Three Higher Education Ministers in 4 years

1. #1 by cxchuah on Tuesday, 4 November 2008 - 7:14 pm

Disappoints me to see the minister still thinks our local universities are of a ‘higher’ class.YB Lim i have my faith in you! roar!

2. #2 by monsterball on Tuesday, 4 November 2008 - 7:18 pm

Lim Kit Siang is the ONLY opposition parliamentarian…so much to be admired.
    He has been talking for 50 years….exposing so much UMNO’s nonsense…that landed him into jail…few times.
    His love for a democratic Malaysia…is a mission from God..to him…also a gift from God to Malaysians.
    Like father…like son…we are blessed twice.
    Talk till he drop dead…is the only way…to let educated..younger generations know the truths.
    Two things are important to Malaysians..sports and education.
    Sports…just look at football…..ranked second to none in Asia…now to 102 position…..lower than Vietnam.
    This has gone on for more than 30 years…UMNO is so proud.
    But those idiots will tell you we have two world champions…Nicol and Lee Chong Wei.
    First Nicol’s foundation and training are not from UMNO ..and away from those political crooks….and we can say….Lee is a self made man…in badminton.
    But football and education are surrounded with so much political and racialists elements…..from UMNO…for donkey years….never change at all.
    Worst still..never admit clear race and politics in those two groups…by UMNO…so much so…some Uni Chancellors …..when they talk..they are not impressive..nor intelligent nor have the smart personalities. ..yet chosen to be leader of a UNI.
    Football???….Just look at he Malaysian chief coach…face already say….talk is saying from an idiot….yet…Chief Coach…most important…….that’s what matter most …to UMNO.
    I recalled MU came here 2 years ago…and watching the Malaysian Chief coach shook hand with Sir Alex…was a joke!!
    One look like God from Heaven…another look like a (deketed).
    Our football coaches ..are good only for secondary school football ….watching inter States …at school boy level…….UMNO is happy. That’s how they keep half past sixes…remain half past sixes….to vote for them.
    Their method……never to offend UMNO supporters.
    So…how sincere are these people?
    It is good.. we put out our thoughts..and let young new voters judge things.
    When one is truthful .like Lim Kit Siang….he can command respect from all Malaysians….for 50 years…constantly and on going…just like Karpal Singh.
    Tell me…which UMNO minister …leader… past and present have such a great record?
    You see….when you are truthful and take up politics for the love of the country and people…you will never fade away.

3. #3 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 4 November 2008 - 7:21 pm

Greetings!

We shall look into the education problem seriously when change of government PR. This is because the way they handle the administration was already corrupted and incurable.

The blinds is leading the blind.

4. #4 by rubini on Tuesday, 4 November 2008 - 9:27 pm

It will take another 1 – 2 generation to reverse the current slide, then we have to move forward. In the next 25 years, please explain how much unemployment will result.
    Better i send my children to HK, Australia or UK, where they compete globally.

5. #5 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 4 November 2008 - 11:23 pm

One of the biggest obstacles to the progress of a society is the issue of denial syndrome. The pride can be terribly hurt especailly when the denial syndrome looks and sounds so hollow. When a society starts to cheat itself by creating its own presumed standard just by altering E to D, then D to C, and Cto B, and B to A; it is the begining of the never-ending circle of make beliefs. So YB, you will given yearly chance to repeat the same sad story! They will beat their chests and annonuce how great they are, well by controlling the media, this is easy!
    They forget that the whole world is passing them by! The basic rule can never be changed; they compete with DONGGGU, you are still Champion of DONGGGUS!! You stay where you are, you would only be KAMPONG CHAMP! The situation will never improve unless the community realizes that you can only become world champ when you compete in the OPEN event! You may need time to win, but you need to start some where but certainly not hiding behind in the sand.

6. #6 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 4 November 2008 - 11:44 pm

Whether it is three ministers in four years or 3 bosses in 10 years, the thing is it is like a soccer field. You kick the ball there, the ball goes there. You make the ball come here, the ball comes here. What you see is an erosion from good to bad to worse and then worst. It would not be surprising if the day comes when there is no more formal education. Informal education will mean you have to educate yourself through all means. Internet, books, newspapers, magazines. No more teachers because they are actually quite lost now and confused and there is no clear direction which they can follow. In another words, we are going back to the past. On the spot learning. In the past, there was no formal education. It is just somebody who wished to teach and the students were from various backgrounds and various ages. Can you do without teachers ? If the students complain about the teachers and the parents complain about the teachers and the teachers are not disciplined themselves, should there still be teachers around ? May be the title is not teacher. Facilitator may be a better word. Some people have no chance in life and so they cannot go into any university. Instead they do some manual work. It is not that they don’t want to study. It is because they have no opportunities. So can we say that Oxford university students are some of the brightest in the world ? Or someone who should be able to get a place in Malaya University but because of the racial quota system, they have to study in some low ranking university. They are intelligent but they have no opportunity to declare that they are clever students from Malaya University. Nothing is fair.

7. #7 by just a moment on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 1:06 am

Mark my word, theres only one sure way if Goment is serious about our education here in Malaysia. Have all the MPs in Umno show by examples and let their children attend local universities first, no overseas. Begin with the top. Boleh? Ehh……Waste of time lah..ya?
    Seriously, one cannot hope for different fruits like Apple when its reaping from an old petai roots. What you expect? Petais lah…
    Change this d@#!m Goment …period!!!!

8. #8 by aje on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 1:16 am

Our universities will continue to slide further if the MOE still neglect the importance of English language.We must start from school esp from primary level.Bring back the English schools and allow those so called nationalistic malaysians to study in sek keb.Have at least one primary and one secondary English schools in each district.I am sure the response will be great.

9. #9 by cazz on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 2:43 am

Why not we compare our unniversities with Al Akhawayn Uiversity, University OF Khartoum?

Have you heard of these universities? I bet you haven’t.

There are located in Africa.

If we continue to let UMNO take charge of our country, one fine day, we will find our universities ranked way behind these two.

10. #10 by raven77 on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 3:25 am

The PR has only one university in its stable..the UNISEL….can Kit Siang and Khalid turn this into a world class University in exactly three years…..if they can ……..it will prove the PR has the all the right skills to develop this country…..nothing is more convincing then proving by example…

11. #11 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 4:25 am

uncle Kit…he is talking about quantity not quality…wth is he talking about?? no quality at all…shoot him at that point..besides that..he is still so pround our unis are top 500 in the world..saying that we are still ahead of indonesia..again and again..TELL HIM…can u talk about the GAP in the recent years? what is he going to say when Indonesia Uni’s overtake us in near future??..my god this stupid menteri…IQ worst than a secondary student…..and did u hear he said berperingkat peringkat??..LMAO…stages towards??…i dont see any improvement in recent years…to me …Peringkat LAN…u understand wat i mean…how the hell we got such a dumb menteri..oh god..pls help

12. #12 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 4:33 am

UMNO (deleted) stupid mentality denial syndrome is absolutely right..reli cant stand of this kind of mentality and attitude..this kind of mentality cannot go far…just wonder why europe and some of the asean countries got such a high spirit in whatever field they are involved…japan? singapore??…speaking about football..Sir Alex ferguson..just count how many times he won the premier league title with M.U?..if he were to have mentality just like what UMNO (deleted) have??..i think M.U will only win the title once under his tenure..cos what?? …easy to get satisfy..dont have the “hunger for victory” spirit in them….sad to have such people in malaysia

13. #13 by lew1328 on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 7:33 am

Greetings!

My daughter who is now in standard four has asked me repeatedly which secondary school that plan for her future(She preferred with most English subjects) as she was came to know and afraid of the National (Malay) syllabus was not in line with their Chinese school studying wave.

Can someone comment…?

14. #14 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:10 am

lew1328….Support your logical daughter..what she wants.
    English is a must..if she wants to find jobs and prepare herself..for further education…after form 5.
    Even finish Form 5…equipped with excellent good command in English….is wanted by International companies…factories and financial institutions.
    Ofcourse…in modern times….she has to be good at computer knowledge.
    But International companies also requires one…who is excellent in Bahasa..such as …to read and translate govt. letters or write to govt. in Bahasa…dictated by boss in English.
    Depending what your daughter wish to do.. after From 5…safest is to study in schools….teaching English…..and that’s mostly…private schools.
    She can take Bahasa as a language……..plus Manadrin…if she is hungry for languages.
    Ask your daughter…
    “Why do you want to go to English school?”.
    Ask her questions…and see she gives you logical and sensible answers.
    But if she said…all her friends are going there…then she has not a mind of her own…but still…an excellent idea!
    And by Form 3….talk to her ….like a friend and ask her to plan ahead…what she really like to do,…..by explaining…study time maybe over in two years…and all that is for a working life.
    So…what is she good at..based on her honest knowledge of herself….to be happy working..all her adult life.
    May I suggest…you should train her basic cooking and washing up her plates…after meals..and dirty up her own room….few years from now.

15. #15 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:13 am

It is interesting that all of us think that we should be better than other countries and we looked down on our neighbouring countries by even mentioning their names. We should ask ourselves why we would have to be above them in the first place? Is our political system and government better than them? If not, we deserve to be at the bottom.

16. #16 by taiking on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:23 am

I have a simple solution to the problem. A malaysian solution. Why not have our own league table with our own criteria?

17. #17 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:31 am

We have to compare..to be logical…and open the eyes of those supporting a party….blindly.
    We have to be above them..as we are blessed with so much natural resources..so rich…thus we can afford the best things if like….which to others…not rich..they have to pay.
    To us…if the government is really sincere and non corrupted ..all good things in life….should be free…..or charged for covering up…services…and not make profits..in everything. By doing that…it point..we deserve ..what we voted for….because race and religion politics….still powerful and workable for UMNO….but less and less..appealing….to educated Muslims……who are now..confident and proud Malaysian…refusing to be spoon fed….like their parents. They want to be equal to all…not spoon fed.They have great confidence…on personal abilities…and that’s good.
    Thus…12th election was the sign…and 13th will be doing the final job..to get rid of UMNO…once and for all..with 2 million young educated voters…that no one can fool them.

18. #18 by sama on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:37 am

I agree with you Pulau_Sibu. We are arrogant lots. Not only we look down upon certain countries but we also look down upon certain universities as though we are the best. What right we have to look down upon the University of Khartoum. Or for that matter any African universities.

19. #19 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 8:38 am

I missed out massive ..”mismanagement and corruptions”…..being reasons…why all essential things ….like electricity..petrol…water…toll….telephone..are charged so high to the public.
    They will tell you to compare with those countries..that have no rich natural resources.
    That’s how…they keep hook winking the less educated.

20. #20 by Thinking Two on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:01 am

We should thank mamak-tail for that particular 22 years as the last “N” is coming into the picture for completing the legend of the word “Rahman”.

A history is in the making.

The collapse.

After 50 over years of independence,they still act like a beggars.

What happen, if your children at the age of 50 still asking pocket money from you and still can’t earn his/her own pocket money by now?

Not Just Think Twice but Triple :-)

Welcome NEW MALAYSIA FOR BANGSA MALAYSIA!!!!!!!!!!!

21. #21 by sayaAnakMalaysia on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:10 am

Many lecturers and students of local Universities are strong supporters of the opposition parties. Only a few of the top administrators are UMNO supporters. Even many among the top University administrators are just pretending supporting the government.

Promotions are not done according to academic merits practiced in world class Universities but based on inner circle. Many young and talented lecturers have to change their objectives or style just to fit into this inner circle for accelerated promotion exercise. This could mean spending more time doing “petty” works to please the superiors! For example, a lecturer friend of mine told me he is time too preoccupied with unnecessary work which should be handled by administrators such as ISO, organizing activities etc. VCs of Local Universities must be given an ultimatum, be in the TOp 200 Universities or just quit the job. The Minister of higher education should set a Special Branch Unit to investigate “what is under the carpet ” that could explain why Our Universities performed so badly in the Times World ranking.

22. #22 by thephunkypharmacist on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:11 am

It worries me that he is not at all concerned about the increase in rankings of over neighbouring countries’ universities. True UM is still ahead of the universities compared to our Indonesian counterparts, but if we do not do anything about it, very soon even African universities will catch up on us!

The whole idea of setting up a Higher Education Ministry was to ensure quality in higher education, but looks like it’s going no where. It is this slack attitude which causes the country to continue losing in terms of productivity and competitiveness.

THES may not be the best ranking system for universities, but whatever it is, it should give us a clear indication of how the university is perceived by people around the world.

23. #23 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 10:46 am

How many Malaysians are there serving in the top class universities around the world? Are they willing to come back? The government can set up a new university for them like King Abdullah University?? If they are unwilling to return, then is the end of story. We can never have better brains. Other people becoming better and we are not improving, so of course we slide down.

24. #24 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 11:11 am

Clearly, the MP from Pasir Gudang was very defensive and had totally missed the point that the standard of our universities have again declined compared to those in Singapore, Indonesia and Thailand. This is the typical mentality of ?????.

25. #25 by freonix on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 11:17 am

First off, I would leave a comment unless I feel a need to do so, so here goes~

I had mixed feelings regarding Kit Siang and the university issue with the minister, as shown in Youtube. Yes, the university ranking has fallen off the chart and yes, you can blame that the ranking is not as polish as it should, but its 2008, even critics had said that the THES are “accurate”, but that said, accurate in the sense of not biased.

But, I do think that to make changes in our university could not be done in just a few years. Just look at the quality of the lecturers, if you weed all off them out, nobody would be teaching us (I’m a student btw, LOLx). Nonetheless, if the government had some plan of reverting back the standard, it should so minute increase in the ranking, not a drop, again.

The fact is that the local university doesn’t even top any other charts at all, so there isn’t any point of boosting that our university is still at the top of SEA. It’s like picking a winner when there’s only 3 contestants.

26. #26 by izrafeil on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 11:23 am

Uncle Lim,

My friend just sent his son to Bandung Instittue of Technology. From your earlier posting, Bandung Institute of Technology is now ranked 315 !!! Hooray!!!

27. #27 by Thinking Two on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 12:31 pm

Obama won. Obama 338. McCain 137.

The world has come its extreme state whereby a change is pertinent. This is the nature forces.

The Theory of Yin Yang.

28. #28 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 12:44 pm

Lim Kit Siang is arguing everything under the sun. No matter what the Government does, he will not be satisfied. I seriously doubt if he loves the country at all. If he is not happy, he can might as well migrate to another country and I think nobody in Malaysia will cry over it. Now he is attacking the Education Minister just because our universities are not ranked as “high” as he wants.

The new University ranking by Times only gives an indication of the ranking in certain aspect of the universities. It does not represent the true value of the universities. If we are too guided by it, we will fall into the trap of the West and make a fool on ourselves. You can rank number 1 today and be number 50 next year so what is so significant about it? It is just a number anyway.

My son is also a graduate from UM and he is doing very well. We should feel proud that almost every young Malaysian nowadays have good opportunities to study in universities compared to the past. Our government will continue to carry out policies that they think is appropriate for Malaysia and all Malaysian should continue to support BN so that we all have opportunities to get the education we want.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 1:17 pm

This a very strange phenomena : if, as what Kasim Amat says, “university ranking by Times only gives an indication of the ranking in certain aspect of the universities and does not represent the true value of the universities and that if we are too guided by it, we will fall into the trap of the West and make a fool on ourselves”, tell me, why then did our “first two Higher Education Ministers (Datuk Dr. Shafie Salleh and Datuk Dr. Mustapha Mohamed) talk about how to defend Malaysian university rankings in the Top 200 World Universities” and in the case of our third Higher Education Minister, Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin, he “spoke with pride this morning at the inclusion of Malaysian universities in the Top 500 world universities” (as stated in LKS’s earlier blog thread under title “Three Higher Education Ministers in 4 years while universities continue plunge in international rankings and losing out to Indonesia after left behind by Singapore/Thailand” dated November 3rd, 2008) ????

This cannot be logically explained – unless perhaps the commentator also implies that all 3 of our UMNO Higher Education Ministers being so guided to aspire for the Top 200 and 500 World Universities ranking have equally fallen into the trap of the West and made a fool of themselves and ourselves???? :)

30. #30 by yellow on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 1:27 pm

Uncle Lim,

Perhaps you should ask the “highway” education minister what consolation it is to us to be ahead of myanmar, cambodia, vietnam, phillipines etc in southeast-asia?

31. #31 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 1:32 pm

Will some one do a survey on all our ministers and MPS, to see how many of their children went to local universities versus overseas? do a count on the first degree will be fine. Let’s see if they love our own universities or their children were not just good enough to enter the local universities.

This also reminded me of some SUPP ministers who advocated for the Chinese education, yet they sent their children to the non-Chinese schools or overseas. It is just an evidence that these people want to get the best for themselves, while making the poor people a political tool because the poor do not deserve what the royal families are getting.

32. #32 by yellow on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 2:06 pm

What Kasim Amat is trying to imply is that we should feel proud as long as BN is in power. No wonder he is so easily satisfied!! So Kasim, who do u think u r to tell us what we should be proud of or what we should be satisfied with? It is UMNO and UMNO cheearleaders like u who make us look like fools!!

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 2:13 pm

Yeah there’s a lot of hypocrisy here, dismiss THE’s ranking but send their children to universities as high up its ranking as possible – that’s the name of the game!

Of course anyone can question the qualitative and quantitative indicators used by THES to evaluate – Malaysia or University of Malaya can devise our own qualitative and quantitative indicators to evaluate the world’s universities’ standard placing our universities in the top 10 – no one can stop us – but what is the point and who will pay attention to this make believe?

For we’re no more competing within Malaysia where we make our own rules.

In this Global Village, we’re competing in international area, and in that arena, international perception of which is a good university counts – and in this respect, THES is one of the two rankings widely attracting attention of policy makers, the scientific world and the public media, the other being published by Shanghai’s Jiao Tong University since 2003.

The rest of the world care not for own criteria influenced by socio/economic engineering/race imperatives touted as appropriate for Malaysia.

If we think that we can live by this and ignore international perception, then why bother to defend Malaysian university rankings within the Top 200 and later 500 World Universities on a gradient sliding downwards???

One can’t have the cake and eat it at the same time. It only goes to show one is very confused!

That we’re lagging behind others in the movement to a higher organisation and plane of conducting affairs is plain to see.

A white majority country like the US has taken a lead to change and show that it can be led by a black president, discounting the race factor. In contrast here a truly “Glocal” like Zaid Ibrahim has been attacked by the defenders of race and religion to show cause why he should not be expelled from his party, and another (RPK) is languishing in Kamunting for being too arduous in his quest for the Truth – which of course proves a measuring cast between the countries that are willing to strive for progressive change especially in terms of mindset and those like us who find comfort and security in the feudal past.

34. #34 by Thinking Two on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 2:31 pm

As the ministers cannot compete with the world, they started to bully the rakyat in order to stay on top.

35. #35 by Ling Mazen on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 2:56 pm

American stars and stripes,Malaysia ikut? American racist white supremacy ,Umno ikut? American KKK gangsta,Ahmad Ismail ikut? Americans wear caps,Malaysians ikut?American Harvard University, Malaysia ingin (tetapi tak yakin) ikut? American first non-white President Obama, BN yakin ikut? BN ambil duit haram, Kassim Amat pasti yakin ikut?

36. #36 by bclee on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 3:14 pm

when will we have the cogent argument on all important issues for Malaysia Parliament? i just finished viewing obama on live tv over bloomberg so touching the way he speak out.
    we need to have the real brainstorming session in parliament.
    i don’t know when i can see it?
    YB Lim are the only one who dare to speak out for rakyat.
    Thanks.YB Lim

37. #37 by Thinking Two on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 3:27 pm

This is the natural force. It is coming to this world.
    And going to happen in Malaysia very very soon.

The history is in the making.

The curse is about to surface.

38. #38 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 3:32 pm

the Times university world rankings are based on these 4 general criteria (kasim “donut hole” amat, u following?):

1. Research Quality – Peer Review, Citations per Faculty
    2. Graduate Employability – Recruiter Review
    3. International Outlook – International Faculty, Students
    4. Teaching Quality – Student Faculty ratio

3. and 4. are areas where kasim’s umno demigods can really pad by letting in hordes of 3rd world foreign students n churning out half wit instructors by the dime, yet malaysia languish.

looks like kasim is saying perhaps bahasa should be added as a criteria, so malaysia really should be ranked 1, 2, and 3!

39. #39 by k1980 on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 3:46 pm

Dr kasim “donuthole” amat is welcomed to purchase a PhD like Ali Kordan did

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/mortarboard/2008/nov/04/oxforduniversity-highereducation

40. #40 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 4:23 pm

Going forward from what Ling Mazen said at 14: 56.54 they will say Obama yakin ikut UMNO’s leaders in rhetoric at least.

In his victory speech in Chicago, Barack Obama said he would be a president for all Americans including those whose support he had yet to earn and who voted against him. Sounds familiar, the part about PM for all Malaysians???

And in that Chicago speech, Obama alliterated “Yes we can” at least 8 times to which the audience shouted back 4 times with the same. Sounds to me like our “Malaysia Boleh”…. :)

41. #41 by dawsonruby on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 4:29 pm

to Jeffrey: The only different between America and Malaysia is their newly elected president is a black guy while you will never see any other ethnic as Malaysia’s PM.

42. #42 by lbl on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 4:34 pm

Hi Kasim Amat,
    YB LKS loves Malaysia, and that is why he is voicing out what is wrong with our system. Are you saying that we must keep quiet on what is wrong in this country, then only we are considered loyal to Malaysia?
    Also anyone who does not like the present Governement should migrate?We are Malaysians and Malaysia is our home? Should all the Opposition Party Leaders of any country, think of migrating?
    Just because your son is doing well after graduating from MU does not mean everyone is so lucky?
    Think of those who are jobless after graduating?Think of those who have applied for overseas jobs and were rejected because our degrees are in doubt?
    When there is something with our highways we pay foreign consultants to look into our problems. Why didn’t the Government ask our local universities to look into the problems? Are our Engineering Faculties not good enough? After all we have a number of world class universities?
    If you have benefitted from the system, then I understand that you must not bite the hand that fed you.
    What happens to those who have not benefitted from the system? They must also keep quiet?

43. #43 by Thinking Two on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 4:36 pm

It is coming soon.

This is the world FORCES. No one can stop it.

Changes in some forms are coming!

44. #44 by monsterball on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 5:23 pm

Kasim Amat…..You are tight. No matter what…..Lim will not be satisified with the government.
    But you forget…..Lim spoke on behalf of millions Malaysians.
    Yes…other are right about you too.
    No matter what…you are always satisfied with the government.
    So it is clear….you are …FOR…and we are… AGAINST… the government.
    But you have been exposing…your satisfactions..based on your personal benefits and interest. Ours is based on Malaysians’ interests..at large.
    So..it is useless to debate with one…narrow minded and stubborn individual…like you..while all of us..are united as one…..as Malaysians…talking about Malaysia and benefits for Malaysians.
    I just had lunch with two pro government personalities.
    One is die hard UMNO supporter. No matter what to say….he is a die hard UMNO supporter. He is a Datuk…doing nothing…but blog and promote UMNO. He was an ex newspaper reporter.
    How can he survive ….doing nothing …but blogging…God and he only know………but smart Malaysians also know. That is one..chosen by UMNO…to live comfortably…..doing nothing…but try go capture votes…like a salesman..or a self made…..sort of a religious teacher…for UMNO……saying…….”Follow me…be with me..and you will be taken cared of. Only for Muslims”
    One supports UMNO ..based on what they have done for Muslims…using corruptions…as justifiable..to survive in politics …by UMNO. This one..is flexible and will vote for change in government…to try out new guys. He believe his vote is most powerful.
    The two characters are so clear. One brags and talk big….the other is humble.
    The humble one said…
    “Although we disagree..we can still talk like Malaysians. It ‘s the politicians that try to separate us….into races.”
    We agreed and part company.
    So Kasim Amat ….what are you?

45. #45 by vincent on Wednesday, 5 November 2008 - 5:32 pm

But……we are still better then the Taliban University. With Umno around we can only compare with the worse one. Malaysia Boleh !

46. #46 by k1980 on Thursday, 6 November 2008 - 2:05 pm

Dontcha worry lah, Universiti Industri Selangor will make the top 10 list soon

Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said yesterday the deputy prime minister’s wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, would remain as the chancellor of Universiti Industri Selangor.
    He said the decision to appoint Rosmah was made by its board of governors and that the state government would not make any changes to the position for now.
    He was responding to a memorandum submitted to him by Selangor Pakatan Rakyat Youth earlier calling on the state government to fill the position with someone else.

47. #47 by techboy_88 on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 4:15 am

It seems there is one thing that we have to agree: Malaysian education system in school & universities needs to be rescued and reformed as soon as possible.

For what it’s worth all schools in Malaysia are pursuing the so-called “sekolah 100% lulus dalam peperiksaan UPSR/PMR/SPM/STPM”?

For what it’s worth all universities in Malaysia are desperate to achieve ISO 9001? In fact, ISO 9001 can be achieved without having to do desperate measures just to get through the time-consuming auditing.

What should the schools and universities in Malaysia do to improve the Malaysian education system? They should ask themselves to find the answers and solutions.

48. #48 by monsterball on Friday, 7 November 2008 - 10:26 am

How to reform?
    Three higher Education in 4 years……..exactly like four DPM by Mahathir…to make sure…those listen to UMNO….be puppets..no need to think…or use your god gifted intelligence..plan ahead…..commonsense. NO NO NO… just listen…like puppets.
    The recent Law Minister who resign….was he smart?
    Was Musa Hitam smart? Why did he also resign….as DPM?
    Sodomy.to put one in jail…is by the lowest scum on earth….by real hypocrites…….YET…idea still valid…after 10 years!!!
    You see….UMNO party is like a gangster party.one for all…all for one….dead or alive….we stand together. WHY???
    All are corrupted to the core….all filthy rich…..all have titles…to show off..and belittle Malaysians.
    They passed the stage of being weird.
    They are real hypocrites…..even to their own race.