LKS-LGE father-and-son commitment for democracy and justice – nothing to be ashamed unlike other father-and-son teams

Recently, I had been the victim of calumny by two Gerakan leaders, former Gerakan President and now adviser, Datuk Seri Dr. Lim Keng Yaik and the Gerakan secretary-general and Umno favourite as the next Gerakan Penang Chief Minister, Datuk Seri Chia Kwang Chye.

Keng Yaik and Kwang Chye have accused the “Lim Kit Siang-Lim Guan Eng father-and-son” of wanting to build a “Lim” dynasty in Penang, with the former claiming that I had been drummed out of Penang and that he would ensure that the Lim Kit Siang-Lim Guan Eng father-and-son team would again be defeated. Keng Yaik even alleged that I would abandon Perak and together with Guan Eng jointly “attack” Penang.

First of all, I do not want to use the word “proud” but let me state that Guan Eng and I have nothing to be ashamed in dedicating the best part of our lives to the betterment of the nation and people to promote democracy, forge international competitiveness, fight injustice and inequality regardless of race, religion or region.

Although both of us paid a heavy price for our political beliefs and convictions, this is the expression of our love and loyalty to Malaysia!

We are not like other father-and-sons in the political arena as we are not in politics for wealth, position or titles.

Both Keng Yaik and Kwang Chye were conspicuously silent about other father-and-son teams particularly where one son, without any track record, could at the age of 27 embark on corporate acquisitions exceeding RM1.2 billion in a matter of months raising the question whether there had been improper use and influence of the father’s political and Ministerial position. And both Keng Yaik and Kwang Chye are still deafeningly silent in their cowardice and opportunism!

Guan Eng had joined me in the Kamunting Detention Centre during the Operation Lalang mass arrests under the Internal Security Act (ISA) in 1987. We were among the first of over 106 to be arrested and the last two to be released in April 1989.

This had been my second ISA detention as the first time I was incarcerated was in 1969. But Guan Eng had gone one step further as he was jailed in Kajang Prison for 18 months under the draconian laws of the land in defending the dignity of an underaged Malay girl – resulting in his disqualification as Member of Parliament and being barred from standing for elective office for five years.

Although justice and fair play are too luxurious a concept and principle for Keng Yaik and Kwang Chye if they had to survive in the carnivorous world of Barisan Nasional and Gerakan politics, it does not mean that they are justified in spreading calumnies and falsehoods against Guan Eng and me.

I will give another recent example. On Sunday, in accusing the DAP of “pitting friends against friends” and “relatives against relatives” for its own political end, he accused me of fielding Gooi Hock Seng against his then brother-in-law Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon in the 1990 general election in the Tanjong Bungah state seat.

Let me put the record straight. I do not want to go into the details of the DAP strategy of the Battle of Tanjong 2 which decided to field DAP stalwarts against the Barisan Nasional stalwarts to make a bid for Penang state power, resulting in DAP stalwarts coming out of incumbent seats to contest in more difficult constituencies and against redoubtable Barisan Nasional candidates in order to win the necessary majority to form the Penang State Government.

Everyone of the DAP leaders in Penang took part in this collective strategy to pit the DAP stalwarts against the Gerakan and MCA stalwarts which involved fielding Gooi Hock Seng against Tsu Koon.

I had personal qualms when I first heard the proposal of pitting Gooi Hock Seng against Tsu Koon but accepted it as the strategy was presented as a package by the strategic team headed by Gooi Hock Seng himself.

On the night the DAP slate of candidature in Penang for the Tanjong 2 Battle was announced, I received an irate call from Gooi Hock Seng’s wife berating me for deliberating pitting her husband against her brother. How could I tell her that this was the decision of her husband and his strategic team and that it had not emanated from me. This was one of the cases where even as DAP Secretary-General I had to “eat dead cat”.

I am putting this record straight as I cannot allow Kwang Chye to go on a vilification and demonisation spree against DAP leaders over another canard.

I said in Ipoh last week that I propose to defend the Ipoh Timur parliamentary seat unless higher party and national strategic considerations require otherwise.

However, are Keng Yaik and Kwang Chye being fair to the people of Penang in claiming that I had been drummed out of Penang politics because of their rejection of the DAP’s political struggle for justice, freedom, equality and fair play?

Keng Yaik and Kwang Chye may not know that I have been staying in Penang for nearly two decades.

May be an opportunity should be given to the people of Penang to express themselves clearly so that they do not have to eat a “historic dead cat” created by Keng Yaik and Kwang Chye.
The 12th general election, which should be held within the next 30 days, would provide an opportunity for the Penang voters to put to rest another Lim Keng Yaik-Chan Kwang Chye canard.

(Speech 3 at the Penang DAP Open House at Cheah Association, Penang on Sunday, 10th February 2008 at 11 am)

1. #1 by MAJULAHMALAYSIA on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 5:01 pm

This is one of the sign Gerakan are out of idea or bankrupt of idea.

2. #2 by Godson on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 5:35 pm

ALL SLAVES OF UMNO. All running out of ideas. 50 years the rakyat still struggling under their elephant brain leadership while our neighbour over took us way ahead. What a shame. Dont you rakyat feel malu? Its time to wake up and let DAP lead the way.

Its time to change. Dont be scared. Kick BN out.

Salute to uncle Kit.
    GOD BLESS DAP.

3. #3 by hiro on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 5:54 pm

There’s no political father and son team who could claim the same level of personal sacrifices as both LKS and LGE.

I’ll be damned if Penangites believe in this father-son dynasty gibberish being drummed out by Gerakan and MCA. They only have themselves to blame for another 5 years of economic and education slump, regressed public safety and public integrity, corrupt judiciary and police force, incompetent ACA, regressed educational standards and more racist approach by UMNO.

4. #4 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 5:59 pm

Sdr Lim,
    These are eunuchs, one after another, never ending supply of eunuchs from the Gerakan and MCA. How despicable can they be? They can’t fight, but they also want to sabotage others who are capable and willing to fight. Look, Keng Yaik you started as a young man full of promise but today I must said you are a pathetic whimper. Please you have enough, please go into your twilight years with some dignity in you. I think the opposition, particularly the DAP’s Guan Eng and Kit Siang have suffered enough for their belief to bring honour and dignity to all Malaysians in this country. It is best that scum bag like you just disappear into oblivion for you will not be missed.

And for you Kwan Chye, the new UMNO’s favourite. Please don’t think too highly of yourself when you are UMNO’s favourite. It only indicates you are spineless, gutless and probably clueless as to the fundamental struggle in this country. For goodness sake, politics is not like selling ice cream. You must genuinely believe in the cause you are fighting for. Kwan Chye, I want you to touch your heart and say in all honesty and sincerity that you are championing and fighting for multiracial Malaysia and not your own meaningless position and some pieces of scum. Twenty thirty years down the road, you will be cursed just like I curse Keng Yaik now.

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 6:38 pm

YB, I join many millions of Malaysians who have a deep respect for the sacrifices and devotion of your goodself and your son, LGE for all the folks in Malaysia regardless of their colour, creed or religion.

I take this opportunity to thank you and wish you many, many more years of faithful and incorruptible serevice to the cause of a Malaysia for all Malaysians and not just for UMNO-ites, proselytised Pakistanis, Mamaks, Bangladeshis and Indonesians who have slipped in as Bumis under some wolves’ clothings.

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 6:41 pm

BTW, Keng Yaik is such a petty, measly has-been for choosing a fight without a cause.

If Keng Yaik has some sense, he should begin to write his memoirs and relate how he has contributed dubiously to the betterment of malaysian society rather than spewing hot and foul breath from an old and stale poltical horse.

7. #7 by lhteoh on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 7:06 pm

I salute you YB, you spent you entire life to fight for the betterment of all Malaysians, unlike MCA and gerakan only work for their personal benefits. Your hard work should be paid off in the coming GE. The year of rat is the year for change, end to BN. To Penangites please support and vote for opposition for the future of your own children.

8. #8 by raven77 on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 7:10 pm

And when you win Penang….come what may….show the world that the Penang economy can be larger then the rest of Malaysia put together……..

9. #9 by mendela on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 7:12 pm

It is a commonsense that the main purpose of at least 80% of MCA and Gerakan party members joining their respectively party are meant to make monetary gains.

These people are just running dogs for UMO.

10. #10 by penangboy on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 7:37 pm

Mr Lim

It was a pleasure meeting you today at the open house. My 2 sons were delighted to see their papa’s most talked about person in his life. Do read my posting – it’s time. It’s time for a change…and a time to make Malaysia a better place.

11. #11 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 7:40 pm

12. #12 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 8:02 pm

13. #13 by cemerlang on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 8:13 pm

Didn’t Donald Lim said that Penangnites know better ?

Hey ! Datuk Doctor Chua Soi Lek and son ! This is a new one. ha ! ha !
    Oh ! Don’t forget our long line of Prime Ministers and their sons. Should we just say all our Prime Ministers just want to hold on to power ?

14. #14 by devilmaster on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 8:39 pm

“We are not like other father-and-sons in the political arena as we are not in politics for wealth, position or titles.”

this statement alone sums it up. Let’s see whether Penangites are stupid enough to believe in Lim Keng Yaik and Chia Kwang Chye’s accusations or not.

btw, i am happy to hear that you will be defending the Ipoh Timur parliamentary seat, but i would prefer DAP to concentrate on Penang for this coming GE as this will be a rare golden opportunity. Thomas Su could have no problem moving up to contest the Ipoh Timur seat. He is now the Pasir Pinji assemblyman after all.

15. #15 by devilmaster on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 8:49 pm

correction: Thomas Su SHOULD have no problem…

16. #16 by Edchin on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 9:14 pm

I have posted this comment in another thread a few days ago but in the interest of fighting for Penang I will post it again here.

“Penang must wake up from the 35 year bad dream.

In the 60’s and up to early 70’s Penang was a free port, an elegant city, a pearl (Pearl of the Orient it was known in yesteryears) and a joy of a place for locals and tourists alike. When Penangites voted for opposition in 1969 they were hoping for an even brighter future. But when opposition turncoat went under the skirt of BN it was the start of a vision turning into a bad dream.

In the 35 years under BN was there really an improvement (relative to other places in Malaysia) for Penang? Chinese CM, yes, but look at what is really happening in the state! Numerous returning tourists are aghast at the state of Penang now. The poor 40 odd % of Penangites have been screaming all these years but only to find their voice muted. When necessary, the bitter pill has to be swallowed. Wake up from the bad dream before it becomes a NIGHTMARE.”

17. #17 by smeagroo on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 9:17 pm

GERAKAN, time for u guys to GERAK and get the heck out of Penang.

If those 2 buffoons are so concerned abt father and son team, pls also look into Father and Son-in-Law team.

DOnt be a foll and make an ass out of themselves.

18. #18 by Daniel Quah on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 9:24 pm

I have enough of BN ruling in Penang.. most of the non-malay in Penang op for DAP and Opposition..Uncle LIm, if you put more effort in this few week in Penang..i believe you chances to win this state is piece of cake..BUT you must also try to tackle the mainland Penang cause it fill with UMNO supporter there..PAS and Keadilan will give them a run for their money if a good strategy was well planned…

19. #19 by caishen on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 9:34 pm

Uncle Lim,
    I believe you are still the greatest leader among the greatest!
    If DAP capture Penang this coming Election, I believe Penang shall be transform into a city just like Singapore!
    I believe this is THE vision why you need this father&son partnership.
    Don’t bother about what he say…to me LIM K Yaik is history!
    He is no different from the BIG-MOUTH…Sammy Veloo & the TAIKO…UMNO-( Until Midnight No Outcomes )lah..

20. #20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 9:34 pm

hmmmm, such comment by Chia Kong Chye is very dangerous.

If his master were to reflect on this statement, perharps he’s the one who will also end his political eunuch career. As Son in Law and Father In Law wishes to built a dynasty in Malaysia. he could well be in deep shit for this kind of no-brainer comment.

Gerakan, always a traitor, from opposition to this regime.

21. #21 by Wurotzman on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 9:47 pm

Ignore what the people from UMNO says Kit, you and Guan Eng are doing a great job providing checks and balances to our society and to our politics. Both of you have NOTHING to be ashamed of.

22. #22 by Short-sleeve on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 10:19 pm

Lim Keng Yaik??? Ahhh … dont waste my time with ball carriers.

23. #23 by Godson on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 10:22 pm

I have had enough of BN. Its time to change. We must be daring to change. Look around us, our neighbours are catching up. Elephant brains cant do much now. They all run out of ideas.

We want CHANGE.

BN is going down. BN is going down. BN is going down.

GOD BLESS DAP.

24. #24 by boomingray on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 10:34 pm

these MCA and Gerakan goons,they are looking for wealthy life-styles,they are also scared of ‘Operasi Lallang’,they feel more comfortable with BN,so they dont mind selling-out Chinese’s rights!

25. #25 by Jonny on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 10:37 pm

The LIM dynasty? Come on. I know Uncle Lim is now a ‘Datuk’ in his own right (being grand-dad) – how many people of his age are still so gutsy and so active? Even people half his age would have been put to shame by his rigorous daily schedule. For what?

Building a dynasty? Uncle Lim is no TAN SRI.

If dynasty, what about our Honourable PM, his Son-In-Law, his Son. And also Hishamuddin and his family in UMNO. isn’t all these dynasties in the making too?

Not only politics. But economic clout.

If the Chinese are so dumb to believe, they have themselves be blamed and STOP COMPLAINING AND WHINING when you do not even vote. Or you actually counter-vote.

Suffering is bliss for the Chinese then, for another 5 years. It is not eternal. Just 5 years.

26. #26 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 11:21 pm

That was a call to limkamput to exercise more restraint in the use of words like “scumbag” and other obscenities when addressing a political adversary – that got deleted.

However ‘passionate’ you may want others to think you feel about the issues, there’s no need to over do it. YB Kit is running a respectable blog here. This is not an ordinary political blog. This one is run by the Leader of the Opposition as he is referred to in Parliament. It is time you show the kind of respect that it deserves!

27. #27 by HB Lim on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 11:32 pm

UMNO has never really let go of their dream of taking control of Penang. Their demands in respect of Penang are increasing in intensity. That is why Gerakan has to form an alliance with the MCA to counter that UMNO force. See how they have been having joint events and campaigns. MCA has proven to be a traitor to the Chinese. Gerakan at one time was jealous of and against MCA’s foray into Penang. But now Gerakan has seen it fit to work with the traitor and therefore, how good can an alliance between MCA and Gerakan be for Penang Chinese or non-Malays in the long run? Their alliance is to protect their short term personal selfish interest, not to preserve whatever is left of Chinese or non-Malay rights in Penang. We just cannot trust them. Let Penang be perpetually under non-Malay control by voting for a party which would not sell away non-Malay rights and which would at the same time respect Malay rights, even if that party is controlled by a father and son team. Non-Malays must not lose Penang. It seems now that the only logical and realistic choice left is the DAP.

28. #28 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 11:38 pm

“In the 60’s and up to early 70’s Penang was a free port, an elegant city, a pearl (Pearl of the Orient it was known in yesteryears) and a joy of a place for locals and tourists alike.”

I don’t know about it being an elegant city but a historical city it is. It still is today but is one aspect of the city that has been fast disappearing. It is the home of premier schools, some of the oldest and leading schools including mission schools. That too is an image that is fast disappearing.

It should have been allowed to retain its free port status – but imagine the revenue the federal government was losing. Who knows where it would have taken this island state to today.

When it comes to voting you cannot blame Penangites for wanting to keep the cake and eat it. They have always chosen to vote against the political party that runs the federal government, believing a stronger opposition would help check its excesses, and to vote for the same party that would best take care of their backyard, if you will. That way they believe and still do that they could attract enough federal funding for their projects – and continued economic development.

But it comes with a price.

29. #29 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 11:58 pm

Ask Lim Keng Ya.. n his son, n Chia Kw. Ch. to withdraw from BN, and form an opposition party, then only are they fit to comment on LKS- LGE team otherwise, they (Lim Keng Ya.. n Chia Kw. Ch.) should keep his mouth shut

30. #30 by dawsheng on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 12:15 am

Well, how about the Ong brothers dynasty in MCA?

31. #31 by jedyoong on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 12:39 am

Dear YB,

I admit I am uncomfortable with the father-son monopoly in DAP. I believe Mr Lim Guan Eng will need to prove that he can lead the party forward by delivering this general election like you did in so many past elections.

Although worse abuses have occurred in Barisan Nasional where it was probably more like family EMPIRE, in my humble opinion, for the sake of meritcoracy, an organisation must not only be fair but seen to be fair.

Lim Guan Eng made an impression to me when he was thrown into jail. He was fighting the cause of a Malay girl against the then Malacca Mentri Besar, (now Tan Sri ??) Rahim Tamby Chik. I distinctly remembered that he lost his licence to practise as a qualified accountant because of the two-year sentence.

For me, Mr Lim Jr could chosen a very successful career in business, finance or banking. Politics, or rather Opposition politics may not be as materially rewarding as being in Barisan Nasional.

As a young woman with a similar professional background before becoming a journalist, I understand what a great sacrifice Mr Lim Jr has made in forgoing the golden path of financial success.

After so many years, I’m now 30 and Mr Lim Jr is still fighting.

Have we asked what is he fighting for? For power? Could he not be more powerful through other means?

Many children of senior politicians in the Opposition and BN has settled abroad. Although I don’t fall in the group, I too plan to migrate.

I don’t think I can do what Mr Lim Jr did, it is a pretty selfless sacrifice to stay and fight what I believe to be a lost cause.

That the DAP under the Lim’s continue the good fight may the few things that give the non-bumiputeras hope.

So I think BN should not throw stones in glass houses. If I list down the family EMPIRES in BN I may need to spend another hour or so….after all, Mahathir alone will merit at least 1000 words…

I wish the DAP all the best and good luck in the coming general election.

Gong Xi Fa Chai.

God Bless.

Sincerely,
    Jed Yoong

32. #32 by jedyoong on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 12:42 am

To be clear by “financial success”, I mean the BN type of “financial success” or in business. Maybe there is money to be made in the Opp. I wouldn’t know.

33. #33 by BlackEye on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 1:34 am

It is true that the politics of race and cronyism has led to the creation of financial empires by families who have control or even monopoly in some cases over the nation’s decision making process.

Corrupt politicians have carved personal financial empires out of the chaos so to speak, for themselves and their families, and their cronies. This transcends race, religion and even political affiliations.

YB Kit and his family has made a huge sacrifice in defense of democracy in Malaysia. While some may disagree with the way the family has held on to power in the political party they lead, their contribution to king and country is equaled to none. What is wrong with political dynasties if they bring stability to the Party?

34. #34 by requiem87 on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 2:40 am

Jed Yoong…there’s no money to be made in the opp. the opposition MPs and state assemblymen sometimes have to even fork out money !

35. #35 by limkamput on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 2:54 am

YB Kit and his family has made a huge sacrifice in defense of democracy in Malaysia. While some may disagree with the way the family has held on to power in the political party they lead, their contribution to king and country is equaled to none. What is wrong with political dynasties if they bring stability to the Party? BlackEye

I think you got the think process all wrong. It is wrong if the Lim family has held on to the power. But if it is their leadership and credentials which command the support of the party members and Malaysians in general, then it is perfectly acceptable. Political dynasties are wrong even if they bring stability. That is called dictatorial ship. Sons succeeding fathers are alright if there are based on merit and free contest. So before you teach others how to spell the word kindergarten, I suggest you take a mirror and examine yourself deeply.

36. #36 by BlackEye on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 2:59 am

Splitting hairs is not going to help your argument. That was an opinion expressed by Jed Yoong. Maybe you’d like to call her names too?

37. #37 by BlackEye on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 3:03 am

“YB Kit and his family has made a huge sacrifice in defense of democracy in Malaysia. While some may disagree with the way the family has held on to power in the political party they lead, their contribution to king and country is equaled to none. What is wrong with political dynasties if they bring stability to the Party?”

Which part of my statement don’t you understand? Maybe I can help.

38. #38 by BlackEye on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 3:05 am

“That is called dictatorial ship.” limkamput

Is that the one that floats on water?

39. #39 by laifoong on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 3:10 am

..ha..ha..ha! he can’t spell dictatorship! …lol

40. #40 by limkamput on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 3:12 am

That was a call to limkamput to exercise more restraint in the use of words like “scumbag” and other obscenities when addressing a political adversary – that got deleted. Darkhorse

May be you want to check it was yours that got deleted first. Scumbag yes, other obscenities no, I am not like you.

Are you here just to read my posting? There are other bloggers using all sorts of words here but somehow they never get your attention. I know you don’t like me but please don’t stalk me.

41. #41 by limkamput on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 3:39 am

Which part of my statement don’t you understand? Maybe I can help. BlackEye

I don’t think you are in any position to help yourself, so forget about helping others. Please don’t blame Jedyoong. Just learn to accept that you don’t have the faculty to think at higher level. Seriously I am not splitting hair. What I said was fundamentally different from what you conveyed earlier.

Ok, I admit I made the mistake. My original sentence was “That is dictatorial”. I changed it into “That is called dictatorship” to make it clearer for you. That was how the mistake happened. I am sorry.

42. #42 by undergrad2 on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 3:48 am

I believe it is more fruitful to reflect on these observations below, rather than be distracted by childish outbursts which are trashing the blog, pulling this political blog down to new lows. I really think the moderator should do something.

“Meanwhile, Democratic Action Party (DAP) relies on the anti-government sentiments at the moment. But this is only a temporary phenomenon. DAP might be defeated in Chinese constituencies like Penang and Perak if the situation changes. Please don’t forget that voters are forgetful, DAP should not ignore the factors of strategies and timing.”

“As all the political parties have their own problems, it is worried that some politicians might play with racial issues during the elections and it might be worse than the situation in the past. “
    “While the political parties are worrying about their own political interests, they should as well concern the future of the country. Hopefully, the political parties would prioritise the national interests rather than their own interests. “ (By LIM SUE GOAN/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily)

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 3:57 am

It is wrong to treat a political blog like this as your personal blog.

44. #44 by SIMPLYJUSTICE on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 4:27 am

THERE CANNOT BE A MONOPOLY IN POLITICS. JUSTICE WILL FAIL. PERHAPS IT IS MORE PARTICAL IN HOOLYWOOD / BOLLYWOOD OR OTHER WOODS

45. #45 by Loh on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 6:10 am

Father and son team in the opposition is very different from father and son, or son-in law team in the government. The former does not use the position to create wealth, while the later not only used the position to enrich themselves, but also to keep power in the family like creating dynasty.

Lim Keng Yaik is clearly unhappy with the lack of influence he had within the Cabinet, when he claimed that he would be free to speak his mind after his retirement. But we can’t be sure that he was telling the truth. If he was sincere he should have advised his son to join DAP rather than to remain in Gerakan, if their participation in politics was to serve national interest. When he could not advise his son not to follow his foot steps, it meant that there are benefits for themselves, at the expense of the non-MALAY COMMUNITIES. Why then should he be jealous of the success of YB LKS who is fortunate to have his son appreciating the contribution he made, and is willing to follow the father to serve the country through a difficult path. Obviously UMNO would be more than happy to recruit Lim junior in into BN, than sharing power at personal level with the current non-Malays BN subsidiaries. Lim junior does not sell his soul, and stick with the opposition. It is not too late for Lim Keng Yaik to make amend, by joining the opposition to make changes to the government which he could not do while he was a minister. I think DAP would not mind his father and son team joining DAP. I could be wrong, and that he might not be accepted into DAP.

46. #46 by sotong on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 7:06 am

It is obvious, in the next election, DAP could take Penang…..not necessarily from Chinese and Indians votes but Malays as well.

People are frustrated with the present system working for the rich and well connected – politically and economically.

47. #47 by lakshy on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 7:51 am

YB,

Many of us take our hats off to you and your sons for their many sacrifices and tireless efforts for the nation. It is people like you who are true Malaysians. You make us proud! Keep up the good fight and God be with you and those you love!

YB,

On top of the move to take Penang, I strongly urge DAP/PKR/PAS to work closely to take Perak too! It can be done, through proper candidate selection. Then show what you as the opposition can do to develop Penang and Perak further. Let these states be the showcase for the rest of the nation!

And dont worry, you will get help from many people and organisations to run the state.

48. #48 by DarkHorse on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 8:04 am

In any political party there are the party elders, the old guards if you will, who are from the conservative base of the party, and then there are the young turks. The DAP could fracture in the event of a leadership struggle for control of the party. How far will this impact the nominations of candidates for the elections remains to be seen.

49. #49 by Bigjoe on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 8:05 am

The potential for nepotism even in DAP is there despite the obvious unattractiveness of being an opposition politician in Malaysia. But compared to BN, its a much smaller matter. So the issue really is about negative campaigning and its legitimacy. To what extent negative campaigning is tolerable even if there is some legitimacy to its use?

Frankly, the advatange of the BN, the use of negative campaigning should be outlawed for the sitting government. With all their resouces and favour on their side, giving them leeway on negative campaigning is giving a nuclear bomb to a madman to stamp out insects.

Is it unfair to the BN to set such a standards? Well, since when have the BN play fair? Is it bad to set what few higher standards we can on BNers?

This year in the US election, we can see remarkable restraint in candidates on negative campaigning because voters are tired of it. Negative campaining is like reality shows – they are cheap shots that will always be there but their popularity wanes eventually. I always say judge a candidate by the percentage of negative campaining – the more, the less he really has in substance.

50. #50 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 8:21 am

Kit – can you sue them for the calumnies? Or, you have given up hope on the possibility of seeing justice done?

Sad…

51. #51 by mwt on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 8:27 am

Finally, Dr Koh Tsu Koon fearful of a defeat abandons Penang and decided for a Minister post. With his impressive academic credentials, this might be his smartest move as after the election he might be left with an impotent Government when the opposition captured more seats in the State
    He has nominated 3 Gerakan members to succeed him but without an UMNO nominee, they would likely be unacceptable as what if UMNO have more elected reps than the MCA & Gerakan combined after the results are announced. More details
    Go H E R E
    plus PM vets “Service Records” of Elected Reps; He hasNo Adopted Son but a SIL to help him ;PM not Superstitious about numbers; ACA screening BN candidates from Selangor

52. #52 by Godfather on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 8:27 am

Just ignore the hypocrites and the self-serving thugs from BN. They don’t even have 10 pct of Kit’s commitment to the public cause. Their sole aim in politics is to enrich themselves. They are not qualified to talk about dictatorial dynasties when they dip their hands into the national coffers all the time.

53. #53 by Jimm on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 8:31 am

We can’t beat BN in this coming GE as they have prepared their scandal plot way ahead of all possibilities. They also make massive placement of their voters data to all relevant constitution seats to make sure that they have the edge over Opposition.
    To me, we, Malaysian are bliinded by monies. There are enough ‘legal’ immigrants that were granted ‘local’ by government to gain advantage over the result in those selected constitutions.
    That we can’t make any changes. People power are just not strong to unite in this case.
    BN can only be brought down from inside and not by anyone outside.
    KJ are fated to be the mastermind for the downfall as he’s brought up by local with such a big greed in his mind that will save all Malaysian from sufferings.
    We have to be patient with time here.
    With most of the Rulers ageing and their sons are replacing them soon, we will see more power struggle at their throne level and also wealth demand. When this take place, KJ will be pushed into managing the damage control which he will fail badly and opens up the downfall floodgate of BN.
    So, Malaysian ..wait and see ..
    The price of this game are very painful and expensive to witness..
    Since many have asked for changes .. just prepare to pay for it..
    Gong Xi Fa Cai to all.

54. #54 by Ah Hong on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 8:36 am

Uncle Kit, it should be 1989 i believe, not 1999.

” We were among the first of over 106 to be arrested and the last two to be released in April 1999.”

Time To change in Penang. All my family votes will go to Opps. in Penang Bkt Bendera & Tg Bungah.

[Spot on. Thanks. Corrected. – kit]

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 9:01 am

“BN can only be brought down from inside and not by anyone outside.”

Implosion as opposed to explosion. That is a realistic assessment.

56. #56 by undergrad2 on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 9:02 am

“Their sole aim in politics is to enrich themselves. They are not qualified to talk about dictatorial dynasties when they dip their hands into the national coffers all the time.”

Malaysians of all races are suckers to allow it to continue.

57. #57 by Justicewanted on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 9:20 am

Why don’t the LKY and CKC of Gerakan look at the back of BN.

There is this ‘famous’ Ong brother’s team and not to forget the FIL and SIL team are the few examples.

58. #58 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 9:23 am

LKY and CKC have no bola or not jantan enuf to mention the various incompetent but self-enriching ‘grandfather-father-son’ and ‘father-son’ and ‘fil-sil’ dynasties that have been practised in Umno, MCA, and Gerakan.

All these dynasties from Umno, MCA, and Gerakan have never tasted ISA but have been practising ‘korek, korek, korek’.

59. #59 by zack on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 9:45 am

Get Real YB… you can’t have one rule for you and Guan Eng and another rule for the REST. How are we to respect you if bend things to suit your needs!

60. #60 by grace on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 10:02 am

Mr Lim,
    LKY and that guy CKC are talking thru their noses. Theycan tell lies and hope the wprld will believe them. DAP members are well known for their sincerity and honesty. Others party members? SHIT is the word.
    If you and your collegues are greedy, you all could easily join BN and be multimillionaires by now. Even your children need not go to Kamunting, but instead become billionaire like Ling Jr.
    Oh yes, in case LKY is not aware, Chong Eng is still driving a Proton only whereas an ADUN in BM is having a big bunglo with 4 cars thrown in – very luxuriously furnished bunglow. See what I mean!
    If Gobind or Karpal is greedy , they could join MIC and displace Samy la. Anytime both of them are more qualified. Similarly GUan Eng could replace OKT who looks more like a pasar malam hawker to me both in appearance and his speech.

Incidentally Koh Tsu Khoon ask us to discuss with family to vote wisely.

I HAVE DONE THAT NOT ONLY TO MY FAMILY BUT MY NEIGHBOURS AND FRIENDS. SOME OF THEM WERE FORMER BN VOTERS. NOW ALL OF THEM HAVE AGREED TO VOTE DAP BOTH IN STATE AND PARLIAMET!

GOD BLESS YOU AND FAMILY AND ALL YOUR COLLEAGUES!

61. #61 by ktteokt on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 10:15 am

As long as Guan Eng prove himself worthy of holding any top party post, I don’t see anything wrong even though he may be the son of Kit Siang. Remember what Chinese premier, Deng Xiao Ping said, “I don’t care whether is it a black cat or white cat, so long as it catches mice, it is a good cat!” So does it matter whose son Guan Eng is?

62. #62 by iyamwhoiyam on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 10:25 am

BN can only be brought down from inside and not by anyone outside.”

Implosion as opposed to explosion. That is a realistic assessment.

-undergrad2-
    —————————————————————-

probably the most sensible remark made =)

63. #63 by limkamput on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 10:42 am

Yes, we Malaysians must judge for ourselves when there is nepotism and when there is not. There is no specific rule on this. We must judge for ourselves whether or not we are suckers. So long as successions are done transparently, has credibility and those succeeding have shown leadership qualities and integrity, I guess it is ok. Of course there will always be lingering doubts when such thing happens. But the ultimate test is for the party members and Malaysians in general to assess whether those succeeding are worthy of the job they are entrusted to do. I think the issue is not just LKS and LGE have suffered for their cause, or have no money to make or have no government positions to hold. Ultimately the test is whether LGE is able to carry DAP to greater heights.

64. #64 by limkamput on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 10:52 am

Implosion as opposed to explosion. That is a realistic assessment. undergrad2

Even if implosion, it is good that it gets some help from outside to quicken their demise. Even with the oppositions digging up all the dirt, BN can still carry on strong despite years of abuse and corruption. Just look at Myanmar, we are still waiting for that implosion to happen on the junta. Any sign yet?

65. #65 by Rocky on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 10:53 am

They pick and chose what they want to attack.These guys are not gentlemen. They close one eye on the big issues. Sick buggers.

Lets screw them at the voting booth.

66. #66 by mendela on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 10:56 am

Could Kit and all bloggers make suggestions on how can we better monitor the upcoming GE to ensure election cheats are more difficult for UMO?

Can we participate in counting of ballots?
    What should we do at poll stations to cut down vote buying?
    What DAP needs us to do during the campaigns?

67. #67 by I Malaysian on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 11:22 am

Shame on you, Mr.Keng Yaik. You will be doing a great injustice to Malaysians and in particular the Chinese community by your comment. I agree with LKS the price he has paid to speak for Malaysians is something most even won’t attempt. If you think having position and rank are all credible leader like LKS wanted he would would have then chosen BN not DAP. See your son at the age 27 could raise billion.
    There are so many capable corporate figures in Malaysia after many years at the helm still find it difficult to touch billion dollar. How the hell ministers’ family could acquire such huge amount of wealth if not by corruption?
    I would like ask you YB LKS, can you and other opposition leaders come out with an entire list ministers, their families of their wealth details before and after their positions to make known to us Malaysians. We want the opposition to challenge them to explain in public and if they chose to remain silent we could conclude every one of them as corrupts in this country.

68. #68 by Malaysian citizen on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 12:06 pm

All BN component parties like MCA , Gerakan and MIC and etc are betraying all the non-Malays in Malaysia by supporting Umno in their greed and bully attitude.

I want to hear any one of the BN component party voice a complaint that the non-Malays are not happy about the NEP that is on since 1970 before I can believe a single words they say.

Why do we have to sacrifice our rights to just one race in the excuse that they are poor last time.

Special right are actually enjoyed by all Malays whether they are poor or rich , how about the poor Chinese and poor Indians , what special rights do they have for the past 37 years??????.

69. #69 by max2811 on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 12:34 pm

Don’t forget Ling and son. The one who cheated millions of RM a few years back. Omega shares and Uni something. His accomplice, Soh CW.

Seems he is eyeing Gopeng. Luckily, I’m a voter in this constituency. People like him should be in jail and not trying to be an MP. There are so many controversial ppl in MCA and UMNaziO. Aren’t there anybody else good enough? Really sick country.

70. #70 by kanthanboy on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 1:59 pm

“…can you and other opposition leaders come out with an entire list ministers, their families of their wealth details before and after their positions to make known to us Malaysians….” I Malaysian
    ————————————–
    The amount corruption, racism and rots of the BN government that has been dug up by contributors of this blog is like a truckload of shit being spilled over. Spilling one more bucket of shit will make little difference to the stink. . The fact that this BN government is corrupt, racist and rotten is beyond dispute. Only born fools will continue to vote for BN.

71. #71 by kanthanboy on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 2:21 pm

“…Seems he is eyeing Gopeng. Luckily, I’m a voter in this constituency…” max2811

Good for you. Vote opposition even if the candidate is a cloth salesman.

72. #72 by dawsheng on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 2:41 pm

BUTTERWORTH: Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon is set to move to the federal level after confirming that he prefers to move on.

Breaking his silence on his political future, the Penang Chief Minister and Gerakan acting president said he met Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Saturday and informed him about this.

“I sought his views and told him of my strategy. My preference is to move to a federal post for the benefit of the people.

“Pak Lah said he will consider it and make a decision,” he told reporters at the Jelutong Gerakan Chinese New Year open house here yesterday.

Dr Koh also said he had given Abdullah a list of three candidates to take over as chief minister if he was accepted to contest a parliamentary seat.

Refusing to reveal the names, Dr Koh said he had confidence in the three candidates “who are seasoned politicians with good track records”.

He said Abdullah would decide on the matter in a few days.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/2/11/nation/20291468&sec=nation

73. #73 by dawsheng on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 2:50 pm

JOHOR BARU: The opposition can’t offer an alternative to the Barisan Nasional government, which practices parliamentary democracy.

Umno supreme council member Tan Sri Rahim Tamby Chik said he could not see anything exciting about opposition parties.

“They are just attacking on issues such as inflation without suggesting solutions.

“Furthermore, they are not united and squabble among themselves,” he said after launching a briefing for the Kulai Umno election machinery here recently.

He said that a former Umno leader, who was trying to rally the opposition parties, was nothing but a circus clown and political zombie.

“He blasts government policies but did not do anything to change them while he was in power.

Rahim said the Government under the leadership of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had introduced strategies such as the development of five economic corridors.

“The government has also focused on human capital development to achieve sustainable development.

“Subsidies for business and education have been given to lessen the burden on those affected by increased prices,” he said.

Rahim said the Barisan had a good chance of winning with a majority.

He said the Government was offering a transformation into better development while the opposition was focused on reformation, which translated into demonstrations and illegal rallies.

“The opposition’s way is backward and they focus on small issues instead of addressing the bigger ones.

“The people must evaluate and not be influenced by empty promises,” Rahim said.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/2/11/southneast/20228549&sec=southneast

74. #74 by vchi on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 4:04 pm

Don’t worry. The Rakyat are smart enough to detect all the desperate techniques of a struggling Gerakan.

75. #75 by Count Dracula on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 7:57 pm

“probably the most sensible remark made” jamesy

Implosion of BN?

Of course we’re describing the method, if you will, how UMNO for example, could be transformed or changed from within rather than ‘brought down’. Any military ‘dictatorial-ship’ like the military junta that now rules Myanmar is more likely to be replaced, a method that could hardly be likened to an ‘implosion’ by another vide a military coup against one of their own.

76. #76 by catharsis on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 8:06 pm

………….We are not like other father-and-sons in the political arena as we are not in politics for wealth, position or titles.” …………..

Uncle Lim and Guan Eng both of you may stand tall among them-

** Better a little with righteousness than much gain with injustice
    ** Better be a poor man whose walk is blameless than a fool
    whose lips are perverse

77. #77 by limkamput on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 9:16 pm

Some people probably have a tunnel vision. They can’t really carry a wider vision on anything they know or learn. Implosion must from within and any outside cause must be excluded. Hence, when they see a building implodes, it is collapsing inward; forget about someone from outside the building that had put the bomb there earlier. Similarly, when they see an economy implodes, the causes must all be from within that economy. Pathetic, pathetic pathetic.

78. #78 by BlackEye on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 10:02 pm

It seems someone here is still trying to wrestle with his ego.

79. #79 by DiaperHead on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 3:03 am

Who is this sumo wrestler?

80. #80 by gotcha1965 on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 4:14 am

There is absolutely no wrong for LKS to teach his son, LGE from young (and us Malaysians) the aspiration for a “Malaysia for Malaysian” and “Bangsa Malaysia”. LGE accepted the challenge and has continued to struggle for us and for our future generations.

The majority voices in DAP has spoken thru a democratic process and elected LGE to where he is. If we truly believe in democracy, then it is not wrong for LGE to step up now to lead based on merit and support from the current majority.

Father should know and feel the son better then most. Is son there for the money?… I don’t think so. Its more definitely LGE’s passion to be a true Malaysian just like LKS, that prompts LKS to fully support his son’s entry into opp politics… leadership in DAP is secondary and decided by majority not LKS alone.

If we can accept our struggle to change Malaysian’s mindset, i.e. no more race/gender/religion separation and jointly work towards meritocracy, we must then first accept whoever is elected to lead DAP, even if it is LGE, being the son of LKS.

Perceived father-son fixing will always remain a perception. BUT is it true? What to gain? Maybe the gain is being term the Father of Change (i.e. changing the mindset of Malaysian to be a true Malaysian once all Malaysians accepted this term “Malaysians”).

The more BN tries to stir up race issues, we should not take the bait, instead maintain steadfast in not insulting our brother Malaysians regardless of race.

For our Chi.., Ind.., and other minority brothers, stay united. For our Mal.. brothers, leave ego aside and join in to eradicate national poverty (not single race poverty). Share the nations wealth for all. Educate our children to aspire and promote healthy competition amongst all. Then only we can see our beloved nation progress as a whole to face continued global challenges in our mother Earth.

Spoon feeding days should be over. Study, work hard and acquire more knowledge should be the current trend. How else to progress and compete even amongst own skin colour? I ask are you willing to sacrifice for our Nation and our fellow Malaysians? The answer should be yes… if you are a true Malaysian. Malaysia belongs to Malaysian.

81. #81 by lakshy on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 7:20 am

Hey guys, the front for free and fair elections is calling for volunteers to help monitor the coming elections. Theya re targetting 10 persons per polling station. Training will be provided. Any takers? For those in Ipoh area, reply by today.

82. #82 by wizzerd on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 11:13 am

YB Kit,
    We are all aware of your personal sacrifices both you and your family had made in the quest for a better Malaysia for all Malaysians regardless of race, religion and creed. DOn’t worry about what the Gerakan goons said. They are irrelevant anyway.

The tide is changing now with more and more people beginning to realise the damage done to the country by the ruling party.
    With the advent of facebook, more young people have come to know the truth and not the yarn spun by the mainstream media.
    Even my dad into his late 50s, used to be a BN/MCA supporter is now going for the Opposition.
    Not surprising though. He is fed up with the news of spin by the BN controlled media. Everyday without fail. there will be 12 pages of theStar newspaper dedicated to election news bragging about BN so called achievements..unity, tolerance..bla bla bla

I really salute you, Uncle Kit.

I shook your hand for the first time in a ceramah at Taiping late last year. Well, you may not remember me but to me it was the hands of a patriotic and great man that I shook.

83. #83 by malaysiachinese on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 12:08 pm

I can’t wait for the coming GE. I can’t wait to tick the DAP for both the state & parliment seats. I have attended some MCA functions recently, same old grandmother stories….sweet talk, giving out oil, flour, sugar, etc. 95% attended these functions were old uncles & aunties. Mayb they will vote for BN but younger generation like me will never trust the MCA@BN. Personally i m also doing my part to campaign for DAP (my own way), all votes of my family members,relatives,friends/collegues will go to DAP. Malaysia already have angkasawan, it’s time for the ROCKET !!

Uncle Kit, i salute u. I m so so proud of u. U r my idol. DAP WIN BIG, WIN BIG, WIN BIG !!!

84. #84 by dylsee on Tuesday, 19 February 2008 - 5:27 pm

What is wrong with father and son both involving in politics. George Bush and his son Bush Junior are both American President. The real point is: are they capable of fighting for good cause for the people? In my opinion, they are!