10 highlights of Merdeka II for a new Malaysia

I rose up in Parliament last week, 21st August 2008, to point out that although the 51st Merdeka anniversary was ten days away, the country was never so devoid of National Day enthusiasm with so little cause for celebration.

This was because in the past six months since the March 8 “political tsunami”, what obsessed the ruling politicians were “ketuanan Melayu”, “kedaulatan Melayu” and “perpaduan Melayu” when the national focus after half-a-century of nationhood should have been “Malaysian unity”.

Who knows what is the theme of the official National Day celebrations this year? The overwhelming majority of Malaysians, including Barisan Nasional leaders, just don’t know.

The official National Day theme this year is “Unity, the core of success”. It is humdrum, pedestrian, uninspiring and even meaningless in the midst of keris-wielding and shouts of “perpaduan Melayu”.

If the official National Day theme is to touch the hearts of all Malaysians and be a binding and inspiring slogan for all citizens in the country, then it should be amended to: “Malaysian Unity, the core of success”.

The Barisan Nasional government has failed in its first fundamental task – to be the government for all Malaysians.

Yesterday, the Prime Minister-cum-Finance Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi presented the country’s biggest budget in history – a walloping RM207.9 billion.

Coming just before the 51st Merdeka anniversary, it should be a budget of national unity, which it failed woefully.

This is because it failed to inspire unity, hope and confidence among Malaysians that they will be the main beneficiaries from the RM207.9 billion 2009 Budget, as it is budget of denial which has continued to plunge the country into a multiple crisis of confidence – political, economic and nation-building!.

We decided at short notice on Thursday night to organize this Perak DAP 51st Merdeka anniversary because the great Pakatan Rakyat victory by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in the Permatang Pauh by-election on August 26 has given all Malaysians throughout the country new hope of continuing paradigm shift in the destiny of Malaysia.

Earlier that evening while I was in Damansara, a stranger recognized me and came up to shake my hand, saying that he felt that there is hope for him and his children in the country.

I wanted to correct him that he must be feeling for the second time in six months that despite the dark clouds, ordinary Malaysians regardless of race can again hope that there is a future for Malaysians in their own homeland.

This must be the message of the 51st Merdeka celebrations – not the meaningless slogan of the official celebration of “Unity the core of success”.

Let the word go out from here that on the occasion of the 51st Merdeka anniversary, all Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or territory, are united in the resolve to herald a second Merdeka for all Malaysians.

The first Merdeka in 1957 ended as a Merdeka for the Barisan Nasional leaders and their cronies. It is time for a Merdeka II where all Malaysians can enjoy the full gamut of freedom of citizenship of an united, just, democratic, progressive and prosperous Malaysia.

There are already several important milestones for this Merdeka II movement, the most notable being:

• 308 – the “political tsunami” of the March 8 general election;

• 826 – the second “political tsunami” of the Permatang Puah by-election

Everyday, new landmarks of a Merdeka II are being chalked up, including this morning, with the breakthrough announcement by the Perak Mentri Besar, Datuk Seri Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin that the Pakatan Rakyat government of Perak has agreed to give 1,000 hectares of land to the nine Chinese Independent Secondary Schools to fund their continuous growth and future expansion.

In the Merdeka II long march in the second half-century of our nationhood, Malaysians must dare to dream big dreams again for the country.

I for one will like to see the achievement of the following ten national objectives in the Merdeka II campaign:

1. Make Malaysia safe and secure again for its citizens, visitors and investors, with a dedicated, efficient, professional world-class police service to keep crime low. Malaysians today feel even more unsafe whether in the streets, public places or the privacy of their homes compared to five years ago when Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became Prime Minister. Let us start immediately with an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC).

2. Restoration of an independent, impartial, professional and meritocratic judiciary. A Judicial Appointments Commission should be set up without delay and the country must not suffer another judicial trauma by the appointment of a Umno Chief Justice

3. Zero tolerance for corruption – with Malaysia ranked among the top 10 countries which are least corrupt in the world.

4. Malaysian universities should rank among the best in the world – with at least two among the World’s Top 100 and another two in the list of the World’s next Top 100. In other words, at least four Malaysian Universities among the World’s Top 200 Universities.

5. End the brain drain of the best and brightest talents overseas – in particular stemming the brain-drain to Singapore by reinstating the principle of meritocracy and ensuring that Malaysia’s best and brightest, regardless of race, can get the best educational and employment opportunities in their own country.

6. Restored competitiveness to enable to Malaysia to be among the ranks of South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Singapore (as we were the second most developed nation in Asia after Japan when we achieved Independence in 1957) instead of continuing to trail behind more and more countries.

7. Restore grass-roots democracy with elected local government.

8. Repeal of draconian and undemocratic laws which violate human rights such as Internal Security Act, Official Secrets Act, Sedition Act, Printing Presses and Publications Act and the Police Act.

9. Eradication of poverty for all Malaysians, regardless of race.

10. A Bangsa Malaysia based on “Malaysians Unite” and “ketuanan rakyat Malaysia”.

(Speech at the Perak DAP 51st Merdeka Day reception at Heritage Hotel, Ipoh on Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 5.30 pm)

1. #1 by carboncopy on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:15 am

The Badawi was so unconvincing during his 1 1/2 hour budget reading class in parliament that he had to come on national tv to do a Pervez Musharraf type of telecast to the people of Malaysia.

And his usual rhetoric makes me want to vomit.

2. #2 by ktteokt on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:20 am

They are still fanticizing their “Ketuanan Melayu” and raising the kris! If this goes on, it will just spell disaster for Malaysia! What pendatang asing are they talking about? If the Chinese and Indians are pendatang asing, so are the Malays! What gave them the right to call themselves “Bumiputras”? The reason they are “more superior” is because there are people ready to admit themselves as “inferior”! Thanks to MCA and Gerakan.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:32 am

Abdullah also said greater attention had been and would be given to efforts towards the improvement of the education system, adoption of noble values like integrity and media openness and strengthening of national institutions like Parliament, the judicial system, the Anti-Corruption Agency and the Royal Malaysia Police.

The above is Abdullah’s aspiration on the eve of National Day celebration, but can he actually fulfill it? I think Abdullah is merely paying lip-service to please the people!

4. #4 by firstMalaysian on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:36 am

As the intensity of globalisation is accelerating at a faster pace, what we need is Ketuanan Malaysia where Malaysians can be respected in all areas in science,technology,legal system, foreign relations, politics, social development, inter-racial relation etc. Before all these can happen, we need a culture of meritocracy, excellence, hard work, drive, global outlook and upholding the Rukun Negara.

Are we willing to embark this journey?

5. #5 by vchi on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:41 am

Only when Malaysia is free from the shackles of the present regime, we can truly be independent and shout Merdeka!

6. #6 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:55 am

“Yesterday, the Prime Minister-cum-Finance Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi presented the country’s biggest budget in history – a walloping RM207.9 billion.” Kit

It is not so much the size of the national budget but how it is being financed.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:02 am

Don’t want to be a party pooper but this morning in the papers as I was reading the papers of the PM message (which I could not care less to watch on TV) of unity and at another page, Abdullah response to MCA and Gerakan call for Bukit Bendara Datuk Ahmad Ismail to apologise not to repeat his message, what I get is this.

The UMNO govt says its not up to them to fix the problem of unity, its up to someone else. They don’t know how to and still stay in power. Staying in power is what they are about first and foremost. So Malaysian have no choice but to kick out the UMNO-led BN govt if they want unity.

After 308, after Permatang Pauh, after being blasted for his 2009 budget for representing everything about his administration, the man has not learned anything. He sounds like an old dog that can’t learn new tricks. How hard it is to be honest and just admit you have no idea what to do, that we need an honest discourse and then say we are up to it? THAT would have been inspiring, leadership and seal some semblance of legacy of his administration.

Instead his messages says he is just a civil servant, not a national leader, he is going to stay on for as long as possible, his children already made enough money for him to retire very very well. In the future, if anything goes wrong, he can say he was not part of it and tried to change it. If anything goes right, he can say he told those people so.. In other words, he is nothing, insignificant… So why is still around, why is he still doing nothing. making us nothing????

8. #8 by taiking1 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:24 am

“Unity, the core of success”.
    Is this a coded “ketuanan melayu” message?
    UMNO has been harping and emphasising this “ketuanan” issue for the last six months.
    And they now say that unity is the core of success.
    Can we seriously accept this slogan to be a slogan for all malaysians?

9. #9 by Patek 1472 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:25 am

Aku menangis pada Hari Merdeka.
    (I am Crying on Merdeka (Independence) Day.)

1. Aku menangis kerana rakyat Malaysia telah hilang kegembiraan dan perasaan terhadap masa hadapan negara yang diimpiankan dan tidak seperti semasa Allahyarham Tunku Abdul Rahman melaungkan “Merdeka!”.

(I cry because Malaysians have lost the joy and hope of a future Malaysia as wished for unlike the times when the late Tunku Abdul Rahman shouted “Merdeka”. )

2. Aku menanggis memikirkan ada rakyat Malaysia sendiri yang bercakap, berfikir dan bertindak memecahbelahkan rakyat dengan penuh perasaan perkauman dan keagamaan masing-masing tampa ada perasaan kebangsaan dan kesahabatan.

(I cry thinking of some Malaysians who talk, think and act to divide the citizens with their own racists and religious thoughts without a care for nationalism and friendships.)

3. Aku menangis memikirkan ada rakyat Malaysia yang lebih mementingkan sendiri dari negara apabila timbul isu-isu parti, jawatan, habuan, kuasa, kawan, kesahabatan dan keadilan.

(I cry thinking of some Malaysians who care more of themselves rather than the Nation when it comes to issues of party, posts, rewards, power, friends, relationship and fairness.)

4. Aku menangis memikirkan ada rakyat dan keluarga mereka yang masih belum mendapat keadilan sewaktu dipenjarakan, ditindas, dirompak, diugut, didiskriminasikan dan tidak juga dibenarkan bersuara.

(I cry thinking of some citizens and their families who have not obtain justice while being imprisoned, oppressed, robbed, threatened, discriminated and not even allowed the freedom of speech.)

5. Aku menangis memirkirkan ada rakyat Malaysia yang masih hidup Kias Pagi, Makan Pagi; Kias Petang Makan Petang walaupun Malaysia sudah 51 tahun merdeka.

(I cry thinking there are still Malaysians who still live from Hand to Mouth everyday, even though Malaysia has already achieved 51 years of Independence.)

Posted at http://patek1472.wordpress.com

10. #10 by Freddy on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:28 am

Fresh hope, there is! Merdeka II is what a Bangsa Malaysia hopes for.

Congrats Pakatan Rakyat for organising a Merdeka celebration.

Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:31 am

It appears that Pakatan Rakyat (“PR”)’s leaders and strategists have come out with a new strategy and concept of galvanising and mobilising mass political support against the ruling coalition. This strategy is have an alternative national day!

As I noted in previous thread under “Anwar Comeback” Anwar in Al-Jazeera interview started it by observing tongue-in-cheek about the strangeness of Malaysians seeking to celebrate (after Permatang Pauh) a second Merdeka after the first one in 1957! “So on 31st Aug, one group will be celebrating Merdeka of 1957 when their progenitor Alliance came to power and the second group, merdeka from rule of first group!”, I said.

And now going forward, YB Kit develops this theme further by saying that the overwhelming majority of Malaysians, including Barisan Nasional leaders, just don’t know “what is the theme of the official National Day celebrations this year”.

To an average Malaysian Joe on the street, many feel no reason to celebrate national day there being a disjunct and double speak between “Perpaduan Negara” blared in the mas media propaganda machinery and “Ketuanan Melayu”, “kedaulatan Melayu” and “perpaduan Melayu” as against other “Pendatang Asing” by ruling party’s politicians when it suits their agenda and convenience!

PR’s strategy is to develop an alternative national day on which the real meaningful values are celebrated – values such as socio-economic fairness and justice based on “citizenship of a united, just, democratic, progressive and prosperous Malaysia” – Merdeka II, so to speak heralded by:-
    • 308 – the “political tsunami” of the March 8 general election;
    • 826 – the second “political tsunami” of the Permatang Puah by-election

The commemoration of a Merdeka II day will redirect national focus to real values that count that cannot be hijacked by blandishments of money ie a walloping RM207.9.

In reference to proposal of Perak DAP 51st Merdeka anniversary because of “the great Pakatan Rakyat victory by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in the Permatang Pauh by-election on August 26”, why not broaden initiative beyond confines of DAP to the wider PR and have the PR state governments of 5 states declare state holidays (like way Penang did on 26th September 2008 Permatang Pauh election) on 16th September to commemorate Merdeka II day coinciding with the day Malaysia was formed, so as also to give greater meaning to East Malaysians to celebrate their being part of the New Malaysia to come?????

This will sure make a lot of people on the other side hopping mad.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:34 am

error – a “walloping RM207.9 billion budget”.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:34 am

Hey.. Bloomberg says Badawi gave us a great Merdeka present .. risking our credit rating…

14. #14 by 318 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:39 am

what is merdeka merdeka is only for umno what our forefather fought for merdeka is coming to nought as these politicians keep on harping on race card come on all the idiot politicians this 21st century and now is globalisation world you think we the MALAYSIANS STILL DUDUK ATAS POKOK OR LIVING DI BAWAH TEMPURONG

15. #15 by realmalaysian on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:41 am

What I find more shocking than Bukit Bendera MP’s remark on the Malaysian Chinese is to read that all our Prime Minister said was he doesn’t mean it and will make sure it will not happened again, nothing more! The DPM was no better being there in person when the speech was made. Shudder to think what will happen when he takes over the reign. What Pakatan Rakyat Chinese MPs should learn from this is that when the time for PR to take over the ruling government, please do not make the same mistake 51 years ago and allow the other non-bumi races to be 2nd Class citizens of Malaysia. We the non-bumis have slaved and sacrificed sweat and blood to make Malaysia as prosperious as it is today! WE DESERVE TO BE GIVEN EQUAL RIGHTS!~ So Uncle Lim, do us proud and spearhead EQUALITY FOR ALL MALAYSIANS irregardless of race, color or gender!

16. #16 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:49 am

Further to what is said per posting at 09: 31.34 above – although most countries have a single National Day per year, there are precedents of a few having more, for examples :
    India has two – 26 January-Republic Day (Anniversary of India becoming the first republic in the British Commonwealth of Nations on 26th January 1950); 15 August-Independence Day (Anniversary of India gaining independence from the British Empire on 15th August 1947); Argentina on 25th May and 9th July, Belize on 10th and 21st September, Bosnia and Herzegovina on 1 March (Dan nezavisnosti; Independence from Yugoslavia in 1992), November 25 (Dan državnosti; Statehood re-established in 1943 from the Independent State of Croatia, a Nazi-puppet state during World War II), Poland has Constitution day on 3rd May and Independence Day on November 11. Pakistan tops the list by having three : 28 January (Pakistan day), 23 March (Republic Day), 14 August (Independence Day).

So Malaysia could have Merdeka I today and Merdeka II on 16th September? :)

17. #17 by IamMalaysian on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 9:51 am

I am really disappointed with the BN government, who still wants to play this “divide and rule” game after 50 years of our nation’s independence. Enough is enough!

I have been in cities like Seoul and Shanghai for the past months on business trip, and their progresses continue to amaze me. Where are we, Malaysia?

18. #18 by riversandlakes on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 10:08 am

There is no more hope with the Barang Naik government. The only thing left to do now is to tear it down.

19. #19 by fish-warezmasterz on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 10:26 am

“I am really disappointed with the BN government, who still wants to play this “divide and rule” game after 50 years of our nation’s independence. Enough is enough!” well said bro.because of their rules we are separated according to races.we should be a Malaysian race.not a malays dominant government (BN),or a non malays dominant government.

i have a touching story.last time when i attended UTP convofair.i went to DIGI booth to see if got any good offer.a chinese guy (around 20 years old) came.i asked him,”maskot Digi tak datang ke?” he was perplexed,like he didnt understand anything.yes,he didnt understand BASIC malaysia language.i asked him again,”ini Special Rate Digi boleh guna dalam Universiti atau kat luar?”.. again,he blurred like i was speaking in an alien language.damn,this is not my first time meeting Malaysians who dont know how to speak Malaysia language..i dont mind if that chinese guy can UNDERSTAND my language,but cannot SPEAK malaysia.at least,he can understand and speak in English.but he didnt!! is this a Malaysia?? where is nationalism when we cant even UNDERSTAND our own OFFICIAL LANGUAGE.sooo disappointing..

im 100% sure he wasnt from National School or never been in Malay society:but claimed he was born in MALAYSIA!!! a malaysian but never know how to speak malaysia,such a shame! a BN fault or our fault??? its a BN fault..huhu

20. #20 by Old.observer on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 10:37 am

Further to 308 and 826, more and more right-thinking Malaysians are rightly rejecting through the polls UMNO’s “Ketuanan Melayu” and BN’s racial politics as mere rhetorics.

Rhetorics that are self-serving to only a select few, and designed to upset, manipulate, divert and fool the mass into thinking that other races are responsible for their problems.

Rhetorics that are designed to cover up the massive CORRUPTION by the UMNO-putras & BN-putras.

The record expenditure budget of $207.9 Billion is utterly shocking!

It provides the platform for even MORE corruption! Now, Ministries have even more money to spend without having to be transparent!

Last year, RPK said a BN MP willingly pays $10,000,000 for an MP seat. Many found it incredulous. But what is $10,000,000 when a Ministry Budget runs into $10,000,000,000 or more? If a mere 10% of that Budget is siphoned away, that is $1,000,000,000, or easily 100 times the initial investment of $10,000,000!

And remember, this is a YEARLY budget!

Do you think they siphon only 10%? 30%? 50%?

You do the maths.

Old Observer.

21. #21 by Old.observer on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 10:50 am

As Anwar has stated – this Budget is hugely dissappointing when it runs the country into even bigger Deficit, when Malaysia is currently a net oil exporter and currently enjoying highest level of income in decades.

Anwar’s wise statement makes me think what will our Deficit be when Malaysia’s income falls, when we no longer have as much oil and become net oil importer?

Common sense says we should be wisely “saving for a rainy day”. But instead, the BN government is foolishly spending everything under the sun. Worse, even borrowing and pledging future revenues to spend today (i.e. Budget Deficit), when the purpose is not social welfare but to silently fund for cronies money siphoning and corruptions whilst shouting Ketuanan Melayu at the same time!

The 2009 Budget Revenue has never been higher than ever before. Spending could easily be increased and still have a Budget Surplus to “save for a rainy day”. Instead, the “tamak” BN government greedily runs the nation’s coffers into ruins, by spending even more money to create an even Bigger Deficit!

How is BN government’s action different from the proverbial fox who now remains to guard an even bigger hen house due to good times? Will the fox save a few hens for a rainy day (Budget Surplus)? Or will the fox wallops everything, and then demand for more hen from next year’s revenue?

This BN government disgusts me to the core!

Old Observer.

22. #22 by hadi on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:11 am

YB kit, agreed with those 10 points for MERDEKA ll. If I may suggest that there is a need for major overhaul with full participation of public at large. No more such thing as “Compromy Elite.” Whether we like it or not, there must be a mechanism to avoid abuse of power. The right of every citizens must be protected- I think you know YB, unless we get rid of those laws -that are oppressive, stifling and threatening-the sacrifice that the nation and the people will have to face will be tremendous but we must have faith. We need to redefine our national interest, we have to identify the elements of national power that will spur Malaysia forward. But most importantly someone has to provide the leadership, at the moment your choice is my choice, Pakatan Rakyat should start the ball rolling and let us engage the public. IN GOD WE TRUST.

23. #23 by takazawa on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:11 am

Hooray, Hari Merdeka daripada Kerajaan Barang Naik akan datang sebentar lagi pada 16hb September! Hence the End of Days for Be End and the Never Ending Policy!

24. #24 by MyFoot on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:18 am

Unity, the core of success”? What is it? I don’t understand.
    From what is happening since Mar 8, I think the nation has gone directionless. From bad to worse. Instead of listening to the rakyat, the gomen has take action to the contrary.

25. #25 by MyFoot on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:21 am

I support the 10 point plan.

26. #26 by 7even Sins on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:26 am

What a phony theme for Merdeka..!!!

Unity my foot when those assinines constantly champion for “Ketuanan Melayu” and segregating the race to bumi and non-bumi.

Those tuan-de-bozo just dunno how to run a country..!!! UMNO simply not progressive and just never learn and never will…!!! Pride comes before the fall!!! Yeah, that’s right..!!! They will fall hard and shattered into pieces soon..!!!

27. #27 by Jimm on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:39 am

Malaysian have to stand up for their own country rights , Malaysia.
    There were nothing of an issue with Malaysiana unless those coming from UMNO who ruled this country for 51 years using racism as their hidden weapon to divide and rule.We are glad and truly blessed by God Almighty that through all these years, we all have grown and understand the real needs of Malaysia Malaysians.
    From here, we learnt to be united through our daily activities and increased our tolerence among ourselves. We learnt to respect everyone living around us.
    We , Malaysian are grown and journeyed each Merdeka …celebrations .under UMNO influences .. now with IT, we learnt to see the truth.
    We are truly blessed that this country have withstand much ‘weathers’ and learn to be patience over the answer. Malaysian real answer for her. We just simply love this country for beign there for us and allowing enough time for us to know her better.

28. #28 by boh-liao on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:58 am

How can the 51st Merdeka serve to unite the people of Malaysia?

Truly nonsense. Do we honestly believe the East Malaysians embrace 31.8 as the Merdeka Day and celebrate their 51st Merdeka on 31.8.2008? Probably over their dead bodies!

Why must West Malaysians impose their kiasu mentality on East Malaysians and keep the nation divided even on the most important date of our common history? Why must historical facts be distorted?

51 years ago on 31.8 1957, there was no Sabah. It was North Borneo, under the British rule, just like Sarawak. There was no Malaysia, just the Federation of Malaya, two different entities.

As long as we don’t accept the fact that Malaysia, which came about on 16.9.1963 with Malaya, Singapore, Sabah, and Sarawak, is only 45 on 16.9.2008, we are a nation of fools and cheats who don’t even know our history! A laughing stock. Shame, shame, shame!

29. #29 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:25 pm

PKR must start do something about the media,
    sponsor from anyone create a new channel if needed.
    You must broadcast yourself!

30. #30 by Captain on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:33 pm

The non malay community has contributed and sacrificed much for the sake of this country everyday praying that someday there will ivolve a bangsa malaysia.

When the malays talk about ketuanan melayu, the nonmalays automatically go on defensive mode. when the nonmalays talk about ethnic schools and religious equal rights, the malay community goes into defensive mode. One expects the other to start the snowball, and nobody begins except throwing thetoric against each other.

In all sincerity, are the nonmalays willing to take the firsy step? Are they willing to close all chinese and tamil schools in malaysia? Instead make tamil and chinese compulsory to all its ethnic students in National schools. The first polarisation would be eliminated.

This way, bangsa malaysia could start from the ‘roots’. Our children will learn to ‘live’ together as a family, as a bangsa malaysia. With better chinese students for malays to beat in schools, the malay achievement target threshold will move higher and earlier prepare everyone for meritocracy.

Its time to match action to talks…

31. #31 by ahluck on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:34 pm

the day when malay, chinese, indians and other race are considered equal in malaysia without the ketuanan than we call unity and malaysians. until then merdeka only for UMNO.
    not for others.

32. #32 by hionghiong on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:35 pm

IF the bumiputra-Malaysians still believe they are the ‘Master’ for this country with their ‘ketuanan dan kedaulatan melayu’ agenda, then forever Malaysians as a whole will become the ‘Slaves’ for the world..
    Time to change..

Hope not to watch AAB in the next national day parade..

33. #33 by Damocles on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:37 pm

Uncle Lim, there’re very good reasons for the BN to play the race card.
    For decades, particularly during the reign of TDM and now that of AAB, this card has won them the premiership, every time without fail.
    So, they kept thinking more of the same will even be better. But they think without taking into consideration the emergence of DSAI!! He managed to convince the Malays that although the UMNO seems to be fighting for their rights, all the time the benefits go to the UMNOPutras!!
    That’s really a great feat.
    The government created brain drain also helps UMNO to ensure that its position in the country remains unchallenged. With less intellectuals in the country, there’ll be fewer around to unmask their misdeeds.
    For continually unmasking such misdeeds, we are grateful to Uncle Lim as he has revealed many such shenanigans in the past and are still doing so. He has also remained in this country to ensure a more level playing field for the rest of us.
    I, for one, have been very pessimistic about the future of this country, but now I can say that there is a silver lining.

34. #34 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:45 pm

Stop the wanton spending proposed in the Budget 2009. Strip out all the fat till we feel the bones. Kill the budget! Nip the proposed spending in the bud. Opposition and non opposition unite to stop the senseless spending of ou country’s money to benefit UMNOputras.

KILL THE 2009 BUDGET

35. #35 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:45 pm

They totaly forgot how does Sultanate Malacca started this country, the ally with the Chinese to strives their own religion because they care for their friendship, tie our relationship further more with the princess China marriage to Sultan Melaka that creates today BABA-NYONYA. The diversity of UMNO concept totaly distorted the meaning “Ketuanan Melayu”, without the China help during Siamese attack hundreds years ago. If they choose to go with religion war, the Sultanate Melaka could be wipe out by (Siamese+China) if wasnt for China help!

36. #36 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:53 pm

WHO SAID YOU COULD SPEND EVERYTHING AND HOCK OUR BEHINDS??????????????????????????????????????

WHO HAS TO PAY FOR YOU TO SPEND SPEND SPEND??????????????

IT IS OUR MONEY AND WE ARE KEEPING IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

37. #37 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:56 pm

YB LKS,
    I REQUEST THAT YOU STOP THE THIEVES FROM LOOTING OUR VAULTS!!!!!!!!!!

38. #38 by good coolie on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:06 pm

Ketuanan Melayu is constitutional if it means that the country is ruled by the Malay Rulers and that the religion of the Federation is Islam. The special position of the Malays is also constitutional if it is limited to protecting the Malays against unfair competion and ensuring that a place is reserved for the Malays in the mainstream of administration and in ownership of land (Malay reserve land e.g.).

The rest, like the word “Bumiputra” (of both parts of Malaysia) is un-constitutional, an occasion of division, a good instance of Dr. Mahatir’s bad policies. This is not the unity of the Merdeka days. Did everTunku, Tan Siew Sin, or Sambathan; or ever Ahmad, Ah Cong, and Muthu, think that Malaysians would be discrimated against in this way.

What Unity, Y.B?

39. #39 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:32 pm

SPEND 20% OF OUR GDP FOR WHAT???
    BETTER BUDGET IS TO GIVE EACH MALAYSIAN RM75,000!!!
    THAT INCLUDES AAB & NR TOO.

40. #40 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:39 pm

Special Malay privileges are constitutional. They are affirmative action provisions intended to uplift Malay community’s disadvantaged economic/socio conditions to achieve a level playing field vis-a-vis citizens of other races. Arguably Malay privileges were part of the original “Social Contract of exchange” during Merdeka, whatever its scope and limitations, as may be argued.

Malay privileges are not conceptionally synonymous with “Ketuanan”. ‘Ketuanan’ connotes “supremacy” and “dominance” of one race over the rest who by comparison would be “subservient”.

Ketuanan is not an affirmative action policy but one grounded on “superiority” of a race and to this extent is arguably unconstitutional vis-a-vis constitutional guarantee that no one should be discriminated on grounds of race alone (save as sanctioned by constitution in the form of Malay privileges.)

So Malay privileges have nothing to do with Ketuanan.The former is constitutional helping a group identified to require help. The latter is grounded on racial superiority regardless whether the favoured group is in need of help.

41. #41 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:48 pm

Ketuanan means also the gaining of respect. For the Chinese, Confucious says – respect has to be gained. For the Malays, it is derived from a misunderstanding of the Constitution.

42. #42 by ChinNA on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:55 pm

The Malays can have all the ‘Ketuanan’ that they want. In the end, the challenge is from without the country not within.

As much as we all love Malaysia, we may one day need to ply our trade in another country because our economy just cannot sustain us. The brain drain will just get worse.

But again, with the increased brain drain, it will also accelerate degree of Ketuanan.

I wonder if all this is bad or good?

In one way, Ketuanan will be achieved faster.

In another perspective, overseas Malaysian will get a better life than what is possible in Malaysia.

Then can all this be bad? The Malays have Ketuanan and the overseas Malaysia have a much better life.

Think about it.

43. #43 by ChinNA on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:03 pm

Today is National Day and my heart longs for Malaysia. I pine for the return of Tanah Melayu days.

44. #44 by wanderer on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:11 pm

As a PR of a foreign country I am given all benefits, except, my voting right, which I felt is fair. Why on earth, as Malaysians, we should be treated so unequally?
    No more mention of race, just Malaysian… whether the colour of your skin is black, brown or yellow. That will be the first step to move towards Merdeka II

45. #45 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:17 pm

In the USA they too have special rights for the Red Indians from which the immigrants (the Malays from Yunan and the Chinese from China and Indians from India) have by force taken over their land (the natives in Malaysia). Till today the Red Indians retain their special rights.

Here in Malaysia, the Malays are already the majority race and the majority obviously have majority rights even without the use of the special provisions in the Constitution of Malaysia!

To put matters worse, the majority Malays are demanding for constitutional rights over and above what majority rights they already have by reference to a misinterpretation of the wordings of article 153 of the constitution.

The best way to go about structuring for Bangsa Malaysia is to remove the words ” the Malays and” from the Constitution, something that should have been done in 1967. The removal would have no impact on Malay majority power!

Majority rules is universal! This applies equally in any democratic country.

What have the majority Malays got to loose. Don’t be an impediment to achieving Bangsa Malaysia!!!!!!

46. #46 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:20 pm

You lose face by your very own deeds!

47. #47 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:26 pm

Save your race from disgrace.

The Chinese stop squatting on the fence.

The Indians stop pointing fingers.

The Malays stop the corruption.

48. #48 by gofortruth on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:45 pm

Found this in http://anilnetto.com/ :-

“matador on August 31st, 2008 at 1.25pm
    Let us examine who was cheated by this .. and his father and their friends.

Malaya and Singapore Population in 1963

Malay – 43.1%
    Other indegenous – 0.4%
    Chinese – 43.9%
    Others – 12.6%

Projected Malaysia Population If North Borneo, Sarawak, Brunei and Singapore Join the Federation in 1963.

Malay – 41.5%
    Other indegenous – 10.5%
    Chinese – 38%
    Others – 10%

Population in 1963 After Brunei Pulled Out Before Joining Malaysia

Malay – 40%
    Other indegenous – 6.6%
    Chinese – 42%
    Others – 11.4%

Source: Willard A. Hanna (1964), ‘The Formation of Malaysia New Factor in World Politics’, New York: American Universities Field Staff, p. 20”

49. #49 by wanderer on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:48 pm

I suspect the last budget is meant more for the corrupts, to enjoy the the ‘last call’. No sane govt will go on a spending spree, when the world economy is clouded with uncertainty. Even PKR is to take over, it will be an empty govt coffer…perhaps, even in deep red.

50. #50 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:54 pm

…//because the great Pakatan Rakyat victory by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in the Permatang Pauh by-election on August 26 has given all Malaysians throughout the country new hope of continuing paradigm shift in the destiny of Malaysia.

It is time for a Merdeka II where all Malaysians can enjoy the full gamut of freedom of citizenship of an united, just, democratic, progressive and prosperous Malaysia. //

51. #51 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 3:01 pm

Permatang Pauh’s population is said to be representative of the population of Malaysia.

The population of Malaysia as of 26th August 2008 is:-
    Bangsa Malaysia 66.6%
    UMNOputra 33.1%
    Others 0.3%

Source: Election Commission

52. #52 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 3:03 pm

Looks like Bangsa Malaysia already has two thirds majority to from the new government!!!!!

53. #53 by tan chi nam on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 3:07 pm

Malaysian is not patriotic,
    Malaysia did not fly Malaysia flags,
    Malaysian is not happy,
    Malaysian is so and so…..

All are negative,
    Malaysian is intricate…
    Give them FREE flags then they fly it,
    Charge them even rm1 ringgit…erh then there is no flag loh…

54. #54 by max2811 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 4:24 pm

Ahmad Ismail suddenly got himself in the limelight for all the wrong reasons. But as he being a product of Biro Tata Negara thru its courses Kursus Tatanegara, all the participants were subjected to Chinese bashing.

My young teacher just went to such a course but she couldn’t give the name of the officer who uttered the similar words, harsher meanings and with stronger emotions. He even threatened the non malays in the course.

Young malays were brainwashed in schools and gov courses to beware of the Chinese. All the course facilitators are gov ppl, UMNO supporters or members.

AAB says it is part of campaigning. I would say this is part of TDM’s agenda. He has been segregating the Msians over the years while in power. This is also UMNO’s main agenda and policy.

This is why MCA is already irrelevant to the Chinese. You do not represent the Chinese anymore and please do not claim as such.

We need a leader who views Msia should be governed as Msians and not as malays before the non malays. We need a leader who can take us out of the dumps. A leader who can lead us as Msians and not as malays first.

We are way behind Spore, S Korea and Japan. We could have been so much better than Spore. Just bcos of UMNO. Its corrupted ministers and idiotic leaders have destroyed our country.
    2Mohd who claimed he isn’t good in English when caught in Australia with RM23 million cash was giving a press conference in perfect English.

Let’s have a snap election. It will proof whether the ppl supports PR or BN. We shouldn’t wait another 4 years. So much can be done in 4 years.

55. #55 by william62 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 4:49 pm

Really hope that DAP and PKR plus PAS can organaize a grand celebration on the 16th September so as to give greater meaning to East Malaysians.

56. #56 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 4:50 pm

correction for last sentence, “So much damage can be done in 4 years”.

MerdekaII!~

57. #57 by william62 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 4:55 pm

We all have to struggle and work hand in hand with DAP& PKR to change the ketuanan -change the mindset of the ketuanans so that more and more of them will consider themselves as Bangsa Melaysia rather categorizing themselves as ketuanans or UMNOputras1

58. #58 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 4:58 pm

Its isn’t the issue of “ketuanan melayu” that angers the non-muslim rakyat that much. We use to vote BN because we wanted harmony and could live with being ‘2nd class’ rakyat…

The issue is now Ketuanan UMNO and their crony parties.. corruption knows no race or religion…

Pakatan Rakyat speaks of racial unity and PP results shows that we, Malaysian are ready for it! Happy Merdeka and Selamat Berpuasa to our islamic brothers in Malaysia.

59. #59 by william62 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 5:12 pm

Malaysia is only 45 years old , not 51 years old. What we should celebrate is 16th September , not 31st August…….. DAP ,PKR & PAS are you brave enough to make the change right from this year?

60. #60 by parajurit sarawak on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 5:23 pm

Uncle Lim

Come Sept 16, let us revamp the budget…
    Apai celebrate Merdeka on Sep 16

Apai

61. #62 by Godfather on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 5:34 pm

Yes, the appropriate Merdeka Day present for Bodohwi will be a downgrade in the sovereign risk ratings for the country. Already we have the biggest bureacracy in this region in terms of headcount relative to total population, and cost relative to total government spending. Now Nor Mohamed has to go to Singapore and try to convince Fitch, S&P and Moody’s to maintain Bolehland’s ratings. He is unlikely to convince anyone.

62. #63 by mauriyaII on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 5:59 pm

YB Lim,

Strive to make September 16 as Malaysia Day which is more meaningful to all in Peninsular Malaysia and Sabah/Sarawak because we have been celebrating the freedom from the British all these 51 years but have FAILED to celebrate the freedom of Sabah and Sarawak from the British Colonial Government.

Even in celebrating our national freedom from the British, we are segregating our brothers and sisters from Sabah and Sarawak. This is one of the many ways the Federal Government has been practising the SELECTIVE AGENDA of divide and rule.

The Federal Government has been exploiting Sabah and Sarawak for the past 45 years by not giving them proportionate financial grants in the annual budgets commensurate to the revenue obtained from Sabah and Sarawak.

The Federal Government has negelected to develop Sabah and Sarawak while using more of their revenue to develop Peninsular Malaysia and at the same time enriching the corrupt UMNO and the other component parties in BN. The BN parties in Sabah and Sarawak and their cronies have become filthy rich at the expense of the ordinary Sabahan and Sarawakian.

The local BN leaders in Sabah and Sarawak have been bought over by the Federal Government through their quest for power, greed, corruption and unlimited wealth.

Sabah and Sarawak are so backward in infrastructure, good educational facilities and manpower, modern transportation system and modern cities not because they are poor states
    but because THEIR ELECTED MPs AND STATE LEGISLATIVE MEMBERS DID NOT FIGHT FOR RIGHTS OF THEIR VOTERS.

Those MPs and ADUNs are GUILTY OF GROSS NEGLIGENCE AND ONLY LOOKING AFTER THEIR OWN SELF INTEREST AND VESTED INTEREST OF THEIR CRONIES.

If this sad state of affairs is to END, the MPs should be made to realize that the only QUICK AND SURE way of bringing the present corrupted Federal Government to its knees is by joining PAKATAN RAKYAT before September 16 and celebrate MALAYSIA DAY ON September 16.

From then onwards everyone can work as citizens of Malaysia to bring about equal opportunities in every sphere of our social, economic, educational and cultural activities.

Nobody needs to be Tuan or Slave. There should be no room for racial and religious bigotry and hagemony.

YB Lim, please work harmoniously with your partners in Pakatan to promote the above concept and let there be no master/running dogs in PAKATAN RAKYAT.

Every party in the PAKATAN RAKYAT should have equal STATUS AND SAY.

63. #64 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 6:52 pm

Make Pakatan Rakyat a real entity, with members who are Bangsa Malaysia! Drop all your former names, and join this new entity!

We the Rakyat don’t want to hear of DAP, PKR nor PAS factions, drop your racist roots and embrace Party Bangsa Malaysia!

Do it now!

64. #65 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:22 pm

Dear Max2811,

Say what. Product of Biro Tata Negara? I had a course there. Nowhere it said that it is OK to insult Chinese or anybody. biro Tata Negara just explains the reason why Malaysia as it is today.

It explains why for example Malays do not accept ” Malaysian Malaysia” concept by Lee Kuan Yew. On the surface it is a beautiful concept. but it negates the right of the Malays.

To the Malays ” Malaysian Malaysia” is not Malaysia for Malaysians. It is “Malaysia for Chinese only”.

As for Nyghtsky, well again you fell for trap by DAP. Look around you, who controls the economy. Which race dominates the private university. Which race is discriminated in private sector?

65. #66 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 11:30 pm

saudara fish,
    yang awak katakan tu memang betul. macam mana nak jadi warganegara Malaysia kalau tak tahu berbual dalam Melayu, bahasa penduduk asal tanah ini, orang Melayu, yang sama status dengan ‘orang pre-bumi’ seperti yang sedang berada di Sabah dan Sarawak.

macam mana nak jadi warganegara Malaysia kalaulah tak tahu Melayu tak kira bahasa pasar atau bahasa rasmi, bahasa kelantanese yang ada unsur-unsur Siam yang tidak difahami oleh lebih daripada 80% rakyat, atau pun Melayu utara, Melayu selatan, Melayu Baku yang tidak diperhatikan langsung oleh mana-mana agensi kerajaan pun.

yalah, macam mana boleh jadi warganegara Malaysia kalau tak tahu Melayu lisan…ceh, ceh, ceh…malu-lah. bukan macam orang yang saya kenali yang tahu membaca, menulis dan berbual dalam Melayu, Mandarin dan Inggeris. yang ada pula tahu membaca, menulis dan berbual dalam Melayu, Kantonis, Mandarin, Hokkien dan Inggeris! yang ada pula tahu Melayu, Tamil dan Inggeris!

amboi, orang macam ni memang hebat. tapi, tak kira-lah…tahu Melayu cukup. tak tahu Inggeris tak apa. tak tahu Mandarin, tak apa. tak tahu Tamil, lagi tak apa.

saudara fish, you da man! The true Malaysian! Malaysian Boleh! many of the rest of us are preparing to be citizens of the world, a bordeless world where you will not be lost as long as you know English or Mandarin or Spanish.

The person you speak of is not lost. But have you found yourself? Look around, there is such great cross-border immigration traffic in today’s world that the more advanced nations are throwing their borders open to accept such citizens of the world. Comprehension of and functionality in language command is more important than being conversant in the national language. I know Malays who DO NOT speak Malay well – does that make them ‘NOT MALAY’?

I am Chinese. I am Malaysian.

66. #67 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:05 am

Shamsul shamsul.. shame on u…

You surely didnt know much instead getting those from paper dont you?… are you aware tones of this ur so called “private sector” lead control by BN-factor? For 1 exp: Celcom-Maxis-Digi… who know what i mean!

It is why were moving down stream couldn’t compete with the global market today! Rate of inflation at its staggering high and many more factor!…

67. #68 by The Enforcer on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:15 am

What a terrific 10 points achievement plan in uncle Lim’s wish.
    The RAKYAT will definitely pray for these to materialised!
    Hope uncle Lim and DSAI and TEAM PR has all the ‘war’ plans well thought out to oust those GOONS asap.
    With the current situation in the country, the RAKYAT can’t wait for GE 13 to come!

68. #69 by katdog on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 2:10 am

shamshul anuar Says:
    To the Malays ” Malaysian Malaysia” is not Malaysia for Malaysians. It is “Malaysia for Chinese only”.

And this is exactly the kind of fear mongering that BTN spreads. That if Malay special rights are not upheld and chinese are given equal rights, the Malays would be forced by the evil chinese to become beggars and all the Malays will end up living in trees.

C’mon! Just how inferior do you think Malay’s are? Why do you look down on the Malays? What did BTN tell you will happen to Malay’s if non-Malays are given equal rights? Do you really believe you’ll all end up living in trees if non-Malays have equal rights?

shamshul anuar Says:
    Look around you, who controls the economy. Which race dominates the private university. Which race is discriminated in private sector?

Err… i don’t know if you noticed but, the UMNOputra’s control the economy. And the last i checked most of them are Malays i believe.

Which race dominates the private universities? Err, public universities are mostly reserved for malays. So are you saying, non-malays cannot study at private universities as well and it should also be reserved for malays? So where is it ok for non-malays to study then? Overseas in foreign universities?

Which race is discriminated in the private sector? I am not sure. I have worked with people of all races in the private sector. Most foreign multinational companies rarely practice racial discrimination. Foreign companies rarely want trouble with local governments so they definitely do not discriminate against any particular race. I would guess if there is any discrimination, it would be in smaller family owned type businesses. But i have not personally worked in such a company so i wouldn’t know.

Have you ever worked in a private company before? Maybe you can share your experiences. However, if you want discrimination, i think you would have an easier time to find discrimination in the public sector than in the private sector.

69. #70 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 2:47 am

OH, before i go sleeps. i post a question for Sham or Zak…

As UMNOputra claim NEP wasnt enough, ketuanan melayu etc.

If they were keen for the NEP could help lural Bumi, Why didn’t they ask for more contribution from those multi millionaires BUMI to contribute more ZAKAT? Why they prefer income tax instead, so they could injoy buying houses luxury cars etc to reduce tax! Why not contribute them to ZAKAT instead driving those Cars!?

* My conclusion is, whats the purpose NEP if we have sufficient Zakat(Keen) contributors!?

70. #71 by bclee on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 3:09 am

realmalaysian Says:

Yesterday at 09: 41.09
    What I find more shocking than Bukit Bendera MP’s remark on the Malaysian Chinese is to read that all our Prime Minister said was he doesn’t mean it and will make sure it will not happened again, nothing more! The DPM was no better being there in person when the speech was made. Shudder to think what will happen when he takes over the reign. What Pakatan Rakyat Chinese MPs should learn from this is that when the time for PR to take over the ruling government, please do not make the same mistake 51 years ago and allow the other non-bumi races to be 2nd Class citizens of Malaysia. We the non-bumis have slaved and sacrificed sweat and blood to make Malaysia as prosperious as it is today! WE DESERVE TO BE GIVEN EQUAL RIGHTS!~ So Uncle Lim, do us proud and spearhead EQUALITY FOR ALL MALAYSIANS irregardless of race, color or gender!

our id must only shown Malaysian and no special to any other race.

71. #72 by bclee on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 3:20 am

if the govement treat us as pendatang after 51 years of living together fighting for common goals,this is a very sad story.
    we need to change the BN govement, i start worry of my son future now.

72. #73 by bclee on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 3:39 am

Malaysia are rich of natural resounces but sad to say our country butget continue declared the 12th years deficit accounts.
    under current world economy sinario our goverement still have this type of giving out sweet butget. i feel very sad.
    uk now have the worse 60 years economy downtrend, us recession,euro zone gdp this quater at negatif. i doult what our govement did with it deficit butget will drag down further our economy, ringgit now at 11 month low against us dollor,stock tumbling down,business getting hard and harder.wolamat mati..

73. #74 by ktteokt on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 8:42 am

Didn’t it occur to the DYMM, the Cabinet, the Prime Minister, the Dewan Rakyat and the Dewan Negara that there is a serious contradiction in the law? What is stated in the Federal Constitution about “bumiputras” and “non-bumiputras” contradicts the provision in the RUKUNEGARA which states “membina sebuah masyarakat yang ADIL”?

These two provisions are at the far ends of the world respectively and just how is the Malaysian government going to make them meet? By dividing the people into Bumiputras and Non-bumiputras, there is already a classification and the issue of ADIL has been totally destroyed thus. So when the RUKUNEGARA was formulated, what Masyarakat yang ADIL are they talking about? How can it be JUST when SPECIAL RIGHTS are accorded to one party?

By the above two very CONTRADICTORY laws of Malaysia, the Malaysian Government has been SLAPPING ITS OWN FACE for the last 38 years!!!!!!!!!

74. #75 by undergrad2 on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:32 am

“Till today the Red Indians retain their special rights.” aqua

What special rights do American natives have today? They have been decimated over the years by disease introduced by the white men and genocide and ethnic cleansing; and their lands robbed from them. Their population has dwindled to a mere 1.0 million living mostly in the reservations. Most could not afford a TV.

To compare Malays to native Americans is an insult to our intelligence. It makes more sense had you compared the Senois and other natives to them whose lands we took; and if they were animals appropriate law would have been introduced to prevent their extinction!

75. #76 by undergrad2 on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 10:35 am

what the f*uck is wrong???

76. #77 by cheng on on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 11:09 pm

Does this Shamsul Anuar suggest, non Malay cannot study in private Uni, and cannot work in private sector, Come on, non Malay, in most case, had no choice, as govt Unis had very limited seat for them, & Govt offices etc, had so few job vacancy for them.
    What do u expect them to do? Who control economy, of course it is the Umnoputras that control !

77. #78 by aquaimplotec on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 1:11 pm

undergrad2,
    Malays and natives are treated as birds of a feather under the Constitution. What can I say but “You’ve got that right!”

78. #79 by aquaimplotec on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:50 am

Sndergrad2,
    Sad to say AAB did not perform to expectations. When a person is elected as PM but he has no experience, after 4 years he has not proven himself to be a capable PM, hence the rakyat wants a change but UMNOputras do not have a better person, so that is why Anwah Ibrahim can make a headway into politics. The 3 months probation has expired and AAB should not be confirmed!. I hope you understand this.

79. #80 by NG on Saturday, 6 September 2008 - 6:22 pm

rakyat r suffering. n they send the mp to oversea trip for study??what the f@@##K. they got nothing to spend .is it?