AG’s Report – why the thunderous post-Cabinet silence?

Why the thunderous post-Cabinet silence over the 2006 Auditor-General’s Report — and does it signify the end of the three-day wonder of thunder-and-lightning in the media over abuses and mismanagement of public funds until next year’s Auditor-General’s Report?

Two Tuesdays ago, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi announced that he had directed all Ministers at the Cabinet meeting on Sept. 5 to go through the Auditor-General’s Report in detail and to fully explain mismanaging funds and other irregularities in their respective ministries.

Last Thursday, Abdullah said the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) should step in and investigate any suspicion of corruption in ministries and government agencies implicated in the Auditor-General’s Report 2006.

When was the Cabinet meeting for the Ministers to explain in detail the strictures of the Auditor-General against their respective ministries?

I had expected some announcement after this Wednesday’s Cabinet meeting on the outcome of the Prime Minister’s directive to all Ministers, but there is only thunderous silence.

Have all the Ministers been given a reprieve from having to personally account to the Cabinet for all the public fund mismanagement and irregularities in their ministries as revealed by the Auditor-General’s Report; and if not, why is there no public accounting from the Prime Minister as to any outcome?

For instance, what is the explanation from the UMNO Youth leader and Education Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein on the mismanagement of public funds of over RM285 million in the Ministry of Youth and Sports when he was the Minister from 1999 to 2004?

It is no use Hishammuddin making brave statements in public that “I’ve nothing to hide” and calling for thorough investigations into the misuse of funds by the Youth and Sports Ministry when up to now he has failed to give any satisfactory explanation for such colossal waste of public funds as the Minister in charge.

It is quite a farce for Ministers to only now go through the Auditor-General’s Report so as to explain the public fund mismanagement and irregularities, for the Auditor-General Tan Sri Ambrin Buang had confirmed that before he signed off his report on 28th June 2007, all Ministries had been given advance notice of his comments and criticisms for their confirmation — providing them with a final opportunity for rectification or explanation.

This would mean that as of the present date, all ministries would have known of the Auditor-General’s Report for some three to four months. Why should Ministers be unready to give full and satisfactory explanation whether to Cabinet, Parliament or the Malaysian public for the many horror stories about corruption, abuses of power and mismanagement of public funds, like paying RM224 for a set of RM40 screwdrivers, RM5,700 for a RM50 car jack and RM1,146 for a RM160 pen set (all in the Ministry of Youth and Sports).

The Prime Minister must not allow the Ministers to sweep the 2006 Auditor-General’s Report under the carpet until next year.

Abdullah must set the example for all Cabinet Ministers by announcing that he would appear before the Public Accounts Committee to account for the public funds mismanagements highlighted by the Auditor-General’s Report for the Ministries of Finance and Internal Security — and that all Cabinet Ministers are to follow suit to appear before the PAC to give full meaning to his pledge of accountability, Ministerial responsibility and the National Integrity Plan which he launched in May 2004.

1. #1 by uyatnej on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 3:46 pm

Kan-niamah, chen hu chiak luiw chiak lang, how dare they voice up now, play low profile ma.

2. #2 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 3:54 pm

“Report – why the thunderous post-Cabinet silence?” – YB LIM

Dear YB, need you ask? monkey cabinet……. simple really.

hear no, talk no, see no.

see, nothing to discuss.

half pass six idiot in parliament wasting our chances and moneys.

Sack BN, Curse BN please, dear God, hear our prayers.

3. #3 by peace on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 4:08 pm

“No one dared to disturb the sound of silence…”

4. #4 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 4:10 pm

Where is Make Chinese Angry gansters? why so quite? so quiet how to make make Chinese more angry? so quiet can make more money ah?

5. #5 by smeagroo on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 4:10 pm

They are all keeping quiet like what a good shoolboy will do after committing a crime. Each giving that innocent look, It wasnt me kinda face. [deleted]

6. #6 by Zeebra on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 4:28 pm

Silence is Golden…… the hot issue now is – Is our Children Safe on The Street. Corruption issue have to wait. Furthermore, all the money has been spend……even caught cannot pay back. Better go to graveyard and pray for dead child.

7. #7 by grace on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 4:53 pm

This is what transpire in the cabinet meeting, I suppose.
    They must have come to a unanimous decision. Most probably this may their agreement among them: All Of the Ministers keep quiet. Soon all these hu-ha will come to pass. Then after the GE which we(ministers) expect win more handsomely, we can ‘telan’ lagi banyak. Now the screw drivers cost 5 times. Maybe next time we charge 10 times more. After all no body will bother!!! So far all of us never get caught what. Pak Lah has been keeping his eyes closed, snoozing all the time. Don’t kacau him. We can party as long as he sleeps.
    Now CJ also can kira already. Why worry? We can kira with him if we are dragged to court.

8. #8 by waterman on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 5:12 pm

Now let see, 1Billion for AG, 1 Billion for ACA ,1 Billion for PAC , 1 Billion for MAC and another for MIC, a couple more Billions for the rulers and that should keep everyone happy.Hmm.. anyone else I have left out…
    Now, I’ll need so many so many mega projects to take care of all these,still leaving ? Billions for myself….
    Oops just having a “monologue” here.
    Sigh!

9. #9 by justice_fighter on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 5:15 pm

For the BN government, silence = admission to wrongdoings and nobody will be prosecuted.

UMNO is above the law, yeah!!!!

10. #10 by justice_fighter on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 5:16 pm

Uncle Lim,

never expect any positive actions from the hopeless PM. What we should do is to make opposition stroger and educate the people to vote wisely in the coming GE.

11. #11 by grace on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 5:31 pm

Aiya, they are all of the same kind, la!!! Corrupted to the core!!

12. #12 by izrafeil on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 5:54 pm

Nurin dibiarkan mati kerana Polis lebih suka bersandiwara di Batu Buruk
    Posted on Friday, September 21 @ 12:08:44 MYT by greenboc

13. #13 by Jan on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 6:18 pm

It’s simply our bad luck to have a “aku tak tahu” and sleeping beauty for a prime minister of this country. We should rally around the monarchy to get rid of these half past six before they do further damage.

14. #14 by UFOne on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 6:22 pm

The month of Ramadan brings out the worst hypocrisy in us. Anyway the ones in power have the loudest say. So if they say that it is just a small matter, then it is a small matter to them. Again being a pseudo preacher, let me say this again. Nobody can fool God. We can fool ourselves. We can fool others. We cannot fool God. We can keep quiet ourselves. We can keep quiet when people ask us. But after we die and we stand in front of God, we cannot keep quiet because whether we come up with the most intelligent answers or excuses or not, He will also send us to hell since He already knows what evil we have in our hearts. Real God, please help us as we live this life.

15. #15 by shiock on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 6:33 pm

There is still elegant silence from Pak Belah on the Bersih report submitted by Ezam. Has he read all the pages yet? Will it be swept under the carpet with another quote “I don know, I need to study first”. Then maybe next or year after will completely study the report cause it is more than 650pages.

Pls observe in the papers nowadays that Najib have more comments and photo shot than our Pak Belah. Is it an UMNO strategy that Pak Belah time is running out….??

16. #16 by Bobster on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 6:40 pm

This government is rot till the bone. From judiciary, administration till the parliament all under one umbrella of rotten BN.

Seriously, if fellow Malaysians still choose to remain tidak-apa attitude, down the road only ownself to be blamed and future generation will suffer as the result.

My only hope is DAP, PKR and all opposition parties adopt give and take attitude, work closely with each other rather than fighting each other in the coming election if you guys seriously care for the country and rakyat. If the oppositions cant even work together under one roof, what’s the different to vote for a weak opposition party compare to elect a strong but rotten ruling party?

17. #17 by wtf2 on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 6:47 pm

It’s the same as last time- first they say under investigation by ACA. Like last time
    Then this hisapm fella will post in news paper saying he’s waiting for ACA to vindicate him. ACA will just issue a one statement result- case closed – no wrongdoing – with no details – same thing day in day out.

And life goes on in Malaysia

18. #18 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 7:12 pm

Yb.Lim.

what do you expect from this cabinet ?

you scratch my back, i scratch yours.

you cover my ass ,i cover yours.

this is total SHAME .

malaysians have very very short memories . and come election time, lots of goodies will be announced and once again malaysians will be fooled.

scandals after scandals . non seem to invoke any feelings of responsibilties or slightest guilt among the cabinet ministers.

hypocrisy at the highest level.

(my deepest sympathy to nurin though. may her soul rest in peace.)

the opposition and ngos must lead the march towards national accountability and NATIONAL INTEREST.

I love Malaysia more than i love the party.

19. #19 by Godfather on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 7:46 pm

The motto of thieves:

SILENCE IS GOLDEN

20. #20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 7:54 pm

This is serious, now the whole bunch is infected with the MAD OSTRICH DISEASE…..

This is one disease when whatever means is done to pretend that nothing has happen, some would bury their head in sand, some would act deaf but all certainly acted dumb.

This MAD OSTRICH DISEASE used to only affect one, classical symptom is when ask, classical reply given is “I DON”T KNOW”

now it has affected the whole bunch of retarded animals.

Quick get the dog catchers out, place a reward and cull these poor animals.

21. #21 by verbal-lash on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 8:56 pm

How to take the ministers to task when Pak Belah’s own son-in-law is also on the take? The UMNOputras are all powerful and indesctructible, withour giving a hoot to what the rakyat thinks. If they are already aware of the AGs report several months ago and yet have not attempted to give any explanations even then, it means that they are very arrogrant, totally complacent and feel sure that nothing will ever happen to them. They have to get away scot-free, otherwise Pak Belah will be implicated as well if he takes action against them – it is a case of holding him by the balls!

22. #22 by badak on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 9:48 pm

Aiii yohhh, They already settle it in the spirit of BN,
    1st..UMNO ,ask MIC and MCA leaders ‘ Are we corrupted ‘
    2nd..MIC and MCA answers siape cakap
    3rd..The other component parties are to small to even being call for the meeting,
    Before meeting was over, a voice was heard ‘ don,t forget my share ahhh.everybody just laugh.It can,t be him what, he is still in hospital.

23. #23 by wtf2 on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 10:49 pm

they have been instructed to say only the standard comment:
    “Leave it to God”

24. #24 by voice on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 11:27 pm

The cabinet (refer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cabinet_%28furniture%29 ) in my office is a lot useful than that CABINET

25. #25 by RealWorld on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 12:32 am

“Aiii yohhh, They already settle it in the spirit of BN,
    1st..UMNO ,ask MIC and MCA leaders ‘ Are we corrupted ‘
    2nd..MIC and MCA answers siape cakap
    3rd..The other component parties are to small to even being call for the meeting,
    Before meeting was over, a voice was heard ‘ don,t forget my share ahhh.everybody just laugh.It can,t be him what, he is still in hospital.” – badak

PKR, DAP, PAS get together for a meeting : ‘So we how now?’
    PAS to DAP : ‘Msia is an Islamic State la’
    DAP : ‘Ok la , we put that aside first. Cerita nanti’
    PKR to DAP & PAS : ‘Ahhh ini macam baru syiok ni’
    DAP : ‘Jom kita kahwin suka sama suka’
    PKR to PAS : ‘We are with you on Islamic State but dont tell DAP’
    PKR to DAP : ‘Dont worry we will slow talk PAS and kow tim’
    PAS to DAP & PKR : ‘what about the rakyat?’
    PKR & DAP : ‘shhhh our marriage is just for show la’
    PAS: ‘ Ok on!’
    DAP to PKR & PAS : ‘Lets go celebrate in Bukit Bintang!’

26. #26 by hydroqueen on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 1:23 am

Well – how about an Auditor General’s report from Canada – Newfoundland and Labrador – millions of missing dollars and politicians buying clothing – perfume – lotto tickets – and lots of alcohol.

http://nlpost.blogspot.com/2007/09/from-one-ag-to-anothertsk-tsk-tsk.html

another case from Canada – abuse of public funds….

27. #27 by lakshy on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 5:38 am

Look, as persons put in positions of responsibility, cant the ministers be charged with negligence or gross dereliction of duty?

Can DAP/PKR lawyers take this up?

28. #28 by oct on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 7:45 am

Buy screwdriver, get free tv. Buy car jack, get free trip to disneyland.
    On the left is their people. On the right is also their people. How to find fault. ACA, Polis, AG, CJ are all in the same payroll. If the paymaster says black is white, all will say yes. Only way is vote them out. Nothing less. If we don’t, we can talk until the cows come home and no action will be taken. Next buy 1 computer, get free renovation.

29. #29 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 9:09 am

The Umno-led government has breached its fiduciary duty to the Rakyat when they mis-management the public funds …

Rakyat must sack this corrupted government…

So RAKYAT…. wake up……..this UMNO-led government is not as good or holy as it portrayed by the biased local medias…

It is high time for a change…… a change for a better future and future generation…….

It has to start from somewhere….

If you subscribed to the ‘CONTINUITY / KESINAMBUNGAN’ as sung by UMNO in every election, just think about this : If your great-great grandfather was a farmer or poor fisherman , you could has being one if not someone in your line of generation break this continuity/KESINAMBUNGAN ……

So change for better now…. we need to build up a strong replacement government for Barisan Nasional….

It may be very challenging to change the Statue quo…. but it must start from somewhere. we owe a duty to ensure the future generation be freed from this corrupt practice before our nation collapsed

30. #30 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 9:10 am

Errata…. should be mis-managed the public fund

31. #31 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 2:19 pm

Year in year out the same song sung.

Why? There are many reasons.

One of them is the mediocre civil servants from secretary generals to office boys! Certain mono race filled 99% of the posts in the civil service from top to bottom, especially all the topmost posts. We can see that is the leading factor leading the rot in the civil service, financial abuse, financial mismanagement simply there are of “tidak apa (couldn’t care less)” culture, that is so ingrained in them, that it is indeed their culture, part and parcel of their character and attitudes.

Easy money without sweats, while some other less privileged, will toil for them. Put out their hands, they will get their shares for free.

Even to buy a house, they get 10% discount on the price. Who pay that additional 10%? It is other buyers of other ethnic groups who have to bear for them.

They buy ASN/ASB with loans at 3% from financial institutions, and get paid dividen from ASN/ASB at 10%. Doing literally nothing, they pocketed 7% profit yearly. There is no limit as to the amount they borrow and purchase ASN/ASB, thus there is limit as to how much they can pocket from the difference.

The examples is endless here in this country. That is how the public moneys end up in the pockets of all those bumps!

32. #32 by badak on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 3:01 pm

REALWORLD,gud one now its to up to the opposition to prove you and all the fence sitters wrong ,

First and formost lets have a one to one fight in all seats, Lets opposition come up with the same election slogan.PKR,PAS and DAP can never win on their own.

33. #33 by hydroqueen on Sunday, 23 September 2007 - 1:28 am

We are in the middle of an election now in Newfoundland and Labrador and all parties were involved in spending scandal – so they are running around trying to make excuses.

34. #34 by 1eyecls on Monday, 24 September 2007 - 10:46 pm

penyamun definitely will get supports from lanun,next time,the penyamun will do the samething to lanun,viceversa,but against pig farmers,no compromise!becos in this bolehland,everything has to do with kulit,not qualifications,but kulitfications!right?

35. #35 by justice6 on Monday, 24 September 2007 - 11:09 pm

sudah makan..diam diam lor..

36. #36 by helpless on Wednesday, 26 September 2007 - 4:09 pm

” Nothing to hide, please come and investigate ”
    ” Nothing wrong, how to admit ”
    ” Let see anyone dare to speak up”
    ” Let watch carefully what is the next move to take ”

No one is giving the answers…How can there be any sound?