2. M. Kulasegaran – MP Ipoh Barat
3. Fong Kui Lun – MP Bukit Bintang
4. A. Sivanesan – CEC member
5. M. Manoharan – Human Rights lawyer
6. Lim Kit Siang – Parliamentary Opposition Leader

Venue – Wisma NUBE,
No. 12 Jalan Tun Sambanthan 3, Brickfields,
(besides Petronas station)

Date – Wednesday 12th December 2007 (7.30 pm)

1. #1 by vehir on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:41 pm

Yesterday I attended the Hindraf session at The Chinese Assembly Hall, KL.

It was great to see many came to the forum and shared their views with Dr Jeyakumar, and Nataniel Tan

Everyone should come out and listen to the speakers and have the feelings why we are been taken for a ride by the ruling coalition government.

We need to put all discrimination to full stop. 50 years is enough. Now move forward to look something more beneficial for our beloved childrens.

Ya, we need to make a change. What change? Drastic change.
    By voting the BN and its parties in the coming GE.

I am selected to be one of the coming GE election officers for the Federal Territory Parliament seats.

I just want to see how my vote is going to be casted. I have signed the UNDI post to be send to my house address. I just have to wait n see. Whether it comes or missing in action.

I will be there today for the meeting to get new ideas on latest developments and strategies.

We need to be united and have the same motto. To change the BN government.

Everyone shoould pass the word around so that it reaches to the grassroot levels why we need a change.

2. #2 by vehir on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:43 pm

it should be read as – By voting out the BN and its parties in the coming GE

3. #3 by St0rmFury on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:53 pm

Waaa… what a sudden announcement! Looks like I’ll have to rearrange my schedule to be there.

4. #4 by dk on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 4:56 pm

eh…johor got no DAP kah? I’m new to the politics…if got tell me

5. #5 by budak on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:05 pm

DAP Johor Office
    Address No 73A, jalan Sri Orkid 17, Taman Seri Orkid,
    81300 Skudai, Johor
    Tel +607-5127652
    Fax +607-5127652

6. #6 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:27 pm

dk,
    Johor Chinese are real selfish when compared to the Chinese in KL and Ipoh. I undertstand the Cantonese have balls unlike some of the Hokkiens and Teochews in Johore. Its the same with the Hokkiens and Teochews in Penang.
    They play safe and support MCA.
    Lee Kow was one dedicated DAP man in Kluang and they even voted him out.
    They are more interested in the bank accounts and jobs. They hate UMNO and BN but will vote for them just to be allowed to make their money and sleep soundly every night.
    Lets see what happens this time around.

7. #7 by js on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 6:32 pm

Libra2,
    How can you say that Penang Hokkiens and Teochews have no balls??? We are fully support the DAP all the time.Please use the words more politely.Thks

8. #8 by budak on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:15 pm

we some representation from Johor, N9, Melaka, Pahang, if possible Kelantan, Perlis, Kedah and Terenganu… please make your vote worth and MP work for you…

people in Sabah, please choose properly on next election if you like to have you rights to be protected… else BN will rape you and your rights, and they might “sell” yoour motherland to Filipina…

Penang, Perak, Federal and Sarawak people really got balls….
    but we still need more voices in the Parliament…

9. #9 by sec on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:36 pm

We ( Chinese and Indian) had been systematic marginalised. The tourists will question we are not multi races country .Even ” Makan” had been marginalised because we can not have others Races food at the High Way Toll Rest house; only Muslim food is available. How to attract tourists to this country which is more Islamic than the Indonesia. In Indonesia; others religion were allow to propaganda in the air 30 minutes / week.
    The viewing of satelite TV ( astro ) is free of charge. Our gov take more care to the rich than the poor.

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:42 pm

Vehir, I hope this is no clue to your real identity. You’d be stupid as to provide a clue. Who you vote is a secret no one should know except yourself.

You can expect them to commit all sorts of electoral offences prohibited under the Act. The only question is what are you gonna do about it! Ensuring that you get to vote or to ensure that your vote is properly counted assuming that is possible will not change the outcome!

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:47 pm

“How can you say that Penang Hokkiens and Teochews have no balls??? ”

Don’t know about that but there sure are a lot of fishball stalls and fishball girls around.

12. #12 by benny on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:56 pm

UNCLE KIT,
    I am just wondering how you able to tolerate this BN mps for decades.They are not there for multiracial intergration but divide n rule,wht a nasty party it is.WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT THE POLITICS B4 AND AFTER HINDRAF MASS RALLY.GUYS OUT THERE DONT WASTE YOUR TIME GET REGISTERED TO SPR AS SOON AS POSSIBLE TO VOTE OUT BN.

13. #13 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 7:59 pm

“How can you say that Penang Hokkiens and Teochews have no balls??? ”

The BA, especially DAP, lost in a lot of seats it contested not because voters do not support the opposition but due to the gerry-mandering of constituencies and the rigging of electoral results via postal votes. A glaring example is the fact that urban, mainly non-Malay constituencies have up to 10 times the number of voters compared to a rural Malay seat.

14. #14 by jbhlee on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:03 pm

DAP is not only for the Chinese and Indians. It is a party for the Malays too. We need real warrior like Ahmad Nor to be in the party. DAP is not against the Malays but only UMNOputras who make a quick buck for themselves. News around town is….the Chinese will vote PAS if PAS faces UMNO in the coming GE. This is a real turn around.We need to kick the corrupt out and I hope DAP can garner as many Malays as possible to support their course and to get them to walk together during nomination day!!

15. #15 by takazawa on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:11 pm

js,

I can see where Libra2 is coming from and I tend to agree very much with him. If you were to look at the last GE results, you would notice that the entire state of Johor is under the stronghold of BN. Not even one seat is reserved for the opposition except for 1 miserable State seat. How much more pathetic could it be! Yes, I do agree that some Penangnites are very supportive of DAP but sadly, most of the Chinese there fell for the trap set by the den of thieves in the last GE.

One more good point which Libra2 brought up is that Penang and Johor have one thing in common, the Chinese there are predominantly of Hokkien and Teochew dialect groups, and it’s no wonder they share the same mindset! Mind you, I don’t mean to make a sweeping statement here but based on my years of observation as well as the many feedbacks from my friends and relatives, I can safely conclude that most of them possess a few kinds of syndrome called apathy, stinginess, selfishness, and cowardice. Most of them are uninterested and disinterested in politics, let alone being aware of what’s happening around them. So come every GE, they would want to play safe by voting for the Malaysian Cowards Association for fear that 513 may recur. Conversely, the Chinese in KL and Ipoh, who are of predominantly Cantonese dialect group, are more aware of what’s happening around them and are daring enough to vote for a change in government. This is reflected in the last few GE results that Ipoh and most parts of KL are constantly under the good hands of DAP. It is because self-seeking Chinese from the north and south, the Chinese in KL and Ipoh don’t get what they vote for and have to bear the unpleasant consequences due to a serious attitude problem a large group of Chinese has. I’m not a fan of Cantonese people nor am I anti Hokkien/Teochew people. By the way, I’m a Hakka staying in PJ and I don’t have high regard on my own dialect group either.

16. #16 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 8:13 pm

The average household income for Indians in 2004 stood at RM3,456 a month, while Bumiputeras only had a monthly average household income of RM2,711. For the Chinese, monthly average household income was at RM4,437.
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/Frontpage/2107267/Article/index_html

The above statistics is nonsense because the monthly average household income of RM2,711 of bumis in the rural ares is greatly supplemented by their possession of landed property such as homes, farms, orchards ect. On the other hand, the monthly average household income of non-Malays does not take into account their payment of house rent or housing loans, and ever-increasing food expenses.

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:42 pm

“Chinese will vote PAS if PAS faces UMNO in the coming GE. This is a real turn around.”

The rallying cry should be “Vote for the Opposition”, translated it means if you do not have the party of choice contesting that particular constituency it does not mean you stay at home and not exercise your constitutional right to vote! You still need to go out there and cast your vote for PKR or PAS. It is crucial that votes are not split. Hence the importance of an electoral strategy among opposition parties. Failure to have some sort of electoral strategy as we know from years passed could lead to a disaster at the polls.

The wider interest of the Opposition should prevail over narrow party interest – easily said than done! But there is a real need for individual sacrifices for long term goals, the necessity for short term losses in return for long term gains!

In the face of widespread arrests of opposition leaders, it is never more clear that united we stand and divided we fall!

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 9:57 pm

“..hope DAP can garner as many Malays as possible”

The DAP leaders are advised NOT to over play the HINDRAF card! I think the Malays are being frightened out of their wits by the HINDRAF supporters who ‘rioted’ in the streets.

The picture of men in blue with red helmets from the same race battling demonstrators from another has not only alienated them from the Opposition but in many cases I feel have closed their minds to the need for a strong Opposition in Parliament. Many are now frightened out of their wits!

The BERSIH demonstration was different as it cuts across racial and religious lines and in that it is unique – but with HINDRAF we are back to racial politics. No matter how many times their leaders say it has nothing to do with politics, saying it has nothing does not mean it has nothing.

Malay votes have been lost – thanks to the HINDRAF leaders for their opportunistic ways. I don’t blame their supporters. Most are gullible and the prospect of winning millions and a passport to see Buckingham Palace and the effect these have on these simple folks should not be underestimated.

19. #19 by sec on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:00 pm

Penang people got ball or no ball; this coming GE will know the answer. Hopefully they are not PONDAN.

20. #20 by toyolbuster on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 10:16 pm

The Malays are NOT being frightened out of their wits by the HINDRAF supporters. They are being threatened or Bribed by PEKIDA and Mat Rempit, the official bouncers of UMNO.

21. #21 by virgin rose on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:07 pm

happy to hear that DAP is there for indian community…. thank you a lot the ‘CHINESE LION’ uncle LIM KIT SIANG and our LUMUT UNCLE M.KULASEGARAN….. MAY God bless you… pls make sure nation’s leech HISHAMUDIN, NAZRI, KJ,KHIR TOYO, NAJIB,BADAWI AND ALL THEIR BUDDIES KICK OFF FROM the politics arena…… ….. i cannot go to THE TALK…COX got class here…. thums up to DAP AND KEADILAN….

22. #22 by Mr. on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:08 pm

Is it true that the Opposition/minority parties doesn’t get much funding allotted by the ruling Gov/majority?
    Is it true that ppl fear this n thus rather vote the traditional/expected to be majority seats party’Gov??

23. #23 by virgin rose on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:24 pm

ASK job in PETRONAS, tak dpt.. ask in TNB …u ni bumiputra ker… 1 2 BE pelajar terbaik…for biasiswa…u bukan bumiputra…’chancellor tak bagi’… minta tender… first kontraktor must be bumi….woi..i born in tis land…malaysia.. i sing ‘negaraku’ since 3-years old… cox my dad is an army personnel… ‘kalau ni negaraku…aku pun bumiputra gak’ c’mone laa.. uncle PM AND all those ‘thooot…xxx’ mps… nazri n hishamudin..behave like leaders not samseng kat kampung…shame on u…dunno decent at all..can call uncle LIM bodoh…u laa bodoh..

24. #24 by Aramaitii on Wednesday, 12 December 2007 - 11:48 pm

To budak:

Unfortunately my friend, in my hometown of sabah, the filipinos have outnumbered the locals, coupled the gerrymandering by the BN, and the fact that our resources have been raped by the government, and we only get 5% of oil royalties, if the Federal Government does not change, the people of sabah will lose out, as Sabah relies heavily on federal funding.

25. #25 by pkkkaran on Thursday, 13 December 2007 - 12:27 am

I was at this DAP/Hindraf talk. Crowd estimated ~ 1000 people. Mostly Indians, and it takes me by suprise, their support for DAP. Next election will be interesting, as according uncle Lim, the indians although not a majority in any constituency in Malaysia parlimentary seats, they are “King Maker” (if it’s the right term) where their vote can be the deciding factor. I am glad i’m in the Kelana Jaya constituency which makes up for > 15% Indian Votes.

Uncle Lim should publish these figures in this website.

26. #26 by DarkHorse on Friday, 14 December 2007 - 12:35 am

Indians are not just a marginalized race but are marginal in effect when it comes to votes during elections!

27. #27 by caishen on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 10:53 am

UMNO-‘UNTIL MIDNIGHT,NO OUTCOMES’
    MCA-‘MONEY COMES ALWAYS’
    MIC- ‘MANIAC IN CHARGE’
    PPP-‘ PRESIDENT PRETEND POOR’