Abdullah putting pressure on AG to prosecute Karpal – bad and dangerous precedent

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is setting a bad and dangerous precedent in publicly pressurizing the Attorney-General, Tan Sri Gani Patail to charge DAP National Chairman and MP for Bukit Gelugor, Karpal Singh for sedition and turn a legal issue into a political and racial one.

This is the first time in 50 years that a Prime Minister had so flagrantly and blatantly put public pressure on the Attorney-General to prosecute an Opposition leader, making a total mockery of the absolute discretion of the Attorney-General as entrenched in Article 145(3) of the Constitution “to institute, conduct or discontinue any proceedings for an offence, other than proceedings before a Syariah Court, a native court or a court-martial”.

On Thursday, Abdullah said he had instructed Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor to lodge a police report against Karpal for making allegedly seditious remarks about the Sultan of Perak when Karpal had reiterated publicly that he had not questioned Sultan Azlan Shah’s prerogatives as the state’s head of religion of Islam.

Yesterday, the Prime Minister has upped the ante by publicly demanding that the Attorney-General speed up the probe against Karpal.

Abdullah has never shown interest or concern as Prime Minister about high-profile cases, whether police reports previously made against Cabinet Ministers or recently against Umno for the series of seditious conduct against the Malay Rulers after the March 8 general election over the appointment of the Terengganu Mentri Besar.

Abdullah should have used his high office to end the controversy which arose from the distortion of Karpal’s raising of a legal principle established by the case of Federal Territory Education Director and others vs Loot Ting Yee about the transfer of federal and state civil servants into a challenge of the prerogative of Sultan Azlan Shah over matters pertaining to Islam and Malay custom.

The country is trying to come out of the “judicial darkness” which it had been plunged into for two decades as a result of the series of crises of confidence and credibility in the independence, impartiality and integrity of the system of justice – not just about the judiciary but also other important players especially the Attorney-General.

The Prime Minister’s public and persistent demand for action to be taken against Karpal by the Attorney-General does not create confidence that the present administration is fully committed to end the two-decade-long “judicial darkness” in the country by allowing all the major stakeholders in the system of justice their full and unfettered independence and impartiality – whether judges or the Attorney-General.

1. #1 by negarawan on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:42 am

Badawi has got his priorities wrong again and again. He should focus on prosecuting those responsible in the Lingam case and cleaning up the judiciary system so that the rakyat will have confidence in it. The planned prosecution of Karpal is clearly an attempt by UMNO to take desperate revenge. The rakyat has nothing to gain from this. Please resign before you bring more damage to the country.

2. #2 by atlk on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:44 am

I doubt the police will arrest Karpal Singh, because this will trigger a huge reaction and the police will be forced to arrest Pak Lah too. Don’t forget lots of police reports were also filed when Pak Lah go against the will of the HRH Sultan of Terengganu. Daulat Tuanku.

3. #3 by badcliq on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:48 am

Too bad the next election would be years away. I don’t think M’sians have such good memories!

We need to educate ourselves more, read more books, etc. Can’t forever think for ourselves only, being selfish, or lone-ranger. We need to be able to think critically and be united to topple the rotten BN Govt.

No more sweet talks!

4. #4 by ktteokt on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:51 am

What to do! When the AG is the “pet dog” of the BN government, things like this are sure to happen!

5. #5 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:53 am

PL also went against will of Raja of Perlis,?
    22 BN, ADUN, also went against will of Sultan of Trengganu.?

6. #6 by blablowbla on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:05 am

like i always say,PR cant light-up a candle,but BN (bangsa najis) can even put -on a big flame!

what they do obviously double standard,having these kind of Ruling Gomen,it’s a doomed-day for us!

7. #7 by Andy Lam on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:07 am

If MSM publishes approval ratings similar to those in Western countries, I am in no doubt that this PM’s ratings is in the bottom rung. He (and other BN leaders) are expediting the political death of UMNO and BN in its current form and is galvanizing the negative public opinion on the “disability” of BN leaders to continue to lead this country.

8. #8 by Godson on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:07 am

Those in power umnobn can do what ever they like. From history they will never change. The only way is to bring them down. But with their $tupid actions, they are going down and sinking fast. People like bodohwi have to put up a show so he can go down in style with umnobn. Why worry, they are fighting among themselves and desperate umnobn will do stupid things. $tupid poli$ will follow $tupid instruction from their bo$$. Monkey $ee, monkey do. Umnobn, you are going down with your Kurang aJar. It wont be long.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:09 am

PL’s inept action will only further run down the country’s image and frighten away foreign investors.

In fact, Tun M. said it would be embarrassing to see a photo of Karpal Singh being led away in a police car.

Malaysia needs a better and smarter PM.

10. #10 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:11 am

and may i know whats the stand of the other component parties in BN on this issue ?

Do they have a stand or are they going to prove to be impotent again ?

Uncle Kit, Please ask these so- called BN component parties to state their stand on this issue. As political parties they must make a stand on issues. Cant always be hiding in UMNO’s panties all the time.

11. #11 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:15 am

Karpal Singh said he had in no way questioned the prerogative of the Sultan of Perak as the head of the religion of Islam in his state.

“I have not seen the contents of the police reports, but if they state anything false they (those who lodged the reports) have to face the consequences,” he said.

“Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi should have taken legal advice from the Attorney-General before publicly attacking me for questioning the prerogative of the Sultan of Perak as the head of religion when I did not do so.

“I cannot see how my statement over the transfer of Jamry has impinged on the Sultan’s prerogative as head of religion in Perak.

“I warn the Prime Minister that I will not hesitate to take legal action against him and his deputy if they persist in making defamatory remarks against me.”
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/5/10/nation/21211927&sec=nation

I look forward eagerly to a multi-billion dollar suit against the PM and his deputy. Also that Tenku Adnan (who is not a `Tengku` I hear).

12. #12 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:17 am

“I warn the Prime Minister that I will not hesitate to take legal action against him and his deputy if they persist in making defamatory remarks against me.”
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/5/10/nation/21211927&sec=nation

Criminal defamation, I think. And both the trangresors have money to pay.

13. #13 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:19 am

Tun M said it would embarresing to see a photo of Karpal being led away in a police car…………

Tun M, Tun M, though I agree with Tun M on this , it was also embarressing to see Anwar with a black eye and sodomy charge, and the bringing of a mattress from Tivoli Villa to court everyday with some stains on it.

And this my friends…………. this was shown on BBC and CNN practically everyday for a few months after the sacking of Anwar Ibrahim

Tun M………. I just dunno what to say about you……

14. #14 by Bobster on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:22 am

Yes, the rakyat are running out of patient.

Enough is Enough!

BN till todate after 8 March 2008 political tsunami still never learnt anything or get any message from the general public.

Enough is Enough!

FULL SUPPORT TO DSAI to kick the BN doggies out of the Parliament into Sungai Buloh!

Sooner better!

15. #15 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:29 am

Neither Tunku Abdul Rahman (the 1969 general election excepted), nor Tun Razak, nor Tun Hussein Onn, nor yours truly had won less than two-thirds. Certainly we never had occasion to accuse Umno members of sabotaging their party. Yet Abdullah, by his own admission, has apparently been “sabotaged” by Umno members.
    [ ]
    The first thing he did when becoming prime minister was to bring his family unofficially into the government. He can deny this but people know the activities of Khairy Jamaluddin and Kamaluddin Abdullah and their cronies, including those of the fourth floor. They often sit in meetings of government committees and when the prime minister met people.
    [ ]
    No matter how strongly he denies that he is the cause, no matter how many people he blames, he cannot explain why this catastrophe to the Umno, MCA, MIC and Gerakan and the BN had never happened under four previous prime ministers but happens only during this tenure. He cannot explain why the “sabotage” by Umno and the component party members in 2008 when in the past they had been very loyal and never failed to give the Alliance and the BN two-thirds majority in Parliament and control of almost all the states.
    If he refuses to go and tries to ignore the calls for his removal until the next election, the disgusted voters and party members will probably ensure the BN will be defeated at federal and state levels as the only way to end his premiership.
    http://sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=22185

While I may disagree with a lot of what he says, he is right on other points.

16. #16 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:34 am

the only thing that kept BN in power was the greed for power and money.

watch it disintegrate once we have a new Federal Government

17. #17 by seaturtle on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:40 am

I am not a PM nor BN supporter all the time but after the 8/3 GE, i felt pityful with this old man after he was bombarded by so many people but this feeling was disappeared yesterday night after seeing this old man talking nonsense big bird about charging Kappal…

There are so many cases which rakyat is interested in such as Mogolia murder, submarine, lingam, food & oil and many many more then why you don’t ask AG to act fast and take action…????

Why you need to further study before deciding to make lingam’s report to public????

My hope now is to wait for Mr. Anwar to become our next PM and Mr.LKS to become his deputy…

Pakatan Rakyat, please don’t let us down! please please please

18. #18 by StevePCH on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:41 am

I have my highest respect for HRH Sultan of Perak who is also the former Lord President.
    The constitutional mornarchy system in Malaysia is probably obsolote or being abused … or Rakyat is just not getting what the system is all about.
    If YB Karpal is wrong constitutionally, he should gracefully apologize, otherwise ….. it’s going to be disasterous.
    However , if he is right . It will be so shameful for those who had defamed him for the publicity sake. PL has been from time to time been receiving bad advise from a bunch of du*gu. From the it looks, he is going to be finished soon.
    Long live PR. Perak.

19. #19 by StevePCH on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:42 am

I think TDM is very happy now

20. #20 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:45 am

StevePCH,

why do u think TDM is happy now ?

21. #21 by madmix on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:45 am

If there is a more serious case of lese majeste, it is Tun M’s curbing the rights and powers of the sultans.

22. #22 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:46 am

Frankly, the PM is like a chicken flopping around with its head cut. He tries to show he`s brave, but turns up idiotic. His administration is a messy one. The economy`s not hot. Without the oil revenue there`s nothing going.

And he keeps proving himself useless. I suppose that`s good.

23. #23 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:49 am

Ridiculous isn`t it? A rice crisis turns up, and Badawi tries to turn it into a `Derhaka` crisis. Somehow his brains are not tuned in right. Derhaka can`t put the rice into the bellies of the rakyat.

24. #24 by xplora on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:03 am

I cannot understand this guy, this guy disagree and against with the menteri besar Terrenganu chosen by Sultan. Why in sudden, he is so interested in this matter? In addition, this guy also did the same thing into the Perak Menteri Besar case where DAP or PKR candidate is not chosen as Menteri Besar.

To Press: Please do not use the terms of “Malay”, even I am not Malay but what I’ve seen in the TV is most of them is UMNO or their subsidiary not Malaysia. Please do not twist the fact.

25. #25 by mendela on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:04 am

“Looks like UMNO is determined to politicize Karpal’s statement for political gain. Sometime bad has to be countered with bad. I would to suggest DAP and members of Pakatan Rakyat to also lodge a police report on the disrespectful comments made by Pak Lah, former Perlis MB, Idris Jusoh the ex-MB of Terengganu and other UMNO members who protested against Agung and Perlis Raja. I’m sure compared with what Karpal commented as lawyer, their remarks were more seditious and disrespectful to the rulers. In fact the rakyat of Terengganu turn out in thousands to protest against the seditious remark by UMNO politician.
    Please act fast before it goes out of hand.” I Malaysia

Well say. PR and especially DAP must counter-sue immediately, as many cases as possible.

26. #26 by hiro on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:04 am

Uncle Lim,, this could not have come at a better time. Malaysiakini posted that Karpal questions why no DAP or PR leaders have stood up for him. I find the article by Fauwaz Abdul Aziz rather mischievous, as if to sensationalise the issue. Malaysiakini though independent should know what’s the real public opinion that they want to shape out of this matter – giving BN more ammunition to single out and persecute Karpal, or the perversion of administration of justice in a ridiculously untenable allegation of sedition.

27. #27 by xplora on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:04 am

Sorry, just to add what i’ve said earlier, I mean if he want to against Karpal Singh, he and his UMNO should apologise to the Sultan Terrengganu openly before he has the rights to do so!

28. #28 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:06 am

While I agree that the precedent is bad, it does not surprise me or strike me as surprising. What strikes me and scares me is why or why not do this? To me his action reeks of frivolity and LACK OF CONVICTION of priorities of his task.

IF he feels Karpal has done so wrong, why don’t he as head of UMNO file the police report himself? Why is it he does not know who else is filing the police report? His comments are nothing insightful in what they say is unprecedented betraying a lack of thought in the matter. But the fact of the matter is he is not treating this seriously which is why he did it in the first place. He is starting a bad precedent frivolously because he finds it hard to gain track and deal with the right-wingers of his party.

When he has so many important issue at his plate, he is doing this to distract and control the right-wing of a party brings to question his resolve to deal with promised reform agenda which has hardly even begin. They are still just renew promises. We have seen this before..

The danger of backtrack of reform is very real…

29. #29 by lew1328 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:11 am

When Malaysia still weak and falling behind in economy, security & legal cases/issues. Our government/BN shall call on the priority to iron out the issues and not wasting or throwing the Rakyat money playing thier dirty political tactic. Please be considerable and not hoping and floping here in Malaysia like no direction. I still wonder why we have such joker being selected become leader.

30. #30 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:14 am

I don’t think Kapal Singh’s remark was “seditious” and definitely he did not question Perak Sultan’s
    prerogative as the state’s head of religion of Islam.

The whole issue is being twisted by Umno itself led by this PM clapped on by its Youths and instead of coming out to investigate and help solve the misunderstanding, and prevent further disharmony, he has chosen the dangerous game, to instigate and become “batu api” instead!

What kind of Prime Minister do we have? He calls himself “PM of all Malaysians”, but is fit? It is now being turned into ‘racial and religious’ issue by the very people under him!

As PM he should instead investigate, speak to Perak Menteri Besar Nizar Jamalludin to hear him out then rightly pay a courtesy call on the Sultan of Perak to help solve this issue/misunderstanding.

Obviously these spoilt losers in Umno/BN have still not learnt their lesson from the 8 Mar 2008 GE-12 political tsunami? Comeon Paklah, have some responsibility and behave like a Prime Minister of a nation of 26 million people, not ketua samseng!

31. #31 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:24 am

what will happen if suddenly the Sultan of Perak who was also a former Lord President suddenly says he doesnt think Karpal’s statement was seditious.

Where will PL put his face ?

32. #32 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:34 am

`Where will PL put his face ?` – In the toilet bowl

33. #33 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:34 am

Why was there no hue and cry when Tun Mahathir went round the country belittling the monarchy and the subsequent amendment to the constitution to clip its power?
    Why was there no hue and cry when UMNO criticized the Perlis and Trengganu rulers over the apointment of the Menteri Besars?
    Compare the above to what Karpal said. This is chicken feed.

UMNO will never give up its arrogance. It’s like a leopard which never gives up its spots or a zebra that never gives up its stripes.

34. #34 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:35 am

“Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is, without doubt, a lame duck prime minister,” he said.

Recounting the charge of treason that BN MPs had leveled against him in Parliament on Thursday after the issue was raised, Karpal said he was adamant on not apologising for his statements even if they were to move to expel him.

“They better don’t, because I stand by what I have said. You don’t say something and then later back down or apologise.

“I gave it a lot of thought before I made the statements. I went into the law carefully and considered the position,” he said.

“I’ve been in Parliament for 26 years and will not be intimidated by anyone. Why should I?”

“If they do (expel him), I’ll take them on. You can’t intimidate someone to submit to what you want. I don’t run away from challenges like this,” he added.

http://malaysiangate.blogspot.com/2008/05/karpal-malaysiakini-karpal-singh-warned.html

35. #35 by mendela on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:36 am

Sultan of Perak is the most educated Sultan among all rulers in Malaysia. Sultan of Perak is a fair and full of justice person.

The way UMO handles the issue is totally wrong. I think Sultan of Perak needs to correct the wrongs immediately.

36. #36 by Loh on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:36 am

This is a case of rule by law, or legal persecution. The PM has the resources of the government at his disposal. The AG office can be diverted from doing the more urgent task at the cost of the country, but not at the cost of the PM himself. But Karpal Singh has to devote part of his 24 hours day to defending himself. If the PM had to bear the cost, at his personal level, then he might learn a lession.

There is no such law as lesemajesty in the country. Even if there was, Karpal cannot be charge under it for offering opinion regarding the legality of actions by royal households. UMNO leaders questioned the process in the appointment of mentri besar for Perlis and Trengganu. That amounted to directly challenging the authority of the rulers, when the discretion of the rulers were involved. But no actions had been taken against those UMNO leaders. In the present case, the question involves the coverage of civil servants, and the proper line of personnel control.

37. #37 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:43 am

Why Pakatan let BN continue with the life support? BN is brain dead
    Please take over the government soonest in order to get rid of the mess. We cannot afford to let this mess go on.

38. #38 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:46 am

I agree with mendela.

The Sultan of Perak should speak up if he thinks Kapal Singh’s remark was “seditious” and was infact questioning his “perogative” as Head of State for Islamic affairs. This wll immediately stop Umno/Youth’s dangerous game before it goes too far.

39. #39 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:50 am

The government(AG) has more important things to do ie to send the Altantuya murderers to hell, but they are not serious and still dragging their feet!

WHO is protecting WHO?

40. #40 by xtheman on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:53 am

Well.. there are couple of questions they need to ask Pak la and Najip. They both seems to be “makan cili tidak tahu pedas”

1. Pelantikan MB Terengganu, Umno has made a lot of sedition remark to Sultan …. remember the “Natang” word ? And pak la himself did said “Unconstitutional” on regard of pelantikan MB ? Why no action has been taken so far ? but action being taken to those are no Umno/BN supporter ?

2. What abt Najip himself ? Sedition remark from him widely documented that in the days preceding Operasi Lallang in October 1987, Najib Razak then as the head of Umno Youth, made a speech at a rally in Kampung Baru where he vowed to bathe his keris in the blood of Chinese Malaysian citizens.
    And this speech was delivered against a background of banners by Umno Youth saying such things as ‘May 13 has begun’ and ‘Soak it with Chinese blood’.

The above are only 2 examples ….. both examples by far menyakit teringga bila mendengar !!

41. #41 by ch on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:55 am

Dear All,

This state of affairs has somewhat caused people to wonder whether the agenda to change adopted by the current regime following its dismal performance in the recently concluded election could be followed through or will soon be forgotten as just mere stop-gap measure talk to appease the rakyat. In the last election, the rakyat has shown that they are capable and reserve the right to vote out an inefficient or corrupt or oppressive government. The newly installed government has somewhat realized quickly its weakened position and was swift in adopting various strategies to unite the Malays in particular and the rakyat in general so as to regain their confidence with the view and hope to fare better in the next election. Quick and swift actions have to be taken and trivial issues that could bring about stimulation on racial sensitivity will be used to shore up support.

One has to reconcile with the fact that UMNO leaders will not hesitate to use communal politics whenever their positions are threatened as time and again been shown in 1969, 1987, 1999 and probably now. Even, former Deputy Prime Minister, Anwar Ibrahim, outwardly agree that such tactic has always been the trump card. UMNO or BN should realize that any attempt to use communal politics in order to win support would be a retrogade step in this day and age in Malaysia. The rakyat are now better informed and perhap smarter in their judgement.

The ruling regime should spend more time, perhaps along with the much strengthened opposition to map out strategies to fight inflation and sharpen the country’s economic competitiveness rather than picking up these issues so as to avoid delving into the real crisis.

However, considering that UMNO has been quite severely weakened along with its component parties and support from the Malays for PAS and Keadilan appears rapidly growing, such comment by YB Karpal Singh will be a weapon in the arsenal for their leadership to harp upon.

One should wonder the terrifying consequences that these communalist can daunt upon us if their passion is not to be controlled or curtailed. How many more years that we need to go through before all political parties in Malaysia can mature above communal politics? Are there any pangs that we need to go through before achieving it?

42. #42 by k1980 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:58 am

The old dingo is just playing “Wag the Dog” to get the umno hounds off his back

43. #43 by ipohMali on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:59 am

Imagine a computer with MS Window XP, turned on and has been running too long without restarting… HDD is badly fragmented and registry is getting huge.

If it is not RESTART/RESET, CLEANUP the registry and DEFRAGMENT the HDD… it will CRASH badly… ohhh… seems like, the computer did not update the ANTI VIRUS/SPYWARE/FIREWALL system… Now the computer badly INFECTED as well… it is causing a lot of unexpected and funny behavior…

dammm… the computer now need to be REINSTALLED completely….

44. #44 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:03 pm

The old dingo is just playing “Wag the Dog” to get the umno hounds off his back – k1980

Ah, but what if he`s already a zombie now. Sleep walking now eh what. Karpal should immediately file a suit against the parties (a multi million one) for criminal defamation etc etc.

45. #45 by penang308 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:08 pm

TO ALL SUPPORTER HERE…DIDN’T YOU GUYS SEE THE SIMILARITY HERE?

I meant RAJA PETRA & KARPAL SINGH!

BOTH OF THEM INVOLVE IN ATANTUYA CASE!!!!! BOTH OF THEM KNOW SOMETHING “FISHY” GOING ON IN THE CASE!

SO, THE ONLY WAY TO SILENT THEM IS TO PUT THEM BEHIND BARS!

To charge Karpal under Sedition Act is just an “EXCUSES” to save the killer/killers! You know who I mean!

46. #46 by Luther on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:13 pm

YB Kapal,
    You are in trouble now seemingly? However,if whatever is going to happen to you at your age and condition now,I can only see the starting of the begining of the end of BN as they don’t learn from the 308 lesson still.
    Now,I suggest DAP MP/ADUN shall refrain from make “sensitive” statement or should recraft your statement properly to advoid unwanted casualty during this period of time as the the injured tiger-cat is trying to show its tigerness.we don’t have to kill the dying they will perish by itself naturally.so why watse time and afford shall focused on the well being of Rakyat,we know what is going on else there will be no 308.

47. #47 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:16 pm

Pulau _ Sibu,

Life support will be taken off soon no doubt patient is brain dead.

For political reasons we cannot announce death now !

48. #48 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:18 pm

Abdullah Badawi was embarassed and humiliated by the Sultans of Perlis and Terengganu recently. Now, he is trying to use Karpal Singh as a scapegoat and his punching bag to relieve his stress.

Now, I have totally lost respect for Abdullah Badawi. I used to think that he was a Mr. Nice Guy. Not anymore after seeing his true color at the video posted at Malaysiakini http://youtube.com/watch?v=KOgMooYoOXM

Look at Muhyiddin at Abdullah’s back. I wonder what he was thinking when Abdullah couldn’t articulate his words properly in Malay.

49. #49 by taiking on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:29 pm

Pak Lah is all over the place.

He has lost his directions and his co-ordinates.

He is in pieces.

So is BN.

(Remember the Rotting Fish Head and Fish Body statement by a certain policital leader of a certain disgraced political party?)

50. #50 by LittleBird on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:30 pm

As Karpal said why the silence from Pakatan Rakyat including Saudara YB Lim, I am wondering why? Is the powers to transfer of state administration iw within the domain of State Government or not? If it is not, PR should apologise to the Sultan of Perak.

The best person to demand an apology is the Sultan himself who being the former lord President should know the law. Did Karpal questioned Sultan’s right as the head of Islam? If so I think not only Karpal but the PR should tender unconditional apology. By PR keeping mum it shows you are week and ignorant of the law not to mention your failure to own up to a cock up.

51. #51 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:36 pm

What Karpal Singh did was merely giving his thoughts about what was happening in Perak. It is not seditious at all. But what Abdullah Badawi did against the Sultans of Perlis and Terengganu recently can be regarded as seditious and BIADAP. If the AG decided to probe someone for sedition, then Abdullah Badawi should be the first one to be probed for sedition. Definitely not Raja Petra nor Karpal Singh!

Personally, I prefer Abdullah to be the PM instead of other UMNO goons as his hilarious antics could strenghten Pakatan Rakyat in the next General Election. But now, I am not sure I can “tahan” seeing Abdullah as the PM any longer. So Najib or Muhyiddin, please take over from Abdullah as your sleeping boss is not fit to be the PM of Malaysia.

Sleeping in the Parliament is the real reason why your boss Abdullah does not want the session in Parliament to be broadcasted on TV as he wanted to continue sleeping in office and he does not want the rakyat caught him sleeping again on TV.

52. #52 by Luther on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:44 pm

Yes LittleBird.I agreed with U =

53. #53 by ppsbmy on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:45 pm

Now who is the “natang”?

54. #54 by ch on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:57 pm

Dear All,

Looks like the government is adopting selective punishment in order to quell dissenting voices.

55. #55 by lew1328 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:00 pm

`Where will PL put his face ?` – Dig a hole and burying it in deep.

56. #56 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:02 pm

LittleBird,

As I see it, it’s dificult for Pakatan Rakyat come in right now; less said is better at this juncture.

The rakyat like you and I who must speak up. Kapal Singh is from PR, remember? They have to remain quiet and watch the sandiwara, only to come in when very necessary. Too many and too much spoken will further confuse this sensitive issue esp when Umno is trying to play it up.

The Pak Lah should act more responsibly expected of nation’s Prime Minister and stop his monkeys making an issue out of it and a fool of themselves! Btw, how come those monkeys were not arrested for ‘unlawful assembly’? …double standards!

57. #57 by nkeng11 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:03 pm

Mr. Prime Minister,

Let me ask you these questions:-

1. What have you done since the huge negative general election result for BN? Have you design, repeal, review, replace plans that are not working anymore which the Raayat wants to change? You did not answer. The obvious answer even my children knows is NO!!!.

2. What have you done to narrow the gap between different races? You have done absolutely NOTHING!!!. In fact the Raayat has through the Internet obtained truth and light about so many blatant and stupid mistakes BN government makes and endorses. The Raayat has united and not polarised with only one AIM i.e to change the BN goverment which they are already so fed up.

3. What have you done with the disparity between inflation and the income of lower and middle brackets of the Raayat? Again nothing. In fact, prices of essentials have spiral beyong the means of most Malaysians. Petrol prices is now RM 1.92/litere. Industrial diesel without subsidy is RM 3.00/litre.

Tolls are indiscriminately imposed on various arterial roads in the city without any concern for the Raayat’s welfare. Instead the welfare of the concessionaires are taken care of. Residents are make to make detour up to few kilometres to avoid tolls. What have you done Mr. PM.

How about minimun wages proposed? You did not even read the proposals against the backdrop of the current inflationary economy.

4. How about education Mr. PM? The dropout rates in government primary and secondary school is unbeliveably high. Are there enought schools, teachers, desks, chairs, computers? The answer isobviously NO again!

Instead, you allow a education Minister to brandish a keris without any reprimand. If today you go and ask any students who is the Education Minister, they would not know his name but the Keris.

5. How about University Education Mr. PM? Are there enough public universities of standard for all and sundry without having to pay head and limps to get it?

Are there adequate places for all races without having to impose discrimatory policies? How about the non Malay students who are top scorers and could not even get a scholarship or a place in our local universities.

What have you stop extending loans to students who never have any intention to repay back the taxpayers’ money. I am referring to the MARA loans. Are these NOT public money?

The list goes on…. instead you put your energy to try to arrest and prosecute someone like Karpal who speaks the truth!

What an amazing Prime Minister Malaysia has.

I have no money, reputation and fear. I live and suffered too long for me to keep quiet.

Please Lah Phack Lah.

58. #58 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:04 pm

sorry, last para should read:

“PakLah should act more …….”

59. #59 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:24 pm

Where are all the clever lawyers or wannabes in this blog. How can they remain silent on this important issue? May be they are too scared in the light of recent crackdowns.

60. #60 by PSM on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:25 pm

This is proof that the AG is not independent! But then again, we knew this all along.
    Can the PM pressure the Police to find all those missing children? Can the PM pressure the Police to find the killers of that little girl (stuffed in a bag like some piece of trash!)? Can the PM pressure the Police to look into the Assult of the DAP’s MP in Cheras yesterday?
    I suppose the PM is more interested in ensuring the Police & AG go after Bloggers & Opposition MPs. That’s very essential to National Security & Public Safety!!!!!

61. #61 by musterpoolrao on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:40 pm

I WONDER BROTHERS IN PR HAVE INITATED POLICE REPORT AGAINST THE ‘ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI’ FOR ABUSING HIS EXECUTIVE POWERS BY INTERFERING WITH THE JUDICIARY… HE HAS INSTRUCTED THE AG TO TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION AGAINST KARPAL …A SERIOUS OFFENCE AND AN INTIMIDATION OF THE HIGHEST ORDER…PLEASE SEND ME A NOTE I WILL BE THERE TO SUPPORT..NOT ONLY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE ..HIS CRONIES ALSO WHO HAVE MADE POLICE REPORTS UPON HIS INSTRUCTION MUST BE CHARGED..

62. #62 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:40 pm

A non-issue becomes an issue if the powers there be says it is an issue, makes it an issue and takes steps to make it into an issue no matter what. So it then becomes an issue when it actually is a non-issue.

But Karpal should also be more careful not to be dragged into “issues”. He should exercise more finesse and clarity and not let others create issues from his almost daily comments.

63. #63 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:50 pm

Nowadays everything uttered even with good intention to clarify a point and as long as it’s from bloggers and Pakatan Rakyat, it will be politicised by those sore losers of GE-12!

Grow up guys, when are they going to stop? Guess you need to C4 to silence us all, eh?!

64. #64 by kingkenny on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:55 pm

They really think that the Citizens of Malaysia are insanely stupid.

Hello AAB, you are a public servant on OUR payroll, food that you buy with our payroll and taken into your belly and the bellies of your families have all this while kept you alive and well.

And even after you retire you still needn’t worry, you still have your rotten ‘WANG HARAM’ stolen from us to feed your children and grandchidren for decades to come.

As such is the situation, I pitied your grandchildren and their children because you left them with BLOOD in their hands and every time they ‘suap’ food into their mouth your sins will pass to them and your FAMILY will become a tainted ‘HARAM’ family FOREVER!

It is proven now to us that you are a SAMSENG PM who is PANTANG DI CABAR and I sincerely hope that for the benefit of the Citizens, you & your HARAM associates will ‘bungkus’ or ‘ta pau’ in the next GE!

May G-d be with you and your family to get you through this chapter as painlessly as possible!!!

OHKHKN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

65. #65 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:59 pm

This is such a non-issue that even a schizophreniac from Kg Attap knows the answer from the outset. No need for lawyers or lawyer wannabes.

66. #66 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:00 pm

The system of governance in Malaysia today is like the leaking roof of our Parliament Building. You fix one; in no time, another leak will sprout out from somewhere. Public sector governance is a total governance system. How can we talk about eradicating corruption when so many of our leaders have chequered past? How can we talk about independence of institutions when power is so opaquely centralised? How can we talk about justice when laws are so discretionary and can be arbitrarily applied? How can we fix the peripheries when the core is so rotten?

The leak in the parliament building is not because of heavy rain, wear and tear, lack of maintenance, using substandard materials or even poor workmanship. These are convenient excuses or the peripheries. The core is our system allows cronies who get paid handsomely for doing nothing and those who do the actual work get very little. You can’t expect quality work out of such a system no matter how much we debate, talk, monitor and supervise. Do you think we have reached a point of no return?

67. #67 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:02 pm

nkeng11,

what u expect him to do after the 12 GE ?

he never had the courage to do anything after winning so big in the 11th GE, you seriously think he will do something now ?

68. #68 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:05 pm

Some wannabes are just gung-ho with me only. They are in fact cock-a-doodle-doo.

69. #69 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:08 pm

Such are important things the govt need to focus on but they rather turn their energy to find fault with RPK and Kapal Singh, wasting tax-payers’ money!

70. #70 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:08 pm

Looks like the Prozac is working on limkamput.

71. #71 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:11 pm

Seriously, Karpal is a loose cannon, and appears to want to fight with everybody, just like our friend from Kg Attap. He shoots first, and then figures out damage control later. He has been a thorn in the side of Pakatan, and he now questions why Pakatan (including his DAP colleagues) are not coming out vociferously in his support.

72. #72 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:13 pm

I have to qualify my previous statement to say that in this particular case, Karpal is not at risk from the sedition charge. Badawi doesn’t know statistics, and he sure as hell doesn’t know anything about the law.

73. #73 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:14 pm

godfather, look like Prozac is not working on you anymore. Seriously, you need a stronger one, and please consult your good friend from NY, he is an addict.

74. #74 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:16 pm

“Seriously, Karpal is a loose cannon, and appears to want to fight with everybody”… godfather

Y.B. Karpal, can you sue godfather for slander or libel?

75. #75 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:17 pm

This is simply UMNO’s tactic to deflect attention from the real issues that are plaguing the party and the nation – the fight to remove Badawi, the Lingam case, the PKFTZ scandal, the Altantuya case, all of which have been hogging the headlines recently.

Oil is now at US$126 per barrel, and the country is probably broke from the continuing subsidies on gas, diesel and petrol. This is another reason for having to bring this case to the fore – to masquerade the dire economic situation facing Bolehland.

76. #76 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:18 pm

No, I am waiting for Badawi to sue me for slander for saying that he doesn’t know statistics and the law. After all, he is the finance minister, isn’t he ?

77. #77 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:19 pm

he now questions why Pakatan (including his DAP colleagues) are not coming out vociferously in his support. godfather

Precisely, we call these people “spineless” just like many wannabes here.

78. #78 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:22 pm

They should sack the two ‘retired’ and rakyat’s reject from “Advisor” role. Too much of tax-payer’s money is used. Did we agree to that insanely huge amount of ‘advisor-fee’?

79. #79 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:25 pm

This fee is actually called the “I scratch your back, you scratch my back” fee. After all, when Badawi is kicked out of UMNO, they may want to put him as advisor to the Islamic Council for an equivalent amount in fees.

80. #80 by cmf50 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:26 pm

ABdullah,not a democractic country and not proffesional.I think he is not suitable to be a country leader,as seem he does not know law.Also,he is not respect to the democratic.Furthermore,KArpal singh only as and advice as a lawyer and not as DAP chairman,and not be a fight to sultan.If tun,as special rakyat,blame PRime minister,That mean,he not respect Yang Dipertuan Agong,In where,BAginda Give a letter to Abdullah in other to Prime Minister,It mean,TUn not respect.

81. #81 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:30 pm

Did we agree to that insanely huge amount of ‘advisor-fee’? Jong

Precisely, and Guan Eng is trying to travel economy to save a few hundred ringgit. It is not that i do not respect Guan Eng. I just feel that if the core is rotten, the peripheries do not matter anymore. Fix the core, the peripheries will take of themselves.

82. #82 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:31 pm

No, he’ll turn “Grandmaster” Islam Hardhari.

83. #83 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:31 pm

Q: What is the difference between Nik Aziz, Mahathir and Badawi?

A: Nik Aziz can’t tell a lie, Mahathir can’t tell the truth, and Badawi doesn’t know the difference.

This joke is going around the sms circles now, and shows what sort of respect Badawi commands in Bolehland.

84. #84 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:32 pm

The “core” will be fixed in due time, sooner than expected.

85. #85 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:34 pm

hahahaa, that’s a good one! :D

86. #86 by kenyalan08 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:36 pm

Our PM or UMNO PM , is elected by UMNO , for UMNO , serve UMNO die with UMNO-NOT ELECTED BY PEOLPLE .DPM have stated very clearly in NST on 08 may , we ( together with PM ) are not worry being unpopular with citizens .

Who are the citizens – they don’t need us . Now is the time , all citizens do our part to make police reports or pressure our elected MP to “retaliate ” . Though , no actions will be taken but at least we have document proved to question them in parliament .

Wait for 2012 to excercise our right is still a long way to go , not unless our PM-IN-WAITING make the move now ..

DSAI ,PLEASE DO SOMETHING AND GIVE US A PLEASANT SURPRISES …. THANKS

87. #87 by devilmaster on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:43 pm

Karpal Singh was talking from the legal point of view. I don’t see anything seditious in it. It is Umno that’s trying to politicise this issue and making it a racial one.

What about the 23 Trengganu Umno ADUNS & their supporters who protested the Sultan Terengganu’s decision and calling the Sultan as “Natang”?

UMNO protesting against Sultan of Terennganu(our Agong also)(

The action of those 23 Terengganu ADUNs were far worse than Karpal.

88. #88 by LittleBird on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:46 pm

To Jong and Luther,

The Sultan of Perak can express his opinion about Karpal’s comment and that would resolve the problem. Or would the situation be different if the Sultan had summoned the MB first and asked him to reinstate Jamry.

89. #89 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 3:02 pm

LittleBird,

Well that was exactly what the Sultan did. He summoned the MB and asked that Jamry be reinstated.

90. #90 by LittleBird on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 3:10 pm

I missed the following sentence..”And then the MB should have issued the press statment apologising for undermining the powers of the Sultan”

91. #91 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 3:11 pm

It will be good for everyone that HRH Sultan Azlan Shah speaks up whether he agrees with Kapal Singh’s remark on legality, subject close. I don’t see any intent on the part of Kapal Singh to ridicule or question the perogative of HRH the Sultan.

It was mischievous and uncalled for that the Prime Minister and his Umno should act in such an irresponsible manner and see fit to blow up this non-issue, to confuse and create disharmony.

92. #92 by bukanbumi on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 3:30 pm

This goes to show one thing, the P.M. is trying to save his political career by playing to his UMNO members tune, little did he realise that people have lost confidence in him for exactly the same reason.

Is better for him to resign now rather than face humiliation by being force out later.

93. #93 by boilingmad on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 3:40 pm

I’ve always wondered why umno members always keep saying that they’ll make sacrifices FOR UMNO or they are doing this and that FOR UMNO and NOT FOR THE RAKYAT or for the COUNTRY. And now I know why, “kenyalan08” you’ve just given me the answer, stupid me. Of course, the PM of the country is elected by UMNO, and so if one wants to move up, one has only to please UMNO. Which means to say that UMNO’s philosophy is always to be loyal to, and ONLY TO, UMNO.

And it is no wonder why they have not learnt from their disastrous perfomance in the last GE nor be afraid of the Rakyat, because the Rakyat is not the one to decide who becomes the PM all this while. UMNO believes that they will be to gomen forever, whether it’s a big or a simple majority.

And AAB can do anything he wants cos he isn’t afraid of anyone. The police works for him, the Judiciary works for him and none of these morons will go against him.

What he’s done so far to Karpal, only resulted in outrage amongst us bloggers. We rant and rave in cyberspace. To him, its all talk. But if we hold peaceful demos, we get water or chemical cannons blasted at us, worse still, he can use the ISA on us. These are his weapons. OUr only weapon is our pressure on PR to form the new gomen. Perhaps, this might be the only thing he may be afraid of.

94. #94 by gofortruth on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 3:44 pm

devilmaster Says:

Today at 14: 43.21 (43 minutes ago)
    Karpal Singh was talking from the legal point of view. I don’t see anything seditious in it.
    ——————
    Precisely just that and anyone else in the house with sufficient legal knowledge can argue against & refute his lagal stand point. Isn’t this the beauty of the august house, iron sharpens iron & the whole nation progresses forward?

But unfortunately here we see PM & DPM chose to blow it out of all imaginable proportion in the hope to divert attention, especially Altantuya case.

95. #95 by MYctzn on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 4:01 pm

The DAP, in particular, and PR in general, have been keeping silent. This tells something are not right in themselves. I believe many people are dissappointed. This kind of news is just one of the many which are unfolding after the 308. The people are still waiting to see how the PR can work effectively for the benefits of all M’sians. Please quickly prove that you guys not only can critize, but also can govern. Otherwise, as time goes by, support earlier given to you guys will evaporate and go back to the other side, who have proven they can govern, albeit not 100% correct. Currently, life is getting more difficult, but MPs are arguing amongst themselves over issues which are not the priorities.

96. #96 by LALILOo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 4:13 pm

What is seditious is interpreted differently according to whether you are rational and fair or not. If the govt wants to take up a case with you, even talking about your goldfish can be seditious-lah.

They can be god and the devil at the same time. It all depends on what they feel like being. For an identical case, they can be a god to one, and a devil to the other.

97. #97 by novice101 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 4:20 pm

In Bolehland, we want to be first in many things. But in most instances we were first in the wrong things and for the wrong reasons.

Hope the AG can see that what Karpal did was within the law but what the UMNOputras did in Kelantan was against the law.

98. #98 by badak on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 4:31 pm

Our country is facing so much problem economy wise.Courts cases backlog to a few years ..And this clown,s are taking people to court for ..things like this….He said ,you said ,she said.
    What Kapal S.Said Is not treason to the anyone that also ..he said ,she said you said.The BN GOVERMENT MUST START WORKING AND STOP POLITIKING .ELECTIONS OVER DO YOUR JOB.

99. #99 by disapointed86 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 4:37 pm

Is this the “double standard” what we have endured in Malaysia? why AAB only interested on the “Karpal” matter…why didnt he called the A-G to sue all the BN MP in the recent Terengganu crisis??..AAB FCUK OFF la…stupid old sleeping man…disgrace for Malaysia for having such a “SLEEPY” PM in the History of Malaysia…. why dont AAB called for the speed up of ALTANTUYA CASE? after having so much pressure from the foreign country?…..what about calling OTK to explain the PKFZ scandal??…i think AAB just want to attract public attention so that everyone can forget what other more important cases…Lingam?PKFZ?BPR guy(cant rmb his name)…..or the BN want to sweep everything under the carpet?…

100. #100 by donplaypuks on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 5:28 pm

Whether or not the Pakatan responds, AAB’s upping the ante is the classic sign of a weak and unpopular regime attempting to distract the masses with staged trials and divide the people.

The only way to counter this is to expose more cases of corruption, misrule and mismanagement by BN and force a vote of no confidence in Parliament. Get the Sabahans & Sarawakians to wake up b4 it’s too late for them!

101. #101 by lakshy on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 5:37 pm

Just IGNORE bn goons and get on with the taks og governing the states that Pr have won. Forget all these diversionary and time and energy wasting tactics, and get good things done in the states that have been won.

That will be a greater threat to bn than anything else.

Lets act sensibly for the good of the nation.

Its obvious that bn is absolutely at a loss to lead the nation and is bankrupt of ideas!

102. #102 by justice_fighter on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 5:39 pm

Double standard at it again. Nothing new, nothing good from BN after the political tsunami. Never learnt the lesson. Let them continue to destroy BN….

103. #103 by winsoontan on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 5:41 pm

Why this world so unfair? Double standard! Karpal Singh does not do any wrong thing.He only voiced out his opinion. The society should condemn corruption and nepotism but not what Karpal Singh said. The corruption kills the country and make its people suffering. Please lodge police report for those involve in corruption regardless who they are!

104. #104 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 5:43 pm

LALILOo Said at 16: 13.43 – Spot on, well said you got the nail right on the head!

105. #105 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 6:14 pm

Abdullah has indeed make a mockery of himself.

How could he direct some one else his crony, to lodge a police report over the legal statements by YB MP Bukit Gelugor?

If he has the gut, he should lodge a police report himself against the YB Karpal Singh. He could summon the IGP Musa to his office to lodge police report, it is not difficult for him to do that.

He like many other so called UMNO leaders are craving to jump into the bandwagon of lodging police report over many trivialities.

Isn’t he the PM has more important things to look at? Why is he so free to chase after such trivial matter that warrant nothing to the Police.

Why he and UMNO want to bog down the police force and prevent them from doing more important jobs like crime busting and preventing in the country which is now infested with crimes of all kinds one can think of.

Police is bogged down by such trivial caused by such people like the UMNO members. Some of them could find a job for themselves, they also lodge police report against the government, never look at themselves first ans analyse their self-worth, how many sen they are worth.

It is ridiculaous that these people are still so immature in their thinking and outlook, led along by their so called UMNO leaders.

We only hope and eager to see the second thrashing that will come in another 4 years’ time that would probably level the whole political infrastructure of BN, more so the one that claimed to the backbone and the dominant party.

106. #106 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 6:27 pm

Badawi, the lame duck PM is fighting for his political future. So is his Deputy. Majority UMNO mermbers want both of them to resign, so he tries to show he is `tough` but nobody ever said he was a clever fellow.
    Now he becomes a laughing stock if AG can`t perform.

107. #107 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 6:42 pm

I’m getting errily suspicious, let’s all stay mindful and alert – it seems to me there’s a “hidden hand” at work.

Aren’t Raja Petra Kamarudin(RPK) and Kapal Singh both linked to the murder trial of Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu, both claimed to have evidences that can nail Mr and Mrs C.4? Now they are both being slapped with “Sedition” charge, how convenient but it cannot be a coincidence, can it?

108. #108 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 6:48 pm

Jong: Add to that this is the month of May. Badawi became Secretary of the Emergency Council set up in `69.
    So maybe he`s trying to pull another rabbit out of the hat to stay in power.

109. #109 by Jong on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 6:50 pm

Ooops, a correction: As for Kapal Singh, there are calls to have him slapped with “Sedition” charge.

110. #110 by UzMiNoOnist on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 7:00 pm

Not a surprise of what this sleepy PM is doing. Another typical case of abuse of power tantamount to corruption.

These BN bunch of crooks are doing great disservice to all their earlier leader in the like of polished statesmen Tengku Abdul Rahman and Jaafar Onn.

111. #111 by Joetan on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 7:01 pm

After the recent GE, we can see UMNO has been trying all possible ways their stupid mind can think of to instigate the malays against pakatan. They try to manupulate every issue into a racial issue to incite the anger of the malays towards pakatan. The demonstration at Penang, Komtar against Penang CM, the pig issue in Selangor and the recent Karpal’s statement on the Perak Sultan are some of the fine examples. UMNO practise a very destructive politics in order to strike back at Pakatan. Their despicable act should be condemned.

112. #112 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 7:04 pm

“The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is setting a bad and dangerous precedent in publicly pressurizing the Attorney-General…” KIT

Is he really pressurizing his own AG? I thought the more popular belief is that the AG has no discretion whatsoever when it comes to prosecuting or not prosecuting high profile politicians. We know too well that terms like “selective prosecution” and “prosecutorial abuse” are synonymous with BN rule and used as tools to keep them in office. In fact you could say such terms are invented for them!

On the other hand, we cannot blame the PM for playing a populist game since his popularity is at an all time low. If he is seen to be pressuring the AG to do something, wouldn’t that be proof that as PM he never did have the kind of control we said he had over his AG?

But then wouldn’t a drowning man also grab at anything that floats?

113. #113 by Tickler on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 7:04 pm

Condemning is not enough. It becomes imperative that Barisan Pakatan (or whatever name) moves in to form a new Govt. immediately before the situation becomes critical and Badawi imposes Emergency Rule.

114. #114 by isahbiazhar on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 7:16 pm

Abdullah had to respond because that will give him some support back.The AG will study and looking through old cases it will be difficult.He might have to amend the charges to come out with something since the PM had directed.It is a question of the judiciary and in this respect perhaps the Bar Council has to come out with some form of stronger statement.Karpal had met greater challenges and so this will be petty.Unless the government use the ISA!

115. #115 by peterchiang on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:03 pm

The bottom line is that AAB has been perceived as wasting too much resources in this episode without nett gain for rakyat in the end – bad for Malaysia. AAB should be better off sticking to Zzzzzz and not encourage unnecessary political stunts and sandiwara.

We are in dire need of a leader to move ahead of external competitors at this crucial point.

116. #116 by Evenmind on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:05 pm

Judicial reforms my azz, By asking the AG to expedite the preseqution of karpal shows that this pasar malam PM has indeed a pasar malam judiciary in this country, bar council , don’t you guys head that way too , fight it out , and show this pasar malam gomen that we are no more living inthe dark ages.

117. #117 by ppsbmy on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:13 pm

Karpal has his rights in his comments. He is a very knowledgeable person & his views must be respected.

We are ashamed with Abdullah as PM. No wonder Mahathir said BN will lost if he continues to be PM. Just as we wish.

118. #118 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:30 pm

“It has been, and it is my view that the Perak Sultan had no jurisdiction or power to direct the state government to reinstate Jamry who was a state government servant,” Karpal is reported to have said.

Has a Sec. 4 offence under the Sedition Act been committed here? Perhaps Karpal should have chosen his words more carefully. After all intention is deemed irrelevant by the Sedition Act.

Perhaps he should have said out of deference to the sultan that the state constitution would first have to be amended so the His Highness could so direct. After all, the sultan is head of the Islamic religion as expressed in the constitution.

But then how else would you say someone does not have jurisdiction over a matter except to say that he has no jurisdiction – except when that someone is also the sultan?

Sultan Azlan Shah ordered his MB to retract the 24-hour transfer order issued to Jamry as the transfer was done without the consent of the Sultan as the head of Islamic religion. He is right as it requires his prior consent.

But this does not mean it necessarily translates into an offence under S.4 of the Sedition Act.

119. #119 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:50 pm

KUALA LUMPUR, March 18 (Bernama) — Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail today stressed that there was no tussle between the Regent of Terengganu and the Regency Advisory Council with the state government pertaining to the appointment of the Menteri Besar of the state.

He said this was because the process of appointing the Menteri Besar for the state was spelled out under Article 14 (2) of the state constitution.

“As such, the candidate appointed as the Menteri Besar is not the nominee of the Regent or the Regency Advisory Council but a person who is appointed according to the laws of the state,” he said in a statement here.

He said the person must be a member of the state legislative assembly who in the opinion of the Regent and Regency Advisory Council commanded majority support in the assembly.

He said the Yang di-Pertuan Agong was fully aware of the provision and that His Majesty cannot interfere in the appointing of the Menteri Besar.

“This is because under Article 34(1) of the Federal Constitution, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong cannot function as a ruler of a state except as the head of the Islamic religion.

“In connection with this, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong does not have his own candidate for the post (Menteri Besar of Terengganu),” stressed Abdul Gani.

He said that His Majesty was aware of the fact that appointing of the Menteri Besar lied fully with the Regent and the Regency Advisory Council, and that His Majesty had no role whatsoever under the law concerning it.

Gani’s explanation comes in the wake of speculation about the position.

Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh whose appointment as the Menteri Besar of Terengganu has been delayed since the 12th general election ended on March 8.

—————————

What is the difference between Karpal’s position (in Perak) and that of the AG (in T’gganu)?

120. #120 by LALILOo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:58 pm

Tickler:
    AAB has already been confirmed to be on his way out. It is just a matter of time. He is not trying to stay in power but just trying to leave with a memorable BANG, rather than limp his way out.

Undergrad2, Isahbiazhar:
    From the various big case that he had worked on, the AG is not known to be impartial and neutral in his job. He is so totally biased to the govt.
    In fact, he is JUST ANOTHER GOVT SERVANT and his boss is the PM.
    Just like ACA, they all have to submit their findings first to the PM wheether to proceed or close the case.

121. #121 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:20 pm

“What should be remembered is that Umno members in Terengganu supporting Datuk Idris Jusoh carried banners which were far more insulting of the sultan. So why the double standard?” a senior DAP official told The Malaysian Insider.

It can be argued that conceptually speaking, it is not so easy to make a case of Malays as having made statements which have a tendency “to raise discontent or disaffection amongst the subjects of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or of the Ruler of any State…” and of having committed a seditious act against the Malay Rulers (read: their Rulers).

After all, there are numerous constitutional provisions pertaining to the Malays and their interest, their customs and religion, which require the prior consent of the Conference of Malay Rulers before they could be amended in any way.

Let’s identify the players before the game is played.

122. #122 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:29 pm

“Undergrad2, Isahbiazhar:
    From the various big case that he had worked on, the AG is not known to be impartial and neutral in his job. He is so totally biased to the govt.” LALILOo

I’d agree if you are referring to the issue of selective prosecution. If you’re talking of prosecutorial abuse of his powers, the legal system provides for remedies the victims could depend on.

Otherwise it is the Attorney General’s job to prosecute and it is for the court to decide – the jury if we have a jury system which sadly we do not.

123. #123 by I Malaysian on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:44 pm

I can see from the media, there is serious war instituted by UMNO and their supports gun down Karpal completely. I am very confident Karpal did not have any ill intention to disrespect The Perak sultan or any sultan for that matter.
    DAP together with Pakatan Rakyat has to do something before another voice is silenced.

124. #124 by benny on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:54 pm

Yb kit,
    This is the time all the MPS of PAKATAN RAKYAT STAND SOLID BEHIND YB Karpal.The show of UMNO is getting over,we are really fed up with the umno led govt.They are very racist,seditious,corrupt and etc.Pak lah your days are numbered,god is watching you.

125. #125 by Fernz on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:29 pm

One must strike a distinction between the role of the Sultan on the one hand, and the responsibilities of persons charged with the administration of these matters and therefore subject to civil service regulations and the authority of their political masters.

It seems that Jamry whatever can’t get along with his new boss, the Menteri Besar and therefore had to go. Moving out Jamry in no way constitutes an attack on Islam and Malay culture, customs and traditions or the Sultan’s role in these matters.

http://fernzjoefernandez.blogspot.com

126. #126 by LALILOo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:31 pm

Undergrad2:
    – “Otherwise it is the Attorney General’s job to prosecute and it is for the court to decide ”

Sounds too good to be true eh?
    Well, unfortunately, it just meant that having a govt servant to [ACA] to hand over his findings to another govt servant [AG] and then report the case to yet another govt servant [the Judge].

After all, none of them are independant. They all work for the same boss and every of their actions awaits instructions from their boss [PM].

127. #127 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:40 pm

Karpal is merely saying what ONLY Karpal dares to do and unashamedly too. Kudos to Karpal.

Now, nobody, least of all Pak Lah & Najib, need to teach HRH Sultan Azlan Shah what is proper and decorous. One needs no reminder that His Majesty was a former Lord President. Karpal was merely stating what is an obvious 101 in Constitutional & ADministrative law. Any ‘A’ level schoolboy, groomed in the basics of the Malaysian Legal System would have been able to tell you that. It’s obvious many UMNO-ites are illiterate in the law & cosnsitently make a fool of themselves. You would not expect HRH to fall for their base and undignified instigations.

Now, if the AG wants to take action, it would be yet another sad, colourless feather in his cap. That reminds me of Mugabe of Zimbabwe. You can check this story with the University of London where Robert Mugabe graduated via an ‘express’ route to an LLB through the Graduate Route. As the story goes, Mugabe was exempted from one year and he chose not to sit for the Public Law Paper, normally a first-year pre-requisite. Now look at the mess left behind by someone who claims to be trained in the law but have no inkiling about what’s constitutional propriety. That same story can be said of Tun M who has literally ’emaciated’ the judiciary because this docotor thinks he is a ‘dear-know-all’ including laws!

128. #128 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:48 pm

Except that this boss now seems to be “urging and pressurizing” his servant!

129. #129 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:54 pm

I wonder who are the legal advisors of Perak MB…

130. #130 by yhsiew on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:09 pm

Our country is in a mess! Mr. Anwar should move fast to effect a change in Federal Government.

Political defection in the name of delivering suffering Malaysians from the clutches of repression and oppression is justifiable. The conscience and moral obligation of the political party (i.e. PR) in setting the people free, OVERRULE ethics consideration pertaining to deflection (as long as money is not involved in the defection).

Mr. Anwar should be aware that there are talks by UMNO to outlaw defection. Once that is done, PR will miss the opportunity of taking over Federal Government.

131. #131 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:10 pm

The State Legal Advisor advises the state government. Who advises the Sultan?

132. #132 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:27 pm

Did God go to law school?

133. #133 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:33 pm

As far as the Perak Sultan, do you think his appointed advisor will dare to give him advice on his actions?

Yes it does seem to be a red herring by the PM to divert attention away from the Lingam Report.

If he does not make it public and ask the AG to act on the report, I am going to stop suggesting he should be allowed to carry on as the PM.

134. #134 by concerned_citizen on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:35 pm

Hai, apa dah jadi dengan pemimpin Beruk Nasional ini? Perkara kecil diperbesarkan, perkara besar pula diperkecilkan?

Takde ke kerja lain yang lebih penting? Negara dah lah tak cukup beras, petrol dah nak naik dan ekonomi pula nak turun, apa yang pemimpin tertinggi kita ini nak buat?

Kalou tak tidor, dia ni suka nak buat kacau dan huru-harakan keadaan politik? Jagalah sikit no 2 itu, jangan pulak nak ikut jejak dia tu, hang ni ketua, takkan nak ikut aje? Pandai-pandailah!

135. #135 by mendela on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:36 pm

To win a war, it is said that the best defence is to offence.

Karpal, DAP and PR should immediately file police reports and sue the UMO for sedition on the many more serious issues arise the past 6 months.

136. #136 by smeagroo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:44 pm

SUE THE BLARDY BLARDAWI!

137. #137 by Killer on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:58 pm

This is the pathetic reply from DAP’s allies in PR….

————————————————————

Deputy Chief Minister I Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin of Parti Keadilan Rakyat said he would leave it to the leadership of the DAP and PKR to address the issue.

He said the Malay members of PKR always respected the palace.

“The issue should not be politicised. It is best for the Perak government and palace to resolve the issue,” Mohammad Fairus said.

138. #138 by smeagroo on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:01 am

before GE 12, we Msians cant wait for it. Nowa fter GE 12, we Msians cant wait for GE13 and we are telling the PR so. DSAI, if what u said is true abt cross-over MPs, pls do it fast! We are suffering day by day with the backlash from the scums of BN esp UMNO!

139. #139 by kingkenny on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:01 am

mendela,

totally agree with you there!

especially sue AAB for his remarks in utusan or harian that day – MELAYU MARAH – PM – this is inciting racial sentiments!

If any other of us or even MP say something like CINA MARAH or INDIA MARAH – for sure he will summon kerismuddin and fight with the keris before he put us all into jail!

PR sue them, make police reports!!

140. #140 by kingkenny on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:02 am

BN & UMNO NOT ABOVE THE LAW!!

INCLUDING AAB & NAJISSSSSS!!

141. #141 by kingkenny on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:06 am

Hey!…I just figured out what AAB stands for!

Amalan Akhlak Buruk!!

Hahahahahahahahgagagagaggaaaggagaga

142. #142 by TC33 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:55 am

PM knows that what YB KS said could be used to stoke anger among Malays. The timing of KS’s remarks / comments was not exactly right. Too much bravery, little wisdom.

143. #143 by Loyal Malaysian on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 4:04 am

Karpal Singh has gone on record to complain the lack of support from his own DAP colleagues [and that will include you LKS in capital letters] and Pakatan Rakyat leaders[Anwar comes to mind] over this issue.
    Good to be idealistic but when it comes to the crunch you must show you can be counted on to fight the mob-rule mentality of the UMNOputras.
    I count this a minus point for both you and the Pakatan Rakyat

144. #144 by gofortruth on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 4:12 am

A good write up from Sim Kwang Yang –
    “Indeed, Karpal was merely bringing up a point of law, and he was discharging his duty as a lawyer and a member of Parliament. His objection was not directed at the person of the Sultan of Perak. From what little I know of Karpal personally, I suspect he must have the same respect for the Sultan of Perak personally as I have.”
    http://malaysiakini.com/columns/82639

145. #145 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 5:22 am

“Indeed, Karpal was merely bringing up a point of law, and he was discharging his duty as a lawyer and a member of Parliament. His objection was not directed at the person of the Sultan of Perak.”

Intention irrelevant Sec. 3 sub-sec (3) Sedition Act 1948.

146. #146 by mohammadharrisjalil on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 7:06 am

now we can see how evil pak lah is… i don’t think what Karpal do is wrong…

AS USUAL… RACIAL CARD AGAIN…

147. #147 by pwcheng on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 7:21 am

Mr Abdullah we have enough of your antics. It is better you put your energy to help the people than to help yourself by trying to destroy one or two leaders of the people. By trying to bring the whole force of UMNO against one or two men will not win back the hearts of all those who had spite you but looking after their welfare and safety and just be fair, will. The way you are heading looks like you are in your final tribulation.

Sorry to tell you that the people are very much wiser now. We all know what is wrong and what is right but to you and UMNO you think might is always right.

There are so many pressing issues that had contributed to the miseries of the people, many UMNO made but some due to God’s rage. There are still some who are blind, but soon they will wake up, hopefully before Malaysia falls way behind. Let me remind, those days are gone, Mr UMNO where you can bluff everybody all the time. But today can see clearly what you had in mind, not out of prejudiced but your legacy that you left behind.

148. #148 by TC33 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:53 am

It’s not easy for Opposition to deny BN 2/3 majority in the parliment and winning 5 states on March 8, hence the achievements must be cherished.

IMO, what YB Kapal Singh has said was not seditious, but quite close. But it has given UMNO the golden opportunity to stoke racial emotion, to attack, divide and even disintegrate Pakatan Rakyat.

Kapal Singh has always been a loose canon chairman for DAP.
    He opened his mouth too easily. He’s unaware of the fact that he can’t act oppositionist as before.
    He’s must be make aware that he’s now one of the leaders of a “government in waiting”. If an apology could resolve the matter, then appologise he should for the seek of Pakatan Rakyat.

But I think he would not apologise, plus it’s a bit too late now to apologise.

What a costly political mistake!!!

149. #149 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:29 am

What a costly political mistake!!! – TC33

Yes, Badawi will soon find out to his own regret. Only thing left now is for his deputy to mount an uprising (it`s the month of May after all) like his father once did.

150. #150 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:31 am

We are confronted by a predator. Self defence supersedes all other considerations.
    http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com/2008/04/hang-your-ethics-and-get-bn-lawmakers.html

151. #151 by year of snake on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:09 am

As usual one of our national newspaper headline Many Malaysians are upset with Kapal but they dare not publish the other headline Many More Malaysians agree with Kapal!

152. #152 by TC33 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:20 am

The real winners of PRU 12 turn out to be the Malay rulers.
    They call the shot now.

YB LKS did not realize this subtle change and forced to offer a speedy apology to the Perak sultan.

YB Kapal Singh did not learn from LKS, naively and voluntarily gave his comments from a legal stand point against the same sultan, did not apologize and fell into UMNO’s evil trap.

He is a brave oppositionist and a competent lawyer, but definately not a good strategist, nor a team player.

153. #153 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:27 am

LKS was a different situation from that of Karpal. Not being able to see the difference shows lack of maturity in thought.

154. #154 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:28 am

We eagerly await Karpal getting hold copies of those police reports lodged and hopefully matters can proceed further.

155. #155 by Cinapek on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:38 am

Hey YB Kit, do not get distracted by this diversionary tactic. AAB is milking this to the max so that all attention will be focussed on this matter and the pressure will be off him to resign.

He knows that he can exploit the feelings on the ground so much so that even the UMNO members that has been screaming for his head will stand behind him if he can persuade them that the institution of the Malay monarchy is threatened.

Make no mistake about it. They will close ranks the moment they perceived that their race is threatened, whether real or imagined and AAB is playing this up. Karpal was silly to play into their hands.

156. #156 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:47 am

AAB is milking this to the max so that all attention will be focussed on this matter and the pressure will be off him to resign. – Cinapek

Very true. But instead since he started the nonsense, all of a sudden the pressure on Badawi to go drink some fresh orange has suddenly mounted:

I would consider myself a betrayer of my country if I allow this to happen. And those sycophants who fawn before Abdullah will also be betrayers of their country, their people and for Malays, their religion even.
    http://sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=22185

Asked what his priorities would be if he got the nominations to contest the Umno presidency and won it and become the Prime Minister, he said unity would be foremost on his mind. “To bring about unity in all aspects of government policies, programmes and even to the NGOs and the political institutions. That should also be the primary concern of everybody,” he said.
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/5/11/nation/21219858&sec=nation

Q: Meaning you are against the 30% quota for anyone to contest the presidency?

A: Yes, I have expressed that because it is undemocratic. Some smart aleck came up with the idea that we should impose a certain quota system that you can only contest if you get a certain number of nominations.
    Why do you need a certain quota imposed on them?

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/5/11/nation/21220305&sec=nation

157. #157 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:53 am

Karpal Singh also said he would take the next course of action against the Prime Minister if he failed to why he made such a remarks on the matter.

“Abdullah Ahmad is diverting the attention from his own mounting problems within Umno and pressure to step down.”

He said he would raise the matter in Parliament on Monday.

http://bloggingr4life.blogspot.com/2008/05/karpal-singh-in-fear-of-safety.html

158. #158 by gundam on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 11:53 am

karpal mst find a proper way to put tis thing to an end immediately else both the DAP and PR will suffer. sorry is not the hardest word to say now…for the sake of future.

159. #159 by subject on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:22 pm

stupid chansellor should be replaced with talented leader from opposition in the earliest convenient. Otherwise, will be fleer by the world.

160. #160 by anak sungeisiput on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:26 pm

If a Malay were to say something adverse to the conduct of Sultans it is not sedition, but if a non-malay were to question the leaglity of any actions by the Sultan, it is sedition.

I think racsim is the underpinning idealogy parctised by the UMNOputras. They have no brain cells to govern by any other idealogy. It is time the the non-Malays insisted upon their eqaul rights and be treated a citizens of the country- as Malaysians.

Badawi your reputation in the International scene is a stinker.

161. #161 by Jong on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:30 pm

It’s a non-issue blown up by Umno.

If this “Prime Minister of All Malaysians” persists on an all-out effort to attack Pakatan Rakyat, he is making a terrible mistake. This is not the way for him to divert attention off his back to calls for him to step down; it may infact be the last nail to his coffin.

He must be reminded whatever he does, they are still coming for him sooner than he thought. So whilst he still has the time, he should live up to what he call himself: “PM of All Malaysians” and show us he deserves it.

162. #162 by pjboy on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:41 pm

Dear YAB LKS

Pls ask PM to explain why not speed up the case on what RPK wrote about & charged for sedition for (wrongfully). Also on the Lingamgate. These cases are being dragged but PM put pressure on Karpal’s case. It’s obvious PM is on a personal vendetta against Karpal – for reasons we all know – Karpal is one of the lawyers in the Mongolian case & no doubt in the background for the Lingam video case. No doubt to the public, these 2 cases are very badly handled & who is to be blamed? If I were the AG, I would resign before being the scapegoat.

163. #163 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:43 pm

Badawi has lost control:

The current leadership is working at cross-purposes and are not united behind the party president. In fact, some leaders have become too powerful, assuming powers that they don’t even have under the party constitution and running roughshod over the grassroots.

http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/umno-has-to-reform-to-be-relevant.html

164. #164 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:55 pm

If I were the AG, I would resign before being the scapegoat. – pjboy

That`s an interesting observation. But let`s say, if the AG were `working` for an opposing camp, took up the case, and lost it.
    For the AG it would be a QED (quite easily done).
    Then that would leave Badawi floundering laughing stock, and deeply humiliated as well.

165. #165 by gundam on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 2:46 pm

for someone to be truly respected and revered, he/she needs to demonstrate the ultimate capability on a level playing field thus win it to convince everyone, not by declaring supremacy or asking for special rights. throughout human history, promoting inequality will always see the oppressed fight back and everyone loses in the end. wat’s the point of starting a game in the first place then? our enemy should not be within, cherish our fellow countrymen for we work in a team for everyone’s interest in this age of globalisation. i love tis place for its’ true color…regardless of religion..coz
    I see your true colors
    Shining through
    I see your true colors
    And that’s why I love you
    So don’t be afraid to let them show
    Your true colors
    True colors are beautiful,
    Like a rainbow

166. #166 by lopez on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 5:01 pm

They are several key position that are be ing influenced these days by interested parties, it appears that sheriffs have found a pat person already so r fellas in the green.
    But those in the black are in the at their cross road now, it up to their conscience , if they have any left, since these bunch does not just happen to be there either.

167. #167 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 5:24 pm

I am not an expert in Constitution Law, but what The Prime Minister is applying to Yb Karpal Singh should also be applied to the Prime Minister.

With Deepest Respect to their Royal Highnesses , as it is inscribed in the Rukun Negara, that we are subjects and to remain loyal to the Sultan. This i will do and continue to do .

As the Thais do revered The King as demi God.

Someone wrote about it is ok, for malays to say something adverse about the Sultan and not non malays. well. This is political , and racist to the core.

Now, all Malays are Muslims, and Muslims are to sembah to none other than Allah SWT. Did not God created all as equal. But the YAB Prime Minister, with his years of religious study would surely understand that . I think so. I hope so.

In Malaysia, and also many developing ,countries and even Japan, once reverved their Emperor as Divine. This goes against the very element of Islamic teachings. I Hate mixing politics with religion, but since the Premier is perceived as very knowlegeable man and religious man, i like to pose this fundamental question to him than.
    Since when have you taken to role of playing God. There is NO COMPARISON , to ALLAH SWT, and by so doing is SYRIK. right?

MY respect and honour to The KING and the SULTANS will remain.
    I will remain loyal to the KING and The SULTANS, but my first duty as hamba Allah SWT is to none again than my chosen GOD.

I will liked to be charged for sedition too, and to be charged in the Syariah Court, and be stoned to death. Please take up my offer, YAB Perdana Menteri Malaysia.

168. #168 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 5:28 pm

YB Karpal Singh,

In the case of YM Raja Petra , the prosecution have 14 witnesess. Dear YB, i can be your witness if you are ever charged.

yours sincerely.

169. #169 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 7:01 pm

“Someone wrote about it is ok, for malays to say something adverse about the Sultan and not non malays. well. This is political , and racist to the core.” ADAM YONG

I won’t quite put it that way.

Don’t you agree that Sec 3 (c ) and (f) of the Sedition Act do not by definition target the Malays. These provisions are drafted into the Act to prevent non-Malays from questioning the position of Malay Rulers and Malay rights. It is seditious just to raise issues relating to them. Of course, it is all about politics and race.

Would a Malay raising issues involving Article 153 (on which the NEP was grounded), Article 152( national language) and Article 181(Malay Rulers) fall foul of the Sedition Act? Technically speaking, yes. But can you imagine a Malay raising issues pertaining, for example, to the status of the Sultans and the Agong.

170. #170 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 7:10 pm

“I recall the statement made by the First Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Tuanku Abdul Rahman, when requested by a foreign emissary to sack me from the office of the Prime Minister of Malaya,” said the First Prime Minister and Bapa Merdeka, Tunku Abdul Rahman, on 23 January 1978.

“’Oh, I cannot, for he is appointed by the people and not by me,” replied His Majesty, “On the other hand, he can sack me.’”

“If this system were to change and the Rulers were given the sovereign right and prerogative to rule by the DIVINE RIGHT of kings,” added the Tunku, “then I fear it would be only a question of time before the whole institution was scrapped.”

During the Constitutional Crisis about a decade later, the then Deputy Prime Minister, Ghaffar Baba, said that it is not unlawful to criticise the Rulers. That does not tantamount to sedition. You may not, however, propose that the Monarchy be abolished and for Malaysia to be turned into a Republic, as that would constitute a crime under the Sedition Act.

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/7250/1/

171. #171 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 7:24 pm

“Now, all Malays are Muslims, and Muslims are to sembah to none other than Allah SWT. Did not God created all as equal.”

Surat Al-Hujurat, (verse 13)?

“There is no God but God” are both found in the Koran and the Christian Bible. Remember ‘Allah’ is God in the Arabic language.

So you’d argue that everytime a Muslim gathers his hands, raises them clasped together in the position of the ‘sembah’ when seeking audience with the Sultan or the Agong or members of the Royalty, he or she is committing a sin?

172. #172 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 7:37 pm

KUALA LUMPUR, May 11 — When the Abdullah administration makes public the explosive Royal Commission report on the V.K. Lingam video, one man’s every move will come under scrutiny.

Not Lingam or former Lord President Tun Ahmad Fairuz who have been identified by the commission as the parties involved in the controversial telephone conversation where judicial appointments were being brokered.

Not Tengku Adnan Mansor or Tan Sri Vincent Tan who allegedly discussed appointments of judges with the then Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

The man in the spotlight will be beleaguered Attorney-General Tan Sri Gani Patail. The fact that the commission has verified the authenticity of the tape and saw it necessary to recommend a raft of charges and possibilities against the main actors will be an embarrassment for the government’s chief legal officer.

When the scandal first broke late last year, he declared that “no criminal offence appears to have been committed” and said that Lingam “was in a monologue over his mobile phone and it was unclear who he was talking to”. He was criticised by the Opposition for shooting from the hip without recommending a thorough probe into the episode.

http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/lingam-video-report-has-ag-under-duress.html

173. #173 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 7:55 pm

I listened to much of what the lawyer Haris has had to say when giving his talk on the origin of ‘sedition’ in England and how the doctrine developed over hundreds of years, and what it meant to society there today. His attempt to give a historical perspective to our own law on sedition today is nothing more than a history lesson. Do we need a history lesson?

Seditious libel may be a misdemeanor today under English law; or may be “severely circumscribed” in the U.S. by the First Amendment of their Constitution.

But the fact remains that sedition is a serious crime today in Malaysia and that the Sedition Act 1948, in my opinion, is allowed to remain on our books after independence for one purpose and one purpose only i.e. to take issues which brought UMNO into power out of the public forum.

174. #174 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:00 pm

Meanwhile, we look forward to the learned AG to take Karpal out of circulation.

175. #175 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:10 pm

dear udergrad2.

I am a muslim. but i am not a malay.

where lies my locus standi ?

His Royal Highness The King and The Sultan are the guardian of Islam for the Nation and their respective states.

Btw, muslims do not clasp their palms ( or hands ) together when we pray.

IN the Rukun Negara , the Belief in GOD comes first.

176. #176 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:14 pm

Btw, muslims do not clasp their palms ( or hands ) together when we pray. – ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH

The author got mixed up with Thailand mebbe.

177. #177 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:21 pm

“Btw, muslims do not clasp their palms ( or hands ) together when we pray.” ADAM YONG

Sorry, I assumed so.

But the clasping of the hands gathering them into the position of the ‘sembah’ when you meet the Sultan or when seeking the audience of the Agong to speak, if you are a Malay and a Muslim, would be what some call ‘menduakan Tuhan’ – a sin in the eyes of God.

178. #178 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:22 pm

I think it has its origin in Hindu custom if not Thai.

179. #179 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:27 pm

“Meanwhile, we look forward to the learned AG to take Karpal out of circulation.”

I believe Karpal’s chances of spending two years at His Majesty’s pleasure and hospitality are about as equal to those of RPK.

180. #180 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:29 pm

Dear HJ Angus.

I think you got a narrow view of DYMM Sultan Azlan Shah. He does listen to his advisors , and he does like any human being subject to errors and mistakes.

However, neither DYMM Sultan of Perak or The Raja Muda of Perak or the Regent of Kelantan, made any ‘fuss’ over YB Karpal Singh remarks. If you read carefully, DYTM Raja Nazrin , was merely wanted to be consulted over the sacking of Datuk Jamry. The wisdom there was, in as much as UMNO has its brand of Islam Hadhari, so too has Pas, which if left unchecked , can be calling everyone a kafir. It was more of a neccessity than a compulsory issue. I do agreed with HRH RAJA NAZRIN.

AS for DYTM the Regent of Kelantan, speech made, and further explaination was given by the pa, the the full text of his speech was not published. The Regent of kelantan further reassured that He is for all Malaysians.

181. #181 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:29 pm

I think it has its origin in Hindu custom if not Thai. – yawn, history lesson

182. #182 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:33 pm

“I am a muslim. but i am not a malay.” ADAM

So you do not fall under Article 160(2).

183. #183 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:34 pm

DEAR undergrad2.

i am a muslim. i am not a malay.
    what is my locus standi ?

184. #184 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:36 pm

Dear undergrad2.

i dont know law la.
    what is 160 (2)

can talk or cannot talk ?

185. #185 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:38 pm

“However, neither DYMM Sultan of Perak or The Raja Muda of Perak or the Regent of Kelantan, made any ‘fuss’ over YB Karpal Singh remarks.” ADAM

I believe the statement by the Sultan of Perak saved Karpal’s skin.

186. #186 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:38 pm

dear tickler,

are the pilot that i know?

187. #187 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:42 pm

ADAM,

I suppose it depends on how you raise the issues relating to Art. 160(2) Federal Constitution 1957. Art. 160 (2) itself is not among the Articles referred to by the Sedition Act.

188. #188 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:45 pm

Oh I certainly am not a pilot, but they do fly me around when necessary.
    He might be one :)

189. #189 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:49 pm

What locus standi are you talking about, Adam Yong?

190. #190 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:54 pm

Pas has always wanted to introduced the Hudud law, which is rejected.

so does most Malaysians , including malays who are muslims and indian muslims and other muslims.

Please see the wisdom of DYMM Sultan Azlan Shah.

191. #191 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 8:57 pm

thanks tickler.

great of you.

192. #192 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:00 pm

Can a muslim say something adverse about The Sultan ?
    since according to you Malays can. non Malay cannot.

193. #193 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:02 pm

I did not say that.

194. #194 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:03 pm

This is what I wrote earlier –

Don’t you agree that Sec 3 (c ) and (f) of the Sedition Act do not by definition target the Malays. These provisions are drafted into the Act to prevent non-Malays from questioning the position of Malay Rulers and Malay rights. It is seditious just to raise issues relating to them. Of course, it is all about politics and race.

Would a Malay raising issues involving Article 153 (on which the NEP was grounded), Article 152( national language) and Article 181(Malay Rulers) fall foul of the Sedition Act? Technically speaking, yes. But can you imagine a Malay raising issues pertaining, for example, to the status of the Sultans and the Agong.

195. #195 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:05 pm

Gotta go to Church. Talk to you later.

196. #196 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:10 pm

if sec 3 (c) and (f) do not by defination target the malays.
    can it not be interpretated as targeting non malays ?

197. #197 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:11 pm

chow. God Bless you and family. goodnite from Malaysia.

198. #198 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:30 pm

BN is applying double standards again. Why do I say so?

During 2006 AGM of UMNO many a delegates of UMNO made seditious statements, were they sued for making seditious statements?

During 1993 Mahathir proposed the constitutional amendments to deprive the legal immunity of Sultans and the royal families then a lot of BN leaders supported the constitutional amendments and humiliated the royal families. were they sued ?

Lastly, I feel that who makes seditious statements is not decided by the Seditious Act but by the powerful leaders.

199. #199 by Tickler on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:17 pm

But can you imagine a Malay raising issues pertaining, for example, to the status of the Sultans and the Agong. – undergrad2

UMNO has done that, and that`s reality not imagination. It resulted in the Royalty losing their powers.

200. #200 by dawsheng on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 11:16 pm

The Royalty will not lose their powers if they stand on the right side, behind the Rakyat.

201. #201 by miketan142 on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 11:49 pm

The royalty definitely gain more power after GE12 albeit unconstitutionately. Would they stand a chance on what happens in Perlis and and Trengganu before GE12 ? Will the royalty dare to come out again to support Karpal against Umno ? Unless a much weaken Umno.

202. #202 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:27 am

“UMNO has done that, and that`s reality not imagination. It resulted in the Royalty losing their powers” Tickler

What Mahathir did in the mid 80s was to define the powers of the monarch and by defining the powers of the Agong, to avoid future abuse by the kind of monarch who may come once in some twenty years or so. The effect it has is that of protecting, preserving and strengthening the institution of the Malay monarchy rather ending it or hastening its demise. It proceeded from the premise that the Malay monarchy is here to stay.

203. #203 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 1:08 am

“The Royalty will not lose their powers if they stand on the right side, behind the Rakyat” dawsheng

The rakyat you refer to here is not a homogenous whole or entity or race like the Japanese are. The Japanese, for example, are a homogenous race with a history that goes back 1,000 years. Today they stand solidly behind, and are fiercely loyal to their Emperor in a way no other race could hope to do.

Ours is a constitutional monarchy. Not just any monarchy but a Malay monarchy in a multiracial society.

There are forces at work who would like to change the course that history has taken.

204. #204 by TC33 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:30 am

YB,

Would you please persuade Kapal to, for his own sake and that of PR’s, just seek an audience with Raja Azlan Shah or Raja Nazrin Shah and apologise, and move on?

Too high a stake at hand.
    For ONCE, Kapal needs to apologise.

205. #205 by Irene on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:06 am

When it come to the issue of Sultan many many people will keep quiet. Is is wrong to comment on the point of law? As everyone knows that Sultan Of Perak was once the Lord President. I see no reasons why Karpal is wrong on quoting a recorded case and I feel that if the Sultan of Perak being once the Lord President of Malaysia will definetly agree on the point of Law.
    WHY !!! these UMNO fellows still bark on the issue.
    REALLY MAKING FULL USE OF THIS ISSUE FOR THE DEFEAT!!!

206. #206 by 318 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:36 am

Sad cos unity among races turning from bad to worse.( I maybe wrong) Most of the bn policies are bias. Everybody knew too religion must not mix with politic Races mixing in the years 70’s totally different from nowdays even during festivals day when lnvited only can drinks where I may say that is halal. sad,sad,sad

207. #207 by allcreatedequal on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:36 am

Why doesn’t DAP and Pakatan Rakyat remind the rakyat everyday about what BN/UMNO did to Sultan Terengganu. I suggest every wakil rakyat from DAP (MP and SA) voice this everyday in the press and on every blog.

208. #208 by TC33 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:47 am

It’s exactly due to UMNO is making full use of his comment that Kapal should quickly apologies to Raja Azlan Shah.

Perak MB could have insisted that the transfer is done according to laws. But he chose to back down humbly, for he knew that PR has much to lose if UMNO politicise the issue.

And then the eminent lawyer cum DAP chairman Kapal, much to the delight of UMNO, called a press conference (he should have known that UMNO controls MSM) and gave his comments freely…

The worst political mistake a politician, a national chairman of a party at that, could do is not being able to keep his mouth shut when situation requires him to.

Kapal can do amend by apologising to the Sultan of Parek.
    The Sultan has his own points of laws, albeit different from Kapal’s, too. And exactly because the Sultan once being the Lord President of the country, we cannot underestimate his understanding in laws and hence what he did about the transfer may be actually according to laws.

209. #209 by ktteokt on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 8:58 am

318, not only politics and religion should not mix, politics and business should also be kept separate but the BN government has mixed all these three “ingredients” to form what you see today, “a thick and inseparable” emulsion which has brought about corruption and problems which cannot be solved. This is because if you remove one of the components, you are sure to offend one party and as such, the government chose to just keep quiet and let sleeping dogs lie.

All these began during the Mahathir era when he showed his famous “Malaysia Inc” on TV. What “bayangkan Malaysia sebagai sebuah syarikat yang besar…….” was utter nonsense. How could he treat politics like business?? And if what he proposed was true, then perhaps the place of the PM should have been privatised to become PM Inc. or PM Sdn. Bhd., allowing any one who holds “sufficient equity” to sit up there and control the nation.

210. #210 by Jong on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:15 am

I’ve one question from a lay person – what makes one think Karpal Singh is wrong and the Sultan of Perak right, or must be right?

Sultan of Perak may be a former Lord President but isn’t it fair that Karpal Singh be allowed to be heard from his understanding of the law? Perhaps Karpal has his reasons since for standing by what he said. Why must he be pressured to apologise to the Sultan, rather than that it’s more intelligent and healthy that both parties sit down to discuss in detail the law, argue it out and where necessary, share and educate those young lawyers?

In this situation, I strongly feel the Prime Minister should be the right person to come in and help clear this misunderstanding/understanding of the law, but unfortunately and sad and disappointing that this “PM of ALL Malaysians” decides, not only to openly support UMNO’s politicising the issue, he even clapped them on and help fan to fan situation just to get at Karpal Singh, and/or Pakatan Rakyat!

Sore losers of GE-12!

211. #211 by Tickler on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:19 am

What Mahathir did in the mid 80s was to define the powers of the monarch and by defining the powers of the Agong, to avoid future abuse by the kind of monarch who may come once in some twenty years or so. The effect it has is that of protecting, preserving and strengthening the institution of the Malay monarchy rather ending it or hastening its demise. It proceeded from the premise that the Malay monarchy is here to stay. undegrad2

That is sophistry and very fallacious.
    When TDM went around the country on enlisting support, it was not that benign outlook that you portray. The Royalty was denigrated on TV and other MSM. They were roundly, and in some cases falsely, portrayed.
    In no way did TDM seek to define the powers of Royalty, but it was with the express purpose of usurping those powers of the Royalty unto himself. It has not in any way strengthened the monarchy other than making them subservient to UMNO.
    To strengthen the monarchy, would have been to the detriment of UMNO.

212. #212 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:19 am

Why no action was taken against Umno leaders who also questioned the Perlis and Terengganu rulers? Lodge a police report and see what these robot police will be doing? Will they act with a similar standard?

213. #213 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 3:32 pm

Instead of pressing the right button to on the light to light up our “judicial darkness”, AAB is pressing the wrong button trying to divert the attention from scandals to prosecute Karpal!!! NO ONE IS ABOVE GOD!!!

214. #214 by darren sky on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 4:03 pm

What the f__K, we have the most stupid stupid stupid PM in the world !!! WHAT AN IDIOT !!!

215. #215 by KanNinNeh on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 5:31 pm

Maybe it is time for Malaysia to learn from the King of Bhutan !

216. #216 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 6:00 pm

“When TDM went around the country on enlisting support, it was not that benign outlook that you portray. The Royalty was denigrated on TV and other MSM.”

That so? I was out of the country for another five years. Never got to read the papers or listened to the media. Sophistry? I don’t think so.

He had that rare opportunity to change the course of history (if you know what I mean) but he did not! Why? Out of love for the institution? Many Malays criticized him for chickening out at the last minute. I don’t think he chickened out of anything. I think he’s far too smart for that. I don’t think Mahathir is anti-Royalist. I think he is for the Royals as long as they to stick to their role as he sees it.

217. #217 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 6:04 pm

I must admit though that part of my argument came from knowing the man.

218. #218 by Jong on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:07 pm

Go on undergrad2, let us know more of this ‘batu api’.

219. #219 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:08 pm

“In no way did TDM seek to define the powers of Royalty, but it was with the express purpose of usurping those powers of the Royalty unto himself.” Tickler

Express purpose? Did he say he was usurping those powers for himself? I preferred the use of more diplomatic language like “defining the powers of the monarch” to describe what happened. But yes, he certainly did not set out to “define the powers”. I believe the so-called constitutional crisis was ignited by a ruler or rulers who stepped out of their constitutional role not by choice or design but by default, and that Mahathir used the occasion to “define their powers under the constitution” to his advantage.

“It has not in any way strengthened the monarchy other than making them subservient to UMNO.”

Strengthened or weakened the monarchy would depend on one’s perspective. Certainly he did not set out to strengthen it.

UMNO especially UMNO of the 50s, 60s and 70s needed the monarchy to unite the Malays who have a feudalist mindset, and the monarchy saw UMNO as a way to maintain its legitimacy as an institution. I think that is a fair assessment.

Events of the mid 80s and 90s and more recently have driven a wedge between the two as the Malays are divided. But when the two unite under a new leadership, the scenario will not be one between UMNO vis-à-vis the monarchy.

220. #220 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:12 pm

ooops “support for UMNO” as a way to maintain its legitimacy…”

221. #221 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:20 pm

“To strengthen the monarchy, would have been to the detriment of UMNO.” Tickler

Zero sum game between UMNO and the Royals? To say so would be to ignore 50 years of history.

222. #222 by bernadette on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 7:40 pm

wow…!! you show a good grasp of history n and understanding of the Malay mind.

223. #223 by DAPPKR on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:48 pm

….hopeless PM

224. #224 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:31 pm

“Sultan of Perak may be a former Lord President but isn’t it fair that Karpal Singh be allowed to be heard from his understanding of the law?” JONG

I thought that was what the Sultan said i.e. that Karpal was merely pointing to the law.

225. #225 by Jong on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:46 pm

Did he, oops I’m not aware.

226. #226 by Jong on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 10:49 pm

btw where did you read it?

227. #227 by Jong on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:10 pm

Then rightly the Sultan of Perak should speak up and tell Mr Snoozer and his monkeys to stop fan animosity! There are more important things to tackle and top of the list is to send the Altantuya murders to hell!

228. #228 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:31 pm

“Did he, oops I’m not aware.” JONG

My bad! That’s hearsay!

But I suppose one could read in between the lines in the statement issued i.e. that the Regent was displeased with the announcement of the transfer because he was not consulted, and that nothing more was said or added.

There is no report about the Regent fuming with royal anger, jumping and tearing his hair out? Is there?

229. #229 by Jong on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:50 pm

Hahaahaa, not bad you are quite informed! I guess age has mellowed the man and what more, a father at 50!

230. #230 by Jong on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 11:52 pm

On a serious note, I don’t think there has been any further statement from the Istana Perak but the one from Selangor has confused the rakyat, even Karpal Singh himself.

231. #231 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 5:40 am

“I guess age has mellowed the man and what more, a father at 50!” JONG

Remember! Man is like wine. I don’t pretend to know what a woman is like and I’ll not say it here for fear of incurring the wrath of her royal highness!

232. #232 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 7:08 am

Did not the raayat or more precisely the BERSIH RALLIES, before the general elections appeal to DYMM Tuanku and The Sultan to hear their voices. Who were part of the Bersih Organisers ?

Now, after the general election, it is The prime minister who is waging political war with Pr . Why than accuse DYMM of confusing the raayat.

233. #233 by Tickler on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 9:14 am

KUALA LUMPUR: MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting said the Tengku Mahkota of Kelantan, Tengku Mohammad Faris Petra, was wrong to say that “it is inappropriate for non-Malays to request for equal rights”.
    nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/National/2214032/Article/index_html

Why no police investigations?

234. #234 by taiking on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 9:36 am

Has Karpal Singh done anything wrong? No. Quite plainly he has not.

What do you expect. It is his training and calling. As a lawyer, he reads and interpretes legal provisions all the time.

Legal provisions, be they in the statutes or in judge-made laws, are never as clear as they may seem.

Laws are more likely than not created in response to situations and circumstances.

However, situations and circumstances would change over time and from time to time; and they may even be superceded completely by new ones. The corresponding response by lawmakers to such changes is almost always slow and behind time.

Nonetheless, the laws must still be applied; and apply them lawyers and judges, did – as best as they can.

This would leave room enough for disagreement and argument.

Can a law professor be accused of the same wrong hurled at Karpal Singh if he were to write a textbook on Malaysian Constitution expressing views which in effect is similar to Karpal’s.

Can a lawyer likewise be so accused if he were to raise a constitutional argument in court which has the apparent effect of questioning in some way the Rulers of our country?

Wasnt the AG committing the same wrong when he drafted laws which enable certain new Acts of Parliament to take effect without the need for royal assent?

Wasnt Parliament in the same shoes in passing such laws?

235. #235 by Jong on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 9:43 am

“Man is like wine. I don’t pretend..” – undergrad2

Well wine has its age limit, will easily turn vinegar. It’s said “Life’s too short to drink bad wine”, heard that before?

236. #236 by darcwil on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 10:31 am

In any case one should really be careful about what they say when they particularly make statements touching on religious matters and royalty. touchy touchy touchy. Let it be a lesson to all of us (politicians especially, its a dog eat dog world in politics out there)

237. #237 by Toyol on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 11:49 am

Instead of looking after the welfare of the country, this sleepyhead uses the government machinery to prosecute a disabled person. What’s the use of announcing independent commissions in the judiciary and ACA when the hands do a different thing. The PM has no intention to introduce transparency in the judiciary nor the ACA. Forget it…its just a rhetoric to gain support.

238. #238 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 6:16 pm

“Well wine has its age limit, will easily turn vinegar. It’s said “Life’s too short to drink bad wine”, heard that before?’ JONG

Dunno about that! But I do know that “wine, women and songs” are inseparable.

But then when we watch the Lingam tape, where are the women and the songs?

239. #239 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 6:23 pm

“Has Karpal Singh done anything wrong? No. Quite plainly he has not.” taikong

Imagine what it could mean to you and me if he is a judge, jury and prosecutor all at the same time.

240. #240 by Killer on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 6:43 pm

Folks

What I don’t understand is why Karpal has been making one controversial statement after another. His “Animal Planet” antics in the Parliment was disgraceful too. I am having difficulties to understand his motives or objectives, perhaps he has lost the plot.

In this particular case, there is no reason for Karpal to make a statement as this is a matter for the Perak MB or perhaps someone like Wan Azizah (can someone please tell why PR poted for the worse possible candidate there is for the leader of the Opposition ?) or Anwar Ibrahim should have spoken out. In fact now even the Perak MB refuses to be drawn into the issue and the support for Karpal is very thin even from DAP.

I am puzzled why both the Perak MB and the Penang DCM1 are trying remove the heads of religion on their states when the PR, LGE and LKS had been saying that they want to work with the current civil servants and have no problems with BN leaders serving in their states. Most likely reason is that PKR and PAS is trying to bring their own people to propagate a wahabbis style Islam among the states’ Muslims. This was the tactic that PAS adopted in Kelantan and Terengganu.

Some here had speculated that AAB is playing the racial card. I think that is certainly possible. Before the 12GE, DAP and its partners had been using the same tactics by seizing on racially and religiously sensitive issues to attack BN, so my guess is that BN feels it is payback time. If that is the case, then I suggest PR brace itself for a very bumpy and rough ride for the next few years.

241. #241 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 6:51 pm

“…perhaps he has lost the plot. ”

Not if he is the plot.

242. #242 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 6:56 pm

“Some here had speculated that AAB is playing the racial card. I think that is certainly possible.” Killer

When you say so and so is playing the race card, you are here implying that playing the race card is not the norm. But in Malaysia playing the race card is the norm!

243. #243 by Killer on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 9:25 pm

undergrad2 Says:

Today at 18: 51.03 (2 hours ago)
    “…perhaps he has lost the plot. ”

Not if he is the plot.

—————————————————————-

Well, whether he is the plot or has lost it matters little as he, DAP and PR has lost the battle of the public opinion. Obvious the people here would argue very forcefully that it is not the case. But then the battle is for the hearts and minds of the Muslims and sadly not the die-hard DAP supporters who throng this blog.

As much as I had tried to analyse the objectives of Karpal for his recent bizarre verbal bhangra, the only driver that is obvious is hubris, due to the unprecedented electoral endorsement in 12GE and an over confidence of his own decades-long political experience and legal knowledge.

A complete silence from the PR leaders and half-hearted support from DAP only betrays the fact that the Lion of Jeluntong has scored an own goal.

244. #244 by Killer on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 9:27 pm

undergrad2 Says:

Today at 18: 56.44 (2 hours ago)
    “Some here had speculated that AAB is playing the racial card. I think that is certainly possible.” Killer

When you say so and so is playing the race card, you are here implying that playing the race card is not the norm. But in Malaysia playing the race card is the norm!

==================================================

undergrad2 : I certainly can’t disgree you on this….

245. #245 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 11:33 pm

“Karpal Singh should have sought an audience with the Sultan of Perak to allay the accusations of sedition against him” Anwar said.

But then to seek the audience of the Sultan presumably to apologize – as opposed to clarifying and explaining – if indeed he had uttered those seditious remarks, would that not weaken his case? One does not seek the audience of the Sultan just to explain.

A catch-22 situation here, don’t you think?

“In this country, the constitutional monarchy is an institution to be respected and we have to mind the Rulers’ position and sovereignty,” Anwar added.

Would seeking what appears to be a royal pardon stop the AG from later prosecuting him?

246. #246 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 11:37 pm

“…the Lion of Jeluntong has scored his own goal.” Killer

Knowing the Lion and how he likes to roar, I doubt if he meant to kick the ball passed his own goal keeper. He expected his goal keeper to catch the ball!

247. #247 by Jong on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 9:33 am

“One does not seek the audience of the Sultan just to explain.” – undergrad2

Exactly! That’s why I said earlier, the right person to come in to help smoothen things to clear whatever misunderstanding there is, is the Prime Minister but unfortunately he politicised it, turned “instigator” rather than “mediator”! That’s awfully vindictive of PM Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. We have enough of him and time he steps down, resign!

248. #248 by Jong on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 9:52 am

How can anyone even suggest “Royal pardon” unless Karpal has already been found and smacked ‘guilty’ even before he is charged?

I still believe citizen Karpal Singh deserves a right to be heard his understanding of the law, as he sees it. Let him argue it out; perhaps you and I, and the many young lawyers will learn from him and/or his mistake?

249. #249 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 10:32 am

“I still believe citizen Karpal Singh deserves a right to be heard his understanding of the law, as he sees it. Let him argue it out..” JONG

They are determined to give him the opportunity. It will not be in the court of public opinion though.

He will have to do that in court and in front of a judge who is likely to be prosecution oriented as all trial judges are. It will then go on appeal and is likely to be reversed by court of appeal judges who are more neutral. Hopefully it will not go to the federal court likely to be headed then by the country’s number one skirt chaser aka sugar daddy.

Since he cannot hope to be sugar daddy to Karpal, my prediction is that Karpal may well end up enjoying His Majesty’s hospitality for two years!

250. #250 by citizen86 on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 2:56 pm

We really need bodohwi if Pakatan wants to win ge13 as his stupidity is now magnified a 1000x more as he keeps on making mistakes after mistakes and tarnishing bn’s image day by day with his limited thinking capacity.Im sure a 12 year old kid can judge and handle issues better then bodowi

251. #251 by Jong on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 3:26 pm

I hope that “skirt chaser” reads this article. :D

252. #252 by KS R on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 1:17 am

When is the DAP,PKR and PAS taking over the Goverment. Sometime majority sick and fed up of this fellows. After taking over they should vice versa. All PKR should stand behind Tiger Karpal and support him.

253. #253 by andylim on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 8:21 pm

Pm and his so called honest minister make news everyday..they insult disable,insult royal,insult begger minister,used media to incited racial tension.if pr won federal ,this kind of unfair,bullied and cruel minister will dissapear.

254. #254 by shamshul anuar on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 12:18 am

Dear Readers,

I am amused and at the same time sad that the supposedly intelligent discussions have beed reduced to name calling. Cant we do better than that. No need to insult. Just criticize.

With regards to comment by Karpal on the jurisdiction of Sultan of Perak, I personnally believe that it is rather coarse. Karpal as we all know has a penchant of mocking politicians from the other divide in the august Parliament.

There is a certain decorum that expected to be maintained in the presence of a Sultan. Here lies the blunder by Karpal Singh. He, from the views of vast section of Malays , insulted the Sultan of Perak by implying that the Ruler made a mistake that no former Lord President should ever make.

Different people took it differently. Malays who are fond of monarch system are upset. There is nothing racial about it. And it is wrong to imply that UMNO intentionally whip the sentiment. The sentiment is real. From what I notice, non Malays do not seem to understand the fuss about Karpal said.

They do not understand why such a statement can be construed as seditious. Malays interpret the issue from a different angle. Malays hold royalty with high regards. They are as what Dr Mahathir said in Malay Dillema as the “last vestige of Old Malaya”.

That does not mean that that royalty cant be criticized. Even Prophet Muhammad was criticized no less by Allah and clearly written in Kuran.

My point is that Karpal is seen as insulting the Sultan and the revered institution by Malays. This incident also put PKR and PAS into a delicate situation. Call it immature or childish, but Malay community finds that thir silence as disturbing. Hence, come the remark I overheard ” Macam ni ke jadi Kerajaan. Belum apa-apa lagi dah biarkan Karpal hina Raja-raja”.

As for appointment of Menteri Besar of Trengganu, initially UMNO insisted on Idris as the candidate for the post. And I believe PM is right in this matter. But UMNO was in a difficult position. its insistence on Idris Jusoh was construed as an afront to the Sultan of Trengganu. No Malay politician would want to be seen as rude to the Sultan. That explain why UMNo relented and agreed to the Sultan’s choice.