The Empire Strikes Back 3

(1) DAP Assemblyman Handcuffed & Assaulted

(2) More “Little Napoleon” rampages

1. #1 by Bushshit on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:11 pm

Looks like all BN MPs are like samseng….BTC somemore….not to solve problem in Parliament, but only cari gaduh…….

2. #2 by lew1328 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:23 pm

Pertaining to the arrest’s of YB from DAP Melaka, we feels ashamed as Malaysian. We have a fantastic discipline training college for Police’s here in Malaysia. However, the way they carried out their duties was not so professional and not according things that they’ve learned from the school. (Maybe some reason’s fall behind the tree that involves some dirty politician) (?????? ?????)

3. #3 by verbal-lash on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:42 pm

Both Bung Moktar and Nazri are CLOWNS!!! Get them out the next election. We don’t need such crass, uncivilised and uncouth behaviour to be part of the government. The rakyat will vote them out the next round. How they won in the last election is highly questionable.

4. #4 by ALAN88 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 5:51 pm

This bigfoot are really a waste of time and taxpayer money. He shud be ban from parliement forever !!

5. #5 by pgs on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 6:21 pm

Who are we when we were compared to DSAI. When he was a deputy PM minister then , he was also been beaten up by the police during his lock-up. It is inmaterial who u r ! Believe me , only the Malaysian voters have the power to change the goverment!!

6. #6 by Killer on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 6:37 pm

Dear DAP MPs,

Whether you are morally or legally right, please do NOT take law unto your hands and encourage lawlessness.

We put you in Parliment to solve problems in a democratic way. Not solve the issue like gangsters.

It is a shameful day for you folks to behave in such an uncivilised way just to win cheap publicity.

Uncle Kit, you have to bring some discipline into the party. This is shameful not just to DAP but also the parliment.

7. #7 by devilmaster on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 6:41 pm

It is no secret PDRM is a political tool for UMNO. Those BN MPs are well aware of this too. There is no point in trying to deny it. Let’s call a spade a spade. This is really a 3rd-class mentality of BN MPs.

8. #8 by miketan142 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 6:49 pm

Isn’t the safety of school children is of paramount importance to the public interest than assuming all the YBs is damaging public property. Instead of helping the rakyat getting rid of those protruding screws the police use high handed manner to arrest and assault the ADUN. I wonder if those were BN rep. will the police do the same thing ? Clearly this is abuse of power. So far the PDRM have not issue any statements regarding this matter.

9. #9 by pkrisnin on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 7:29 pm

Ahh Killer I can always depend on you to speak for your BN masters.

10. #10 by myint3 on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 8:10 pm

The Bung fella is really an embarrassment for Sabahans and I am a Sabahan. What is he doing there? He’s a clown. He’s not even funny although he likes to think he’s funny, just look at the sway he smile each time he thinks that he nailed something. On national TV some more? I wish the Kinabatangan folks will wisen up and get rid of him come next GE. Do all of us a favour lah.

11. #11 by Independent View on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 8:48 pm

Uncle Kit,
    May I suggest you something? When you debate an issue like this can you, in the future, stop accusing UMNO and BN. Instead can you focus this issue on abuse power from police? By then you could get the BN MPs to start discussing about the police instead of pissing off the BN MPs. Now I understand why you always get into arguments with BN MPs in Parliaments. Please learn your mistake and change your approach. After all, the deputy minister was right….you need to provide evidence if you think that UMNO or Chief Minister gave this instruction for beating up the DAP ADUN.

12. #12 by pkrisnin on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 8:58 pm

Yes most UMNO and BN MP’s are poor innocent children that do not control the police.

13. #13 by Killer on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 10:21 pm

Independent View is right. Don’t accuse without basis or evidence, the Parliment is not a Mamak stall for letting off steam or political ceramah to score political points.

Yo pkrisnin: Instead of labelling anyone who dares to disgree as a BN puppet, learn to accept criticisms in good faith. If you cannot accept free speech, then you have no business being a supporter of PR.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 10:54 pm

The police officer, who used violence against the DAP assemblyman, [deleted] – such is the sorry state of affairs of the Malaysian police force.

Kit, push hard for the establishment of an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) to investigate cases like these. If the BN claimed they are not involved in police abuses, why are they so afraid of setting up the IPCMC?

15. #15 by peterchiang on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 11:43 pm

I like the ending of star wars where Empire collapsed.

16. #16 by vanz on Thursday, 8 May 2008 - 11:55 pm

Dear LKS,
    pls talk about Police abuse of Power in Parliament. Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents today faced tear gas and water cannon. There were only around 1000 people there. Is they any necessity to use number of tear gas (approximately 8 to 10) for 1000 people. Even childrens was there.

Do something about this.

17. #17 by kingkenny on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:30 am

It is very obvious to us they are representing two sides of political groups in Malaysia.

But, can’t they at least agree on something common?!! It is only logic!!!!

Police personnel aren’t suppose to kick and/or punch a citizen or non-citizen EVEN if they KNOW they are guilty or otherwise. As ARMED officers they can only REACT in self-defense!! But they are actually kicking and punching civilians while they ARE HANDCUFFED and those people are elected Wakil Rakyat!!! WTF

Guilty or not guilty is for the court to find out and dole the appropriate penalty, NOT polis!! WTF

In parliament, bigfoot and his gangs seem to be protecting the policemen who abuse their power!!!!! WTF

Ini Malaysia punya parlimen dan MP kah??!! They are BODOH!

The 3 wakil rakyat guilty or not, still the polis cannot assault them, can’t we punish them even without the IPCMC? Where is human rights? Where is justice?

18. #18 by kingkenny on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:41 am

What country is this ah?!!

Not even an inch of human compassion, common sense, rational mind and rational debate they can afford to the Rakyat. Even if there is, it’s merely a publicity stunt!

As I always believed, they possess only the body but no soul in it. They are the true Walking Dead!

Soulless Creatures!

19. #19 by drngsc on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:54 am

Kit and Wan Azizah,
    As senior opposition MPs in Parliament, the live telecast affords you an avenue to show the country what you stand for. In your debates, speak the facts and make your point, knowing that the purpose is not to win the arguments against some of the BN rubble rousers that are there just to upset you. Your purpose is to show the nation that you are leaders of Malaysia. Win the high moral ground. We the rakyat, watching the telecast will know what to do, at the next GE if the BN boys do not behave. Do not behave like them or be provoked by them to behave like them. Make your point. We can see and we will know what to do, like on March 8th 2008. It is obvious that there are some in the BN bench, whose job is to upset you and lead you away from your purpose. Do not fall into their trap. Remember, the audience is us the rakyat. We can see and you must trust that we know what to do.

20. #20 by choonchoy on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 1:06 am

wow! What a bunch of idoits! MPs in our neighboring countries must be having a field day watching this. This is better then most sitcoms. sigh!

21. #21 by limkamput on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 1:24 am

PDRM is the federal police force under the direct control of the Federal Government. The Police are responsible to the civilian government of the day, which in this case, is the Home Affairs Ministry and ultimately the Federal Government. If the police are found to abuse its power, there is actually no need for the opposition to raise the issue in the Parliament. Why can’t the Government initiate investigation and take action against those who abuse their power. Why are some people here trying to defend the police is simply beyond my comprehension. What further evidence do these people need when the opposition has already given all the information? Fair enough, the information can be challenged. But did the government take any action to investigate so far?

22. #22 by dawsheng on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 1:25 am

Uncle Kit, I think you have proven your points, this parliament is another round of circus. You should also consider boycott the parliament. Say, why is the opposition leader Wan Azizah so quiet?

23. #23 by dawsheng on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 1:30 am

I think DAP should take the back seats in Parliament.

24. #24 by bumi-non-malay on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 4:58 am

Lim Kit Siang and all Pakatan MP should use their mobile and video ALL Parliament proceeding and U-tube them since RTM will not telecast them. It is the people parliament and how dare they stop this Freedom. Video, tape, embarass, espose, redicule all UMNO-BN leaders Crap. The new media will help Obliterate UMNO-BN….for a better Malaysia.

On a side note:…Malaysia get ready for Economic Chaos…Crude at record, rice, food all rising….Malaysian UMNO-BN tidak apa.

In anger and Hunger we will know how to deal with UMNO-BN leaders…..the people have spoken…whatever it takes!!

25. #25 by whoisthis on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 5:12 am

Read the following Bernama report, after PRU 12 , and see for yourselves whether the AG should be charged with sedition.

KUALA LUMPUR, March 18 (Bernama) — Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail today stressed that there was no tussle between the Regent of Terengganu and the Regency Advisory Council with the state government pertaining to the appointment of the Menteri Besar of the state.

He said this was because the process of appointing the Menteri Besar for the state was spelled out under Article 14 (2) of the state constitution.

“As such, the candidate appointed as the Menteri Besar is not the nominee of the Regent or the Regency Advisory Council but a person who is appointed according to the laws of the state,” he said in a statement here.

He said the person must be a member of the state legislative assembly who in the opinion of the Regent and Regency Advisory Council commanded majority support in the assembly.

He said the Yang di-Pertuan Agong was fully aware of the provision and that His Majesty cannot interfere in the appointing of the Menteri Besar.

“This is because under Article 34(1) of the Federal Constitution, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong cannot function as a ruler of a state except as the head of the Islamic religion.

“In connection with this, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong does not have his own candidate for the post (Menteri Besar of Terengganu),” stressed Abdul Gani.

He said that His Majesty was aware of the fact that appointing of the Menteri Besar lied fully with the Regent and the Regency Advisory Council, and that His Majesty had no role whatsoever under the law concerning it.

Gani’s explanation comes in the wake of speculation about the position.

Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh whose appointment as the Menteri Besar of Terengganu has been delayed since the 12th general election ended on March 8.

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 5:52 am

When you are physically abused (arrested, cuffed and kicked) for speaking up and drawing public attention to the lack of response to complaints by citizens by the very people whose role is to protect them and to maintain public order, then it amounts to a betrayal of public trust. They feel violated much like you a member of a gated community would feel violated when your home is broken into by members of the security who are there to protect you.

When those physically violated are also legislators in the nation’s highest law making body, then it begs the question as to whether those entrusted with the maintenance of law and order are not themselves working to break the very law legislators make. When those who take the side of the law breakers are themselves legislators, then we are entitled to ask if the institutions we put our faith in and the powers that are supposed to separate them are just cover for our lack of faith in democracy.

27. #27 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 5:54 am

dear bumi-non-malay.

a hungry man is an angry man.
    absolutely correct.

two months now after the 8th march general election.
    i never felt good, and i still am not feeling good.

The prime minister has another election in October.

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 6:00 am

Whoisthis,

Is the AG raising discontent or disaffection amongst the subjects of the Yang di-Peruan Agong or of the Ruler of any State or amongst the inhabitants of Malaysia or of any State?

29. #29 by whoisthis on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 6:08 am

undergrad2.

The AG is challenging the authority of the DYMM SPB YDP Agong by saying that he cannot interfere in the affairs of the State of Terengganu.

In essence, DYMM Sultan Mizan is the Sultan of Terengganu and will resume that post after his term as the DYMM SPB YDP Agong.

Of course, he would want an MB that he can get along with and not some Federal Appointee per se.

30. #30 by whoisthis on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 6:13 am

undergrad2.

Basically the police report made against YB Karpal Singh is on the premise that he challenged the authority of DYMM Sultan Perak. So what the AG did is the same. He challenged the authority of the DYMM SPB YDP Agong.

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 7:08 am

whoisthis,

I have not read the reports you mentioned but if the AG is merely drawing the ruler’s attention to the law, that is not per se seditious.

The above notwithstanding, anyone who queries as to the limits of that law when it involves the Ruler of any state and/or the Agong is treading a fine line. Remember also that Sec. 3 sub-Sec (3) deems intention as irrelevant.

Here the AG is treading that fine line referred to above when he is reported to have said:

“He said the Yang di-Pertuan Agong was fully aware of the provision and that His Majesty cannot interfere in the appointing of the Menteri Besar.”

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 7:24 am

Defendants have the right to be tried not by someone like a judge who is specially trained in the law but by a jury of our peers. Defendants stand a better chance of an acquittal in a trial by jury.

The tribunal acting as the trier of the law and that as trier of the facts must be separated. That would in my opinon reduce the risk of a miscarriage of justice – bearing in mind of course that our system of justice is not perfect, never has been but until there is a better one we have to do the best we could to ensure the administration of justice does not punish the innocent while letting lose some guilty ones.

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 7:27 am

It is time to bring back jury trial and also not limit it to criminal proceedings involving capital crimes. RPK charged for sedition stands a better chance of an acquittal by a jury of his peers.

34. #34 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 8:20 am

I just simply cannot believe BN can stomach the stupid and idiotic behaviour of Kinabatangan MP!

My God, you just have to watch his repeated obstructions of Parliamentary proceedings to confirm that he is really stupid and idiotic! And I do not write this harshly but honestly. Malaysians expect more and better from their Parliamentarians. I would never say the same thing of just about anyone on RapidKL or LRT but this Bung here is an MP! Do they have TVs in KInabatangan so as to know what they are voting for – such a poor specimen into Parliament!

35. #35 by Killer on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 8:28 am

undergrad2 Says:

Today at 05: 52.17 (2 hours ago)
    When you are physically abused (arrested, cuffed and kicked) for speaking up and drawing public attention to the lack of response to complaints by citizens by the very people whose role is to protect them and to maintain public order, then it amounts to a betrayal of public trust. They feel violated much like you a member of a gated community would feel violated when your home is broken into by members of the security who are there to protect you.

Yo undergrad2:

I could be persuaded if there any video clip of showing these reps being assaulted.

If this is true, I share your outrage and the perpetrators must be dealt with according with the law.

However, on the other hand, I have seen so many times that politicians using the term “assaulted and manhandled” when in actual fact they violently resist arrest and use abusive language to rile the cops.

While I am not privy to this particular incident, I agree that if PDRM used force beyond what they are allowd under the law in arresting law breakers, then by all means provide evidence so that actions could be taken. I don’t think the current IGP or AAB would tolerate such behaviour.

But what I am trying highlight here is the actions of the MPs in behaving like common gangsters and by-passing due legal process. This has to stop NOW as it would turn the nation into a cowboy country when the law makers turn law breakers.

36. #36 by Killer on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 8:32 am

Undergrad2

Though I am not a lawyer, one can hardly term arresting and handcuffing as physical abuse. Care to point out the law that says so ?

Also these guys are arrested not for “speaking up by and drawing public attention to the lack of response to complaints by citizen”. It is for breaking the law.

37. #37 by Bigjoe on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 8:55 am

Frankly I don’t know if its so bad. But what is obvious is issues are not being debated and resolved when the opposition bring them up. But this is Malaysia govt MOST of the time – avoid tough issues until they can throw money at the problem and hope it works…

So I don’t think its bad but clearly there is not much brain in BN..

38. #38 by seage on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:43 am

The BN lackeys are so enbrazened, which led them to believe that every one not of their own can be treated like a street rat and thus,that everyone is entitled to beat the “kuo jie lao shu”.

39. #39 by seage on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 9:46 am

I don’t think the current IGP or AAB would tolerate such behaviour.[Killer]

HAHAHAHAHHA~~~AHAHHAHAHAH! HINDRAF 5 ~~ HAHAHAHAHAHH!!!!

(Wipe tears of my eyes)

HAHAHHAHAH~~~HAHAHAHAH~~!!!!!

40. #40 by ilovedap on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:37 am

Killer,

You are so biased! You seem to be very critical of Pakatan and only siding BN. I swear I wont read your comments anymore. I’m sorry I even wasted my time reading your previous few comments.

41. #41 by seage on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:39 am

ilovedap, actually l love reading Killer’s comment hehehehe… (wipe tears from eyes)… its so darn funny HAHAHAHHAHAHAHA~!! Sometimes after reading some serious stuffs, u need some jokes of the day to release some tension. Killer’s comment fit the joke to a perfect T HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHH~~!!

42. #42 by ilovedap on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:40 am

In addition,

Go and get a better job man. You can do better than this.

43. #43 by ilovedap on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:46 am

seage,

I know exactly what you mean. LOL :)

There are many different things to do in this world. I wonder why some people choose to be a part-time clown. Correction, a part-time blog commenting clown.

44. #44 by xplora on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:47 am

Tangga Batu Timb. Menteri, another Menteri horrible attitude looks like Minister of Misinformation in the previous parliament.

Jasin and Kinabatangan, two clowns shouting nonsense law and wasting parliament time.

I am hoping the PM will dissolve the parliament 2 years earlier in this upcoming election, I guess he won’t!!

45. #45 by seage on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:57 am

Well, the clowns in Singapore made millions per annum. Its a pretty lucrative job! But I still love clowns that are not of profession but of birth. :p

46. #46 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:59 am

Singapore clowns made millions yet they’ve to pay taxes. Malaysian clowns are unique, they ear little as reported, but billionth thru concession pump back to them by their government.

47. #47 by ilovedap on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:08 am

xplora,

It is expected right? Infact I want them to remain like this so that everyday I can remind myself that my support for Pakatan is Correct, Correct, Correct. :P

48. #48 by lextcs on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:13 am

we say we love dap but we dare not face up to their own mischiefs…….just look at RP? fast 1/2 a day also cannot tahan…..what is this? wants to be a gandhi? i think he’s too fat for it.

49. #49 by lextcs on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:17 am

politicians will be politicians…..just dont sell our souls to them….meanwhile, drains are not cleared up, toilets are not cleaned, random parkings everywhere, people dont give a damn abt each other….all these talks about caring is bullshit….donate to bail out RP? why not donate to the cyclone fund instead…making a mockery out of humanity.

50. #50 by ilovedap on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:23 am

lextcs,

I do love DAP and Pakatan but i dont know about you. If your comment is not so 1-sided biased and have alot of personality attack like fat, etc etc, then probably it’s worth reading. Otherwise, you are wasting the blog space.

PS – You still havent report your failure back your evilmaster?

51. #51 by badcliq on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:47 am

Most of the BN MPs are really “uneducated” whether formally or informally.

They always seems to take things too personally. Grow up!

A good leader is always a good listener! Not like some baboons fighting for food!

At least we haven’t seen any MPs throwing chairs or books around!

52. #52 by dawsheng on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:21 pm

“Malaysian clowns are unique,…”

Yes, because they have special rights!

53. #53 by dawsheng on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:35 pm

“However, on the other hand, I have seen so many times that politicians using the term “assaulted and manhandled” when in actual fact they violently resist arrest and use abusive language to rile the cops.” Killer

This is only one side of the story. The police force belong to UMNO, that’s a fact. Opposition politicians assaulted and mishandled, it’s expected, our UMNO politicians are getting physical because they fear losing power.

54. #54 by limkamput on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:37 pm

ilovedap,
    It is obvious killer and lextcs are out to criticise Sdr Kit for a reason. But these two clowns must realise that they can only do it here, in Kit’s blog. It does indicate what DAP and Sdr Kit stand for. We should in fact ask them to go to Tun Mahathir’s or Ali Gostan’s blogs to see whether whatever they write critical of them will be published. By all means criticise when there are good justifications. But reading the posts above, it is obvious that they are either the impostors or just trying to be contrarian to others here. Hello, they don’t impress me, ok.

55. #55 by dawsheng on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 12:47 pm

“My God, you just have to watch his repeated obstructions of Parliamentary proceedings to confirm that he is really stupid and idiotic! And I do not write this harshly but honestly. Malaysians expect more and better from their Parliamentarians. I would never say the same thing of just about anyone on RapidKL or LRT but this Bung here is an MP! Do they have TVs in KInabatangan so as to know what they are voting for – such a poor specimen into Parliament!” Hornbill

Yeah man, Bung is really stupid! But to protect Ketuanan Melayu, no choice! Have to be an idiot ma…

56. #56 by wag-the-dog on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 1:13 pm

Compilation of Quotes on RPK – Bapa Bangsa Malaysia

Over the last three days most of us have gone through a rollercoaster ride over RPK’s case and have posted comments on blogs. To honour This Towering Malaysian I have compiled some of the quotes in my blog so that these last three historic days are etched in our history.

Visit wwww.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.

57. #57 by cto on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 1:41 pm

Killer Says:

Today at 08: 28.19 (4 hours ago)

[snip]

I could be persuaded if there any video clip of showing these reps being assaulted.

——————

Ah, yes we need the video, of course. :)

I do not know what is it about Malaysians and video. It must be some fetish thing, I reckon. Apperantly video camera is a standard accessory that every Malaysian must carry, much like a cell phone. Unless, you are fortunate enough to have one of those fancy cell phones with the integrated video camera. But please make sure that the picture resolution is good enough though (at least 2 megapixel) so that the evidence is solid.

I seem to recall not too long ago, we had that clip in a certain hotel room in Batu Pahat. Due to the poor quality of the recording, the actual drama was compromised much to the dismay of viewers around the world. The much hyped video over promised, heighten the expecations of many but under delivered. Despite that, the character in this particular video confess but claimed no wrong doing and was at first quite unapologetic about letting his fans and his pants down. I think he came to his senses after lots of feedback and decided to retire. Good for him. Common sense did prevail.

There was also another video of a drunk reportedly talking rubbish over the phone. The quality of the video was so bad that the drunk could not recognized himself in that clip. Perhaps he still tipsy that moment when he was shown the video but the poor quality of the recording couldn’t have helped.

Key learnings from the examples above

1. Members of opposition parties must be equipped with a high quality video camera.
    2. Send them to video taking classes and make sure that they take the test.
    3. Only members that passed the test and are certified can stand for election.

Once the video clip is produced. We have solid evidence and the culprit(s) goes to jail right?

Wrong, we now have to prove the authenticity of the video. :(

58. #58 by nazryan on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 1:45 pm

While we are being swiped away by a lot of these parliamentary proceedings, we must not forget below issues:

1. Lingam case
    2. Attantuya murder case – seems to be extended forever
    3. The inedible ink fiasco
    4. The unsolved murder cases (there seem to be a lot these days)
    5. High profile corruption cases

Can the PR do something, maybe with the assistant of respected retired police, AG, BPR (surely we need their help on these) to set up a commissioning body to investigate all these. Some sort like an independent body. It members shall be from lawyer, ex-police, accountant, doctors etc to monitor the progress and if necessary investigate of all these proceedings, cases.

Their role is to advise and monitor and maybe report to the PR and SUHAKAM as well on its finding. Their finding must be made public. Some sort like a shadow body to the AG, police, BPR etc. The 3 PR components, concerned citizen and the five PR states shall come out with the fund to sponsor the body. Get the mandate and endorsement from the King so that this body will be respected and given appropriate info and assistant from AG, police, BPR. Being outside the current system and well as out of influence of the present government, this body can provide a bird’s eye view and being transparent as well.

The Suhakam though is being independent and have respected members in it, but seems to go no where. They do not have the teeth to bite things.

59. #59 by cto on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 1:51 pm

I should add this – I believe that the camera man for the drunk video is now member of parliment. Despite a producing a poor quality clip, he is now an MP and a YB. Just imagine where he could be now if only he had a better video camera. I bet you the sky is the limit.

Don’t leave home without your video camera. You never know when oppoortunity might knock.

60. #60 by taxpayer on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 2:18 pm

Based on the reasonings by the BN administration on why RPk is been charged under the sedition act and Karpal too can be charged under the same act, then AAB, G. Patail and TDM can also be charged under the sedition act. The first two for questioning the authority of the Agong/Sultan and TDM for calling the PM – head of the government to resign.

61. #61 by badak on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 2:46 pm

The DAP YBs from malacca made a mistake.What they should have done was call for a press release.Give the reporteres from the mainstrem media some money. If not they won,t come lah.After that take the reporters to lunch at a 5 star hotel.Once all that is done then only go back to the site with brand new spaners tied with ribbons.

Press release must be something like this.After hearing complains form our people we decided to take action ourself, We don,t want an accident to happen.blah blah blah Anyway that ,s what any BN YB will do.

62. #62 by badak on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 2:55 pm

WHY NO PR STATE ASSEMBLY MEN OR MPS MADE A POLICE REPORT OR TAKEN ANY ACTION AGAINST PAK LAH FOR USING GOVERMENT FUNDS AND MACHINERY DURING THE GENERAL ELECTION.IT WAS STATED IN PARLIMENT THAT THE GOVERMENT SPENT RM 790.000 SO THAT PAK LAH CAN USE THE EXECUTIVE JET TO CAMPAIGN FOR BN…..

63. #63 by peacec on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 3:14 pm

Funny how some “ppl” can say others are not above the law and all, but dun even learn to obey the rules in parliament…

damn bias and not based on solid principles, too much “sentiments” & emotion. Hope this will change with time and that all MPs will learn to mature nevertheless.

To those that don’t, too bad lah! we won’t see u again, when it comes “to the next round”

64. #64 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 4:22 pm

“Though I am not a lawyer, one can hardly term arresting and handcuffing as physical abuse. Care to point out the law that says so ?” killer

When I wrote “When you are physically abused (arrested, cuffed and kicked) for speaking up…” I do not expect the words to be read disjunctively – nor in the same order they are written.

I believe that should absolve me from having to point to the law that does.

Good try!

65. #65 by undergrad2 on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 4:43 pm

“…I have seen so many times that politicians using the term “assaulted and manhandled” when in actual fact they violently resist arrest and use abusive language to rile the cops.” Killer

If there is a confusion over when a person is under arrest and when he is just being cautioned, it is not inconceivable then that protesting becomes translated to resisting arrest. Would it not be timely for Parliament to introduce the Miranda rights not just to protect your constitutional rights and mine but to inform you and me the exact time that we are under arrest?

Resisting arrest after all is an offence in itself and mandates the use of handcuffs.

66. #66 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 4:51 pm

“WHY NO PR STATE ASSEMBLY MEN OR MPS MADE A POLICE REPORT OR TAKEN ANY ACTION AGAINST PAK LAH FOR USING GOVERMENT FUNDS AND MACHINERY DURING THE GENERAL ELECTION.IT WAS STATED IN PARLIMENT THAT THE GOVERMENT SPENT RM 790.000 SO THAT PAK LAH CAN USE THE EXECUTIVE JET TO CAMPAIGN FOR BN…..”

RM 790,000 is just sauce dipping amount, his son, and son in law have amassed billionth from shares and govt. projects. He just wanted to enjoy the priviledge that Tun Dr. Mahathir has leftover, by cancelling all his predecessor projects, the cancellation funds can then rechannel back to his family coffers.

After the opposition has won 5 states, he can rechannel more funds, by cancelling & delaying all the opposition states projects. He just have to act dumb, Malay 66% of them half of those Malays are mentally handicap. Thanks goodness the Chinese and Indian managed to group together 45%/66% of the Malay out from misery to vote the right party.

After all, in Malaysia if u r rich, u can steal, robe, rape, involved in vice and murder, can easily use ur wealth to prolong the case, e.g. Tantuya case, Lingam case, Soi Lek.

67. #67 by lakilompat on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 4:53 pm

Court is RICH man games, stop been NAIVE to believe Malaysia will one day have a JUST & FAIR judgement.

Even the stupid Haidar wanted the govt. to bear responsibility to read out the verdict on Lingam.

Nobody dare to challenge the court, u must either be influential, holding high post in BN and rich.

68. #68 by AntiSUPP on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 5:40 pm

Big Foot = Exciled Orang Utan from Rehab Centre in Sandakan

69. #69 by yhsiew on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 8:47 pm

Police brutality again! Lim Lip Eng, DAP MP of Segambut, was punched and kicked by police at the barricaded road incident in Bandar Mahkota Cheras on 8th May 2008 late evening. He was admitted this afternoon at Selayang hospital after complaining of dizzy spells. Lim said his head was punched in the incident.

It is sad to see widespread police abuses in this country. Where is the discipline of our police? PR please do something.

70. #70 by xplora on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 10:46 pm

ilovedap,

correct, correct…. this also reminds me, who am I going to vote when I am be able to cast my first vote in the next election since I am finish my university in overseas, and also force my family, and friends not to vote these clowns anymore because they’ve been voting them since the they are eligible for vote!!!!!

71. #71 by procol on Friday, 9 May 2008 - 11:36 pm

“While I am not privy to this particular incident, I agree that if PDRM used force beyond what they are allowd under the law in arresting law breakers, then by all means provide evidence so that actions could be taken. I don’t think the current IGP or AAB would tolerate such behaviour.”- Killer

Yeah, I also wished that we have that magical moment where most crimes would be somehow recorded on video. You asked for proof yeah, I don’t think it’s easy to whip out a camera and ask the aggressor to pose while u shoot yourself being assaulted. Please be realistic. It’s a good practice to back facts with sources however, it may not always be possible. If mere quoting of sources means everything to u, then someone will open up the gates to question the veracity of your sources and then the sources of your sources and so on.
    I don’t even want to go into what constitutes arrest, the validity of arrest and remedies for wrongful arrest as well as need for warrant b4 arrest coz it’s gonna be long. I don’t have the time,u may engage undergrad2 for tat matter. Suffice for me to say remedy for unlawful arrest lies in civil action for damages. Ok, proof- go n read the case of PP v Kok Khee Mind you it’s a very long n tedious process b4 u even can smell ur damages. The abuses are real. Proof? Try an offence urself, I would suggest a compoundable offence for u so u won’t get jail time. Oh, remember to wear a t-shirt stating “PR forever”!

72. #72 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 10 May 2008 - 8:39 am

The other issue is the reasonable use of force when effecting an arrest. What reason can an arresting office have for kicking a person already in cuffs?