Abdullah plunging to new depth of shambolic government with “somnambulant governance”?

I wondered this morning whether the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is crafting a new form of governance – somnambulant governance – making Cabinet appointments on-the-run, with the public and the Ministers themselves completely unaware of the existence of such Cabinet portfolios and responsibilities.

This is from Abdullah’s reaction to the proposal from a coalition of Indian NGOs asking the government to set up a Non-Muslim Affairs Department to handle sensitive issues pertaining to religion.

Malaysian Indian Youth Council (MIYC) president A. Rajaretnam suggested that such a department should come under the Prime Minister’s Department and should look into issues such as conversions and temple demolitions so that these problems are handled department-to-department and not between NGOs and departments.

The Prime Minster’s response is utterly befuddling and confusing, as no one can make proper sense out of it, as illustrated by the contradictory media headlines, viz:

Kerajaan tubuh Jawatankuasa Hal Ehwal Bukan Islam Berita Harian

“Government considers setting up panel for non-Muslims” New Straits Times

“Non-Muslim affairs dept, if necessary’ The Sun

Non-Muslims looked after –We already have panels to handle their affairs, AbdullahThe Star

Not Necessary For Non-Muslim Affairs Dept Now, Says PMBernama

How can Abdullah’s one response produce three different perceptions as to what he meant – from the government setting up such a department for non-Muslim affairs, to studying the proposal and an outright dismissal as “not necessary”.
I do not blame the journalists, whether reporters or sub-editors for getting three completely different versions from one response, as nobody really knows what Abdullah was talking about.

The Prime Minister’s statement that various ministers in the Cabinet had been charged with the responsibility of looking after the interests of different religious groups – Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting looking after the interests of the Buddhists, Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu covers the Hindus and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Tan Sri Bernard Dompok covers the Christians in the country – has also come as a surprise.

This is because no one in the past four years of Abdullah’s premiership is aware that Ka Ting is also Minister for Buddhist Affairs, Samy Vellu Minister for Hindu Affairs and Bernard Minister for Christian Affairs.

This utter ignorance that there are Ministers for Buddhist, Hindu and Christian Affairs is illustrated by the fact that the New Straits Times – an Umno-owned newspaper – reported that it is another Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Dr. Maximus Ongkili who is charged with looking after Christian Affairs.

I do not believe that Ka Ting, Samy Vellu, Bernard or Maximus are aware that they are also Ministers for these respective religions – or can they give a report as to how they had been discharging their Ministerial responsibilities over these portfolios since their appointment?

Can MPs direct questions falling specifically under these respective subjects to them in Parliament?
When did the Prime Minister make these Cabinet appointments and why were they never announced to the public. Were these appointments ever gazetted?

This disturbing episode of Abdullah making Cabinet appointments on-the-run with the public and Ministers themselves completely unaware of these Ministerial portfolios and responsibilities is symptomatic of somnabulant governance – the very antithesis of a vibrant, dynamic, far-sighted and visionary leadership and government.

What is “somnambulant governance”? Oxford Dictionary defines “somnambulism” as “sleepwalking”.

Is Abdullah plunging the country to a new depth of shambolic government with his pioneering of “somnambulant governance”?

1. #1 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 9:50 am

“How can Abdullah’s one response produce three different perceptions as to what he meant – from the government setting up such a department for non-Muslim affairs, to studying the proposal and an outright dismissal as “not necessary”.” KIT

Could it be a conspiracy to embarrass him? Obviously those who control the mainstream media report not to Abdullah Badawi or sources close to him but to someone else.

Leadership has never been this fragmented.

2. #2 by grace on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 9:52 am

Pak lah still in his honeymoon years. He hasn’t warmed up yet. So Mr. Lim, what do you expect from one who takes years to start warming up.
    Honestly Pak Lah should know where he stands. He should be made aware that he is not up to the mark and I believe he just let the ministers run their own show. look at Nazri or Zam! They look like PMs rather mere ministers. If they are good, it would be ok. But the sad part is that they are equally super dumbos.

3. #3 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:02 am

Kit should take over O’Reilly’s job at FOX! Yes, today’s word is “somnambulant”!

4. #4 by justice_fighter on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:06 am

Everything under the sleepy and confused Pak Lah is a chaos!!

What a shame for him to ask for more support from the people for the sake of enrishing his own family members and cronies!!

Wake up citizens!! It’s time to vote this hypocrite liar out!!

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:07 am

Pity the old sod:– he keeps on forgetting what he said the day before and hence keeps on contradicting himself. His memory is like an old 5.25 inch diskette with a maximum of 720KB of data and diminishing by the day due to fungi infestation. And his excuse is “Baru turun padang 15 minit…”

6. #6 by thaksan on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:17 am

HAHAHAH!!!!!!
    this is by far the most funniest thing i’ve read recently! = )

7. #7 by DiaperHead on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:37 am

I was informed by TIME magazine that it is seriously considering making Malaysia’s Prime Minister as the Flip Flop Prime Minister of the Year.

8. #8 by Count Dracula on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:44 am

“I do not blame the journalists, whether reporters or sub-editors for getting three completely different versions from one response, as nobody really knows what Abdullah was talking about.” Kit

How could anybody know what he’s talking about when he himself doesn’t know?

9. #9 by sani on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:51 am

YB

Not only he is lost at what to do, which had always been. If this thing comes thru’ it will be more devisive: The proven BN formula, divide + rule.

Allow me to quote Mr Patrick Teoh:

“Hello, Barisan Nasional any schoolboy with a history book will tell you that this region wrote the book on racial harmony, cultural diversity and religious understanding. Long before you sailed into the scene with your unbalanced dacing (weighing scales, the symbol of the Barisan Nasional)

We have been this way for centuries. Right from the days of the Malacca Sultanate when Malacca was the centre of trade that brought together peoples from Arabia, China, Java, Europe. We have lived together. Worked together. Eaten each other’s food. Screwed each other’s women. And been happy together doing all that. And all without a single mamak teh tarik stall or HALAL sign in sight.

Actually, when you think about it isn’t it the Barisan Nasional who’ve been trying to un-do the centuries of harmony that we have enjoyed. We are now more Malay, Chinese, Indian, Lain-lain and less Malaysian than we’ve ever been.

And they are trying to tell us that they wrote the book on racial harmony and tolerance.

Excuse me while I go throw up.”

10. #10 by Short-sleeve on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:53 am

Folks,

Dont you find it funny? I mean we are the ones who gave Pak Lah and his merry troopers that 91% mandate. And now, we are the ones who is complaining and etc.

And lets get real here, I was at 1 Utama for lunch yesterday with 3 friends. I saw many happy shoppers there. People were busy shopping etc. And here we are screaming because our civil liberty is being attacked and all. I certainly didnt see any indication of a economic crisis. My 3 friends, sad to say were more concerned about getting the latest handphones than ISA being rolled out, rampant corruption and all the abuses of power out there. They have no interest to attend any Opposition forums citing the usual excuses i.e. tired la, you go on my behalf la, waste time one la etc etc. And worst still, one of them despite being 33 years old is not even a registered voter. He just dont care! :(

Like it or not, this apathy is a reality in Malaysia. Dont believe me? Ok, visit 1 Utama, KLCC, Midvalley, Sunway Parade or those night spots in KL/PJ and you will see loads and loads of happy Malaysians.

As long as we have this disease, BN will continue to rule for decades to come. And we will be fighting a losing battle.

11. #11 by Count Dracula on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:57 am

You’re damn right!

12. #12 by sani on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:59 am

YB + Short seelves

Yes i do agree that Malaysians are generally in a political coma.

If i may do a small correction. The BN got 61% of all Malaysians who came out to vote in 2004. We have a few million eligible folks who could vote but didn’t bother to register or come out to do thier democratic duty.

13. #13 by Count Dracula on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:06 am

Perhaps a quote from Voltaire is appropriate here:

So long as the people do not care to exercise their freedom, those who wish to tyrannise will do so; for tyrants are active and ardent, and will devote themselves in the name of any number of gods, religious and otherwise, to put shackles upon sleeping men.”
    – Voltaire

14. #14 by Toyol on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:30 am

If people really cared about their future and the future of our country, they will vote BN out and form the next govt. We should not be scared of change, whether for better or worst, we at least have a say in the direction of the country. That’s freedom!

With leadership in chaos, everyone will put their hand in the cookie jar and take what they can. Laws will be passed to put the minority at more disadvantage. In a few years time, the crooks will disappear and we will all suffer their consequences.

BN always tell us “don’t gamble our future by voting the Opposition”…but seriously, do we have a future with these clowns in place?

15. #15 by megaman on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:33 am

Try asking Msians who is Voltaire and you’ll probably get answers like :

“errmm … a mathematician ?”

“an instrument used to measure voltage”

etc. etc. …

Nobody cares and nobody will care until they basically got hit so bad that their livelihood got affected or worse, their offsprings got affected.

16. #16 by oknyua on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:57 am

YB Lim, thank you for checking the headlines.

Somebody has a split personality maybe, but honestly I haven’t fully digested the “Support me and I won’t disappoint you,” wisdom yet.

If he checked the headlines as you do, I wonder whom he saw when he looked at the mirror this morning.

17. #17 by grace on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 12:12 pm

short sleeve,
    please do not include me and my family to be one of the stats!
    Never will we vote for BN with this bunch of corrupted guys!

That is the reason why i say, only fools would deliver the votes to them.
    Mark my words! Many of those who seemed to be furiously commenting against BN will vote for them, come GE. Simply because when the time comes, BN will repair their markets, paved the roads or donate a few thousand ringgit to Chinese or Tamil schools. Thinking that the authority is so caring, they forgot that after GE they are going to pay for more in terms of other taxes!!!
    Pe0ple never learn

18. #18 by justice_fighter on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 12:54 pm

YB Lim,

Here is the Sinchew version: http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&artid=200712190001

?????????????
    ??????????

Which contradicts The Star and Bernama’s version.

So now you know know unreliable it is to read the main stream news. Why waste money to read lies and propagandas?

Stop buying the hard copy of such spin-doctoring news papers and let them bankrupt financially!!! I have already terminated all my newspaper subscriptions and say good bye to my newspaper delivery man. If the newspaper delivery man loses his job later, who to blame?! Of course it’s Pak Lah!!

19. #19 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 1:04 pm

Sleepwalking? Well, its clear that there are many situation of importance that happens when the light up in his head don’t light up. After all this PM had the audacity to call the ‘corridors’ his great idea. Just more federalism is an ‘idea’ only to a paper-shuffler.

How anyone who has been in UMNO politics and get threatened by his right-wing members for 4 years already could allow people to think that Jakim and their supporters would tolerate even a hint that they are imperfect? These are the guys that say that other people are prejudicial for wanting the federal court, which was suppose to be supreme, to have ultimate say over non-Muslim cases.

Note that they jumped to the conclusion that a non-Muslim department would stand equal to Jakim. Well, it should but it don’t have to but the possibility drives them nuts!!

This is why Hindraf issue will not go away and will come back soon. All Badawi is trying to do is postphone the issue and how much he can postphone depends on his ability to deliver economic numbers better than what he is doing now. Not much hope of that either…

From the start of this administration, I have said that Badawi was wrong in that there is no need for a different vision than under Dr. M. That the goals are the same. He still don’t get it but more suspiciously, he doesn’t want to because he is no good at it. Well. it turned out that is enough to make him a not good PM too..

20. #20 by Edchin on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 1:27 pm

Just as David Beckham made the word ‘metatarsal’ become known to most football fans, and just as Mahathir gave most Malaysians an opportunity to learn the new word ‘recalcitrant’, now this Hisahammuddin has just taught many of us another word – ‘antediluvian’ – meaning old, outmoded, primitive, antiquated.

Thanks to AAB, today’s learn a word a day is “somnambulism” meaning “sleepwalking”

21. #21 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 1:53 pm

Aiyah!!! Holy smoke!! Why use “somnambulant”, such a chimmmm word? PM and Zam are struggling with with the word “sleepwalking” – and now this som….., som….., somna-what?

22. #22 by sj on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 2:12 pm

Did they allow tape recording on their meeting? That way people can replay on what Mr Sleepyhead said. Problem solved. No more confusion.

23. #23 by pongsakling on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 2:43 pm

All newspaper how to believe? Better spend my time reading blog!
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all

24. #24 by DAPHNE on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 2:45 pm

EARNEST, Jesus said “Forgive them for they know not what they do”

Calling Commendable limkamput (new title courtesy of YB lim)… EARNEST besieged… Reinforcement required at thread below:

Challenge to AG/IGP to substantiate or withdraw terrorist charges against Hindraf.

25. #25 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 2:50 pm

You mean to tell me that Pak Lah can talk???

26. #26 by toyolbuster on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 3:02 pm

Excuse me, but whos going to be in charge of the Taoists, Bahais, Mormons, Amish, and Scientologists.

27. #27 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 3:16 pm

This PM bumbles, mumbles and fumbles with his words. He speaks like a ketua kampong and its very difficult to understand what he is trying to convey.
    Sometimes he does not know how to answer simple questions and gives a general answer, “like i do not know” or “we will look into it” or some idiotic response.
    I wonder if he knows how many Minsters he has in his cabinet and who is charge of which portfolio.

28. #28 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 3:27 pm

He’s a joke and UMNO which put him on the PM”s job, are idiots!

29. #29 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 3:45 pm

Remember Nazri’s non existent Witness Protection Act where he loudly proclaimed that a law has been enacted to protect whistleblowers where in fact there were none?

It is a common trait of these incompetents who make their own laws as they go along. It is a misguided psyche of these UMNOputras who thinks that when they are in power they can do what they want and they am not answerable to anyone.

OKT, Samy and Bernard must be scratching their heads wondering when they were appointed. I am sure they vividly remembered the petition they signed on Article 11 to the PM that was flung back in their faces not too long ago. So they should ask AAB again that if they are ministers in charge of Buddhist, Hindu and Christian faiths, then why were their petition thrown back into their faces? The PM had insisted that as the ministers in charge, their responsibilities includes feeding back to the PM the problems with the faith they are looking after. And when they do feedback they were rudely told to take a hike. So either AAB made this announcement just to squirm out of a difficult situation or he has lied to you (OKT, Samy and Bernard) and himself.

30. #30 by jacsoho on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 3:47 pm

you are right, Libra2. Malaysia PM is only a ketua kampung. Pak Lah only know how to pass down his position to his family aka SIL. He don’t even know how to speak clearly. I damn pissed off when I see him talking on TV. But sad case is most Malaysian don’t seems to care what’s really happening. Can we do some polls to get the real statistic about Malaysian opinion? Not merely from the research agency “tajaan kerajaan”.

31. #31 by helpless on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:03 pm

It draw my mix feelings over the announcement.

1. It shows that Malaysia PM is dare and capable of talking nonsense ….. in front of the public and….. to the world as a whole.

And it shows that all the incompetence cabinet member surrounded him……. are not doing their job in providing proper advice and report to the PM.

2. At least, now we can call on a specific Minister for all Malaysian to complaint about the religious problem………… even we could give the benefit of doubt as if he ( appointed minister) is sincere himself………………..
    ( with all the corruption and focus to benefit oneself like corrupted former MCA leader ) ……………. and believe on the ‘ appointed’ religion.

32. #32 by lakshy on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 4:51 pm

YB,

You couldn’t have said it baetter…….sleepwalking pm!! Daydreaming etc!

33. #33 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:18 pm

Please remember, while Abdullah is sleepwaking, billions of ringit moves around here and there along the corridors into his pocket.

34. #34 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 5:28 pm

Maybe next time, during MCA general assembly, we will see Ong KaTing wearing a robe sitting on the altar, just pay five bucks for the incent sticks and candles, burn some paper money and don’t forget to ask for numbers, lastly, you pray three times for peace and prosperity in Malaysia.

35. #35 by borrring on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 6:55 pm

“Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting looking after the interests of the Buddhists, Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu covers the Hindus and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Tan Sri Bernard Dompok covers the Christians in the country”

This is completely new to me as well….never heard such thing

36. #36 by mendela on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 9:26 pm

As I have mentioned many times before, Badawi is just plain lazy!
    He does not read!
    He does not do his homework at all!

Though Mahathir was equally bad, at least Mahathir read and did his homework!

Lots of hardworks can make an idiot smarter; but Badawi totally does not care!

37. #37 by shaolin on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 10:59 pm

Grace, the voters are a forgetful lots and can be swayed
    away easily!! Some of Malaysian voters are inmature lots
    and they are very weak and have low sensitivity and
    awareness in politics!

It may take another 50 years for people to be mature and
    be aware in politics…!!!

38. #38 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:14 pm

Is he high on something?

39. #39 by shaolin on Wednesday, 19 December 2007 - 11:55 pm

Nazri is stupid [deleted]

He challenged Hindraf street protesters to form political
    party to ‘fight’ the UMNO in the next GE rather than be
    cowards…!!

Indirectly he, as a law minister, is telling people that if
    the Indians have grievances and issues, they cannot
    picket or have a peaceful protest march to voice out
    their grief!!

Similarly it is likened to say that when you want to talk
    to law minister, you must first become a lawyer before
    you are qualified to do that…!! Ha, ha, isn’t it ABSURD???

Memang Bodoh dan bangang law minister kita!!

40. #40 by sj on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 3:43 am

Enough talk, just vote wisely when it is election. If you people still cross for BN/UMNO, you deserve it, period. There is no excuse in the world for you people to deserve something good when the choice is so obvious. The most dissapointing of people are those who kept thinking they must vote BN for the sake of peace and stability. They are so ready to be conned and believe is like they are under a spell. No they willingly fall under a spell to be exact. These are the worst kind of people who cannot differentiate between what is wrong and what is right.

41. #41 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 6:05 am

42. #42 by patriotic1994 on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 12:44 pm

Other thing in mind is why “non-muslim affair”, as if only non-muslim has problem, or not important to look into muslim’s affair. Why can’t be just “religious affair” to deal with all religion related affairs? Similar idea to Bangsa Malaysia for all, not by race.

43. #43 by cheng on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 1:09 pm

I don’t know why but I still remember the “advertisement” before the last general election. They showed it every 30 minutes, I think. The media influence is damn strong.
    There was a voice asking God to give this servant the strength to administer this country. Berilah kekuatan kepada hambaMu… something… Still remember ?
    Looks like God is not on his side afte rall these years…

44. #44 by hiro on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 1:49 pm

Somehow, we feel nostalgic about the certainty and forcefulness that came with Tun Dr Mahathir, even though we were dead set against his dictatorial ways. AAB on the other hand is not only displaying a lack of intellectual sharpness, he simply lacks the sense of urgency. This country is doomed unless he is removed from power, together with those who are sucking up to him just so that he leaves them alone to wreck havoc on the rest of Malaysians.

45. #45 by sj on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 2:11 pm

Mahathir is just a better conman than AAB. AAB nose’s grow longer and longer, while Mahathir’s dont. He just manage to cross his fingers while he makes promises hence nullifying it all.

46. #46 by sean on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 2:16 pm

so does this means……..Lim Keng Yik is incharged of Taoism?
    Hello…Mr.PM……..wake up…

47. #47 by sean on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 2:20 pm

I think Dr.M conned Badawi..to be Pm………because looking at all things that are happening……am sure Dr.M saw it coming…..purposely put sleepy head there to create blunders for his own entertainment.

48. #48 by EARNEST on Thursday, 20 December 2007 - 3:01 pm

His memory is like an old 5.25 inch diskette with a maximum of 720KB of data and diminishing by the day due to fungi infestation. And his excuse is “Baru turun padang 15 minit…” — k1980

Never mind, be more generous, credit him with a hard disk.

In the mid 80s, a Control Data hard disk, 4.5″ thick, 60MB cost RM3600.
    Today a Seagate hard disk, less than 0.75″ thick, 250,000MB (250GB) cost RM250.

Basing on Cost/Unit of memory alone, not to mention Cost/Performance ratio, hard disk memory cost is 60,000 X more expensive than 20 years ago.

How do we measure the performance of our Prime Minister?

We are frustrated with the increasingly high cost of living, with spiraling prices of fuel, flour, bread, vegetable, etc, etc, process, and quality of life plunging with spiraling crime rates, religious intolerance, decreasing educational and job opportunities, etc, etc.

Cost of living/Quality of life index ratio may not be 60,000 X worse off today than under previous Prime Ministers, but could be quite substantial. There may be better yardsticks for comparisons. Some economists may be able to enlighten us here.

However, in order to have a fair and balanced view, we need to be aware of the fallacy of comparing the progress in computer hardware, which follows Moore’s Law with the performance of a Prime Minster who follows Draconian Laws. It may serve to highlight our points, but would be grossly unfair to compare apples with oranges.

An example (a joke) of a stinging response to an attempt to compare the computer industry with the auto industry — a more plausible comparison — is reproduced below:

At a recent computer expo (COMDEX), Bill Gates reportedly compared the computer industry with the auto industry and stated:
    “If GM had kept up with technology like the computer industry has, we would be driving twenty-five dollar cars that got 1000 miles to the gallon.”

In response to Bill’s comments, GM issued a press release stating (by Mr. Welch himself):
    If GM had developed technology like Microsoft, we would be driving cars with the following characteristics:
    1. For no reason whatsoever your car would crash twice a day.
    2. Every time they repainted the lines on the road you would have to buy a new car.
    3. Occasionally your car would die on the freeway for no reason, and you would just accept this, restart and drive on.
    4. Occasionally, executing a maneuver such as a left turn, would cause your car to shut down and refuse to restart, in which case you would have to reinstall the engine.
    5. Only one person at a time could use the car, unless you bought “Car95” or “CarNT.” But then you have would have to buy more seats.
    6. Macintosh would make a car that was powered by the sun, reliable, five times as fast, and twice as easy to drive, but would only run on five percent of the roads.
    7. The oil, water temperature and alternator warning lights would be replaced by a single “general car default” warning light.
    8. New seats would force everyone to have the same size butt.
    9. The airbag system would say “Are you sure?” before going off.
    10. Occasionally for no reason whatsoever, your car would lock you out and refuse to let you in until you simultaneously lifted the door handle, turned the key, and grab hold of the radio antenna.
    11. GM would require all car buyers to also purchase a deluxe set of Rand McNally road maps (now a GM subsidiary), even though they neither need them nor want them. Attempting to delete this option would immediately cause the car’s performance to diminish by 50% or more. Moreover, GM would become a target for investigation by the Justice Department.
    12. Every time GM introduced a new model car buyers would have to learn how to drive all over again because none the controls would operate in the same manner as the old car.
    13. You’d press the “start” button to shut off the engine.

49. #49 by negarawan on Friday, 21 December 2007 - 8:40 am

The UMNO led “government” does not want to listen to public complaints, especially coming from non-muslims and non-bumis. Every complaint will get typical responses in the controlled media like “we will act on it”, “we are listening”, “you must use the legal channel”, “we are fair to everyone”, “we will help you”, but they are all blatant lies to give a false impression to the public that everything is OK in the country, that they are doing a great job. This is the most incompetent, dishonest, and corrupted “government”. Oppressed citizens will continue to take matters to the streets as there are no more avenues for justice and fairness in this country. We ask for serious help from member countries of the United Nations council for human rights, especially the US and EU, and the international media to expose the apartheid policies in Malaysia. We also ask them to impose international sanctions, overseas asset freezing, and travel restrictions on the corrupt UMNO “leaders”.

50. #50 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 9:09 am

EARNIE aka DAFTNEE, if you want to talk cock go here
    http://www.talkingcock.com/

51. #51 by catharsis on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 9:06 pm

FAIR TO THE INDIVIDUAL
    FAIR TO THE GROUP
    SEEN TO BE FAIR
    SO THAT IT WILL NOT CONTRIBUTE TO CONFLICT

52. #52 by catharsis on Saturday, 22 December 2007 - 9:07 pm

Mr Prime Minister- Actions Speak Louder than mere words

53. #53 by EARNEST on Sunday, 23 December 2007 - 1:46 am

DarkHorse,

You may return to where you originated from, your homeland site you suggested, for which I have no time, being only concerned with issues of national importance, with likelihood of international repercussions.

Focus on the issue of somnambulant governance, not me, and try to suggest ideas to improve governance for our sake and the sake of your children’s future, instead of indulging in somniloquy.

54. #54 by 1eyecls on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 1:11 pm

see,how nice is Thailand’s PPP,they invited the oppositions to form a joint gomen,bcos of dignity,the DEmocratic Party rejected the offer,here, if you see the BN invite any BA to form a gomen,i think it’s a fairy tale story,or maybe on the 30th of February,2008!

55. #55 by 1eyecls on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 1:36 pm

you know,gomen is wasting public fund to broadcast RTM 1 and 2,almost 1.6 million family subscribed to Astro,we dun mind paying extra,when you watch stations like AXN or CNN,do you switch back to RTM 1,2 ,9 or 3?It’s non-patriotic if you keep-on watching foreigners’ channel you know(it was once quoted by many of the ‘katak dibawah tempurong party’s MPs!)?
    Imagine when you r watching M.U. vs ARSENAL,in the midst of the game,you were asked to switch to RTM2 for Merdeka Cup Final:M’sia vs Myanmar,would you do that?
    So,pls shut down the RTM 1 and 2,otherwise the kampong folks still live behind time,or is this what they want?(sorry,out of topic a little while):-0

56. #56 by 1eyecls on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 1:50 pm

i m just joking,actually the topic is related,i m comparing the gomen performance with RTMs,same quality,it’s what the best they can do!

Do we deserve this type of snail gomen?

As for the USA,ppl might even vote for a Black President,here,we still struggling with ‘hak-2 istimewa melayu pantang dicabar!’
    Hak your cocklah!work as we work,in Malaysia,if you want to work,there are amble chances everywhere!Only the cacat ppl needs aid,not the malas and bodoh ppl right?