Mazu statue – Lim questions Yong’s stand

Daily News Express
Lim questions Yong’s stand
Sunday 06 January 2008

Kota Kinabalu: Parliamentary Opposition Leader Lim Kit Siang has accused Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) President Datuk Yong Teck Lee of leading the attack on former Chief Minister Tan Sri Chong Kah Kiat to oppose the Mazu project in Kudat.

He said Yong – also a former Chief Minister – and Chong should be standing united to hold the middle ground to uphold the constitutional right of Sabahans and Malaysians on the freedom of religion by continuing with the construction of the 32.9 metres (108-feet Mazu) statue.

“It is disgraceful and tragic that instead of the two former Sabah Chief Ministers standing on an united platform working for the completion of the world’s tallest Mazu statue, Yong is leading an attack on Chong to oppose the project,” Lim said in a Press statement released in Parliament Saturday.

Lim, who is DAP Member of Parliament for Ipoh Timur, quoted several reports pertaining to the Mazu project by the two former Chief Ministers in the Daily Express.

He said Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak had during his official visit to Sabah last weeked expressed the Government’s hope that Chong could settle the Mazu statue dispute amicably without going to court.

“Yesterday (Friday – Jan 4), Daily Express reported an attack on Chong by Yong, with the latter accusing the former of not being prudent as ‘to aggravate the situation and raise the political tension by making harsh and hostile statements,” Lim said.

Yong had in the report called on Chong to “accept in good faith” the statement by Najib to settle the matter out of court. He was commenting of Chong’s statement on Jan 1, which in response to Najib, stated that the Deputy Prime Minister was fully aware that he had exhausted all means, and that he had no choice but to institute legal proceeding.

“Is Yong with the moderates or the extremists in Sabah and Malaysia on the Kudat Mazu statue project,” Lim asked.

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 7:21 pm

What do you expect from the traitor who led the destruction of Joseph Pairin’s PBS-led Sabah State Government from within?

2. #2 by grace on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 7:31 pm

Yong is trying to be made a CM again, I think. Anyway, the people of Sabah do not need such a spineless creature.
    Yong, I have only this to say to you, although rude and crude:

3. #3 by Jong on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 7:34 pm

That [deleted] just his sly look puts one off! [deleted]

4. #4 by vincent on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 7:57 pm

Who born this creature must be regret it. Better be a piece of ‘char siew’ instead.

5. #5 by Jong on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 8:39 pm

What sort of person is he when no one has good words to describe him?

Sabahans, reject him in coming General Election!

6. #6 by budak on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:06 pm

Unless Sabahan are blind lor…
    else why you need [deleted] to led you… ???

7. #7 by grace on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:13 pm

Why is Yong so troubled by a statue?
    I just hope he can just shut up and keep his thought to himself.

8. #8 by chiakchua on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:22 pm

Really, Yong should be a ‘Char Siew’. He really got no ‘liew’. He must ‘lick’ to survive in Sabah politic. Yes, he is licking now to make a come back. What a useless OPPORTUNIST! Disgraceful to all Malaysian Chinese! [deleted] It is always this kind of [deleted] that encourages the UMNOputras inciting ‘fire’ after ‘fire’ that encroaches into the non-Malays’ right.

The Sabahan must be blind to vote for this type of ‘wood’!

9. #9 by bukanbumi on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:27 pm

10. #10 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:40 pm

vincent/chiakchua,

In many European countries, they have machines where you put in a pig and out comes sausages. [deleted]

11. #11 by lakshy on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 9:41 pm

I think thats good. Let Yong say what he wants. Let the rakyat decide whom they want when the GE is called.

12. #12 by necromancer4good on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 10:29 pm

Remember Saham Sabah. He’s the culprit who was responsible and got away with it. That’s why he is spineless..I rather say he got his balls tied up.

13. #13 by Colonel on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 10:57 pm

10 responses and 8 deletions?? The bar has been raised a few notches boys. So be more selective in the choice of words – and subject!

EARNEST may want to take note.

14. #14 by kritikus on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 11:20 pm

brother lim, please concentrate on the more serious issues rampaging the country like the lingam tape, mongolian case which seems to be alot of sandiwara, rm 4.6 billion graft kpfz and some the highhanded cases which may be deleted from the files just some comments being deleted by cowards in this blog.

If you want dap to win more seats in the coming general elections, please address the above issues seriously and lay off cosmetic issues which is rather trifle.

concerned citizen

15. #15 by hanuman on Sunday, 6 January 2008 - 11:28 pm

10 Responses and 8 deletions. Too, 2, 2, Too many sensetive (me Malaysian mah can spell ploperly) words??? Like Allah … Hey Mr LKS r u also afraid going 2 Kamunting again ??? [deleted]

If may say if the Indians were 2 put a copyright 2 the words in the Bahasa Malaysia language??? Melayu Language ?? There will be no words left in the Dewna dan Pustaka Bahasa Malaysia or Bahasa Melayu dictionary. If every word if I were to utter or type is copyright there will be no words or languages left in this world. If I may say Sanskrit words are the roots for many languages.

There is no India during the time the gopen is referring 2. Only Chandragupta or Asoka or …. empire. All points 2 Hindu empire. This is history n u cant change history.

16. #16 by hanuman on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 1:51 am

LKS site is now a “Try Not 2 Be Deleted Game Blog”. Fantasric !!!! But I am not a gamer, darn it. You could make lots of $$$ though if what u post is not deleted. I wonder want prize I am entitle 2, if what I post is not deleted. What I am going 2 say is that [deleted]. Better not to say [deleted]. Almost every single I try 2 say is [deleted] under the deletion machine.

Welcome 2 to “Try Not 2 Be Deleted Game Blog”.

17. #17 by chisinau on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 2:04 am

He was also responsible for the missing $$$ (US25,000,000.00) meant for the release of the Abu Sayab hostages.

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 2:17 am

16 responses so far with so many “deleted” comments. This must be a record and a reflection about the bad sentiments against Yong Teck Lee’s statement.

Can I add 1 more?

Ah Yong-ah. Go Teck a Leek.

19. #19 by OCSunny on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 7:00 am

Most sahahan are suffering from inferiority complex especially the chinese and kadazandusun. That is why they still have restriction for west malaysian going to Sahab. All west malaysians are being treated like foreigners as they will be given a slip from the immigration booth at the airport stating that you are alllowed to be in the State of Sabah for 3 months only. So west malaysians may find it difficult to go to Sabah to work or do other things. But they allow Umno to go in and now they are in control of everthing including plundering the billions in the timber and petroleum industries. Even Pairin the now join them. Why? What is so wrong about the Mazu statue?

At least Chong has the gut to bring the matter up. If the matter happens to be in Peninsular, I do not think Kit Siang or Kapal has the courage to bring the case to court!!

20. #20 by zack on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 7:36 am

everybody has the right to agree and disagree ! That’s democracy…. what are talking about Kit Siang ….. nobody should dictate Yong to do what to do…

21. #21 by Bigjoe on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 8:19 am

This issue sounds important from the standpoint of anti-UMNO sentiment in Sabah. The issue really has the numbers changed such that such effort is futile? Yong’s Benedict Arnold behavior seems to indicate he thinks so. There is only a very slim chance of him become CM again really and he is willing to sell his soul for it.

Wouldn’t it be glorious if Sabahan can send a clear and loud message to Musa and his cronies – BN go home?????

22. #22 by Tickler on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 9:14 am

What is so wrong about the Mazu statue? – posted above

Maybe this`ll help explain:

DAILY EXPRESS NEWS
    Police report over Fatwa

09 December, 2007

Kota Kinabalu: A police report has been lodged against Sabah Mufti, Datuk Haji Ahmad Alawi Haji Adnan for issuing a “fatwa” (religious decree) that forbids religious statues or replicas of human and animals in public places close to the road.

Kanul Gindol, political secretary to the Parti Keadilan Rakyat Vice-President Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan, said in a statement the fatwa issued in July last year could incite hatred and animosity in a plural society like Malaysia. He said a copy of the Mufti’s Fatwa letter together with other related letters were now being circulated in websites, including on the Malaysia Today website.
    http://thieneleventhhour.blogspot.com/2007/12/worst-bigot-award.html

23. #23 by grace on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 11:12 am

sheriff singh,
    you are very observant. So many deleted remarks on this creature
    reflects his ‘popularity’ with the people.

24. #24 by oknyua on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 3:15 pm

YB Lim,
    This is one area that I don’t have any opinion, but I want to reply to my fellow commentator OCSunny.

Right from my Uni days, Sabahan used to say, “I am a Sabahan, but I am not a Malaysian.” Their suspicion on “West” is due to (1) The oil royalty and (2) The sale of Likas to one West Malaysian at dirt cheap price and got the land developed within 6 months of the sales. That West Malaysian was Tun Mustapha’s advisor from Kelantan.

But, once you know them on personal basis, they are the nicest people you could mix with; friendly and loyal. I have a personal friend, Pastor Lau from Tg Malim, posted as a teacher to Tawau. He refused to return and subsequently resign, became a pastor in a large Aglican Church.

25. #25 by Justice_Democracy on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 7:24 pm

Wah, this is a big joke to forbid the establishment of the statue. This is what they means by democracy? Anyway, I remember there is someway in Batu Pahat, there is a hugu Guan Yin statue. Well, since young I saw it until now, at least have more than 13 years it existed. Why the statue there can be accpeted and the statue at there cannot?

Furthermore, if we feel nothing wrong in doing so, why don’t insisting on our own view? Our dearest government detenting 5 Indians by using the ISA. A lot of people commented on it and asked them to release them and argued that it isn’t a correct manner, did our governemt do so? Since this is the case, why we should act in accordance with what Najib and Yong said? We have our own stand, as long as it is reasonable, of course we should proceed to the court instead on simply listen to those people.

26. #26 by legalsabahan on Monday, 7 January 2008 - 11:06 pm

If the statue is so close to the Mosque, then why the Lung San Temple’s 9th storey tower can be built and yet so close to the Tuaran’s mosque, and all the Tuaran people seems happy with it?
    If the Kudat council is not liking the Statue to be built there, why approved in the first place? Now saying the government will compensate , allocate a new site and fund the construction to what had been build. haha, YOU ARE WASTING THE TAX PAYER(ME AND OTHER) MONEY!!
    And Yong, I really understand that you wish to come back as a leader in Chinese community, hmmm why don’t you fight on the issue of illegal immigrant? Those kids in KK street? Better economy? or you can’t find another issue, cause those illegals get thier FAKE IC cause they will vote you in the next GE? haha, think of your next generation! if the illegals can’t get a job to feed his OVER REPRODUCT FAMILY, crime happen!!

27. #27 by zioburosky13 on Thursday, 10 January 2008 - 9:14 pm

The fact is, tourism is the major source of income in Sabah this day after timber. Such unwise decision of holding the building of a folklore statue is going to cripple the economic growth of this state.

28. #28 by legalsabahan on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:52 pm

i really wonder will the voice here really heard by the world outside, at least YB Lim himself.
    or we are just enjoying having a place to shoot someone?

29. #29 by yellowkingdom on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 3:40 pm

May Pak Lah and his misguided, bigoted cohorts learn from his more eminent counterparts at this conference.

“We offer our sincere thanks to the governments of Spain and Turkey for having launched this initiative, and we pledge our full support for the alliance and its objectives,” Abdul Rahman Mohammad Al Owais, Minister of Culture, Youth and Community Development, said in a speech at the conference.
    He said the promotion of dialogue between cultures and between faiths “is something to which we must all pay attention, if we are to hope for a peaceful world, where tolerance, rather than bigotry, prevails, and where misunderstandings based on ignorance are removed”.
    “For us in the UAE, tolerance of different faiths, different cultures and different races is fundamental to our way of life and the world as a whole. People from nearly 200 countries live and co-exist peacefully and harmoniously together within our borders. People of all religions, … practice their faiths, side-by-side.
    Co-existence
    “Indeed, in our capital city of Abu Dhabi, one of the largest mosques is immediately adjacent to the Catholic Cathedral, the Coptic Cathedral and the Anglican Church symbolising our respect to all faiths and commitment to inter-faith understanding,” he said. “That is how we wish it to be. That basis of tolerance and dialogue is an essential part of the religion of Islam.”
    He said through tolerance and dialogue comes understanding and a recognition that stereotyping of other cultures and other faiths can only lead to misunderstanding and a breakdown in harmony.
    “Part of our understanding and of the way in which we practice tolerance in these matters is that we recognise that people of each and every culture, each and every faith, hold certain things dear to their hearts.
    “As a corollary, we believe that it is incumbent upon us to ensure that persons who claim to be a part of other cultures and other faiths do not deliberately set out to cause offence, or to poke fun at those aspects of culture and belief that are so important to others, which might inflame public opinion and … [create] distrust and animosity.
    “While we recognise, and value, the right to the freedom of expression, it is our view that there is a need for a greater acceptance of responsibility in the way that freedom is used, particularly by the mass media,” he said.
    Al Owais said such freedoms should not be used to permit and to justify the publication of inflammatory material that cannot only lead to a deepening of misunderstanding between cultures and faiths, but also to violence and death.
    He said the promotion of dialogue and understanding, indeed the promotion of an alliance of civilisations, can only hope to be successful “if we all exert continuous and sincere efforts to build bridges, rather than to divide, to foster friendship, rather than hostility, to explain, rather than to disseminate views designed to deepen misunderstandings”.