“Don’t give BN 75 seats in Parliament”

Media Conference Statement by Parliamentary Opposition Leader and DAP MP for Ipoh Timur at the start of a two-day whistle-stop campaign in Perak to launch the second DAP general election theme on “Say no to corruption and rising prices” at the Pokok Assam market, Taiping on Saturday, 2nd February 2008 at 9 am:

“Don’t give BN 75 seats in Parliament” should be the common objective of all opposition parties, civil society and Malaysians who want to see the beginning of a new democracy with an effective check-and-balance

The next general election is shaping up to be the most important of all 12 general elections in the nation’s 50-year history.

Even former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad has warned that a thumping victory for the Barisan Nasional and Umno in the next general election would end up as an endorsement for a coalition “centred on nepotism and corruption”.

Mahathir has said that even if Umno loses 20 or 30 of their candidates, the Barisan Nasional is going to win.

I agree with the former Prime Minister. The issue in the next general election is not whether the Barisan Nasional and Umno will be returned to power but whether the unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority of the Barisan Nasional could be ended to provide for an effective and meaningful check-and-balance in the system of parliamentary democracy in Malaysia.

For this reason, “Don’t give BN 75 seats in Parliament” should be the common objective of all opposition parties, civil society and Malaysians who want to see the beginning of a new democracy with an effective check-and-balance for the first time in Malaysia’s system of parliamentary democracy.

The Barisan Nasional must be denied at least 75 parliamentary seats if it is to be deprived of its two-thirds majority in a Parliament of 222 seats in the next general election.

This is why DAP should focus on winning 30-40 parliamentary seats, while Parti Keadilan Rakyat and PAS on another batch of 40-50 parliamentary seats.

If there is a 85% success rate in these 90 parliamentary constituencies targeted by the Opposition, then the 2008 general election will return a historic result where the Barisan Nasional will be deprived of its two-thirds parliamentary majority although it is still comfortably in power with a strong simple majority.

The deprivation of its parliamentary two-thirds majority for the first time in Malaysian history would have historic significance in Malaysian politics and nation-building for it would compel the Barisan Nasional government to end its high-handed, arrogant and undemocratic rule and, for the first time in its history, to act with greater responsibility, justice, fair play, accountability, transparency and integrity.

The denial of two-thirds majority should also be the objective of all opposition parties, NGOs and the civil society in the two DAP front-line states of Perak and Penang.

In Penang, the Barisan Nasional must be defeated in at least 14 seats if it is to be denied two-thirds majority in the Penang State Assembly of 40 State Assembly seats. DAP may be able to win from eight to ten State Assembly seats. If Parti Keadilan Rakyat can win from four to six seats, then the denial of the Barisan Nasional two-thirds majority in the Penang State Assembly is within sight.

Similarly for Perak, the Barisan Nasional must be defeated in at least 20 seats if it is to be denied two-thirds majority in the Perak State Assembly of 59 State Assebmly seats. With DAP focusing on winning 15 state assembly seats in Perak, this denial of two-thirds majority could only be achieved if Parti Keadilan Rakyat, together with PAS, can secure five to seven seats.

These will be among the great issues to be determined in the next general election expected to be held within 45 days – whether Barisan Nasional and Umno can be denied two-thirds majority in Parliament and the Penang and Perak state assemblies to allow the people’s rights and genuine democracy the chance to flower and mature.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 6:45 pm

No election has been declared but already government leaders are campaigning with a total lack of integrity with taxpayers resources like transport and other facilities – such is the abuse of power.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/02/basic-integrity-lacking-in-government.html

2. #2 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:13 pm

YB LKS,besides corruption and rising prices the most pertinent issue is public safety.Yesterday Human Rights Commissioner Tan Sri Aishah was reportedly robbed and hurt in SS20,Petaling Jaya.She was robbed and attacked after she got down from her chauffered driven car.The point is these days prominent people can easily fall prey to robbers and thugs.What about ordinary folks like us?Public safety is really an issue that concerns everyone.Most of us do live in fear.Many of us are haunted by the paranoia of being hijacked and robbed when driving.Of course this is just an example of the acute absence of public safety.

3. #3 by patriotic1994 on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 7:51 pm

This sounds like Oppositions are “so nice” to the corrupted BN government. Is this the Malaysian style? Once we have check and balance, we must continue to grow Oppositions so that there is at least another BIG Opposition that can form the government. We cannot always let BN to form the government.

4. #4 by dranony on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:03 pm

I think this call “Deny BN of 75 seats in Parliament” is a smart move.
    It will encourage disaffected Chinese, Indians as well as Muslims, to vote “anti-BN.”
    It will not feed the fear many Chinese have of toppling the government only to be replaced by a PAS-led one (although a huge BN setback, losing more than 75seats called for, may even be possible.)
    PAS supporters, might even want to cast protest votes for DAP in an anti-BN fight, and hopefully DAP supporters and other chinese will do the same for PAS in a BN-PAS fight.
    This is not something that is unlikely, I know of someone who had always voted Gerakan, who has now vowed to vote PAS in a UMNO-vs-PAS fight!

5. #5 by hiro on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:08 pm

History does not happen overnight. Denying BN 2/3 majority is a realistic first step forward. Of course, if the sentiment on the ground has really swung to the opposition, then it would be bonus when the opposition fairs better.

The most important consideration for all is this: BN does not need 2/3 majority to rule the country. In healthier democracies, sometimes they make do with just 50%+1.

For BN to want 2/3 majority, it should categorically state why it needs the kind of special majority that is only required to amend the Constitution, i.e. provide the rakyat with a list of intended amendment to the Constitution. If BN comes up with a crappy list, then the voters should have no incentive to give them more than required to run the country. And if indeed they need the 2/3 majority to amend the Constitution, then by all means negotiate with the opposition for the additional votes. That is what check and balance means.

The recent amendment to allow the EC Chairman to continue for another year should serve as an example of the kinds of potential abuse of this 2/3 majority, and as such, the default position for the voters must be to deny BN this luxury.

6. #6 by Saint on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 8:31 pm

To obtain 75 seats is the goal of the opposition.
    To obstruct the opposition the 75 seats will be BN’s goal.

The divide and rule will be the strategy of BN.
    The Indians are now supporting the opposition – and how to break it?
    Give disposed Subra a seat – and the Indian sentiment / sympathy might change.

Saudara Kit – please take this into consideration in your campaign strategy.

7. #7 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 9:13 pm

“The issue in the next general election is not whether the Barisan Nasional and Umno will be returned to power but whether the unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority of the Barisan Nasional could be ended to provide for an effective and meaningful check-and-balance in the system of parliamentary democracy in Malaysia.”

I don’t understand other than preventing BN from amending the Constitution without support from the Opposition, what more does it do or can it do to check the continued maladministration of the country? The Cabinet will be a BN Cabinet. The government will be a BN led government. The Deputy Prime Minister will be from UMNO. The Prime Minister will continue to listen to the voices in his head telling him to appoint Zaki Tun Azmi as CJ etc etc.

It is going to be business as usual. The public inquiry into the alleged “fixing of senior judicial appointments” will have its outcome fixed like everything else. The Altuntaya murder case will see all three accused go free. It is not the kind of change Barack Obama would like to see for the United States. It is not the kind of change we’d like to see for Malaysia.

Where do we go from here?

8. #8 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 9:19 pm

“Deny BN of their two-thirds control of Parliament” is a good unifying move because there are voters loyal to UMNO, MIC and MCA etc who would again loyally cast their votes the way they have been doing all these years but who would now have another look at how they vote. They still would be voting the party of their choice in but this time with the added objective of checking the excesses of the typical BN Administration.

9. #9 by dranony on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 9:45 pm

The target is of course denying BN of 2/3.
    And that is indeed a realistic goal.
    And a goal that BN will have difficulty convincing the electorate otherwise – after all, why is there a need to keep on amending the constitution? Anything from 1/2 to 2/3 is good enough to govern.
    However, the actual size of the the denial of 2/3 will depend on the mood of the electorate – if they feel that they have been neglected, the swing will see more than 1/3 of seats going to Opposition.
    Personally though, I feel that 50% – 66% of seats going to BN as realistic. To expect the Opposition to get more than 1/3 is unrealistic, given the record of BN’s election machine, and the fragmentation of the Opposition (let’s be honest).

But a 1/3 Opposition win will be seen as a threat, probably enough to strike for a 1/2 at the NEXT elections; and we hope and pray that that alone will make the BN more responsible. If they DO lose the NEXT round, the incoming government may dig up all old evidence of abuse, and start investigations and account for the abuses.

10. #10 by HB Lim on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:10 pm

I am re-posting a previous comment made under a different thread in the hope that it will encourage more comments on what the opposition parties should do other than criticising, commenting on, scoulding, ridiculing…the government. Criticising stc are necessary to be sure but I think in addition to just attacking, we should be looking at internal re-consolidating, changes, re-defining, re-adjusting, paradigm-shifting within the opposition parties themselves.

“The non-Malays can all shout and vote for change. It will probably dent the BN a little. But if the majority of Malays do not want changes or do not understand why we need changes, nothing big is going to happen in this GE. They got everything right from the beginning starting with the “procreate, procreate” plan until they are overwhelming the non-Malays in numbers. Now, they have been so spoilt by so many affirmative policies. Do you think they want to get out of the comfort zone and vote for change?

The ’se gelintir orang-orang Melayu” who want to see changes are mostly those who are disgruntled because they don’t get to share the cake or have been abandoned by UMNO. Not because they have become enlightened.

The only force that can force changes in Malaysia is the globalisation process. Non-Malays should continue to become more and more citizens of the world and be savvy and independent there. The Malays would soon find if they have not already found out that they are living in a modern-day digital kampong and unable to compete. Eg, university standards and rankings, command of other international languages, etc.

Generally speaking, we are still stuck at that political maturity level where the voters can still be swayed by a little election gimmicks and goodies and trickeries. Generally speaking, a very small percentage of voters are in for or understand human rights, democracy, good governance, aacountability, transparency etc, etc.

There are so many scandals happening in very quick succession that generally speaking we do not have enough time to analyse an issue long enough or let it sink down to a broader section of the voters before we move on to the next. Or we are just so overloaded that we become numb and just give up. What the heck, just go on with life..nothing is going to change even if we try.

How many are still following the Alyantuya’s trial? Even this fantastic LKS blog is a little too congested with issues after issues. We just skip over the surface of one and get on to the new one. Just notice how the comments in one thread abruptly stop and new ones fill up a new thread.

We skip to the next one before the general public is acquainted with the previous issue. A few of us follow the blogs and we get all heated up with the excesses and the iniquities of the BN government. We are fed-up with the MCA for bluffing all the time by using the Chinese schools in every GE. We get sick with the antics of unruly Samy. We get nauseated with the kaki-bodeks, especially the Chinese and Indian politicians who are selling away our rights and the future of our children. But how many aunties and uncles and the young ones are aware of, understand or share our frustrations and concerns?

I think it has to do with the strength of our opposition parties. It is undeniable that they have good and very capable people. LKS and DSAI, KArpal etc immediately come to mind. But I think they are financially very weak. I know for sure that the DAP is very financially strapped. I do not know about the PKR. But I can see that despite 50 years, none of the opposition parties have come out with any shadow cabinet that can inspire and fire the imagination of the people of an alternative government. It is not like we have a choice between Labour and the Conservatives or between the Democrats and the Republicans. Even very educated and fearless people question – can the opposition be able really to govern if they win?

If there is going to be any big political changes, the opposition parties have to speed up the political education process of the people and fire up their imagination of the possibility and viability of an alternative government. It is not an easy task at all but we have to start with financial capability. We cannot be stuck with criticising or commenting on or joking about or laughing at or scoulding the government. Politics is business through and through. See the amount of money that is involved in the American presidential campaign.

We have to have big plans to educate or re-educate the people, not just dinners and ceramahs which attract only the die-hard supporters. They don’t need any more convincing.

The LKS blog is a fantastic innovation to get to the people. I salute the far-sightedness of LKS to use this medium to get across his message. What about clubs and associations, cooperatives and night schools or educational gatherings and groups? PAS is more effective on the grass root level with their religiuos schools and gatherings. Eg the Rocket, how big a circulation has it got? What are the plans to increase its circulation? Has it got a specialist paid editorial team? What are the DAP’s plans to increase its membership? I am not trying to interfere into DAP’s internal affairs but just rambling in my thoughts. My apologies to LKS and DAP. All I am saying is that big plans need big money to be formed and implemented.

We accuse the BN of getting into actions and promises only when it is election time. We can say the same about the opposition parties. Most things are quiet on the opposition front during normal times but noises and even internal squabblings become audible and heated near election time.

I hope I have not been offensive or too critical.”

11. #11 by toyolbuster on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:14 pm

May I suggest that Kit identify the 75 weakest seats for BN so that we can try to focus on a win over in those seats.

12. #12 by HB Lim on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 10:30 pm

toyolbuster’s suggestion is a good one. Identifying the 75 seats would be a good start. Thereafter, we may be able to form core groups for some of the constituencies identified which are lacking in opposition influence. The core group may be formed from the bloggers here. We meet, discuss, plan and move on from talk to walk. How about that? The little bit that we can do from now till the election for the nation? Any walk is better than no walk – some printed materials to pass on, some mamak stall talks, some convincing of the neighbour over the fence.

13. #13 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:30 pm

wong chin huat had identified the 75 most winnable seats for the opposition in his blog. any kind person to help me post the link? I m browsing using my pda at the moment. will post the link once I get to my laptop.

14. #15 by catharsis on Saturday, 2 February 2008 - 11:48 pm

We have done our part in the bloggs so it is now your turn now to excel in the coming election so dont screw it up with divergent squabbles among the opposition parties

15. #16 by MISHUGINA on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 12:20 am

Uncle Kit should better resolve the DAP/PKR spat which if not resolved quickly would be manipulated by BN and MSM. This is embarassing!

16. #17 by alaneth on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 1:30 am

Winning 75 seat is somewhat incomprehensive. This time round, the Chinese will abondon BN (what I perceive from polls @ http://www.merdeka.org & record low support of our PM esp by non-Muslims). For the Malays, we got absolutely no data or indication. Whether they will staunchly support Badawi or PAS, we cannot tell. No-one can also tell whether Kelantan can be regained by BN.

Furthermore, we do not have a strong opposition front (and I do not want one if PAS must be included). This also leads to 3-corner fights.

Looking at the objectives/motto/slogan of DAP to create an democratic, equal-opportunity nation with non-extremist etc etc, I do not see why we should target so hard as to deny BN 2/3. DAP should also see PAS as an enemy as they are extremists Islamists, against our/DAP’s secular objective.

Therefore, we should not focus on 2/3 BN but to gain as many seats as possible for DAP, while possibly try something DAP has never done before – contest in UMNO-PAS seats in the Malay heartland Kedah, Terengganu, Kelantan; by filing a Malay candidate with clear-cut slogans on helping the rakyat. DAP will not win, but we never know – non-hardliners may give us a little support and let PAS lose out to BN.

The main reason here is to help abolish the ‘Holier-than-Thou’ attitude of Malaysians to create a better living environment for all.

17. #18 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 1:40 am

““Don’t give BN 75 seats in Parliament””. What the heck are you trying to say?

Don’t you think this is a typical Malaysian style Manglish that is so very confusing? What are you trying to say? If we don’t give them 75 seats, is it OK to give them 200 seats?

If we want them to LOSE 75 seats, then why don’t you say “Give the Opposition 75 seats”. It clear as to what you all want. Put it in a POSITIVE STRAIGHT FORWARD WAY, where everyone, especially the man in the street and kampong, can understand what you want.

As I said before, while many are wishing and hoping for a thumping Opposition win, 30-40 seats for the DAP and 40-50 seats for Keadilan and PAS is a bit far fetched and is well beyond all your reach. My bet is 15 for DAP and 15 for Keadilan-PAS. Or about 35 -40 all in. Thats about realistic.

Why?

According to the recent Merdeka Center report released recently, the Malays remain generally well satisfied with the economic performance and are still quite solid in supporting the government (UMNO) despite the many factions. Consequently, expect UMNO to keep many of their seats. They should only lose minimally to PAS and Keadilan.

It is only the Chinese and the Indians that are dissatisfied and this should cause the MCA and Gerakan to lose seats to the DAP but only in the Chinese majority areas. So DAP makes marginal gains at their expense but the two parties should hold their seats in mixed areas.

There are no Indian majority seats but the recent dissatisfaction within the community should result in the BN losing some seats to all three major Opposition parties, but only some. Some Indians are being practical, they are dependent on the BN so when it comes to crunch time, many will revert back to the BN or they may face a backlash from the gomen. Besides, the BN has been pandering to the community of late. So the Opposition will only make some gains.

But what of the Opposition parties? Unless they can get their act together, I think they will be the cause for their own lack of success. Its 3 days past 31st January and there is still no agreement between PKR and DAP in many states.

It is the Chinese wing in PKR that is causing all the problems as they feel left out with nothing for them. So 3 corner fights appear imminent in Perak, Sabah, Sarawak and Selangor, to the BN’s advantage. Those left out would withold their support in frustration or they could come in as spoilers as independents. And don’t forget the other minor parties in Sarawak and Sabah and the Socialists, the MDP and other party discards and dissidents who will all add to the Opposition’s problems.

And don’t forget that practically all Opposition candidates will start at some disadvantage – there are already many postal votes stacked against them.

And expect a big bag of dirty tricks from the BN come election time. All the media will be rooting for them. The BN knows what the current sentiment is and will do their utmost to minimise this. Bet on it.

The Opposition’s optimistic target would mean that all the parties will have to achieve their best performances to date. They have never won this many seats before and would all be setting new records.

My feeling is that the popular votes will be 50:50 but BN will still walk away with more than 70 % of the seats.

Best strategy for the Opposition – win 3 states – Kelantan, Trengganu and Kedah. Form strong Oppositions in Penang, Sabah, Perak and Selangor. Irritate in other states.

Are you ready boots?

18. #19 by MAJULAHMALAYSIA on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 2:54 am

Tun Dr. Mahathir refer the present Government as “half-past-six” Government. Therefore, 1 vote for BN = 1 vote for half past six Government. Should we continue to let those half past six minister to form another half past six Government? It’s time to change, so change it!

19. #20 by Godamn Singh on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 3:10 am

“It is the Chinese wing in PKR that is causing all the problems as they feel left out with nothing for them. So 3 corner fights appear imminent ..”

So we are no different than BN – back to the politics of race, of division etc.

20. #21 by Wang on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 4:13 am

I agree with the aim to deny BN 2/3 majority in the federal and state levels. However, I think DAP needs to have a plan for the what if situation – if the opposition wins Penang state assembly. Voters may not turn out to vote in favor of the opposition parties if they are uncertain whether the current opposition parties can manage the state of Penang properly if they “accidentally” win. Voters may not vote or turn out to vote. If that happens, then it can be difficult to even achieve a 2/3 majority. Aiming for a minimum of 2/3 majority is a sound policy, but DAP and other opposition parties also need to show that they can take control and management a state with clear policy directions in the case of winning. This is the only way to shift the swing voters towards DAP camp.

21. #22 by ChinNA on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 12:11 pm

So we are no different than BN – back to the politics of race, of division etc. – Godamn Singh

Solid observation that I agree with.

… DAP and other opposition parties also need to show that they can take control and manageme a state with clear policy directions in the case of winning. – Wang

Another good point that I agree with and so far this has not been explicitly shown.

22. #23 by grace on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 1:02 pm

Dear All,

If we want to save our beloved nation from going bankrupt, the result of rampant corruptions and abuse of power, VOTE FOR THE OPPOSITION.
    I hope we can do our bits by convincing your neighbours, friends, strangers and relatives that the only hope for our nation to prosper is to vote agains BN!

Please tell them, they are manipulated by the Towkays, tycoons and politicians to gain power so that they would carry on their dubious business.

Do be hardup for free dinner.

Compare the living standard of DAP MPs anADUNs with that of BN.

Here I can tell you one. THE DAP MP only drive anold Proton Wira, that also susah lo! But the ADUN here has a very big bunglow with 9 rooms, jacuzzi and for luxurious cars. One each for his children and wife. ADUN pay? How much? Where did he get the money? But he is very friendly with businessmen!! You can draw your own conclusion.

VOTE BN OUT!!!

23. #24 by grace on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 1:02 pm

Sorry for the ommission. THE ADUN IS A BN ADUN!!!

24. #25 by ktteokt on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 1:19 pm

Show them what “PEOPLE POWER” means!!!!

25. #26 by carloz28 on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 1:28 pm

grace said

” I hope we can do our bits by CONVINCING YOUR NEIGHBOURS, FRIENDS, STRANGERS AND RELATIVES that the only hope for our nation to prosper is to vote agains BN! “

26. #27 by Libra2 on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 2:31 pm

It is my prayer and fervant hope that BN will be defeated in more than 50% of the seats so that we will have a new multi racial government. Only this scenario will spearhead the country to greater heights.
    Anything besides this is DOOM!

27. #28 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 4:01 pm

‘Even former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad has warned that a thumping victory for the Barisan Nasional and Umno in the next general election would end up as an endorsement for a coalition “centred on nepotism and corruption”.’

It was during Mahathir’s rule that nepotism and corruption was at their worst. He is not qualified to say anything on nepotism and corruption. He set the worst example.

28. #29 by naked taliban on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 4:29 pm

It was during Mahathir’s rule that nepotism and corruption was at their worst. He is not qualified to say anything on nepotism and corruption. He set the worst example.

29. #30 by catharsis on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 6:02 pm

Sun Tzu, “Those who cannot win must defend; those who can win must attack. defend when one’s forces are inadequate; attack when one’s forces are abundant.”

Uncle Lim as your party is with limited resources, Sun Tzu’s statement should have a bearing on your overall election strategic approach

Sun Tzu, “For this reason, to win a hundred victories in a hundred battles is not the hallmark of skill. The acme of skill is to subdue the enemy without even fighting.”

Uncle Lim wish you the very best in this coming election

30. #31 by smeagroo on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 8:42 pm

We cant deny them 2/3 becos the rigging will continue. We need a major catastrophe in Putrajaya to sink this whole bunch of uselss people.

31. #32 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 February 2008 - 8:20 am

I’m curious to know if Penang is self-sufficient and does not depend on federal grants to fund its capital expenditure. If Penang were to fall to the Opposition and with a DAP chief minister, would it be able to fund even the state’s operating expenditure? Would revenue be sufficient to meet its expenditure? How dependent is it on federal government funding?

This is the reason why Penangites are pragmatists and would vote in the same party that controls the federal government, but would vote in an opposition party to represent them in the federal Parliament to safeguard their constitutional rights and to help any excesses at the national level.

32. #33 by undergrad2 on Monday, 4 February 2008 - 8:21 am

oops check

33. #34 by Jeffrey on Monday, 4 February 2008 - 8:51 am

BTW concerning Wong Chin Huat whose link I provided above identifying 75 most winnable seats, I believe he is a lecturer in journalism at Monash University, Sunway campus having done his PhD at the University of Essex on electoral system and party politics in West Malaysia. He is currently the chairperson for Writers Alliance for Media Independence (WAMI).

34. #35 by grace on Monday, 4 February 2008 - 12:29 pm

dear undergrad2,
    I believe Penang would not be so helpless. The federal government cluld not simply ignore Penang just like Kelantan. Being the gateway to Northern Malaysia, the goernment must show piece its progress. If Penang is in a pathetic condition , it reflects badly of our Federal Government.
    Anyway, Raja Petra rigtfully said that Chinese have no balls and I being a Chinese concur with his remark.
    Look at Kelantan, the Malays there have guts.Let us hope the Malays in Terenganu would regain their guts and vote BN out this time around

35. #36 by limkamput on Monday, 4 February 2008 - 1:37 pm

No states in Malaysia are self-sufficient financially. That is the reality basing on our existing constitutional arrangement. The federal grants given to the states each year, such as capita and road grants, are based on constitutional provision. Over the years, the Federal Treasury in consultation with National Finance Council had also provided other grants/loans to the states based on needs and “stage of development” in each state. Penang, being a “more developed” state, will usually get less than favourable consideration.

If Oppositions gain power in Penang, I don’t think the Federal Government can stop providing the grants to the state unless it is prepared to violate the constitution provisions. With regard to withdrawal of oil royalty given to Trengganue state when PAS gained control of the state, that was because sharing of oil royalty was a “gift” from the Federal Government. Oil found off shore Peninsula Malaysia belongs to the Federal government. This is slightly different in the states of Sabah and Sarawak.

Be that as it may, federal support to the states should be assessed from the number of federal projects planned and implemented in each state. The Federal Government can frustrate the state governments under oppositions by withholding or delaying federal projects. As we know, most projects at the states such as schools, hospitals, roads, bridges, police stations, etc are federal projects financed by allocation from the central government.

36. #37 by Colonel on Monday, 4 February 2008 - 9:50 pm

This is fun!

Limkamput says: “No states in Malaysia are self-sufficient financially. That is the reality basing on our existing constitutional arrangement.”

Q. What constitutional arrangement? Never heard.

Limkamput: “he federal grants given to the states each year, such as capita and road grants, are based on constitutional provision.

Q. What constitutional provision? Never heard.

Limkamput: “Over the years, the Federal Treasury in consultation with National Finance Council had also provided other grants/loans to the states based on needs and “stage of development” in each state. Penang, being a “more developed” state, will usually get less than favourable consideration.”

Q. We already know that. But what is there to stop the federal government from reducing (not eliminating) the allocations provided to Penang? We see this happening in constituencies controlled by DAP elsewhere in other states. Economic development comes almost to a standstill as punishment for voting for the Opposition.

Limkamput: “If Oppositions gain power in Penang, I don’t think the Federal Government can stop providing the grants to the state unless it is prepared to violate the constitution provisions.”

Q. What constitutional provisions? The federal government would of course not stop giving but would likely reduce or refuse financing for what it would then deem as ‘controversial’ projects, as being politically motivated and what in its opinion would not benefit Penang state as a whole etc. Excuses are not hard to find. Penangites know this. You’re shockingly naive especially for someone who gloats.

Limkamput: “Be that as it may, federal support to the states should be assessed from the number …”

Q. Nobody is asking for your opinion on what should be but rather what could happen if Penangites were to vote for the Opposition. Don’t you know the difference?

Limkamput: :The Federal Government can frustrate the state governments under oppositions by withholding or delaying federal projects. As we know…”

Q. Here you’re contradicting yourself because earlier you said the federal government cannot do this!

Typical of limkamput who does not know what he’s talking about. Sheeesh…!

What constitutional provisions are you talking about? What constitutional arrangement?

Nope? No can say? Don’t want to say? Go read for yourself?

37. #38 by limkamput on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 12:44 am

My goodness, all the while I thought this group of wannabes really know something. Really sad some people can be so ignorant and yet want to talk so much. For the benefit of others let me just briefly answer the arrogant questions raised.

Because of the nature of our constitution which gave the most important revenue sources to the Federal Government, the states have to depend on Federal Government for financial support. This is a fact.

Yes, capita and road grants are provided in the constitution. Basing on population and road mileage within each state, these grants are not negotiable and the Federal Government must honour them unless they choose to violate the constitution. So far, states under opposition were not denied of these grants. The quantum of constitutional grants is strictly based on population and road mileage in each state and they cannot be reduced by the Federal Government. Some nut heads do not know what they are talking about here.

In addition to those grants provided for in the constitution, the Federal Government through the National Finance Council also provide other grants/assistance/loans the quantum of which varies according the need and “stage of development” of each state. In other words, unlike constitutional grants, these other grants may vary from state to state but so far no state, including Penang, is denied. They do have criteria to decide on the quantum, but I am not saying whether the criteria are fair or otherwise.

Grants given for each parliamentary constituency are not constitutional grants. They are decided by the Federal Government of the day mainly based on political consideration. Some nut heads get it all confused. But this is expected. I am just stating what is the present system. I am not saying whether the system is fair or otherwise.

I did not contradict anything. Federal projects at the state level are decided by the Federal Government of the day. There is no constitutional provision (article, in case some nut heads don’t understand again) mandating how many projects must be implemented at each state. But as far as capita and road grants are concerned, these are provided for in the constitution which the Federal Government must honour.

Colonel, others may just be laughing at your ignorance and stupidity. You are the one who do not know what you are talking about, not me.

38. #39 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 3:49 am

“dear undergrad2,
    I believe Penang would not be so helpless. The federal government cluld not simply ignore Penang just like Kelantan. Being the gateway to Northern Malaysia, the goernment must show piece its progress. If Penang is in a pathetic condition , it reflects badly of our Federal Government.” grace

I agree with you that Penang is not Kelantan. By saying so your comment is an indirect testimony to the fact that in the case of Kelantan, the federal government has in fact not done its best to help with the economic development of that state. That as we all know is only half the truth.

Kelantanese Malay psyche sets them apart from other Malays in that they rather see their state remain less developed than accept federal funds freely because they think it means more non-Malays will come to the state, more of them will lose their land to non-Malays etc – an integral part of the process of modernization which they’ll not be able to stop once the ball gets rolling. That has been their perception and has not changed much since independence. They even tried to secede from the federation!

Like you say Penang state is in a different situation. That is only half true. Penang in the hands of the Opposition will not be able to get its hands on the kind of funds it needs to fund its development expenditures. It cannot raise funds overseas, cannot tap into the international capital markets which would need federal government guarantee – Penang not being a sovereign state. Like all other states it depends on federal funding for its projects and I’m not talking only infrastructure here.

Penang would not be neglected, of course. I don’t think it could be called economic neglect – perhaps ‘losing out’ would be a better term. It would lose out to the other states which would see a more rapid economic development.

After five years in Opposition control, Penangites would once again be ready to return to their time tested formula of “Vote Opposition at the federal level, and vote the National Coalition at the state level” to ensure peace and prosperity for themselves.

So why change at all if the dynamics are still the same?

39. #40 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 9:22 am

i will give my toilet seats to BN.

40. #41 by limkamput on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 10:12 am

Penang would not be neglected, of course. I don’t think it could be called economic neglect – perhaps ‘losing out’ would be a better term. It would lose out to the other states which would see a more rapid economic development. Undergrads

But where do we go from here? In fact it has been Penang’s strategy for a long time to vote for BN at the state level and oppositions at the Federal level precisely because of the concern you expressed earlier. But to me Penang has already lost out by continually supporting a rotten regime except for a brief spell after the 1969 election. Gerakan (when in opposition) came into power in Penang precisely because the people of Penang were not happy with the Alliance Government at that time. However after Gerakan joined the Government, all these were conveniently forgotten and today we are faced with the same issue again. Sometimes we just have to bite the bullet and try out and see what happen. The Federal Government cannot ignore all state governments if more of them come under opposition. Remember, the Federal Government has no territory other than KL, Putrajaya and Labuan. I believe the system of discrimination again opposition held states and constituencies can not go on forever if the central government that does so is rotten and corrupted to the core. I know some of you may want to quote Singapore’s example in unfairly treating opposition held constituencies. That is different, Singapore government is benevolent.

Other than PAS and PBS (in Sabah at one time), the DAP was never given a single opportunity to govern a state before. The only state that provides some glimmer of hope is Penang. May be we ought to trust the DAP and PKR at least once and see what they can do. May be they are able to forge a better and a more even keel relationship with the Federal Government. May be they are able to manage better whatever little resources Penang has at the moment. Why are Chinese so kiasi and kiasu is beyond me? For information, Penang is already fast emerging as the garbage of orient under the BN. And with rapid global relocation of industries and plants, Penang may face a serious problem if farsighted actions are not taken quickly. What else can be worse?

41. #42 by Edchin on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 11:02 am

Penang must wake up from the 35 year bad dream.

In the 60’s and up to early 70’s Penang was a free port, an elegant city, a pearl (Pearl of the Orient it was known in yesteryears) and a joy of a place for locals and tourist alike. When Penangites voted for opposition in 69 they were hoping for an even brighter future. But when opposition turncoat went under the skirt of BN it was the start of a vision turning into a bad dream.

In the 35 years under BN was there really an improvement (relative to other places in Malaysia) for Penang? Chinese CM, yes, but look at what is really happening in the state! Numerous returning tourists are aghast at the state of Penang now. The poor 40 odd % of Penangites have been screaming all these years but only to find their voice muted. When necessary, the bitter pill have to be swallowed. Wake up from the bad dream before it becomes a NIGHTMARE.

42. #43 by limkamput on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 11:16 am

EdChin, well said. Ya, talking about Chinese CM, can you ask him whether he gets to decide who get to become Penang’s State Secretary, State Financial Officer, and State Legal Officer, (who are all ex. off. members of the State Assembly) and also State Planning and Development Director. Yes time for Penangites to wake up and face reality. Don’t keep trading short term expediency for long term misery. Think strategic.

43. #44 by aiD_kamikuP on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 11:29 am

“But when opposition turncoat went under the skirt of BN it was the start of a vision turning into a bad dream” – Edchin

Hhmmmm…I wonder what they saw under the skirt that turn their vision into a bad dream.

44. #45 by Edchin on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 11:32 am

Ask the turncoats, may be they can enlighten you. But if it was me I would rather just go blind!!

45. #46 by Colonel on Tuesday, 5 February 2008 - 9:44 pm

“Hhmmmm…I wonder what they saw under the skirt that turn their vision into a bad dream.”

Could it be limkamput’s face??

46. #47 by limkamput on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 1:45 pm

Colonel rat, you don’t want to know what is under skirt because it will really embarrass you. But out of respect for decency and Sdr Lim, I shall not mention it this time.

Again, let me emphasize, respecting this blog and you, the rat are very different things. Sometimes mentally challenged rats just don’t get it.

47. #48 by limkamput on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 1:49 pm

Colonel rat, you have no class. You asked arrogant questions intending to insult me, but I have answered every one of them as stated above. Who actually is a trouble maker here and who actually has shown to know next to nothing?