Nathaniel Tan’s reply to the Prime Minister

Nathaniel Tan has emailed me his response to the Parliament reply of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad on Tuesday claiming that the actions against Nat and Raja Petra Kamarudin were not the “beginning of a clampdown on bloggers” but were normal actions taken against individuals who “break the law”.

Abdullah said the government will not restrict the free flow of information on the Internet but warned that the government will not hesitate to act against bloggers who flout the law.

He said Nat’s arrest and the police report against Raja Petra were usual procedures followed by the police and that such actions do not mean that the government is stifling dissent.

This is the response from Nat, who was detained and investigated for alleged breach of Section 8 of the Official Secrets Act 1972 relating to a comment left on his blog linking Deputy Internal Security Minister Mohd Johari Baharum to a corruption allegation.

Is Kidnapping Standard Police Procedure?

I am terribly saddened by the fact that Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi would claim that the police actions taken against me could be considered the “normal process of law” and “standard procedure.”

What he seems to be saying is that standard procedure includes:

1. Sloppy investigative work

No individual or institution with even the slightest understanding regarding the workings of the Internet and blogs would suspect me of being the author of the accusations against Johari Baharum.

2. Kidnapping

I was arrested by a group of 5-6 policemen in a darkened basement carpark with no one else around at 5pm. The police did not inform a single person as to my whereabouts until continued demands by my friends and family finally forced the police to reveal my location just before 11pm.

3. Denying arrestees access to legal counsel.

My lawyers were not informed of the time and place of my remand hearing. My repeated requests to have someone call my lawyers were all ignored. It is only by luck that human rights lawyer P Uthayakumar happened to be present at the magistrate’s court for another hearing that my lawyers were notified of the hearing. Furthermore, after my lawyers arrived, the police were relentless in their astoundingly unsophisticated attempts to deprive me of my constitutional right to consult with my legal counsel in confidence.

If these are indeed “normal processes” and “standard procedures,” then incidents like such occured in Pantai Batu Buruk in Terengganu merely confirm the fact that Abdullah Badawi and the government are turning Malaysia into a police state where intimidation and brutality are the order of the day.

Nathaniel Tan

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 9:01 am

Aiyah this is normal police style, that’s why we press for IPCMC. Are better qualified people with professional attitude or potential for more sophisticated approach willing to join our police force? Only lately the remuneration of PDRM has been upgraded. (Many have hitherto depended on subsidies from public to maintain living standards for themelves and families). How many non Malays would join the force to give a more balanced racial representation?

2. #2 by Jamesy on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 9:04 am

Malaysia has always been a police state since the era of Mahathir and what the PM is saying(normal process of law/standard procedure) is merely enforcing the meaning of POLICE STATE.

3. #3 by Toyol on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 9:20 am

It is quite normal for the police to intimidate detainees…since they are there to protect the ‘powers to be’ and not the public. The police in Malaysia are more or less like the mafia. In their off days, they become robbers, rapists and snatch thieves. With police like that, no wonder we don’t feel safe.

The whole situation is almost irreversible. The rot has really gotton to the core. The way we are continuing we will end up the real losers…economically. By doing nothing, we perpetuate the situation. We should all really think about our future by using our votes wisely. Its better to do something than to do nothing!

4. #4 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 10:41 am

How to Divide and Conquer
    http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/index.php?itemid=8120
    If Abdullah wins Kelantan, his legacy is secured. If he loses Terengganu, Najib is likely to go for his neck ( that is, his jugular)

The Star prostituted itself by perpetrating this myth of the unruly Opposition in order to raise the sceptre of riots – the only hope MCA has of retaining any of its seats. BN still can only hope to thrive if Malaysian society is divided….Now they are seeking to polarise and alienate the Opposition from the people, and harden the battle lines.

5. #5 by taikohtai on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 10:51 am

I think we all have a fair idea of how Polis Raja Di Malaysia operates but for the PM to endorse their modus operandi without even basic investigation can only confirm that AAB is PISSWEAK.

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 11:28 am

We should all know by now that the government can do no wrong. They “always” act within the law and will always have an excuse or reason to justify their “legal” action.

A bailout is actually a “soft loan” given in the “national interest”. The minister did no wrong in issuing “Letters of Support” and not guarantees. And Nat’s high-handed and maybe Gestapo-style detention was done following “normal police procedures”. And yes, the government can even justify and prove that pigs can fly if need be.

Man, the PM and his goons must think the public have IQs equivalent to Forrest Gump but they forget that Forrest Gump wasn’t that stupid after all. Will the populace have happy endings?

7. #7 by smeagroo on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 11:38 am

Thank goodness they didnt use C4. You know how low they can stoop.

8. #8 by badak on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 11:39 am

I was at a pub with my Philippino girl friend, The police made a raid,And ask all of the patron to produce their IC.When my friend produce her passport ,the police without any investication spoke out loud that they have caugt a prostitude,All eyes was on her,I prostested,which made the police angry.

Most of the patron and i was to follow them to the balai police,I ask the officer why the two white ladies was not question ,His reply was ” TAK KAN MEREKE NAK PERLACUR DI SINI” To the PDRM you are guilty till proven innocent ,Until that day i had high regards for the man in blue ,now they are just a bunch of thugs paid by us tax payers.

Sad to say my girl friend and i will never step into a local pub ever again.Can i sue the PDRM for that.

9. #9 by AsIseeit on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 11:50 am

It seems that the police can do anything and get away with it.
    I am concerned about the aggrieved party resulting from police action.

Is there no way for action to be taken against those who go well beyond their jurisdiction in enforcing the law? Surely there must be some recourse. If there is none at present, can something be done?

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 11:53 am

“…//….Man, the PM and his goons must think the public have IQs equivalent to Forrest Gump but they forget that Forrest Gump wasn’t that stupid after all. Will the populace have happy endings?…//…” – Sheriff Singh.

Ha ha, is that why they are harping on development of human capital – that we’re Forest Gump?

But Forrest Gump is supposed to be not only simplistic in thinking but also not intelligent. He wafts through life without choosing or believing in anything and his responses (unpredictable) are dictated by coincidences, happenstance and fortuitous events over which he has neither engineered nor have control. He is a success ultimately because he is an accidental hero in right place and right time where stupid actions turn out to be the best course, given the circumstances.

So maybe we don’t have to do anything to expose corrupt politicians. Left on their own, they would entangle themselves in all kinds of contradictions and implode. Happy Forrest Gump endings. :)

11. #11 by tc on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 2:46 pm

To Badak,
    I feel for you.Many years ago,my sister while driving alone was stopped at a police roadblock.They asked for her IC which she duly showed.One policeman insisted it was a forgery and that she was a Phillipino.She spoke in Malay to the policeman to proof that she was a Malaysian and that policeman scolded her for impersonation and said that Phillipinos can also speak Malay.(you guys can guess what that policeman wants)The blessed policeman then threatened to take her to the police station!Imagine her reaction and shock.
    Badak,how can you sue PDRM?Do you have witnesses who will go to the court with you for say 5 or 10 times.

12. #12 by greatstuff on Thursday, 13 September 2007 - 3:19 pm

Well done Nat, just keep up the stiff upper lip- you are a tough cookie and we admire you!

13. #13 by rajanjohn on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 2:59 am

PDRM..Cepat,tepat dan Betul..Cepat = menuduh,Tepat = dalam kiraan $ “masuk” Betul = Mr.Rite. AAB to PDRM = TAKTAU!

14. #14 by lupus on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 7:07 am

So what so shocking and new about this ? Have we forgotten about the beatings too ? Black eyes and falling down the stairs ?

15. #15 by AhPek on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 7:52 am

Mr. Prime Minister, Sir,do you really know why Nat and RPK are hauled up by your policemen? I’ll tell you. They are all ignoramuses of the internet age including you (you didn’t even know that sedition is posted on your website).Because of your ignorance you went in blindly trying to defend the actions of your policemen — their actions are normal actions taken against those who ‘break the law.’ All I can say is, carry on sleeping Mr. Prime Minister, Sir, all is fine with Malaysia.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 10:31 am

“Sad to say my girl friend and i will never step into a local pub ever again.Can i sue the PDRM for that?” badak

Looks like she is guilty for being Filipino.

17. #17 by sheriff singh on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 4:21 pm

Give Mr Forrest Gump some credit. Simplistic, not intelligent, being at the right place at the right time etc etc. yes, of course.

But the guy was intelligent enough, despite his 74 or 75 IQ, to understand and appreciate his circumstances, tried very hard and did make some progress to improve his life despite his handicap. Give him some credit. Ligh hearted the picture may be but try to see some other (positive) perspectives.

And for good measure, see Peter Sellers in “Being There.”

18. #18 by sheriff singh on Friday, 14 September 2007 - 4:31 pm

Oh by the way, some trainers have used “Forrest Gump” in their motivational programmes to inspire the, well, not so “intelligent”, that they too can become successes in life, that they do not need to depend on circumstances to succeed etc etc. So there’s more to Forrest Gump that meets the eye.

Thought you might wish to know.

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 15 September 2007 - 7:00 am

…//…But the guy was intelligent enough, despite his 74 or 75 IQ, to understand and appreciate his circumstances…//…” – Sheriff Singh.

Factually, this is not true. The central message of Forrest Gump (FG) is that one can succeed in life without understanding or appreciating the circumstances one is in.

Examples:
    – FG (in spite of low 75 IQ) gets into university through football, and that is because he is lucky to be spotted for his running ability which in turn is because he runs from those who throw things at him, and from accidental running, he also becomes independent of his leg braces;

– He becomes war hero not because of bravery but because he is oblivious of danger and just unwilling to abandon his friend who later helps him in shrimp business;

– He succeeds in shrimp business not because he has business acumen but because his boat miraculously survives a hurricane and becomes the monopolist in harvest of shrimps;

– He becomes a champion ping-pong player simply by not taking his eye off the ball, and then as it happens PingPong US-China diplomacy sees him representing the nation in China!

The central message is that he succeeds by not taking his eye off the ball, the “ball” here meaning something he happens to be focusing on at any time without being aware of circumstances and implications. It means if you focus on “A” (which has nothing good about it by itself for you) “A” may lead to “B” and “B” may lead to “C” that makes you famous and rich! You’d never know, and this why FG’s mother tells him, son, . “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”

To an extent, it is true you’d get never plan your life. FG’s girl friend Jenny, in contrast plans, analyses, questions, plans and experiments with fancy-free lifestyles, smokes dope, protests against war, screws and gets AIDs. FG on the other hand follows what he has been told, does not challenge authority, worships God, honors his mother, joins the army, fights the bullshit Vietnam war (ie embrace mainstream values equivalent to our Rukunegara) and succeeds because by focusing on “A” somehow he can get lucky to reap “B” that flows unplanned from “A”.

Make no mistake about it, I enjoy the film tremendously and its central character. And even if I agree with the maxim “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get”, one cannot get by in life by just depending on what it inside the chocolate box!

The message is against analyzing and planning of one’s life, just keep focus simple, follow blindly what we have been thought about homely virtues (belief in God, honor parents, fight for country, loyalty to friends) and presto great things might happen – that’s the message!

The message is therefore subversive of the human spirit to try to manage, plan, grapple and control events and circumstances thrown at us in a wicked world. So I don’t know what “some trainers” are trying to do to use “Forrest Gump” in their motivational programmes. You motivate people to apply effort to fight against destiny; there’s nothing to motivate if like FG, one just sits back and keep things simple by keeping your eye on the ball! Trainers use FG because they keep their eye on the ball of money that they get best paid from the wide customer base of average and not particularly talented people who dream of success, who have been told that like FG, they can also can make it in a life if they focus on simple homilies – do what is immediately in front of them energetically – and the rest will take care of itself for Life is a box of chocolates, you’d never know what you’re going to get. That’s preaching like a Charlatan!

This is what Barisan National will tell you. If youi believe that, then, by the same standard, Pak Lah – with his “tak tahu” and simple homilies – may well stumble, like FG, to become the best FG PM bringing great prosperity, harmony and democracy to this country!

Thought you might wish to know, as well. :)

20. #20 by malaysianvoices on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 11:49 am

Detained by the ISA for blogging. Now that blogs has mushroomed, can the ISA detained all of them ?