Mahathir’s challenge – dare Abdullah pick up the gauntlet?

Former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad has challenged the government to charge him following the report of the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam Video Clip scandal.

Dare the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, pick up the gauntlet?

This is the AFP report of Mahathir’s cdare:

Malaysia’s Mahathir challenges govt to charge him

JOHOR BAHRU, Malaysia (AFP) — Malaysia’s former prime minister Mahathir Mohamad on Saturday challenged the government to charge him for his alleged involvement in a judge-fixing scandal during his rule.

The government on Friday released a report that found evidence of an “insidious” conspiracy to influence the appointment of judges and had listed Mahathir, along with other top figures, as being involved.

Following the release of the report, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s cabinet agreed for the attorney-general’s chambers to immediately investigate the allegations against those identified in the report, including Mahathir.

“I welcome it,” the 82-year-old influential leader said at a meeting in southern Johor state.

“I want them to charge me in court. Only then will I have the opportunity to expose more conflicts faced by the judges, including those who have implicated me,” he told reporters.

The report was prepared by a royal commission that investigated a video clip allegedly showing top lawyer V.K. Lingam brokering judge appointments.

“We are of the view that there was, conceivably, an insidious movement by (V.K. Lingam) with the covert assistance of his close friends,” it said, citing business tycoon Vincent Tan — Mahathir’s close associate — and secretary general of the ruling United Malays National Organisation, Tengku Adnan.

“In the process, Tun Mahathir Mohamad was also entangled,” the report said, referring to the man who ruled Malaysia with an iron fist for 22 years.

The report said there was “sufficient cause” to invoke laws including those on sedition and corruption against “some of the principal individuals involved.” But it did not specify who should face prosecution.

During the commission inquiry, Mahathir testified that he was not influenced by his associates when he selected judges.

His arch foe and former deputy premier, Anwar Ibrahim, unleashed a furore last year by releasing the clip, which apparently showed Lingam telling a person identified as former chief justice Ahmad Fairuz that that he would put him forward for a top job.

1. #1 by raven77 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 7:50 pm

Its time they thru this guy in the slammer….enough. ….dont even blink. Mahathir…the man responsible for bankrupting and dividing this nation for 30 long dark years. The Tunku was right…..this guy has brought calamity to the nation and its finances. Soros put him in his place and now Malaysians must put him in jail…..and no royal pardon please…..

2. #2 by DG on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 7:54 pm

“I want them to charge me in court. Only then will I have the opportunity to expose more conflicts faced by the judges, including those who have implicated me,” he told reporters.

*** Great news of the rakyat! at least there is some new findings to be revealed by TDM in the near future that we can learn from…

3. #3 by Bintulu on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:00 pm

I don’t think there is something new. TDM can’t do much, he is not in power.

4. #4 by novice101 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:10 pm

Mahathir is putting on a brave front, he knows he is trouble now. He is exploiting AAB’s sore spot. He knows the soft support AAB has in UMNO. Thus he throws AAB the challenge to charge him in court. He is banking on his support that still remains in UMNO to dictate to AAB.

AAB should do the right thing by the nation. He should know he has the whole nation behind him to clean up the juduiciary. The people want him to do this. The ‘Dirty Half-Dozen’ had messed up the judiciary, place them in the only place where they rightly deserved – in jail!

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:23 pm

“I want them to charge me in court. Only then will I have the opportunity to expose more conflicts faced by the judges, including those who have implicated me” – TDM.

What is the meaning conflicts faced by the judges – conflicts of interest, euphemism for judicial corruption???

There must be political will to accept such a gauntlet & dare since the whole wider purpose of the Lingam Commission is to stem judicial rot and expose these “conflicts faced by the judges”.

6. #6 by PSM on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:29 pm

Oh please! We are lying to ourselves if we ever think that a BN influenced Court will ever find anything against TDM!
    However, if AAB has something “concrete” against TDM, do you think he will dare use it? Then again, AAB might make a deal with TDM to keep it hush-hush so that TDM will stop critizing him!
    No, TDM will never see a day in court let alone see a day in Jail!
    Justice will only be served in the after-life when it comes to TDM & the other BN crooks.
    But then again, if the PR comes into power? Well…we can only hope!

7. #7 by penang308 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:36 pm

Wowwww!!!

This is GREAT NEWS…now the ball is at “BLOODAWI’s feet, lets see what he can do with it!

8. #8 by Godfather on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:40 pm

Mahathir knows how incompetent the AG’s Chambers, the Police and the ACA are. It will take Badawi another year to charge those implicated in the inquiry. It will take a few more years to figure out who has left the country and getting suntans in the Mediterranean. It will take another 5 years for any case to come to court for a hearing. With appeals and counterappeals, there won’t be any decision for another 10 years.

Time to move on – just retire all the Federal court judges, including the Court of Appeal president appointed by UMNO.

9. #9 by LittleBird on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:45 pm

Judges who implicated certain individuals were memebers of the Royal Commission. We all who they were. So what secrets Mahathir got now.?

There used to be rumours that someone would keep a file which was used when necessary. So I guess nobody in the current administatration would be spared.

10. #10 by limkamput on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:51 pm

Not so easy Godfather. Charge all of them. We shall never allow those who abuse and committed crimes to retire gracefully. It would set a bad precedent for present and future leaders to do the same.

Mahathir is just talking big. If the government really charge him and send him to prison, I think he will shiver. He is a hypocrite. I say we shall form a RCI on him, investigating over his 22 years of misrule. How about it?

11. #11 by krishna on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 8:59 pm

He has made somevery dangerous statements nin his Johore meeting today. If this is not sedition, nothing is.

12. #12 by lew1328 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 9:00 pm

I dared to says no one will has doubth charging Mahathir not only for the scandal but for the “sedition” as well. Ya… hooo..

PR must follow up closely till the day M in jail. Yeah…

13. #13 by humanly on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 9:43 pm

No wonder Mahathir is now raising the race card in his blog as a shield against any action to be taken against him. With the grassroots on his side Pak Lah will chicken out.

Charge the man for the injustices suffered by lopsided justice. This is the only way to bring closure to the victims.

14. #14 by KennyGan on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 10:04 pm

Mahathir knows very well the ‘lembik’ AAB won’t have the guts to take action against him. Case closed!

But as reported in “MalaysianInsider”, Mahathir is now playing the race card, a very dangerous game. Will the Malays be matured enough to see through his rabble rousing about Malays losing political power? Aren’t PKR and PAS are mostly Malays? Mahathir is trying to blind them that only Umno=Malays. Let us hope the wicked old man doesn’t succeed.

15. #15 by yhsiew on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 10:17 pm

Apparently there are now two rival teams within UMNO. One team is “pro Tun M.” and the other is “anti Tun M.”.

PL has said he intended to contest for UMNO presidency in December 2008. If he really goes ahead to charge Tun M. in court following the report of the Royal Commission of Inquiry, it is likely that he (PL) will receive “zero support” from the angered “pro Tun M” team.

If PL does not charge Tun M., then some members from the “pro Tun M.” team may be softened by PL’s persuasion in December 2008 to re-elect him as UMNO president.

Whether PL should charge Tun M. is therefore dependent on what PL wants – “zero support” or “some support” from the “pro Tun M.” team.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 10:35 pm

“Dare the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, pick up the gauntlet?”

If he were to pick up the gauntlet, it could be the end of him as well! The old man knows that and Badawi knows that he knows that.

Is there a wild card here?

17. #17 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 10:36 pm

Half Kati! Eight ounce!
    Be it Mahathir or Badawi, both the same.
    Let it be!

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 10:47 pm

“I want them to charge me in court. Only then will I have the opportunity to expose more conflicts faced by the judges, including those who have implicated me” Mahathir

Mahathir understands the legal process well enough to back down from his own threat to sue London tabloids in the mid 80s which accused him of corruption. He figures Badawi would do the same.

19. #19 by Godfather on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 10:51 pm

Limkamput:

How to charge those who are already out of the country, or who will be “given” time to get out of the country ? This is a country run by a bunch of people who have this “I scratch your back, you scratch mine” mentality.

20. #20 by Short-sleeve on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 10:57 pm

Sleepless nights for Mahathir.

21. #21 by yhsiew on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:00 pm

I think PL is in a dilemma. If he does not take action against Tun M. then the people would say the PM is not serious against errant and corrupt practices. If he does take action then a “civil war” will break out within UMNO between the “pro Tun M” group and the “anti Tun M” group.

22. #22 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:10 pm

NotProudToBeMalaysian Says:
    Today at 22: 36.01 (31 minutes ago)
    Half Kati! Eight ounce!

HEY, Half kati is more than 8 ounces lah,
    Half Kati = 8 tahil, Half pound = 8 ounces lah !

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:14 pm

“I am not a postman, when the chief judge recommends, I straight away approve ….Then, I don’t have any role at all. I don’t want to be a postman,” Mahathir said.

What is the union of postal workers doing about this “I don’t want to be a postman” remark by the former PM? This is clearly a derogatory remark against the profession of postal workers.

24. #24 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:16 pm

Look more like someone is telling & hoping TDM will stop critizing AAB

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:16 pm

“How to charge those who are already out of the country, or who will be “given” time to get out of the country?” GODFATHER

Charge them in absentia and then seek the help of Interpol.

26. #26 by gofortruth on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:19 pm

DTM has made incredibly “dangerous” racist remarks in JB that can potentially instigate havoc in the country. Is that what he is trying to do?

http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/desperate-dr-m-plays-the-race-card.html

27. #27 by harrisonbinhansome on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:20 pm

Undergarad2,

It’s more like

“I want them to charge me in court. Only then will I have the opportunity to expose more conflicts faced by the judges, including those who have implicated me” Mahathir

Was it crystal clear by this statement denotes his own admission that he is the withholding the truth all this while, for at least 20 years or more?

I was at a cafe watching the news when Mahathir throws the challenge to anyone to charge him in court as his son was seating next to him. He looks convincingly calm and confident.

On the inversion, while being interviewed by the reporters, AAB looks frail in his speech if not slightly nervous when asked about what steps to be taken against the 6 perpetrators implicated in the
    “Linggamgate” scandal.

If the perpetrators managed to walked off scot-free, you can imagine what kind of a country Malaysia is!

28. #28 by Godfather on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:21 pm

And how long will it take to extradite them back to Malaysia, Undergrad2 ? Another 5 years ? 10 ?

29. #29 by yhsiew on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:27 pm

Sorry to digress.

Abdul Rashid claimed the Cabinet had already decided not to use indelible ink on the day (13 February 2008) it dissolved Parliament.

30. #30 by Jong on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:27 pm

The show has just begun!

Mahathir is a goner and he’s only putting on a bold front like a battered animal fighting with his back against the wall. He knows the Melayu’s mentality -it will be most disrespectful and ‘tak sopan’ to challenge a old man who is a mentor and former boss. He knows PM AAB is weak, will not dare take his challenge. We’ll see and wait for AAB’s next move.

31. #31 by greenacre on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:28 pm

Mahathir’s day out in court.

Judge: witness would you like to say something?

Mahathir: Yes your honour

Judge: Proceed..

Mahathir: I very much wanted to say this for all the charges levelled against me

judge: Please state it as judicial time is precious more so after lingamgate.

Mahathir: I came to say that “I forgot”

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:32 pm

The five-man inquiry panel in its report said there was sufficient cause to invoke among others the Sedition Act 1948, the Prevention of Corruption Act 1961, the Legal Profession Act 1976, the Official Secrets Act 1972 and the Penal Code against some of the principal individuals involved.

“The commission said the findings have, at the very least, provided the catalyst for further investigations so that, it hoped, there would be complete transparency and full accountability”

[]

This type of case if it is allowed to see the light of day in court is enough to bring down any government in the world. Because of that I’m not confident it will happen under BN rule. I’m not confident if it will happen even under Pakatan rule.

33. #33 by limkamput on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:33 pm

Godfather,
    Extradite them lah, what is the problem. Undergrad2 be AG, Jeffrey be Judge, and you IGP lah, we change everything. Charge ALL of them. Where can give chance. You think they gave chance to others when they were in power or when they were scheming against others. The China man and the Indian man are the real corrupters. So rich already still so greedy, real scumbags. They had it too good for a long time already. Pay back time. Must make them pay with their money and freedom. Never give chance. This is the going way to teach them a lesson.

34. #34 by donplaypuks on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:38 pm

Dear LKS

You, LGE & Karpal must use all your resources and wit to scotch this attempt by Firaun to throw in the red herring that the Lingam tapes were exposedto blackmail him, Lingam or the judges.

At the RCI, none of Lingam, Chin or Fairuz claimed anyone attempted to blackmail them.

The call to properly investigate Chin & Fairuz started as soon as the Auckland trip was exposed and peculiar decisions were made by these 2 and the ACA/AG hastily cleared them of corruption with NFA.

Firaun should be the last to be prosecuted now by the AG as otherwise he will go to town on the stand and bring in a lot of irrelevant issues to distract everyone. We are looking at a wounded Tiger who sees with each passing day the disappearance of what he thought was his assured place in M’sian history as Bapak Modern M’sia.

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:40 pm

“And how long will it take to extradite them back to Malaysia, Undergrad2 ? Another 5 years ? 10 ?” GODFATHER

They will be remand prisoners awaiting extradition. Remember Lorraine Esme Osman who was the world’s longest remand prisoner before he was extradited to Hong Kong?

The situation is a little difficult of course when they seek refuge in countries which have no extradition treaties with Malaysia – like South America? I say “a little difficult” because there are extra-legal and extra-judicial ways of bringing them to justice.

36. #36 by Jong on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:41 pm

Yeah pay back time, and no ‘dropping-water-face’!This Government must pick up the challenge and send him to hell. No more cover-ups! Those scumbags have been messing up this country, they must be punished and bear the full brunt of the law.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:47 pm

But guys why are you all talking about extraditing them when they have not been investigated and charged? This is putting the cart before the horse!

38. #38 by Jong on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:48 pm

I thought the Indian and Chinese are already out of the country? What makes you think they’ll be back to answer charges?

39. #39 by limkamput on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:50 pm

because your good friend said they are out of the country mah. See, they all so kiasi lah, real scumbags. These are the real a**h*les

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:52 pm

Jong,

We understand your passion! We protest vehemently when they deny the constitutional right of due process but here we’re doing the same!

The last time I checked ‘drop-water-face’ is not a legal defense!

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:56 pm

“If the perpetrators managed to walked off scot-free, you can imagine what kind of a country Malaysia is!” handsome

Same country she has always been for the last fifty or so years!

42. #42 by Jong on Saturday, 17 May 2008 - 11:57 pm

ummmm South America, North Korea or even Burma eh? From now onwards, better keep an eye on that courier expert – MM. He has so much orders awaiting his services. :D

43. #43 by One4All4One on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:01 am

Msg for TDM :

Malaysians are a different lot nowadays. Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazans Ibans and all our brethrens all over Malaysia are indeed in unison. ‘Unity in Diversity’ had been planted every time our prime ministers talked about the malaysian people. They were urged to unite as malaysians. And it has been a reality as shown by the results of GE2008.

Now that the people are united, the ‘mantan’ PM is trying to disunite them again? To undo what he had done in his 22 years tenure as PM? What is he up to?

Malays rights are protected by the constitution, so are the rights of every other malaysians. Anything wrong with that?

Dr M may be afraid that the leadership of the country who is not favouring him may disclose his cans of worms? Well, only those who know, would only know….

At the moment we can only wait and see..and guess..

But, the powers-that-be…do not compromise the rakyats’ right and well-being in the process…we are not to be victimised..

44. #44 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:10 am

Undergrad2:

Yes, I remember the Lorraine Osman extradition case, but wasn’t it an extradition to Hong Kong by the authorities there ? Would Malaysia be able to come up with a compelling case with all the incompetents we have at the AG’s Chambers ?

Further, Vincent Tan would be happily enjoying his life in Taiwan which has no extradition treaty with Bolehland. Lingam can always hide somewhere in India and the judicial process there is well known for its snail’s pace.

It’s true that the whole process has to commence with charges being filed against these people, but there will be little or no political will, and if their hands are forced by public pressure, they will find ways to buy time.

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:13 am

“I was at a cafe watching the news when Mahathir throws the challenge to anyone to charge him in court as his son was seating next to him. He looks convincingly calm and confident.” Handsome

He may look “convincingly calm and confident to you” but to others he is just resigned to his fate should he be charged. But, yes, I’d agree with you on your characterization but only because he is confident there will be no case.

Because if that is allowed to happen, Mahathir has no choice but to spill the beans on the senior members of Abdullah’s Cabinet who also served under him. The domino effect is too overwhelming to be ignored by them.

46. #46 by alancheah on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:15 am

Good Luck to Malaysia.

47. #47 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:16 am

Mahathir knows that he has many of the Badawi cabinet by their b@lls.

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:31 am

Vincent Tan has more passports than he cares to count. I don’t think he knows how many he has in possession. He could claim diplomatic immunity for being an Ambassador of some country yet to be declared a member of the United Nations. He could engage the services of a world famous plastic surgeon to give him a facial makeover and make him look like Lorena Bobbitt.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:32 am

V.K. Lingam could hide in Kg. Attap.

50. #50 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:32 am

The cabinet wants certain people investigated, according to the Star. It made no mention as to whether the cabinet has agreed to make the Commission Report public.

Sigh…these clowns can’t even take the first baby step.

51. #51 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:36 am

Lingam can’t hide in Kg Attap unless he changes his name to Lingamput.

52. #52 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:36 am

LOL

53. #53 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:43 am

Do you think Lingam can pass for a woman without his moustache? If he can then I may have something for him. A job as an exotic dancer in Little India in Edison!

54. #54 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:45 am

Nah, not as an exotic dancer with that pot belly.

55. #55 by mendela on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:46 am

Vincent looks like Lorena Bobbitt?

No, I think he looks more like John Bobbitt!

56. #56 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:58 am

TDM throws down the gauntlet & not without arrogance too. There is a man here who thinks he is better than any archangel. Whilst archangels are wonderful messengers of God, this arrogant man is prone to bouts of amnesia. Besides, Lucifer was himself an archangel once.

Pak Lah, come on, face it. The Royal Commission has spoken. There is a prima facie case of corruption of the highest order involving, amongst others, he-who-thinks-he-is-an archangel. One fell stroke and Pak Lah will be able to redeem his image as a ‘lembik’ fella before the eyes of Malaysians and the world. Nesides, justice must be seen to be done, come hell or high waters. ‘Fiat justitia, ruat coelum’ – let justice be done though the heavens fall.

TDM has promised to squeal and spill the beans on other judges, if his ‘threats’ is anything that can be understood. SO be it. Don’t we all need to know the truth and the Malaysian judicary, a sea change and torrents of fresh air?

57. #57 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:59 am

Mendela,

Vincent has to look like somebody Interpol would not be searching for! You know what Lorena Bobbit is known for?

58. #58 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:01 am

“Nah, not as an exotic dancer with that pot belly.” GODFATHER

They love Indian exotic dancers with pot bellies over here!

59. #59 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:06 am

‘One fell stroke and Pak Lah will be able to redeem his image as a ‘lembik’ fella ..” HORNBILL

What are you talking about “lembik” ” Since Mahathir threw down the gauntlet made of rubber, he couldn’t get it up!

60. #60 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:11 am

What if after all those big talks and bold fronts, the old jackal wants to abscond, how do you guys suggest he disguise himself to escape the law? And where to? …Zimbabwe?

61. #61 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:13 am

It seems that the authorities may have been “forced” to make the report public after all the MSM disclosed some of the findings.

Otherwise why are they wasting precious resources to try to find the leak?
    This case could be a defining moment for AAB to prove that he is man enough to finally get rid of his great tormentor.

If the man has some spiritual fortitude, he must take up the challenge and any former minister who is tainted in the judicial mess should be allowed to resign on the following basis:

1.Become a witness for the state.
    2.Retire from politics.

We must NOT allow such corrupted people in the halls of power anymore and this is our best chance to restore our freedom.

It is interesting to note on the poll on my blog and a high percentage of readers want the PM to bring TDM to justice.

In a recent interview TDM criticised the AG’s office by saying they were incompetent and would lose cases if they went against people like opposition lawyers…..maybe he forgot too that he appointed a few AGs.

62. #62 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:22 am

You fellows now got serious positions and heavy responsibility, so don’t spend so much time making fun of lingamkut or limkamput.

By the way, can someone tell me the China man and the Indian man absconded or they happened to be overseas.

63. #63 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:24 am

“What if after all those big talks and bold fronts, the old jackal wants to abscond, how do you guys suggest he disguise himself to escape the law? And where to? …Zimbabwe?” JONG

Let me see….. How about Tora Bora?

64. #64 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:27 am

Who are you talking about, limkamput?? Don’t be hesitant to name them. After all there are more than one Vincent and more than one Lingam walking this earth!

65. #65 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:27 am

What Zimbabwe, Robert Mugabe can’t protect him anymore. I think Kim Jong Il is a better bet.

66. #66 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:28 am

Suing anybody for defamation is furthest from their minds right now!

67. #67 by penangites on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:29 am

Why suddenly TDM recall his memory and now want to expose more conflicts by the judges after Royal Commissions Report completed and intend to made it public?? But not during Royal Commission’s inquiry where he claimed don’t remember “anything”?

68. #68 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:30 am

They are too busy making travel arrangements.

69. #69 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:30 am

well, i am not a lawyer, so i don’t know the law and i don’t now court procedures. To engage you, you probably will charge me triple.

Remember this china man once sued some reporters and got 10 million damage. And also the Air Molek case?

70. #70 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:30 am

Yeah esp when they stall in glass houses, those scumbags!

71. #71 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:33 am

So now good chance to ask for return of the 10 million?

72. #72 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:39 am

Penangites,

When you are giving testimony in court as a witness, you may suffer from or develop selective memory, or even defective recall. It is not a crime. Telling a lie is a crime. But when you are the accused you can’t afford to develop selective memory or heard making inconsistent statements!

73. #73 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:41 am

“well, i am not a lawyer, so i don’t know the law and i don’t now court procedures. To engage you, you probably will charge me triple.” limkamput

Is there a reason why you should engage the services of a lawyer? Do you know something we don’t?

74. #74 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:45 am

“So now good chance to ask for return of the 10 million?” JONG

Restitution is not a defense.

75. #75 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:46 am

Why are you guys still awake?? It’s 1.45 a.m.

76. #76 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:55 am

i follow eastern standard time.

77. #77 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:15 am

What Mahathir said is about existing judges. He knows the ins and outs of all of them. Likely most of them if not all of them got the appointments because of connections and they have been involved in fixing the trials. These judges are now black mailed.

Mahathir now has to tell all the stories to uphold his good name.

What I want to know most is how Paul Augustine was assigned to Anwar’s sodomy trial. Most Malaysian knew that it is a strange and fabricated trial.

If this is the case, the government should overhaul the whole justice system by firing all these judges and appoint new ones.

78. #78 by ilovedap on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:16 am

This man is the closest resemblance to evil. For 22 long years he’s been an unremorseful dictator and till now, he’s still twisting all his wrongdoings and making it sounds like reasonable.

His press statement definitely insults the people’s intelligence and judging by his son’s undying ambition to become a youth leader, he really thinks his family can carry on to rule the nation for many more generations.

Malaysians must stop this man and his family from continuing to rob the nation.

79. #79 by pwcheng on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:51 am

Mahathir is a known strategist. He is a good poker player, definitely many levels above Badawi. Even if he has a 2 bottom, I think he still can win the game.

80. #80 by doggone on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:28 am

The Malaysian Insider has reported that this ‘thing’ that has ruled the nation for two decades is playing the racial card in a desperate clutch at an imaginary life line. My take is that, the moment they strip him of his Tunship, he will have the final cardiac arrest before any arrest could be made by the police.

He seems to be hearing the same music playing in his head as of late. Doctors putting a stethoscope to his head can attest that it is ‘the last post’ being played.

81. #81 by I Malaysian on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:41 am

It occurs to me that Mahathir see this as direct threat from Pak Lah and his cabinet. He knows he could be in danger and it could end his legacy which he and many thought would take another 50 years before another PM could better.
    So, an angered Tun M reciprocates by challenging or rather I should say threatens the institutions that are responsible to bring him to justice. I find him threaten:-

a) The Judges who will hear his case
    b) The AG and IGP whom TMM is directly responsible for their elevation to their current position
    c) Past and present cabinet ministers who lobbied for their promotions
    d) The ACA Chairman/Director who could have helped him concealing many facts at his request

It also become obvious with this indirect threat, there are lot of them whose hands are tied in someway; they won’t be able to discharge their services effectively. This leaves only option- to appoint foreign experts to conduct a complete inquiry that could ensure free and fair prosecution. This is also TMM’s wish

82. #82 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 4:55 am

The Malaysian judicial system has rotten beyond redemption. AAB should establish a judicial appointment commission to be headed by the Sultan of Perak. First thing first: Fire all the judges and reappoint only those who have not been tainted and have the necessary qualifications.

83. #83 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:06 am

“Efforts to contact Datuk V.K. Lingam were unsuccessful. Calls to his mobile phone were diverted to voicemail…”

Since his disappearance there have been many Lingam sightings – mostly in London. He was seen at White Chapel, London. Another placed him along Chancery Lane, yet another at High Holborn. Some said they saw the guy wandering in a daze at Regent’s Park, near the Lake.

There were as many sightings of him as there were of UFOs.

84. #84 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:18 am

Mukhriz said in Parliament that Anwar had employed Wolfowitz’s girlfriend Shaha Riza at the foundation. It had been reported that Shaha was involved in the recent World Bank controversy.

He asked “Do we want Datuk Seri Anwar, who is directly involved in an organisation with a questionable background, and who is a close friend of a neo-conservative who is responsible for the killing of one million Iraqis, to take over the Malaysian leadership?” he asked.

This is a cheap shot!

85. #85 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:30 am

//Since his disappearance there have been many Lingam sightings-//

Persons in those sightings look like Lingam, sound like Lingam but are they Lingam?

86. #86 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:49 am

The Relevancy of Yabhg Tun to be investigated is secondary. Even if Tun and the list of mentioned VVIPs are investigated and subsequent charged, would not have done any justice to all Malaysians who HAD been denied their rights and fair trial provided for by the Judiciary.

If ONLY, then, there are more great men,like Tun Salleh Abbas and Justice Malik and Justice Chan, Malaysians alike would have withstood the “rot in the state of denmark”. However, we were parties in one way or another a cahoot to this henious crime of self before the nation.

Many postings above,are done by learned solicitors. Among them Sir Jeffrey, Already graduated Undergrad2. Many of the current MPs from either BN and PR are lawyers by profession too. I hope that these learned solicitors would care to read comments pointed out by CJ Mears In matter of Babu Dwarka Mithal AIR 1924 and also by CJ Whyatt made in reference to Yee Chang & co Ltd v NV Koninklijke ( 1958) MLJ 131 page 133.

There is an old saying that it “takes two to tango” and “takes two hands to clap”. I certainly believe in the wisdom of my great great great forefathers than any further cause of actions here in this current state of further rotting.

87. #87 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:16 am

YaBHG Tun, has absolute nothing to lose in this war with Yab Mr. Prime Minister.( which include Datuk Seri Anwar ) Both of them have made enough to see through 3 or more generations. It is the raayats that have suffered and is still suffering with political instability , inflation, unemployment and racial divide and other forms of discrimination.

The Judiciary is but only, one arm that can be amputated , but the Nation is on life support machine now. The Judiciary is too hugh an Institution for common raayat to fanthom, and yet, the daily bread and butter are set aside to the “same old actors and actresses to remain in the limelight of the stage “.

Students with excellent grades are deprived of any funds to further their studies in tertiary education and deprived of their dream career.

Planted questions and planted answers are seen everyday, with a soaring Unemployment rate or Unemployabla rates. graduates no longer have the aptitude and right attitude for jobs . The reformation of the Education system is priority. Even if we put them in area of their planted choice, performance is poor.

The Rich gets richer, the poor gets poorer. many living on income of below poverty line, and if ” that line is perceived accurate “. The basic needs of the raayat like water in the State of Sabah rurals is a luxury item.

I am least interested at the poker games of the actors. i am appealing for help to save the poor majority. BN has failed us, PR is still waiting and argueing. Do we need to keep reminding our Mps ?

88. #88 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:27 am

>Students with excellent grades are deprived of any funds to further their studies in tertiary education

You must be referring to study overseas. No, the local universities should gain reputation to be able to attract the best students.

89. #89 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:50 am

dear pulau_sibu,

Allocation of students into public universities in within MALAYSIA, without quota set for race and religion And the degree of the undergrad choice. Can we achieve that please.

90. #90 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 6:56 am

dear pulau_sibu,

can we also have proper classrooms , with proper tables and chairs for those living in the rural areas please.

can we spare a dime or many dimes to operate a proper transport system to ferry the students to their primary schools .

EDUCATION SHOULD BE FULLY SUBSIDISED UP TO UNIVERSITY FOR ALL DESERVING MALAYSIANS. can we do that.
    (if we can waste millions and even billions on white elephants).

thank you sir.

91. #91 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 7:48 am

The fool who paid USD1.2 million just to shake the other fool’s hand
    http://bp0.blogger.com/_KUD2BqHya4M/SC79kNcgLvI/AAAAAAAAHk4/fx8kwWfe2Fg/s400/svBUSH_wideweb__470x321,0.jpg

92. #92 by liu on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:04 am

Dr M couldn’t remember, so he said, so many things at the Royal Commission hearing on the Lingam tape and now he said he wants his day in court to reveal all. Truly, Dr M is Dr Machiavelli.

93. #93 by caishen on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:13 am

The hungry ghost festival starts earlier than expected!.
    The battle between Tun Mamak and Pak lalai is getting more and more intensive…day after day.

The Malay saying..when 2 elephants fight for supremacy, the mouse deer become the casualty.

The MalaysiaInsider:Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today played the race card ? something the former prime minister has not done since he was a young, upstart Umno politician in the 1960s.

On the other hand, Pak lalai has a KKK (Kiasi,Kiasu and Kiamsiap) personality.People with this syndrome will seldom or never step down unless circumstances force him to do so.

Because he afraid to die( Kiasi), he make the ACA and Judiciary more transparency.

Because he afraid to lose( Kiasu), he let out Anwar the Lion-Hearted from the jail earlier than expected,to fight with the Tun Mamak and Umnokuraps.

Because he afraid to spend( Kiamsiap), he cuts and trims all mega projects initiated by big-spender Tun Mamak.

Pak lalai is not a economic-mover as like his mentor.I regards him as a economic-retarder who don’t promote his country well and always besides his Jeanne.Ask him how many countries has he visited since becoming PM?

Instead, he would rather sit down collect taxes and cost-cutting.That could be the trait and habit of a Penangites…

That triggered the controversial and his 22 years of efforts as the 4th.PM has gone down to the drain….He feels insulted.

94. #94 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:57 am

Tun Dr Mahathir (TDM) had found his memory. He told press conference that he did not want probe on him to end with the authorities concluding “there’s no case” against him, and that he “hoped” he would be charged so that he could reveal instances of judges lobbying him for promotions”. “It was not just judges who lobbied. People lobbied to be ministers and election candidates. I listened to them but I made my own decisions. I did not know lobbying was a crime. I also did not want to be a postman, where the Chief Justice hands me a recommendation for a judge and I hand it over to the Yang Di Pertuan Agong. I would also scrutinise the candidate, and if I found that he was not capable, I would not support his appointment”, he added. Source : Page 7 (Prime News) of New Straits Times, May 18, 2008.

95. #95 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 9:23 am

While it is acceptable practice for people to lobby the Prime Minister for ministerial and election positions, is it equally acceptable to lobby for judicial positions? TDM seems to have no notion whatsoever of legal and judicial precepts, the need of separation of powers, the independence of judiciary from executive patronage and influence. He has confused politics with judiciary, legislative with judicial process and thinks that what is legitimate in the case of the former is legitimate for the latter. His statement embarrasses the judiciary further. With courts often accused of being not independent of the Executive, with the recent public revelations of Lingam’s Commission, TDM’s reference to “it was not just judges who lobbied”, makes it imperative to review all judges’ appointments and dismissals after he took over as premier. This implies not just the investigations into Lingam video clip but why Tun Salleh Abas & 5 other judges were removed in 1988, how chief judges were appointed after that. We would need another royal commission to investigate these events.

96. #96 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 9:50 am

“…where the Chief Justice hands me a recommendation for a judge …. I would also scrutinise the candidate, and if I found that he was not capable, I would not support his appointment…”

In simple language, the executive can appoint the judiciary which would be beholden to him. Truly a 3rd world feudal banana fiefdom.

97. #97 by pjboy on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 9:59 am

Wow, TDM can remember everything now. Earlier semua tak ingat. Sekarang kena charge, semua boleh ingat.

Points to note:
    1. nothing wrong to lobby (by TDM)
    2. cabinet only suggest (on indelible ink by AAB)

This is all playing with words. TDM & AAB treat all Malaysians as fools, insulting our intelligence.

98. #98 by digard on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:09 am

undergrad2 says:

“This type of case if it is allowed to see the light of day in court is enough to bring down any government in the world. Because of that I’m not confident it will happen under BN rule. I’m not confident if it will happen even under Pakatan rule.”

undergrad2, been away from our country for too long? One cannot simply apply ‘global standards’, one also needs to take local tradition and convictions into account.
    Whereas in the west, one likes to challenge a superior or ruler, here it is considered very much a no-no.
    In the west, hauling up an ex-politician will garner votes, in the east it makes one unpopular.
    No stereotyping here, of course. Just observation of an average.

99. #99 by Justicewanted on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:25 am

Hello SiLembik, TDM is throwing a challenge???

Do you need to consult your SIL ????

Or maintain your silence or sleepy elegance???

100. #100 by clearwater on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:36 am

Once again, the geriatric ex-PM is hissing and spitting like a cornered snake. Is he a fanged poisonous cobra or a toothless mimic? Will he be prepared to bring down cronies still living in the BN-Umno house of cards with his revelations? Will he survive a long drawn investigation and possible trial if wrongdoing is revealed? His legacy is in tatters anyway; he may bare all and do this country a favor for once in his life. This self centered man whose comeuppance is about to arrive in his sunset years. Consigned to oblivion in the history books. Smitten by his own vitriol. Poisoned by the truth.

101. #101 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:39 am

“Judges Beware! Mahathir has regained his memory”.
    Here is my take on his sudden ability to remember.

http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com/

102. #102 by madmix on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:19 am

What can you charge TDM with??? Under the law, the PM has the power to appoint judges after consultations with CJ etc. He is under no obligation to accept anyone’s recommendation. If he is influenced Adnan’s or Vincent Tan’s recommendations, that is also legal. If he decides to do lucky draw, that is also legal.
    TDM knows very well he cannot be found guilty if charged. Besides if he is charged, there will be chaos in UMNO.

103. #103 by ch on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:20 am

Dear All,

We should rejoice as Dr. Mahathir is willing to testify and would seize every given opportunity to explain himself in court. He would also attempt to clear himself from all charges and be once again proven that he has done no wrong during his 22 years reign. We can also seize the opprtunity how many times he would “out-remember” everyone instead of “out-forgetting” them.

It is once in a life-time opportunity.

104. #104 by kentutoyol on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:43 am

The A-G will decide the next cause of action. Previously, Mahathir had forgotten almost everything. People excuse him ‘cos at his age it is not uncommon. The release of the commission findings has suddenly put back his memories and most willing to testify. Mahathir after all is not a “Melayu mudah lupa” gentleman. The ball is now at the A-G side.

105. #105 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:51 am

Since , everone is happy to see Yabhg Tun to be charged. Than he will charged.

He will be charged at the session court at PJ New town. Nope, wrong jurisdiction, he should be charged at POJ, Nope , wrong again. So, it got to be at Jalan Duta. Ok.

Presiding Judge ( conflict of Interest) as the current Attorney General ) who is the boss, Ybhg Tun ‘s appointed Legal advisor. The lawyer representing Ybhd Tun, will argue, it is prejudicial to his client.

The Judiciary will have to find one judge who has no whatsoever during his/her tenure that has anything to do with Tun. Let ‘s be serious, all would have something to do with Tun.

Now, even if we find one presiding Judge ( high court ). Imagine the list of potential witnessess that Ybhg Tun has to offer. This list will certainly pales the Commission of Judiciary Inquiry report.

Among the TOP on the List will be Yab DAtuk Seri Abdullah Mohammad . (tHE OIL FOR FOOD) .malaysians really have short short memory.

106. #106 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:57 am

Q: What’s the difference between Nik Aziz, Mahathir and Badawi?

A: Nik Aziz can’t tell a lie, Mahathir can’t tell the truth, and Badawi can’t tell the difference.

107. #107 by wtf2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:58 am

the mamat is playing the racial card to get rid of bodowi.
    If najis goes along the situation about this stupid “ketuanan” tag will get overboard.

When people are a master of a certain skill they are called “guru” not tuan

108. #108 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:03 pm

YB lim, where is the presumption ” innocent until proven guilty “.
    Are we not having a trial by internet.?

Even Yb Karpal made that statement yesterday.

The Star reported that “the Bar Counsel mulls new charges against Lingham. The counsel had earlier lodged a complaint of misconduct against the lawyer arising rom the contents of the video clip, when it had first surface last year.”

members of the bar, what was the result of the complaint?
    nfa too.

109. #109 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:09 pm

dear wtf2,

must be related to undergrad2.

which party in BN does not play the racial card?
    do you need to use the word M…..t?

110. #110 by lovemalaysiaforever on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:09 pm

Let the titans fights among themselves in court..this is the way it shuould be if they want to proof themselves are clean. It is actually a good start then the next will follow up for Najib if he want to prove his capability. GOOD START!

Secondly, Tun M is playing with is silly racial card in Johor just will cause more defects to the nation. See chedet dot come about his “Ketuanan Melayu” recent agenda. What is he up to?? Create another chaos?? This is already century 2000.

Hopes that the younger generations of Malays are mature enough with their mentality thinking. The real enemy is other’s countries like US and British not within Malaysia. History is history and we do not live in the past. What is the true meaning of Merdeka? It is the unity among our nations, no point reading the past and reciting the past all the time and it serves no purpose at all….

Malaysia is constantly moving ahead with global challenges why kill among ourselves in our own country??? It is absolutely insane and his statements makes loses for his own supports. It is the silliest thing he spoke in Johor. It HURTS FEELINGS of all the Non-Malays after 50 years of Independency. If Malays want a better future the “RACIST ” issue must be ABOLISH IMMEDIATELY. Prove that Malay are mature and not silly. Do not forget the contributions and sacrifices of all Non-Malays in this country!!!

Sorry and sad to say Tun have made his big mistakes again.

PR must WIN! Many have totally lost hope this time because the goverment and the former ministers have totally ignorance of the Non-Malays!

It is time for all Non-Malays to unite and WAKE UP! Perpaduan and equal is all we want and fighting for. The mission is not ended yet.
    Please don’t wait and do nothing for our future generations.

We want a brighter future and not living in the past! Even PAS knows how to respect and appreciate the non-malays contributions, sacrifices and hard work. We non-malays are NOT “Buruh” and owes nothing. We deserves to live in equal and in harmony!

111. #111 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 12:12 pm

dear caishen,

hungry ghost festival has another 75 days to go.

HAPPY WESAK CELEBRATION TO ALL MALAYSIAN OF BUDDHIST FAITH.

112. #112 by boh-liao on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:01 pm

Suddenly our number 1 racist got his memories back again!

True to himself, he is playing the race card again, calling Malays to watch out against non-Malays, otherwise the latter will take over the former!

His children, all with MM initials, should wear T-shirts that declare: “My father manipulates race – Proud of it” and “My father, a staunch supporter of Robert Mugabe – Proud of it”.

113. #113 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:20 pm

“My father is a mamak – NOT Proud of it”

114. #114 by blablowbla on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:29 pm

the old-horse is an extremist and racist,he criticizes iskandar mega project of bringing- in 500,000 chinese ppl by singapore gomen,and enable singapore to achieve 10 million population (5,000,000 + 500,000 = 10 million?,crazy!),and on top of that,he was the culprit who implemented the open citizenship for indons and phillipinos in sabah,with the condition that they vote BN!(if this accusation is true,he shall be detained under ISA now,take-away his TUNship,charge him too for the judicial scandals!)

115. #115 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:33 pm

Judging from the statements made my TDM, he is putting up defence even before he is charged. This is how desperate he is. Look, he is not as smart as most would labelled him. For 22 years, he only has power that came with the premiership but he mistook it as his prowess and intellectual capability. I agree with most here their characterisation of TDM – racist, tribal and dictatorial. We knew long ago, but as I said, power is always right in Malaysia. Think again, TDM, even AAB is powerful and as smart as you now, am I right? All of you are just third world tribal leaders!

116. #116 by jameselva on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:47 pm

The poor old man is in a mix now.Brave talk & brave face as your BBC interview.God bless you now

117. #117 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 1:57 pm

People who play with the fire will be burnt by fire.

People who played with ISA will be under ISA.

So I think it is best to let Abdullah charge Mahathir under ISA, since Mahathir loved it so much and executed ISA numerous times. Overall, they are both byproducts of ISA.

118. #118 by Cinapek on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:07 pm

Amidst all these furore of the RCI on Lingamgate, everyone has forgotten about the pressure on the sleepy one to step down.

He has the last chuckle. He has created the perfect diversion. Let you guys go after TDM and he can sit back and enjoy the breaking of scandal after scandal while buying time to cement his position. With TDM backtracking to cover his backside, AAB is free to complete his task of salvaging his poisiton and consolidating his power. Sigh!! A good student of Sun Tzi’s Art of War.

119. #119 by taxpayer on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 2:59 pm

“Today, the Malays have lost their political power and the non-Malays no longer respect the Malays and the Malay institutions. All the special rights of the Malays are being challenged and questioned. And the Malays cannot do anything to strengthen their position,” he wrote. From The Malaysian Insider.

This is a lie. He is inciting hatred among the races. Will some one make a police report. THis statement is highly seditious.

120. #120 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:15 pm

Look like some racist hope all Malay will suport him if he is charged !

121. #121 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:36 pm

What Pak Lah will and is doing is removing all TDM pet projects until his legacy are all gone.

Just heard about the Government is removing the support for Proton! Its above time. I have some write up about it in my blog and also doing some comparison!

How nice I can buy a BMW 3 series for RM140K or less, read all about it here

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/05/rip-proton.html

Shiok Guy

122. #122 by ShiokGuy on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 3:39 pm

Wait… I smell something cooking…
    Could it be time he want to remove the petrol subsidy?
    I dont mind really, let market force decide and I can always cycle to work.
    Shiok Guy

123. #123 by Damocles on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 4:19 pm

“I say “a little difficult” because there are extra-legal and extra-judicial ways of bringing them to justice.” – Undergrad2

Like what the Israelis did to Eichmann who was abducted in Argentina and subsequently hanged after trial!
    That’s real accountability!

124. #124 by llb_gan on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 5:59 pm

eik, the old fella suddenly remembers everything that he can, may or has to say. maybe he did not forget any of it in the first place. but that surely cannot be – as he is (as he has always presupposed himself to be) all innocent.

125. #125 by negarawan on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 7:46 pm

Mahathir has done great damage to the racial unity of Malaysia. It was because of his racially biased policies that Malaysia has become polarized. Racial and religious bigotry is promoted by UMNO. Now Mahathir is defending “ketuanan Melayu” and using his lame son as his proxy. Malaysia has to move away from communal based politics and policies before further irreversible damage is done!

126. #126 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:03 pm

“Like what the Israelis did to Eichmann who was abducted in Argentina and subsequently hanged after trial!
    That’s real accountability!” Damocles

Dispatch a few Mak Foon Than’s to South America would do just fine. No need to enlist the services of Israeli Intelligence!

127. #127 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:19 pm

“Today, the Malays have lost their political power and the non-Malays no longer respect the Malays and the Malay institutions. All the special rights of the Malays are being challenged and questioned” Mahathir said.

Had the same words been uttered by a non-Malay that would be seditious according to the meaning of ‘sedition’ within the Act. However, when uttered by a Malay and a former PM who clearly wished it were not so, who saw his work stretching over two decades go up in flames as a result of recent events, who was merely expressing his disappointment, it is not incitement but a legitimate observation as it has none of the ‘seditious’ tendency referred to under Sec 3 of the Act.

Or is it?

128. #128 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:26 pm

“undergrad2, been away from our country for too long? One cannot simply apply ‘global standards’..” digard

I’m not! That’s why I say it is unlikely to happen under BN rule. I’m not sure if it will happen under Pakatan rule. But I could be wrong.

Going by ‘global standards’ to use your phrase, it is more than enough to bring any government down – which is my point.

129. #129 by bra888 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 8:44 pm

If Dr M were to be convicted, I believe that he should receive severe punishment being that he has a reputation of being the prime minister before.

130. #130 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:07 pm

Mahathir singlehandedly destroyed the future of Bolehland. God will grant him a long life so that he can see for himself what he has wrought on the country. Of course he will pin the blame on the his incompetent successor, but we all know better. Seeing Bolehland go the way of the Philippines and Myanmar is enough punishment for this megalomaniac.

131. #131 by Godfather on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:08 pm

Undergrad2:

Isn’t Mak Foon Than already out of jail and enjoying the fruits of his labors ?

132. #132 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:13 pm

“Think again, TDM, even AAB is powerful and as smart as you now..” limkamput

Let’s give the guy some credit la!

Mahathir has a medical degree from University of Malaya in S’pore (now University of S’pore) in the 50s. Badawi is a Malay Studies graduate from University of Malaya in the 60s who couldn’t understand the difference between geometric and arithmetic mean

133. #133 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:17 pm

“Isn’t Mak Foon Than already out of jail and enjoying the fruits of his labors ?” GODFATHER

Latest reports put him on the trail of V.K. Lingam! So that means he’s somewhere in London probably in Luton, otherwise known as “Little India” an hour by train from London.

134. #134 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 10:27 pm

Undergrad2,

“Think again, TDM, even AAB is powerful and as smart as you now..” limkamput

The word smart supposed to be “smart” lah, i.e. once you are PM, you are “smart” lah – it does not matter one is Medical graduate from S’pore or a Malay studies graduate from MU or just from an attap school. Make me PM and you shall see whether I am smart or not.

135. #135 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:37 pm

Pardon my ignorance, who’s Mak FoonThan? Not a friend of John Wayne Bobbit eh?

136. #136 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:40 pm

Mak Foon Than was a Jewish agent sent to Hong Kong to clean up the mess left by the Carrian Group.

137. #137 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:43 pm

He is otherwise known as “The Cleaner”.

Now that we have another mess that requires cleaning, I hear a few Mak Foon Thans have been dispatched to all four corners of the globe awaiting fresh instructions.

138. #138 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:48 pm

Then why was he in jail?

139. #139 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:53 pm

He was jailed because he was caught sleeping with Ms. Carrian.

140. #140 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:58 pm

Who is Ms Carrian Lai? She was George Tan’s secretary and he named the Carrian Group after her.

141. #141 by Jong on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 11:59 pm

Thanx!

142. #142 by taxpayer on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 12:07 am

To undergrad2,

Why would a non-malay utter those words, even if he did it can only be his opinion. When those words are uttered by a leader, the intention to incite racial hatred is there.

143. #143 by undergrad2 on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 1:15 am

Jong,

You must know I was only pulling your leg??

144. #144 by undergrad2 on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 2:04 am

“He was jailed because he was caught sleeping with Ms. Carrian.”

Since when sleeping with somebody’s mistress is a crime??

Mak Foon Than was a head hunter for MCA sent to Hong Kong to look for a very special kind of talent and ended up in Hong Kong prison for life.

145. #145 by undergrad2 on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 3:23 am

“Why would a non-malay utter those words, even if he did it can only be his opinion.” taxpayer

Not quite.

If it falls within the ambit of Sub-sec. (e), it is deemed to have that ‘seditious’ tendency referred to under Art.3 of the Sedition Act 1948.

It is both a question of law and fact for the judge alone – unfortunately.

If we have a jury system, the judge gives instructions on the law to the jury and the jury determines if in fact the words are seditious.

146. #146 by greenacre on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 12:59 pm

Dear undergrad2 malaysia doesn’t have a jury system. In fact it was during Mahathir’s time it was taken off / and appeal to privy council.

147. #147 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 1:52 pm

Do we a whale of time listening..

DON’T HAVE A WHALE OF A TIME LISTENING