Declare Anwar innocent of sodomy allegations and drop all charges

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

Three international political and economic giants have called on the Malaysian government to drop sodomy charges against opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim on thursday 24th july.

They are Paul Martin former Canadian Prime Miniser, James Wolfenson former World Bank chief and Michael C amdesus former head of International Monetary Fund

A day earlier, US secretary of state Condolezza Rice strongly voiced her disfavour that Anwar was being singled our for sodomy charges again similar to the charges in 1998 ten years ago. Anwar was imprisoned for six years but the Federal Court absolved Anwar of sodomy charges in 2004.

In replly to foreign minister Rais Yatim’s objections on USA interventon in internal affairs, Rice maintained she would continue to raise Anwar’s issue in the interests of human rights and justice. She too implied the charges were fabricated and the sodomy charge should be removed.

Brad Adams, Asia directorThe world guardian of human rigts, HUMAN RIGHTS WATCH on July 21 said “the Malaysian government’s record provides little basis to believe this is anything other than partisan political attack on Anwar. In the light of past FALSE ALLEGATIONS AND HIS UNFAIR TRIAL, Anwar has good reason to worry that his rights wont’t be respected”.

He continued: “Malysian government allegations that opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim forcibly sodomised a male aide lack credibitily.

“Amwar’s arrest was a poitically motivated attempt to derail the opposition Alliance Pakatan Rakyat’s campaign to form a new government by September 16, 2008”

Alarmed at the unfriendly reaction from the world, a hurried meeting with all foreign envoys was called three days ago. Sources revealed that the sentiments of the envoys reflected the views of Condoleeza Rice, the canadian prime minister and the two former chiefs of World Bank and IMF

CALL ON ABDULLAH TO DECLARE ANWAR INNOCENT AND TO DROP THE SODOMY CHARGE.

1. International opinion and outrage at the ongoing second repetition of a sodomy charge,demands a rethink by PM abdullah by declaring Anwar innocent and free from all allegations of sodomy.

If Abdullah and his cabinet remain defiant and stubborn, the adverse feedback from foreign countries would be reflected in tensions with friendly countries and a drop in investor sentiments for Malaysia.

I do not advise PM Abdullah should stoke up unfriendly sentiments with USA, which is the biggest trading partner of Malaysia.

2. PM Abdullah should be aware of public opinion within the country.

A straw poll of public opinion on the sodomy allegations against Anwar has shown that nine out of ten respondents, feel that Anwar is being victimised, in the same manner of 1998, when he was found gulity of trumped-up charges of sodomy

Secondly, they feel that the whole affair is nothing more than a conspiracy to remove Anwar from politics, as he is a serious threat to the survival of UMNO

Thirdly, that the people have lost confidence in the instituions of the country, as these insitutions like the cabinet, the legislature, the judiciary,the courts and the police as these have been corrupted by the greed for power and retention of power — whatever the cost.

PM ABDULLAH SHOULD PAUSE HERE, RETHINK AND REVAMP HIS POLICIES TO RETURN TO SANITY AND GOOD GOVERNANCE.

1. #1 by taiking on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:20 am

Charge Anwar would they?
    No. They would have done so if they have enough incriminating evidence to put before the court.
    This is just going to be a big wayang.
    Better than bollywood.
    It will be extended by months and months.
    The wayang will climax when anwar “the bad guy” is thrown out of the scene.
    Its predictable.

2. #2 by OCSunny on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:21 am

Let the natural flow of a two party system, both multiracial, take place. It has started from the last election. One lead by Anwar and the other Badawi. Malay unity, etc is all nonsence without the involvement of the other races and especially the people in the state of Sarawak and Sabah. The greed for power should be for the good of the people and the country. Not for the money which can be easily obtained through power. Corruption is the root of all evils right now. You see it everywhere. We need a leader who has the will and gut to rid off all corrupt practices!!!! Anwar??? Badawi????

3. #3 by yhsiew on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:25 am

Abdullah is unlikely to declare Anwar innocent and drop sodomy charges against him. Should he do so, it is tantamount to admitting that the recent sodomy accusation against Anwar is a frame up and so was the 1998 sodomy.

I perceive the government will take Anwar to court and may then release him on ground of inadequate evidence. By doing so, the government is able to convince the international community that it has been fair to Anwar and that the Malaysian legal system is trustworthy.

However, one should not rule out the probability that Anwar will remain in detention even after court proceedings as Abdullah and his gang do not want him to take over federal government.

4. #4 by milduser on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:28 am

Much calls have been made but unfortunately (or should i say,fortunately) they have fallen on death ears. BN is still in a state of shock and denial. When will it sober up to reality is still unknown. Meanwhile what can the rakyat do? wait untill sept 16? or continue to jab the BN out of its slumber? Moreover, is the BN (read unmo) still blind to the fact that local public and international opinions about the sodomme of DSAI is all a sham? wake up man, time to sober up and rule the country with the much promise reforms. unless you are afraid (what is there to be afraid, ask the stupid syed amid) that these reforms will one day comes back to haunt you all corrupted and good for nothing idiots.

5. #5 by justice fighter on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:42 am

The Truth is Out There…

Doctor on the run: police want him to fabricate evidence against Anwar

http://w2.malaysia-today.net/content/view/10433/1/

6. #6 by Mr Smith on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:51 am

First a private detective and now a poor doctor! Both on the run from bandits.
    We have bandits running the police force!
    Will the good men in the DAP look into the plight of this poor doctor and his family?

7. #7 by Mr Smith on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:55 am

Anwar might be charged, just before or as soon as files his nomination papers for the by-election.
    His papers might be rejected on grounds that he is facing a criminal charge and BN win unopposed!

8. #8 by k1980 on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:57 am

Will the doctor on the run give a press conference with Anwar to present a SD1, then go to a police station and on the next day, give a SD2 totally opposite of SD1 the day before? Money can do wonderous things, just go and ask the university-dropout-scholarship-holder Saifool the Fool

9. #9 by yhsiew on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:59 am

Did anyone attempt to make a phone call to the hospital mentioned in

http://w2.malaysia-today.net/content/view/10433/1/

to establish the veracity of the report!!??

10. #10 by madmix on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 10:35 am

Initially I was willing to give some degree of credence to the allegations. But when RPK released the Medical report from a doctor which attest that Saiful was not in any way having any anal conditions to the claim that he was suffering from anal pain, I am now 100% sure that the whole thing is fabricated. Perhaps Karpal can help this doctor obtain a court injunction restraining the police from harassing him on this matter any further and to accept his report as it is.

11. #11 by oknyua on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 10:47 am

Malaysia today is yet again under attack!!.

I read that doctor’s report. The poor doctor had disappeared. The same thing happened where the Gov’t doctor that examined Anwar in 1998 was tranferred to a small hospital in Kuantan.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 10:48 am

# madmix Wrote:
    Today at 10: 35.29 (3 minutes ago)

“……..Perhaps Karpal can help this doctor obtain a court injunction restraining the police from harassing him on this matter any further and to accept his report as it is.”
    ——————————————————————-

Not just the court injunction but also help sue the police for compelling law-abiding citizen to commit criminal offence which is against his will.

13. #13 by dawsheng on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 11:56 am

Why drop the charges? Can they drop the charges? No! Even if they can and will, Anwar must insist to go to court to clear his name. Lawan tetap lawan!

14. #14 by ipohmali on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 12:15 pm

RPK has posted the medical exam report on Saiful. No evidence that he’s been sodomised. End of story.

15. #15 by wanderer on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 12:17 pm

The rakyat were right all along. We are not dumb fools after all!
    BN, do not overestimate your intelligence!ooops, do these scums have any?

16. #16 by grace on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 12:33 pm

Pak Lah, the chief bluderer of Malaysia. You never learn from all the stupid mistakes.
    You challenge the appointment of MB of Perlis and you were trounced.
    You challenged the Appointment of Trengganu MB, you were humiliated.
    You boasted in the UMNO assembly by saying “Saya pantang dicabar” and sounded like Hang Tuah. But the Bersih protest went on in defiance of your battle cry.
    Now the Trengganu MB challenged you by purchasing Mercs and you asked them to use for VVIP. But the excos continue using the Mercs. And what did you do? Sorry la, another blunder.
    You said that Anwar’s DNA sample was too old and when experts declared thatDNA sample is still good after more than 10 years . This made you look utterly stupid.
    Now Anwar’s case , you seemed to be very interested and get Anwar off the way. My bet is that you would blunder again!!!
    Time for you to say Goooood Byeeeee, Pak Lah

17. #17 by taiking on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 1:41 pm

Malaysian, shopping paradise.
    Shop till you drop.
    Buy them.
    Designers goods.
    Local crafts.
    Titles.
    Degrees.
    APs.
    MCs.
    Doctor’s report.
    SDs.
    Apa2 pun ada.
    Cheap. Cheap.
    Mari.Mari.Semua mari.

18. #18 by lautew on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 1:48 pm

Isn’t it irresponsible of foreign VIPs to demand charges to be drop even before the Police have completed investigations? Clearly it points to the fruits of Anwar’s relationship with these foreign VIPs where they blindly support Anwar.

Let’s justice take its course. If Anwar’s innocent then the court will declare him so, just as the court has declared him so previously.

But doesn’t his refusal to give DNA tell you something?

lautew

19. #19 by milduser on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 2:02 pm

Has the Medical faternity, such as the MMC or MMA come forward to help this DR who has been harrassed by the investigating police team? Why is the legal faternity stand on this? Help need! Human rights, professional bodies, etc etc etc should start speaking up at the same time!!!!! why the silence? speak up man… its the your future… now or never … and continue to keep your peace… shame on you!

20. #20 by wizzerd on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 2:23 pm

Even if the evidence is crystal clear pointing to Anwar’s innocence, the Police will not let him go so easily. As long as he is around, it is definitely a threat to their existence esp to the IGP.

21. #21 by hope for futre on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 2:55 pm

Umno/police cannot charge Anwar as thay do not yet have his blood sample to insert into Saiful anus or smear on his underwear.
    What an image is the Malaysian police imparting to the whole world.
    Best to get rid Umno/Bn from leading our beloved country lest we all become a laughing-stock to the entire world.

22. #22 by I Malaysian on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 2:56 pm

The whole episode suggests there is more than Abdullah Badawi in Anwar’s sodomy allegation. With the latest revelation in the form of medical report substantiating Saiful was not sodomised, it can’t help us but to believe it’s a complete fabrication to discredit Anwar Ibrahim and to break PKR.

It seems Abdullah and Najib have a marriage of convenience for their respective self-interest. While Dollah needs Najib’s undivided support to continue to be UMNO president beyond December 2008, Najib needs Dollah to conceal all his wrongs from investigation and prosecution for now.

It is based on an analogy “I scratch your back you scratch mine”

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 3:00 pm

According to RPK’s article in Malaysia Today, the “Doctor on the run” – Dr Mohamed Osman Abdul Hamid from the Hospital Pusrawi – who examined Mohd Saiful Bukhari Bin Azlan – found Saiful found “no evidence that he had been sodomised, either by Anwar Ibrahim or anyone else for that matter” there being “zero (0) skin tearing, zero (0) active bleeding, zero (0) traces of pus, etc., which basically means he can’t be suffering from a pain in the anus” alleged caused by forcible penetration.

If true, it is exculpatory of the allegations made by Saiful of Anwar. It would have been a strong basis to urge the authorities to exonerate Anwar and drop all investigations, and if they must charge someone, they should perhaps look at Saiful’s direction whether he made a false report!

That is why I had on one previous occasion commented on July 23rd, 2008 under earlier blog thread on Dr Chen Man Hin’s article “Stop harrassing Anwar for DNA” why getting the medical report and its conclusions available for public knowledge is crucial for the defence of the Pakatan Rakyat’s defacto leader..

However the big question is how does one bring the contents of this medical report out to the public realm to establish or disprove veracity of Saiful’s claims.

Now by reason of the fact that this medical report pertains to allegations made against an Opposition leader like Anwar, it would be fair to assume that just about every doctor, nurse and hospital orderly in Hospital Pusrawi who had opportunity to lay their hands on the medical report would have taken a peep and could confirm what RPK said. But would – and can they like RPK swear on a statutory declaration of what they have read?

The catch is that no one can make this report public. This is because the clinical notes and records from examining Saiful belong morally, ethically and argubly legally to the patient Saiful and their confidentiality is absolute and privileged to Saiful subject to no compromise (unless introduced as evidence in a court trial). Saiful is surely not going to authorise the doctor or the hospital to disclose the medical report. And Anwar is also not going to consent to his DNA being taken.

Of course there is another rabbit in the hat that the authorities may pull out – ie claims to some kind of a video clip or photograph ala Chua Soi Lek/ VK Lingam kind from some hidden camera.

This again is highly unlikely because had such an evidence being obtained, surely Anwar’s political opponents would have, for starters, ensured that it is already posted on the Internet via YouTube for public and international viewing.

Under such circumstances, the situation up to now is still in a limbo and will drag with either side unable to prove its own case and discredit the other side’s position decisively.

24. #24 by badak on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 3:19 pm

After all the hype on DSAI sodomy case ,This UMNO led BN goverment will go all out to make sure that DSAI go to court to defend himself.
    With the right lawyers and judge in place.DSAI won,t stand a chance in court.The reason is if the case is close now,DSAI be so strong that UMNO is as good as dead. .

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 3:20 pm

Malaysikini (Beh Lih Yi and P Tarani | Jul 28, 08 1:36pm) has just repoorted :
    //Saiful went to two different hospitals on June 28 – the day he lodged the police report against Anwar. He first went to Hospital Pusrawi (Pusat Rawatan Islam) in Jalan Tun Razak – a government-linked Islamic medical institution – at about 2pm. Malaysiakini had obtained a copy of two-page medical report (from Hospital Pusrawi). Saiful went there complaining of ‘tenesmus’ – a medical term for difficulty and pain in passing motion. He was examined by Dr Mohamed Osman Abdul Hamid, a Burmese Muslim having 20 years of experience as a doctor who was the medical officer on duty at that time. The doctor said that the patient had alleged he was assaulted by the intrusion of a piece of “plastic” in the anus. Mohamed Osman, according to his medical report which was recorded at 2.14pm, found “zero active bleeding”, “zero ulcer or pus”, “zero tear and scar” in Saiful’s anus. He also stated that Saiful appeared “alert”, “comfortable”, “not pale” and did not show any fever symptoms. A senior Pusrawi official told malaysiakini this morning that the hospital had launched an internal investigation on how Saiful’s medical report was leaked, which is widely considered as a major infringement of patient privacy. When malaysiakini showed him a copy of the report, he refused to return it saying, “It’s our document.” A check at the emergency unit where Mohamed Osman is attached revealed that he has taken leave since last week. The doctor was said to be under tremendous stress as a result of the police interrogation and was advised by the hospital to take leave. Mohamed Osman, in his report’s concluding remarks, advised Saiful to go to a government hospital so as “to rule out” assault and sodomy.
    At 6pm on that day, Saiful went to Hospital Kuala Lumpur for his second medical examination. He subsequently lodged a report against Anwar at the police beat at the hospital//.

The problem here is that the second medical examination (expected to confirm sodomy) is here contradicted by an earlier first medical report in Hospital Pusrawi stating that there was no anal evidence of Saiful being assaulted. So how to pursue the case in a way convincing the skeptical public?

26. #26 by lovemalaysiaforever on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 3:21 pm

Not only PM announce to drop charges but also to pay compensations and made public apology annoucement for all the chaos, guilty and shameful accuses that his BN group of people made…

27. #27 by nyghtsky on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 3:24 pm

How can the Medical faternity, MMC or MMA come forward to help poor Dr Mohamed Osman when their underqualified boss, current ( not medically qualified, Govt Lackey ) Health Minister , Liow Tiong Lai himself was asking DSAI to give his DNA…

Who blame him ( Dr Mohd Osman ) for not having faith and fearing for his life and that of his family….

28. #28 by isahbiazhar on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 4:57 pm

If the judges can be paid ex gratia payment and told sorry,the police and PM can do that to Annuar.It will pacify everybody.

29. #29 by milduser on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 5:56 pm

Jeffery… why are you so complicated in you analysis… a plot has been hatch at the DPM’ home (read RPK disclosure). The planners wants it cheap. They ask saifool to go, maybe doctor of his choice and get examined and then plan to use threat rather than reward to get the Dr to doctor the report. Unfortunately for them, this Dr has strong moral values and refused even under police detention and treat. How cheap is the DPM. He use the AG chamber to sue on his private defamation suit on RPK. Soooo cheap. Thats what you get for “free”. Maybe this stupid saifool may have been taken for a ride by the DPM who promise him to support his scholarship application if he can help him (DPM) nail DSAI! So cheap again, to get goverment agencies to extend scholarship for this dropout. Can you see the link with Amina? Sooo cheap.. not willing to pay the commision promised! SEE what is he getting from being a cheap skate?

30. #30 by milduser on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 6:05 pm

One more thing Jeff, dont worry about the report being make public. confidential reports between patient and Dr are just confidential and nothing more. If they become public knowledge.. just too bad.. its becomes a professional and moral issues. It not like information relating to OSA or TOP Government Secrets which can lend one in jail for disclosure. Medical reports are used by many people besides DRs, eg. insurance cos, employers etc etc.

31. #31 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 6:06 pm

Anwar will not be charged, this is clear from the desperate attempts by UMNO to forge links with PAS as they see the latter as being the lynchpin that can make or break Pakatan. PAS will not be stung from the same hold twice (re: their past bitter experience with UMNO) – So we remain in uncertain times, blindly leading Malaysia into the unknown.

32. #32 by One4All4One on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 7:52 pm

I heard flip.

And then I hear flop.

Flip,

Flop.

Flip, flop.

Flip, flop..flip, flop.

Flip,flop,flip,flop,flip,flop.

flipflopflipflopflipflopflipflopflipflop…..

Top of the chart in Malaysia.

How long can it stay on the chart?

Composed by:
    Sung by:

33. #33 by One4All4One on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 7:53 pm

Composed by: FLIP
    Sung by:FLOP

34. #34 by choonchoy on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 9:48 pm

PM ABDULLAH SHOULD PAUSE HERE, RETHINK AND REVAMP HIS POLICIES TO RETURN TO SANITY AND GOOD GOVERNANCE.

—————————————————————-

Aduh, aduh, ‘cramp’, ‘cramp’, sakit, sakit. Minta maaf dah lama tak ‘think’.

35. #35 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 10:21 pm

Dear Yhsiew,

Yes . You are right. PM is not likely to drop charges against Anwar. In the first place, PM did not charge him. A boy by the name Saiful made the accusation.

And for your info, police has yet to announce about the charge. Meaning no formal charge has been made.

As for “Condy” Rice, perhaps the august lady should take a look at Guantanamo Bay which is synonimous with barbaric and crual treatments against mankind. So, actually she has no standing to lecture Malaysia on this matter.

As for Camdessus, of he is well known to Anwar. Anwar was about to kowtow to IMF, surrendering the fate of this nation when DR Mahathir intervened. Thank God for that.

As for Anwar. I repeat. if you are saying the truth, well sir please perform the act of swearing in the name of Allah. The same goes to the accuser.

36. #36 by milduser on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 11:11 pm

Shamul, you are real stupid.

Sodomee is a state crime! The government is the one who will charge DSAI and not that pawn (whose name sounds like yours) will charge him.

Stupidity no. 2:
    Thank GOD TDM did not get IMF help. You thinks TDM is good. Look at those countries that got IMF aid. South Korea is a good eg. The country is now so much economically better than us. If i am NOT WRONG, their BROADBAND peneration rate is almost 100%, hey mind you not 1.0 MB but at least 10.0 Mbit. are you aware. So much for IMF help.

The last time he sweared yet he went to jail. So what’s your point En Someone who thinks he knows all?

37. #37 by The Enforcer on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 11:18 pm

Does swearing in make a man innocent? Najis sweared that he never this and that. Does that mean that he is innocent? If every man should be deemed innocent until proven guilty, why must it be the opposite, guilty until proven innocent, the case with DSAI and RPK?
    Cut the crap, the RAKYAT can feel who is telling the truth without any need for swearing.

38. #38 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 11:20 pm

milduser, why don’t you give examples of countries that did and continue to get IMF “aid” and remain in poverty and supressed under crippling debt. A nation is not truly independent unless it is financially independent. TDM understood this well, Anwar did not; he was willing to sell Malaysia for a short-term gain, this was his downfall and short-sightedness remains his weakness now!

39. #39 by milduser on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 11:27 pm

Shamsul, my point is that the IMF aid is not tested in our country. It can be better or worse than what TDM has done. No one can know for sure. But you have made a judgement that IMF aids will be bad for the country. Where are your facts?

40. #40 by milduser on Monday, 28 July 2008 - 11:33 pm

You see IMF money is not your grandfather’s money. They are aware of how countries whose economies are run by cronies may use the money just to BAIL OUT their own companies and still leave the country’s economy in ruins. Maybe, TDM was right. The IMF money may exposed all he corrupt practises so he went for broke. Well, we can say he save the country from total ruins but at the same time saved his BUTT as well. That’s how i interpret this historic events.

41. #41 by milduser on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 12:11 am

Hi Zak,

You are right. DSAI was short-sighted. He was ambitious and wanted to be PM by challenging TDM. That was his weakness. He paid for it. 6 years in jail and 10 years out in the cold. But i believe he has learnt his lessons well. Still ambitious, yes. But his view of nation building has changed. If he believes what he believes now, the nation still has hopes. I remember he was ask by TDM to look into corruption in the adminstration. Maybe he went too far and TDM did not like it. Maybe TDM expect him to wayang-wayang a bit to please the rakyat. So you can guess what happens.

BTW if you want a list of countries that engage INF help and fail to revive their economy, I have plenty. But one thing is certain. These countries are mainly from the Latin American countries. Just as corrupt as ours, even worse. So it is not entirely the IMF faults.

42. #42 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 12:13 am

IMF “aid” always comes with stringed attached; conditions that are sometimes detrimental to a country’s growth plan. They attempt to forge a one-size-fits-all policy which is ignoble. Indonesia is good an example as any other therefore you need to draw a balance between the benefits and the harms. Good luck.

The IMF may “expose all the corrupt practises” but it can also be the cause of corruption in the first place. IMF has become a partial political tool used to supress any emerging economy’s ambition to become financially independent. IMF remains a viable alternative to 3rd world countries, perhaps.

43. #43 by vvick on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 12:19 am

For Bolehland , it seems the future of Malaysia is on Saifools anus(backside).Other matters are no more important for the government . We all are going to shit hole when it comes to economy ! plus a package of laughing stock for other countries/for the world !

Just let the one who can do the job to take over . Its you pakatan Rakyat for us ! No more quotas just meritocrasy will bring us the best! Just look at Malaysia now ! it a mess and horrid!

44. #44 by limkamput on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 12:34 am

Yes, Malaysia went against IMF and introduced capital control and pegged the exchange rate. That was to save the cronies and sustain a highly corrupted regime. Korea, Thailand and Indonesia all went the IMF way and today their economies have learned and matured and able to operate more efficiently based on market principle. As for Malaysia, precisely because of our regulation and control, our economy today is riddled with all the inefficiencies, rent seeking, and corruption. Don’t be like a parrot Zak. Don’t for minute think your hero Mahathir has done great service to this country. He was and is third world tribal leader, mother of all corruption, cronyism and nepotism in this country. Oh, don’t forget, he destroyed institutions that money cannot buy. We probably need another 20 years to restore the institutions that he has destroyed, provided PR start the process now, got it?

45. #45 by limkamput on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 12:53 am

milduser Says: You are right. DSAI was short-sighted. He was ambitious and wanted to be PM by challenging TDM. That was his weakness. He paid for it. 6 years in jail and 10 years out in the cold.

No, you are dead wrong, both of you. Some of the views can be so perverted. DSAI short-sighted for challenging Mahathir? DSAI ambitious and wanted to PM?

Look, it was not DSAI was shorted sighted, it was Mahathir abusing his power to the core. It was not DSAI was ambitious, it was Mahathir not willing to relinquish power to DSAI. What weakness? So both of you think DSAI is in politics not be become PM? Then for what?

46. #46 by passerby on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 1:09 am

zak_hammaad, can you let me know anyone who is willing to lend me money without string attached because I like to burrow a lot and will give you a very big commission?

You mean IMF is the cause of corruption and not the people who burrow from them, you are showing yourself having a 3rd world mentality. Don’t blame others it you are a crook. No one can stop you from becoming a financially independent country, if you are not corrupt in the first place. Just look at Singapore, HongKong, Taiwan, South Korea and now China, are they not financially independent?

47. #47 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 2:27 am

kamput Says:

>> Don’t for minute think your hero Mahathir has done great service to this country.

You are a classic example of how ungrateful people can be. Before the imposition of capital and currency controls on 1 September 1998, unemployment had risen to 6.7 per cent and government statistics showed that 2600 people were losing their jobs every week. Average per capita income had been reduced from $5,000 to $3,000 in less than one year.

By mid-1998, the economy was in a freefall, with the contraction of production and trade coming to 6.8 per cent in the second quarter, between April and June. It is these trends that formed the backdrop for Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad’s fiery denunciations of global capital markets.

“That the unfettered, unregulated free market has destroyed the economies of whole regions and of many countries in the world does not matter,” Mahathir wrote. Interestingly enough, some free marketeers appeared to agree. The Economist, for instance, conceded that “the economic pain being imposed [by global capital markets] on the ex-tigers is out of all proportion to the policy errors of their governments.”

In a bold, dramatic move in early September, Mahathir carried out what was tantamount to secession from the global free market system by erecting a system of capital controls that effectively walled off Malaysia from the machinations of currency speculators, hedge funds, and other speculative marauders.

Establishment circles uniformly condemned the move, oftentimes without even looking at the elements of the Mahathir Plan. The fact that the strategy were accompanied by the ouster of Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim and the concentration of even more power in Mahathir’s hands also clouded its reception in many quarters.

>> DSAI short-sighted for challenging Mahathir?

Looks like you again failed to read the posts properly. If you take more time to read than jumping the gun, you may be able to respond more effectively. I did NOT say Anwar was short-sighted for challenging Mahathir, please read my past sentence again. He is an amphibian because he is many things to many people (depending on who he is speaking to). In his haste and desire to become PM, he would sell his own mother.

48. #48 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 2:43 am

passerby, the “stringed attached” that I mentioned were in the context of infringement on the political and economic independence of Malaysia, please do not twist the context.

In the case of Korea, I believe they recovered simply by ignoring the advice of the IMF. They did not break up their companies. They did not restructure and carried on the way they have in the past. IMF has become a tool of blackmail in the hands of those who control it in order to covertly implement their agenda, whatever it may be. Clearly it is not always to ‘help’ others.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 7:21 am

“The catch is that no one can make this report public. This is because the clinical notes and records from examining Saiful belong morally, ethically and argubly legally to the patient ” Jeffrey QC

Privileged communications are not absolute.

There are exceptions – and this is one of those exceptions. In this case it concerns the commission of a crime and court proceedings are criminal in nature. An accuser makes an accusation of a criminal nature against the accused. The medical report is relevant in this instance to prove that there is no crime committed. There is no way the accuser can resist disclosure. There is no way the hospital can refuse giving out a copy. In fact he submitted himself for a physical examination so that he could say a crime has been committed against him. It is obvious that it turned out not to be the kind of report he was hoping!

The medical report by the attending physician states that there was no bleeding and no tearing. As defense counsel you want to admit this report into evidence because you want to be able to say in court that it is true there was “zero active bleeding”, “zero ulcer or pus”, “zero tear and scar” in the complainant’s anus. Unfortunately without the maker in court this would be hearsay and is inadmissible. If the maker of the report appears as witness it is his testimony that is the evidence and not the medical report.

The maker of the first report is not available to be called as witness. But the maker of the second report is!

Bad news for Anwar!!

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 7:34 am

“Three international political and economic giants have called on the Malaysian government to drop sodomy charges against opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim on thursday 24th july.” Dr Chen Man Hin

Am I missing something? Has Anwar been charged?

Neither do you declare the accused innocent if charged, when charged or after being charged. The court will hear the case and the judge will decide if the defense has a case to answer. If the defense does not have a case to answer, the accused is free to walk. Prosecution may not proceed but charges are never dropped.

51. #51 by limkamput on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 11:14 am

Zak, well and good we were so fantastic in challenging the IMF and pursued our own path. Let me ask you where is Malaysia today despite the massive oil revenue? The economy is hopelessly riddled with inefficiency and rent seeking culture. We have almost zero public transportation despite the record energy prices. All the privatised entities are sucking the country dry and there is nothing that the government can do about it. Inflation is going to the roof. Ringgit is performing poorly except against the US$ (so it is US$ that is weak, not because the ringgit is strong, got it?). The stock market is one of the worse performers in the region. Your favorite Minister of Finance II said he was amazed why our economy is attacked every 10 years. See the simpleton/shrewd politician (depending, you choose one) at work. Hello, no body attacks us, ok. We scr*wed up big time, that is all, don’t blame on others this time and last time in 1998.

52. #52 by limkamput on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 11:22 am

passerby, the “stringed attached” that I mentioned were in the context of infringement on the political and economic independence of Malaysia, please do not twist the context. ZAk

Frankly I don’t give a damn to what political and economic infringement you are talking about. Look at countries around you, in the name of political and economic sovereignty, they scr*wed up big time their own people, their resources and their economies. Malaysia is already on the verge. I say let heighten globalisation, enhance the market economy and reduce the power of inept national governments everywhere.

53. #53 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 4:37 pm

limkamput Says:

>> Let me ask you where is Malaysia today despite the massive oil revenue?

Please ask the PM, the whole debacle started only after he took over the reigns of power. You seem to have a problem with keeping everything in it’s proper context. The problem Malaysia faces today are NOT a follow-on from 2003 as the opposition would want us to believe. 5 years is a long time in politics and AAB is directly responsible for turning the fortunes of the country during his premiership. Even LWY is wise enough to understand this when he said “”In five years, you can ruin this place, and it’s very difficult to pick up the pieces,” – Although he was speaking about S’pore, this equally applies to Malaysia where one freak election result is all it would take to wipe out Malaysia’s success in building up a developed nation.

You are too young and shallow and impressionable to see the real work that goes on behind the scene regarding foreign interference in the money markets. As I said before, a nation is NOT truly independent, unless it is financially independent. Having stupid and incompetent leadership like the one we have now is not helping the cause either. The problem with popular democracy as LKY said “is that candidates are not judged during elections on how well they can govern, but on their persuasive powers”.

54. #54 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 6:36 pm

Correction: The sentence above should read: “The problem Malaysia faces today are NOT a follow-on from pre-2003 as the opposition would want us to believe.”

55. #55 by limkamput on Tuesday, 29 July 2008 - 11:50 pm

Just to let you know that I am NOT young. And young does not shallow, ok.

Let me put it this way, if Mahathir were to continue after 2003, the problems we face today would be still the same. Mahathir would also suffer massive election defeat like AAB in 2008. I think most of the people are completely fed up with incompetent leadership year after year. Please don’t give excuses anymore. This country is fast becoming a goner, the foundation of which is laid by none other than Mahathir. AAB only quicken the process, that is all. Incompetence, corruption, rent seeking, and protectionism are the potent cocktail for mega disaster. Don’t try to enlighten me what LKY said. Have you read his two memoirs cover to cover?

56. #56 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 7:09 pm

limkamput, I apologise for my rash ; I do not like hypothetical questions and “what if” type of questions because it is pointless. Your disregard for TDM is clear, but like I said before, no one can please all of the people all of the time. It’s apparent that those who hold TDM in contempt are mostly non-Malays and non-Muslim minorities. Even if this was the case, TDM would have won 60% of the popular vote taking into account the swing % – But then again we will never know :^)

57. #57 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 7:14 pm

p.s. Don’t for one second believe that PAP would not do anything to remain in power; like UMNO, PAP believes that ruling their country is their birth-right and they will do whatever necessary to protect it. Some of LKY’s quotes are interesting, here are sone:

“If I were in authority in Singapore indefinitely without having to ask those who are governed whether they like what is being done, then I would not have the slightest doubt that I could govern much more effectively in their interests.” – Mr Lee Kuan Yew, 1962.

Clearly every leader feels the same!

“Between being loved and being feared, I have always believed Machiavelli was right. If nobody is afraid of me, I’m meaningless.” – Lee Kuan Yew, 6.10.1997

“At this rate, the one-man, one-vote system could lead to decline and disintegration” – After the Opposition won 2 seats.

Looks like those pesky opposition are spoiling the plan.

“The party would withdraw services to the two opposition-held seats of Anson and Potong Pasir” – On Potong Pasir and Anson electing non-PAP MP.

Penang being an example here.

“If I have to shoot 200,000 students to save China from another 100 years of disorder, so be it.” – Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew evoking the ghost of Deng Xiaoping whilst endorsing the Tiananmen Square massacre, Straits Times, Aug 17, 2004.

The dangers of over-jealous “revolutionaries”.

“Without the elected president and if there is a freak result, within two or three years, the army would have to come in and stop it” – MM Lee Kuan Yew on what would happen if a profligate opposition government touched Singapore’s vast monetary reserves.

Looks like PAP treats Temasek and GIC as their personal holdings.

“Please do not assume that you can change governments. Young people don’t understand this” – MM Lee Kuan Yew on the results of the 2006 election.

58. #58 by limkamput on Wednesday, 30 July 2008 - 10:01 pm

I do not like hypothetical questions and “what if” type of questions because it is pointless. zak hammaad

simple, then don’t give “what if” or hypothetical scenarios. You can’t see your own irony and stupidity.