“Bastard in the House” (2) – “Spoilt brats” running BNBBC

The latest tantrum by the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Barisan Nasional Backbenchers Club (BNBBC) breathing fire and brimstone against the formation of the Parliamentary Caucus on the Integrity and Independence of the Judiciary is most unseemly but typically characteristic of the BNBBC since it was taken over by leaders who had conducted themselves not very different from “spoilt brats”.

In the previous Parliament, when the BNBBC was helmed by Datuk Shahrir Samad (now Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister), there was class, quality and a palpable commitment to parliamentary integrity, excellence and professionalism but which got Shahrir into trouble when he stood up in Parliament to support my motion to refer a Barisan Nasional MP to the Committee of Privileges over the “One-Eye Closed” episode.

Even when the BNBBC was subsequently taken over by the then Larut MP, Dato’ Raja Ahmad Zainuddin bin Raja Haji Omar (who is now back as Perak State Assemblyman), utmost efforts were made by the BNBBC to maintain parliamentary standards.

All these commendable benchmarks went down the drain in the present Parliament after the March 8 “political tsunami”, when a new BNBBC leadership took over and nobody has done more than the present BNBBC Chairman and Deputy Chairman to bring shame, dishonour and disrepute to Parliament.

The greatest “achievement” and scandal of this BNBBC leadership is its Taiwain “agricultural study tour” for BN MPs to foil a “916 sky-change” – but no BNBBC official could answer my simple question during the 2009 Budget debate on October 15 what lessons they have learnt from their Taiwan trip to explain why Taiwan, which was poorer and more backward than Malaya when we achieved independence in 1957, had shot forward to become a more advanced and richer country while Malaysia had been losing out to one country after another in the past half-century, whether to Taiwan, Singapore, Hong Kong or South Korea, and is in danger of losing out to even more countries like Thailand, Vietnam and even Indonesia?

The negative, irresponsible and even “anarchist” mindset and mentality of the BNBBC Chairman and Deputy Chairman are again illustrated by their “spoilt-sport” reaction to the establishment of the Parliamentary Caucus on the Independence and Integrity of the Judiciary yesterday.

Malaysians can be excused for thinking that these two BNBBC leaders live in another world when they act and talk as if they are woefully unaware that the issues of the independence and integrity of the judiciary have been among the burning concerns of thinking and patriotic Malaysians for the past two decades.

At least, the Abdullah administration is ahead of the dinosaurian BNBBC leadership on this issue, which was why the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in his written reply in Parliament on Wednesday spoke about his seriousness in wanting to undertake judicial reforms before he steps down from office in March next year.

But clearly, he has not been able yet to “educate” the BNBBC, or at least its Chairman and Deputy Chairman, on the critical importance of restoring national and international confidence in the independence, impartiality and integrity of the judiciary, or they would not be throwing tantrums over the formation of the Parliamentary Caucus on the Independence and Integrity of the Judiciary.

Both of them claim that they did not know about the caucus meeting until after the event during lunchtime yesterday.

Their complaints only exposed their lack of seriousness as Parliamentarians let alone as “leaders” of BN MPs – for they don’t even read the papers placed on their table in Parliament. Furthermore, they do not follow the latest developments particularly in Parliament, or they could not possibly miss out on the media conference announcement by the Parliamentary Opposition Leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim on the meeting to form the parliamentary caucus.

BN MPs are welcome to fully participate in the Parliamentary Caucus on the Independence and Integrity of the Judiciary as the protection and promotion of judicial independence and integrity s must be the responsibility of all MPs and not just Pakatan Rakyat MPs.

It is not for me to say that the cause of BN MPs as well as Malaysian Parliament as a whole would be better served if there are more mature, responsible and knowledgeable BN MPs to helm the BNBBC.

There had not been a single bleat from either the BNBBC Chairman or Deputy Chairman to one of the most disgraceful parliamentary episodes in the past nine days – when the BN MP for Pasir Salak Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman used with impunity the terms “bastard” and “bloody bastard” in Parliament against DAP MP for Ipoh Barat M. Kulasegaran on November 5.

Right-thinking Ministers, MPs and Malaysians were outraged and horrified, except the BNBBC Chairman and Deputy Chairman! They seem to be very at home at such sacrilege of parliamentary sanctity, decorum and privilege.

Just google “Tajuddin bastard” on the google blogsearch, there will be 123 returns to show how the blogosphere had been outraged by the completely unacceptable unparliamentary conduct of Tajuddin!

It will do the BNBBC Chairman and Deputy Chairman, as well as Tajuddin, a lot of good to read these 123 comments and blogs provoked by the shocking “Bastard in the House” episode sparked off by Tajuddin as all three have a lot to learn from Malaysian bloggers.

1. #1 by voice on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 11:22 am

I feel so unfortunate! MALU!

2. #2 by frankyapp on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 12:38 pm

Remember YB K.Singh just said ” jagan main main or just play play ” and was supended for couple of days. This idiot YB Tajudlin said the worse kind of words liked ” bastard and bloody bastard ” in the house and been treated him liken a hero . Hero my foot . The house BNBBC,chairman and D-chairman should be ashamed of themselves for not taken any serious action against this Idiot.What kind of respect the UMNOBN MPs/YBs do the rakyat has to give ? ZERO,and we should kick all of these good for nuts YBs out in the next election.

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 12:54 pm

When will the Islamic court hear of Anwar’s complaint against Saiful? Why shall it take so long for thing to happen?

4. #4 by Godfather on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 1:07 pm

The die was cast when Kit kept harping on the Port Klang Free Trade Zone scandal, and its subsequent bailout by the government. The scandal involved UMNO and one of Tiong’s close relatives, so these people are out for a little bit of revenge.

Anytime we highlight an impropriety, or an outright theft, you can expect the thieves to scream at us.

5. #5 by All For The Road on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 1:08 pm

The present leadership gang and members of the BNBBC behave like gangsters in Parliament and utter filthy, shameful and unparliamentary language to the other Opposition Parliamentarians in the august House as if they own it as their house. I suppose that is what they have learnt from their recent ‘taboo’ trip to Taiwan throwing foul language (maybe chairs later) to others they rudely disregard as colleagues of the House. It is really disgusting and horrifying to see such unruly, uncultured and arrogant behaviour and utterances of these BN YBs in Parliament over national television! SHAME to them!

6. #6 by Damocles on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 1:09 pm

“Anytime we highlight an impropriety, or an outright theft, you can expect the thieves to scream at us.” – Godfather

Let them scream.
    But screw them just the same.

7. #7 by k1980 on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 1:11 pm

Off topic but important. Any proof of this?

Penang Deputy Chief Minister (II) Dr P Ramasamy accused the Umno-controlled Public Service Department (PSD) of ‘tearing up’ job application forms submitted by non-Malays.

According to the former UKM lecturer, this was among the tactics employed by the Umno-dominated government to stop non-Malays from joining the public service and to ensure that the government sector is controlled by one community.

8. #8 by frankyapp on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 1:34 pm

Not surprising,K1980, my son’s application to UM several years ago was thrown into the waste paper basket. Great news,guys let’s do something before it goes to the cows.

9. #9 by Food for thought on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 2:02 pm

When there are rampant Corruption, Collusion and Nepotism in the government of the day, then you will get “half past six” jokers like them tarnishing the image of the country. The very sanctity of a once proud nation has become a laughing stock to the world.

Because of CCN, these elected reps have their “balls” squeezed so hard until they have no choice but to make a mockery out of themselves.

Nevertheless, it seems that this is also creeping into the states held by PR especially Kedah and Perak..so PR, be forewarned and better nip it in the bud before you are voted out.

10. #10 by taiking on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 2:07 pm

My brother was working in UK and he applied to join a local public university as Associate Prof (medic faculty). He was asked by a prof in the faculty to apply as there was such an opening. Going by procedure an advert must be put up before he could submit an application. It took almost 6 months for the ads to appear. After filing his application it took the uni another 6 months or so to revert with the offer of senior lecturer. My brother was prepared to take a pay trim on his return to malaysia but not a position downgrade. While waiting for a response to his application, he applied to singapore. By the time the ridiculous offer came, he has already accepted a singapore offer and had already make preparation to go there. Months after, he heard the AP position was still vacant. We all can only guess what is going on inside. For us on the outside such an incident certainly seem odd. Very odd.

11. #11 by achia3 on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 2:31 pm

Strange feeling I have…..I am tending to side Pasir Salak eventhough his behaviour is entirely unparlimanterian and unacceptable socially. Ipoh Barat had indeed provoked Pasir Salak for a start. Every constituency will have people who likes there MP and some who don’t like them. Otherwise, Pasir Salak would have 100% vote and likewise Ipoh Barat will have 100%. It doesn’t matter if Ipoh Barat have family members that dislike Pasir Salak or even the entire Indian community disliking Pasir Salak. Pasir Salak was voted in whether legally or illegally. He is the representative of Pasir Salak even if he has a reduced majority. Provoking someone whether in Parliament or in the streets is never a wise thing to do let alone Orang Utan. Even the real Orang Utan will not shout \Bloody Bastard\ when provoked. They will just hiss at you. Jokes aside. If my son provokes my daugther and she picks up a stick to hit the brother, I punish both irregardless if she is right or not. But if my son is my favourite (hypothetically) I will only punish my daughter. PR has everything within its right to raise this as a politically issue but there is many other issues that needs PR to tend to immediately. Good Luck!!!

12. #12 by hadi on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 2:49 pm

Tell Pasir Salak his behavior make him unfit to be MPs but fit to represent UMNO and just within UMNO members. He thinks he is a malay warrior of the Pasir Salak history,,,,,Bull#$@%.
    K1980
    Professor Ramasamy was with UKM, I thinks he spoke the truth. So it all trash and mediocre nation to be if we are not careful.

13. #13 by AhPek on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 3:14 pm

“Penang Deputy Chief Minister Dr. P Ramasamy accused the UMNO-controlled Publis Service (PSD) of ‘tearing up’ job application forms submitted by non Malays.” k1980.

And he probably has forgotten to add that they went on further to make public statements in the MSM that non Malays are not interested to apply for these government jobs (teacher’s training college,clerks, police etc) as if all the non Malays come from filthy rich baclground and thus don’t have need for such jobs!!
    I’ve heard it all even years back (from non-malay civil servants) and also not too far-fetched at all, just look at the composition of all those vetting the applications—all Malays!!

14. #14 by delon85 on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 6:30 pm

Why is the Speaker not in control of the august House? Pasir Salak is obviously making a mockery of the House.

I do wish that there are more gentlemen politicians in the House that can counter any attacks with wit. After following the Parliament proceedings for 4 years now, I personally feel that these antics are unnecessary. There is almost no distinguishable difference between them and people arguing on the street.

15. #15 by Jimm on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 9:22 pm

umno malays are the worst nightmare that every true Malaysian can ever have in our entire journey ..

16. #16 by cemerlang on Friday, 14 November 2008 - 10:30 pm

Know English but only know English obscenities ! In the hands of spoiled brats, beloved Malaysia will go to waste. Another meaning for b$$$$$$ is irritating. Politicians are supposed to be diplomatic, aren’t they ?

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 15 November 2008 - 9:18 am

Well, the deputy speaker was right about one thing. ‘Kalau begini tak boleh jalan’ – that where we are heading as a country….

18. #18 by ktteokt on Saturday, 15 November 2008 - 1:06 pm

The rakyat pays these so called \people’s representatives\ to throw vulgarity at each other in parliament? Why go to parliament to do such things? We don’t need parliament for vulgarity, just go to the market place! I bet you hawkers at the market are less vulgar!

19. #19 by johanabdullah on Saturday, 15 November 2008 - 5:32 pm

hallo

20. #20 by johanabdullah on Saturday, 15 November 2008 - 5:34 pm

hoihai CINTANEGARA, Tak ada komen ka? tidak kalau dah awal2 dah hantam, idak? komen la sikit cek. takkan nak kena maki ‘bastard’ dulu baru nak komen? aikk,marah ya, jgn marah nanti BN cepat kalah…..

21. #21 by lofuji on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 12:02 am

We have to import a clone of Obama to come over to bolehland to teach them unmo b***ta*ds plain simple english on the word CHANGE.It is so obvious they tak rasa the 0803 tsunami.Its time PKR do something.Why is DSAI and PAS keeping quiet? They shud organise people power and take to the streets man.Makkal Sakti

22. #22 by ktteokt on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 10:06 am

It won’t be long before these SAKAIS hurl four-letter words in Parliament! These so-called MP’s and ministers are worse than the hawkers, pork-sellers, chicken-sellers, greengrocers and fishmongers in the wet markets! Better to rename Parliament as PASAR SAKAI!

23. #23 by maverick_warrior2003 on Sunday, 16 November 2008 - 8:27 pm

It’s really disappointing to see how Parliamentary debates are conducted.
    It saddens me to see that the people who were given the power and trust to represent the rakyat to act in such a boorish manner.
    It pains me to see how they’re unable to even discuss matters with substance and respect for the other members of the august house.

My friends and I often check out debates on YouTube.
    The debates that we check out are usually between students in Universities. Believe me when I say that these students have better manners and knowledge to debate compared to THEM.
    We should learn a thing or two from the British parliament.
    The debates held there have never failed to awe me.

“Who cares if it’s a black or white cat? So long as it catches rats, we’ll rear it”

24. #24 by frankyapp on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 12:08 pm

My dear Delon 85,you still don’t get it. The speaker just cannot do it because a ring is poke into his nose complete with a rope fasten around his neck.What can you response under such situation ?

25. #25 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 17 November 2008 - 2:16 pm

This degrading situation in our universities do not happened overnight.

This is the result of government policy over the last 50 years that bring the academic in the country to the drain.

Obsession with ‘Ketuanan’ bring out the worst of mediocrity in every sphere of their lives, and the most glaring is the universities locally, because when these universities were put under microscopes the blemishes glare.

26. #26 by ktteokt on Thursday, 20 November 2008 - 12:51 pm

shortie kiasu, I am saying this for the empteenth time. If they want to maintain their ketuanan, they will go down even further. See what happened for the last 38 years with the NEP being implemented. The bumis got all the perks and privileges. They were practically spoon-fed, but look at the non-bumis. They are still thriving and doing well despite being discriminated!

So you don’t need to be Einstein to apply the Law of Relativity to know that by doing so and things happening the way it is, the bumis are dropping further down the pit, widening the gap between bumis and non-bumis even further!

And if you apply the morale of the fable, “The Grasshopper and the Ant”, you will know what this is all about!!! Pity the BN government is blind and numb to such lesssons!!!!! Maybe they have not read the Law of Relativity but surely they must have hear the fable when they were in nursery.