Malaysian PM dissolves parliament

AFP
February 13, 2008

MALAYSIAN Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi today dissolved parliament, paving the way for snap elections which are expected to see the ruling coalition’s majority eroded.

Abdullah’s popularity has plummeted as the nation is beset by mounting racial tensions, unprecedented street protests, anger over rising fuel and food prices, and high crime rates.

Announcing that the king had consented to dissolve parliament, Abdullah indicated he did not expect a repeat of the 2004 landslide when the Barisan Nasional coalition seized some 90 per cent of parliamentary seats.

“2004 was a special election and it was extraordinary. I pray that BN will get at least two-thirds of the votes in the upcoming election,” he told a press conference.

“I hope voters will understand the issues affecting our country objectively,” he said, adding that the election commission would decide on the polling date.

Voting must be held 60 days after parliament is dissolved, but the government traditionally allows just a two-week campaign period, which would mean the ballot in early March.

Abdullah appealed for calm during the campaign, in an apparent reference to a string of public rallies over the past few months which police have broken up with tear gas and water cannon.

“My hope is that during the voting, nothing untoward will happen – there will be no disturbances or trouble that will affect the voting process,” he said.

Abdullah heads the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) which leads the Barisan Nasional (National Front) multi-racial coalition that holds 200 of the 219 seats in parliament.

The Chinese-based Democratic Action Party holds 12, the fundamentalist Islamic party PAS has six and Keadilan which is led by the wife of dissident former deputy premier Anwar Ibrahim has one seat.

The government’s term expires only in May 2009 and some commentators say it is going to the polls early to ensure Anwar cannot contest. He was sacked and jailed in 1998 and is barred from politics until April this year.

In the next elections there will be 222 seats contested due to the creation of new constituencies. The assemblies in the 12 states and territories will also be contested.

DAP parliamentary opposition leader Lim Kit Siang condemned the election announcement which falls during celebrations for Chinese New Year.

“I think it shows a disregard and insensitivity of the diverse cultures and religions in the country,” he told AFP.

UMNO was also criticised for holding its annual talks during the Deepavali festival which is celebrated by Malaysia’s minority ethnic Indian community – an incident Lim condemned as a “debacle”.

Yesterday, Abdullah had tried to quell the rumours that he would dissolve parliament on the 13th – his favourite number – telling reporters “No, it won’t be tomorrow”.

Lim slammed the premier for the about-face.

“I think it’s most disgraceful and shocking after the assurance yesterday evening that there would not be a dissolution today,” he said.

1. #1 by BobSam on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:46 pm

Now it is time to take proof of issues to the people.

The people have to be informed that their silence can be viewed as their consent to the actions of these Desk Jockey Generals (DJG-Direktor Jeneral General).

Most of the perpertrators have a 2nd home overseas, it is the bulk of the poor Chinese, Indians & even non-Umno Malay’s who will be left behind in a Kenya/Sudan type of Malaysia.

This has got to stop. It is now a NIKE moment.

JUST DO THE RIGHT THING!

2. #2 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:50 pm

Most of the perpertrators have a 2nd home overseas– does this include the mullah with a mansion in perth?

3. #3 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:51 pm

You better pray that the opps dont win else you and your machai will be hung to dry!

4. #4 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:53 pm

All hypocrites! Why wait till election time to distribute “sweets and candies”? MCA is very opportunistic in this respect. It has always used Chinese schools to threaten the Chinese to win their votes. Now they are using the re-opening of SJK(C) Damansara as a weapon against the Chinese. What have they done for the past eight years when the school was closed down for no reason and left to rot?

5. #5 by PSM on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:54 pm

Isn’t that a clear out-right lie?!
    Yesterday he said no dissolution today & yet today he dissolves Parliment!
    If we can’t trust him in the “small” things he says, how can we trust him in the “bigger” things?!
    Promises that were made in the last GE were never carried out so you can bet it’s going to be the same this time around!

6. #6 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:08 pm

bodohwi said:
    “2004 was a special election and it was extraordinary. I pray that BN will get at least two-thirds of the votes in the upcoming election,” he told a press conference.”

In your report card, you said everything are in track and the country is in good shape. Why then have you got to pray to get at least two-thirds of the votes? If it is so good as you mentioned in your report card, people will vote for you. The real reason you pray is because you had failed us, the rakyat, and you are the biggest LIARS.

bodohwi said:
    “My hope is that during the voting, nothing untoward will happen – there will be no disturbances or trouble that will affect the voting process,” he said. ”
    Who are the one creating trouble? Are you trying to warn us that if umno loses, umno is going to create trouble? You better warn your goons not to create any trouble.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

7. #7 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:09 pm

He has been taking malaysians for a ride every day for the past 4 years— lying left, right and centre and not apologizing for his lies!

It’s too late to apologize, it’s too late
    I said it’s too late to apologize, it’s too late

It’s too late to apologize, it’s too late
    I said it’s too late to apologize, it’s too late
    I said it’s too late to apologize, yeah
    I’m holdin on your rope, got me ten feet off the ground…

8. #8 by Loh on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:12 pm

Let us bury racial politics in the country by not voting for MCA and MIC. Vote for the opposition, including PAS.

9. #9 by revelation on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:15 pm

ahhhh…what is new abt this Bodowi lying thru his nose? this is not the 1st time. remember when he said ;

no no, not married..only rumours, the next thing we know he got himself a Jin.

govt has no money to continue the ‘cynic’ bridge project to replace the causeway. but in the end paying more to ‘deconstruct’ the work half done. no need to even mention penang 2nd bridge, pgcc, economy corridors, pkfz bailout.

and remember he said govt didn’t purchase a new jet to ferry him and families during his ‘honeymoon’ all over the world? nxt thing we heard, yes the govt did but now thru ‘leasing’…watever he meant by that since we didn’t see any agreements, MOU, etc?

and what abt the recent catholic newsletter spat? at first he said ok, the herald can continue their publication. but the next few days in the news…’PM office’ directive is to banned them indefinitely and the word Allah is solely for islam.

hmmm…anyone else have more to add?? lets summarise them and put them in all the blogs!

10. #10 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:21 pm

2 Events , not planned but happened spontaneously., in Asia Pacific, one prime minister ( Kevin Rudd of Australia ) apologizing to the aborogine community for the past misdeeds of the Government , on the other hand the hopeless Malaysian prime Minister , continue to abuse the second largest community by dissolving the parliament when they are still celebrating CNY.

Just do the comparison and see for yourself ,how racist and abusive our very own PM. This type of leader should be rid off, the time is now, for God sake does he know this is now 2008, not 1958.

11. #11 by Jimm on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:24 pm

AAB were given the 200% assurance by his people that GE result will still be his for this year.
    So, we can vote any Opposition in any of the constitution we were polling, yet, with some many BN voters placement completed by EC since last year ….. the result will be a total surprise to all of us.
    Anyway, BN cannot by taken down by us as the rule is the force must come from inside and it’s KJ that can do such a mega restructuring to BN.
    A bridge too far..

12. #12 by somaris on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:29 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN,
    CHINESE,INDIAN.MALAY,SIKH ,THAI AND LAIN-LAIN
    N0w the TIME as come.
    SAY NO TO MCA-UMNO
    SAY NO TO MIC-UMNO
    SAY NO TO GERAKAN – UMNO
    SAY YES YES VOTE DAP
    our future is in our hand.
    god bless all malaysian

13. #13 by carloz28 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:36 pm

My biggest concern is, how can we ensure that the election is conducted in a clean and fair manner? WE ALL know that the EC is rotten to the cores, but can we prevent them from rigging the votes, casting shadow votes etc etc

For all i know, Rashid can just wield his magic wand and all DAP victories will become BN victories eventhough the whole world voted for BN!

14. #14 by Not spoon fed on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:42 pm

THE Government of Australia changed hands In November 2007. There were no arrests, no tear gas and
    no water cannons. The Government of John Howard left office, the Opposition has formed a government and
    everyone accepted the verdict.

For this, every Australian can feel justifiably proud. This playing by the rules is what has made Australia rich and a
    good place in which to invest. It is a country to which people want to migrate; not leave.

Now consider Malaysia. One weekend in November 2007, up to 40,000 Malaysians took to the streets in Kuala Lumpur to
    protest peacefully against the judiciary’s lack of independence, electoral fraud, corruption and a controlled media.

In response, they were threatened by the Prime Minister, called MONKEYS by his powerful son-in-law, and blasted
    with water cannons and tear gas. And yet the vast majority of Malaysians do not want a change of government. All
    they want is for their government to govern better.

http://www.michaelbackman.com/M7.html

15. #15 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:43 pm

I would suggest that ALL MALAYSIANS walk the talk. Contribute whatever little you may have. This is” It’s NOW or NEVER”!! They can only play with the ‘postal votes’, surely the EC has to annouce the total flying votes in the countries. No? how come? There are so many ministers, deputies and others, have they got enough such votes to be distributed throughout the country?? Whatever it is, the main concern is to get all the fence sitters to come out and cast their votes!! Not forgetting, PKR, DAP and PAS, use all your common sense to find solutions to all the squabbles on seat allocations. SOONEST!!! There should be only one-2-one fight to ALL seats being contested! be it State or Parliamentary.

16. #16 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:18 pm

…Amid the crowded blocks in the mostly Indian historic neighborhood known as Brickfields, Abdullah’s image is hard to find, which may be another way of residents there saying they are looking for a little something more than a paternalistic portrait to meet their expectations of what a modern political leader should represent.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/JB14Ae01.html

17. #17 by hyperventilating on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:40 pm

Time to change! Vote for any opposiitions, oppositions JOIN FORCE and kick the life out of BN

18. #18 by hyperventilating on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:44 pm

if BN cannot be taken down by outside, at least evryone can pray hard to what ever God they believe in for a miracle, KAPUT BN MAY all the BN leaders all down with a plague!…Heehehe

19. #19 by raven77 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:54 pm

The time has come…..it is now or never…..

20. #20 by Earshot on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:18 pm

“My hope is that during the voting, nothing untoward will happen – there will be no disturbances or trouble that will affect the voting process,” AAB said.

Voters who are seeking justice, fairplay, more democratic ideals and practices, cleaner government and a brighter Malaysia do not resort to such. No matter how disadvantaged or handicapped positions they have been cornered into by the ruling party, they have never resorted to such in each of the last 11 general elections. There is no reason at all then that this coming GE will be an exception.

Only those fearful of losing what they hold will resort to such lowly dirty tactics to ruin whatever is left of a democratic expression of the peoples aspirations.

21. #21 by boomingray on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:32 pm

imagine,12 years to 2020,the malays still preferred to be spoon-fed?
    Do you malays want this type of handicap govt.?actually,the ordinary malays were taken a huge ride by the UMNO elites,more and more malays have realised the scenario,so,if every malaysian switches to wind-of-change like U.S.A.,we will be competent when 2020 arrives,dont you all want that to happen?

i almost fell-off from my chair when i saw KJ with a group of monkeys asking for a change for the Kelantan seats!

22. #22 by peromyvi on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:40 pm

I hope all malaysian can vote for a check and balance type of government. If we continue with BN one day our children will die in this land we call home now. Until now I dont understand why the people are so reluctant to vote. BN just need 112 seat to form government. Even if it does not get 2/3 of the parliament seat. Malaysian cant even do simple maths and always let monkey politican threaten year after year. 2/3 is needed to change the constitution but 1/2 is needed to form the government so why are we always voting for something so rotten?

Can someone tell me if stability will continue under BN? The way i see it we will die a slow death under BN. The only way out is to have check and balance not like Singapore but like Australia. I pray for you Malaysia that its people will wise up. The last I read Singapore is charging foreigner 9.5k sgd tuition fee a year in NUS and NTU. Will the average Malaysian still be able to send their kids to a better university next door with the exchange rate at 2.3? Time will tell how far and miserable our education system has become thanks to BN and its never ending policy. What good is it to have more chinese school when the main issue is inequality of Malaysian? BN has become too racist and not progressive because it has no serious competitor. How can we aspire to be a strong country? Dont be suprise after 2010 Singapore with a population of 4.5 million will have an nominal gdp economy as big or bigger than Malaysia. Then we are really loose face. Small island but big economic foot print. What can we expect from our children who graduate from UM in the future? UM continue loss of reputation and slide is a good example of how the future Malaysian will become if we continue under this path. The enemy is out there and we are competing with the world not among ourselves.

23. #23 by peromyvi on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:49 pm

I would like to post a question to everyone reading this blog will you want to become an opposition with no cars, no datukship, no money, constant harrassment in the parliament from the ruling govt representative and no access to media? Why are there such people who wants to be opposition if there are no benefit? On the other hand if u want to be rich u can join BN.

I vote to continue to cheer this group of fighters who may be jailed anytime in Malaysia who in my believe are cleaner than any of the minister that we have now. So Malaysian if you ask yourself this then I am sure u will be as puzzled as i am with this paradox. We can call it the Malaysian paradox since it is left unsolved for 50 years now

24. #24 by r.shekar on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 11:21 pm

After holding UMNO general meeting during Deepavali, now dissolve the parliament during this CNY. Is this called racial tolerance by the BN? MIC was keeping quiet, and now MCA and Gerakan also keep quiet. Are we going to vote for this cowards???? it’s time for change, now or never. show the peoples power to them and change this corrupted gov. Lets vote for opposition.

25. #25 by kosmoalpha on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 11:24 pm

it now or never..vote for the change..a change for a better tomorrow,a chance for the future which we will not hav it with the corrupted,racist,every thing is self-gain n super hypocritical umno/BN front!!hidup rakyat…hidup bangsa malaysia..for all the right minded malaysian irregardless of race…!!a change we all can believe..!!!!!

26. #26 by dranony on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 12:46 am

DAP supporters,
    if your constituency has a UMNO-PAS-Spoiler fight, vote PAS.

PAS supporters,
    if your constituency has a MCA-DAP-Spolier fight, vote DAP.

Set aside your differences, just to deprive the BN of 2/3.

It is inevitable that BN will win enough seats to govern.
    It has enough crooked, or selfish, or cajoled, or intimidated voters, to win at least 50%-60% of seats.
    Shame many of them, so that the BN loses their brutish 92% domination, and know that they have to be more accountable to the rakyat.

27. #27 by Loh on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 1:02 am

///Voting must be held 60 days after parliament is dissolved, but the government traditionally allows just a two-week campaign period, which would mean the ballot in early March.///

PM AAB had to request dissolution of the parliament today so that even if the EC Chairman allowed 60 days as campaign period, voting had to be held by 12 April, three days before Anwar is eligible to contest. AAB is prepared to be called a liar in dissolving the parliament on the day that he claimed would not happen. It goes to show how afraid he was of Anwar. AAB also could not trust that EC Chairman would follow his dictates, though we know very well that EC is not independent. But then, there might be powerful people within UMNO who like to see AAB earn his position as a MP. So, AAB is not in control of UMNO. How can he be when he delegated all power except in signing his name on documents?

28. #28 by damianyeow on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 1:36 am

I hope by now, the voters in Penang, Seremban, Kota Melaka & especially PJ & Subang Jaya will finally wake-up to the ugly but true fact that the BN will no longer provide ‘iron rice-bowl’ for you, the miracle of economic-growth of yester-years is no more, & will never repeat again ever. Want to know why? we just happen to be ‘lucky’ while china & India is sleeping or just awakening during early& mid 90’s period.
    Now China, India, Vietnam, even Thailand with their increasingly reformed, free & open market, being lucky will not help. Insisting on Bumi quota on foreign investor will not help, having no vision or ideas of an economic plan will not help, putting ‘duds’ jobless local grads in the Ministry of Finance will not help. In fact, your rice-bowl will slowly be filled with sand, come next generation, it WILL
    be fill with sand, & only god can help you when your children will curse you for ruining their future. If you think things are bad now, I have news for you, it will get worse, if BN is still standing by this 12th election with 2/3 majority. The only reason why you have a job now is in the past the quota system is not fully enforced, so again u’re lucky but not your children, as time goes by, the quota will slowly squeeze you out from all level & all sectors of the private sector. This is proven(clear & present evidents), check with any of your relatives who are bank Managers, cannot hire non-malay employees, there are NO MORE chinese majority-owned Banks, NO MORE major car-distributers, NO MORE Hotel license, NO MORE Insurance license, NO MOREtaxi-transport license, ,contracts of any kind from the gomen, no wonder all our public building & bridges are falling apart. The only ones left are crooked people with ties with MCA of course. & yet these people don’t realize that even their time is coming to an end very soon…
    So wake-up people, I don’t understand your indifference & ‘Boh-Cap’ attitude, this is your own future we are talking about, it is so obvious what this UMNO gomen is doing now & what it will do it the future, again-2 documented proofs have been reported by LKS
    herculean efforts in this Blogs, & still PJ people ‘Boh-chap’, u want to enjoy eating sand is it?

29. #30 by KS R on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 3:16 am

Hi Uncle

Sorry, BADAWI IS NOT THE PRIME MINISTER. The real Prime Minister is Khairy so he discide the vote day.

I pray every race will support the Opposition party and time to change GOverment . Apa nak jadi. half past six

30. #31 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 7:16 am

To me, its horror that our PM lied, not hide the truth, not misdirect, not shade the truth, he plain LIED. How is it we have set a standard so low that this is acceptable and excusable of the highest officer of the land.

What troubles me immensely is that he did not think much about it, that in fact, it was so easily done. Its not about morality but about weakness. The man is weak, his moral foundation is weak, his character highly flawed.

So what is really at stake here? Well, if UMNO wins Kelantan, it means no one else matters. Really that is what it comes down to. They are going to say – too bad.. They have Kelantan and Malay heartland and if you feel wronged, too bad. Our anger don’t mean much unless we take it to them. Hindraf 5 action is more than justified given this…

31. #32 by k1980 on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 8:18 am

Hey, beta mana ada bohong… beta cuma tak cakap benar!
    http://elizabethwong.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/aab.jpg

32. #33 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 9:59 am

Malaysiakini vox populi:
    ‘Does the PM think we’re dumb fools?’
    Feb 14, 08 9:44am

No, I think the PM has consistently shown that he is an inveterate dumb fool. He just doesn’t have the brains to say something real sensible when it counts. Imagine the mebarassment to Malaysia when this PM represents the country in all the international meetings!

Malaysians would be dumb fools if we re-elect BN helmed by this dumb fool.

33. #34 by boh-liao on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 10:51 am

MCA and Gerakan and their bosses hailed AAB’s lying through his teeth strategy and decision to dissolve the parliament on 13.2.08, during the CNY celebration period: Correct, correct, correct!

Now it’s time for them to collect their votes: Pom, pom, pom. Macam itu, senang saja.

34. #35 by boh-liao on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 10:59 am

“Malaysians would be dumb fools if we re-elect BN helmed by this dumb fool.”

But the naked truth is that we are a nation of kiasi or NEP-greedy fools and simpletons forever willingly grateful (for unknown reason) to BN cheats – as shown by the constantly BN-biased GE results.

35. #36 by caishen on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 12:53 pm

Do the Opposition Parties has one common symbol like the BN?
    So people like us have phobia to certain party, they might vote for BN.

36. #37 by democrate on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 2:27 pm

PM Dolah is a shepherd man who tell lies and we call him a Liar.
    That is why his half past six cabinets have been following him to lie till now , sweets are distributing every where to woo votes.
    Come on everybody pass sms to friends and relatives to reject all these POISONING sweets and go for Opposition and teach BN a lesson for their arrogance !

37. #38 by kosmoalpha on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 3:19 pm

????,????!!!

38. #39 by ngahc on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 4:49 pm

When you cast your vote, please remember:

what they said in 2006 UMNO general assembly ;

what KJ said about your race;

what Keris wielding mean for you;

what is reported in 2006 Auditor’s General report;

Don’t forget what they have done to you long before general election. Don’t forget what they will do to you immediately general election is over.. Don’t be cheated by election candies and brief moment of good feeling about good racial relationship.

39. #40 by jfl on Friday, 15 February 2008 - 11:59 pm

Voters in Melaka, please remember what BN government do to all pig farmers in Paya Mengkuang!!!
    Please think of the corruption when Melaka was hit by floods, why some people get extra money and rice, whilst some didn’t even get their shares?
    Why voters for DAP suddenly transferred to other places like Duyung so that they can steal DAP’s Melaka parliament stronghold of Kota Melaka.
    If in your constituency the opposition is PAS, still vote for the opposition, don’t vote for BN then suffer for till the next elections.

40. #41 by ktteokt on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 9:07 am

Since parliament has been dissolved, does Malaysia still have a Prime Minister? This struck my mind when I read the China Press a couple of days ago where BN had place a whole page advertisement on the former cabinet with AAB’s photo at the top with OKT’s picture on the right and Semi Value’s picture on the left. The caption below OKT’s picture read “Chairman, MCA” and the caption below Semi’s picture read “President, MIC” but what they wrote below AAB’s picture is a mockery, “Prime Minister, Malaysia”. Is AAB proclaiming himself to be PM at a time when Malaysia does not even have a Parliament? Whose PM is he? Who appointed him?