Smack the MCPs in Parliament and outside

(Media Conference Statement by DAP Ipoh Timur Parliamentary Candidate Lim Kit Siang at the DAP Ipoh Timur Ops Centre in Jalan Kampar, Ipoh on Tuesday 4th March 2008 at 2 pm)

I have just returned from a 24-hour four-state 11-stop
whistlestop tour which I find most encouraging as the wind of change is blowing strong and hard in Malaysia – and the question is whether it could reach the velocity to change the political landscape by denying the Barisan Nasional two-thirds majority.

I left Ipoh for Johore by car at 3.30 am on Monday morning, starting with a 10-hour swing of Johore to campaign for DAP candidates in eight state assembly and three parliamentary constituencies in Johore, namely Senai, Skudai, Stulang, Yong Peng, Bekok, Jementah, Tangkak, Bentayan (state) and Kulai, Segamat and Bakri (parliament) from 8.30 am. to 6.30 pm, followed by huge ceramahs in Malacca, Rasah (Negri Sembilan) and Subang Jaya. I returned to Ipoh at about 3.30 am – a real 24-hour affair!

Johore Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ghani Othman and the erstwhile MCA national and Johore leader, Datuk Seri Dr. Chua Soi Lek had declared that the Barisan Nasional (BN) objective is to ensure that Johore is a zero-Opposition state – which not only exposes their undemocratic mindset but their abysmal failure to understand the meaning of democracy.

There can be no meaningful democracy without a viable and credible opposition in Parliament and State Assembly to ensure that the diverse opinions, views and criticisms particularly in plural Malaysia are heard loud and clear in the various legislatures.
Ghani made the startling statement that he would not listen the DAP State Assemblymen elected to the Johore State Assembly on March 8.

I call on the voters of Johore to use their vote to teach both Ghani and Chua a lesson in democracy, that they must respect the wishes and decisions of the voters if they want to elect DAP representatives into the Johore State Assembly.

Otherwise, the Barisan Nasional might as well admit that the 12th general election is just a charade and not a meaningful democratic exercise for Malaysians to vote for the Parliament and State Assembly j representatives of their choice once in five years as provided for in the Constitution.

Ghani’s statement that he will not listen to the views of DAP Assemblymen elected into the Johore State Assembly shows the arrogance of Umno leaders as a result of prolonged monopoly of power, resulting in the rise of Umno political hegemony which must be smacked down strong and hard on March 8 so that it could not rear its ugly head again.

I hope the Johore voters would teach Ghani a lesson in democracy and that the DAP can look forward to winning at least one parliamentary and three state assembly seats in Johore in the 12th general election.

I fought an hour-by-hour battle to keep my voice from failing and from succumbing to flu and fever, but great and heartening response from the people from every stop I made in the whistestop tour had been the most efficacious medicine of all!

My only regret in the 10-hour swing for eight state and three parliamentary constituencies in Johore is the untoward incident in Labis resulting in a scuffle between the Labis OCPD Supt. Abdul Majid Mohd Ali and the seven-month pregnant woman DAP parliamentary candidate for Labis, Teo Eng Ching for a mike during a simple welcoming reception for me when I arrived in Labis.

I had to intervene to ask Abdul Majid to refrain from such an action, publicly being seen in a scuffle in trying to snatch the mike from the seven-month pregnant woman, which is not only ungentlemanly and completely lacking in chivalry but might harm the unborn babe Teo is carrying.

After the incident, Teo vomited and had to be hospitalized for observation whether harm had been caused to the unborn babe.
Most police personnel had been considerate and impartial in their police role in the general election campaign and the Labis incident is a police blackmark in the way the Labis OCPD disregarded Teo’s seven-month pregnant condition in his scuffle with her in trying to snatch her mike.

DAP has fielded 19 women candidates – eight parliamentary and eleven state assembly candidates – to be the voice of all Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or gender in Parliament and the State Assemblies. The polling day of March 8 falling on International Women’s Day must make the 12th general election particularly significant for upholding the dignity and honour of women – and what happened to Teo in her pregnant condition in Labis must be deplored not only by all women candidates but men candidates and the general public as well.

The Barisan Nasional have put up a big slate of women candidates in the general election .

But will the BN women candidate, let alone the BN men candidates, speak up for Teo to deplore the action of the Labis OCPD, endangering the life of the unborn in Teo’s womb?
Nobody has any high hopes in this, particularly after the highly offensive and sexist billboards launched in the election campaign by a woman MCA parliamentary candidate against her opponent , Teresa Kok. (Seputeh Parliament), attacking her as a “loose woman” who would “two-time” her constituents.

In the last Parliament, the three women DAP MPs – Teresa Kok, Chong Eng and Fong Po Kuan, were often the butt of sexist and offensive remarks by Barisan Nasional “MCP” MPs. No MCA, Gerakan or BN women MPs stood up for the three DAP MPs against the offensive and sexist “MCP” attacks. It would appear that the same applies to the current batch of MCA and other BN women parliamentary and state assembly candidates.

Finally, I call on the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan, to send out a clear directive to all OCPDs to respect the rights, dignity and honour of all women candidates in the general election and not to subject them to the indignity and humiliation visited on Teo in Labis yesterday.

1. #1 by grace on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 4:10 pm

LKS,
    We hope that you take care of your health. GOD IS ALWAYS FOR YOU AND NO DEVIL CAN EVER HARM YOU! YES, GOD IS ALWAYS PROTECTING THE LIKES OF YOU, KARPAL, LGE , DR TAN, THERESA, POH KUAN AND ALL OF YOU! YES, BEING RIGHTEOUS DEVILS WOULD BE FRIGHTENED AWAY!
    Coming to sexist remarks on Theresa by her opponents, this is expected coming from BN candidate.
    They learn the tricks from their ‘si fu’ la. The ‘bocor’ case MP is the chief and must have imparted his valuable experience to the BN disciples.

TO ALL WOMEN, CAN YOU STAND BEING MADE THE BUTTS OF JOKES IN AND OUT OF PARLIAMENT EVERY NOW AND THEN?

THE ANSWER IS DEFINITELY NO!!!
    THEN HAVE PRIDE!
    GET BN OUT!!!!

2. #2 by roticanai on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 4:33 pm

I read today’s NST about Dr Teo being hospitalised but there was no mentioned about the OCPD at all. Can the OCPD be held responsible if anything happens to Dr Teo ?

3. #3 by hellokitty on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 4:48 pm

those bn buggers are worse than orangutan

4. #4 by tswern on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:06 pm

This is and outrage!

I wonder Malaysiakini would report this incident later? Don’t think any mainstream papers reported it.

I hope someone caught the incident on tape!

5. #5 by hanuman on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:10 pm

This Aw Si Poon Dek action is to cause physical harm. I firmly believe his action is premeditated. May allah mete the worst punishment on him. I believe in karma. What goes around comes around. You do bad to someone, it will come around. Karma might hit the OCPD or his wife or daughter or grand daughter.

Praying for Dr Teo.

Voters please DO NOT VOTE FOR SEXISTS & THOSE WHO DID NOTHING AGAINST SEXISM.

6. #6 by yyh on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:15 pm

you think musa would do that? in the first place, why did the OCPD acted in such an arrogant and offensive manner against a pregnant lady? that shows how deep is the malaise within the police force. Its a sad sad day when you have the police, which is to protect citizens, behaving in such obnoxious manner.

7. #7 by k1980 on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:16 pm

A subservient Election Commission, gerrymandering, vote fraud, a compliant media, misuse of government resources and massive vote buying will enable the victory for BN

http://the-malaysian.blogspot.com/2008/03/rivals-cry-foul-over-election-tactics.html

8. #8 by voice on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:26 pm

Now the EC cancelled the use of indelible ink, just few days before the GE, showing the way they work!

9. #9 by Toyol on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 5:38 pm

This continually shows that MCA women have no principles. They rather stand by their UMNO masters like dogs than to practice what they preach. It is unthinkable that we have such MP’s in Parliament. MCA are desperate and clueless so they resort to underhand and childish tactics to tarnish the image of DAP. Never have I seen such malicious behavior from an MP…and we expect them to govern the country! All goes to prove MCA are UMNO’s lapdogs and lackeys!

10. #10 by mauriyaII on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:02 pm

Ms Teresa Kok would have seen her face in the mirror and realized that she is the ‘loose woman’ who two-times her voters. When she couldn’t face the truth, she just hit out at other. That is the result of mixing with UMNO and MCA mcps.

Regarding the Labis thugish goon who is an OCPD, he just exemplifies what has become of the Malayian force. No intergrity, no pride, incompetent, irrational and non-chivalrous. No wonder my friends in the police call PDRM a police farce.

The DAP should print large posters of that goon scuffling with a pregnant woman (Mr. Teo) and put up at strategic places leading to the polling stations.

Should anything untoward happen to her or the child, that goon and his employers should be made accountable.

11. #11 by mysn1st on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:06 pm

Sir,
    I believe the Johor people strongly hope that Tanjong Piai candidate, viz: En Ahmad bin Ton will able to win this time.

One of the chances of prove to the country that DAP is ‘Malaysian First’ may begin here.

12. #12 by UnkerLai on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:14 pm

YB
    I really am in awe of your stamina and endurance but also worry for your health.

My family and I will pray for your continued good health. I hope you are taking some good and powerful vitamin supplements to keep the fire in you burning.

Wong

13. #13 by Puan Sri on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:20 pm

Dear Mr. Lim,

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/02/23/little-napoleon-at-sk-sungai-puyu-utterly-unrepentant/

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/02/13/1009/#more-1009

With reference to the above links regarding the marginalization of the Indian teachers and students in SK Sungai Puyu, we would like to inform you that those incidents have really proved that the Indians are indeed treated as second class citizens here in our beloved country Malaysia . It really disheartened us to tell you that after all the joint efforts taken by those teachers, parents, and even the PIBG of the school to retain those teachers back in SK Sungai Puyu the officers in charge namely the Pejabat Pelajaran Daerah Utara (PPD), Jabatan Pelajaran Negeri (JPN) and the administration of the school itself have given cold shoulders and very negative responses to all our efforts and appeals. In fact they were ridiculed, put down, given racialist remarks, irritated, threatened to be taken disciplinary action against them if they don’t comply with the orders given by them. Sorry to say but we all have failed in our effort to retain them and all those things mentioned in the previous letters has not changed a bit either. The PPD is blaming the school for nominating those teachers and the school is blaming it to the PPD pretending not to have any knowledge about it whatsoever. Sounds very familiar??? In fact the situation in this school is getting from bad to worse and nobody is doing anything about it. In fact they are enjoying life as usual and can’t be bothered at all about the whole thing because for them it is just a small matter and they have faced “bigger” challenges than these. We have come to an ultimatum now. We want the PK1 in this school to be transferred out immediately or else things will not cool down in this school because she is the main culprit for all these racial problems.

With the polling date getting very near, these officers seems to be getting more and more arrogant and just couldn’t be bothered about anything at all, even about what the Prime Minister says. The statements given by the Prime Minister regarding the non-malays and what these officers are actually doing in real life is TOTALLY contradicting.

Anybody out there, we beg you to help us to make these people realize their mistakes and to repent in whatever way you can especially by talking to these peoples.

We provide you the contact details below :

En. Zainal (HM) : 04-3238786 / 013 4388568

Pn. Norhazlizah (PK1) : 04-3238786 / 012 4143260

En. Khalid (PPD) : 04-3905618 / 019 4145511

En. Mohd Jamil (PPD) : 04-3999784 / 013 4382545

En Ahmad Husein : 04-6521050 / 012 4035444

Thank you very much for your support and we hope Malaysia will be a better place to live in without these Little Napoleans.

14. #14 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:33 pm

Saudara LKS,

For your dedication and unfailing sacrifices to ensure that the people will get good representation in parliament and state for the next 5 years, I am very confident that the general feeling among the rakyat is that the opposition will have its best performance this GE. More than 1/3 representation in parliament is definitely on the books.

Take a break after the 10th and then let the opposition show their clout in parliament for the next 5 years.

15. #15 by mycroft on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:42 pm

mauriyaII Says:

Today at 18: 02.01 (34 minutes ago)
    Ms Teresa Kok would have seen her face in the mirror and realized that she is the ‘loose woman’ who two-times her voters. When she couldn’t face the truth, she just hit out at other. That is the result of mixing with UMNO and MCA mcps.

Can someone please translate this for me? It seems as those this joker here is attacking Teresa, whom I know does not mix around with UMNO and MCA MCPs and who definitely isn’t two-timing her voters.

16. #16 by tidaknama on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:51 pm

If you have any videos of the pregnant lady bashing incident, please upload it to youtube.

17. #17 by k1980 on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:57 pm

There is a cautious optimism running through the opposition as Malaysia gears up for a March 8 vote that many are calling the most crucial general election in the country’s 50-year modern history.

Cautious because the long-ruling government controls the media and school curriculum, oversees a broken electorate system tilted to its advantage, and doesn’t look kindly on freedom of expression; optimistic because Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi’s four-year-old government has been plagued by a series of scandals and allegations of corruption.
    http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/JC05Ae01.html

18. #18 by Joshoyy on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 6:59 pm

The news: http://www.thestar.com.my/election/story.asp?file=/2008/3/4/election2008/20080304175316&sec=election2008

Have anyone wonder why the EC cancel the use of indelible ink, what are they going to do with 47,000 bottles of indelible ink they have purchased from India and the RM 2 Million that EC has spent??? Whose money that had gone wasted, isn’t this the tax payers’ money??? Why can’t the EC plan carefully b4 making the decision to use the indelible ink???

Without the use of indelible ink, can the EC assured all Malaysian a fair & square, 100% clean voting process???

19. #19 by carloz28 on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:48 pm

“Have anyone wonder why the EC cancel the use of indelible ink, what are they going to do with 47,000 bottles of indelible ink they have purchased from India and the RM 2 Million that EC has spent??? Whose money that had gone wasted, isn’t this the tax payers’ money???”

Why am I not suprised? Gerenti sudah masuk poket la…what else….

20. #20 by UzMiNoOnist on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:52 pm

Another 2 million ringgit flash down the toilet. Get rid of this wasteful practice by BN sponsored EC.

21. #21 by clear conscience on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 7:59 pm

This is an open letter by our respected Mr Yeo Yang Poh from the Bar Council to all concerned Malaysians.

I hope every Malaysian would take note of what he has said.

http://mail.google.com/mail/?ui=2&ik=a96c87ac39&attid=0.1&disp=vah&view=att&th=118774dd27682150

22. #22 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 9:29 pm

my sympathy and concern to Teo eng ching. this is what we called a police state. this is what happened when the election commission and the police are all part of the barisan nasional family. i would suggest that if the ocpd of labis is so keen to serve his master, quit the police force and join umno and STAND FOR ELECTION. ( or may be he is an umno member ) SHAME.

as per to the election commission last minute decision to keep our nails clean from Indian ink, is definitely the joke of the day. millions gone into the drain, and rashid would have enough ink supply for his generations and more to come. again a waste of public funds, but this is bn. THE TRUTH is when hindraf came into the malaysian forum, the cabinet decided to appease the indian communities by buying ink from india , AND ALSO TO ENSURE THAT INDIA IS NOT ANGRY WITH THE MALAYSIAN GOVERNMENT. remember samy vellu went to tamil nadu to explain. so this is merely a trading transaction in the true sense.

kit siang have done a great job, in this swimming against the current of bn onslaught. but most voters have already decided to vote dap. this is most encouraging. people are opening donating funds to the dap in public ceramah. they have no fear anymore. change must be there and change is necessary, for i love Malaysia and this country belongs to everyone of us. we must vote .

last but not least, i think MOST penangites HAVE NO BALLS. they like to play footsy and missy with the general elections. like koh,himself is so undecisive over the cm post. kelantan umno have already decided , but penang – nanti dulu. similarly in this crucial election, most penangites want to grumble and grumble , but DARE NOT OPENLY COMPLAIN. i am not from penang, but i hope penangites shows some proactive reactions to the shamble state that koh had done to penang. NO FREE PORT. LOUSY TRANSPORT SYSTEM. DIRTY STREETS. AND FLOOD HERE N THERE WHEN RAIN. enough is enough, i hope penangites wake up from their sing song hokkien and be serious enough to see real issues. DARE PENANGITES TO VOTE THE OPPOSITION. fat hope. not only the kelantanese migrate to kl, but even in pj /ss2- alot of penang nan.!!!
    penang laksa, penang keuy teow, penang food. sorry penangites, you need balls to change. and i have yet to see that coming this 8th march. PROVE ME WRONG. and i will shave botak for penang.i used to love visiting penang.

23. #23 by Cannottahan on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 9:48 pm

ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH Says:

i think MOST penangites HAVE NO BALLS. Penangites say stop barking like a mad dog!

DARE PENANGITES TO VOTE THE OPPOSITION. Penangites say please be more specific with your statement. How many Penangites you know who don’t vote for BR?? Must you be so arrogant and insulting?

PROVE ME WRONG. and i will shave botak for penang. Penangites say you can save your locks it useless to us anyway!

Yours truly is a third generation of DAP die hards and in between our family,relatives and friends, it could be numbering…..more than the knowledge you have beneath your hair!

24. #24 by Cannottahan on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 9:57 pm

Check with your source before making a sweeping statement.

Let you share my third party very reliable source:

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=10%2C000+crowds+at+DAP%2CPKR&search_type=

25. #25 by jedyoong on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 10:14 pm

any photos, YB? can send to me at [email protected]

26. #26 by Cannottahan on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 10:15 pm

70% toll hike slated for Penang bridge!

A timely booster for DAP in a crucial moment.

27. #27 by showsomemercy on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 11:10 pm

That is what you get for voting the government. For those Penang people who vote for government, i would really want to “CONGRATULATE” all of you!

If Penangites can’t differentiate between black and white, then we as Malaysians really have nothing to say!

Vote for a change. Kok Cheng ai to liow! :)

28. #28 by wolf on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 11:19 pm

Opposition parties can still salvage something from this. Shout it out to the people in the ceramah:

The government has cancelled the use of indelible ink because they want to cheat & use phantom voters. DO WE STILL WANT TO VOTE THIS KIND OF GOVERNMENT???!!!

29. #29 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 11:34 pm

I’m not sure whether the decision not to use the ink is stupid or incompetent or dubious – maybe all three.

If anything it simply shows the gross incompetence of the EC Chairman and those who supported another year for him.

Maybe those BN leaders and the EC guy would like to offer themselves to raise some funds for charity? We could put them on ducking stools over barrels containing that ink and get the public to aim for the trigger mechanism at RM10 minimum per throw?

Make it a visit Malaysia 2008 attraction. I am sure we could easily raise RM2m.

30. #30 by ahpiow on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:05 am

The news media daily brainwash the public by saying that only BN can provide development, and Kelantan has no devolopment under PAS. Isn’t it obvious that due to the BN controlling more than 2/3 majority in parliament, that any resolutions (including provision of funds for developing a state) will not be passed?

The national coffers belong to the rakyat of Malaysia. Kelantan cannot be developed, not because of PAS, but because the opposition of less than 1/3 cannot veto the resolution to provide funds to develop a state held by an opposition party.

Kelantan citizens pay taxes, pay royalties, petroleum profits taken by central govt, etc. So why no federal funds provided for development? It is part of Malaysia! Because opposition cannot veto!!

Malaysians, please come to your senses! Give a strong vote for opposition to get control over Parliament, more than 1/3, get 2/3 if possible!! This will ensure that the BN cannot simply pass any resolutions without public debate by a strong opposition!

The stronger presence of opposition in parliament will ensure that no resolutions or constitution amendments will sail through! This will protect the rights of the minorities – the Chinese, the Indians, the rightful ‘bumis’ of east Malaysia, and other minorities!

Close both your eyes and cross the ballot papers in favour of DAP, PAS, PKR or any other opposition parties!

If the opposition fails to deliver over the next 5 years, then you can vote however you please in the next GE! This is your chance in a lifetime (remember that the past 50 years is already 50% or less of your lifetime!)

Vote ANY OPPOSITION on 8th March! If you FAIL, then Malaysia goes to the DOGS!!!

31. #31 by marD on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:44 am

A hint of childish desperation there in Johor BN! How could he threaten the voting public? Come on YB fight like a man and accept the democratic wish of the people. Remember YB, God gives and God takes in mysterious ways.

We need a strong opposition to ensure greater impartiality and better governance in our country. Is that too much to ask?

32. #32 by ablastine on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 2:03 am

An electorate that has been unwittingly mislead may be forgiven for voting for the BN but I cannot find any excuse as to why even somewhat learned and supposedly patriotic citizen of Malaysia, especially members of the minority race find the hatred in them to want to exterminate the oppositions. I find it hard to believe that a person of Dr Chua Soi Lek’s calibre cannot understand that the BN formula is but proven not workable. These race base component parties within the BN is a fail cause. The country simply cannot afford to have its business done according to race and starting from the BN itself the race categorization into Malay, Chinese, Indian should be forever banished from our vocabulory. There is only one race and that is MALAYSIAN. Malays, Chinese, Indians and others of Malaysian origin are all brothers and sisters and we should never devote our energy into downsizing each other for our true competitor, the whole wide world is not going to wait for us. Forget Ketuanan Melayu. Such notion is not only dangerous but also not sustainable because in todays’ age, nobody is born a master or a slave.

To all MCA, MIC and Gerakan candidates contesting this election, I hope you realise that by denying the oppositions their victories you are doing Malaysia an irreparable harm. I do not know the country can sustain another five more years of mismanagement, corruption and downright rot. Do not tell me that after 50 years in BN you do not know that the one who call the shots is UMNO and it is no more than a master and servant relationship. You should know that you cannot change the minds of these dinousaur warlords in UMNO and remaining in such unfruitful union is but disastrous for the country.

MCA, MIC and Gerakan, for the good of the country, resign from the contest and you will see on the horizon a new and better Malaysia coming up. Think hard. If BN wins as it has what direction do you think the country will be heading towards. As has been for the last 50 years- Into the longkang of course. IT IS UP to you to do the one and only honourable thing for the future of our children and grandchildren. Stop your campaign and walk out of BN and allow the country to be reborn.

33. #33 by robert wong on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:14 am

Kit, I really admire your figthing spirit and courage. If Malaysia has more “stateman” like yourself, this country is heading for a brighter future. You are the source of inspiration for all aspiring new DAP leaders. GOD bless you and your family

34. #34 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:17 am

cannottahan.

many turn up to listen to yb lim, years back but never voted for him. penangites. RIGHT?

prove me wrong me.

35. #35 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:07 am

most penangites ( MOST ) . have this great opportunity to vote the opposition this time. the national leaders of dap are all there including wan azizah at permatang pauh. guan eng, karpal, even jeff ooi have taken ( tentu mati ) sacrifice to be in penang.

BUT, HISTORY WROTE ONCE , THAT KIT SIANG AND KARPAL WAS EVICTED BY THE PENANGITES. THAT IS A FACT.

but when prices shoot up , high inflation , with penangites chi puak, noh puak no longer having any values, they grumble and still are grumbling. MOST PENANGITES will say parliament – goes oppostion, state seats – goes bn. typical KIASI ATTITUDE. so very afraid that their chief minister will go to umno. LOOK at sabah, and see what happened to the PROMISED supposed rotation of MENTERI BESAR. please grow up penangites.

it is pointless to say ” oh mr.lim kitsiang, i love you , please take care of your health and so on and on. ” ini cakap cakap saja. (GO AND VOTE DAP. GO AND VOTE FOR CHANGE.)

for cannottahan – being a third generation die hard penangites , SYABAS TO YOU. but are you a registered voter? you can pussy and footsy till 9th march,but you cannot vote.!!!!!!!!!!!!

AND, guan eng ( who had been to jail to seek justice for a young malay girl ). i remember your high spirit even though justice was not being fair to you, i remember that betty chew was than the only sole bread earner , i remember having coffee with you at melaka raya ) i will hope your sacrifice to take on the state of abdullah badawi will be WORTH YOUR EFFORT. BUT KNOWING YOU – you had been victimised not once but many times. and now i hope penangites HAVE BALLS TO VOTE FOR CHANGE.

36. #36 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:35 am

Talking about those bums in the District Education office, they are all likely to be UMNO members as common these posts allow them to act as go-in-between on teacher’s transfer and placement of students at particular schools. With payments all these so-called ‘considered’ recommendations can be had!
    In reality they have NO RESPONSIBLE functions AT ALL! Mostly they are the ones unwanted by those good and responsible headmasters. Of course a number of them today preside over state assemblies and other political arena. With this type of mentality prevailing in this country, there is ONLY WAY to go, DOWN HILL ALL THE WAY to ZIMBABWE, unless we vote for a change NOW!!!

37. #37 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:10 am

ADAM YONG,
    I tend to agree with you about Penangites and how they kicked out both Kit and Karpal in 1999. How could they do such a thing was my outburst then? Have they forgotten the sacrifice Kit and Karpal had made for Malaysians, I asked.
    So now, I hope they have realized their mistake and kick out that stupid and slavish Gerakan government and make Lim Guan Eng the new Chief Minister of Penang.
    That’s the only way they can redeem their credibility and honour as daring citizens.

38. #38 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:53 am

libra2.
    thank you for having good memory.

this is typical penangite attitute (MOST)..kiasi. no guts. nag only.

during the 1999 general elections, kit siang and karpal were indeed kicked out by the penangites. thats why i still cannot understand why guan eng, jeff ooi,karpal, chong eng are made sacrifical lambs for these kiasi nan. penang is the state of abdullah badawi, and these dap leaders are entering the lion’s den to be MAKAN BY BN.
    yet, penangites ng chai see.

koh admitted one billion ringgit contract to motorola to stay in penang. the one billion can be better use for penangites. if the investors are comfortable with the place,dont need such ‘bribery’.

penangites- where is your second bridge ? remember the government need to pinjam money from CHINA to build the bridge.

libra 2.
    guan eng has no intention to be the chief minister of penang. this much i know about him. his pocket got no money, yet he never begs. i just hope penangites have the GUTS AND GALLS AND BALLS TO VOTE FOR CHANGE. than the domino effect will be felt.

but like i have stated, penangites knows to grumble and grumble only. if gerakan or mca have been doing the right things, why resort to dishing goodies only now. !!!!!.

i really cannot tahan. PENANGITES. by the way, those penangites that have migrated to ss2 /pj have been very generous to support daps call for funds. so i will also support your penang laksa ,though it is sour instead of spicy.

39. #39 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:41 am

Worried how is Dr Teo now? We have over zealous OCPDs who are trying to be heros so Musa can notice them and get them promoted.
    There are good or reasonable cops as I see with my own eyes during nomination day.
    A Chinese cop (possibly MCA supporter)…an Inspector warned Opposition camp members to stop waving their flags and not make too much noise while at BN camp all these were happening. Of course we protested and argued for our rights….then came an Indian cop…also an inspector and he calm the situation down and told the chinese cop that this is only for the nomination period only and no need to get so worked up abt it…and we continued our singing and slogan calling….bravo to the Indian cop…guess he felt oppressed too…
    Please keep us informed abt Dr Teo’s situation and we pray she is ok and will be fine.
    Here’sne tough lady who is 7 mths pregnant and for the sake of the country and people of Labis & Johore, came out to fight for justice!!!! Given same situation to other women, they would prefer to stay back and wait for the child to be born before cont any such activities…. I take my hat off for Dr Teo….
    I wish to call upon all Labis voters to give their votes to Dr Teo (DAP) and can be assured that she will be another fearless MP who will be as pedas as FPK….get the message across to all frens in Labis and tell them not to fear…and that they are very lucky becuz they now have a gutsy & fearless lady who will fight for their rights…
    We shall look forward to her presence representing Labis in Parliament come 9 March.
    TQ Labis voters.

40. #40 by k1980 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:43 am

Mahathir, Abdullah’s predecessor, argues that corruption is increasing and calls for UMNO to replace the prime minister with Deputy Premier Najib Razak. Malaysia slipped to 43rd in Berlin-based Transparency International’s 2007 Corruption Perceptions Index from 39th in 2004, when Abdullah won his landslide.

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=newsarchive&sid=aNrhO6aKZ5mw

41. #41 by hkh on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:47 am

My hypothesis on why the ink is not used is that the ink ‘tak boleh pakai’. Maybe Kit or BERSIH can ask Rashid for a bottle to test.

42. #42 by showsomemercy on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:24 am

ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH i will pangkah DAP for parliment and state. I am not from penang but i will 101% support gurantee DAP.

Don’t be scared of what the government say. Government have to hear what we RAKYAT say! Not we hear what they said!

So come out and vote for a change. Make it a historic moment for Malaysia for your coming generations.

43. #43 by k1980 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:32 am

I hope Peer Gynt’s “Morning Mood” will greet us on the morning of 9th March, 2008 — the beginning of a new dawn for Malaysia, without BN

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PAbwMGZtIsY

44. #44 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:33 am

Black ink is good only if the electoral rolls are clean.
    Suppose a person is “sanctioned” to vote in 2 or 3 places – what is there to stop him from voting in one place and then heavily bandaging his whole marked finger or hand and then going to the second poll station?

Guess that RCI could be kept busy with a check into the EC.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/make-it-last-black-mark-for-bn.html

45. #45 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:36 am

showsomemercy :
    salute you.
    you admitted you are not from penang. you have courage and guts.
    if you are lady, i will kiss your cheek.( WITH PERMISSION )
    if you are man, i will shake your hand with both my hands.

I ONLY FEAR GOD.

46. #46 by tswern on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:50 am

How much the EC has spent to buy the Ink? What are they going to do with the Ink now? Send it back to get a refund or what?

Well, maybe there are some KIASI Penangnites. To that particular group of people, on 08.03.08, you SHOULD STOP being KIASI, and vote out BN!

To those that did not register, you could play your part by pursuading your parents and friends that have registered to vote the opposition (remember to register next timelaar, go post office, 5 minutes time only).

47. #47 by Dominique on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 12:07 pm

Uncle Lim.
    Im from Penang. DAP is assured of my vote.

48. #48 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:09 pm

“There can be no meaningful democracy without a viable and credible opposition in Parliament and State Assembly to ensure that the diverse opinions, views and criticisms particularly in plural Malaysia are heard loud and clear in the various legislatures.
    Ghani made the startling statement that he would not listen the DAP State Assemblymen elected to the Johore State Assembly on March 8.”

Ghani also said the concept of Bangsa Malaysia is not acceptable, and according to him Malays do not want such a thing, what nonsense. Ghani has been the Chief Minister of Johor over a decade, what has he done for Johor Bahru, our sourthen capital? With his reputation and his ongoing chairmanship in the proposed IDR projects which investors would want to invest there, people have had bad experiences in doing business with Ghani. If Ghani is elected and continues to be the CM of Johor, be prepared for the worst. If he refused to listen to elected opposition in the state assembly, don’t waste time talk to him, nobody listen to him anyway. Gahni is not a problems solver, he is the problem.

49. #49 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:15 pm

“I call on the voters of Johore to use their vote to teach both Ghani and Chua a lesson in democracy, that they must respect the wishes and decisions of the voters if they want to elect DAP representatives into the Johore State Assembly.”

Uncle Kit, Johoreans are good at petitions and collecting signatures only, within month over 100,000 signatures were collected in protest to escalating hardcore crimes in the state. I remembered attending the public conference you held there where Nazri made a farce. After that, what happened? More farce. Johoreans can live with it.

50. #50 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:27 pm

“I had to intervene to ask Abdul Majid to refrain from such an action, publicly being seen in a scuffle in trying to snatch the mike from the seven-month pregnant woman, which is not only ungentlemanly and completely lacking in chivalry but might harm the unborn babe Teo is carrying.”

Abdul Majid is just doing hid job under direct order from IGP Musa. “Get the mike by hook or by crook, I don’t care if you kill a pregnant lady and her unborn child in the process, I want the mike.” But IGP Musa had no choice either, he is under direct order of Abdullah and Najib. “We cannot lose, if we lose the Rakyat will find out how rich we are, they will be very angry. We must stop the oppositions from spreading more truths, get the mike, then we will use it to tell more lies.”

51. #51 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:43 pm

“But will the BN women candidate, let alone the BN men candidates, speak up for Teo to deplore the action of the Labis OCPD, endangering the life of the unborn in Teo’s womb?
    Nobody has any high hopes in this, particularly after the highly offensive and sexist billboards launched in the election campaign by a woman MCA parliamentary candidate against her opponent , Teresa Kok. (Seputeh Parliament), attacking her as a “loose woman” who would “two-time” her constituents.”

You can’t have high hopes in MCA when there’s no hope in in MCA. When a female politician resorted to higly offensive and sexist billboards to get herself elected, what will she use to get her job done for the people? More highly offensive and sexist billboards or more higly offensive and sexist of herself? I think she is jealous because Teresa Kok is beautiful and got lots of Male fans.

52. #52 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 1:54 pm

I’m from JB and I think the opposition will do better this time.

53. #53 by Democrats on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 2:34 pm

I’ve been reading the Star lately in its gotten bad to worse. Such one sided news. I know they belong to MCA, but then its still suppose to be newspaper. It’s the biggest lie concocted by the BN coalition. I loathe Wong Chun Wai and his team of editors and so called “journalist” and reporters. I suggest to all to boycott reading it, not to advertise in it and tell friends to stop reading it. Lets cut out their source of revenue.

54. #54 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 2:45 pm

Less 30% of members in the Malaysian Parliament are women and the image of cili padi Fong Po Kuan as a passionate speaker is a credit to women MPs, as well as breaking the male hegemony in the Parliament. Not only women cheered but men admired Fong when she fought with male Members of Parliament when they insulted women.

Malaysian love spicy food like nasi lemak, prawn mee, curry mee and asam laksa as they could stimulate dull lives. Similarly, the Parliament needs cili padi to stimulate it.

Chilis are rich in vitamin C and contain Dihydrocapsaicin and citric acid that help in digestion. Besides, chilis can enhance appetite, reduce inflammation, and ease pain. Our politics and the Parliament need cili padi to survive. Otherwise, we might fall sick after listening to the remarks made by some politicians.

Other than Fong Po Kuan, we could find other cili padi in this elections. The ruling coalition is cultivating cili padi after seeing the success of Democratic Action Party (DAP).

However, cili padi should be spicy not only in terms of speaking.

Mao Zedong, who liked to eat chilis humorously said: “If you want to eat chilis, you must be determined and not afraid of hardship.” Therefore, a cili padi should not talk nonsense like some of the MPs who touched on “spicy” issues but when they were questioned by other MPs, they just argued flippantly and could not convince others by reasoning.

One must eat correctly in order to ingest vitamin C in chilis. Similarly, a people representative should be reasonable, truthful and rightful to promote the spirit of democracy.

The amount and the kind of chilis should be added carefully into the dishes. Similarly, a person should talk in an appropriate manner. One might turn out to be a joke if he or she does not know the art of speaking and the skill of debating.

In fact, Malaysians do not see all young women candidates as cili padi. Malaysians are asking for cili padi who can lead the whole society to move upward, who is serious, sincere and reasonable instead of those “fake chilis” that cover up with chemical colouring. (By CHONG LIP TECK/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

55. #55 by voteforDAP on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 3:47 pm

In an Islamic country like Malaysia, women should be staying at home & care for the young. When election coming, women are asked to vote for BN. Now… do we want such country for your new generation of people who will protect us from being marginalized? this is not about Chinese, Indian or Kadazan Dusun or other races in Malaysia. It’s about equal rights be it chinese, indian or malay but also equal right in gender.

Should we vote for BN or what? We know how uncivilized the MP who spoke about women in the parlimen. In fact, most of the MPs from UMNO are a bunch of illiterate scum bags who speak like Lingam. He sound like me, he speak like me but he wasn’t me. So, I would definately won’t vote for these type of people. And all of you should check the background of these BN candidates. Most of them are SRP leavers or SPM leavers.

So, it’s important to be speak logical even if you were in parliment. even if you want to challenge an opposition – a women, think first before you speak or you will get LKM shoe thrown into your mouth if the simply blur out discriminating words against women.

People, it’s time to vote and I will not be surprised if the Barisan Rakyat can win big this time. 2008 is a “ong” year for the BR (Barisan Rakyat). May God bless all of us!

56. #56 by badak on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 3:59 pm

I stop reading the star and NST.I only read the SUN.I asked around ..Both the STAR and NST did not carry the news about the incident in Labis.I hope DAP will bring this matter up at all its ceramah.

From now till polling day all right thinking Malaysian must go out and help the oppositions parties.Because its no point reading main stream papers and listening to tne news.Its all about how good the BN goverment are.

Now they are using the two SPACE TOURIST to campaign for BN.Its just shock sendiri.Just pay USD130 milllion .Hey even MR BEAN CAN GO TO SPACE IF HE WANTS.

57. #57 by badak on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 4:18 pm

Confirm that the BN has a new COMPONENT PARTY.The Election Commision ( E.C ) I wonder how this bunch of ball polishing bigots sleep at night.

Just last week he call a press conference ,Condeming BERSIH ,For saying that ” This election EC will not be using the INDILIBLE INK” All this while he has been lying,To all the voters,After 6 mts of shouting that this will be the cleaners election.This ball polishing bigot has just shown the people of Malaysia that this is the most corrupted election ever.

58. #58 by badak on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 4:26 pm

Yesterday,s NST carried a news ,Which said that NAJIB Have been flying all over Malaysia campaining ,Using a goverment executive jet.A photo even shows him with his daughter on the jet having a nap.

Is this wrong ,as a consent citizen and voter can i made a police report,and what is the EC and ACA doing about it.

59. #59 by Phat-kor on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 4:45 pm

I’m embarassed, and I feel embarassed to be amongst people that are called malaysians. Wished that all of us are living in the tree tops instead to befit the character of this police officer.
    I’m just sick and tired of all these plentiful stories and just want to get over everything. Saturday is the day.

60. #60 by verbal-lash on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 4:53 pm

I am from JB too and my whole family will be voting BN out!! Tak boleh tahan the nonsense by Ghani and his cronies in Johor anymore.

61. #61 by K72 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:14 pm

After spending RM100mil of our hard earned money to space, the so called “ANGKA-SAWAN” or “Space tourist”, is now campaigning for BN (Barang Naik). Remember it was not the BN’s money, it is the rakyat’s money that paid for his “rocket taxi” fare there!! What a shame!! BN should have got him a one way ticket there (half fare and we save RM50mil), so that he could do his campaigning for BN from the space, probably he can become a MP there one day because our Rocket will be sending a lot of his BN’s friends there on 8/3/08!

62. #62 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:30 pm

Angkasawan has probably no choice as he is part of the BN fold.
    Some of those singing artistes though should have more sense as they may lose 30% to 40% of their fan base.
    Unless they are already so well established they couldn’t care less.

Economic issues are in the forefront of the campaign and it’s good the 70%(?) toll increase for Penang bridge and the RM1b incentive to entice Motorola have been unearthed.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/penang-moto-go-la-billion-ringgit-deal.html

63. #63 by grace on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 8:00 pm

When a man manhandle a woman, I call him a imbecile!
    When a man manhandle a PREGNANT Woman, I CALLED HIM A COW!

VOTE OPPOSITION!

To all women, you have had enough insult both from BN sexist candidate and MPs. Now it is from the police. Look at THERESA KOK, it is fellow woman BN candidate who hurled sexist caricature at her. Enough is Enough.
    OUT WITH CAROL!
    OUT WITH CHEW MUN FEI!!!

HAVE PRIDE! VOTE BN DAP!!!

64. #64 by noaki on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:55 am

BN = bunch of useless liar

65. #65 by honching on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 10:03 pm

Perak Sultan is represation & respectful by all of the Malaysian.One thing for sure that Sultan is for all of us,Chineses,Indians & Malays!

Why Perak MB can not be NGEH KOO HAM???Why?Why?Why?

He definitely is Malaysian,he definitely will leading Perak to success!!!He is not for Chinese only…he is for all Malays..Indians too!

We been waiting for a talented MB to lead us to the brightness in Perak.We been waiting for very very long time since my grand and grandfather….we dont want to let go this Golden opportunity….

honching