Grand Saga – the bully at Bandar Makhota Cheras

by Edward Kok

Yesterday’s ruckus at Bandar Mahkota Cheras is another sad example of the Federal Government’s oppression against its own people whom the Federal Government has pledged to serve and protect.

The FRU, fully armed and protected against hapless residents who merely want to have an access road to their residence.

Why is Grand Saga, the toll concessionaire so eager to re-enact the barricade to block the access to Mahkota Cheras? A few more jam-free days for these traffic weary folks pending the decision of the survey report by the Survey Department would not have hurt Grand Saga one bit. Do they not have a social responsibility to Malaysians, especially after they have their pockets full, contributed by fellow Malaysians?

A very pertinent question arises. How are they, a mere private corporation able to get FRU’s assistance and supervision for their re-enactment of the barricade?

Firstly, for FRU to intervene, Grand Saga must be exercising a legal right. They are not. The survey department has not determined who has the right of way in respect of the access road. Neither is there an order from the High Court authorizing them to do so. The FRU’s intervention amounts to nothing more than assistance and abetting an illegal act! In short, the Federal Government is assisting and abetting an illegal act!

Such deployment of the FRU is clearly an abuse of power on the part of the Federal Government. Who in the Federal Government issued such instructions to the FRU? And why?

Many questios linger.

To Grand Saga and the Federal Government, your bullying ways will not go unpunished. One day, we, the ordinary rakyat will have our day. That day will surely come.

1. #1 by mollyong on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 8:55 pm

dear YB,
    i fail to understand why we should face this situation. should get hold of the previous minister of transport n work. malaysia is a country if we compare with other countries, are much better country to live in, why must creat an issue when the government HAS THE RIGHT TO STOP Grand Saga, why pass the bug areound and make us suffer???. When big Elephant fight the rat will suffer….

2. #2 by catharsis on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 8:56 pm

HOW SAD………………TO SEE HOW THESE YBs PROTECTING THEIR VESTED INTEREST WITH THE USE OF LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES AT THEIR PLEASURE………………………..BARISAN NATIONAL HAS TO GO………..NO IFs NOT BUTs IN THE NEXT ELECTION

3. #3 by homer simpson on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:03 pm

These police and FRU are license samseng, how can they put laws in to their own hand…. THIS IS TOO MUCH….!!!!!!!!!!!!! ENough of crap from the Federal government, they have let us down too many a times….

4. #4 by justice_fighter on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:04 pm

See the video here:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtSRluxGBIk

DAP member of Parliament for Segambut, Lim Lip Eng, has been warded at 3pm today following his scuffle with police officers in Bandar Mahkota Cheras (BMC) near Kajang last night (see pictures here: http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/82566).

And yet the sleepy Pak Lah said he did not even know this incident!!
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/82617

Do you think Pak Lah cares about your welfare??! Think again!!

BN is once again digging its own grave!! All citizens must come forward next GE13 to vote BN out!!! Let them be history!!

5. #5 by TC33 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:09 pm

The Federal Government bullying style and the police’s unprofessionalism are hardly surprising. BN paid the price on March 8 exactly for these.

The surprise is that our new Selangor MB, Khalid Ibrahim, declined BMC residents invitation to visit the scene, citing busy schedule.
    He says that the state government needs a few months time to “study” the problem. He adds that the interest of Grand Saga also needs to be taken into consideration.

6. #6 by catharsis on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:15 pm

MR PM YOU ARE A GOOD MUSLIM – A STAUNCHED PERSON OF GOD HOW CAN YOU SEE SUCH TRANSGRESSIONS GET AWAY UNPUNISHED……………….AND KEEP SILENT AS THE HEAD OF THE STATE YOU SHOULD BE ASHAME OF YOURSELF.

S IV:87

God! There is no God.
    But He: of surety
    He will gather you together
    Against the Day of Judgment
    About which there is no doubt
    And whose word can be
    Truer than God’s

Psalm 140;1-2

Recue us, O Lord, from evil men;
    protect us from men of violence,
    who devise evil plans to their hearts
    and stir up war every day.
    They make their tongues a ssharo as a serpent’s
    the poison of vipers is on their lips

7. #7 by anak sungeisiput on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:15 pm

The FRU’s are paid goons of a ruthless government similiar to some 4th world counries/states like Mynmar , Bihar (India), Zimbabwe. One other thing common among these countries are the pervasive corruption at the topmost level.

The Rakyats are the loosers in such rotten states.

8. #8 by winsoontan on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:18 pm

I wonder why Selangor and Federal government did not do any correct action to solve the problem? If you let the Cheras people to face problem themselve , i would like to say i am really very sad with both of the governments!

9. #9 by yhsiew on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:18 pm

Grand Saga said the road has to be blocked to prevent accidents.

I think the Selangor government can help Grand Saga by re-aligning the traffic lights to ensure traffic safety leaving no excuse for Grand Saga to block the road!

10. #10 by anak sungeisiput on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:20 pm

and please…do not ask God to intervene in the follies created by greedy evil men in a God forsaken country ruled by a class of religious fanatics pretending to be men of God. Religion has no role in political affairs of a nation. If you the rakyat wants justice and fairness the Rakyat has to fight for it on way or another, for evil men have no conscience.

11. #11 by albert308 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:28 pm

Rampant abuse of power! Privatisation Policy is a tool to enrich certain croinies from ruling elite. Government is duty bound to provide necessary infrastructure to meet public needs. Klang valley residents entitled to these needs, BN government denied people rights. Road access within Klang Valley should be free for all, not world record numbers of toll plaza.
    Grand Saga case is the results of BN government too long in power, 51 years without serius challenge. This is a form of colonialisation, our mind fully controlled. But not after March 8 political tsunami, we have new hope. Cheras residents must rise up to this challenge and win this battle!

12. #12 by cmf50 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:32 pm

Dear YAB
    I strongly support to LIM LIP ENG.HE cares about benefit of rakyat.Also,the police like unscrupulous people,and also doing sonething that against law.Police should not do such nonsense action,it will only make malaysia to be “POlice country”.I strongly recommend DAP to lodge report bukit aman and debate in parlimen.Good luck to LIM LIP ENG AND HOPE THAT CASE WILL be clear soon.

13. #13 by ShiokGuy on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:38 pm

Why don’t ask all citizen of Malaysia to pay toll at his own house gate before living? Imagine we must use our touch and go card to pay and open our own gate.

Shiok GUy

14. #14 by TC33 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:39 pm

Majlis Perbandaran Kajang is all “diam”
    The federal minister concerned is keeping mum.
    The IGP doesn’t bother.
    The MB is not heeding the cries of rakyat.

All the same.

15. #15 by HJ Angus on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:41 pm

This type of toll concession that traps an existing township’s population is a “piratisation” and is really unfair for the residents.

Some grand planner really thought of the grand scheme to get Malaysians to pay :

A poor public transport system plus the national car projects are compounded by numerous tolls in metropolitan areas. A real gravy train for the few cronies!

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/05/we-cant-wait-so-l-o-n-g-for-slow.html

16. #16 by ShiokGuy on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:45 pm

Sometimes this highway operator build the so call highway in existing federal of state road, while during the construction of the so call highway the resident in around the area suffer dusty, noisy and traffic jammed. Once the so call highway is done, the resident are “Caged” and make to pay to use the existing road which has become part of the so call highway.

PR government! In future any highway company want to build any highway, surely allow them to do so which the following condition: –

1. Build on top of current road
    2. Upgrade and maintain the current road
    3. NO block for the user on the current road.
    4. in return they can charge RM10/KM or whatsoever rate they see fit. As long as the current road is better off before the highway is build. and also the current road are maintain and upgrade.

Since we suffer so much dust, noise and jammed while they construct the highway and this is a simple pay back time.

SO build as much as they like to and charge whatever rate they want to. For those willing to pay then they can use the so call highway.

Shiok Guy

17. #17 by ipohMali on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:52 pm

Something really puzzle me… isn’t the housing development can only be approved with proper public road access?

Anyway… I am sure the TIDAL WAVE is building up…

18. #18 by TC33 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:53 pm

Khir Toyo was exactly a caring MB (not a surprise), neither is Khalid Ibrahim (totally unexpected by us, the BMC residents).

Khalid’s refusal to visit the BMC “crime scene” really hurt residents feeling. WTF!!!

DSAI, pls take note!!!

19. #19 by bystander on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:01 pm

Grand saga at 1 time was owned by 1 royalty. Who are these Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents? Therefore these people can ride roughshod over you ikan bilis. Connection is mightier than rights ma.

20. #20 by ipohMali on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:08 pm

after watching the video clip, i feel sad for the resident of BMC.
    I dare not imagine how will days to come… living in this country…

21. #21 by TC33 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:08 pm

Khir Toyo was toppled for demolishing an Hindu temple.
    Khalid Ibrahim will be too for refusing to stand up against Grand Saga!!!

22. #22 by ipohMali on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:10 pm

TC33, how will you vote now? BN again?

23. #23 by peterchiang on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:10 pm

Rest assure, Park-lah has all things covered by not meddling or “campur tangan”.

Remember, his priority is to propel the nation ahead into first world country. Issues of this kind by right should be kept out of the front page asap.

FRU is presense to keep peace and order, surely.

Police acted wisely, by wasting no time, to stop some rakyat from untowards silly acts and help cool things down.

Grand Saga has to do something to take care of the safety of some road users. As a result of good corporate governance, they have to deploy effective solutions, fast, because people pay them toll in a rapid fashion, demanding safety use of highway.

This episode showed that there are law-abiding toll collectors but lack of law-abiding toll-paying rakyat… Well, these people will know one fine day that, by not parting with this little sum and token of appreciation known as toll, a lot more resources will be wasted right in front of their very own eyes. Who suffer?

Zzzzz.

24. #24 by peanut king on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:15 pm

This bunch of toll operators are next to ah long style.
    They only care for money collected per day.what’s wrong with
    letting the ppl from Makota to have some toll free road.This will help ease the traffic congestion in the morning n evening.

The new state govt should give the saga highway operators some resistance and check if they have breach any rules or if they hv infringe into the state land without approval.Find ways to suspend their operation.

The rakyat of selangor are suffering alot becos of the massive toll highway that traps all traffic in selangor.

Some bigshots are benefitting from all these toll operator esp the touch n go owners.

25. #25 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:18 pm

why is the gomen protecting these highwayman?

26. #26 by peterchiang on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:19 pm

What makes one think that Mentri Besar is the root cause?
    What makes one think that by not showing up at scene will suggest the person is not in the process of solving the issue?

27. #27 by kentmoo on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:20 pm

This is really unbelievable! BMC’s residents reserved the right to the free access road. Is this too much to ask for? BMC’s residents only requesting for a free access road to their homes! Just imagine that every time we were to pay additional 60 cents to toll, then drive another additional 6km back to home….Come on…We paid road tax, cukai pintu, cukai tanah…everything also cukai-cukai..Now going home also needs to pay toll charges? Give us a break! I thought the Government is trying to help the Rakyat, not burden them with another toll chargers and longer journey to their home!
    No wonder the BMC’ residents got so angry and united for this purpose.
    I really respect YB Lim Lip Eng. Does he live in BMC? No? Why does he care for? And got beaten for it? Only one answer for it. He has a righteous heart. A fighter for the Rakyat.
    Before any unwanted incidents happen again, can we all (Federal Government, Selangor Government, Grand Saga and BMC’s residents) just sit down with a calm heart, talk this out. Remember! All decisions must be made in the minds of the Rakyat!

28. #28 by gofortruth on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:51 pm

When even a member of Parliament also get punched & kicked in the head by the police, it speaks so much about the mentality of the police force.
    It painted a clear picture that we do not have a Malaysian police force, we only have BN’s police doing their master’s calling but paid by Malaysian rakyat.
    This police mentality must change. Can our Agong do something about it since the police force is officially called Royal police? This is fast becoming an international laughing stock.Sigh!

29. #29 by ktteokt on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:51 pm

This is daylight robbery! It is the same as the infamous Cheras toll those days when they blocked off the private road through the Christian cemetary just to make sure everyone paid the toll!!

30. #30 by wombatahem on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:54 pm

What did the ordinary people do to deserve such treatment? See it for yourself. They did not hurt or attack anyone.

31. #31 by kingkenny on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:56 pm

Dear anak sungeisiput,

I share in your feelings of despair for the ordinary folks in Bandar Mahkota Cheras.

But really, as they are evil men, it is G-d we should call on to fight them, not now, but when the time is right. So in the mean time we can pray and hope that there is really A Mighty All-Knowing Being watching all their travesties and betrayals to fellow humans.

In this moment of tsunamis, global warming, viruses, corruption, murders, daylight robberies, rape, incest, and betrayal of trust of the people,

OUR TIME IS NEAR BUT JUST NOT YET! HAVE TRUST AND FAITH IN G-D.

YB Kit,

their “lubang kubur” is getting deeper and deeper when they continue to oppress the Citizens in this kind of way.

Lead us in the next government! You and the opposition had already got an automatic mandate from the people!

THWBN!!!

32. #32 by dap-for-pj on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:03 pm

The management of grand saga are not business men, rather pawns of certain parties who wants to show their ketuanan over the people’s wishes. To sacrifice the little toll that is to be collected and not losing the support of their very customer should have been the way of thinking of any logical businessmen. These people at grand saga has allowed themselves to be the pawn of others ……very sad. They are getting ready for an overall boycott of their highway. How short sighted!

33. #34 by khch01 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:10 pm

What is the objective of the Toll? Isn’t it to save resources, time and/or money? Isn’t the Government is obligated to provide an alternative route?

The “Acess Road” is the selling point for the Developer who is obligated to build it for the purchasers. The right of the Rakyat to use it. Isn’t Bandar Mahkota Cheras planned or approved by Authorities much earlier than Toll project?

If the “Access Road” could not be used by the Purchasers,will it render the Dev not fulfilling the sales as advertised? Can Purchasers claim damages from Dev and Dev claimed it from the Toll Operator?

34. #35 by wombatahem on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:11 pm

Conclusion: Grand Saga is the government of the day.
    They are able to get police and FRU help. They have backing from whom, I wonder?
    The present Federal Government is doing nothing at all. With all honesty I think that they can at least change for the better after the 12th GE but alas …
    In Parliament we still have that Bung Mokhtar who made unnecessary, technical comment of how that MP should face the Speaker when speaking instead of concentrating on more important matter …
    And then we have Ibrahim the MP who asked Mr. Karpal to stand up to speak and his comment has drawn flaks from members of disabled person so much so that he had to actually storm out of the Parliament when confronted by the disabled people …
    I am a Malaysian and I love Malaysia. It pains me greatly to see this nation to be drawn into such chaos.

35. #36 by A true Malaysian on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:23 pm

How I wish Pakatan Rakyat could take over Federal Government now. Actions taken by Grand Saga and police were one of those ‘inhuman acts’ that people with rightful mind would not have taken.

Police is supposedly be the body guard to the public, but in this case, what has the police become….?

36. #37 by xplora on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:27 pm

It looks to be difficult if Selangor government have the rights to solve this issue because it is Federal Government problem as Cheras belongs to Federal Territory. Just my opinion.

37. #38 by dap-for-pj on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:29 pm

Can the loud mouth Ong TK say something since he is the transport minister? Time to sow some good will with the people!

38. #39 by xplora on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:37 pm

To justice_fighter:

I think it will be too late, if wait until GE13, because the Father in-law of KJ is sleeping again in AUS or enjoying ice skating in Switzerland. Probably Malaysia will be more outdated far away as Indonesia.

39. #40 by smeagroo on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:39 pm

so when will DSAI get those MPs to corssover? We need to teach these bastards a lesson la!

40. #41 by badak on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:54 pm

JUST MADE THE GOVERMENT SHOW THE TOLL CONTRACT.. WHY MUST THIS BE SULIT.THE OFFICIAL SECRET ACT MUST GO.I THINK I KNOW WHY AHH.ONE OF THE TERM IN THE CONTRACT IS EVERY YEAR MUST GIVE BONUS TO BARISAN NOTIONAL..YEAH THATS WHY IT IS STAMP SULIT.I THINK MALAYSIA IS THE ONLY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD THAT TELL THIS TOLL BUSINESS MEN..TAK APA KULAU YOU RUGI KITA BAYAR.KALAU UNTONG TAK CUKUP PUN NO PROBLEM.. KITA TOP UP UNTUK YOU.

41. #42 by ppsbmy on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:27 am

Pls read here, info about Grand Saga. http://insidesglong.blogspot.com/

42. #43 by pky103 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:52 am

Dear YB,

Thank you SO much for making a post on the BMC fiasco! I am so grateful to you.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=AtSRluxGBIk

43. #44 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:53 am

catharsis Says:
    ….BARISAN NATIONAL HAS TO GO………..NO IFs NOT BUTs IN THE NEXT ELECTION

NO, Catharsis, BN has to go NOW, yes NOW, not next election. We can’t wait that long.

44. #45 by ipohMali on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:02 am

yes have to got ASAP…
    at the next GE, i worry Malaysia is doom..

by the way, any statistic of emigrants rose?

45. #46 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:05 am

I think the issue here is not about whether it is state land, grand saga’s land or federal land or whatever the survey ultimately says. It just defies logic people are made to travel extra miles and pay the unnecessary tolls simply because there is a toll road there. It is so funny we have such a complicated system of governance in this country. Why are we giving concessions to highway builders and then forcing all Malaysians to use them when there are free alternatives available?

Rightly there should be NO toll within the metropolitan area. This is not an unreasonable request. It is the responsibility of the government to build roads as city expands. Collecting tolls within the city diverts traffic unnecessarily and causes unwanted congestions. Building roads are expensive, but the government also collected lots of revenue as city expands and as economic activities generated from that expansion.

Most toll roads just are “blood sucker deals” between the Federal government and the well connected rent seekers. It is not like the government can’t afford to build those roads. Most privatization deals especially highway and toll road concessions are part of the corruption schemes. Working hand in glove, the federal government just wants the rakyat to pay their cronies in addition to taxes we paid. If the government can’t afford to build roads as city expands, then that government does not deserve to be there. NO TOLL WITHIN THE KLANG VALLEY METROPOLITAN AREA AS THE MATTER OF POLICY, PLEASE.

46. #47 by kcb on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:24 am

The whole episode is ugly and disgusting!
    Can’t imagine some people could be so greedy and stoop so low!

47. #48 by ppsbmy on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:28 am

Further, Lim Lip Eng was assaulted. Lawless law enforcers bashed up a lawmaker?!!!

48. #49 by pwcheng on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:46 am

After watching YouTube, I really think enough is enough. We have a merciless government, all out to milk the poor rakyat and they use the police who is also paid by the rakyat to make life more miserable for the rakyat. What has this country become? They are putting barriers all over to ensure all motorist will have to pay toll to fill somebody’s pockets. You can’t even make a U turn if you are on the wrong track. This is the exactly the face of a rotten government unmasked.

This reminds me history of the fall of the Roman Empire. It was exactly what the Romans did at that time by collecting taxes at every corner of the road and UMNO is the modern day Romans of Malaysia. Many of us are unable to wait to see the demise of UMNO.

49. #50 by LALILOo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 7:30 am

It is not surprising that the order to put up the barricade came from the HOME MINISTRY (as according to MP of Cheras) to the police to asssist Grand Saga workers in errecting of the barricade wall.

Watch the residents, FRU and police in action.

50. #51 by mendela on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:40 am

Grand Saga is just a front company acting as a crony for UMO to extort money from the poor rakyats.

51. #52 by lazy_cat on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:49 am

YB,

Why can’t this issue be brought up in Parliament? A private company can instruct the police and FRU to do things without a court order or legal papers is a big joke to the world.

52. #53 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:53 am

Taking a populist stand on the issue does nothing to help but only focuses attention to the obvious.

53. #54 by UzMiNoOnist on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:57 am

If FRU and Police Intervention has no legal standing then I could smell RAT.
    Who is the owner of Grand Saga?

54. #55 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:05 am

On TV they reported that Grand Saga said they had a court order to remove the barrier. Now it appears there is not. This is whole thing is making the country a laughing stock. Our leaders in govt, business are a joke.

Grand Saga should be reminded its because of unchecked businessmen and political leaders like what we have that turn countries like China to communism.

Those people at Bandar Mahkota Cheras are being niced to just remove the barriers. The CEO and shareholders of the company are lucky they don’t show up at their homes and offices…

55. #56 by UzMiNoOnist on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:06 am

When enforcement officers bashed up a criminal in US sometime ago, it created such a big ho ha but not in Malaysia. It seems to me that irrespective who you are, you can expect such bashing in Malaysia. And not one words from our PM and DPM.

Lets put an end to this BN Government, why wait for the next GE, change the government now, we need 30+ BN MP to cross over now.

After overturning the BN Government, then send these police officers back to school and provide them with civic class.

56. #57 by negarawan on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:07 am

YB Lim,

Sorry to digress, but PR need to assist to terminate the so-called Khidmat Negara program. No parents in their right mind will allow their precious children to risk their lives under shadowy and totally irresponsible circumstances. The brainchild of Najib only serves to enrichen UMNO contractors and UMNO cronies. The rate of deaths and life-threatening situations are totally unacceptable. The objectives spelled out by Najib for KN are totally ridiculous! Inter-racial harmony cannot be achieved through KN. It can only be achieved by fair and sincere government policies on the economy, education, and political rights. There is no easy short-cut. Let’s not be fooled by UMNO. May the souls of the many innocent lives who were lost in the meaningless KN program haunt Najib and all that all responsible. I will rather take legal action against the government rather than allow my children to risk their lives in the hands of incompetent and cruel KN personnel for meaningless reasons. We as parents should fight against this meanigless program and put a stop to it before more innocent lives are loss to the evil and selfish intentions of UMNO and BN.

57. #58 by Cinapek on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:13 am

” How are they, a mere private corporation able to get FRU’s assistance and supervision for their re-enactment of the barricade? ”

Th writer asked a very pertinent question. In the first place who gave Grand Saga the authority to block a public road?

When I worked in Thailand I heard about the police working as hired guns. I used to tell myself that I am glad Malaysia does not have this problem. Now it seems that we are not only hiring out the rogue cops, we have insitutionalized the practice of hiring out of the police to protect privileged private enterprises. I know that the PDRM is underpaid but does this bouncer service by the FRU pay well? And does the money go to the mata mata who did the strong arm work or do they just get the satisfaction of beating up old ladies and unarmed citizens while their bosses put away the goodies? And I strongly object to the FRU using my taxpayers’ money for the water cannons and fuel for their trucks to disperse the crowd for some private interest. I remember the head of the Commercial Crime Div was charged for corruption when he used Govt planes to survey his private property. Likewise can we also charge the police officer who issued this order for the FRU to take action for corruption when the FRU is used to help a private enterprise?

AG? You listening?

58. #59 by muscaa on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:14 am

BN Govt always support tolls concessionaires since long ago.

Remember the Cheras toll demonstration incidence in 1990?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_dcV9ZjmTc

59. #60 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:17 am

We are no diff compare with Myanmar or N. Korea on citizen human right. this is a dictatorial govt.
    Now, here, if one hv tons of money, one can get polis / fru aids, irrespective whether one is right / wrong, legal / illegal

60. #61 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:21 am

Thought polis / fru, can only act, with order from gomen, or court order, how come, this GRAND SAKAI, can get their help???

61. #62 by gofortruth on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:32 am

Limkamput has a very good point that “NO TOLL WITHIN THE KLANG VALLEY METROPOLITAN AREA AS THE MATTER OF POLICY”.
    Over here in Paris, there is no road toll within a radius of 60km from Paris city centre.

62. #63 by TC33 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:33 am

BMC is located in Kajang.
    Kajang is in Selangor.
    Selangor is ruled by PR.
    And all our PR MPs could do was to confront the Police & BN-backed hiway company and got tear-gassed and assaulted???
    This is sheer incompetence!!!
    Hey come on YBs, you are rulling Selangor now, not them!!!

Why can’t they direct Majlis Perbandaran Kajang to do something?
    Why is the MB (Khalid Ibrahim) MIA (missing in action),
    while some of his state executive councilors acted alone and very opposition-like, and got themselves openly humiliated (in front of hundreds of BMC residents) by the Police in the state they rule??? (this never happened in PAS-led Kelantan, not even in the early days of their rule, for example)

And why PR MPs, especially those from Selangor, did not raise the issue in Parliment?

We could understand that PR was only voted in to rule Selangor just recently, but its directionless tactics are just way below par in the eyes of BMC residents. We feel as powerless and helpless as before.

YB, what Tsunami???

63. #64 by TC33 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:43 am

Has someone just been “neutralized” by the all powerful hiway company, and in return, missing in action???

64. #65 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:43 am

State govt had very limited power, only by changing fed govt, can we really see any different!
    YES, all PR MPs should voice this out loudly in Parliament, & see how those Be End Ministers will answer.
    Sela. state govt, surely U can do something to this GRAND SAKAI, this company surely needs a lot of approvals, licenses, permits, etc from U !!

65. #66 by yhsiew on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:48 am

This is another instance where BN put their crony’s interest before that of the people!

DSAI must act fast to effect a change in Federal Government before more people fall victims to oppression and tyranny. So long as money is not involved, the issue, whether it is ethical to entice BN MPs to crossover to PR, does not arise. In fact, as opposition party, PR is under moral obligation to deliver the people from an oppressive, repressive and authoritarian regime. If people need to be set free, conscience and moral obligation overrule ethics consideration pertaining to party-defection.

DSAI please don’t wait. If anger of dissatisfied BN MPs cools down or party-defection is outlawed by BN, then PR will lose a golden opportunity to take over Federal Government.

Perhaps LGE should only consider outlawing party-defection AFTER PR take over Federal Government as it is unlikely that PR MPs would want to cross over to a moribund party like BN. Did BN ever talk about outlawing party-defection when they were strong? So don’t fall into BN’s trap.

66. #67 by ktteokt on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:50 am

Show them what real people’s power is! Remember the famous Cheras toll in 1990? The people won didn’t they? These cronies of top government people have lost their heads and will be losing their “heads” physically soon. And just wait till PR takes over the government. By then, let’s see what these top people in the government, police and other departments flee!!!!!

67. #68 by gofortruth on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:51 am

68. #69 by badcliq on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:54 am

When i saw the video, felt really bad for the people! Wish i was there too! Not that i can do much, but at least presence support!

State Government should act tougher. Not exactly how things work there but i believe Federal Govt shouldn’t intefere with State Govt stuffs or territories? State Govt should control their own “area” and not let outsiders kacau kacau!

Police is under Federal Govt, i think. I think it’s about time to reform this as well. Other develop countries have State Police as well as Federal Police. Maybe some MPs can look into this matter? Of course not just for the sake of State vs Federal, but rather to ensure efficiency and cut down on those corruptions among police!

69. #70 by TC33 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:57 am

MB Khalid Ibrahim SHAMELESSLY starts to talk about “… protecting the interest of all parties, including the interest of hiway company…”

Beware!!!
    He sounds like their old friend Sammy Vellu !!!!!!!

70. #71 by blablowbla on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:15 am

find out the directors of Grand Saga,u wont be surprised that most of them must be the BN’s relatives,cronies,proxies,and friends!Rily a hopeless Federal Gomen,taking the Rakyat’s interests for a ride!

71. #72 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:33 am

The Klang Valley can go into the GUINESS WBOR as the most heavily tolled area in the whole world.

I have driven in a few cities like Sydney, London, New York and Los Angeles and nowhere did I encounter such tolls like we have in Malaysia.

Perhaps Malaysians living abroad can share their toll experience overseas.

72. #73 by tunglang on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:36 am

What it evidently looks like is this: the Polis is only for the prerogative use of BN & cronies for the persecution and bullying of the Rakyat! (Even with rising crimes by the day.) So senang to buat kerja ni di Bandar Mahkota Cheras! This goes to show what kind of heart BN has all this while even after the GE Tsunami. Pak Lah, you think we Rakyat will ever believe in you with big ears? Rakyat at Bandar Mahkota Cheras are suffering, why not give Rakyat some relief in the FREE use of road access, is this too much (rugi for Grand Saga) for the rightful asking?

73. #74 by pohsoon on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:49 am

Dear Mr Lim,

Can DAP please find out who is the big “BOSS” behind Grand Saga, which able to get the FRU to work for them? Its such a pain to see the Bandar Mahkota’s resident to endure such a pain.

Abdullah was reported in news as saying that he don’t know the event of Bandar Mahkota. With this, It seems that Abdullah is really up to his named of being a sleeping PM.

I hope that Pakatan Rakyat will pursue this matter in parliment. If there is indeed misused of power in getting FRU to take part and even using the Water Canon and Tear Gas against “RAKYAT” once again, the people behind who give such order must be pursued.

As a side note, i would like to urge police to be more liberal and lenient to RAKYAT when they are forced to be involved in such an event. Eventhough they might have no choice as being ordered to face off with RAKYAT.

Thanks.

74. #75 by badak on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:56 am

When toll road was being built in the early 80s Mr Samy said ” Rakyat will have a choise to pay toll or use other non toll roads.no one will be forced to use toll roads.” ..WHAT THE *@#$y IS HAPEPPENING NOW.

75. #76 by taiking on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:05 am

The goberment is a body of servants with the PM acting as the head servant and Ministers are sub-heads.

Who do they serve?

Us, the public, of course. That is why they are called public servants.

Goberment servants is actually a wrong term people normally used to describe them.

We, the public, are their masters.

Why are our servants not obeying their masters?

What do we do with disobedient servants?

76. #77 by ilovedap on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:09 am

# limkamput Says:
    Today at 00: 53.04 (10 hours ago)

catharsis Says:
    ….BARISAN NATIONAL HAS TO GO………..NO IFs NOT BUTs IN THE NEXT ELECTION

NO, Catharsis, BN has to go NOW, yes NOW, not next election. We can’t wait that long.”

Exactly. Cross now! Rakyat is suffering.

77. #78 by Manosh on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:28 am

Just look at my country…..what is happening..? Poor people of this nation been treated as refugees….MP was hit…Let me thank and congratulate our brave MP Mr.Lim Lip Eng.God will save you and will protect you brother.

To the police and FRU…….LET ME TELL YOU SOMETHING…….

“HOI….HOW YOU GET YOUR PAYS?THOSE ARE PEOPLE’S MONEY….PEOPLE’S TAX MONEY…… BUT what are you doing? Treat people like dogs…?Well matter of facts,even dogs are better. Because if you throw them a piece of biscut they remeber you until the end of the day…

78. #79 by lew1328 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:33 am

I personally went there many times and understand the frustration from the residents over the long dragging and blood sucking method.

The solution here is simple, whether permanently open up the access or close the entire neighbor’s road which allows accessing to the HW in order to satisfy their need without differential it through racial feeling.

This is another “Rakyat joker” who runs the show cos of $$$$.

79. #80 by AntiSUPP on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:35 am

Bloody hell, PL sent FRU to gas & douse rakyat over toll issue and a rakyat lies bleeding with stabs a day after. Where are your priorities???

AAB & doggies, I hope someone get stabbed in your family to understand the rakyat’s pain!!!

“NST Online

KUALA LUMPUR: A woman was stabbed at least four times in the back and left for dead by robbers in a senseless attack yesterday morning.

Lee Hui Fun was found unconscious in Jalan Maktab, near the police college in Cheras, by policemen on patrol duty.

It is believed that the 33-year-old victim, a clerk from Taman Kencana, Cheras was attacked while she was walking to work.

The victim’s handbag, containing her identification documents, was taken in the robbery.

Police have still not been able to interview Lee, who is said to be still in a state of shock.

She was warded at the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Hospital where her condition was reported to be stable.

Lee was found unconscious about 9.40am. “

80. #81 by Luther on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:48 am

sorry to All and esp PR supporter for what is happening now at BMC, what happen to MB Selangor? he can do nothing to stop such a saddening thing to occur at a PR state? then what’s the meaning of Rakyat is the Boss?We pay tax to have those samseng to shoot water cannon on our face at our own land? and get them to have higher salary still? unlaughtable funniest happening in Malaysia!
    PR and DSAI must catch those katak fast and be more sensible towards Rakyat cries and sadness.
    PDRM only for criminal not for layman Rakyat.Not for ADUN,MP . I hope no sedition.

81. #82 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:13 pm

I do not think that KS can be tried for sedition but of course the AG may be “forced” to act given the eggings-on.

Surely we do not need a dozen reports for the AG to decide on the merits of this case. I thought they should be pretty busy double-checking the evidence on the major corruption scandals that have yet to be brought to trial.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/05/how-many-police-reports-will-be-needed.html

82. #83 by Luther on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 12:30 pm

Dear HJ Angus,I wanted to believe on what you suggest but I have no trust at all.PM need time to read the Lingam report but have no time to wait KS case? which is more urgently? Yes,we must not against the Sultan but KS admit he has no such means but what happen to those people out there to lodge so many polis report against a MP but not criminals don’t we agreed there are numerous cases of criminal occurances without being care by nobody even if it was reported in the newspaper? Now BN is adopting the PHD act to subpress the freedom of voice and thus we have RPK case so urgent and KS is bad and dangerous.  

83. #84 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:11 pm

Let me repeat, NO TOLL within the Klang Metropolitan area. It is NOT an unreasonable request. The government actually has enough resources to build the roads as city expands. Toll roads within the city are just BLOOD SUCKER DEALS worked out between the Government and the rent seekers. Nationalise the toll roads within the city NOW and work out a transparent compensation scheme. Examine the cost of toll roads; I can assure you the bulk of it is due to cost padding! Those who said this is a populist stand surely have nuts in their head!

84. #85 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:13 pm

Let me repeat, NO TOLL within the Klang Valley Metropolitan area. It is NOT an unreasonable request. The government actually has enough resources to build the roads as city expands. Toll roads within the city are just BLOOD SUCKER DEALS worked out between the Government and the rent seekers. Nationalise ALL the toll roads within the city NOW and work out a transparent compensation scheme. Examine the cost of toll roads; I can assure you the bulk of it is due to cost padding! Those who said this is a populist stand surely have nuts in their head!

85. #86 by bunny on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:31 pm

Dear Rakyat,

While we always blame the toll operator for building toll roads and collect tolls, do we ever know that it is our beloved GOVERNMENT that decide where to build the road and agree with the toll rates schedule. For example, KL-Putrajaya highway’s alignment was determined by the Govt upfront and the toll operator has no other choice but to build accordingly despite it located so near to houses. Why the toll operator always the one being blamed when it is clearly that it’s the Govt’s fault?

Back to Grand Saga case, I noted a few “interesting” facts which we should digest further before concluding who is the culprit – Developer? Grand Saga? State Govt? Federal Govt?

1) Narajaya obtained State Govt approval backed in 1994 but the road was only completed in 2006 (source: Malaysiakini). Can Narajaya assume the approval from State Govt will stays for over 10 years?

2) Did Narajaya apply the necessary approval from Federal Govt for connecting the road to a Highway which is under the care of Federal Govt?

3) If they have obtained the Federal Govt approval back in 1994, Federal Govt would have include this access road into the alignment of Cheras-Kajang Highway but the reality is that the access road did not appeared the alignment masterplan.

4) If they have obtained the Federal Govt approval before they build the road in 2005/06, the Federal Govt would have instruct Grand Saga accept the access road. The reality is that Federal Govt did not instruct Grand Saga to so.

5) Are there any conditions imposed on the approvals from State Govt or Federal Govt for the access road? Did Narajaya fulfill those conditions before building the road? If no, then the connection point of the access road would be illegal and therefore Grand Saga will have all the right to block the access road.

6) Since the Narajaya has already file in a suit with the High Court, why can’t we wait for the Court to assess the case? The action of tearing the barricades prior to the Court hearing is as good as destroying evidences and we are just taking the law on our hand. This is really bad!!

7) The Court procedure could be slow and our MP can always help to expedite the case instead of SUPPORTING the people to break the barricade. To my surprise, one of the MP are lawyer by profession – how could he advised his people to break the law??!! What make him different from the BN MPs? We should respect the spirits of Law.

8) If I am not mistaken Grand Saga was originally belongs to the investment arm of the Selangor State Govt, KDE.

9) Grand Saga is a business entity and they took loans to construct the road. They are not charity entity and they cant just do people such a HUGE favour by hurting their shareholders and debt holders interest.

10) No foreign investors will ever dare to sponsor Malaysian infrastructure projects like toll roads as the people will take the law in their own hand and put up a toll-free access road w/o any proper approvals and compensate the losses of the toll road.

To my opinion, the best win-win solution is that to place a toll at the access road based on the following justifications:

1) Residents will benefit from saving petrol and time having to drive 6km to enter the highway but they still need to pay the toll.

2) Govt will benefit from not having to use tax payer money (everyone in Msia) to compensate Grand Saga in order to benefit a small portion of the people (resident of BMC).

3) Narajaya will benefit from not having to pay the compensate Grand Saga

4) Grand Saga will benefit from not losing the toll revenue but will need to spend some money to build the toll plaza.

The situation is very grey now and no one will ever benefits if the situation drag on. How many time can the resident tearing down the barricades ? How many days of leaves can the resident take attend all these demonstration? How many more residents will be hurt? How much money required by Grand Saga to keep rebuild the barricades?

Now both the residents and Grand Saga are fighting with each other while letting the Govt and Narajaya out from the entire fight. They are sitting at the side clapping their hand!! We should not fight with the wrong guy. Realign our fire & get it right.

86. #87 by lew1328 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:35 pm

I’m now confuses over the authority, who’s the rite to open or close the road in which belong to ‘Rakyat’. Not the bloody goverment who actually supported by “Rakyat”. It looks like they are all the modern pirate who’s steal the wealth from the ‘Rakyat’.

87. #88 by bunny on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:39 pm

Toll roads are federal matters while national roads are state matters. I know it is very confusing.. only found out after the outburst of the BMC case.

88. #89 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:42 pm

This hiway comp. is so concerned (to extent of using many manpower & big sum of money,ignoring legal implication?) about safety of road user, say, if there is any accident in the alternatuve road, can the victim sue this hiway comp?

89. #90 by wesuffer on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 1:43 pm

Althought malaysia is just cheer hari kemerdekaan ke 50th.
    sound very good. very proud. but when i saw the incident happennig with residents of bandar mahkota cheras recently. i feel very sad,the thing shouldn’t happen but its happened (malaysia boleh). very proud of our POLICE FORCE, especialy FRU, because nowadae they duties not only to fights crimes and ensure safety to citizen. but now they got to do as partime PENGANAS SECURITY FOR PRIVATE HIGHWAY COMPANY(malaysia boleh)
    today according to THE STAR news paper, our IGP is warning to resident of bandar mahkota cheras
    , he put a statement ‘ MOP RULE SHOULD NOT BE TOLERATE’.
    He should punish his fellow.! residents is innocent. the road should not be blocked and also not by Private company grand saga and also not asists by police force. To build the access road is one of major Akta pembangunan dari semua majlis when develop the township. And main road is one of requirement to apply C’F for the housing.
    THE PEOPLE WHO BLOCKED OR DESTROY THE MAIN ACCESS ROAD OF TOWNSHIP MEAN THEY ARE AGAINTS THE LAW.
    we should stop BN Slogan ‘Malaysia boleh’
    so many childrens are missing case. most are unsolve.
    so many raping case, most are unsolve.
    so many murder case, most are unsolve.
    WHAT A WASTE MAN POWER TO STAND ALONE FROM MORNING TO NIGHT TO SUPERVISE THE WORKER PUTTING UP THE BARRICADE.

90. #91 by chanjoe on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:19 pm

The mata mata should actually have get people from both sides to sit down and then work out a temporary solution until all leagl avenues are properly sought out on whether Grand Saga can put up the barrier…BUT…here its not being done the wat the mata mata should have done….

Its no secret that at all development sites thru out the country…when developers wanted to get rid of squatters, all they have to do is to go get a court order and then invite (too polite…should be gaji them) to come out in force maybe even FRU to hentam them and make a few arrest so others will be cowed….

There is no difference in this case…mata mata is actually now working for maybe…extra gaji for the haves and bully the have nots…..

What IGP said is bull shit…did he ask for a full report and get to the bottom of the matter and find out a good temporary solution till the issue is settled legally? He dun…and as always…just shoot out his *x#2@ mouth on words which all those affected will spit on.

I took part in the Cheras Toll issue demostration then and the way the mata mata acted…they are actually what we called…licensed hooligans and licensed gangsters….

I heard Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye once said in a political ceramah..(then he was in DAP)….in Malaysia..the authorities including the mata mata acts like a Chinese proverb …”Allow the soldiers/police to burn….but don’t allow citizens to light a lamp” that is very correctly put….so now I wonder what he has to say on the recent continuos Police bashing of MPs, ADUNs and the ordinary citizens when simple acts can avert such uncivilized actions by the mata mata….now they are the mata mata of the BN goons and not the people’s mata mata anymore…

I support that the Royalty should come out and say something to protect the peoples rights and stripped the Royal from the police force..they are not worth the word at all.

What a BIG JOKE…police working for private companies and not to protect the ordinary citizens….are we moving into another Zimbabwe under Mugabe???????

DYMM Sultan Selangor…please help us helpless citizens who just want our basic rights…please help….

91. #92 by wesuffer on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 2:42 pm

goverment must change. rakyat unity to bring new malaysia.
    overwright the sleeping goverment.
    we must chase to same level to singapore, korea , and hongkong !
    New SLOGAN CLEAN AND FREE
    NO MORE apa pun BOLEH !

92. #93 by badak on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 3:40 pm

The wifes of BN leaders has taught their husband on how to cheat the raayak.Just heard that the EX MB of SELANGOR,s wife will be registering another Association And BAKTI will give back the RM 9.9 MILLION to that association.Legal or not.. this BN leaders are not bothered.

Now if BN loses the FEDERAL GOVERMENT in the next GE WHAT or WHO will stop them from doing the same thing..Don,t forget that BN NOW CONTROL ALL GLC COMPANIES.

93. #94 by badak on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 4:11 pm

Johor ..OFFICERS TO SERVE IN OPPOSITION AREARS SAID MENTRI BESAR ABDUL GHANI. NST PAPERS.. THIS BN @@#$%$$# NEVER LEARN.THE PEOPLE OF JOHOR HAS VOTED THIS OFFICERS OUT.THEY STOOD IN THE LAST ELECTION AND LOST.

I CAN SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING NOW, ALL OFFICIAL FUNCTIONS WILL BE GIVEN TO THIS CLOWNS TO OFFICIATE eg SCHOOLS FUNCTION.FIRE FLOOD NO… PROBLEM THEY WILL BE THERE TO GIVE OUT SOME MONEY.

WHO WILL BE PAYING THE SALARY FOR THIS @#@$%#$.
    WHO,S MONEY WILL THEY BE GIVING OUT.
    REMEMBER THE STATE AND FEDERAL GOVERMENT IS NOT GIVING A SINGLE CENT TO THE OPPOSITION,S Y.B.s.

94. #95 by raven77 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 4:35 pm

After Grand Saga….we are officially ..another Zimbabwe….civil organisations in this country need outside help including he UN……

95. #96 by LALILOo on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 5:06 pm

There are 5 parties here – Grand Saga, Federal govt, state govt, BMC developer and the most important of all, THE RESIDENTS. For, without the residents, there would be no issue and there would be no case.

Why is this happening at all???

Since the court hearing is coming up, and the survey report has been delayed for OBVIOUS REASONS,

– why not everyone hold off all actions until the reports are out and the hearing has been done?

-Why did the federal govt jumped the gun before anything else?
    -Why create havoc and anger among all parties?
    -Why is MCA and Gerakan silent on this?
    -And where is Samy Vellu?
    -Why is the Federal govt so 100% in pursuing this case in assisting Grand Saga?
    -And why is MB Khalid trying so hard to run away from this matter?

Honestly, this matter has created more questions than answers.

96. #97 by donplaypuks on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 5:39 pm

LKS

DAP’s reps have got to presssurise I Raja Polis and Parliament to act quickly.

How can Grand Saga put up an illegal structure while police stand by to protect them. The State Govt has already said that Grand Saga has acted illegally.

So, don’t wait till more innocent citizens and MP’s are injured. Find a legal way quickly to stop Grand Saga & Polis Raja. What are lawyers like Karpal & his Sons there for?

97. #98 by boh-liao on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 6:39 pm

Who owns Grand Saga? Are BN politicians or their relatives among directors of Grand Saga?

What is the latest motto of PDRM? Why is FRU not a neutral agency? Why did FRU, without fail, always bully unarmed citizens and non-BN MPs?

98. #99 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 7:09 pm

Grand Saga is just a commercial entity and has no legal power to act on their own.

What they have done is illegal. They are taking the law into their hand, but to the federal government and Abdullah, they are right, they are the front man of the federal government and the concessionaire acted like one all along.

Road safety is the responsibility of the government, the transport ministry, the police, the JPJ to decide and to act, and definitely not Grand Saga or the Plus.

It only showed the blatant disregard for the rule of law under the patronage of the power that be.

In this case, sure there are multitude of police reports lodged. What is the outcome of investigation? or the police are just too busy with investigating YB Karpal Singh on the seditious act.

99. #100 by StevePCH on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:30 pm

One thing we are very sure of is that cronies are behind this. ONLY the township of BMC with estimated population of 60000. simple mathematics mah 60000X 2 ( 2 ways ) 1.3 ( 60c+70c ) X 365days X 20 years = RM 1.13 billion , say for every 4 person, 1 is driving, divide it with 4 = 284.7 million ringgit lei ….. estimated figure only !!! after so & so year , increase another 20 cents lah . mampuslah . no wonder our economy so bad. I also want to start to build a road and collect toll oredi ! BN is going to be The END “DN” soon.

100. #101 by yhsiew on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:30 pm

The 5.57PM (10th May 2008) news from Malaysiakini (Chinese Edition) confirmed that the barricade was built on Selangor government’s land.

101. #102 by wesuffer on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:46 pm

Large number of Police force and FRU asists private company grand saga to putting up the illegal barricade.(malaysia boleh)
    Police force and FRU duties not only fights crimes, ensure safety to citizen but nowaday have to be security guard and work supervision for grand saga too.(malaysia boleh)
    very hardworking those police force but nevermind la..
    that nights grand saga is packed so many box rice and drinking water for THE SUPER POWER SECURITY GUARD

102. #103 by wesuffer on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:09 pm

A township should provide a main access road because its one of Akta pembangunan from all majlis.
    So that the houses built and able to apply for C’F
    .The main road is built by developer according akta pembangunan
    and the houses in bandar mahkota cheras also got the C’F
    already.
    now grand saga the one who break the building by law.
    use their sdn bhd law to blocked township access.
    Police and FRU abuse power and joined the illegal action.
    malaysia is 50th years of kemerdekaan already.
    Dont act like malaysia is not merdeka yet.
    No one is above the law.
    If BN still want to celebrate another 50th anniversary together, please wake up now !

103. #104 by wesuffer on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 9:12 pm

POLICE FORCE AND FRU DURING DUTY HOURS. CAN THEY RECEIVED OFFERING MEAL FROM PRIVATE COMPANY ???

104. #105 by lyhmsia on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:48 pm

[b]Regardless if its wrong to use FRU or not [/b]

[b]There is the right way and the wrong way to seek justice.[/b] Is it wrong for the MP to stop the company from re-enact the barricade ? I didn’t read the whole story; thus, I’ll assume the company build the barricade with permit. Even if the barricade is build without any permit, I strongly believe that DAP should use the lawful means to protect the citizens right. [b]We need to remember the rule of law.[/b] If there is injustice in any way we can use different means to seek justice. Is it right for YB Lim Lip Eng to damage welding machines needed by the concessionaire’s workers and chased them off? Should he do that? As a YB, you can voice your discontent to the correct authority or he can voice it in the parliment. Pakatan Rakyat have pretty impressive numbers of representative in parliment and it shouldn’t be difficult to voice the discontent right?

I believe in public protest but there needs to be a balance. If Lim Lip Eng can tear apart the barricade is it wrong for us to destroy the tol since PLUS over charge us?

That’s my view. Please do let me know if you disagree

Sincerely
    James

105. #106 by badak on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 10:58 pm

All this for a packet of chiken rice a teh o ice..What the @#@$% ..What happen to theRM50.000 GRAND SAGA PAID to someone in BN…to share ….ACA must look into this..ohhh forgot someone must made a police report first.

106. #107 by concerned_citizen on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:30 pm

Hai, apa dah jadi dengan pemimpin Beruk Nasional ini? Perkara kecil diperbesarkan, perkara besar pula diperkecilkan?

Takde ke kerja lain yang lebih penting? Negara dah lah tak cukup beras, petrol dah nak naik dan ekonomi pula nak turun, apa yang pemimpin tertinggi kita ini nak buat?

Kalou tak tidor, dia ni suka nak buat kacau dan huru-harakan keadaan politik? Jagalah sikit no 2 itu, jangan pulak nak ikut jejak dia tu, hang ni ketua takkan nak ikut aje? Pandai-pandailah!

107. #108 by Killer on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 11:52 pm

I agree that the Selangor MB must resolve this issue as this is not a Federal road or land but a state matter. He has the power and authority to act.

Do not waste your time or evade responsibility saying this is a Federal matter. YB Khalid Ibrahim, act NOW before this turns ugly. Perhaps, PR now can start to fulfill their GE promise of no toll.

limkamput : For once I support you in having ZERO toll within Klang Valley. Let’s pressure Selangor MB to make this a reality.

108. #109 by lovemalaysia on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 1:25 am

Bdr Mahkota Cheras issue, what has the Residents did wrong? get violated by P Raja Di Malaysia. What had the residents of Bdr Mahkota Cheras did wrong? to avoid toll, because Grxxxx Sxgx (the iresponsible) force residents to use the long way and pay toll before reach their house, imagine u are the residents there, will you do the same like them? A private company can instruct the police and FRU to do things without a court order or legal papers? or it just to protect some cronies? Pakatan Rakyat MPs fight hard and get hurt, where is the BN reps(current opposition of Selangor)? Pak Lah, if during Tun Mahathir time, he will definitely do something to solve the issue quick, and not like now, what are you doing? i had seen Tun did very well in solving such issue whereby get irritating by Rakyat. I m not sure whether this is the tactics frm Pakatan rayat, since the tower issue in Melaka, Raja Petra case, but u defintiely get more Rakyat angry and its like a snow ball rolling, and this snow ball effect is going to destroy BN’s shelter, you had lose part of the house (BN), what shd u do? See the clip now, u will be shocked!:

109. #110 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:21 am

In other democratic countries, , police & FRU can be sued for taking such action, and can all be ‘buang kerja’ if found guilty.
    Grand sxgx can also be sued & ask to pay compensation & fine if found guilty.

110. #111 by ALLAN THAM on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 9:28 am

The issue here is quite simple in deed. The High Way operator was given right to build and operate the high way, in return of they are given rights to collect toll from the road users. The collection is for them to finance their borrowing they used to build the high way. The problem was in all cased was the term and condition on the agreement, the government some how was so nice have guaranteed them this and that to ensure the operator to make not only profit but huge profit. The argument was that if you do not guarantee them profit no one will undertake this kind of operation to build and operate.
    NOW, to simple folk, this sound logical. Right? But when you think deeper, it was not that logical anyway.

Firstly, any business venture will be the risk element. When we talk about the forecast of the road users, it will always a forecast and projection. How then the government guarantee the operator for happening that is highly uncertain and subject to changes by factors that are beyond human intervention. This was done, because it was the tax payers money, the idiot who sign the agreement on behalf of the government has NOTHING to lose. He has done injustice to the people of the Malaysia.

Next, we may ask why they do it. I am not here to speculate or make suggestion that some and many that involve in the negotiations are corrupt. BUT , then when you say this high agreement is under OSA. They can not be disclose due to NATIONAL SECURITY. who will believe, a simple commercial agreement can THREATEN the Nation Security. Then the people form their won PERCEPTION. That some thing is NOT RIGHT, they are hiding some thing from us. So, it was crystal clear the Negotiator represent the people have done great injustice to the people.

Can any one imagine the ANGER of BMC residents? They are told you cannot used the toll free road, because you must paid to make good the PROFIT GUARANTEE granted to the operator. What faults, they have committed? When they protest they were further met with the aggression of the PEOPLE WHO SUPPOSE to provide protection to US. They can be more angry than that.

PR must take action to rectify this kind of injustice and please give back justice to the people.

111. #112 by lovemalaysia on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:14 am

Today newspaper, IGP said have to take action on those illegal gathering by BMC residents. From the clips, i do not see any overreaction frm BMC residents, they dont burning cars, or throw stones to the FRU police, they just release the pressure being DITINDAS for abt 3 yrs, this is because Rakyat is being depressed for so long, they tend to react, with just standing by their basic rights, why police shd release the teargas? And Teo Kin Shin, BBC President, dont talk rubbish in front of media, take action and solve it! If you said that is under Federal Govt, pls help to inform Works Minister, and work minister, supposed to come out and say something! Obviously, Fed Govt wants to see Sgor govt fail and they will say u need to vote for a stronger BN, but, for wise voters, we shd vote BN out in next election, so that our Pakatan Rakyat reps can do things without obstacles. The BMC case showing a good example, why we need a helpful and strong Pakatan Rakyat. Granx Sxgx is also showing a very bad handling method and giving all those excuses, which makes the BMC residents more angry, where is their social responsibilities? or they just protect their interest of toll collection? I m not sure whether the accusation mentioned that the MD of G Sxga said : “you all go back to China”, if yes, if any of u hv evidence, pls lodge police report and tell Pakatan Rakyat abt this.

112. #113 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 10:19 am

If net profit can be guaranteed, many companies will deliver their goods, or services even for a small net profit (10% or less), NO NEED big profit

113. #114 by lopez on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 11:15 am

Why gang saga bully non customers but will they caress th customers balls?

114. #115 by wesuffer on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 11:51 am

ask the IGP think before talk to media.
    every words he said will destroy BN.
    who are still remember two years ago, one of his son being charged involved issue temporary raya puasa licence for higher fee to people ??? how the case now?? no further action at all !

115. #116 by wesuffer on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 11:54 am

POLICE IS INVOLVED IN ILLEGAL ACT. DESTROY STATE LAND !
    AGAINTS BUILDING BY LAW !
    HURT PARLIAMENTARIAN !

HE SHOULD GIVE FULL ACCEPTABLE REPORT OF THIS ! DONT IGNORED AND TALK RUBBISH

116. #117 by wesuffer on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 11:56 am

PUBLIC IS NOT INTERESTED HEAR SUCH RUBBISH

117. #118 by Anak Malaysia on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:06 pm

Bravo!! Pakatan Rakyat adalah Pembela Rakyat Malaysia.

Syabas, the excess road and land at Bandar Mahkota Cheras belongs to the state of Selangor. MP Lim is a brave MP who fights for the people rights in using a TOLL FREE excess road. Malaysians are angry and sad to know MP Lim was injured and beaten up by irresponsible hooligans. We salute MP Lim for his heroic brave actions to defend all races’ rights at Bandar Mahkota Cheras. We will continue to vote for MP Lim forever.
    HIDUP DAP and PKR !!

Thanked to Selangor MB and all Excos for their excellence good services and meet their promises , free water, reduce assessments, free & reduce toll rates etc.

Rakyat Malaysia will continue to vote for Pakatan Rakyat to serve the people forever. HIDUP Pakatan Rakyat. We LOVE you guys in Pakatan Rakyat. BN is irrelevant in Malaysia selama lamanya.

Pakatan Rakyat is a truly Malaysian Party for all races and religions.

HIDUP LONG LIVE DAP !!

RAKYAT MALAYSIA LOVE DAP ROCKET FOREVER.

Terima kasih

Anak-anak Negeri-negeri Utara – Perak, Penang, Kedah & Selangor
    Rakyat Malaysia

118. #119 by pjboy on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:11 pm

Dear YAB LKS

Pls demand explanation on the action of tyranny by the FRU &/or PDRM in the BMC incident & demand them to inform who instructed them to do so. They couldn’t have acted on initiative – & since when do they act on own initiative?

Make a police report on the incident & we shall see how fast will the PDRM act on it, as they have been superfast to act on RPK when a police report was made against RPK.

The recent actions of water-cannons & tear-gas put us in the same level as Tibet, Nepal, Myanmar…it is confirmed that we live in a police-state. Those were acts of uncivilised humans, maybe not even homo-sapiens.

Post the Mkini video report on the incident to international news & tell the world we are governed by cavemen.

119. #120 by negarawan on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 12:25 pm

Those who are affected should plan to sue the government and police collectively. No point complaining or demonstrating.

120. #121 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 2:31 pm

testing 123

121. #122 by Voter on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 3:36 pm

Dear James,
    Probably you should really view the video or do some reading before you express you view. However, this is a free country (at least we would like to believe so), you are entitled to express your view eventhough to tell the readers that your view is based on presumption cox you have not a clue about what really happened is unwise.
    Did Lim damage the wire? Your entire opinion was based on your “presumption” that Lim destroyed the wire thus actually i should not have taken my time to tell you that i totally disagree with your view since your presumption is unfounded, however, since i am a responsible voter and further more you invited disagreement opinion, i would like to share my 2 cents of opinion and seriously please take some time to do some reading before you offer your opinion otherwise it would appear that you dont know what you are talking about!
    From the video we could see that Lim was asking the contractor to produce valid document to justify his action of digging the soil in the public area, the contractor ignored him, so since the police seemed to be ascorded the contractor, Lim as MP approached the Police and asked the police who was this contractor, the police even before Lim could show him who he was referring to denied any knowledge, so Lim went over to the contractor to tell him to leave since he had no valid documents and also doing something clearly unlawful (can i simple hire a contractor you dig hole in your taman?) however the contractor ignored him again. So Lim, did what was right at the time, as a responsble MP, who protected the public property, pulled the plug. HE WAS PULLING THE PLUG, not damaging (now you must have regretted, should have read more stuff huh!) After pulling the plug, a man approached Lima and sprayed pepper spray on Lim and started whacking him while he was isolated from the residents and surrounded by Police and a bunch of plain cloth hooligan. Which part did Lim do wrong? Pulling the plug? As a responsible MP should not he do that?
    James, it’s easy to voice your opinion and act gentlemen, but think, think, think for a moment for the resident in Mahkota cheras, were they violent? did you riot? they merely “present” there. Was there a need for the FRU to engage force?
    I would not advice you to destroy the toll and i believe you have contributed a single cent to the toll since you are not a resident there, and Grand Saga has not over charged you, and even if you have paid the toll, it does not give you the right to destroy the toll, and let me just imitate you for once, even if they have overcharged the resident, did you see the residents destroying the toll? they merely were “present” at the scene. Are you not clear now, this people, inclduing Lim were brutalling assalted not because of anything but merely becuase they were present there.
    Seriously James you should gather more facts, read more and think for a while before you offer your view. not only that it would be good for yourself, you wont offend those who are suffering. like rubbing salt into their wound.

122. #123 by Voter on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 4:17 pm

James,
    to put money in your pocket, tell you, about the rule of law, as citizen, we have all the rights, unless and untill it is taken away from you, like you shall have the right to express your opinion no matter how silly it seems to be and others could not ask you to shut up though you appear to be ignorant.
    So, the contractor has no right to prevent the residents by placing barricads there since residents of Cheras Mahkota has the right of way, and to preserve the status quo is the right thing to do since the private contracor has no express authority to take away the right of the residents. that is the rule of law.

And about your advice that Lim together with the PR MPs should voice out in the parliament, apparently you dont know how is a country run. When a situation like this arises, we dont debate we dont enact law, we solve issue/problem.
    It’s ideal and even noble for you to have advice the MP to bring this to the parliament (though the obvious result of this action would be meanwhile it’s ok to let the people suffer while we debate in the parliament about Grad Saga’s right since the BN cronies still outnumber PR MP!), i think Lim and the Pakatan MP would love to do this too if they could (at least to Lim, wont get whacked), like any of the MCA ex MP, “let us bring this to the cabinet, let us fight for you” you ever see them solving the problem by bringing the issues to the cabint? but please dont get me wrong, i am not saying PR MP would not be able to help us in the parliament, I am saying, please get the issue right, the issue is RESOLVING THE PROBLEM at Hand. To resolve the issue, time must be given to the MP (or state government together with the Fed govern), so meanwhile, comparing the losses of Grand Saga they mght suffer (if any) if the road is axcessible, to the hardship of the residents, any sane mind would agree with me, that’s to preserve status quo ie not to block the road.
    Further, since Grand Saga states that they have the right to block the way, then he who alleges must prove it, that is the rule of law. Did they prove it? NO. In the event Grand Saga could prove that they have the right to block the way, what they suffer is not something that could not be compensated by moneytary compensation. that is the rule of law!
    Do some reading before you hurt other’s feeling again, ok? in ordinary circumstances i would not waste my time explaining to you, but this time, you are offending thousands of people who has been depressed for so long and an MP who was assaulted merely because he was asking for some confirmation about the identity of the contractor who was destroying property. Put yourself in others shoe Jame, please! and dont act like a hyporate again cox no one know you, we are at forum. it wont even bring you any political milege if you are from BN!

123. #124 by Voter on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 4:27 pm

Personally i would like to salute to Tan Boon Wah, Lim is an MP he has been entrusted with rakyat’s trust, he must act, but Tan Boon Wah! Did anyone see how he protected Lim? Seriously, dont rub salt into the wound of the residents expecially Tan and Lim!
    If we cant physically support them (because we are not affecte, I am not a resident there, i am just a bystander who cant stand the tyrant), the least we could do is not to pretent like we are riding on a moral high horse and judge them talking about rule of law???? we werent even there, what we read from paper might not be true, but we can view the video. be a responsible person, read, observe, find out the truth and then only voice opinion.
    James, i hope the next time if you are brutally oppressed some one would come to your rescue and not spit on you.

When the Nazis came for the communists,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
    I did not speak out;
    I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
    I remained silent;
    I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
    there was no one left to speak out …..
    – Martin Niemöller (1892–1984)

124. #125 by lopez on Sunday, 11 May 2008 - 4:50 pm

This reminds me of robin hood stories, but this series tells us that the sheriiff is very happy man

On the other hand I always wonder how come toll gates always coincidentally found in the heavy populated areas while the LRT facilities are not. Strange though but the designers are supposed to be to be very smart ,

125. #126 by ktteokt on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 9:02 am

A biased police force will soon perish with a change of the government!

126. #127 by localgrad on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 12:06 pm

Hi, YB Lim Lit Eng is my MP (segambut)

I am proud of him but sad as well cause his was actually BEATEN by POLICE.

wau! great police! and IGB even has gut to warn that he will use more force to SURPRESS armless citizen. (are u a junta head?)

BRAVO! BN, gang saga and police. do more of this and we will make sure we rakyat will vote u out of the office.

Good bless Lim, DAP and PR.

127. #128 by love malaysia on Monday, 12 May 2008 - 6:54 pm

All this problem is created by the former state govt. How can such a big township can be approved without access road.It is ridiculous to ask us to travel additional distance and caught in the horrible jam every morning and still had to pay TOLL! I think BMC is the only township in malaysia where you caught in a jam infront of your TAMAN! What frustration, dissapointment and helpless feeling we resident of BMC. Yet they say they are the people govt.

128. #129 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 8:20 am

Federal Govt + Private UMNO firm = Corruptions

They don’t bother abt. the people, as these people rejected them in the past election.

They (Federal goons + Private UMNO firm) will want to continue to suck the opposition people like mosquitoes.

129. #130 by darcwil on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 10:48 am

No government in the world is perfect, true indeed. In fact it looks that people in selangor are already disappointed with the selangor menteri besar over how he handles the grand saga affair in bandar mahlota cheras. Is this how the selangor people want to be treated when they chose the new people up there in selangor? Oh help us god!

130. #131 by Toyol on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 11:54 am

This will continue unless BN is no longer in power. This must be the sole aim of all Malaysians irrespective of race. If you want to take the next step to a progressive society, you have to vote BN out permanently. BN is the stumbling block to a progressive Malaysia.

131. #132 by mikecivic2003 on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 3:13 pm

The situation in Bandar Mahkota Cheras
    On the 7th of May 2008 the FRU and Polis fired tear gas and water cannon towards the residents of Bandar Mahkota Cheras because they protest the closure of BMC access road towards lebuhraya Cheras- Kajang that is owned by GrandSaga.

The question now is:
    1) Why is water cannon and tear gas is fired towards residents of BMC that is mostly consisting of women and children protesting their access rights to their town?
    a) The protest take place on the affected road because GrandSaga was closing it with barricade. It does not affect the traffic and affect any business in the area.
    b) Narajaya the developer is said to have paid Grandsaga compensation for building the access road to Bandar Mahkota Cheras.
    c) The question arise can a township be build without a access road leading to it? Who approve the development? How come BMC is build with the access road being barricaded.?
    d) The next question is should violent force be used against the residents? They are protecting their rights to use the road and tear gas and water canon is used at them, where is the democracy? Where is the justice? When the street demos in Penang occur in March 2008 they are obstructing traffic to komtar and also affect business in the area as they have to close their shops because of the demo, how come water canon and tear gas is not used? What makes it so special to use violence in BMC?
    e) The current road that BMC residents used is shared with Sungai Long residents which is infact a small access road and always causes massive traffic jam in the area and causes the residents in BMC to use a big circle to reach the highway. Every morning traffic police is needed to control the traffic and this is absolutely not needed if the access road is open. Taxpayers money can be save and the traffic police can be directed to more critical area that require their service. A person can be caught in the jam for half and hour to 1 hour depends on the peak hours especially during the morning rush hour. One heading to bangsar have to start the jam at 7am and reach bangsar at 9am. By using the access road one can reach bangsar easily at 8:15am.
    f) The bad traffic jam in these two area have affected the work performance of the residents in both Mahkota Cheras and sungai long, there are a lot of professionals such as doctors, lawyers, business man staying in the area that is affected. This is totally against a progressive society if precious hour is wasted in traffic jam that can be avoided. The long term affect also causes loses in companies that these people work in.
    g) If there is to be an accident or disaster both township will be totally cut of from the outside world. Who is going to pay the compensation to the residents? Who is responsible?
    What are the reasons for the closure of the Bandar Mahkota Access road?
    1) Is it because GrandSaga will lose money if the road is open? How?
    a) Residents along the highway of cheras- kajang such as Bandar Tun hussien Onn can also skip the RM 0.90 Tol by using the road leading from Batu 11, and residents from Batu 9 can also skip the RM 1 Tol by using the road beside the FRU building opposite the police training academy. Does these constitute to a road closure also?
    b) The purpose of a Tol is to reimburse the money used to build the highway, and of course also to earn back a certain amount by the Highway Company. Highway is build for the convenience of the people of Malaysia and those staying around it to have access to the city.
    c) One pays a TOL when he uses the stretch of road that was build under the highway company. If one is not using that stretch of road do they have to pay TOL? In actual Grand Saga still gets TOL money when the residents heads towards Kajang and Kuala Lumpur from the BMC access road.
    d) If the reason is because the traffic light is not configured then why is it taken few years and nothing is being done? How long will the traffic lights need to be configure and signage to be put up? After so many years still the road is block.

132. #133 by Killer on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 6:23 pm

mikecivic2003 & others,

Something to chew on…read below.

So now what ? Ignore the court order, law and common sense and take the law into to your own hand and demolish the barrier again ?

Our country is a democracy and though it is imperfect, the citizens still has the recourse to legal process to address their griviences.

The last time I checked, the Bandar Mahkota Cheras folks were not been given any immunity under the law. So I guess the law (the written one and not the law of jungle) still is in force.

I would love to see the DAP rep concerned to sue the police for the alleged assault but I guess this will be conveniently forgotten. This is because there was no assault took place in the first place.

So now that the case has been thrown out will the Corporate MB will step in and resolve the issue or still sit in his office at Shah Alam and expect the problem to go away ?

This is the time for the MB to walk his talk and solve the problem so the residents of Selangor are watching him with great expectation.

BTW blaming the BN/UMNO will not make the problem disappear and the BMC residents will accept the solution and go home happily.

And I wonder why this issue exploded when the barrier was in place since 2006….??

—————————————————————
    Grand Saga can rebuild barrier
    By BERNAMA

2008/05/13

KUALA LUMPUR: The High Court has refused to grant an injunction to stop Grand Saga from rebuilding a barrier at a Cheras-Kajang Highway intersection. Bandar Mahkota Cheras Road Opening Action Committee chairman Tan Boon Wah filed the application ex parte on Friday.

Judge Datuk Muhamad Ideres Muhamad Rapee struck out the application in chambers here yesterday.

Member of Parliament for Serdang Teo Nie Ching, who acted as Tan’s lawyer, said he would seek instructions from his client.

On April 21, the committee demolished the barrier to enable the residents access to the highway at the Bandar Tun Hussein Onn intersection without paying the toll. — Bernama

133. #134 by ric23_my on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 6:52 pm

DAP is stupid enough to handle this issue in such a way …

134. #135 by Killer on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 9:36 pm

Just like I had predicted,the cops make a police report against RPK. Those who consider RPK as a hero, this is a very sobering reminder that he is nothing more than a modern poison pen letter writer who uses lies and half-truths to destroy his enemies.

—————————————————————-
    Altantuya murder trial: Accused cops lodge report against Raja Petra

2008/05/13

SHAH ALAM: Two former policemen, accused of the murder of Altantuya Shaariibuu, lodged a report at the court complex here against Malay-sia Today editor Raja Petra Raja Kamaruddin yesterday. Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri and Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar lodged the report at 5pm after proceedings ended yesterday.

Earlier, when hearing began, counsel Datuk Hazman Ahmad and Kamarul Hisham Kamaruddin, who are representing Azilah and Sirul respectively, informed the court that Raja Petra had in the Malaysia Today website mentioned the reason why he had posted bail on Friday.

Raja Petra was charged at the Petaling Jaya Sessions Court on Wednesday under the Sedition Act for his article on the website.

He was granted bail of RM5,000 with one surety, but had initially insisted on not posting it. Instead, he wanted to remain in the Sungai Buloh prison until his trial in October.

On Friday, however, he changed his mind, alleging that he had received threats from Azilah and Sirul while in prison.

Raja Petra had said: “When I arrived in Sungai Buloh, something happened that put the entire prison on full alert. Sirul and Azilah, who were in the same block as me, Block Damai, shouted at me to watch my back and that they will get me. I was whisked out of the block.

“It seemed they were angry that the Altantuya murder trial, which had disappeared from the radar screens, was back in the spotlight again.

“Why should that upset them?”

Yesterday, Hazman and Kamarul denied the allegations.

Hazman said: “I have spoken to my client, who denied this.

“He said he did not know where Raja Petra was placed and did not meet him in prison.

“This statement is prejudicial to my client as Raja Petra has nothing to support his allegations.”

Kamarul said Sirul, too, denied the allegations.

Judge Datuk Mohd Zaki Md Yasin said: “True or false, let the matter be investigated. You can be assured that the court will not be affected by such incidents.”

Azilah and Sirul are charged with the murder of Altantuya in Bukit Raja between 10pm on Oct 19 and 11am the following day two years ago.

Political analyst Abdul Ra-zak is charged with abetting them.

Proceedings later resumed with senior investigating officer ASP Tonny Lunggan taking the stand.

Under examination-in-chief by deputy public prosecutor Manoj Kurup, Tonny said he had on June 16 met Celcom officer Haizal Hambali to trace telecommunications transmitting stations.

“We began our journey from Jalan Setia Jaya, Bukit Da-mansara, near Razak’s house.

“Our trip ended at the crime scene in Puncak Alam.”

Hearing resumes today.

135. #136 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 10:01 pm

bunny,
    do you know what is AKTA PEMBANGUNAN FOR ?
    THE TOWNSHIP WITHOUT MAIN ROAD, HOW CAN THE HOUSES IN BANDAR MAHKOTA CHERAS BEING APPROVED.
    THE MAIN ROAD ALREADY APPEAR IN MASTERPLAN BEFORE THE HIGHWAY IS BUILD. EVEN THE TOLL BOOTH AT 11th MILES
    IS UNSAFE TOO ,THE BOOTH IS VERY CLOSE TO SIMPANG MASUK TO BANDAR HUSSEIN ONN AND TO BANDAR SG LONG.
    RESIDENT NEVER HAD AGRREEMENT WITH HIGHWAY OPERTOR.
    LAW IS LAW. GOVERMENT CANNOT TAKE ON THIER OWN HAND BECAUSE OF HIGHWAY OPERATOR COMPLAINING LOSE INCOME EVEN NO PROVE REPORT . CANNOT OMIT THE BUILDING BY LAW.
    THE TOWNSHIP ALREADY EXCESS 60 000 RESIDENTS.
    HOUSES GOT C’F.
    THE MAIN ROAD MUST PROVIDE !
    AND CHERAS KAJANG HIGHWAY IS IN HOUSING ESTATE
    BUT NOT CLOSE HIGHWAY, DIFFERENT WITH PLUS HIGHWAY !
    BUNNY, DONT SIMPLY GIVE OPINON TO BUILD TOOL BOOTH IN HOUSING ESTATE.
    WORST COME TO WORST. THE ROAD CANNOT CONNECTED TO HIGHWAY, BUT ATLEAST THE ROAD ABLE CONNECTED TO JALAN CHERAS LAMA !

136. #137 by lopez on Tuesday, 13 May 2008 - 11:20 pm

Over the years we always come across the word “alternative road” for users who chose not to pay for the convenience of the toll road as claimed.
    It has kept thinking what is meant by “alternative road” technically.
    i think it means literally a road which is an alternative for use other that the toll road which is better relatively in quality, purpose, fitness to intent, and many more intangible ones like quicker etc.

but i wonder does the alternative road mean only to provide users from point A to B regardless of any class of vehicles.

Which we all know it is deemed suited as far as accessibility of travel from Point A to B is concerned.

As we usually encounter the alternative is relatively narrower, always cut through housing estates or secondary road of the locale within residential populated areas, schools, market place , the community itself .
    And we all know these roads cannot take those traffic and heavier vehicles relative to trunk roads designs ,
    So who is that bright engineer / contracts specifier that drafted this definition, may he find where is his dialing ling and speak out for the sake of all of us.

137. #138 by Killer on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 8:37 am

Finally the sleeping Corporate MB has spoken out. But then again instead of meeting the residents and other parties interested, he avoided them by using his representative. More strangely he has given then another 7 days to resolve the problem. Are you joking Mr Corporate MB ? This case has been going on for years without solution and yet you expect the problem to be solved within 7 days as though you are some kind of Harry Porter….

Seems he would not do anything and leave to the parties concerned to solve it and will only step in after 7 days if the issue remain unsolved….

Yes, please continue to sleep and hope the problem will go away. I think perhaps it would be more effective if the people of BMC demand answer by going right to MB’s office in Shah Alam and demand immediate solution rather than keep playing the cat-and-mouse game of demolishing the barrier.

138. #139 by mikecivic2003 on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 9:34 am

Dear Killer,

I think no one blame BN or PR for anything.. the problem actually lies with the Highway Company, I was thinking each residents should launch a law suit to the Highway Company involved. Loss of income is not an excuse for closing a road that leads to a township. btw

Rep: Grand Saga has no right to barricade access street
    By CHARLES FERNANDEZ and JADE CHAN

KAJANG: The Cheras-Kajang Expressway operator has no right to barricade the road into Bandar Mahkota Cheras because a survey has found that it is located on state land.

Selangor executive councillor Ronnie Liu said a Survey and Mapping Department report had shown that the land on which Grand Saga Sdn Bhd had earlier erected a barrier to stop residents from using a toll-free road was state land.

The report and a map have been forwarded to state legal officer Datuk Zauyah Lothy Khan.

“Even before the survey, the state government had ample proof that the road was on state land.

“And until today, the highway concessionaire has yet to show documents to stake its claims,” he said at a press conference at the site yesterday.

The residents of Bandar Mahkota Cheras have been engaged in a battle with Grand Saga since 2005 over the use of a road which allows them a shorter and toll-free route into their housing area.

Grand Saga had earlier built barricades across the road but residents had dismantled the barriers.

The battle turned ugly on Thursday night when police used tear gas and water cannons to disperse crowds of residents who were trying to dismantle the latest barricade.

Liu said Grand Saga should just let the matter rest if it could not dispute the state government’s claim over who controlled the land. It should also not stop the residents from using the toll-free access road.

Liu said he would discuss with the Public Works Department to see if another access road running parallel to the highway belonged to the state to avoid another land controversy.

Grand Saga has applied for an injunction against Bandar Mahkota Cheras Open Access Road Committee chairman Tan Boon Wah, Liu and the Kajang Municipal Council to stop them from entering the expressway area.

Tan confirmed that he was served with an ex-parte injunction on Friday night.

Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng, who claimed he was injured during Thursday night’s commotion, said he admitted himself into the emergency ward of Selayang Hospital on Friday afternoon as he was in pain.

Relating Thursday’s events, Lim said: “A plainclothes officer grabbed me from behind and some burning hot liquid was blasted into my face, which temporarily blinded me. I then felt punches and kicks all over,” he said.

He said his car was damaged – tyres punctured, wipers ripped off, surface scratched and a number plate broken.

Folks have the right to use access road without paying toll, says Khalid
    By WANI MUTHIAH and GEETHA KRISHNAN

SELANGOR Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim said the state government will be holding a meeting with Cheras-Kajang Highway concessionaire Grand Saga Sdn Bhd and the Federal Government next week.

He said the meeting was to find a solution for the tussle between the concessionaire and Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents over the barricade erected by the former on the toll-free access road belonging to the Selangor government.

“We understand the problem as well as the plight of the people and will seek a quick solution,’’ said Khalid when met by Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents at the state secretariat building yesterday.

All ears: Liu (left) explaining the situation to Khalid at the SUK building in Shah Alam as Ean Yong (second from right) and Tan (right) look on.

He said the residents had the right to use the access road without having to pay toll but added that the problem could only be settled when all relevant parties had discussed the matter.

The residents arrived at the secretariat building yesterday at about 11am in a chartered bus and five cars to hand over a memorandum to Khalid. It was received by the his special duties assistant Mohd Yahya Sahri.

The crowd was also met by state executive councillors Ronnie Liu and Ean Yong Hean Wah.

Liu, who met reporters after speaking to the residents, said the concessionaire did not have the right to barricade the access road as it belonged to the state government.

He lambasted the police for taking sides and said that the police should maintain law and order instead of manhandling the residents on behalf of the concessionaire.

Under control: Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents watching the site in case Grand Saga blocks the road again.

“We have all the proof to show that the land belongs to the state government and we have informed the police about this but the police, which is under the control of the Federal Government, is not paying heed,’’ said Liu.

He added that he had spoken to the Selangor CPO Deputy Comm Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar over the phone but the latter had remained stubborn.

More than 100 policemen, including personnel from the Light Strike Force and the Federal Reserve Unit, were dispatched to the area on Thursday when the residents held a demonstration to protest against Grand Saga Sdn Bhd.

Police personnel fired water cannons several times to ward off the protestors who were riding motorcycles and speeding towards the police barricades.

Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng was allegedly assaulted when he pulled the plug of a generator before standing in front of a water cannon to prevent the police from aiming it at the crowd. He is presently recovering at the Selayang Hospital.

“The police must be neutral and not help Grand Saga Sdn Bhd put up the barricade. Since when did the police force go into construction?’’ asked Liu.

He said that he would be speaking to Khalid as well as state legal adviser Datin Paduka Zauyah Be T. Loth Khan to see what action could be taken against the concessionaire.

Liu said the residents also had the right to seek an injunction against the concessionaire as well as seek damages from it through legal recourse.

Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents had been maintaining a 24-hour vigil at the crossroads where the concrete barricade put up by Grand Saga was first dismantled on April 21.

But the tents and garden chairs which residents used while keeping an eye on the road were no longer there on Friday morning. Also missing were self-appointed traffic marshalls who helped to ensure the traffic situation was under control since the traffic lights were not synchronised.

Although small groups of residents were present at the site, the crowd was not as big as the 1,000-odd people who converged on Thursday night where four people including the Bandar Mahkota Cheras Open Access Road Committee chairman Tan Boon Wah were arrested.

To-date, Grand Saga has re-built the barricade twice and on both occasions, residents had broken down the barrier.

“They can keep building the barricade but we will keep destroying it,” said Tan when contacted.

He was released from police custody after a few hours.

With the highway concessionaire and the Selangor state government claiming right of way, the issue is still far from being settled.

One resident, Suraya Haris Ong, said authorities should also view the socio-economic impact on the township with low rentals and vacant shoplots since the barricade was put up in 2005.

Saturday May 10, 2008
    Chronology of events pertaining to Bandar Mahkota Cheras toll-free access road issue

September 15, 2005: The RM16mil Bandar Mahkota Cheras road is opened by developer Narajaya Sdn Bhd with the consent of the Kajang Municipal Council. A few days later, Cheras-Kajang Highway concessionaire Grand Saga closes the road.

October 2005: Grand Saga business development and corporate affairs executive director Zainal Abidin Ali informs council that the closure is due to compensation issues with Narajaya and says the road would only be opened with a directive from the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM).

February 2006: Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents begin signature campaign to protest road closure saying they are forced to use a longer route through Bandar Sungai Long. More than 10,000 signatures are collected. Peaceful protests are also staged over the months.

September 2006: Former Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu tells Bandar Mahkota Cheras Open Access Road Committee members that road is illegal.

December 2006: Committee members led by Cheras MP Tan Kok Wai seek a meeting with LLM representatives but are told the matter would be referred again to Samy Vellu.

January 2007: Grand Saga workers are spotted doing earthworks near site with the intention of putting up toll booths.

May 2007: Samy Vellu insists in Parliament that toll has to be collected at the access road in order to put an end to the long-standing issue.

July 2007: An emergency motion on the matter brought up by Tan Kok Wai in Parliament is rejected.

Residents led by committee chairman Tan Boon Wah visit the Prime Minister’s office in Putrajaya to present a memorandum.

October 2007: Developer Narajaya files a suit against Grand Saga and the Malaysian Highway Authority at the civil division of the High Court.

April 2008: Selangor state government says road is on state land but appoints surveyors to determine who has right of way. Residents go ahead and demolish the first barricade on April 21.

May 2008: Grand Saga re-erects barricade and residents demolish it again. Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim says a meeting would be sought with the Federal Government to put an end to the issue.

May 21, 2008: Court hearing for lawsuit filed by Narajaya.

139. #140 by Killer on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 10:53 am

This is for mikecivic2003…taken from KTemoc’s blog

Khalid Ibrahim more concerned with Toll Company’s revenue than Cheras residents’ rights

Malaysiakini reported the case of a DAP MP for Segambut Lim Lip Eng as a ‘street style’ MP

Lim became a household name when it was reported that he stood in front of a water cannon truck to prevent it from advancing and spraying the residents. He was then walloped by several plainclothes police officers until he had to be hospitalised.

Contrast this with Khalid Ibrahim who …

… now I quote Tony Pua who wrote in his blog (extracts):

… Khalid Ibrahim has acknowledged, as per the Star report yesterday that “the residents had the right to use the access road without having to pay toll”, it is disappointing that he had not taken a stronger stand on the issue, and in fact had not dealt with it much earlier when the FRU was first deployed, or even before that.

This has resulted in the situation clearly getting out of control, with a fracas between the residents and the FRU units in the wee hours of the morning 2 days ago … and a Member of Parliament lying in the hospital at this point of time, having been assaulted by the police.

It is critical that the new state government demonstrate political will and determination to stand for what is right and just, without fear or favour, instead of wavering in uncertainty or adopting a “we will look into it” or “we will have to discuss further” culture which is reminiscent of the previous Barisan Nasional government. It is of great concern that Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim had qualified his statement on the “right of use” by saying that the state government must also take into consideration that the toll is the source of revenue for the company.

With the state ownership of the land no longer in dispute, the local government, in this case the Kajang Municipal Council (MPKj), must take all necessary actions to prevent illegal structures from being constructed on state land.

If an enforcement officer does not hesitate to compound a car parked temporarily but illegally on a state road, why should MPKj decline to take action, via compounds and summons, against the parties who are erecting a permanent structure in the middle of the road? In fact, any party who persist in constructing illegal barriers, in the face of compounds issued, must be charged in the court of law.

As the old adage that we members of the opposition is so fond of using, “justice must not only be done, but seen to be done”. The rakyat will be understandably discontented if the government enforces the law against the man on the street, while allows room for negotiation and delay when commercial interests are involved.

It is hence critical that the Menteri Besar of Selangor demonstrate much greater urgency in the matter, without letting the situation deteriorate further than it already has via inertia. If the first night’s deployment of the FRU against residents who wanted the law upheld has not injected such urgency, then we certainly hope that the second night’s deployment would have.

The new state government is being given certain leeway to perform by the people of Selangor. However, it will quickly lose its goodwill if the people’s interest are not given priority.

As I said, scratch Khalid Ibrahim or some of those in PKR, and you will likely see red and white stripes.

140. #141 by Killer on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 10:54 am

Friday, May 09, 2008
    Khalid Ibrahim refuses to turun padang to Cheras
    Sadly, Khalid Ibrahim as the first non-BN MB has failed the people of Cheras who had supported and voted him in as Federal MB for Bandar Tun Razak.

Malaysiakini tells us in its article Barricade row: Pakatan state gov’t ‘weak’ that the Bandar Mahkota Cheras (BMC) residents have slammed Khalid Ibrahim for refusing to order the Kajang Municipal Council into taking legal action against Grand Saga for erecting the illegal structure.

The Kajang Municipal Council has jurisdiction over the road on which the toll company has built a barrier to prevent Cheras residents from accessing the highway.

To add insult to injury, Khalid Ibrahim had turned down their invitation to visit the barricaded area. This is in contrast to the people’s oriented action by Ronnie Liu, the DAP ADUN who is also a Selango exco member. Ronnie had turun padang almost immediately to look into the Cheras residents’ grievances.

Alamak, is Khalid’s old red and white stripes showing though?

An emotional Tan Boon Hwa, who was assaulted by the police, cited Section 46 of the Street, Drainage and Building Act 1974, which states that anyone who erects an illegal structure in a public place can be arrested without warrant by any police officer or officer of the local authority.

Instead the residents who were the victims of the action of Grand Saga, an action taking place in a public place on Selangor State land, were battered and tear gas-ed by the police who arrived on the scene to support the actions of the road toll company.

And Khalid Ibrahim has not only avoided taking remedial action over the illegal structure, when he possesses the power to do so, but has also refused to visit the site which is victimising the pockets of the Cheras residents. snubbing the residents’ invitation.

What a lousy MB – is he any better than Khir Toyo for his apathy to the rakyat’s genuine grievances and a big company’s illegal action?

As I said, his stripes …….. or spots …….. may be showing through (looks like he’s indicating those can never be changed).

Incidentally the Bandar Tun Razak parliamentary constituency has the second largest number of voters (72,628) in Kuala Lumpur after Seputeh. It embraces 19 housing estates: Taman Mulia, Taman Bukit Anggerik, ….. Batu 3-4 Jalan Cheras, …… Taman Connaught, …….. Taman Len Sen and Taman Bukit Cheras.

Its residents comprises 52% Malays, 39% Chinese, and 8% Indians.

141. #142 by Killer on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 10:59 am

Time for Khalid Ibrahim to go
    Richard Teo | May 12, 08 4:40pm
    I refer to the Malaysiakini report Barricade row: Pakatan state gov’t ‘weak’.

Ever since the beginning when Pakatan Rakyat under Khalid Ibrahim took over the reins of the Selangor government, there was already signs of a weak government.

Events until now have not dispelled those lingering doubts. Immediately after taking control of the government, there was strong compelling evidence that the previous administration was shredding important state documents which could have incriminated their administration and yet Khalid chose to ignore them with a nonchalant attitude as if it was of little importance.

That single act of omission has virtually deprived the rakyat of the opportunity to punish those perpetrators of their crime for which they were so eager to conceal and destroy.

When Penang’s chief minister announced their intention to abolish the NEP and replace it with one that is more equitable there was a deafening silence from the Selangor state government.

Either Khalid didn’t hear the announcement or he had totally forgotten about the Pakatan’s manifesto.

Khalid’s reluctance to prosecute those Umno leaders responsible for shredding those state documents is understandable. After all, he was once a blue-eyed boy of Umno who so happened to lose their favour sometime ago.

Fortune has been kind to him and now that he is in the driver’s seat, he is slowly remembering his old Umno roots.

As long as Selangor continues to be under the helm of Khalid, there will be little change from its previous Umno predeccessor. After all both Khalid and Mohd Khir Toyo came from the same Umno origin.

In the case of the Bandar Makhota Cheras barricade, the whole matter could have been expeditiously resolved if there was strong leadership.

Land in the state comes under state jurisdiction and if the incumbent government cannot even settle what is within their purview then Pakatan Rakyat is heading for a very short term.

Five years in politics is a very short time. If the Pakatan cannot reform the state governments like it promised, then maybe the rakyat will have to look for an alternative government.

142. #143 by Killer on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:03 am

Pakatan Rakyat accused of lawlessness
    Wednesday, 07 May 2008 08:08am

• Kit Siang gets back his kind of Dewan grilling

©New Straits Times (Used by permission)

THE Pakatan Rakyat has been accused of condoning lawlessness

Datuk Tiong King Sing (BN-Bintulu) said MPs from PR had supported a group of Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents in removing the barriers placed across an access road to the Kajang-Cheras highway.

The road was built by Narajaya Sdn Bhd, the developer of the Bandar Mahkota Cheras township, to ensure speedy access to the highway.

However, Grand Saga, the highway’s concessionaire, was against the access road as it would bypass the Batu 11 toll plaza.

Bandar Mahkota Cheras motorists would have to pay a 90 sen toll if there was no access road.

The road, built three years ago, was barricaded upon completion due to the tussle between Grand Saga and Narajaya.

However, 10 days ago, residents and elected representatives from PR removed the barriers.

Tiong demanded to know from Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur) if he condoned such lawlessness from his party men.

“Is this not abuse of power?” he asked during the debate on the King’s speech.

Lim Lip Eng (DAP-Segambut), who was present at the Cheras incident at the end of last month, interjected and said they did not take the law into their hands.

Teo Nie Ching (DAP-Serdang), who was also there, defended her role and said that it was within the prerogative of the state government to remove the barriers.

Kit Siang said he was not aware of what his party men had done.

“I don’t know about this,” he said brushing aside Tiong’s claim that the DAP leaders had been involved in an unlawful act.

Later, Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said at the lobby of Parliament that the state government did not condone an illegal act.

“The state would not like to break the law,” he said adding that the people were seeking to expedite the decision-making process involved in opening the access road. He added the state government wanted to find an amicable solution.

143. #144 by Killer on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 11:15 am

This is from Aisehman….

For Whom The Bells Toll
    16 March 2008 | 774 Views
    So here we go. A promise is a promise.

In PKR’s manifesto for the general election, the word toll was mentioned four times:

… Tolls and tariffs will also no longer be raised unreasonably only to satisfy conglomerates and corporate interests.

… With the billions that can be saved by avoiding scandals like the Port Klang Free Zone, multi-million ringgit arms commissions and grossly disadvantageous toll and tariff concessions, KeADILan will immediately bring down the price of petrol and stabilise the prices of basic goods, tariffs and tolls.

… Toll and tariff concessions that favour corporate interests by being disadvantageous against Malaysians must be immediately renegotiated.

I was reading the latest issue of The Edge when I came across this:

Selangor is the state government with the most number of listed companies, all housed under unlisted Kumpulan Darul Ehsan Bhd (KDEB)

… KDEB … has a 20% stake in Taliworks Corp Bhd, which … has the concession for the Cheras-Kajang Highway.

… Among the unlisted entities where KDEB has stakes are … Sistem Penyuraian Trafik KL Barat Holding Bhd, better known as the Sprint Highway.

Tan Sri Khalid, the road ahead is clear — it’s the people’s way or the highway.

We await your move on this matter.

144. #145 by bunny on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 3:07 pm

Dear wesuffer,

I totally understand the pains suffered by the BMC residents as I so have some friends staying there too. Putting a toll booth is merely a suggestion which I can think of for the time being after considering all the legal stand points as well as everyone loses and gains.

Have your ever see the masterplan before? Have you ever see the highway alignment plan before? This access road really does not appear as part of the linkage to the highway. The linkage to Cheras Perdana and Hussein Onn were clearly stated in the alignment plan. I got to know this due to some jobs that i was working on 1 year ago.

If I am not mistaken, Narajaya’s 1st approval back in 1994 was obtained from State Govt but the development did not kick start till much later due to financial crisis at Lion Group. Subsequently in 1995, the Federal Govt decided to privatize and upgrade the old Jalan Cheras and Kumpulan Peransang Selangor Berhad (KPS) won the concession and incorporated Grand Saga Sdn Bhd with some other small investors to undertake the project.

Do you know who is KPS??? KPS is belongs to Kumpulan Dahrul Ehsan Berhad – the investment arm of the Selangor State Govt!!!

Anyway KPS has already some enuff money by selling Grand Saga to new investors few years ago!!

Now you tell me who is the real culprit ? Grand Saga or State & Federal Govt ?

Another thing, Narajaya should not have promised a toll free access to the residents when they did not have any final/absolute approval to build the access road from Federal Govt. Why no resident file a suit again Narajaya for misrepresentation to the house buyers??

Frankly speaking, the Grand Saga has a strong concession agreement to protect their interest, Federal Govt can always taking the agreement stand point by not opening the road.

Guess who has the weakest point here?? Not Grand Saga like most of us thought of… it is Narajaya (the joker hiding behind the shits and let you, the resident and poor MP to fight). Why are there so silent?

Any developer who wanna link new access road “which is no listed in the alignment plan” would require to compensate the highway concessionaire. This is a standard clause in any highway concession agreement around the world. Narajaya should know this before the access road was built as the approval from JKR SHOULD have stated that the compensation to Grand Saga as one of the condition to the approval. Obviously Narajaya just ignore it and continue to build the road and that’s why the JKR did not instruct Grand Saga to open the barricade.

Wake up!!! You r whacking the wrong guy. Ask Narajaya to compensate the house buyers if the road remains closed or Narajaya to compensate Grand Saga in order to open the road !!!

Think hard… who has make all the housebuyers money?? it’s Narajaya!! Developer always sweet talk us when selling us the house and then went disappear when problems comes.. Why? Because the money already in the pocket, u think they will ever vomit it out again??? Instead of filing a suit against Grand Saga, why not file against Narajaya???

If Govt ever be the one to compensate Grand Saga, it will be using OUR MONEY… then what’s the difference by us paying the toll???

145. #146 by bunny on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 3:17 pm

Federal Govt money = our (tax payer) money i.e income tax, service tax..
    State Govt money = our (tax payer) money i.e. cukai tanah, quit rent..

If Federal Govt compensate Grand Saga, that means WE are paying the toll UPFRONT

If NO one compensate Grand Saga, shareholders of Grand Saga (i.e. KDE, investment arm of Selangor) will lost money immediate. Where is money from? From US.. and they will left with less money to maintain the welfare of the Selangor residents.

If Narajaya compensate Grand Saga, Narajaya will JUST need to reduce the profit that have made from the house buyers of BMC. None of our money will be used.

146. #147 by darcwil on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 3:28 pm

Wow. Reading again the manifesto set out by PKR posted by Killer above, they are very visonary indeed, yes. But a bit far fetched and positivist. I’m not saying it is not possible, but come on events in Selangor not really living up to much of it…

Now what?

147. #148 by lopez on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 - 10:58 pm

Public conveniences used to be the responsibility of the gomen, whose officers are empowered to protect the people interest, Some claimed we r a develped nation similar to DEVELOPED NATIONS AND COMMUNITIES BY INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS (relative)
    The same fools and idiots drawing each month salary and perks at the tax payer’s expense , now take sides for a Commercial entity where they have entered into matrimony for mutual gain.
    It is begining to show there must be some very big mistake by these gaji buta entering into a bias contract and now cannot back off unless some one forego his pension.
    How else it is not helping to resolve such simple problem where big building s can be demolished overnight despite ,,,,..

it is getting smeely already……

148. #149 by mikecivic2003 on Thursday, 15 May 2008 - 10:00 am

To Bunny,

Hi.. i though Narajaya did pay compensation to GrandSaga on the access road? as each house sold they have to pay Rm 5000 for the access road. Now im really confuse.

149. #150 by ktteokt on Friday, 16 May 2008 - 7:28 am

In the first place, who approved the access road to BMC? And why is the “jurisdiction” of Grand Saga higher than the authority which approved the access road to be built?

150. #151 by myint3 on Sunday, 18 May 2008 - 4:47 pm

Who are the people behind Grand Saga anyway. Forgive me for my ignorance. Why is the FRU at their disposal? Why are they so great that the Police is emboldened by their (Grand Saga) authority to even beat up an MP! When the police beat up YB Lim, they are not just beating up an individual.They are symbolically beating up the thousands of rakyat who voted him as their MP. YB Lim represent these voters/rakyat, he is their voice. So police, you are beating the rakyat.

Tsk tsk tsk. Police! police!. When we need you to catch criminals, you take your own sweet time but when it comes to beating up civilians, tax payers who pay your salary, wah sei, you do it with gusto and efficiency.

Can someone enlighten us who has vested interest in Grand Saga.

151. #152 by bunny on Monday, 19 May 2008 - 12:10 am

To mikecivic2003,

The construction of the access road and the connection to Grand Saga was approved by the LLM subject to Narajaya paying the compensation to Grand Saga and some other conditions la. However Narajaya refused to pay the compensation and went ahead to build the road. I am 100% sure on this.

I am not sure how Narajaya spent the RM5000/house sold la – maybe to build the road only and not sure where the balance (if any) gone to.

To myint3,

Read the comments above… Selangor State Govt has interest in Grand Saga indirectly since day 1… interesting rite?

152. #153 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:07 pm

The police is forgetting that the one they beat up now may one day be their direct boss!

153. #154 by myint3 on Friday, 23 May 2008 - 12:51 am

I don’t know whether it is legal but has anyone thought of setting up a website, a watchdog of sort against excessive force/brutality by the police against our MP and rakyat? I’m sure this will put them in their place. They will think twice before they beat up an MP, like ktteokt said, the very people they beat will become their direct boss. It’s not a matter of if, it is when.

I see so many YouTube footage where the police blatantly use excessive force against MPs and the rakyat. Unjustifiable force. Post the police officer’s face in the website along with his numbers where possible, attach the video footage. When the new government comes in, a disciplinary committee can be set up and go after these police who brutalized the MPs and rakyat. Kinda like those war crime tribunals. They cannot hide behind their badges and kick and punch people around like that without justifiable cause.

If such a website exists, those rogue police will think twice before they beat up our MPs or rakyat.