RM7 billion “black hole” in 2009 Budget – Najib has got lousy advisers

Yesterday, the Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman presented a walloping RM2.78 billion budget for the state for 2009, declaring that the amount allocated would be able to keep up the economic momentum to ensure Sabah’s continuous growth, especially amidst the current economic turmoil.

He also announced a higher state development fund for next year to the tune of RM1.040 billion.

Very impressive but where have all the past billion-ringgit development funds for Sabah gone to, and will the huge budget and massive develoment funds announced by Musa yesterday go the way of past funds – disappearing into thin air instead of translated into projects on the ground to directly benefit the people?

In Tawau this morning, I visited Jalan Sin Onn, an important artery for Tawau but which is choked with traffic. The Barisan Nasional Government had promised to build Jalan Sin Onn into a four-lane dual carriageway, way back in the Seventh Malaysia Plan as part of its “Sabah Baru” manifesto to capture power in Sabah state.

It was in the Seventh Malaysia Plan as well as in the Eighth Malaysia Plan. It is now in the Ninth Malaysia Plan but will it again be shunted to the Tenth Malaysia Plan into a ‘never-never” future, without a single foot of construction?

Jalan Sin Onn has become a daily traffic nightmare in broad daylight in Tawau.

I will meet the Works Minister, Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamed in Parliament to check on the status of the upgrading of Jalan Sin Onn in Tawau.

The Sabah Chief Minister should not talk about development in Sabah until he can resolve once and for all the basic infrastructure problems like regular and efficient power and water supply.

We just launched my new book “The Cries of Sabah”, which also highlighted the development nightmare of Sabahans to the extent that it is said that “If there is no power disruption in Sabah, then it’s not Sabah” and where SESB stands for “Sabah Everyday Sure Blackout”!

The power breakdown in Tawau in the last two days were so bad (I am told that the people of Tawau and Sabah have become quite numbed to such disruptions) that it had turned Tawau’s daily newspaper, Morning Post, into an evening paper, as it could only be printed and distributed at 4 pm!

All over the world, governments are preparing their countries to face the world’s worst economic crisis in 80 years. China has announced a US$586 billion economic stimulus package while South Korea unveiled a US$11 billion stimulus package.

In the United States, Congress is working with the Bush Administration to craft a US$700 billion bailout of troubled US banks.

Malaysia, however, is an oddity. Although the government has announced a measly RM7 billion economic stimulus package when winding up the debate on the 2009 Budget on November 4, this RM7 billion economic stimulus package is quite a mirage as it has not been formally presented to Parliament by way of an amendment to the 2009 Budget and is therefore not before Parliament for approval when every sen of government expenditure must be passed by the House.

This is why there is a complete air of unreality in the 2009 Budget debate, as there is a RM7 billion “black hole” so long as the economic stimulus package has not been incorporated into the 2009 Budget and placed on the agenda for parliamentary approval.

This RN7 billion “black hole” in the 2009 Budget is completely indefensible and unacceptable. The Prime Minister-designate Datuk Seri Najib Razak has got very lousy advisers who could land him in such a trouble as not complying with parliamentary procedures and practices in seeking a formal approval from Parliament for the RM7 billion package.

He should rectify this gross mistake without any delay or he would seen as acting in a very arrogant and supercilious manner in his relationship with Parliament – five months before he actually become Prime Minister!

(Speech 3 at the Tawau DAP Thousand-People “Towards A New Era” dinner at Lau Gek Poh Memorial Hall, Tawau on Saturday, 15th November 2008 at 9 pm)

1. #1 by mauriyaII on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 6:08 pm

This RM7 billion ‘black hole’ could even become an expanded RM70 billion mother of ‘black hole’ and nobody would be the wiser.

There is no such thing as transparency and accountablity in the BN government led by the UMNOputras. The neutered lap dogs in the MCA, GERAKAN, MIC, PPP, and the lame component parties from Sabah and Sarawak won’t know what happened to such a big sum of money.

Not that they would be bothered. The towkeys in MCA would be only be too pleased with their UMNO masters if they are given a little from that allocation. They are not bothered whether their members or the rakyat at large benefit.

It is good that Pakatan Rakyat MPs like your goodself bring up this matter in parliament as well as in the alternate media to inform the public. Otherwise the BN goons won’t even think twice before they hijack the proposed amount.

With mamak as the mentor and financial advisor for the PM-to-be, don’t be too surprised if Najis is coerced into reviving the crooked bridge project across the causeway with the money. It would be after all an infrastructure building project that might provide jobs and revenue for the crony bumi companies.

2. #2 by All For The Road on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 6:15 pm

Though Sabah is rich and endowed with abundant natural resources like timber, palm oil and petroleum, yet it is one of the least developed and poorest states in Malaysia. Many areas are still without decent supplies of water and electricity, what more the low standard of living among the majority of poor Sabahans. How come it can be in such a desperate situation and dilemma? Who have squandered all the money? Your guess is as good as mine! Sabahans should wake up what needs to be done in the next GE. VOTE and vote for change!

With the dwindling prices of petroleum and palm oil in the world market, the country will be facing enormous economic problems. Where are we going to get the RM7 billion to offset the economic stimulus package? It is time to be prudent with our spendings. Sack those lousy financial and economic advisers if need be. We want answers, and favourably that is!

3. #3 by rotiplata on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 6:38 pm

the RM7 bil just try to calm ppl down … they are just lying … they are bunches of cuckoo! all they know is how to try their best to cheat those budget ! malaysia boleh my azz ….

4. #4 by Hue on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 6:54 pm

“The question that needs to be asked is how it is that such powers are now being exercised with what appears to be scant regard for the fundamental rights, liberties and freedoms guaranteed under the Federal Constitution.”

This quote came from an article on the AG’s misdeeds but the underlying phrase is “scant regard”. These 2 words underpin the govt.’s behaviour. The govt. (aka UMN0) has scant regard for the Constitution, Parliament, the Opposition, the rakyat and its fellow members that make up the BN. When someone has scant regard for people it does business with he can be aptly said to be arrogant verging on being a bully. In every aspect of its actions, the govt. has shown scant regard for all and sundry. How then can it still be allowed to rule? Why are we allowing this to happen? We can blog and criticise till the cows come home but the only thing that matters at the end of the day is a change of govt.

5. #5 by kftang on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 6:54 pm

Who is going to listen to ‘The Cries Of Sabah’? It should be the BN federal government first and foremost. After 45 years of independence with Malaysia, where do the state and people of Sabah stand? We do not like to see Sabah at the backwaters of national development and progress!

The RM7 billion, if possible, should be channelled and diverted to help alleviate the cries, woes, problems and poverty of the people of Sabah and the state. It should be best used to answer and soften ‘the cries of Sabah’. What are the BN MPs from Sabah doing? Are they sleeping and in dreamland forever?

6. #6 by calvin_ngan on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 7:23 pm

i wonder, can sabah and sarawak demand to be ceased from peninsular malaysia? I believe they have the rights, must be in one of the clauses when they joined peninsular malaysia. don’t think they can call this sedition right?

Brunei and Singapore is a good example of why joining peninsular is a bad idea. With project IC, i doubt they can anymore… sad…

Israel = Malaysia
    Gaza Strip/westbank = Sabah/sarawak
    Colonisation = Project IC

tell me, why do they protest when Isreal occupy Gaza? isn’t it the same when they try to repopulate sabah with their own people? hypocrite! hypocrite! hypocrite! hypocrite! hypocrite!

7. #7 by chengho on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 8:21 pm

So far we do not hear anything brilliance plan from 5 Pakatan govern state ? Show to the Rakyat you can do better especially in the trying time of world economic problem. the problem already reached Malaysia cronic problem demand a strong antidote not enough critism..critism.. what and where is your plan ?

8. #8 by ktteokt on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 8:50 pm

Another classic example of a Minister of Finance who does not know how to count! Malaysia Bolehlah!

9. #9 by lcpjames on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 8:55 pm

the 7 billion package is for valuecap to buy out dying company who has run out of steam in this financial turmoil, and then they will give out ‘ping pong shares’ to all their cronies. when the turmoil dusts settled and eventually the share prices shoot up and valuecap get richer and richer with a slight push from our beloved finance minister. for those who sold their share now will never know what to eat tomorrow…..

10. #10 by uncle_abc on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 10:18 pm

mauriyaII Says:
    Today at 18: 08.29 (4 hours ago)

With mamak as the mentor and financial advisor for the PM-to-be, don’t be too surprised if Najis is coerced into reviving the crooked bridge project across the causeway with the money.

i actually think that building a new causeway is a good idea. if you live near the causeway, you will realised that having a new bridge could solve all the congestion at the causeway. (and of cos, the immigration and custom there have to wake up the idea too)

chengho Says:
    Today at 20: 21.57 (1 hour ago)

So far we do not hear anything brilliance plan from 5 Pakatan govern state ? Show to the Rakyat you can do better especially in the trying time of world economic problem. the problem already reached Malaysia cronic problem demand a strong antidote not enough critism..critism.. what and where is your plan ?

agree. PR should shows us their alternative solutions to the problems. criticism without solutions is as good as what the BN ppl are doing now

11. #11 by monsterball on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 10:39 pm

When does Najib knows??…next to nothing about managing the country and depend heavily on advisers. He will advise his advisers …most important how to win votes with their advises.
    That is trade mark of UMNO.
    So…..how sincere can such a party be to all Malaysians??
    That RM7 billion plus 10 sen reduction on oil..under Najib..and one more coming…until Malaysians will receive some back… what they stolen…..is the only way…they can win back more votes.
    However…Malaysians know…the wealth of the country…should give them a better life…and no need to hope UMNO will give back more. What UMNO is always doing…is be good guys..when proven corrupted…hoping Malaysians have short memories…enjoying some good news.
    If Malaysians do not wish to be fooled again and again..by UMNO…vote them out with a strong result…for Pakatan Rakyat…just as we gave Dollah the first chance.
    So why can’t we give Pakatan Rakyat….same opportunity?

12. #12 by One4All4One on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 10:41 pm

The rakyat have the right to know about what goes in and out of their “common bank account”.

Parliament must demand that all expenditures and allocations are accounted for. Else it would, could and should be construed as being a criminal breach of trust.

All MPs must demand for transparency and accountability. Anyone opposed to this should be considered as accomplices and collaborators in the scheme.

No minister can wield absolute powers and be beyond reproach. They are accountable to the electorate and nation for all their actions.

13. #13 by raven77 on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 10:48 pm

The current government continues to con the public ….only because the Malaysian public are willing fools…

14. #14 by wesuffer on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 12:08 am

under acting najis admistration, EPF reduce 11% to 8%, help malaysian reduce burden. sound good. but at the back, the 3% extra will go to incometax !

15. #15 by yhsiew on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 7:51 am

If the RM7 billion economic stimulus package does not have the approval of Parliament, it will be DIFFICULT to scrutinize how the money is spent and who is accountable for the spending.

Najis should get the RM7 billion stimulus package approved by Parliament to avoid complications which arise later and to prove he is clean and not involved in fishy swindling.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 9:08 am

Nijab has dug holes in his backyard enough to occupy him for a long time. He is too busy to want to look at yet another black hole!

17. #17 by Godfather on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 9:38 am

In scientific parlance, a black hole is a collapsing star where matter has become so dense and the gravity so great that not even light can escape.

In Bolehland parlance, a black hole is generally a financial scheme cooked up by the BN leadership whose brains are so dense that they cannot think of anything else other than the need to steal. The gravity to steal is so great that every financial scheme will suck the rakyat’s pockets dry.

18. #18 by taiking on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 10:02 am

7 billion for saving the economy without going through parliament. See how used to – they are – to unofficial ways. Perhaps its more like officially unofficial.

By the way, its not quite a black hole we have here, technically. Its more like bermuda triangle. Wave a million over it and hey its gone.

19. #19 by Bigjoe on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 10:03 am

Don’t underestimate BN ability to pour money into Sabah and Sarawak. They can raise taxes to pay for it. In fact they already are with the idea of removing whatever remain of the oil subsidy like the rebate payment on cars and the 30cents remaining subsidy. Already you see the 3b gas pipeline project is promised to Sabah warlords.

20. #20 by k1980 on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 10:06 am

Malaysia, on the other hand, fields a luckless military that has spent countless billions on ineffective weapons systems that often don’t work or don’t fit tactical requirements, with no coordination between systems, as generals and officials with the ministry of defence who are closely aligned with the United Malays National Organisation, fill their pockets with a vast amount of pelf.

If three separate contracts over the past several years are any yardstick, Najib Tun Razak, who became defense minister in 1999 and kept the portfolio when he became deputy prime minister, appears to have mastered the game far beyond the expectations of any previous defense leaders. Opposition figures say the three contracts, one for Russian Sukhoi jet fighters, a second for French submarines and a third for navy patrol boats, appear to have produced at least US$300 million for UMNO cronies, Najib’s friends and others.
    source:http://asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1548&Itemid=590&limit=1&limitstart=1

21. #21 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 11:13 am

Najib should never give excuses that he got lousy advisers as he should have the capacity to discern which adviser is good or is lousy. May be he likes to keep lousy advisers instead good advisers so that he can continue to give excuses for all the lousy decisions that he made!!! May be he wont be able to tolerate those advisers that are better than him i.e. if you are so good, why dont you be the PM!!!

22. #22 by frankyapp on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 11:56 am

Wow 7 billion for year 09 budget That’s great news for umnoputras and their cronies Not the rakyat. At the end of the day,this figure will swell up to 12 billion maybe more. Cos let me enlighten you guys that these umno leaders are using the Sabah state’s assets and funds to develop all these and that projects namely in the interest of the rakyat,just only to benefit your own pokets. Any of you guys want to prove me wrong ?

23. #23 by robert wong on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 1:28 pm

7 billions my foot, the 1 billion which Bodohwi promised to Sabah and Sarawak after the 308 haven’t even reached the Sabah and Sarawak soil !!!!!!!!! It’s all bullshit !!!!!!!!

24. #24 by rotiplata on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 1:51 pm

United States of America …. United States of Borneo … yeah … !

25. #25 by k1980 on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 2:03 pm

Most of the 7 billion ringgit would have disappeared by now. Seems there are some CEOs of GLCs who are willing to pay RM8,000 an hour for the govt-sponsored space tourist to “lecture” on his great deeds and “scientific experiments” in space, such as:-
    1. How to change your underwear in zero gravity
    2. How to poo and then “cebuk” inside the ISS
    3. How to get the government to sponsor your tourism in space

26. #26 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 2:05 pm

Najib cannot have some ones better than him as advisors!

27. #27 by rotiplata on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 5:25 pm

if his advisor is better than him, then the advisor will end up like the mongo … you know what I mean… !

28. #28 by Dr.Ken on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 5:33 pm

Infact, most Sabahan voted for the Opposition esp. the urbanites but the Project IC & the Honesty of the Election Commision are the contributing factors for BN victory.

Vision 2020 , 11 years to go, Sabah still lack of basic Infrastructure of water & Electricity. what a big joke ? Even China can provide her citizen of constant supply of water & Electricity. but not malaysian Gov’t . we are telling the world that we “Boleh” but without constant supply of water & power. we have the $$$ to send man to the space but no $$$ to build Dam & power plants.

This is so called “Life in the Bolehland ” . This happen in Sabah since 40 years ago but still unable to solve this simple problem let alone we meet the goal of vision 2020. what a joke of the Year.

Mlalaysia is still very backward nation in comparision w/ the rest of the world. Needless to say Corruption & Abuse of power are the contributing factors. when our Gov’t going to be Clean & dedicated ?

29. #29 by rotiplata on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 6:07 pm

it’s the culture … a hopeless culture ! Clean & dedicated ? you dream long long la … ! M’sia govt has not integrity at all ! They spent so much to send an “Orang Utan” to space and couldn’t face east to sembayan as it’s on the moon ! i give them 20 years more and i guarantee that they still can’t supply clean water and uninterruptible power supply!

30. #30 by raven77 on Tuesday, 18 November 2008 - 5:27 pm

81 seats…and Malaysians are still hoping someone will save this country……but the opposition keeps saying that 81 is not enough…..when will it be enough…….will it be when the country is bankrupt as in when a patient is already dead and gone…..the realities of this nation are such that while the few good men try desperately to save this nation…..the many bad guys know that they will never succeed and continue to plunder it’s resources and people completely. Revolutions are generally borne out of his sought of desperate situations……..Anwar and co must do more..before it is too late.

31. #31 by rotiplata on Wednesday, 19 November 2008 - 1:16 pm

give me a break … anwar is another cuckoo who is planning to rob the country !

32. #32 by matnook on Thursday, 8 January 2009 - 2:59 am

Rotiplata,

You are a little over board unless you can justify your mischievous statement “who is planning to rob the country !”. YOU may be young and enthusiastic in the display of your feeling and emotions. Control you bonfire, burn it when you can back up your accusation. If you really have the article of inappropriate behavior or planning, please display a copy here. Let us share it. You have heard people says so? To rob a country is a very strong word to use, because our national budget is a couple of Billions. You think he is of the same specie as Suharto, and Marcos?You want my email?

33. #33 by matnook on Thursday, 8 January 2009 - 3:48 am

Roti plata,
    I say , Rotiplata I don’t know whether you know what you are saying. ”still can’t supply clean water and uninterruptible power supply!”.I think we have one of the best water and power supply in the world. It is not THE BEST, but certainly no the bad ones. I have travelled almost all the countries in the world, I rate our system as ONE of the BEST. However if you want to comment about the approach to the privatization of water or the power and water rate in Malaysia you are welcomed to. I give you a hint to start the ball rolling down the hill, In Malaysia the water consumers have to subsidize 30 to 40%of the loss of treated water due to the weakness of the system. In theory if only we can work hard to save this loss of treated water, the consumer can share and enjoy a reduction of water rate by at least 40%.How?.System, system. A rickety system is all we get from the privatization programs. The water is relatively good and clean however the price in no quite right. I suspect, somewhere some wise donkeys make a lot of money from the huge initial capital investment of the tax payer money. Privatization and negotiated tenders schemes propagated by the government, is a good device to legitimately divert public funds with minimal accountability and at a speed of a blink. Example of colossal privatization scheme which had gone hay wire: General Hospitals for the whole country, Arm forces camps and quarters, Primary and Secondary Schools buildings, Polytechnic Centers, Dual Carriage Rail Track, Singapore Johore Bridge, Pusat Computer for Secondary School and still many more coming on the way. Malaysians be prepared while we still have a bit of money to be borrowed from Petronas, EPF, and even perhaps from ASN or ASB, Tabung Haji. While the cows still surviving, and the political powers to be grasped , flog up the country coffer. After all this a country with rule of law. If it is legally legitimate, why not ?. Moral and socially right issues are not the consideration when come to the chapter on money.

34. #34 by matnook on Thursday, 8 January 2009 - 3:50 am

Roti plata,
    I say , Rot iplata I don’t know whether you know what you are saying. ”still can’t supply clean water and uninterruptible power supply!”.I think we have one of the best water and power supply in the world. It is not THE BEST, but certainly no the bad ones. I have travelled almost all the countries in the world, I rate our system as ONE of the BEST. However if you want to comment about the approach to the privatization of water or the power and water rate in Malaysia you are welcomed to. I give you a hint to start the ball rolling down the hill, In Malaysia the water consumers have to subsidize 30 to 40%of the loss of treated water due to the weakness of the system. In theory if only we can work hard to save this loss of treated water, the consumer can share and enjoy a reduction of water rate by at least 40%.How?.System, system. A rickety system is all we get from the privatization programs. The water is relatively good and clean however the price in no quite right. I suspect, somewhere some wise donkeys make a lot of money from the huge initial capital investment of the tax payer money. Privatization and negotiated tenders schemes propagated by the government, is a good device to legitimately divert public funds with minimal accountability and at a speed of a blink. Example of colossal privatization scheme which had gone hay wire: General Hospitals for the whole country, Arm forces camps and quarters, Primary and Secondary Schools buildings, Polytechnic Centers, Dual Carriage Rail Track, Singapore Johore Bridge, Pusat Computer for Secondary School and still many more coming on the way. Malaysians be prepared while we still have a bit of money to be borrowed from Petronas, EPF, and even perhaps from ASN or ASB, Tabung Haji. While the cows still surviving, and the political powers to be grasped , flog up the country coffer. After all this a country with rule of law. If it is legally legitimate, why not ?. Moral and socially right issues are not the consideration when come to the chapter on money.

35. #35 by matnook on Thursday, 8 January 2009 - 4:42 am

raven77 Says:

Raven 77 you said “the many bad guys continue to plunder it’s resources and people completely”. Can please elaborate. It is sweet, simple and very articulate to say such a sweeping statement. Can you really responsibly say what you mean. Your statement istoo vague to be considered seriously. You sound like a SPM candidate. Who plunder what resources. How much. What had bee plundered, Which government, before Merdeka or after Merdeka.I know before Merdeka it was the white men the so called Colonial Power. They plundered the whole of Perak Tin, Sungai Besi Tin industry, and I was thought in my Secondary History book, in return , the British in best of Whiteman gentlemen ethics and good gesture awarded us with the first railway track from Ipoh, and Taiping to Province Wellesley..According to my grandfather, only the white Mak Salleh dogs and tins were allowed to be transported by the train. Durians, Petai, Jambu, Cows , Buffalo, And the British Subjects, the collies,the Mamak,Orang Asli, Pak Cik ,the Nenek, the Pariahs are all no no. Tin? Humm. Now I understand. Thank to the Good old British. Spook Save the spirits of Queen Victoria, Queen Elizabeth I, King George, and Queen Elizabeth II. Oops. Queen Elizabeth II is still around after all these years; so it save the Queen. we should all hold hands together much earlier and drown the White men together with the Prince of Wales off Trengganu. Unfortunately, we have too many mercenaries P.C (Police Constable) from Ceylon, India, Nepal, of Neplese and Sikh and Ceylonese Contingents sent here to be the watchdog and overseer of British investments in the then Tanah Melayu. Can’t blame these mercenaries. They were the Pariah of their countries, the beggars, the vagabond, the scum from the lowest of low class of their community, the criminals, the convicts, persona non grata of other British Colonies. School History books of Malaysia have to be rewritten. Any body willing to take up the discussion?