One Bangsa – 50 years on?

Letters
by Jeff Lim
Man on the Street

I am 51 years of age, Malaysian, a self made businessman, married with 3 adult children and living in Penang. I am just a down to earth man on the street earning a decent living and community service is part of my life. If there is RM50 to give away now. There are many individuals and families who would need it desperately just to get a square meal and get by a few days.

It saddens me to see disparity amongst the races and politicians fighting pitching against themselves and within themselves. This country is a mad house. A truly Malaysia context should be fighting for all Malaysians and energy and time should be use to address other priority issues.

The wealth indicators are often used to display the racial social standing status in terms of success and wealth. Chinese have much to be proud of. They could be better if not for the brain drain and political agendas. The others have only grievances to complain about one after another, simply because their living skills to help themselves is seriously lacking.

Yes, we lack true leadership in shaping the country. Singapore, our neighbour has forever been used as an exemplary example. Irrespective of who you are, be it a Malay, Chinese, Indian, whatever colour, meritocracy is the ONLY way of life. Nothing must stand in the way, nor politics nor religion nor corruption. In the days of P.Ramlee, we were all just one. Why must it be different now.

I sincerely pray that Permatang Paud election will be a huge success for PR in terms of a whooping victory. We need a new beginning, a breath of fresh air and hope. We need to carry on, even if it means taking another next 51 years. Malaysia Boleh, Malaysia for all Malaysians. Make it happen. God bless you and congratulation on the resounding victory on March 8th and LGE a legacy in the making. You must be a proud father.

Just 1 question – do you foresee a Bangsa Malaysia? Is that possible? and How and When?

Thank you for fighting a just cause even if it means going to jail which not many have that courage. Its time to celebrate the Permatang Pauh victory.

1. #1 by Saint on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:51 am

In the days of P. Ramli, people like Mahathir did not have any power.
    As for Bangsa Malaysia, it can be realized very quickly if you just remove the conversion laws. Any one can be in any religion without a problem, will solve most of our racial woes.

2. #2 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:54 am

“Why must it be different now?”

What a silly question. It is different now because UMNO has, for the past 30 years, used race and religion to enrich a select group of people within the party. That’s what they need to cling on to – the self-proclaimed right to steal. It is this habit which we must break or the country will literally go to the dogs.

3. #3 by Anba on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:02 pm

Dear Jeff,
    1. I like the hope you have. I too have such hopes. Chinese and Indians came to this country and uplifted the economy with the labor and hard work in tin mining and rubber plantation respectively. Yes, the minorities have contributed to this wonderful country and for that reason, we need to go after the Bangsa Malaysia concept, and not the Bangsa Melayu concept!

2. To acheive that Bangsa Malaysa, the MIC and MCA need to get leaders who will be willing to fight for us in the Parlimen. We need leaders for the minorities who will be willing to walk out of the BN coalition to form other coalition with other parties to form a government. Do we have a leader among the minorities who has the leadership to lead the country?

3. I’m still sceptical about Anwar Ibrahim. My conspiracy theory warns me of Anwar being just like another Dr. Mahathir in the making. He is a discontented Malay and will he be willing to abolish NEP and the Malays rights to have a natio where merit is given respect and way forward. If Anwar can agree to this in writing, then and only then I will trust him.

4. To see the attitutes of the Malays, just go to Dr. Mahathir’s blog, called Che Det. I have been writing in that blog for a few months now and I get lots of attack from the Malays who feels like my writing is provocative and warn me not to write like that. please visit that web site to see the foolishness of the Malays!.

5. The Permatang Pauh election’s results may be predictable, but what then, after Anwar wins? Thats the real question.

Until then, take care and God bless.
    Anba

4. #4 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:18 pm

Anba:

Judge a person by his actions. Give Anwar a chance to perform what he has been saying all this while. If he doesn’t meet with our approval, then we won’t vote for him the next time.

I too post comments on Mahathir’s blog, and it pains me to see how narrow-minded and senseless the pro-Mahathir supporters are. Remember that Mahathir is the master at using race and religion to further his objectives, and the current UMNO line-up is simply taking the cue from the old fox. Any fox will never give up the right to raid the henhouse.

5. #5 by wanderer on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:25 pm

To draw a crooked line, one needs no effort but, to draw a straight line it requires a lot of care and patience. I hope with the win in PP by PK, we are able to restore some integrity and decency back into this beautiful land of ours and wipe out the low down UNMNO s**ms. It will a difficult job ahead, to repair all the damages done, but, with the will, it can be done and it must be done for our future generations.

6. #6 by katdog on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:31 pm

Anba Says:
    “MIC and MCA need to get leaders who will be willing to fight for us in the Parlimen”.

ABSOLUTELY WRONG. We don’t need leaders who will only fight for their respective races. At the end of the day, the same thing will happen. These leaders from MCA-MIC-UMNO will use racial issues to get themselves voted in. At the end of the day, racial issues will NEVER end because these people are voted in for the purpose of fighting for racially specific issues only.

We need leader’s who are willing to look beyond racial issues for the good of the country and for ALL Malaysians irrespective of race.

7. #7 by Anba on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:31 pm

Dear Godfather,
    I agree with you. We need to give Anwar a chance. We cannot start by saying that he is guilty until proven innocent.
    Do you write at Che Det with the same name?

Take care.
    Anba

8. #8 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:36 pm

When I was a teenager, 40 years ago, I used to hear “China balikik China”. After 40 years I still heard of the same call for “Balik China”. This shows that UMNO-led government has miserably failed to educate the Malays to respect other races in Malaysia. They have successfully caltivated haterd amongst the races.

This narrow-minded ideology will destroy a country. Where can we go other than Malaysia. We were born here and will die here. This is the reality of life. Allah wants me to be born in Mlaysia. What can I do? If I were to have a choice, I would prefer to be born in China.

9. #9 by tiger88 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:38 pm

Singapore takes care of the minorities. They were given free education, bursaries, scholarships, etc. to bring them up as quickly as possible. The minorities had succeeded there and they are proud of themselves making their own living without much help from their govt. now. A nation must progress this way instead of handouts. Education is the best investment for any family or nation.

10. #10 by badak on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:41 pm

Yes the good old days… In national schools non malays are made to look like third class citizens.Even history is change to make it look like only the malays fought for our freedom.
    Where will MALAYSIA be, without its divest races and religion.UMNO led BN goverment are going round the world selling MALAYSIA as a country with all its different races and religion.But back home its so different ,Its just piss me off.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:49 pm

Why must it be different now?

Why indeed? Simple explanation: Once Umnoputras and their cronies had put their greasy hands into a cookie jar and grabbed whatever that is inside the jar without fear of accountability and on the pretence of meeting the goals of NEP, the door to temptation, corruption, and self-enrichment has been kept wide open.

To keep the door exclusively open for Umnoputras and their cronies to keep taking cookies out of the jar at their pleasure, they have to play racial politics and feed contrasting information to different racial groups in the country, and they have to control the parliament, states, judiciary, police, ACA, AG chambers.

They cannot afford to have a Bangsa Malaysia and a Malaysia where all Malaysians work harmoniously together to face the world and tap the riches of the world.

Under that situation, race-based political parties like Umno, MCA, and MIC surely si liao and si kiao-kiao!

12. #12 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:50 pm

I am a fox waiting outside a chicken cage. Inside the cage, I could see the chickens are fighting against each other. These chickens are of different breeds. When the cage is open, I just eat all of them up. That is Malaysia, a loosely tied community, and is bullied by outsiders because the big brother inside is bullying the weak ones and they used to fight too often. While they can bully the weak ones inside the cage, they don’t know how to defend the whole group of chickens, including themselves.

13. #13 by nyghtsky on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:56 pm

Godfather, I would rather think its BN rather than just UMNO. BN which consist of MCA, MIC and UMNO has used race and religion to protect their self-proclaimed right to steal.

e.g. MCA has always claimed that they were the defenders of the rights of the Chinese Rakyat against who else but the other races.. similarly MIC for Indians and UMNO for Malays. This crap has been continuously fed to us for the last 30 years to keep the Rakyat divided so we may look to them while they cheat us blind! Its basically the Divide and Rule/Conquer theory in play!

In politics and sociology, divide and rule (derived from Latin divide et impera) (also known as divide and conquer) is a combination of political, military and economic strategy of gaining and maintaining power by breaking up larger concentrations of power into chunks that individually have less power than the one implementing the strategy. In reality, it often refers to a strategy where small power groups are prevented from linking up and becoming more powerful, since it is difficult to break up existing power structures.

I was privy back then when DSAI was no better than those he oppose today; and till this very day, I believe it was God’s will that DSAI had to spend 6 years in jail only to emerge a humbled man, who realise how it felt to be oppressed by those in power. Had he not been booted out by the very tyrants he ran with back then, I seriously doubt that he would the man we believe will lead us back into the light; of a new Malaysia by the Rakyat for the Rakyat!

14. #14 by lovepeace on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:59 pm

i wish that life too. nice to watch those p ramlee movies. very multi cultured. all this religion and race issue is just the main city. last time when i went to rawang. i saw these malay pakciks eating chicken rice at a chinese restaurant, the chinese hawker respect the malays who eat at his place and for years he have never offered porks or even sell them. that is what we want. all those dreams are spoiled by irresponsible politicians and now race and religion is something which they use to maintain their position. malaysians now are aware of this,

malaysians lets me ask u a question, do you really hate the other races in our country?

iam sure everyone of us some how some what must have friends who is not the same religion with us. we visited them on their festivals and we visited them on their’s. always remember the joy that we had together……….why must we pretend to hate other races just to make sure that people see us as religious and with high spirit for own race, remember dont care what race u r the blood is still red. ignore people who are using racial card and violance, lets love each other to ensure unity and peace is maintained, lets make a new history for malaysia…..lets show the world that malaysia is truly asia and we are living soul……..

happy merdeka……….

15. #15 by richard.wong8 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:02 pm

50 years of BN rule is far too long. Vote for a change, we cannot wait anymore longer……..

16. #16 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:03 pm

Cheers to you, Anba and Godfather. I admired your contribution in both Mahathir’s and input in this blog.

Im considered “Infant” in blogs comment as compared to both of you as I only started 4 months back, didn’t realised such wonderful avenue existed – ‘slow-lah’ Now, I wanted to also journey into this blog thing to make Malaysia a better place and also share my 2sen opinion and above all, to be counted as a Malaysian who cares.

I draw inspiration from ppl like you. Though I did not directly felt those frustration, intimidation, or pain, I can understand and appreciate it well.

Anba, do not be intimidated and resign in pursuing your ‘dreams’ in making Malaysia a better place. It just take time. You r doing a good job. I believed when you and Godfather shared your comments into Mahathir’s blog, you have already achieved your objectives.

1. To let them know, there are people who are different from them.
    2. To tell them, Malays, they are NEVER alone!!

Its going to be a long long journey, as the provobial saying goes: ‘Rome was not build in a day’. Godfather is right to say that we must give Anwar a try simply because
    a.There is no one else right now that is qualify to lead.
    b. A step of faith for Anwar to do a good job in ‘action’.

Journey on mates, you may be closer than you thought for a better Malaysia. Cheers.
    ok, back to PP updates.

17. #17 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:04 pm

WELL SAID KATDOG.

racist are maggots. anwar must and will win and race based parties will be history.

18. #18 by taiking on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:05 pm

Yes Godfather said to let anwar have a chance to prove himself.

This is so true and is a simple request which all malaysian must give serious consideration.

I would repeat Godfather’s words except that I will put it in a greater perspective.

Let true democracy and two party system prove themselves.

Malaysia can never go wrong with this formula.

One party checking on the other.

So whoever is in power jolly well perform and perform satisfactorily.

In the current situation we are, who is to check on UMNO?

We can only blog our views and frustrations and unhappiness.

All other avenues are shut to us.

The umno led government is too arrogant to listen anyway.

Being in power for too long, they have grown very comfortable with their position and power.

They have grown too large for the nation’s good.

Tell them this shall we all.

Yes, tell them to leave.

Coz the new guys are coming in.

19. #19 by nyghtsky on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:11 pm

Lovepeace, I’m with you, brother….

During the olympics, as I watched while Misbun massaged Chong Wei’s thighs between sets and a victorious Chong Wei leaping into his outstretched arms during the semis…

I realise that we were watching the inevitable…

one Race, one Malaysia! Cheers

20. #20 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:13 pm

Meritocracy is NOT the only way of life. Even in Singapore whose example Jeff Lim provides, Singapore’s brand of meritocracy has it’s own hidden dangers.

A recent survey revealed that 53 per cent of Public Service Commission scholarships go to those who live in private property and largely hail from the crème de la crème of schools and have benefited from the various schemes that cater to the academically talented, such as the Education Ministry’s Gifted Education Programme.

Their dominant social status arising from higher household incomes suggests that they possess the cultural capital required to ‘make it’ in life, as nurtured by their parents who are likely to have attained qualifications at the tertiary level.

While there is general acquiescence that these scholarships are indeed awarded on the basis of academic performance and individual achievement alone, the preponderance of the socially privileged among them merits scrutiny. Singapore’s education system, which has always been held up as a model of social mobility for all, is attenuated because one group benefits from a distinct advantage over the others. The public perception that there is an inherent link between students from wealthier households and high academic achievement is pervasive.

In a meritocracy, some individuals are bound to do better than others. But one big worry is that the elites (those who rise to the top of the Singapore system) become a class unto themselves and fail to empathise with the needs and problems of the rest of society. This in turn breeds resentment among those who do not make it to these top ranks, as they feel excluded and envious of those who do.

Elitism that exists in Singapore society is as much anti-meritocratic as is positive discrimination in Malaysia.

21. #21 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:17 pm

It is clearly the tumour in our Nation that needs to be remove before it turns into concerous cells,
    a developed country does not live double standards and harvest its resources in full use for the Nation.
    But we are selling out our prosperity and our future instead.

NEP was created to help poverty in 1970 but today it has become poised for the young generation, our leader should start working on it or our nation future shall remains mirage.

Our govern policy had fail miserably and there for we need a new govern as many country already started voting opposition as rulling govern such as Australia.

Scrap nuke energy proposal start working our own solar system as we had best quality white sand in the world lacated in Terengganu, it’s high-grade silica oxide(the main raw material to produce solar cells). Stop exporting them!

22. #22 by bennylohstocks on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:24 pm

23. #23 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:24 pm

zak_hammaad Says:

Today at 13: 13.22 (6 minutes ago)
    Meritocracy is NOT the only way of life

zak, Lost again?
    If meritocracy is not the only way, what is? Share with us pls.
    I have to read a few more time to understand what you are trying to say..
    “anti-meritocratic as is positive discrimination in Malaysia?”

24. #24 by katdog on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:30 pm

zak_hammaad Says:

“Meritocracy is NOT the only way of life… Singapore’s brand of meritocracy has it’s own hidden dangers.”

“Elitism that exists in Singapore society is as much anti-meritocratic as is positive discrimination in Malaysia.”

You saying meritocracy bred elitism which in turn is itself anti-meritocratic. I have no idea what point you are trying to make.

25. #25 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:33 pm

Dear anba:

Yes, I write in chedet.com under the same name. I just can’t stand the infantile ass-licking that goes on in Mahathir’s blog in response to Mahathir’s “it-wasn’t-me” scribblings.

26. #26 by swipenter on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:36 pm

So long as the biggest political party in the country uses their time honored slogan ” for race ,religion and country” to get into the driver seat it is going to be extremely difficult to unite the country and heal her people. But we have hope that PR is going to change the way politics is being conducted in the country with emphasis on fairness, equality, justice and good governance and transparency for all Malaysians and where ideologies and not race and religion is the uniting force. If we start to stop classifying ourselves as malay, chinese,indians etc and muslim,buddhist,hindu,christian and lain lain we can have a bangsa malaysia over time.

And dont discount how globalisation is affecting us politically,economcally and socially. We either adapt to this new reality or risk seeing the world pass us by and slowly regress and live like the proverbial frog in the well.

27. #27 by boilingmad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:36 pm

Zak_h, I agree that meritocracy is not the ONLY way of life, but it is one of several good ways of life. Singapore may not practise it ideally, but which country does anyway? The important thing is that as long as people benefit significantly, then the system works. It is obvious that those who do not do well will always complain that everyone else is wrong except themselves.

Unfortunately in Malaysia, the practice of meritocracy is lacking. Evidence is aplenty, starting with cabinet ministers for one. An embarrassing lot of politicians.

And we don’t only have negative discrimination in Malaysia, we also have elitism, “cronysm”, corruption of the highest level, compromised judiciary, corrupted police force, etc. You name it, and we have it.

So, Anwar Ibrahim is, at this moment, our only hope for a new start.

28. #28 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:40 pm

Mahathir singlehandedly destroyed the judiciary and corrupted the ACA, the AG’s Chambers and the PDRM for his own ends. I thought that he would have the brains to correct his wrongdoings before he handed over the reigns to Sleepy Head, but he did not. He merely handed over the corrupt system to Badawi who found it extremely convenient to use the system for his own ends. It is sad that UMNO has no statesman who cares about the greater good for all.

To another writer’s comment that it is not UMNO, but the whole BN which is to be blamed for the malaise, let me again say that it was Mahathir who “killed” the very foundations of MCA, MIC and Gerakan. He alone decided who was to lead these minor coalition parties, not the Chinese or the Indians.

29. #29 by taiking on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:41 pm

“A recent survey revealed that 53 per cent of Public Service Commission scholarships go to those who live in private property and largely hail from the crème de la crème of schools …” Zak Hamaad quoted this from somewhere.

That survey result is quite true from my observation.

There is one important point to note. RI, RGS, HC, SJI, ACS and all the crème de la crème of schools, you name them, are accessible to all singaporeans based on PSLE (equivalent to our UPSR) score. In other words, no quota or any other form of restrictions, politically imposed or otherwise.

The number of students in these schools who are from more affluent homes are higher than the national average. But one must remember that education is an expensive affair. So naturally those from richer homes would enjoy an advantage over those from poorer ones. Having said that, it is still merit that counts when it comes to entry selection.

30. #30 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:44 pm

dear zak_hammaad.

meritocracy is proactive. it helps to develop the best in each of us in different field. meritocracy provides an avenue for each to grow and develop.

discrimination is reactive. it favours one over the other regardless if the favoured one is capable or not.

elitism is not for all of us and myself. it is for the those who are in the ruling coalition. admittedly, there are elitists in umno, mca and mic and even gerakan. how else would you zak_hammaad , kindly enlighten how they young linggs and lahhhs and the limmms and tirsss and the luus are so rich so young. unless otherwise , it is inherited properties like the hiltons.

understand la.

31. #31 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:46 pm

taiking, so you are not putting a price on meritocracy? Are you saying that those who are from poorer households do not deserve to be given the chance to realise their full potential?

32. #32 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:48 pm

dear godfather,

can you kindly repost the site of yours on pas. i have trouble trying to search for it. if pas can have non malay , non muslims as friends of pas, umno is still in time warp.

thank you.

33. #33 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:51 pm

zak,

are you saying that those from a different race do not deserve to be given a chance to realise their full potentials ?

34. #34 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:56 pm

Godfather Says:

>> Judge a person by his actions. Give Anwar a chance to perform what he has been saying all this while.

Correct and thus based upon his actions over the last 15 years or so, Anwar does not deserve a chance. He does not practise what he preaches/d and is known to be of unstable character who becomes anything to anyone just to get what he wants. Such an amphibian does not deserve a chance because he can do far more damage than what we attempting to redeem.

Badawi won a landslide in 2003 because of his “mr clean” image and we know he was no mr clean; we cannot vote in Anwar on the per chance that this mr dirty is some sort of an angel. He has no vision and no concrete policies to guide Malaysia (he already did a lot of damage as DPM and finance minister).

>> I too post comments on Mahathir’s blog, and it pains me to see how narrow-minded and senseless the pro-Mahathir supporters are.

Such is the joy of blogging, I suspect it pains them too how senseless your rabid diatribes against Mahathir are.

>> Remember that Mahathir is the master at using race and religion to further his objectives,

Who instigated May 13th riots? Mahathir’s “Malay Dilemma” was written after and in response to this incident. If you think the incident in 1969 was not related to race or that “affirmative action” is racist, then you really are narrow-minded to the complexities of ground realities and social demography of Malaysia.

35. #35 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:00 pm

Ah, so here we have a rabid supporter of Mahathir’s. Excellent. Zak is here only by virtue of the fact that he is also anti-Badawi and anti-UMNO. I will reply to your sycophantic comments after I return from lunch.

36. #36 by max2811 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:05 pm

A lot of problems will be solved when UMNO is no more relevant to the malays. It is the souce of all the problems Msia faces. However, PAS, might be the party malays turn to. Another problem.

I would suggest removing all vernacular schools. Only English schools as in Spore. Mother tongue subjects can be taught in these schools as electives.

37. #37 by taiking on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:20 pm

No Zak. Those from poorer homes have equal opportunity to gain entry. They are disadvantaged only by their own background.

Look at one realistic example. A city boy with computer and tuition vs a kampung kid with slippers and nothing else. It is quite apparent the kampung kid would be disadvanged by his background.

Its not about putting a price on meritocracy. There is no such thing. And I do not advocate putting a price on meritocracy. That would undermine meritocracy.

In fact, in true meritocracy which is being pratised in singapore, students from poor families are given financial assistance without regard to his race and religion.

We should learn from them.

38. #38 by oknyua on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:24 pm

Taiking, aha.. that’s what NEP was orignally intended to be which has been hijacked by UMNOputera for their own agenda. Now they twisted it further that any question on this issue is “a challenge on Ketuanan Melayu.”

39. #39 by swipenter on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:36 pm

Zak I believe “that affimative action” was not conceived to be rascist but in practice it is. It is a good idea went wrong and racist in its implementation. It is thoroughly abused and hijacked for the benefits of the ruling elites and their cronies and those in the loop.

I know of malay couples earning a high six figure income and yet their children are studying overseas on govt scholarships .Isnt this elitism? Help should be given to those in need. If the majority comes from a certain ethnic group so be it but dont use affirmative actions and turned it into official tools of discrimination.

40. #40 by tan chi nam on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:49 pm

heLLO aLL,
    today the phenomenon start….
    all malaysian of all races can wish for a better future….

41. #41 by Patek 1472 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:53 pm

Malaysiakini Bloggers Headlines on 27 August 2008.

“Man of Honour” won Landslide Victory in P44 Permatang Pauh!

Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka!

A defining moment in Malaysian History was achieved when DSAI won the by-election in Permatang Pauh yesterday with a landslide victory over his opponent just 3 days prior to Parliament presenting it’s 2009 Budget (29 August 2008) and 5 days prior to Malaysians celebrating it’s 51st Anniversary of Merdeka (Liberty Day) on 31st August 2008.

Sit tight for the next episode on 29 August 2008, the preview to 16 September 2008 when Malaysia celebrates “Freedom Day”.

More Prophesies at Nostradamus Quatrains on “Wag the Dog” and Nostradamus Quatrains on Malaysia.

http://patek1472.wordpress.com

42. #42 by dlquill on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:58 pm

changes in politics are sensitive issues and must never be drastic. If you abolish let’s say NEP, it is better to setup another Multiracial Economic policy and eventually merge the NEP into MEP. It is a wiseman who can critisize but taken away the sting so the message is sent but not the hurt. Hope for a better future and all the best to DSAI

43. #43 by dlquill on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:04 pm

And talking about chedet, i have deleted it from my favourites because i think the writer is rubbish and the b*lls carrier commentators are too much. If i keep on reading it I will get angry and change the “DET” to “BET”

44. #44 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:12 pm

Zak:

How do you know that Anwar is unfit to be a national leader or even PM ? You, like all rabid Mamakthir supporters, heard it from the boss, right ?

I worked with Anwar for several years in the early 90s. I travelled with him to New York, to Frankfurt, and we talked a lot about what needed to be done for the better good of the country. He knew then that it would be difficult, but he had to try from within. He knew that the likes of Daim, Aziz Shamsuddin, Mike Tyson would be difficult to dislodge so Anwar tried to “plant” his own people in areas of influence – Nazri in NSTP, Murad in BNM, Wan Hasni in commerce. These people were simply no match for the entire machinery that your boss Mamakthir had at his disposal. The outcome of 1998 was inevitable – to listen to the IMF and to devalue the RM would be disastrous for Mamakthir cronies like Vincent Tan, the Yeoh family, and for the Mamakthir children.

As a result of the pegging of the RM, Mamakthir promoted the guy who lost RM12 billion of the country’s money on FX gambling. He promoted the guy who was caught by the ACA with several hundred thousands in cash in his office drawer. Every single key participant in Sodomy 1 was promoted following Anwar’s incarceration.

Now, you don’t know half of what I know because I was part of the system that your boss Mamakthir built. I was part of the system that bullied banks (and the EPF) into lending for grandiose projects, and into lending for Daim and Mamakthir cronies like Halim Saad, Tajuddin Ramli and others. I was part of the system that saw Daim and Mamakthir approve the transfer of the Perlis IPP to a Daim crony, and the forcing of TNB to enter into a Power Purchase Agreement with another Mamakthir crony – Syed Mokhtar.

I can write a book about the system that Mamakthir built out of first-hand experience. That’s why I write in chedet.com that God keeps Mamakthir alive to see for himself the demise of Bolehland.

Once Badawi tasted the illicit fruits of the corrupt system that Mamakthir left behind, he was hooked. He realised that having the key to the country’s Treasury enabled him to keep the reins of power. Mamakthir now laments that UMNO is corrupt, that Badawi is corrupt. Obviously he needs to look at himself in the mirror.

Yes, the sycophantic comments on Mamakthir’s blog (“You are the greatest”, “You are my hero”, “You have no equal”) only represent a miniscule percentage of voters who can no longer make any headway within UMNO or out of UMNO. That’s why people like Zak come to this blog to voice his frustration with the Sleepy Head.

45. #45 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:16 pm

Just to interrupt, just reported at Malaysian Insider site

“2.45pm: Umno party workers estimate that as of 11am with 36% voter turnout, Anwar leads with 61% against Arif’s 39%.”

Wondering, how UMNO can make so quick and accurate estimate before counting?

46. #46 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:24 pm

Mamakthir knows no shame – and he has passed this trait of his throughout UMNO.

47. #47 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:26 pm

zak_hammaad,

are you just making things up about the haves and have-nots in singapore because they are so close and are small therefore you think you observed right? you’re darn right singapore does more to nurture the gifted. why would anyone in their right frame of mind not? umno on the other hand does an excellent job driving out the gifted because their skin is of the wrong color. u’r right about the rich parents-smart kids cycle, but thats the beauty of meritocracy. in any free market society and true democracies, the rich gets richer, but the poor who gets poorer are a result of ineffective social management. singapore, has zero poverty, so where did u get ur info from about resentment towards the wealthy? the rich is indeed rich, by most definition, but the john doe’s and jane smith’s on the street ain’t complaining. u reap what u sow. none of that can be said about malaysia. rich kids may opt to go abroad, but national u of singapore functions entirely on merits. close to 90% of students hail from HDB households. n do u know where NUS is rank?

48. #48 by horizon on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:30 pm

Education is the main key of a nation. I was shocked when I read a text book from my 7 years old nephew. It teaches how we divided into colours, races, and religions. This is very sad to see our education going this to our 7 years old.

49. #49 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:31 pm

Let us all pray for a peaceful by-election
    With smooth balloting at every polling station
    Bearing in mind the need to keep good name of nation
    Let all parties do their own things without friction

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 260808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Tue. 26th Aug. 2008.

50. #50 by m.hwang on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:53 pm

‘zak_hammaad Says:

Today at 13: 13.22 (2 hours ago) Elitism that exists in Singapore society is as much anti-meritocratic as is positive discrimination in Malaysia.’

Then we are really SCR@WED big time in Malaysia..we have BOTH elitism and discrimination.

51. #51 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:55 pm

allow me to share a little about Singapore’s Gifted Program.
    My daughter went to Qihua Primary School, a neighbourhood school that was quite new at the time.

She had transferred from JB Convent but able to enter Primary 2 without any problems. She took the tests for the GEP in Primary 6 and was placed in Raffles Girls School where one of her classmates was the PM’s daughter.

We never really pushed her to excell and she was quite good in her studies and graduated from NTU.
    The point I am making is if you are good (of whatever nationality) they have a system to take you far.

Having said that, there is some element of elitism in the GEP. I guess that applies to any group when you represent the top 1% of your cohort. And we did not have to pay the $400 per month school fees.

52. #52 by tiger88 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:00 pm

In Singapore, those who cannot afford have other avenues like govt. bursaries, community help groups, etc. The minorities and the poor are specially taken care of as they do not need to pay for education.

53. #53 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:06 pm

meritocracy = Lim Kit Siang…

If he doesnt fit no one else in this country does, look into his biodata ull see what i mean…

UMNO only works cuz they had been paid and paid well to do their work, since the day DAP was emerge they get paid NOTHING but detained under the Internal Security Act! Thats “meritocracy”.

54. #54 by m.hwang on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:07 pm

‘HJ Angus Says:

Today at 15: 55.29 (6 minutes ago)
    She took the tests for the GEP in Primary 6 and was placed in Raffles Girls School where one of her classmates was the PM’s daughter.’

Humour me…was it TDM or AAB’s daughter. Either 1 is unlikely cause we know with their money and privileges their kins can be sent to more elite schools in the UK or US.

55. #55 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:23 pm

Jot it down: today (on 31st Aug 2008), celebrating 51 yrs of MERDEKA, our parliment is clearly seen to be KELAMKABUT with racial issue: “Negeri Melayu, Balik Cina”, etc etc.

Jot it down that, after 51yrs of Merdeka, Malaysia is still sunk in the racial issue and the BN government FAILED to solve this problem.

But: within the next 50 years, can PR change all this? While PAS won’t change the Islamic State policies and DAP insists on Malaysian Malaysia… can the future change?

Do the PKR have any racial agenda? (don’t worry about UMNO – this party is slowly dying now).

Will UMNO members (mostly Malay) keep quite by then? Are you sure?

56. #56 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:25 pm

“This in turn breeds resentment among those who do not make it to these top ranks, as they feel excluded and envious of those who do.” — zak_hammaad

What a joke. If you do not make it to the top in a system based on merit, at least you know you lost only to the best after competing on the same terms. It is obviously better than not making it to the top in places where the system is controlled by cronies and idiots who have no abilities to justify where they are, and where they twist the rules to suit themselves all the time.

57. #57 by cheng on on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:35 pm

Yes, meritocracy is the only way of life. Any new (if ever) govt can help the Malay to achieve merit by extra help, coachings, tuitions, classes, trainings etc and NOT by HANDOUT, Handout is not sustainable ! Malay can be encouraged to put in more effort in business, studies, skill learning etc, Govt can find ways to motivate them, this is the ONLY way to move Msia forward. THIS IS JUST COMMON SENSE !

58. #58 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:36 pm

PPl, hold your breath,

1.Calon PKR Anwar Ibrahim bersama dengan penyokongnya telah menangkap “hantu”.

2. From http://anilnetto.com/civil-society/polling-day-live-reports-from-ground-zero/
    1610: Ah Singh has this update for us. Could this be true? Interesting “mental estimates”! Polling’s not yet over though… We shall see.
    Anwar won already-lah. My kaki just rang me at 3.15 pm to say landslide victory for Anwar after he and some guys did some ‘mental’ estimates at the polling stations. No fight-lah. Anwar won hands down. All hail the new Prime Minister of Malaysia

Stay calm pls.

59. #59 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:45 pm

Folks, be prepare news blackout anytime soon. Things are moving real Hot. Hope to celebrate with everyone here, stay tune.
    Merdeka!!!

60. #60 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:50 pm

Adam, firstly you do not answer a question with a question because it shows your incompetence and your avoidance of the issue at hand. Nevertheless, as to your question; no one can condone withholding opportunities to anyone to further their potential, academic or otherwise. What problems are unique to S’pore are unique to them and ours to us. I simply made a point to Jeff’s initial post where he was eulogising S’pore and it’s brand of “meritocracy”.

If BN did not tickle your fancy, I can assure you that Pakatan may certainly work towards the other extreme. Until and unless you find a middle path that is acceptable and consensualised by most Malaysians, we’ll be back to square one.

So going back to my previous question: Are those who are from poorer households deserve to be given the chance to realise their full potential? The affirmative plan may have had noble intentions, we know that in practise, it is very much prone to corruption and abuse; therefore the opposition needs to formalise and present HOW they will amend it to make is suitable for all in Malaysia of 2008 and beyond.

61. #61 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:50 pm

M’sia kini :
    4.35pm: Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is understood to have left Penang to Kuala Lumpur, an early indication that the premier has accepted defeat and has no reason to stay back.

62. #62 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:55 pm

tiger88 Says:

>> The minorities and the poor are specially taken care of as they do not need to pay for education.

I was not speaking of government help tiger, I was specifically pointing to S’pore’s brand of meritocracy where if you have a greater chance (even privilege) of having the opportunities to excel if you are wealthy and live in private housing. I thought meritocracy was a system in which advancement is based on individual ability or achievement not their social status and elitist mentality?

63. #63 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:59 pm

Zak:

Now that Anwar has more or less won the seat, maybe I should also tell you that I have put him and his PKR people on notice that I will be watching them. I will be watching to see what they do, and how they intend to make the changes we can believe in.

Anwar’s weakness in the past was in listening to the wrong people, and getting the wrong advice. Within UMNO, he was under pressure to give contracts and shares to his cronies, who were all looking on as Rafidah, Najib and Mamakthir helped their cronies to the contracts and shares. It was an impossible situation. Outside of UMNO, he can now start afresh and be a leader for all, and not as leader for a new den of thieves.

64. #64 by britcrazelady on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:00 pm

Q : What’s M’sia made of?
    A : (M’sia Govt answers) MALAY + SIA

Q : What’s SIA?
    A : Orang sia-sia..

Now you know why the Chinese and Indians have been disregard!!

65. #65 by justiciary on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:10 pm

In Malaysia,until now,the practice of meritocracy is lacking.This is evident as you can still hear the echoes ‘it is a matter of who you know but not what you know’ in this country.Isn’t it pathetic?

66. #66 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:16 pm

just a moment, if Anwar wins PP, I would encourage the government to continue in their abuse of power and implement ISA on Anwar to keep him from parliament. I think a lot of anti-opposition forces would be happy for Anwar to be interned to stop him from ruining Malaysia if given the chance at premiership. A vote for Anwar is a vote for anti-national forces, however an opposition without DAP and Anwar as a figurehead may work better for the country.

67. #67 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:20 pm

zak:

You should just follow your master Mamakthir and migrate to Zimbabwe. Do it quick as there may be a new government in Zimbabwe which may not be as friendly to Mamakthir as the current government.

68. #68 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:25 pm

Woh Zak, thats not very nice of you to say such things.
    Cheap trick, where did you learn this 3rd grade politic?
    From your good OLD master?
    Should try harder…

Time is near. Whatever you have
    in mind will be answered in due time.

You be doomed!!!! Therefore consider yourself bless
    what the country has to offer you, sound familiar, isn’t it?

69. #69 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:27 pm

A year ago, I argued with Limkamput and several others as to whether we should bring Mamakthir to justice, given the blatant abuse of power he wielded over 22 years. I was more magnanimous, preferring to see the Mamak live the rest of his life untouched.

Now after reading the Mamak’s postings in chedet.com, I puked so many times that I now concur with Limkamput that we must bring the Mamak to account for his actions, no matter how long it takes so that subsequent generations can learn a lesson from this.

70. #70 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:33 pm

One more thing Zak:

Your blessing doesn’t mean its infinity,
    Im sure you dig? So, buried your past.

Come clean, set yourself free from yrs of bondage!!!!
    Don’t shit around town, no one gonna clean it up for you
    coz the rakyat all be celebrating in PP!!!!

C’mon join us, don’t be a sour grape!!!
    There’s always room for one more like you.

71. #71 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:35 pm

Godfather, if you don’t like Malaysia, take your own advise and migrate (a lot of your peers are already doing it). There is not an iota of a chance that Mahathir can be charged because his contributions to Malaysia far outweigh the allegations you wish to make stick.

Do yourself a favour and stop reading chedet. If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen as they :^)

72. #72 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:40 pm

We all know there is no one perfect system to meet the needs of everyone. We should be practical enough to have a system that ensures that 90% of those who deserve a rightful education be given the chance! Any system that reverses the above is deemed to fail. Of course if Zak… is rational enough, he will admit that the current system had failed miserably and the only slope we are rolling down to, is Zimbabwee! We do know that even after given the scholarship, the Gomen in Singapore does not always assure the poor performancers a safe job. They still compete with other nationalities who are sellng their skills over there. That is competition! Well if you can’t do the best paying job, then you go for the next lower level. As for here, you can all witness it! Lau Lee is trying to tell his people that it is better to allow outsiders to come to drag you up the steps of the ladder than to stand still.
    He prefers to take chance with one in a hundred amongst the new comers to help Singapore to stand above water than crying over its lack of brains within the country. So far the strategy is working well and we find ourselves crying with excuses. Unless we wake up, let us not make fools of ourselves with all these comparisions.

73. #73 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:41 pm

Dear Zak: while awaiting my comment to be moderated,
    You have No, Zero, – Zip, to tell anyone to do anything, let alone encouraging Gov’t to continue…

Looks like you cannot even live with yourself, can we expect you to live with anyone else? Like I say, the ppl here in this blog really is generous to you. If continue to exhibit this same recalcitrant mind of yours, like your guru – you’ll become insane.

74. #74 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:44 pm

britcrazelady, Malaysia is made up of many cultures and ethnicities and religion. The latter being the most crucial and defining feature of M’sians; No matter how much anyone wants to deny it, religious allegiance is primary before race or country.

As to your assumption of why the Chinese and Indians have been disregarded, I doubt you can back this up with facts as the Chinese remain the most economically successful of all races. Whether you believe this is because of the system or inspite of it is debatable; what matters is that they are accorded the means to achieve their successes.

75. #75 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:48 pm

Zak! stop your bad behavior at once!!! Hee hee
    You are now behaving like the ones in Parliment.
    If you don’t like Malaysia…..

Infact its not the Chinese who don’t like Malaysia.

It is people like your kind who says it, so owned up to it
    If you don’t like Malaysia, go back to Indonesia? Ai ya who cares, for those who behaves like animals can only go back to……..
    the jungle!!

76. #76 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:51 pm

Hey zak_hammaad, your forefathers came from Yunnan, north of Laos and Thailand. Thinking of migrating back to the land of your forebears? I’ll offer a khenduri of selamat jalan on your journey

77. #77 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 5:57 pm

lhslhv, if Cina balik China, then who the hell is going to win them a SILVER at the Olympics?????

78. #78 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:04 pm

k1980, err no. I came to Malaysia in 1992 and fyi, I am caucasian. Cheap remarks won’t get you anywhere, provide something of substance so that we can all see the depth of your intellect, thanks.

Godfather, do you know what Anwar stands for? Have you seen his manifesto and HOW he is going to dispense “justice”? Antagonising one race over another is the stuff that BN is accused of; I will also watch with interest how he tries to serve all equally within the unique social demography that is Malaysia. It is also impossible to reconcile secularism with Islam and therefore Patakan will need to seek a middle-ground.

Doing away with race-based politics is simply not enough to break the BN taboo, it needs far more than Anwar has shown to be capable of. If he was fettered by UMNO during his membership of it, what makes you think he will not be fettered under the machination of DAP with their own selfish secular agenda or even PAS?

This will be my last post on this particular thread, but will look forward to your response.

79. #79 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:05 pm

zak – your arrogance is like killer aka amat kasim dll.

humble yourself la. dont have to ask other malaysians to balik .

80. #80 by grace on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:08 pm

honestly malaysia can achieve what sigapore has. Only thing is that we must get leaders in the mould of Lee Kuan Yew, Goh Chok thong and lee hsien Loong.
    we have them here. But the problem is that such promising people are never appreciated by the ruling UMNO. Just at the likes of RPK or Bakri Musa. These people have ideas which are second to none. These are people of high principles but are not willing to join UMNO because it is riddledwith corruption. Until such time arrives, sad to say that we do not have much hope

81. #81 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:10 pm

zak- if you are a caucasian. and been in malaysia for only 16 years.
    so you are not a malaysian. syed hamid your goodfriend will ask you to stop interfering in our internal affair.
    my son , you can go home to where you claim to come from.

lol.

82. #82 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:21 pm

// I now concur with Limkamput that we must bring the Mamak to account for his actions, no matter how long it takes so that subsequent generations can learn a lesson from this.// (Godfather)

UMNO’s opinion about this is one thing. But both PKR and PAS have totally different views on this. By the way, DAP has the right to think about what to do.

But it would be most courtesy and respectful of you discuss with your partners first (PKR + PAS) simply because these two are your friends. Just hear what are Nik Aziz’s and DSAI’S opinions first.

83. #83 by just a moment on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:21 pm

Ok, Zak. The point is, most ppl knows what condition Malaysia is,
    either you try to make it better or make it worst. All your remarks thus far, is about impossible, cannot, All negatives.
    Well, enjoy your destiny but I urge you to be more liberal and optimistic in your undertaking. Remember this: If your contribution does not help, it hinders!! Relax.

84. #84 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:33 pm

// I now concur with Limkamput that we must bring the Mamak to account for his actions, no matter how long it takes so that subsequent generations can learn a lesson from this.// (Godfather)

UMNO’s opinion about this is one thing. But both PKR and PAS have totally different views on this. By the way, DAP has the right to think about what to do.

But it would be most courtesy and respectful of you discuss with your partners first (PKR + PAS) simply because these two are your friends. Just hear what are Nik Aziz’s and DSAI’S opinions first.

85. #85 by PSM on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:57 am

Because in the days of P Ramlee we had our beloved Bapa Malaysia, i.e. Tunku Abdul Rahman.
    We did not have the likes of Mahatir, Badawi, or even worse Khairi, Najib, Mohd2 Taib, Khir Toyo (the list is too long!)!
    The voters of PP did not vote “solely” for DSAI, they voted for change, for Bangsa Malaysia, for reformasi, for a better future for AAL of our children no matter what Race or Religion, & for the survival of Malaysia!

86. #86 by jeremiah on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:37 am

Saint wrote: “As for Bangsa Malaysia, it can be realized very quickly if you just remove the conversion laws. Any one can be in any religion without a problem, will solve most of our racial woes.”

If UMNO is smart enough, they will review the conversion laws, revamp the NEP, eradicate corruption and race-based politics at one go to steal the thunder from Pakatan Rakyat.

After the P44 victory, BN and UMNO will fail even more if they maintain their current policies. Second attempts to bring PAS into its fold will be an old trick that no longer works on the rakyat.

Many non-Muslims will want to reading and exploring the Islamic faith if they are free (as in Turkey, Indonesia and rest of the world) to convert out of the faith. Conversion is not a flippant thing like buying a commodity. But neither should it be a one-way street.

87. #87 by britcrazelady on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:27 am

zak_hammaad, how can u say the chinese are still the economically successful people here? if u notice the number of luxurious cars on the road, most of them are owned and driven by the malays! the chinese mainly retain their mercedes and bmw but the malays are painting the town with porche and lotus! btw, i believe most of the chinese rich men in m’sia don’t earn their money from this malay-land but rather money were hard-earned overseas and channeled into this malay-land to help the malays (in order to maintain their citizenship)! and btw, the chinese had to worked hard, gambled better life with their precious life, whereas the malays are still living “comfortably” with “hand-outs” of nep and others! so please, stop talking about the chinese being economically better!! we earned it.. but am still being shrouded in secrecy about the actual dollars and cents channeled into the bumi accounts without any terms and conditions, reason being, being born a “privilaged” malay.

88. #88 by Jan on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:53 am

Many in Malaysia believe Daim to be the richest man in Malaysia. In fact many malays are very rich only that it’s not on the official list.
    I believe malays or any race can make it if they work for it instead of whinging about it.

89. #89 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 12:47 pm

# zak_hammaad Says:
    Yesterday at 13: 46.03

taiking, so you are not putting a price on meritocracy? Are you saying that those who are from poorer households do not deserve to be given the chance to realise their full potential?

There are many hardcore urban poor who are denied assistance although they are excellent in their studies. Do not they deserve a chance also? Their grandfathers, their fathers and they themselves will always remain poor because of their colour?

90. #90 by lopez on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 6:21 am

We asked for change and we have made some changes…lets now look at change in the GLC….who are these people , who grant the jobs to who, who get into the board, who screens who get employed and who don’t. who get promoted and who don’t, who says the company major shareholder is humno…

91. #91 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 12:02 pm

bennylohstocks Says:

>> Their grandfathers, their fathers and they themselves will always remain poor because of their colour?

This is the pressing reality that we must work together to change for the better. Clearly BN change is not coming fast enough, but putting your hope on Pakatan may also not yield the results you desire. Not because they do not have the will, but because Malaysian politics remains a dirty game and dynamics can change within hours.

It will be interesting (or not) to see what Budget 2009 brings.

92. #92 by shamshul anuar on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 10:36 pm

DEar Anba,

Many thanks for thought provoking ideas. Let us be honest with ourselves. In order to get Malaysians to think as Malaysians, we have to start uniting them from tender age. As goes the saying “Melentur rebung biarlah dari rebungnya”.

It means all our children must study in one school. They must mingle together. Tamil and Mandarin also should be taught in the schools.

This is the biggest mistakes that a govt can make. Being a Malay and thinking so much of feeling of various races, succesive PMs allow establishment of vernacular schools, a rarity in this world. A Prime Minister must be bold to adopt one single school system. Make room for Chimese and Tamil to be learnt. In Sabah, a provision can be made to include language of Kadazan . Likewwise, in Sarawak, Iban can be taught.

Allow me to illustrate how Malays think about calls on meritocracy. They accept it. But they question on why for example they are not fairly treated in private sectors. And this I can vouch as the truth. But of course, it is impossible to think that our Uncle Lim to say anything about this.

Malays are asking why some Chinese politicians are dead set against Wawasan Schools. Malays are asking why so many politicians in DAP crying out loud on low number of Chinese in civil sector while keeping quiet on “Mandarin is preferred, hence automatically disqualifying non Chinese applicants.

Malays are asking why BAR Council conducted a forum on “Social Contract” something that affected the Malays with only one Malay panelist, Farish Noor. And no Malay whom I had ever met considered him as qualified to talk about Malays.

I am curious why Gerakan and MCa suddenly feel that their alliance with UMNO affected their performances in the last election. The truth is that UMNO is the lifeline of Gerakan and MCA, both which will be wiped out if not for UMNO’s support.

Malays are curious why so much said about race tag in Mykard but silence when it comes to Mandarin requirement in private sector.

Malays are askinh why some Chinese politicians fuel hatred by consistently portraying Chinese as 2nd class citizens while they control the economy.

Malays are asking why uproar on scholarship when many outstanding Malay students also do not get scholarship due to limited fund. Malays are asking( in private) why cant they question non Malay citizenship when non Malay politicians start to question their rights under Constitution. They reminded that they do not grant citizenship to non Malays for nothing.

I am not saying that Malays are free from mistakes. They also have so much weaknesses. They like to listen to things that in line of their political allignment. As such, they are willing to absolve Anwar when he refuses to swear when all Malays know that only guilty refuses to swear, asking for divine punishment should one lie.

Worse still, many of them are willing to forgo their political dominance ( the only strong point they have) in order to fulfil the ambition of a corrupt politician , Anwar, who used mountain of money to displace Tun Ghafar Baba as DPM in 1993.

93. #93 by aquaimplotec on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 11:23 pm

It is up to the leaders of our country to pave the way for Bangsa Malaysia. This must be instilled in the structure of political parties and public organisations and bodies. Pakatan Rakyat is the first party to champion non-racial delination and the Rakyat is hooked on this. This should be the way. Look at more advanced civilizations like UK & USA. Democratic or Liberal parties; no reference to race! The rakyat is already segregated by race and religion. There is no need for this at the government level.

Learn from more advanced countries, they too have evolved from primitive forms of government.

94. #94 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:12 am

In the USA they too have special rights for the Red Indians from which the immigrants (the Malays from Yunan and the Chinese from China and Indians from India) have by force taken over their land (the natives in Malaysia). Till today the Red Indians retain their special rights.

Here in Malaysia, the Malays are already the majority race and the majority obviously have majority rights even without the use of the special provisions in the Constitution of Malaysia!

To put matters worse, the majority Malays are demanding for constitutional rights over and above what majority rights they already have by reference to a misinterpretation of the wordings of article 153 of the constitution.

The best way to go about structuring for Bangsa Malaysia is to remove the words ” the Malays and” from the Constitution, something that should have been done in 1967. The removal would have no impact on Malay majority power!

Majority rules is universal! This applies equally in any democratic country.

What have the majority Malays got to loose. Don’t be an impediment to achieving Bangsa Malaysia!!!!!!

95. #95 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:07 am

Look at Ireland, an island to the west of England. A country shaken by civil strife for centuries. One half worships the mother of christ, the other half worships her son. A religious based government that just does not jive. An island torn by bombings and run by religious fanatics professing thier religious upbringing but not recognising their gods common mother and son blood ties.
    An island forever divided by what comes first, the chicken or the egg.

An island well known for the world wide joke – The Irish are the most stupid.

Fellow Malaysians, Malaysia may boleh but we may never better what the Irish have proven for centuries. Strive for Bangsa Malaysia; not for the Guiness World Record for upseating the Irish!!!!!!!!!!