2nd Kong Choy scandal – suspend RM450-RM500 million e-Kesihatan middlemen rent-seeking scam

The week-long controversy over the e-kesihatan scheme has created more doubts and confusion, with the public presented with a plethora of conflicting accounts while the Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy emerged from the controversy in a very sorry and worst possible light.

From the present RM10 payment for renewal of public service vehicle (PSV), goods driving licence (GDL) and conductor licence (KON) holders, the Road Transport Department is to introduce a new mandatory health screening scheme beginning on Oct. 1 which would cost RM80 a year for a million commercial drivers.

In the latest revised figures in the Sun today, Datuk Nordin Yahaya, the executive director of Supremme Systems Sdn. Bhd, the concessionaire awarded the monopoly for this scheme, claims that of the RM80, the company gets RM8 and Pos Malaysia RM2, while RM10 is for operating costs, RM35 go to the doctors and RM25 to laboratories.

Only three days earlier on Sunday, Nordin had given different breakdowns — i.e. doctors paid between RM35 and RM45, laboratories between RM25 and RM35, Post Malaysia RM2 and Supreme Systems Sdn. Bhd between RM8 and RM10.

These figures have been disputed by the Koperasi Doktor Malaysia Bhd chairman Dr. J. S. Deo who said that the laboratory tests for the e-Kesihatan screening cost less than RM7, and not between RM25 and RM35 as claimed by Nordin earlier.

Dr. Deo said that the tests to detect the presence of morphine, marijuana, amphetamines, methamphetamine and phencycledine, could be performed by a laboratory for a fee of RM5.90 for a minimum order of 1,000 units, or even lower with larger volumes. Two other tests would cost an additional RM1.

Assuming that Supremme Systems paid the lab RM10 and doctors RM40 (gone down to RM35 in the Sun today), Dr.Deo estimates that the company would still enjoy a profit of RM30.

With a million applicants a year (i.e. taxi, bus and express bus drivers nationwide), this will rake in for Supreme Systems between RM450 million and RM500 million for the 15-year monopoly concession.

Malaysian Medical Council President Tan Sri Dr. Ismail Merican had criticized the Road Transport Department for being too hasty in carrying out the e-Kesihatan scheme, as there were ethical and or public interest issues which had not been given proper consideration, including confidentiality of information.

The most irresponsible and disgraceful statement had come from Chan Kong Choy demonstrating either the Transport Minister is quite at sea and knows next to nothing about the e-Kesihatan scheme or he is just putting up a front of ignorance.

When asked on Saturday as to why Road Transport Department wanted the doctors involved in the scheme to register with a private company, Chan gave a most shocking answer: “I don’t think they are registering the doctors”.

When asked why a third party company was being given the right to operate the new system, Chan disarmingly replied: “I don’t have the details”.

Is Chan the Transport Minister or not? Why is Chan so bent on creating another scandal, the e-Kesihatan scandal so soon after the RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone bailout scandal?

Since Chan is so ignorant about the e-Kesihatan controversy, this is an added reason why the e-kesihatan scheme should be suspended until an independent inquiry including medical and consumer representatives are satisfied that it is not a middlemen rent-seeking scam to fleece the public and other ethical and public interest issues have been addressed.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 12:45 pm

Next to come, e-Penjaja health check-up at RM80 a year for Malaysia’s thousands of hawkers?

After that, e-Motorist health check-up at RM80 a year for Malaysia’s millions of motorists?

Then, a compulsory e-Penduduk health check-up at RM80 a year for Malaysia’s 26 million population?

2. #2 by Jonny on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 12:46 pm

Another skim cepat kaya for the connected.

And a skim poorer by the day for most of us through the little bits of inflated prices which gets pass down the supply chain to us end consumers at the end of the day.

3. #3 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 12:49 pm

These thieves can’t even lie properly. Next, Pos Malaysia will come out to claim that they don’t get the RM 2. Where will it all end ? This is symptomatic of an administration that is out of control, an administration that is so deeply involved in cheating the rakyat so much so that anything goes, and even if they are caught lying to the public, they say “so what?”

What will it take for the rakyat to wake up and vote out these thieves ?

4. #4 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 12:56 pm

ANother more crucial hike will be the costs of medicine as highlighted by a doctor in the Star papers. There will no longer be bulk purchases by clinics and thus the extra cost will be transferred to patients. Also the usage of holgram will increase 33 fold.

See who are raking in the big bukcs and yet again the end users suffer.

We are shit la.

5. #5 by Joetan on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 1:29 pm

Masuk pocket lagi for FATT CHOY and the UMNO crony and this time at the expense of the Taxi drivers, Bus and Express Bus Drivers.

6. #6 by sotong on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 1:54 pm

With self serving and greedy public servants, including Ministers, the country and her ordinary people will be the ultimate victims.

Everyone wants to get rich quick by hook or by crook. This attitude is not going to bring much progress to the country in the long term.

This is the direct result of decades of bad leadership and governance of the country….there is no quick fix.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 2:12 pm

The whole point of using software in these kinds of application is that software is very scalable, i.e., its not dependent on volume of records. So its riidiculos to charge per record basis in the first place. Only crony driven Malaysia would consider an e-application based on per-record. You obviously just buy the software.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 2:45 pm

I am also looking for some political patronage from Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development (instead of Ministry of Health, since Datuk Chan Kong Choy does not seem to know what’s happening) to provide my company exclusive monopoly to issue e – preliminary marital certificate (at the cost of only RM80-00) which is to be made prerequisite before couples can register their marriage and issued marriage certificate. All the couples have to do is to email in response to a set of questionnaire (available from the Net) details of their relationship, and the company will set the dates for the couple to call in whereby they will be counseled by our resident psychiatrist, sociologist and a lawyer on the relative strength and weaknesses of their intended marital relationship before taking the real plunge – so that they might not leap into the abyss with all the emotional trauma and financial costs. There will also be a crash course over 3 sessions reaching them about theories of love, the dynamics of a long term relationship and parenting joys and responsibilities. For RM80 it is steal to certify the emotional health of the couples ready for such a serious enterprise! Now, this is not rent seeking. There is a real need for such a value added service : divorces and fractured families are on the rise, so the legions of juvenile delinquents, orphans either inadequately cared for by one parent or abandoned by both aggravating the rising crime incidences whether committed by or on the young.

9. #9 by waterman on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 2:49 pm

“pwcheng Says:

September 19th, 2007 at 13: 26.16
    There is no Free and Fair election. So do not be disillusioned by harping that elections can changed all this. The existing power know this and that is why they can afford to behave in any manner they like and do anything they like. It definitely needs more than an election to defeat them.
    Our RPK had petitioned to the Agung and lets walk the first mile as there are hundreds of miles more to walk.”
    —————————
    Well said about the election.

Pardon me if I also don’t feel too good about the petiton:-

1) I have heard enough of “money can buy datoship” stories, have you not?

2) Sorry I can’t help noticing most if not all elected MPs from the ruling parties are well appreciated by our rulers and are duly decorated with titles after their names – Dato’s ; Dato Seris ; Dun …etc etc.. but I don’t seem to see similar appreciation accorded to any of the opposition MPs. It just can’t escape us what enormous contributions people like Uncle Lim Kit Siang had made and is still working laborously even at his age now striving for a better Malaysia for Malaysians. If not for all these “bold as lion” heroes, how on earth we get to know our nation’s “leaking all over” current state of affairs?

Now, to sum up, what makes you think that our rulers’ hands & legs are not also “tied”?

Oh God, may You hear Your children’s desperate cries. Amen!

waterman
    Paris.

our rulers’ hands & feet are also “tied” if you read what I mean.

10. #10 by longjaafar on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 3:01 pm

Even before this, someone had benefitted from the JPJ, ie when ‘einsurans’ was implemented. An organisation provided the gateway and any one renewing their road tax had to pay to this organisation, for doing nothing.

11. #11 by ethnicmalaysian on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 3:50 pm

As TDM said, corruption is no longer ‘under the table’. It’s over the table, past the cabinet, across the board, spread into all ministries and govt depts, and finally we’ll all end up in the longkang. They no longer even bother to cheat and steal with finesse and subtlety.
    I guess this results from the 91% mandate given by the electorate, as we’re continually reminded by RealWorld.

And our paragons of virtue, the eminently incorruptible of all incorruptible govt depts, the JPJ is administering the scheme through a company headed by an ex JPJ director?? Makes you want to laugh AND cry AND tear your hair out AND throw up at the same time.

12. #12 by Zeebra on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 4:03 pm

I guess the recent death of the girl found in PJ was the work of BN ministers. This is a very sad story to throw all Malaysian focus away from the recent scandal involving the payment of RM 5,700 for a RM 50 car jack. I’m sure by now all focus is headed towards the sad story of today major news paper. Sadly, no body cares about those scandal anymore, and as usual….. NOTHING is being done.

13. #13 by ngahc on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 4:27 pm

I am very disappointed with this incompetent Transport Minister.

Firstly , he is lacking in communication skills to explain to rakyat on the RM4.6 billion PKFZ issue. Until today every rakyat is still scratching their heads about this issue.

After the recently most horrible long distance bus tragedy, we found out he didn’t implement ‘demerit’ point system. Again, how about mandatory ‘black box’ installation in buses? I am sure this has not been done. In short, he has no implementation and management skills.

Now, he seems not understand the implication of a middleman handling e-kesihatan. Even Medical Council has voiced out dissatisfaction the way in which this scheme being implemented. Again, he is poor in analytical skills.

His performance is pale compare to Housing Minister and Health Minister. What do you think?

14. #14 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 4:29 pm

when i read this article..i dont know should i cry or laugh..recently AAB announce free education for all school levels..and now need to pay some kind of annual fee..is it the same? my goodness..increase salary for gov servant for what if there is many kind of tax or fee being introduced and by all means to get money from the peoples’ pocket…..come on..BN, you dont like to rule the country just get out of the country(somehow i learn from the recent parliament meeting,guess you know wat is it about)..waste peoples’ money(tax)..end up benefiting high level gov officer & minister..

15. #15 by Uncle JJ on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 4:47 pm

Notice that whenever there is a major trajedi (death or criminal), it opens out to more scandal. Ministry will implement something they claim new and effective but haven’t there been an existing scheme or whatsoever procedure and guideline that every public had been paying or succumb to adhere.
    Let’s pray that no major trajedi happens so as not to waste our hard earned paid income tax to feed those irresponsible scandals and “license protection money making agent”
    Is really sickening and I urge all those who read this would also read the petition to Agung in malaysia-today by RPK and sign as support

16. #16 by Jimm on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 5:12 pm

Thank you, TDM for all these wonderful changes in Malaysian way of making business benefitting each others.
    God have been making sure that you will live long enough to witness all your doings and the price that Malaysians are paying on your behalf.
    Another thing that I will pray to God for His approval is that you will outlived your offsprings so that you can see what goodness they are living for because of your doings.
    Malaysians are thanking you enough.

17. #17 by sotong on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 5:30 pm

The government had lost its plot long ago……now everyone, in particular those in position of power and influence, are taking full advantage of decades of bad leadership and governance of the country at the great expense of the ordinary people.

The ordinary people of all races must unite now and take control of their own lives and future before there is nothing left to salvage or the damages are beyond recovery.

18. #18 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 5:58 pm

The thoughts flying around in the Transport Ministry:

Aiyah, what is RM500m compared to RM4.6b? They will need 15 years to get the RM500m whereas it took only a few short years to amassed the RM4.6b. Now since the RM4.6b is already in the pocket let them enjoy the RM500m. Moreover , the PM has also covered our backsides with the soft for the RM4.6b and we are scot free to enjoy our loot.

This e kesihatan scheme will not involve my money anyway. Let the poor driver bastards pay. Serve them right for taking drugs and messing up my easy life with their accidents while I was preparing how to spend the RM4.6b.

And now since my “machais” in the Transport Ministry can share share with Supremme the RM500m, they should be happy and when they are happy, they will cover my backsides even more. Everyone is happy except the drivers and doctors. Let Soi Lek worry about the doctors. As for the drivers, who cares?

19. #19 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 6:23 pm

Wait till they implement “e-udara” when everyone who breathes has to pay RM80 a year for “Malaysian Air”!

20. #20 by waterman on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 6:28 pm

Jimm Says:

September 19th, 2007 at 17: 12.27
    Thank you, TDM for all these wonderful changes in Malaysian way of making business benefitting each others.
    —————————
    I pray for a speedy recovery for TDM too and that he regains his full health as soon as possible. I believe we should learn the good from the west too. They will go fearlessly against ‘policies or actions ” that they feel wrong but they don’t attack the person.

Sorry sir with all due respect I beg to differ with you because not only I did not get any benefit, instead I was made a victim by the NEP!!!.

The nation’s saga after saga that we see now are just some of the “fruits” from the seeds (actions) that TDM has sown over his past 20plus years on the ‘throne’.
    His last ‘act ‘ of choosing what he thought at the time was his BEST yesman had turned out real BAD for him.
    Henceforth we the common citizen can get a half chance to see all the dirts floating out now.

Please correct me if I’m wrong. YOU REAP WHAT YOU SOW! This applies to all of us!
    Thanks!

21. #21 by Justicewanted on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 6:39 pm

Looks like the doctors registered with Malaysian Medical Council are all tak laku.

The transport ministry cannot trust those doctors registered with MMC and at such come out with e-kesihatan.

Perhaps it is also a reflection of the quality of the doctors produced by our local Uni.

22. #22 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 6:43 pm

Sham Democracy
    http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/II20Ae02.html
    Political tension is rising in the run-up to Malaysia’s next general election as demands for free and fair polls made by a coalition of opposition political parties and civil-society groups are increasingly being met with violence by the ruling 13-party Barisan Nasional coalition….Opposition political parties have historically garnered anywhere between 40% and 50% of the national vote, but always end up with a paltry number of seats in Parliament – as is currently the case. The combined opposition controls only 18 of the 219 seats, although their parties polled more than 40% of the national vote at the 2004 general elections.

23. #23 by waterman on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 7:13 pm

K1980
    Spot on!
    TDM planted –
    1) “we don’t need the Chinese votes “seed – you see its dangerously coming to pass. How MCA could go along and dig our own Chinese graves I just can’t understand!!!

2) “The YESman” seed – if not for the backfire with his chosen YESman, you don’t even notice it! But of course now you also have Anwar showing some real “funny” video & audio in his blog. Go see see!

24. #24 by badak on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 7:25 pm

All this shit is happening year in year out.Now the ministers are even lying straight in our face,and laughing all the way to the bank.it,s as if they are saying what can the rakyat do,

They have put all the right people in high places,All top civil servent have a title in front of their name ,do you think that they are going to throw all this away.

We the ordinery rakyat can shout and scream, the powers that be will still milk us dry.OUR Minister no more fear god,Nor do they care ,Now they fear Money( The lack of it) They are a custom to the high life shoping in Paris and London.They don,t even trust our Drs even with a fever they run of overseas for check up.

Do you think the Power that be take seriously what is written in this blog.

Come the next GE if you really care for the future of this country ,We must all go out and help the opposition in campaigning for votes ,We all must stop coffee shop talk.We must all do our part for our grandkids.

25. #25 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 9:46 pm

and don’t forget fomema

26. #26 by raven77 on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 11:42 pm

Chan Kong Choy learned this art from Chua Soi Lek……how to squeez the doctors, make some money and in the process be a hero of the public….backfired again…….MCA bunch of washouts…..always trying t make money off someone else’s misery….May God keep them and their generations to come in the depths of hell so that the good people of Malaysia are set free…….

27. #27 by House Victim on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 7:22 am

Poor CKC! You have started the wrong topic that involved too many people!!

Think about land matter – out of the touch of AG!!. Think about SB Ria Park, a land title of 72.63 acres of TOWN PARK to be under private title through few hands. Think about 250/sq ft? 790,940,700!!! = 790 million!!

It is still “safe” after MPPJ/MPSJ, JBPD, & 1000-1500 rakyat!! Even a YB has to wait for further Development from the holder!

28. #28 by raverus on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 11:20 am

This is more for money then kesihatan. Malaysia strike again, pathentic!

29. #29 by badak on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 12:57 pm

Now that E .KESIHATAN has been postponed,What now will the goverment has to pay millions of RM to SUPREMME SYSTEMS for the work not done or for terminatting the contract ,We just have to wait and see.

30. #30 by House Victim on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 1:56 pm

“Compensation” for break of contracts can be found quick in the Government Contract to some “important” project, such as the Broga case on the Incinerator. So, in either way – going ahead with the Project, or, stopping the project – Taxpayers suffers! And the raykat are lovely people to be moved to start a court case that nobody are to be responsible except more raykat are to suffer – to compensate for the break of contract!! So, the person in charge has another chance to do another!

Similarly, for SB Ria Park, either leave it in the hand of the Developer even with failure to provide facilities since 1979 or about so that MPPJ/MPSJ can get assessment of the Subang Jaya and Land Office for the quit rent for the past 20 years or more without the need of care of providing a Green Lung. Or, to be “Re-Developed” by the Developer, or, to be Gazetted with the further expense of Tax-payer money. At least 1000-1500 raykat had been moved to help the show – consciously and unconsciously!

All require supreme “wisdom” for the “motivation” and “formulation” but towards a negative social development even with violations of laws and environmental concerns.

A sold of Soul & Heart!! A LOST of Care for the Society as a whole!! Or, the Taking over by Selfishness!!

A Failure of Educational system?
    A Failure of Legal System?
    A Failure of Administration System?
    A Failure of Religious System?
    A Failure of ……..

Really can’t image anything positive can turn up if nothing at all can be done to STOP it!!

31. #31 by k1980 on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 2:26 pm

Chua Solek-menyolek is probably going to implement e-khinzir soon, whereby pigs would have to undergo medical checkups here (not in Australia, like Uncle Chan KC did) for RM80 a year….

32. #32 by helpless on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 3:07 pm

Someone is always there in 100% full alert with all the wonderful plan on standby …. for the minister, government officer …… for any government project…

Don’t believe ? It is for Malaysian…will benefit the rakyat…..

You guess what… 50 : 50 share , 20 : 80 share…. or 10 : 90… …Sound to good…

Any so call improvement be introduced… Bingo! hit a jack pot… Sound familiar……

Which government project do not have cost overrun… no concession….no compensation…

When there will wind of change…….when will the wind of change…

33. #33 by wtf2 on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 10:34 pm

CKC should just focus his time on curing his “private disease” maybe cure his conscience and instil more humanity into him instead of being made to be the monkey of this e-kesihatan crap.

Every colonial or professional organization appears to have a nemesis in its offing.
    e-kesihatan to upstage MMA? Syariah vs Civil? Rela vs Police? Dog catching competition vs SPCA? What else – do add maybe a bigger picture would emerge.

34. #34 by Rocketeer on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 3:23 am

National coalition leeches around…..Blood alert!!

I might vote opposition if they form long term coalition…..Short term coalition for convenience during election looks too pathetic and not believable or credible……”Undi Rosak” will be my candidate this time !!

35. #35 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 21 September 2007 - 4:04 pm

Chicken Chan is now Buaya Chan

36. #36 by House Victim on Saturday, 22 September 2007 - 8:15 am

CKC,

Why e-kesihatan scheme cannot go through? Because you forget the part of legislation!

If you have passed some Transportation “Safe Drivers” Bills like the the Water Services Industry (WSI) Bill 2006 and National Water Services Commission (SPAN) Bill 2006, or, Solid Waste and Public Cleaning Management System Bill and the Solid Waste and Public Cleaning Management Corporation Bill, then, you would have in one way have been “approved” by the Parliament to operate with a ‘corporation” or “SPAN” in hand for the possibility of “out-sourcing” funding and account reporting to Ministry of Finance, with no obligation to AG and also a chance of employment away from Government Salary Scale (with immediate bonus if some government “subsidiary” can be arranged)!

If you have a semi-private set-up as Syabas then you also have a means to be injected with Funding if there should be any “losses” without being chased after for responsibility and can hide the “OLD” water deposits from those Developers with at least 1,300 bulk meters with 20,000 or more deposit each = min. 26million – unaccounted. And, waiting for 42,000 x 300 = 126million to come by a few runners pretending a fight for better water tariff (after some raise) and “missing” of “Law” for individual meters.

Anyone wants to fight you have to start a Legal suit and the court may take some years just to examine the Legal Standi or years to find the accounts from the MOF. So, you could at least got two layers of “Firewall”!

If away from Government employment, you can start some defamation suit to fight against anyone dare to say something “not in you favor” and then get some judgment which may have a chance of appeal after 10 years only when the “honorable” judge could had passed away! etc..

HDA had made S&P as good as money order even with a sleeping MOH.
    Bills for concessionaires can blow-up the size of any company with more than 10 or 100 or 1000 folds or more!!

U HAVE FORGET THE MIRACLE OF “Legislation” in Malaysia!!
    May be the same legislation machine will spare u as well!
    ——————–
    Or, a GOOD LAWYER (imported) could start a case for even one Citizen (under the Constitute) to take all irresponsible “Government Servants” in one basket for a simply and obvious charge of Breach of Duty and Breach of Trust!! and thereby, they cannot participate the coming GE (May be!!) (May be dreaming is still a better off than facing the realities!)
    ——————–