9MP Midterm Review – Tsu Koon’s “beggar politics”

(Speech by DAP MP for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang at the opening of the DAP Tebing Tinggi service centre, Ipoh on Saturday, 28th June 2008)

One result of the March 8 “political tsunami” which saw the end of the Barisan Nasional’s unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority and its loss of five state governments, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan, is a bout of public soul searching by some Barisan Nasional leaders.

One such public heart-baring was by the Gerakan Adviser Datuk Seri Lim Keng Yaik who confessed that as Umno did not give the other component parties equal standing, Gerakan, MCA and MIC were reduced to the status of “beggars” in the ruling coalition – resulting in their massive rejection by the electorate in the March 8 “political tsunami”.

Gerakan Acting President Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon has proven his predecessor right about the “beggar politics” and “beggar mentality” of Gerakan vis-à-vis Umno in Barisan Nasional in his response to the RM3.5 billion Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review deferring of the PORR and Monorail projects in Penang.

Tsu Koon should demand a rightful say as an equal partner in the ruling coalition on major decisions particularly those affecting Penang, such as the two “signature” Ninth Malaysia Plan projects of the Barisan Nasional for Penang instead of concocting excuses to justify the deferral of the two projects, like blaming the Penang people for voting in a new state government in the March general election or criticizing the DAP Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng for sending allegedly “confusing signals” to the Federal Government.

If Yong Teck Lee of SAPP is prepared to forsake “beggar politics” in Barisan Nasional and could stand up for the legitimate rights and interests of the people of Sabah to the extent of facing disciplinary action by the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council, why is Tsu Koon not prepared to do more to defend the legitimate rights and interests of the people of Penang and send a clear and unmistakable message to Umno that the March 8 “political tsunami” must mean an end to “beggar politics” in Barisan Nasional if Gerakan and all other component parties in BN are to survive and remain relevant to the needs and aspirations of Malaysians?

1. #1 by boh-liao on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 4:25 pm

Aiyah, what to do – all the nonUmno politicians in the BN have been castrated as political eunuchs by MM for more than 20 years; they only know how to beg for the crumbs and be mighty pleased with titles and access to some gravy trains.

Beggars have no choice – take whatever is available and be happy and justify their actions by ‘in the name of national unity’.

When they are in the government, no sound and always a yes, yes Chihuahua.

Once out of the government, garang a bit and declared they were not equally treated, but happy with the titles and money in their pockets.

Malaysian politics lah.

2. #2 by konek on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 4:26 pm

The reason why the “policy” will be abolished is because we run out of oil money to support it.

It has nothing to do with anything else. I am just pointing out this simple fact.

You can love it or hate it. But it will make no difference to the outcome.

3. #3 by alancheah on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 4:37 pm

Support Pakatan Rakyat.

Good Luck to M’sia.

4. #4 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 4:39 pm

All the back bone of the component parties has been broken after years of begging..

Shiok Guy/a>

5. #5 by pwcheng on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 4:49 pm

We all know what Barisan Politics is all about. Power Sharing as is just a name but we all know UMNO plays a different Game. Look at the Portfolio that the Non UMNO members are holding. They are split to ensure that commercial powers are in the hands of UMNO. Why do you UMNO needs the Entreprenuer Ministry to issue license as it will an overlapping problems with the Transport Ministry? Why do you think the Ministry of Works during the days of Samy Velu do not have the power to issue contarcts (Finance Ministry in charge of negotiated contracts which will all go to their cronies)? why do you think the Ministry of Primary Commodities has no say in Petronas? Isn’t Petrol a primary commodity? Who is responsible for all contracts given out by the Ministry of health, be it for medicine,new buildings or renovations, health care products, etc. Is it not the Ministry of Finance? Other than that they are just in the Ministry of manpower and you know who will have a bigger say when coming to employment of Bumiputras and non-Bumiputras. The rest will be in the Ministry of National Unity where they will have a tough time fighting against UNMO which is all out to cause Disunity.

Isn’t all these enough to brandish their veiled attempt to lie to us and the world that their are having the power sharing concept. Tsu Koon, Ka Ting, Samy if you cannot look through their UMNO eyes you are not fit to lead us.

But if you have know it and talk from experiences, it is high time you show your mettle and lay your cards just like what SAPP did. It is a “Its Now Or Never” opportunity. Elvis has sang it and it is not too late for you people to sing this song now!!!

6. #6 by yhsiew on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 5:04 pm

The cancellation of the two “signature” Ninth Malaysia Plan projects of the Barisan Nasional for Penang is a clear sign of federal retaliation against the people of Penang for rejecting BN.

While Tun M. was still PM he publicly made it clear that the federal government would not give much support to Opposition led states including Kelantan. I think even if Tsu Koon kowtows to UMNO, they would not change their mind.

In the case of Kelantan, the federal government’s attempt to deprive the state of assistance in the hope that Kelantanese would turn to BN in the next GE had failed miserably. That was probably because federal retaliation sowed seeds of hatred and resentment among the electorate, and once such hatred and resentment took roots and deeply entrenched in the hearts and minds of the electorate, UMNO would lose the state for good – at least it appeared so for Kelantan.

The federal government’s unfair treatment to the people of Penang might well turn out to be a blessing for bro. Guan Eng!

7. #7 by tunglang on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 5:53 pm

If Penangites are still getting peanuts, why then should taxes be paid direct to Federal Gomen? Might as well Penangites pay for themselves, ie taxes collected paid direct to own Penang Gomen.
    Then Penang self-fund all its development projects plus funding from outside Malaysia without Federal interference.
    Penangites, RIGHT?
    BN still think we are all fools!
    Remember, Penang contributes the 3rd largest tax collection, so don’t play-play!

8. #8 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 5:55 pm

May be the article today in the star better describe some of the BN components parties..

Erectile Dysfunction (ED) of the brain and bodily function to fight either in bed or political front.

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/38-million-malaysian-men-have-ed.html

Even the 8 March Tsunami has no cure!

9. #9 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 5:57 pm

he’s interested only in his private possessions, doesn’t care much about the public when in office…(he got booted out..)

A BEGGAR

10. #10 by yhsiew on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 6:07 pm

tunglang wrote:

“If Penangites are still getting peanuts, why then should taxes be paid direct to Federal Gomen?”
    ——————————————————————-

It is not in the federal government’s interest to allow the individual state achieve economic or monetary independence because the state can any time declare itself as an independent country once it becomes self-sufficient (e.g. Taiwan).

11. #11 by grace on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 7:14 pm

You cannot compare Koh with Yong. Koh Tsu khoon has no motre cards to play. His cards are all so lousy that he cannot make the call anymore. Gerakan is already gone. UMNO will say, Get lost to Gerakan if he makes too much demands.
    Ha!Ha! MCA AND GERAKAN ARE HISTORY!!!

12. #12 by atlk on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 7:34 pm

konek Says:

Today at 16: 26.19 (3 hours ago)
    The reason why the “policy” will be abolished is because we run out of oil money to support it.

It has nothing to do with anything else. I am just pointing out this simple fact.

You can love it or hate it. But it will make no difference to the outcome.
    ——————————-
    run out of oil money to support it and you said this is a simple fact?

brother, you grow grasses in your brain or what? did you even read the fking news?

they added an additional RM30 billion to 9MP…what run out of oil money? what fact? you fag!

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 7:36 pm

“konek” if you are conversant in Bahasa, is a Malay slang and is vulgar and should not be allowed to be used in a handle. It is like using the word ‘cunt’ for a handle!

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 7:40 pm

“they added an additional RM30 billion to 9MP…what run out of oil money? what fact? you fag!”
    atlk

You shouldn’t be calling a retired government servant with a ‘respectable’ title like PPN to his name a fag!

15. #15 by penang308 on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 9:07 pm

I am not supprise that BN defer both the projects!

I wish ALL THE PENANGITE can get together to find a way to pay LESS TAX TO THE GOVERNMENT!

REMEMBER, NO MONEY NO BN!

16. #16 by pgsilai on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 9:36 pm

I fully agree with you penang308, why pay so much tax to the govt? Go and get this book, Malaysian Tax Made Simple by David Hor. Will give you practical guide for taxpayers on your rebates and relief. Yeah, it’s not surprise they defer the projects and when they say it’s not a punishment, it means a punishment! We have a rotting govt and I am just waiting for the day, for PR to take over and have a total face lift. I hope we don’t have to wait that long. I am getting tired and restless.

17. #17 by Godfather on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 9:45 pm

What is clear from the deafening silence of BN lapdogs like MCA, MIC and Gerakan is that the decision to punish Penang must have been taken by UMNO without prior consultation with these lapdogs.

These lapdogs have been caught between a rock and a hard place. If they have not been consulted, then they are truly beggars in an unequal alliance with UMNO. If they were consulted and they agreed to the cancellation of the projects, then they have betrayed the Penang people. Either way, the lapdogs are dogmeat !

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 10:06 pm

“These lapdogs have been caught between a rock and a hard place.” Godfather

That’s what happens to naughty girls doing the lap dance – trapped between a rock and a hard place!

19. #19 by Rocky on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 11:03 pm

Gerakan do a SAPP. No way! Koh is not Yong and Gerakan has tasted lots of power and freebies to let go. but the power is under guidance and mercy of UMNO.

No once should screw their customers/voters in this ear unless they are the only game in town. BN is not the only game but they may not know it yet even after 8th March,2008.

20. #20 by passerby on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 11:24 pm

Umno gives order and mca, gerakan, mic and whatnot take the order. This is what you called power sharing?

21. #21 by kmteh on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 11:25 pm

I wish PR will take over BN ASAP!!! waiting for the day!!!!!! MCA,MIC & Gerakan just a puppet for UMNO.

22. #22 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 12:15 am

Dear Passerby,

UMNO’s position in BN is what a controlling shareholders of a company. Yes sir. UMNO behaves like a senior partner. UMNO is the senior partner.

It controls more than half of seats won by BN. Remember it has 79 seats in BN ( more than half).

I am sure LIM Kit siang in Father and Son Co understands such an equation. After all, that is what DAP did in Perak. It took the lion share of councillors and exco seats in Perak. IT also behaves as a senior partner.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 12:43 am

“Umno gives order and mca, gerakan, mic and whatnot take the order. This is what you called power sharing?” passerby

Yup. It is called power shared unequally.

24. #24 by smeagroo on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 12:58 am

penangites shld stop paying taxes to the fed govt….

why shld they be paying taxes and sleepy idiot build hi-way in putrajaya only?

WTF rite?

25. #25 by 318 on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 9:00 am

to me all the umno’s lackeys sre plp,blp,ckkck, lps n ck

26. #26 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:13 am

The problem is not just the beggar politics. It all sounds very good to be democratic and good partners but in the end in Asian politics, what works is compliant politics. But compliant politics has ONE BIG ASSUMPTION – a government that SERVES THE PEOPLE MOST OF THE TIME. The problem is BN formula is compliant politics BUT serving the people is secondary, power play is primary. Its why Samy Vellu and Rafidah won’t go. Dr. M won’t go, KTK won’t go, and Ong brothers are plotting to be behind the throne even as OKT appear to be retiring.

What does it spells? The wrong people especially at the top. Poor leadership when the requirement is extraordinary leadership. This is what BN don’t get.

27. #27 by badak on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 1:28 pm

If we are complaining about the price of fuel now..Imagine this ..BY 2013 WE WILL BE A NET IMPORTER OF OIL.This was said by Marican chairman of petronas.

28. #28 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 2:50 pm

shamshul anuar! please stop your twisted explanation, if the party U support is so good, Malay should not still trying to achieve the 30% (your party claimed 19.5%, but cannot substantiate this figure?) after 38 years (1970 to 2008). Our GDP (2007) in US$ term should NOT be behind that of the tiny red dot which has less than 19% of Msia population and less than 0.25% of Msia land size.
    And there are only 77 MP from your favourite party not, 79.
    Can allocate extra RM30 bil, but cannot spare RM3.5 bil ? How to convince ppl?

29. #29 by cazz on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 10:50 pm

Dont put all the blame to UMNO, though UMNO is no way to be acquitted. Whilst castration in not in practice in Malaysia, our MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc leaders chose to be eunuchs to serve UMNO.

They have choice not to beg but live up to their dignity and leave BN. Why didn’t they? For one simple reason, they are equally corrupted!

You (Lim Keng Yeik and the likes) opt to stay with the hyenas and live off the left-over in disgrace.

30. #30 by I Malaysian on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:18 am

Whether Koh Tsu Koon or other component party leaders, all of them have lost their credibility when they refuse to stand up for the right of people.
    The latest sodomy faced by Anwar Ibrahaim shows how cheap and corrupt our ruling party leaders and officers. We have not forgotten how the police reacted when a woman lodged a police report that someone grab her but. It took so long and someone were to question they would they investigation is still going on. But in Anwar’s case the efficiency is superb. Investigation is almost complete. What it shows?
    I think Malaysia does not deserve to be called as the modal of Muslim country unless this is what they mean being good Muslim all about.

31. #31 by lhslhv on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 4:04 pm

Quote: When a country is governed by fools, there will be choas.

Choas we have.

Since human history, economic activities play a vital role in our survival. Be it an economic activities that involve a simple hunting trip to undertaking a complex project. If we neglect this, disaster will befall upon us.

As we evolve from rudimentary economic activities, specialisation of economic activities pool together our resources and production of goods to support a society and the country as a whole. Nowaday productions of goods are so specialised, not many individuals can survive alone. Every consumer will depend on one another to survive. If the farms do not produce, the urban population will face food shartages and may died of hunger because we cannot consume industrial goods and services. If the industrial goods are not available, the farm will have to depend on primitive methods of farming. Food production will decline and feed less people. All these situations make usefull production inefficient.

As our population increases, we are faced with more mouths to feed. With more mouth to feed we have to create more jobs so that the eligible workforce can find employments. To create employments good financial policies have to be devised. Efficiencies have to increase so that no wastage of resources is entertained. With efficiencies, savings from wastage can be utilised to create opportunities of employment through consumptions of other goods. This consumption will generate opportunies in other economic chains.

As we are thought in schools and universities, let the environments with the best capacity for any beneficial production flourish to its full potential. Do not impose articifial limits or restrictions to stunt its growth. When I talk of environments, they include geographical environemnts, social environments, economic environments, cultural environments and political environments. Artificial (man-made) restrictions will invite troubles.

Let Kedah be the rice bowl of Malaysia. Let Penang be the industrial hub of Malaysia. Let Kuala Lumpur be the commercial center. Let Kelantan be the center of religious studies. Let every part of our country play its role well. We will flourish to our full potential.

When we talk about development, we can only qualify to call ourselves developed when the power is in the hand of the people. Not in the hands of the politicains. We are so fearful of the politicians that they bully us into submitting our livelihood in their hands. Until we can claim our “people power” only then we can call ourselves developed.

Development of infrastructures like transport system, buildings, ports, power grid and other settlements do not entitle us to a developed status. Even then do we have “real choices” to education, vital services, economic ventures, banking facilities to qualify us as a developed nation? A developed nations do not short of these choices. A less developed nations have all these disasters.

When a certain community is blocked to progress economically, everyone will suffer. The whole nation will suffer. You may ask “why?”. To support a growing population, we need jobs. Who can give us jobs? The Government? You are only 10% right.

Our Malaysian government employs about 1.2 million people. We have about 12 million workforce. This is about 10%. Let us say the Malays constitute 60% of the workforce. Their number will be 7.2 million. Minus 1.2 million in the government service, they have about 6 million. So how are the rest of us (Malays, Chinese, Indian etc) going to feed our family? We surely have to depend on the industries. Who are the major players in the industries? The Chinese. When the industries cannot perform, jobs will be cut. Majority of the Malays, minority of the Chinese, Indian, Iban Kadazan etc will suffer. The Malaysian government will collect less taxes. Prices of goods will be increased to support their unwise policies. With this scenario, how long can Malaysia survive hapily? In addition, please don’t forget that the population of the Malays keep on increasing ever faster than the rest of the population based on “compounding rate”. Similar to compound interest calculation. So if the present policies are still in place, then we are all in the land of chaos.

So to all our Malysian citizens, our fate lies in your hands NOT in the hands of the politicians. Choose wisely!