Just imagine that…

August 31, 2007
Malaysian PM Very Constructive Force For Region, Says Bush

By Salmy Hashim

WASHINGTON, Aug 31 (Bernama) — President George W. Bush has described Malaysian Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s leadership as a very constructive force for Southeast Asia.

He said Malaysia was an interesting example of how a free society could deal with movements that could conceivably change and alter the nature of the free society.

“I respect the way the prime minister has used freedom and the openness of society to deal with frustration. I mean, all societies have frustrated people. The question is will the outlet of that frustration lead to violence or peace,” Bush said in a rare roundtable Thursday with five journalists from Asia Pacific, including Bernama.

“Malaysia is an example of a country where frustrations have been channelled in a positive way.

“I respect Prime Minister Badawi, admire his leadership,” Bush, who met Abdullah at the White House in 2004, said when commenting on Abdullah’s leadership in handling extremism and terrorism in the country.

Abdullah is a proponent for moderation, advocating Islam Hadhari (Civilisational Islam) in Malaysia and everywhere he goes.

The camaraderie between the two leaders could be seen when the president said: “When his wife (the late Datin Seri Endon Mahmood) died, I tried to call him early just to let him know I cared about him.”

When told that Abdullah had remarried, Bush appeared surprised and said: “Has he? Good. I’ll congratulate him. Thanks for giving me that heads-up. I’m going to congratulate him. That’s neat.

When told by his aide that he did congratulate the prime minister, Bush laughed at his memory lapse and said: “Exactly. I’m going to congratulate him again. I’ll double the congratulations.”

He later admitted that he forgot and asked his aide whether he had called or written a note to the prime minister. He was told that he had written a note.

“That’s right, yes. (I also) sent him a couple of flowers,” Bush said.

The president congratulated Malaysia on its 50th Independence Day Friday, and said he looked forward to continuing meaningful discussions on the bilateral free trade agreement with the United States’ 10th largest trading partner.

The two countries are currently negotiating a free trade agreement. Talks have hit a snag over financial services, intellectual property, competition policies, government procurement and labour.

1. #1 by art-upon-mu on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 2:39 am

We Malaysians should be very proud that Bush remembered and thought of our PM highly.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 3:07 am

“I respect the way the prime minister has used freedom and the openness of society to deal with frustration. I mean, all societies have frustrated people. The question is will the outlet of that frustration lead to violence or peace.” – Bush.

By “frustrated people”, is he referring to frustrations vented by bloggers who consistently rubbish the PM?

I can imagine how blogger M Bakri Musa, who opined that AAB was unfit to lead the nation, would be now seething with ‘frustration’ with the manner by which the leader of the free world (Bush) praised the PM’s leadership as a very ‘constructive force’ for not only the country but also the entire Southeast Asia! So too would the other detractor – the former prime minister – who said he made a mistake in anointing his successor, who, by the way, apparently does not now need an Bush’s legitimization of his administration via an oval office photo op meeting with Bush at the price of US$1.2 million for engaging the services of a disgraced Jewish U.S. lobbyist, Jack Abramoff! :)

3. #3 by lakshy on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 3:23 am

ha ha ha! Only clowns and fools desperate for praise could be pleased by this!

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 3:35 am

Both have some things in common.

Both haven’t the faintest idea what the heck is going on.

Both continuously get poor advice and wrong information.

Both think they are smart and witty. When the whole world laughs at them, they think they are receiving an applause.

Both have goons for their Vices. One is named Dick, the other is a limp one.

Both were in the bottom third of their class and were most “Unlikely to succeed”.

One is Dubya, the other is Aiyah.

Both like to be “praised”. (They get a high).

Both have similar flags and have kicked the Brits out. One flag is called “Old Glory”, the other “Jalur Gembilang”. Sometimes they get mixed up at the UN.

One has Air Force One, the other “I have one, too”.

One was hit by Katrina, the other Altantuya.

One sings “I dream of Jeannie with the big brown eyes”, the other “I dream of my Jeanne all of the time”.

One has Condoleeza Rice, the other Fragrant Rice.

One has a ranch for cattle, the other has kandangs for goats.

One likes the America Cup, the other the Monsoon Cup.

One has outlaws, the other a pesky “son-in-law”.

One had “Twin Towers”, the other has “Twin Towers”.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 6:41 am

If you put aside whether Bush comments mean anything, the thing to note is that Bush and Badawi have similarities and common ground. What are those? Weak intellectual mind and misguided conviction.

Again, the thing to note is this:

Singapore 2Q2007 GDP growth 7.5% with a budget surplus
    Malaysia 2Q2007 GDP growth 5.7% with a budget deficit

6. #6 by lbn on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 7:12 am

The natural law at work – Law of Attraction. Like attracts like. Both are also likeable by the general public in the same way.

7. #7 by Godfather on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 7:26 am

I laughed out loud when I read this. Any endorsement from Bush is a sign of disaster – even his fellow Republicans try to stay away from the President. Here in Bolehland we can be assured that it will be carried in the mainstream papers.

8. #8 by devilmaster on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 8:29 am

President Bush had shown it very clearly. Pak Helah is just a ikan bilis in the eyes of the world. Pak Helah’s matters are not worth remembering, only for UMNOputras and Malay extremists to regard Pak Helah as a God in this Bolehland.

That’s why i always said – go out to the world and listen to others’ opinions on your beloved country.

9. #9 by k1980 on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 8:49 am

One will be going out by Dec 2008, the other will be forced out by Dec 2008.

10. #10 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 8:57 am

I find this very disturbing because the last time they met President Bush could not locate Malaysia on the map! He pointed to an island in the Pacific.

11. #11 by madmix on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 10:31 am

I thought the americans were after Pak lah lah for the oil for food thing, and those sales of jet fighter and copter parts to iran and the centrifuge thing to make nuclear stuff.

12. #12 by tokmoh on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 11:31 am

Donald Trump used to say he thinks Bush is the worst president in US history.

13. #13 by twistedmind on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 11:38 am

What a joke, from one moron to another.

14. #14 by ProMalaysiaNotBN on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 11:43 am

With a senile no-brainer like Bush can you expect a more intelligent comment than that coming from the horse’s mouth? I’d be more surprised if he can portray AAB in any true picture. Bush will say anything to ingratiate himself so that he can create that “goodwill” feeling from his target to offset his blundering ways in office and his foreign policies. It’s somehow is more easily acceptable if you continue to be the Emperor with no clothes and trudge around believing you have anything on – especially what’s in that skull of his?

15. #15 by Jong on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 11:44 am

Yes, the Americans think Malaysia is somewhere in the Pacific, closeby to China.

Americans generally are bad when it comes to world geography. They are in their own tempurung so to speak. Bush is no exception, very blur.

16. #16 by karaoke singer on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 1:55 pm

Yeah..I can imagine that. Let me give my interpretation to President Bush’s speech to us the Malaysians on our auspicious Merdeka Day. President Bush thinks that all Islamic societies in the world should be like ours. But I thought that Turkey has a more open Islamic society. He thinks that apostasy in Malaysia will never have any consequence. He does not know that because of apostasy, some Malaysians have fled overseas. President Bush thinks that our mass media is as effective as the U.S. which means that if nothing gets reported, it means the country is just fine.

How much did the Malaysian government pay for our Prime Minister to meet him ( President Bush ) ? It was definitely not an invitation. It had to be staged because of the money paid. Malaysians are desperate to meet the leader of the U.S. Which means to say that we are actually nothing in the eyes of the U.S.

So Malaysians, don’t feel so proud. In reality, we have not earned their attention. We merely got to meet with them because of the political mechanism that is at work and that includes giving of money for favours. Other than that, you can figure out different reasons like the presence of Abu Sayap in our region. At this moment in time, Islamic terrorism is high in their list of priorities. There is nothing so cemerlang, so gemilang and so terbilang if we are being manipulated for their gains. If you want to talk about national patriotism.

17. #17 by badak on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 2:56 pm

If bush has said our PM is sleeping on the job our great KJ ,Will be there to burn the flag of the U.S.A, But BUSH was smart he did not say PM was asleep ,But BUSH was just being a politition. and a good one ,

18. #18 by wtf2 on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 5:17 pm

Bush’s memory of interaction with AAB basically imply that he does not think much of this banana republic guy.
    Nothing more to be read into it.

If the BN guys think that this is a compliment of a job well done, think again.
    AAB is not in his eyesight

19. #19 by k1980 on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 5:47 pm

Before the US invaded Iraq in 1991, Saddam was one of Dick Cheney’s and Donald Rumfeld’s best buddies. Yet a few years later, Saddam was hanged by his “best friends”. So place too much value on Bush’s praises for the sleeping ugly…

20. #20 by nukie on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 11:35 pm

Bush is very smart, don’t be fooled by him…. he has his agenda… this is probably just part of his NWO.

21. #21 by pwcheng on Sunday, 2 September 2007 - 2:51 pm

One Thierry Rommel in this land is worth two from Mr Bush. One is telling from his personal insight and the other from a far away land outside. Though the story could be different, but Mr Bush will certainly not want to offend any Muslim country that he thinks can be his friends, even though what he tells could be half truth or from hearsay.

22. #22 by greatstuff on Sunday, 2 September 2007 - 4:27 pm

That Bush is a totally moronic clown, what else can he do these days but put on a good show??!!

23. #23 by TooFree on Sunday, 2 September 2007 - 10:58 pm

Bush always had a soft spot for puppets… and poodles. Maliki, Kazai, Blair,…… AAB?

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 5 September 2007 - 9:20 am

It is time Malaysians demonstrate in front of the Capitol in Washington DC against the President’s endorsement of Abdullah Badawi’s corrupt policies, the detention without trial of some 70 or more people, the repressive legislation etc.

This is hypocrisy at its highest. See the U.S> Department of State Report on Malaysia. Don’t tell me President Bush did not read it.

25. #25 by chloo on Wednesday, 5 September 2007 - 2:45 pm

Bush is not known for his Geography, likely he is visualising a country somewhere in Europe…. or he is praising us becos of our oil, Texan’s minum minyak, tidur minyak, makan minyak what