RCI on illegal immigrants in Sabah can be established after Tuesday

I have given notice that I will move an amendment on Tuesday to the motion of thanks for the Royal Address in the name of the MP for Kulai, YB Ong Ka Ting, as follows:

“ by adding the following words ‘and resolves that a Royal Commission of Inquiry should be established to resolve the long-standing problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah to the extent that there is legitimate fear that Sabahans are being outnumbered by foreigners in their own state’ after the words ‘Penggal Pertama Parlimen Yang Kedua Belas’”.

If Sabah and Sarawak MPs from Barisan Nasional support the amendment motion on Tuesday, a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the illegal immigrant problem in Sabah – a call which had been made in Sabah and in Parliament down the decades – would finally be established.

Are BN MPs from Sabah and Sarawak as well as from Peninsular Malaysia prepared to do what is right?

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:21 pm

If all the illegal immigrants in Sabah are deported, umno sabah would have to close shop. So no RCI will ever occur there

2. #2 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:39 pm

The issue of illegal immigrants who were so easily given Malaysian ICs should be a matter of concern for all Malaysians as it is a direct threat to national security.

Those involved should be held under the ISA.

3. #3 by kentutoyol on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:19 pm

This issue have more questions than answers.

Who started this IC project and why?

Is the culprit(s) caught?

Why is it so difficult for the gomen to rectify the problem?

Someone has started a fire that has no remedy of putting it off?

Where is the ‘Malaysia boleh’ spirit?

…bla..bla..bla…

4. #4 by ch on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:29 pm

Dear All,

By moving this notion on Tueday, if permitted by the Speaker, many answers would be answered as one could then see clearly the numbers of Sabah and Sarawak MPs supporting the notion. The issue of effectively addressing illegal immigrants by the Federal Government has been a central demand by Sabah and Sarawak MPs. If the Federal Government moves forward to establish the commission due to overwhelming demands from Opposition as well as Sabah and Sarawak MPs, we would then be able to see what are the various effective ways the Sabah and Sarawak governments have in combating this menace.

As revealed in this blog, many argued that influx of illegal immigrants and their eventual legalisation citizenship standings in Sabah and Sarawak was a brainchild of the Federal Government so as to protect and expand its political stewardship in both states. I believe Sabah and Sarawak MPs would be more than delighted to support this notion if this argument is to hold any truth. However, I would say that not all Sabah and Sarawak MPs share the same view as some, particullarly from Sabah dominant party, are in fact supportive of this ploy of planting more illegal immigrants in their state.

5. #5 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 4:42 pm

All roads lead to Rome, so it should not surprise anyone that any inquiry would ultimately lead to the “emperor” who ruled for 22 years. He would of course point to memory loss if questioned.

6. #6 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 4:44 pm

And Badawi would claim no knowledge of the hundreds of thousands of ICs given to foreigners – despite him being the Home Minister for the past 4 years.

7. #7 by donplaypuks on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:39 pm

Dear YB LKS

While we are on the subject of transparency & accountability and the latest news on the India Inkgate Scandal, please also raise the following issues in Parliament:

1. Question the 1st & 2nd Finance Ministers on how they calculated that M’sia’s per capita income grew by 40% between 2004-2007. I belive the statistics were massaged by manipulation of exchange rates, instead of using consistent exchange rates.

2. Petronas says we may run out of oil by 2025, but Mamak Robocop claims it is 2011 . Which is the correct year?

Both these statements were made publicly by the new MP just before GE 2008. I think these were election stunts to mislead the elctorate into thinking the BN had managed the economy brilliantly. Mamak Robocop should be charged with misbehaviour and misrepresenting the facts and made to apologise to th eelectorate.

In the India Inkgate Scandal, we have taken it for granted that the ink was actually ordered, delivered and taken stock of. Now we know that we cannot trust the EC Chief’s or Govt’s words any further than we can spit. So, please get an independent confirmation from the Auditor General. I believe that we have just unearthed the tip of a humongous scandal and fraud.

Thank you

8. #8 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:42 pm

It is obvious that many illegal immigrants (not just Indonesians, but Pakistanis, Bangladeshi, Palestinians, Iranians) are given Malaysian IC (whether legally or not).

Is there a hidden agenda of UMNO in Sabah, noticing the countries these immigrants coming from.

9. #9 by alancheah on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:50 pm

Good Luck to East Malaysia.

10. #10 by devilmaster on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:05 pm

This will be an acid test for all eunuchs from MCA & Gerakan; let’s see whether they have the courage to act within their conscience and stop living in Umnoputras’ shadows.

All East Malaysia BN component parties must take this opportunity and support the amendment motion to tell Umno enough is enough. Stop the Project IC.

11. #11 by Malaysian on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:14 pm

Dear CH,

I shared your view that not all Sabah MP would support the move. Only a few mosquito party in Sabah BN such as SAPP, UPKO and LDP are making noise about this issue. Even PBS is not commited this issue. For Musa Aman lead Sabah Umno, they are the beneficially of the Project IC. Forget about MP Kimanis Anifah Aman (brother of Musa Aman), MP Kelabakan Gapur Salleh and MP Kinabatangan Bung Moktar and our nationnal Unity and Art Minister Shafie Apdal would support the move.

12. #12 by BaronV on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:32 pm

Dear DonPlayPuks. I believe the “Mamak Robocop” as you so call him explained it fairly clearly. The current (and possibly anticipated but not producing) Oil reserves of the country are expected to run out by 2025. HOWEVER, Malaysia will become a NETT OIL IMPORTER by 2011. This is because of our rise in energy demand coupled with the fact that as oil well age the production drops exponentially towards the end of their life. Thus oil no longer can be considered a national asset for importation.

Strange despite this looming disaster the UMNOputras couldnt use their brains and make the shift to alternative energy resources. Malaysia is already the worlds no1 country in growing CO2 footprint since 2004 (another Malaysia Boleh??)

13. #13 by glokaltower on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:54 pm

????, ????.

?, (?) ??
    ??????, ??????.
    ???????, ??????????, ???????.

?, (?) ??
    ??, ????, ????, ?????, ????????; ????, ????, ????; ?????????????.

????:

1. If on your left side is “green dragon” and on your right side is “white tiger”, then, the best thing to do is turn yourself into water. Water, in the nut shell, is made of two hydrogen and one oxygen.

2. ?????

3. ??????, ????, ??????,????.

?, (?) ??
    ????, ????, ????.

??, ??, ??:

1. ????
    ????, ????, ????.

2. ??, ??, ??
    ????, ??????, ??, ?????????.

3. ??, ??, ??, ??, ??
    ????????.

?, (?) ?, ?, ?, ?????
    ????, ????, ????, ????, ????.

1. Malay Dilemma Tri-visited

2. ???????

3. MSC-Window-Buster-Southern-Belt

?, (?) ???, ???
    ????, ????, ????, ?????: ????, ????; ??????????, ??????.

14. #14 by clearwater on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:59 pm

Sorry, YB Lim Kit Siang, good try but you will not be getting any BN support whether from Peninsular, Sabah or Sarawak. These MPs have much to lose and nothing to gain by supporting your amendment at this juncture. Better to wait for a more opportune time.

15. #15 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 7:02 pm

Ya, this is the time to pile pressure on MPs from Sabah and Sarawak. All these bunkum only know how to ask for more cabinet posts and perks. It is time they walk the talk and do something substantive to Sabahans and Sarawakians. Yes Sdr Kit, pile it on, load more pressure on them and see whether they buckle. My feel is these Sabahan and Sarawakian MPs are just self centred loud mouths.

16. #16 by 20 Perkara on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 7:50 pm

All the best YB. Teruskan usaha murni YB. Semoga YB berjaya…

17. #17 by cvl on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 7:53 pm

For want of better expressions, all Sabahan can come together to show support for this motion, and this honorable MP.

For starters, Sabahan can initiate a Sabah Vigil on the eve of the motion, and have peaceful gatherings and rallies all over Sabah to raikan the motion arrival at the Speaker’s gate, as a show of support both for the Speaker and the Proposer. Pendekar might might just call in sick and he would need this show of support.

Do be prepared the illegal have numbers enough to do their march down Karamunsing road as did back in the 80’s.

Let’s see what balls Sabahan have.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:06 pm

You must be testing “waters”. The issue of illegal immigrants in Sabah to the extent that there is legitimate fear that Sabahans are being outnumbered by foreigners in their own state’ is close to the hearts of East Malaysians. Provided the Speaker allows the amendment to the motion of thanks for the Royal Address in Ong Ka Ting’s name, if the proposal of a Royal Commission of Inquiry should be established to resolve the illegal immigrants problem and BN MPs from Sabah and Sarawak help tip the scale by swinging support to Opposition’s side to support proposal, notwithstanding BN’s whip, this simply implies there and then that the BN has lost majority in the Dewan Rakyat tantamount to a vote of no confidence on the government with all its attendant consequences! :)

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:37 pm

This is a legitimate fear.

It is like unleashing millions of Mexicans across the border to California to re-claim lost Mexican territory except in this case it is done with the tacit cooperation of the U.S. government – which doesn’t make sense of course.

But given Malaysia’s racial imbalance in the state of Sabah and the fact that the ruling party is losing its control, no measure is too desperate during desperate times.

20. #20 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:45 pm

Jeffrey, I don’t get you. Can we not have bipartisan vote on specific issue without calling into question “no confidence” on the government?

21. #21 by myint3 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 9:12 pm

This is a response to the comment by HJ Angus. I think those involved in granting ICs to these illegal immigrants, if caught, should be tried for TREASON. Their assets confiscated and auctioned off and the proceeds should be used to bear the cost of deporting these illegals.

YB LKS, thank you for championing us Sabahans.

22. #22 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 9:42 pm

Limkamput:

We will not be able to see bipartisan voting for another 50 years. There are two types of politicians in BN – those who believe that shouting the loudest wins, and those who leave their b@lls at home before proceeding to Parliament House. This combination has served BN well for 50 years, and there won’t be any change until they are thrown out of Federal government.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:00 pm

“The issue of illegal immigrants in Sabah to the extent that there is legitimate fear that Sabahans are being outnumbered by foreigners in their own state’ is close to the hearts of East Malaysians.” Jeffrey QC

Depends on one’s perspective of history! To the Indonesians, Malaysians are the foreigners and the illegal immigrants. If you look at the waves of migration, their claim is not as baseless as it appears at first glance.

24. #24 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:15 pm

undergrad2, are you saying Kadazan, dusun and murut are recent immigrants of Sabah? Besides, if you want to go back to history, one may ask you how far back you want to go back to history. I think you shouldn’t further complicate the already very complicated issue here. We know for sure who Sabahans are and who are not since Sabah joined Malaysia. I got the feeling that similar trend may emerge in Peninsula Malaysia. I am not just saying Indonesians but also Bangladeshi and more recently Burmese. Those want to read more about unfettered entry of foreign labour please go here: http: //limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:31 pm

“undergrad2, are you saying Kadazan, dusun and murut are recent immigrants of Sabah?”

These are natives of Borneo.

Widen your perspective a little. Waves of Chinese migration to Sulawesi, for example, especially South Sulawesi and the intermarrying between Chinese immigrants from south China and local natives produced a race we now refer to as the Bugis (not to be confused with the ‘boogeyman’). Our DPM is a Bugis and is therefore a descendant of Chinese from south China. That could help explain his ‘fatal attraction’ to Altantuya.

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:42 pm

Malaysians (from Peninsular Malaysia) are definitely the latest in the waves of migration to Borneo. The demographics are changing so fast that soon the real natives of Borneo would face the same fate as the Neolithic Man did.

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:45 pm

Or should it be Neanderthal?

28. #28 by wtf2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:48 pm

Can anybody confirm if Indonesians of malay descent granted PR /Citizenship are classified as BUMI? I remember reading somewhere that they are!

29. #29 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:03 pm

Shouldn’t it be Malays of Indonesian descent?

30. #30 by Joshua on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:05 pm

This is looking up after 21 years since my first letter to the Daily Express. Thanks, YB Lim Kit Siang

the latest twin incidences of Labuan – my birth place – and Tawau with very high EPIC are like this–

RCI is likened a time bomb exploded and an earth quake or tremor…in Sabah..

Tawau shaken by tremor 18/5/08
    By RUBEN SARIO
    KOTA KINABALU: Scores of people in hotels and other multi-storey buildings rushed out to the streets after a strong tremor struck the southeastern Sabah town of Tawau at about 2.40pm on Sunday.
    The tremor shook the buildings, causing window panes to rattle as the occupants ran out.
    A Sabah Meteorological Services Department official said the tremor measured 4.3 on the Richter scale with its epicentre about 71km northwest of Tawau town, in the Kalabakan area.

May 18, 2008 18:17 PM

Police Detonate WWII Bomb Found At Labuan Airport
    LABUAN, May 19 (Bernama) — Police on Sunday detonated a World War II bomb which was found in a construction site at the Labuan airport on Friday, a police spokesman said.

The American-made bomb was of the Arial type, weighed 226 kg and measured slightly more than a metre in length and less than a metre in diameter, said Lance Corporal Ismail Aziz.

The Labuan police bomb squad head said the bomb had to be detonated as it posed a risk.

A construction worker found the bomb about 100 metres from the airport building, following earthworks for the construction of a runway.

–BERNAMA

31. #31 by passerby on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:29 pm

If the BN refuses to resolve this illegal immigrants, can Sabah and Sarawak ship these illegals to West Malaysia?

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:35 pm

..form Liberation of Sabah Movement and make limkamput chairman??

33. #33 by limkamput on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 12:20 am

see all deleted already. I think moderator also panic with what you said. I am not a lawyer but old enough to know.

34. #34 by novice101 on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 1:16 am

This is what the Sabah parliamentarians alleged the federal government has done to sabotaged the sovereignity of one of its own state:

> Fellow Malaysians (those who are supposed to enforce the laws) allowed the illegal immigrants to slip into Sabah, by hundreds of thousands.
    a) Sabah faces thre threat of being over-run by these illegal immigrants.
    b) The MPs claimed 75% of the crimes in the state was committed by the illegal immigrants.
    c) They said 90% of the drug in the state come from the Phillippines.
    d) Three out of four of the hospital beds are occupied by the illegal immigrants, thus straining the state resources.
    e) 60 % of the UiTM Bumi quota are taken by the illegal immigrants.
    > Illegal immigrants are issued illegal identity cards and were even listed in the electoral roll;
    > 600,000 of the illegal immigrants own Identity cards which were obtained either legally or illegally;
    > 366 were issued with IMM 13 cards which are meant only for refugees.

Haven’t they suffered enough? Don’t they have the right to seek redress?

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 2:10 am

“See all deleted already. I think moderator also panic…” limkamput

If a man can no longer get along with his wife because of “irreconcilable differences” what is wrong with petitioning for a no-fault divorce?

36. #36 by kingkenny on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 4:58 pm

Dunno whether the opposition is “helping” BN/UMNO or otherwise!

I just hope all Citizens will see what’s really happening in this “kind” of country and will measures to abandon BN/UMNO.

If after all “RCI this & RCI that” no action taken against perpetrators of “Project IC” it’s just bloody lame laa!!

Seen too many this “kind” of s***, for a while it will become headlines in all newspaper available, but normally will last only a few days, max is 3 or 4 days…after that, you and me also know what happen laa.

HOUDINI MAGIC! Lame people!

37. #37 by seage on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:01 am

Dear YB LKS, continue to press on and champion the cause of the Sabahans. In due time the Sabahan will see who fought for them. Keep harping on this matter in Parliament and let the voting of the motion took place in parliament and record all these down in youtube. The let us all send the youtube links en masse to all our East Malaysian brothers and sisters so that they know that the person they elected are not interested to help the Sabahans. The voting of the motion is a landmine for these Sabah “Bo Nao” MPS i.e. they are compelled to give a vote of confidence, otherwise, it is a betrayal to the people, period.

38. #38 by myint3 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:19 pm

Uncle Lim, you’ve got me at “I’ve given notice..”. This is one Sabahan who will vote for DAP. I want to join DAP Sabah but I’ve got no one to recommend me :( which is a prerequisite in the application form. Yes, I’ve downloaded the application form.

39. #39 by northborneo on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 12:10 am

yeah, ship the illegal aliens to west malaysia,
    the ‘malay’ wannabes