatwa will be issued soon prohibiting muslims from opposing the isa

25. #25 by yhsiew on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 7:09 pm

Originally the ISA was intended to be used on terrorists. Political dissidents are not to be categorized as terrorists – they are just ordinary people having opinions different from those that are officially accepted.

Unfortunately, time and again, the government has mis-used the ISA as a “weapon” to weaken the influence of the Opposition party. Such abuse of the ISA must be condemned in the strictest sense of the terms as it grossly violates the democratic principle of freedom of expression.

26. #26 by cemerlang on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 7:21 pm

Imagine yourself as the very first Malaysian astronaut to reach the space station. Before you took off, what were your feelings ? Very excited. Very curious. Very frightened. Fear of the unknown. If the goment never sent you to space using the people’s money, you would be contented being just a doctor because you have control over your life. Just like the ISA. It is a security blanket for those who just want to remain in the past and have everything intact and in control. At least there is physical peace. Then, an official letter arrived and you were chosen to go to space. Like the tsunami of March 8 that has arrived. You began to have all the feelings described earlier. It turned your world upside down. Later, you came back to Earth to a big hero’s welcome. Now you are earning RM 8000 per motivation talk you give. Looks like you will have a very bright future. As for the tsunami March 8, what effects will it have for the future ? Some think that people should be given the chance to speak his or her mind if he or she is slapped with the ISA. The ISA is not the nuclear bomb meant to wipe out the life of anyone. It is an act of the law. If other acts are used during a court’s proceedings, why can’t the ISA function in a similar way ? Bring the victim to court and hear him or her out before a judgement is passed and a sentence given. Then, there will be transparency. That is if you still want to hold on to your precious ISA.

27. #27 by storm62 on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 8:14 pm

what happened to the woman who was chased by so many protestors on the predestrian bridge in KL and while getting into her car, some Pewaris members even kick at her car.

i saw this video on NTV7 news last night, can somebody upload it on youtube for the world to see?

YB Lim, i hope you can get your hands into this video and help this lady out.

28. #28 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 9:08 pm

Tonberry Says:

>> This is one of the main reasons why this country cannot advance;

The ISA protected this country in the past and it will continue to meet the threats of the future.

The ‘fanatics’ that you speak of, are in both camps and the way to reconcile and reach a consensus on this matter is by reworking the ISA to address the current and ever evolving threats to protect Malaysia’s interests.

The pro and anti-ISA fanatics have their own selfish (political or otherwise) agenda in play, so no one should hold their breath as to any amendments that are needed.

29. #29 by irritated on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 9:25 pm

Pewaris ask people not to raise racial issues. What was the banner asking for 70% equity for Malays and not stopping at 30% doing at their rally? What IRONY.

Pewaris is BLIND to their own actions. Because the woman was telling them they were Racist and therefore against Islam, they could not stand the truth – they chose to expose yet another shame on Muslim act – by showing violence to her.

Who is the one mocking Islam? – Pewaris themselves! They are delusional people who think they have the right to control and demand others’ behaviour without checking themselves.

As for the Police, they only know how to ‘Chiak Sai’ – for their partiallity

30. #30 by One4All4One on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 10:21 pm

My apologies for a digression; excerpt from Malaysian Insider:

“” Yoga: No ban for Muslims in Selangor… yet

SHAH ALAM, Nov 24 — Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah said today that the ban on Muslims practising yoga has yet to be enforced in the state as the matter needs to be studied in greater detail.

His statement today appears to be an exertion of control to state the simple principle that matters of the Islamic religion is under the purview of the Sultans and state Rulers, instead of the federal government.

It is also another example of the Malay Rulers flexing their muscles since the March 8 general election.

In a press statement, the Sultan said that the Selangor Fatwa Committee, which is chaired by state mufti Datuk Mohd Tamyes Abdul Wahid, will meet soon to study the matter in detail so that a decision is not made hastily.

In accordance with state laws, matters touching on Islam will require the Sultan’s approval after the committee has deliberated on the issue.

The Sultan said that he hoped that in future any edict that affected the general public would be referred to the Rulers’ Conference.

He said that this was to avoid confusion or controversy so that implementation would be carried out in a wise manner. “”

Some overzealous people who are for the fatwa to be implemented and imposed even called for the police to arrest those who are against the order.

What are they going to tell HRH Sultan of Selangor? Could those residing in Selangor who are for the proposal be considered as going against the order of Sultan and be dealt with?

31. #31 by izrafeil on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 11:01 pm

YB Lim,
    God allowing, keep the ISA just yet, for the time being until Pakatan Rakyat helms the nation and then use it against dissidents….

32. #32 by sms on Monday, 24 November 2008 - 11:30 pm

In the Federal Constitution, all non-bumiputra Malaysian have given the rights to voice their opinions for the review of the Malay Privilege.

These rights was given and signed by the Independent Father Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Sultans the Malay rulers.

If anybody take these Rights away from you for theirs own interest protection. Stop you to voice your opinions the review of Malay/Bumiputra Privilege.

Then they have dishonored the Sultans the Malay rulers who signed and given you this Rights in the Federal Constitution of Independent.

They protect theirs own interest at the expense of dishonoring the Sultans the Malay rulers.

It is a serious offence to the Sultans the Malay rulers.

33. #33 by Jong on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 1:40 am

Those pics speak a thousand words. So it’s ok for those rowdy samsengs to go on street protest but not those ordinary civilians on peaceful candlelight vigils? This confirm there are two sets of law in this country – one for UMNO and another for ordinary Malaysians who are not with UMNO.

Are they so afraid, guilty and insecured that those candles will burn down this UMNO-led government? Was it necessary that truckloads of FRUs be sent to breakup those peaceful vigils?

34. #34 by k1980 on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 8:15 am

To all those who voted BN on 8.3.08

Without the isa
    umno can’t hang on to power
    So those against isa
    Are also against umno

35. #35 by chengho on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 8:20 am

Why we need rally when we have Parliment
    we do not want to be like Bangkok 5 yrs street rally 2 Ge still
    they cannot organise their country
    If you come to Parliment we can see great debate kicking and alive like never before from both opposing camp.

36. #36 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 12:17 pm

Remember that a vote MCA, Gerakan, and other BN component parties is a vote for…..

We can make a difference come the next GE.

We choose the government of the day be it the state or the federal.

The answer is in our hands.

37. #37 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 12:31 pm

Hey guys,didn’t i tell you guys before in bolehland,things are done in an opposite ways.Now you guys are witnessing pro-ISA street demonstration,our mata mata said is okay,urocopter deals untransparently,it’s okay, oceanarium project without proper enviromental report,it’s okay,killing people with C4,it’s okay,pempena scandal ,it’s okay, UNMO MP shouting the word ” bastard ” it’s okay, spenting rakyat’s money on 40 or more BN’s MP to Taiwan unnescessarily,it’s okay,declaring haram joga, women wearing trousers and women travelling alone to overseas,etc etc,etc.the list will be endless And it’s all okay,okay,okay.Some time I really wonder whether I am in a dream in this country,Malaysia,a place I call home.

38. #38 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 12:53 pm

Yes, agreed, those pictures show the stark prejudice, discrimination and double standards of the powers-that-be.

It shows the primitive and infantile mentality of those bigots and hypocrites.

Obviously they belong to interest groups out to paint a bad picture of others who are sensible and crying for justice and equitable treatments. What is wrong with asking for justice to be served and delivered to the rakyat, anyway? Only those who are selfish enough to demand for special rights, treatments, privileges and all things that seem desirable to themselves, would resort to such underhand and dirty tactics.

If one is able, honest, hard-working, sincere, fair, reliable, accountable, have common-sense, have integrity, sensible, morally balanced, etc., etc., one would not have asked for dole and unfair advantages, but to work one’s way up and towards the desired objectives.

There is no end to asking for and giving out dole and privileges, even though one could have access to such unfair advantages.

Isn’t it more honourable and proper for everyone to work for one’s keep? Unless a person is truly handicapped and disabled, one should rely on the God-given faculties and abilities to work and earn a living. Isn’t it “to work is to worship”?

No one is questioning the “principles” enshrined in the constitution. But aren’t constitutions man-made? And as such are subject to change with changing condition and situations. Why not change for the better? Why are some people so afraid of changes? Only they themselves know best. It could be for the protection of the position, privileges and interests.

If one works rightly and are learned and smart, one could even earn much better perks, benefits and privileges; much much better than those provided for by any constitutions or agreements. Why settle for less when more could be obtained if one so desires?

Pity those who remain so ignorant of what “life outside of the confines of constitution” could offer. Unless, of course, if one chooses to remain idle and indolent.

39. #39 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 1:31 pm

Hey one 4 all, you know these UMNOputras and warloads,will not exchange for anything to leave their comfort zone. That’s it and nothing less.

40. #40 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 1:51 pm

That’s where the problem lies.

Protected positions = special privileges = power = easy money = easy luxurious life = comfort zone = what you name it, ad infinitum.

It is also = idleness = indolence = low mentality = laziness = primitiveness = what you could name it.

Which also leads to, on a wider scale, prejudice = discrimination = racism = bigotry = inequality = holier than thou = inconveniences to other = corruption = racial politics = embezzlement = plundering = supremacist attitude = whatever you can name it.

That’s the reason there is a need for real, real change to the whole system.

Hope more people could see the real issues and not blow things out of proportion or offer prejudicial views.

Let’s call a spade a spade.

41. #41 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 - 3:36 pm

The idiots are at work again.They are also the greatest hypocrites in the nation’s history who practise double standard shamelessly.Let’s join hands to throw this bunch of human trash out of bolehland asap.

42. #42 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 26 November 2008 - 6:20 pm

One4All4One, why must you sensationalise a simple issue and why must you (as pro DAP) try to score cheap political points against anyone who does not share their views and understandings? Let me clarify a little… A fatwa in legal terms is an ‘informed decision’ that is non-binding UNLESS it is gazetted by a government and made into law (this is not going to happen in Malaysia on this issue).

The Fatwa council clearly stated that it is when the 3 elements of exercise, chanting and prayer are combined that makes yoga haram. Physical exercise on it’s own is allowed but discouraged by the council and it’s the prerogative of individual Muslims to best determine their circumstance. Clearly the council should have clarified the matter in simple terms as it had the possibility of becoming ‘controversial’ (as it has become) – A comprehensive follow-up is usually given by the council after a fatwa is released, it is unfortunate that after a month, this has not been forthcoming.

It is true that the ruling is specifically for the Muslims and enacted as a guidance for them; it is non-bonding and at the end of the day, each Muslim will evaluate how much this will affect them or indeed if they want to abandon the physical aspect of yoga altogether.

My advise to fellow Muslims is this: If you feel this fatwa makes sense to your personal circumstance and in some way yoga can compromise your faith, then leave it. If you feel that the physical aspect of yoga is like any other exercise and keeps you in good shape, then stick with it.

My advise to DAP: A fatwa is circumspect to the situation of a people in a particular locality. It does not need consensus or support from other regions or countries to become ‘valid’; therefore your piece on S’pore was a misnomer with all due respect.

Good evening.

43. #43 by ktteokt on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 10:18 am

Sakai laws are meant for sakais in sakai times! Can it be used today in such an advanced and modern society??