Permatang Pauh voters – tryst with destiny

Polling for the Permatang Pauh by-election has just started.

This a tryst with destiny for the voters of Permatang Pauh. They have the opportunity to make history for themselves, 27 million Malaysians and future generations for a new Malaysia.

Let the Permatang Pauh by-election mark the rise of a pioneer generation of Bangsa Malaysia to herald the beginning of the new politics of Bangsa Malaysia to liberate Malaysians from the divisive and negative politics of race and graft of the Barisan Nasional.

In the past 10 days, UMNO and Barisan Nasional leaders pulled out all the stops to conduct the dirtiest, most disgusting and dishonourable election campaign in the 51-year history of nation, breaking all election laws against money politic and violating all moral and ethical principles of a clean and honest election campaign.

As I said in two eve-of-polling ceramahs last night, there is no doubt of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim being re-elected as MP for Permatang Pauh and his return to Parliament after an absence of a decade.

The only question is Anwar’s majority. I will not be satisfied unless it is an even bigger majority than Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail’s 13,398-vote majority in the March 8 “political tsunami” – to trigger a mini political tsunami in Malaysia by itself!

Let us be a witness to PP’s tryst with destiny.

1. #1 by taiking on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:15 am

TO INFINITY AND BEYOND

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:23 am

The margin of victory is most important. Above 20,000 votes margin and Putrajaya has more than even chance of within reach soon.

The thing about this election is that it showed the future leadership of Najib and Anwar. Anwar – seasoned, good execution, even teflon like – dirt does not stick to him – the best political talent among the Malays by far for this generation. Najib – a child or UMNOputraism, full of scheming, hesitant, resort to traditional means, lack vision and worst has more dirt and scandal around him than any other leader before him – and its sticking.

UMNO troubles are far from over even as Badawi leaves the stage. 1.5 term of a mediocre leader has left it in worst shape than any other time in history. Najib, albeit a better leader although even less visionary, has more scandals flying around him than any one before him. He also has a track record of failing terribly when the chips are really backed to the wall although he provide better excuses.

In a campaign of negatives which is Najib’s natural territory, Anwar comes out winning. Take this over the next few years and Sabah and Sarawak as well as MCA, MIC and many others will worry to no end that they will have to pay the price 4 years from now.

Anwar will be PM, its just a question of when. Mark my word…

3. #3 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:28 am

Anwar’s ceramah: 60,000 people
    UMNO Youth ceramah: about 150
    ‘Mongolia’ Jib: about 400

http://sloone.wordpress.com/2008/08/26/its-now-or-never-for-permatang-pauh/#more-2214

4. #4 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:29 am

D-Day ……

yes …. hopefully PP voters will teach BeEnd that it’s the End !!!
    and give PR a great victory.

5. #5 by therising on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:37 am

The future of Malaysia starts today!

6. #6 by mohrafael on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:37 am

We agree with you….let’s BN be Be End, ……PR to thrive!

7. #7 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:38 am

I hope the voters of Permatang Pauh will vote Anwar in with an overwhelming majority.

BN has to go.

By the way, ‘there is no question of something happening’ means ‘there is no possibility that something will happen’. I guess what Kit Siang meant was that ‘there is no doubt that DSAI will be re-elected’ rather than ‘there is no question of DSAI being re-elected’.

[You are right, Lee Wang Yen. English lesson accepted. Corrected. Trouble with blog-on-the-run. – kit 11.30 am]

8. #8 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:39 am

I would be content as long as Anwar can go back to Parliament.

To me the 13,398-vote majority is not so important as rain, good TV shows and lack of transportation can affect voters turnout.

9. #9 by Godfather on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:50 am

Tell the voters to take whatever goodies the Barang Naik consortium is offering – RM 200 angpows, RM 3000 loans, sewing machines, free food and drinks. Then vote DSAI. There’s nothing that the den of thieves can do if you take their goodies and vote someone else. Be opportunistic – there’s nothing wrong with taking the goodies, since they are paid for with OUR money.

10. #10 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:57 am

Godfather

The RM200 angpows is not that straightforward. They take down your name and your NRIC No.

Then they go and vote, using phantoms! So be careful!

11. #11 by PHUAKL on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:04 am

As Dr Ooi Kee Beng has written,
    unless UMNO undergoes genuine reform and becomes
    like the contemporary Taiwanese Guomindang (Kuomintang),
    it will end up as a fascist-racist political party.

I would also add that it will be a party supported only by the
    corrupt and the foolish (as well as the racist)!

Phua Kai Lit

12. #12 by saint on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:06 am

A new day has come in Malaysia’s govern….

Anwar Ibrahim vs Arif Shah = victory vs BeEnd…

13. #13 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:07 am

Anwar will definitely win the by-election.
    Probably with a landslide victory with increased majority.
    But, and a very real but, would he be allowed to take up office?

14. #14 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:14 am

I will not be satisfied unless it is an even bigger majority than Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail’s 13,398-vote majority in the March 8 “political tsunami”
    ===================
    Kit,
    But it would also depend on several factors like a running the 100 meters on a sunny day and a rainy day. We cannot expect the same time for the distance.
    As you have said this is the dirtiest election in 50 years. You have also to factor in vote rigging, vote buying, the lop sided TV coverage and the sodomy allegation and the voter turn out.
    In any case, I predict a 15,000+ majority and that will shame the devil, if at all they know the meaning of shame.

15. #15 by bennylohstocks on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:15 am

16. #16 by lkc57 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:22 am

There is an old Chinese saying “?????????” which translates as “those who commit more evils will be punished by Heaven”.

We have seen enough of the crimes and evils of BN on our beloved country. Today, the people are suffering because of the doings of betrayers who have raped the nation instead of building it into one respected and envied by the world. Current state of economy makes the people wordless. Vision 2020 is certain to derail, thanks to the BN government under the despicable leadership of AAB.

Let the people show these scoundrels, thieves and robbers the way out. Let the people teach them what a real government should be.

Let this 51st year after independence be a NEW BEGINNING – A New Malaysian Malaysia!

17. #17 by taiking on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:22 am

Two things.

One, anwar will win.

Two, anwar will win with a bigger majority.

They are both events certain and definite.

18. #18 by same chong on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:29 am

Truth shall prevails and do vote for truth ….. hope to see you soon at next chapter …

19. #19 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:34 am

“All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go
    I’m standin’ here outside your door
    I hate to wake you up to say goodbye”

“‘Cause I’m leaving on a jet plane
    I don’t know when I’ll be back again”

Guess who is singing this song now? Where to?

20. #20 by mobileworld on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 9:43 am

If BN was confident of winning or there was some hope of winning, they would have spent millions of RM to buy votes just like what they did in Ijok. Here in Permatang Pauh they dont even spend any money becoz from the start they know they will loose…the only question is how badly will they loose?

In any way……I am sure all the Ministers especially on the 4th floor have started packing their bags and taking out all official documents in case Sept 16 really becomes a reality…….Good Luck Pakatan Rakyat!

21. #21 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:03 am

Will Swiss banks be doing roaring business in the coming weeks?
    Who or which organisation is monitoring the outflow of RM from Malaysia?
    Will we hear of more BN politicians travelling with suitcases of cash? Are BN politicians taking tuition from the ex-MB of Selangor?

22. #22 by Toyol on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:04 am

Let us ALL start with a new beginning with PR. Yes, we may not feel immediate changes as a change of government will take time. But we are not talking about this generation only but for our future generations. If we truly love our country, we can wait for OUR new government to find its footing. Furthermore, with BN bankrupting the country over the last 50 years, it will take a long time to recover.

We take a small step now which hopefully will result in a large leap for Malaysians.

23. #23 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:09 am

To boh-liao today at 09: 34.29

Guess who is singing this song now? Grandpa Thir
    To who? Grandma Hasmah
    Where to? The ISS, where there is no extradiction treaty
    Why? Scared stiff of the new PM who might give him a black eye while he’s rotting away in jail

24. #25 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:16 am

I heard on the news that the swearing-in is scheduled only for October.
    I wonder why such a long delay when the procedure should take not more than 20 minutes?

Anwar will win but don’t expect to overthrow the BN so easily. The next GE will be the real battleground.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/08/permatang-pauh-basic-reason-why-bn-will.html

25. #26 by RKP on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:21 am

We want to be proud of Malaysia.This has been missing.

We thank all, PAS,DAP, PKR and all the people of Malaysia for bringing back this truly Malaysian unity as an example in PP.
    We want to feel proud of being Malaysian.

We wish DSAI true success and Pakatan Rakyat a clear victory.

26. #27 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:24 am

Survival game for UMNO. A true indication that UMNO understands that they are going to die by losing this by-election.

27. #28 by bumi-non-malay on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:31 am

…..But what if Anwar loses by cheating of EC, Judiciary, Phantom(people who sold thier IC to be used for 1 day for $1,000)….etc.

Are Malaysian game enough to take to the streets and make an end to UMNO-BN one day later or will we continue to Legitimise this Sham Democratic Justice systems by going to courts, appeal, wait for next election…… Let the police control, set road blocks, determine no permit given to Rally. We have to have the mind set of Mat Kilau….Whatever it takes to remove UMNO-BN forever….nothing else matter!!

For Freedom of Religion, Press and From ISA!!

28. #29 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:41 am

In many reports filed by reporters during the 2008 Beijing Olympics, the phrase ‘eat bitterness’ appeared again and again.

OCBC pek moh Arif Shah Oman Shah, who speaks Mandarin, should know this phrase. However, instead of ‘eat bitterness’ or ‘makan pahit’, he prefers to ‘makan angin’ and senang-senang saja; he wanted to get his PhD via the easiest route, by buying a PhD degree from Edison University of Technology, a university registered in the British Virgin Islands offering distance learning courses. Pian nan? Pian ciak?

Hope his children are proud of what their father did! Ta pian tze!

Lie while smiling. Looks like Arif Shah and his brother Amin Shah Oman Shah do have common traits!

29. #30 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:46 am

I predict majority of 25,000+. Electorate 58k, turnout 80% = 46k, BN gets 10k, DSAI gets 35k, the other guy gets <1k (lose deposit), works out DSAI gets 25k majority.

Looking at the the people’s mood at PP and also special holiday, and no BN hanky-panky, DSAI is ultimate winner with record majority and wins Gold! This is PP’s mini Olympics for Malaysian politics.

Syabas PR! No need to wish DSAI “all the best”. He is the best!

30. #31 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:49 am

Afret losing in Permatang Pauh, “Dr” Ariff will be appointed Dean of Universiti malaya so that all the undergrads there can be taught how to avoid doing their masters by leapfrogging straight into PhDs via correspondence distance learning from Edison University( named after Edison Chen the movie mogul from HK )

31. #32 by oknyua on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:56 am

Let us try not to personally attack the guy, all right?

The thread, “tryst with destiny,” is a window of opportunity that we have, unthinkable even a year back. Would this opportunity be available in the coming years? Or would be make use of this opportunity for the future of Malaysia and the future of our children? Let’s dwell of these issues for a while – even in a forum that YB Lim KS has graciously provided for us.

Thank you, sirs.

32. #33 by wanderer on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:57 am

YB Lim;

I experienced such contest before in Seremban between Dr Chen(DAP) and San Choon(MCA), similar tactics were used…hantu, bribery and threats. It is even worst now, negative politics and filth, no issues offered by these low down BN monkeys, for the betterment of Malaysia.
    How can we decent Malaysians allow such low down characters in UMNO to rule the land. Don’t we all want an efficient and clean govt to cater for the future generations?
    I was a DAP supporter and still is, my passion to continue fighting for a non-racial, fairness and true justice are returned to our land is achieved.
    YB, I am glad you still have the ‘fire power’ in you. Good health.

33. #34 by AhPek on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 10:59 am

Today is D-day.All of Malaysia has placed their trust and hope on the 58,000 registered voters of Permatang Pauh to save this country from total ruin and damnation,and send this chappy Anwar Ibrahim to Putrajaya as the new Prime Minister and throw all the BN goons into the Indian Ocean on the other side of Penang.This is a sacred mission the responsibility of which has been thrust in the hands of the people of Permantang Pauh to make history.This is a rare unique opportunity which we trust you will capitalise on with God speed.We all have high expectations tomorrow morning in waking up to a new dawn and a new Malaysia ready to join the ranks of civilised countries in the globalised world of today.We know you will not fail.

And to Anwar Ibrahim, may the force be with you.

34. #35 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:00 am

Precaution ! Will all those watching the count ensure bringing torchlights? Make sure if there is a sudden power outage during count, all must shine their lights at the counting table to ensure no magic boxes appear out of thin air!

35. #36 by cheng on on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:03 am

YES! Each must bring at least 2 torchlights with spare batteries to counting centres, in case EC prolonged power failure !

36. #37 by oknyua on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:09 am

Anilnetto’s blog:

Quote” “Muhammad Firdaus Christopher on August 26th, 2008 at 10.47am
    Latest news from Ground Zero, I am receiving reports that MIC, MCA & Gerakan youths are telling voters to “pangkah” Pakatan Rakyat. They are saying enough with race based politics that UMNO is practising… If this is true, I salute this chap’s and wish them well.

On top of that, there are also reports that PKR supporters are increasing as I write this and more police personel are moving in.

Stay tuned for more… Cheers, Christopher”

That, folks, is just fifteen minutes ago.

37. #38 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:10 am

My Merdeka wish:

“Pek Moh” loses his deposit.

Selamat Menyambut Hari Kebangsaan ke-51.

EP

38. #39 by Saint on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:31 am

Best of hopes – for a better future for all Malaysians

39. #40 by delCapo on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:35 am

PP – Permatang Pauh
    PP – !!!PEOPLE POWER!!!
    PP – Permatang Pauh
    PP – !!!PEOPLE POWER!!!

40. #41 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 11:49 am

Greetings!

Let’s hope DSAI win in majority and we shall cheers for Malaysia come back to live at heck and manger starting from tonight. One nation, one dream… It seems that this is the only choice we have.

41. #42 by k1980 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:14 pm

My Merdeka wish:

“Pek Moh” loses his deposit AND also loses his Seberang Jaya state assembly seat for indulging in money politics. His boss, Grandpa Lah, kicked out of umno for the huge loss in the by-election.

42. #43 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:56 pm

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim by election victory is not only a victory for permatang pauh, but a victory for Malaysia. Racist politics will be buried dead forever.

I pray that anwar will win big, this is nothing to do with destiny . this is what the ordinary raayat have been crying out loud to deaf ears of the ruling parties for the last half century.

I hope, that after the victory in pp, parties like mca, mic, umno will be sincere enough to look inwards that BIGOTRY is a past tense.

That after today, Malaysians have a choice between BN and PR only. Better future for ALL MALAYSIANS.

43. #44 by badak on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:59 pm

This is the lowest UMNO had ever gone ,For the past 9 days on prime time news ,They kept on showing the swearing of SAIFUL .Ezam and Nalla running down Anwar.Ezam at one time the hero of corruption.Is now the most corrupted member of UMNO.Closing both eyes on money politics.Ezam a shame to all right thinking MALAYS.
    NAJIB even saying that DSAI had sold his soul to DAP.Is that bad ..I DON,T THINK SO..REASON NAJIB AND THE BAND OF UMNO GOONS HAD SOLD THEIR SOUL TO THE DEVIL I KNOW AS “”” MONEY AND POWER “”

44. #45 by melurian on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:14 pm

“I will not be satisfied unless it is an even bigger majority than Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail’s 13,398-vote majority in the March 8 “political tsunami” – to trigger a mini political tsunami in Malaysia by itself!”

don worry, the prediction is wrong – anwar lose with majority ~500 and it becomes “political tsunami” with aab prevail ….

and aab and najib will start splashing headlines on tomorrow newspapers that democracy rules and ppl reject anwar. eventually, dsai will be cleared of sodomy charge. it’s win-win situation …….

45. #46 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:15 pm

Latest report from Malaysian Insider at 1.15pm

“1.00pm: The National Institute for Electoral Integrity executive director Amin Iskandar says the election watchdog is unhappy with the high police presence in Chinese-majority areas compared with Malay areas. Heavy rain across the constitutency at the moment.

12.00pm: About 48% of voters have cast their ballots.”

46. #47 by melurian on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:19 pm

“I experienced such contest before in Seremban between Dr Chen(DAP) and San Choon(MCA), similar tactics were used

yup, the hantu and bribe is meant to kick san choon into early retirement, but he managed to came out and told tdm he’s still have support from ppl. it’s different with this pp election where the gov throw full support to the contender.

47. #48 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:21 pm

A vote for Anwar is a vote for anti-Islamic interests in Malaysia. If Anwar does make it to parliament and wrests the top job, he will be a catalyst for civil war in Malaysia in the coming months and years. If he is willing to digest the evil of secularism, he must therefore be prepared to suffer the consequences.

UMNO’s bigotry is clear to us all, but Anwar’s bigotry remains hidden and poses a greater threat than the one the opposition think they are taming.

48. #49 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:30 pm

Zak_hammaad is using the bogeyman story to scare little children.

“UMNO’s bigotry is clear”… yeah we know that, that is why we are saying “F3CK OFF” to UMNO.

P/S: This also apply to all the other BN Component parties i.e., F3CK OFF

EP

49. #50 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:36 pm

One more thing, PAS as a equal component party in PR, will ensure check and balance that Islam is never ignored nor side-lined.

DAP will make sure that the new government stay true to the spirit of the country’s constitution and good governance will prevail.

PKR will gel the various components together to form a ruling government, and to make sure Justice and Integrity will prevail in this birth place of ours.

EP

50. #51 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:50 pm

With the FULL BN machinery thrown against Anwar, I’d say its a good enough win for Anwar no matter by how many or how few votes.

51. #52 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:58 pm

zak_hammad,

what is Islamic interest?
    is corruption haram. ?
    is cheating haram?
    is abuse of power haram?
    is murder haram?
    is drug abuse haram?
    is discrimination of minorities haram?

52. #53 by melurian on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:03 pm

is corruption haram. ? => no evidence, only pkr exco kena arrested.
    is cheating haram? => mana cheating,
    is abuse of power haram? mana abuse
    is murder haram? mana murder, murderers are in court now.
    is drug abuse haram? => mana abuse
    is discrimination of minorities haram? => mana discriminate, even pastor appeared in tv last time the country has full religion practice freedom ……

it’s all allegation without shred of evidence, and fitnah tu haram…

53. #54 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:06 pm

To zak_hammaad

Nation-building can only be achieved thru the trials and tribulations experienced by the people. We have had 50 years of experience, mostly “bad” for the minorities sector. A change requires hope, strength, maturity and willpower from the people.

The current political situation is the beginning of the people’s vision for a better united future among Malaysians of all ethnic backgrounds. If there is going to be turmoil in the process of change, then we must accept it as a consequence of the democratic process.

We must have the confidence to face change for the better, whatever the consequences, real or imagined!

54. #55 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:16 pm

On the notion nation building:

Let’s take USA.

USA was founded by Abe LIncoln circa 250 years ago. In it they went through hell to get to where they are now. (think: War of Independence, America Civil War, America-Mexico war etc etc). Nation building is a long and tedious process.

What about China, with its 5,000 years nation building through various type of administration from feudalism, military dictatorship, republic, communism, totalitarian etc etc

M’sia, with its 50 years of nation building is like only entering adolescent stage. We will make mistake, we hope to learn from it and prospect from it. If we don’t learn, we will never grow.

Live and let live, Hidup Malaysia, Hidup Ketuanan Rakyat.

EP

55. #56 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 2:25 pm

If BN won the election Malaysia will be dead in vain as we facing inflation at its peak, a cancer attack human body as body dies itself. Remember, regardless who we are we’re Malaysian. We should work best interest for Nation not majority races.

Bless all, and DSAI may the forces be with you ;)

56. #57 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:29 pm

Main stream media featured in front page ‘Anwar has become a tool for DAP’. Just this example shows one two weapons in BN’s amoury to fight Anwar in Permatang Puah : first an implicit appeal to voters based on race that DAP = Chinese; Anwar a tool for DAP means a tool of the Chinese; second the lack of neutrality of Mainstream Media being used for propaganda purposes.

These are old well tried methods or ‘weapons’ that BN had successfully used for last 50 years to maintain the edge over voters’ sentiments and legitimacy to continue power.

The question is whether March 8th political tsunamy signals the paradigm shift continuing to Permatang Pauh to a rejection of this kind of politics of unfair level playing field due to control of the press, appeal to racial sentiments, attacking political opponent’s credentials by sodomy charges or otherwise.

Of course the stakes are high in Permatang Pauh. Superficially, it is a by election contest between Anwar and Arif Shah Omar Shah. Anwar said that it was also a battle between Anwar and the Malaysian government. One can also view it as a preliminary skirmish between Pakatan Rakyat versus Barisan Nasional in the eventual contest for vote of no confidence (if one is on the table). Likely this is not a battle between Anwar the man and the BN government machinery.

It is, it seems to me, really a battle between a new ‘idea’ for change of which Anwar epitomises and an old one based on well tried methods of appeal to race, control of press, under the belt personal attack of political opponent and money politics……

If amid all the sodomy charges, his accuser’s swearing in mosque, Anwar still wins by an even bigger majority than his wife in March, it simply means that the idea – the idea for real reform and change from moribund ways symbolised by BN’s methods – has arrived.

An idea whose time has come, if it really has come, will be difficult to fight even by an incumbent with all resources (money, control of media, police etc) at its disposal.

If such an idea – of change – has really seized the imagination of large segments of electorate, then Anwar will win by landslide.

What the BN fails to grasp is that they are really fighting against is this idea. They have concentrated on fighting the man Anwar who symbolise this new idea but not the idea itself.

The difference is this : by going all out to tarnish Anwar’s character as sodomite, they have hardly tarnished at all the idea of change that Anwar stands for and epitomises.

If people like the idea, they really don’t care whether Anwar were a sodomite or not – and even if they are conservative enough to care about about a candidate’s sexual orientation, they will simply choose not to believe whatever the other side puts on the table, factual or otherwise.

This is because the heart of it all is perception and perception depends on whether one likes the idea that Anwar represents. If one likes the idea, then even if the other side supplies ample proof that Anwar is a person of unreliable character and corrupt disposition, people who like the idea will simply either choose not to believe the evidence or choose to overlook it by sqaying Anwar deserves a second chance.

In my simple thinking, the BN has failed to grasp that they are not fighting really the man himself but the man as representing a certain idea whose time has come as the voting results of March 8th had shown and 26th August will reaffirm (if the exceptionally enthusiastic high voter turnout were any indication!)

If they (BN) has grasped this clearly, they would have tried to reinvent and clear their own backyard and political credentials with meaningful reforms – more in tandem with the new idea – then concentrating their fire power on attacking Anwar the man himself om personal level by well tried methods of media control, racial appeal, money politics etc that increasingly people are rejecting.

57. #58 by swipenter on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:41 pm

Zak if god is almigthy, all powerful, all knowing, all merciful,all compassionate,all loving, all forgiving, all love, all things good and above everything else ALL PERFECT why are his creations especially mankind not perfect? Through out history, how many times have mankind invoke the name of god and in his name kill, blunder, maim and cause untold sufferings and pain to fellow humans.I refer to only humans because in the insect and animal kingdom there is no religion to fight over.

However I prefer a god to create a perfect world for his perfect creations where there is no sufferings at all. An UTOPIA. Or is that too much to ask from him?

58. #59 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 3:51 pm

In respond to Jeffrey’s post @Jeffrey Says:Today at 15: 29.18 (10 minutes ago) :

Yes, they can kill a man, it is a easy thing to do.

But to kill an idea, that is a different thing all together.

What BN is doing or fail to realize is that the new generation of M’sian wishes for something new, something untested. We are ready to face the world without crutches.

We do not need patronage, we do not need big brother telling us this or that… we want to join the rest of the world to move forward.

EP

59. #60 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 4:57 pm

“..This a tryst with destiny for the voters of Permatang Pauh. They have the opportunity to make history for themselves, 27 million Malaysians and future generations for a new Malaysia…”

To borrow a famous statement from Winston Churchill after the Battle of Britain:

“Never in the history of Malaysia was so much (the nation’s destiny) owed by so many (26 million) to so few (58,000 PP voters) “

60. #61 by AhPek on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 6:37 pm

“If people like the idea,they really don’t care whether Anwar is a sodomite or not, and even if they are conservative enough to care about a candidate’s sexual orientation, they will simply choose not to believe whatever the other side puts on the table, factual or otherwise.”.Jeffrey.

How very true, your reading on this by election.Barak Obama was certainly an unknown at the start of the Primaries as compared to Hillary Clinton a heavyweight in American Politics and look how he captures the imagination of the American people especially the young when he so eloquently propagated the message of change and with change, hope. He more than anything has come to personify change and hope.

61. #62 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:03 pm

“In the past 10 days, UMNO and Barisan Nasional leaders pulled out all the stops to conduct the dirtiest, most disgusting and dishonourable election campaign in the 51-year history of nation, breaking all election laws against money politic and violating all moral and ethical principles of a clean and honest election campaign.” KIT

Flagrant and open abuses of the Election Offences Act 1954 was for a purpose. They were hoping that in retaliation or as a preemptive measure PR would do the same. Then they would move into the next battle ground which is the courts. They’ll petition to have the election result be declared void and by so doing have another bite at the apple!

What have they got to lose??!

62. #63 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:50 pm

“Let the Permatang Pauh by-election mark the rise of a pioneer generation of Bangsa Malaysia …” KIT

In the U.S. already the Democrats are referring to Generation-X i.e. a new generation of Americans born after Martin Luther King gave his “I have a dream” speech. There is some parallel between what is happening in the United States today, and in Denver, Colorado, last night where the Democrats are having their convention, to what was happening in this sleepy hollow set in Malaysia’s rural backwaters Permatang Pauh! We are seeing a new generation of Malaysians who see the world as it is and the world as it should be, and say to themselves it is wrong to let it be.

With the rehabilitated Anwar Ibrahim as Prime Minister, borrowing the words of U.S. Senator Ted Kennedy in an emotionally charged and powerful speech last night at Denver, the “hope rises again and the dream lives on” – to thunderous applause!

“Yes, we can. Yes, we will”, said the U.S. Senator suffering from brain cancer, who could have given his last historic convention speech last night.

So can we!

63. #64 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:08 am

Yes, we can. So can we!
    We already have a can-or-naut space traveler. Where is can-or-naut?