What Has Oxford Done?

by M. Bakri Musa and Din Merican

Both are graduates of Oxford, but what a difference between the two! What separates them is that elusive quality: class. One has it; the other does not. When you have class, Oxford will bring out the best in you. When you do not, not even esteemed Oxford can do much for you.

One is a crown prince, a sultan-to-be whose recent wedding warmed the hearts of Malaysians for its elegant simplicity and regal restraint. His eloquent speeches inspire the young and old alike; they enthusiastically embrace his enlightened vision of Malaysia. He appeals to their idealism and decency, and they in turn respond in kind. His understated passion and cool rationality resonate with the citizens. He elevates the tone of our civil discourse. In short, Raja Nazrin is “Yang Teramat Mulia” (“The Most Esteemed”) personified.

The other is a neophyte political operative, with grand pretensions of being the next Prime Minister. For now however, he is till struggling just to have the title (but not the qualities) of a “Yang Berhormat” (“The Honorable”) that goes with being a Member of Parliament. His obscenely ostentatious wedding a few years back dragged on for days, with multiple ceremonies. Its extravagance easily outmatched the wedding of Prince Charles and Princess Diana, minus of course the royal elegance. Today he is again indulging in excesses; this time hurling insults at Malaysians and assaulting their sense of decency.

In his speeches to his followers in UMNO Youth, he instigates and brings out their dark side. To him, the Mat Rempits, those midnight marauders of unemployable youths who terrorize our streets, represent the best of our community. He champions them. Like them, his trade in stock is taunting and provoking, with undisguised racist undertone. Lately he resorts to simian references; no surprise as he is surrounded daily by the opportunist monkeys in the jungle that is UMNO. This fraud of a leader coarsens our public debates, dragging them to his barnyard level.

We humbly apologize to Raja Nazrin for this jarring juxtaposition of images. We are comforted by the fact that a Prince Charming beside a toad will never lose his regal bearing. A toad beside a prince however, will make its warts all the more revolting to behold, and its croaking unbearably grating.

While the constant croaking of a toad may be harsh on the ears, the repeated racist rhetoric of a leader, genuine or fake, can have devastating consequences. We would have thought that this would be obvious; we need not remind ourselves of the ghastly tragedy of May 1969.

This wet-behind-the-ears pseudo-leader is oblivious of these dangers. Born years after those horrific days in 1969, he did not live through the calamity that nearly ripped our nation apart. It would be unlikely for him to have learned that part of our history at Oxford. It is also painfully obvious that no senior leaders in his party have taken him aside to apprise this uncouth young man of that blemish in our history. This glaring omission speaks volumes of the caliber of UMNO’s current leadership.

Elusive Quality of Class

While “class” is an elusive quality and thus difficult to define, nonetheless we know it when we see it, to borrow the phrase of an American jurist. We would definitely know it when it is not there, hence the dismissive, “No class!”

Equally revealing is what a particular culture considers to be a class act or whom that society views as “classy.” Rest assured that a “class act” by a mafia don is anything but in a civilized society.

Nelson Mandela has class; his nemesis the buffoon P. W. Botha did not. Many attribute “class” to breeding. If by that they mean genetic endowment, we demur, as that would imply that the attribute is not teachable. It also implies the acceptance of a certain degree of fatalism: either one is lucky to be born with the attribute, or one is not.

If the term “breeding” refers to upbringing, then we are in agreement. This does not mean that those in the upper crust of society would automatically have “class.” We have many uncouth presidents and leaders. Then there was the lowly born Mahatma Gandhi whose class act of non-violence shamed the crusty British establishment.

We would have thought that being the son of a career diplomat would ensure good upbringing. After all the profession of diplomacy itself is the epitome of class, as encapsulated in the expression, “being diplomatic.” We also would have expected some of the father’s classiness to rub off on the son. That it did not forces us to look for other explanations.

The Malay expression Kurang Ajar (or Kurang ‘Jar, K ‘J) is the idiomatic translation of the phrase “No class.” Literally it means, “Not adequately taught,” as by the parents and other elders in the village. Stated another way: uncouth.

In Malay culture however, that phrase means much more: it is the most damning insult. In the words of Usman Awang in his poem Kurang Ajar, it is sebuah perkataan yang paling ditakuti untok bangsa kita yang pemalu) (the most feared phrase by our race.)

That aside, the literal translation is quite meaningful as it points out possible ways of remedying the deficiency. Thus, “Teach your children well!” as the song advises, is one useful way. There is no advantage in being born to a diplomat’s family if your parents have not provided you the necessary tutelage. Or, as is increasingly becoming common among Malaysians, they delegate this important parental responsibility to maids.

Malaysia imports thousands of these maids annually. As only the affluent could afford these “servants,” as they are referred to in Malaysian homes, we are now seeing a generation of the elite that has grown up kurang ajar. Many are jockeying for leadership of the nation. We shudder to think of the social and political implications.

Toxic Combination of Greed and Kurang Ajar

As obnoxious as this kurang ‘jar (K ‘J) young pseudo-leader is, the situation is worse. He is also aggressively ambitious, barely concealing his greed for money and lust for power. He fancies himself an “investment banker,” but his primary indulgence is stripping off valuable assets from government-linked companies. ECM Libra’s (the company he is associated with) well documented plundering of GLCs is a ready example. He also grandly aspires to be Prime Minister by age 40! It is this combination of greed and kurang ajar that is highly toxic.

This K ‘J pseudo-leader’s political career in UMNO is consumed with endless Machiavellian maneuverings in the blind pursuit of his ambition. None of his tricks are original of course; they are primarily the familiar “sucking up to your superiors,” or variations thereof, including the most extreme form: marrying the boss’s daughter.

If perchance the particular leader this K ‘J character is backing suddenly stumbles, he shrewdly shifts his target. His tactics and underlying strategies however, remain the same. After all, innovative imagination is not his forte!

Thus now that Anwar Ibrahim is out of power, this K ‘J character readily heaps scorn upon him. Earlier when he thought that Anwar might dramatically resurrect himself upon his release from prison, this K ‘J was the first to greet Anwar at his home on the pretext of expediting his passport application. Had Anwar remained the Deputy Prime Minister, this K ‘J would probably go after Anwar’s daughter instead!

Meanwhile supplicating supporters of this K ‘J are busy groveling to him; like leader, like followers. One particularly sycophantic subordinate went so far and without any trace of modesty referred to this K ‘J character as UMNO’s Beckham! This sycophant missed the salient fact that Beckham’s talent excites the crowd; K ‘J’s is to incite them.

Along the same vein, a tabloid columnist gushes in quoting an “anonymous” UMNO insider who likens this K ‘J to a young Mahathir. Laughable! Her groveling piece reveals more about herself than her subject: a drooling lapdog ready to lick her master at the snap of the finger.

We are heartened that some are beginning to see through the fraud of this K ‘J. Zahar Hashim, head of Petaling Jaya Selatan UMNO, likened this K ‘J to the devil haunting UMNO Youth. Zahar is a retired army officer; meaning he has guts to go with his self-discipline. It would be tough to borak (hoodwink) your way through this former soldier.

The most effective way to teach these K ‘J types a lesson is to land them a tight slap on their face. Many we presume would like to do just that, especially Zahar. While we cannot do so literally, we are metaphorically slapping his face with our piece.

We have unequivocally declared here that Raja Nazrin is a class act, while this other K ‘J character is just that: kurang ‘jar. In so clearly drawing the line, we are also explicitly stating our values of what we consider worthy of praise and emulation versus what we should condemn and discourage.

1. #1 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 6:59 pm

THE VAST DIFFERENCE BETWEEN YTM RAJA NAZRIN and the k.j of the circus is totally a bad comparison.

if we were to draw a line right in the middle of a page, and list the differences , man oh man. this is NO COMPARISON.

THE AUTHOR OF THIS ARTICLE HAS USED A WRONG COMMON FACTOR OF COMPARISON.

YTM RAJA NAZRIN , is cerrtainly a class above the kj.

kj would best be among his flocks of wannabe of mat rempit . he once tried to woo the daughter of Anwar Ibrahim, but when AI fell, he than tries the daughter of AB. who is now pregnant.

to compare kj with YANG TERAMAT MULIA RAJA NAZRIN , is a total mockery of the values and nobilities of the Perak lineage.

BAD TASTE.

2. #2 by smeagroo on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 7:40 pm

One is a crown prince the other a clown prince who turned himself to a toad.

3. #3 by Woody on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 8:28 pm

Sometimes it makes one wonder whether KJ really graduated from the bottom class in Oxford.

4. #4 by dragon88 on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 8:41 pm

Did KJ really graduated from Oxford ? Or did he buy his degree ? With a shady character like him, anything is possible. What is his thesis about at Oxford ?

5. #5 by takazawa on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 8:49 pm

Or rather could his degree be a bogus one? Because nowadays as most of you know, masters and PHDs can be purchased or fabricated. I doubt Oxford produces people of his calibre and mentality. If he really had quality educated in Oxford, I doubt he would be behaving the way he behaves (like a king of all primates).

6. #6 by takazawa on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 8:50 pm

typo error here, quality educated = quality education*

7. #7 by takazawa on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 8:54 pm

Oh ya, Rowan Atkinson aka Mr Bean is also a clown prince and he’s also a product of Oxford. The difference is, however, he’s a much higher class clown who earns billions legitimately through his sitcoms and movies.

8. #8 by wtf2 on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 8:55 pm

the ape is a thug. period.
    anybody has his oxford details?

9. #9 by UFOne on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 9:32 pm

It has produced a dictionary.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 9:36 pm

Politics like business is a game with its own goals and rules.

Whilst the end/objective of business is purely profit, that of politics is basically power, before profit – and that of Royalty, the embodiment of what is highest, best in traditions and aspirations of the subjects.

To climb up in business as in politics, one plays by the rules of the system and the players within.

It is an added good that a player in the game of politics and business takes into account ethical considerations but if he does not do that, it does not mean he is less good a businessman or politician.

A politician – and businessman – seek power and profits respectively as ultimate goals: their objectives are not to improve morals or ethical standards like parents and teachers or save lives like physicians or seek justice as lawyers and the argument has always been for so long as they do not do anything illegal or blatantly immoral, it is ok to be amoral (ie neutral to ethical considerations). [It is true that politicians say that they want to serve the public but world over that is an exception to the rule, the rule being it is a standard tag line to persuade and justify being vested power by the electorate]. It is often said that politics itself is the art of deception.

So if one wants to condemn, please do so but condemn politicians as a class – that they especially within party in power all have no class. Or if one really wants to judge and compare, do so between two Oxford politicians within the same system, playing and subject to rules of the same game – not one who is a politician and the other a royalty of distinguished pedigree.

I will not so simplistically liken the Oxford politician to a toad lacking in class or kurang ajar by just comparing him with the Oxford graduate of royal descent. It is not comparing like to like, orange to orange but orange to a cricket ball!

The Oxford graduate negatively reviewed is merely playing by the rules of the political game, as he understands it and takes it (pre-existing before his entry), whether or not he understands it correct is another matter.

Anyone can judge him negatively – he may well be a toad and kurang ajar – but it should be done by comparisons based on common standards of what is reasonably expected of politicians within the circle of power vying for the ultimate prize of the top position within a given system treated as a game.

I doubt one can with fairness compare a politician in the political arena subject to the rules of the game as they presently exist with another who is a royalty playing a different if symbolic constitutional role in respect to which Machiavellian maneuverings being part of the competitive game attributed to the politicians are not applicable or relevant at all. No more can compare the KJ Oxford to actor comedian Rowan Atkinson aka Mr Bean, an engineering product of Oxford…

It has nothing to do with Oxford.

If it were othwerwise, why not compare KJ with another aspiring politician Bill Clinton 1968, he won a Rhodes Scholarship to study government at Oxford University?

That American also had “class” – depending on your point of view – engaging in fellatio with an intern Monica Lewinsky which Clinton using legal jargon and biblical references said was not sex!

Even then I have difficulty making the comparison even between two politicians : they operate within a different political system and different cultural standards.

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 10:05 pm

Let’s not go overboard with our criticism of this KayJay. He, like many others who are falling over each other while jockeying for power within UMNO, is a good salesperson for those who stand to benefit from the sales. Don’t you think so??

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 10:13 pm

KJ and Kerismuddin are only following the footsteps of Harun Idris, Ghafar Baba, Mike Tyson, Mahathir to name a few – beating the drums of narrow Malay nationalism in their climb to power.

They are not the problem. They would not be beating their drums if they think nobody will dance to their music.

13. #13 by lks on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 10:39 pm

The title should not be “What has Oxford done?”, it should be “What has UMNO / BN politic done?”.

I strongly beleive that it is the political culture of UMNO/BN that has made K’J what he is today, not his education past. There is a famous saying in Chinese “One who stays near vermilion gets stained red, and one who stays near ink gets stained black”.

Can you blame him though for acting the way he is now. He is ambitious, that’s not a fault. But in UMNO / BN politic, you don’t get anywhere if you are a nice or a decent fellow. Before he bust into scene in Malaysia, K’J must be a very careful student of how previous UMNO politician / businessman made it to the top or get filty rich in recent years. So he knows in his heart that it pays to be a racist (a Malay Champion), and it pays to do corrupt deals and get rich fast (so he can buy more votes for himself later and get even richer). It is just the normal things to do.

I remember after ABB won his last election, K’J was in a televison debate with Chua Jue Ming (then health minister) regarding the issue of NEP. While Chua was arguing for major overhaul of the NEP, but K’J was convinced that many Malays are still lagging behind. His proposal was to just “Fine Tune” the current policy.

Now we know how the NEP policy was “Fine Tune”, ie. by making it even easier for himself and his friends to strip off valuable assets from government-linked companies.

Oxford can’t possibly teach you that!!

14. #14 by TheThinker on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 10:52 pm

The likes of Harun Idris, Ghafar Baba and so forth were taken care of by a man who had control of the cabinet he was in charge of … today we have Mr. Flip Flop in charge who doesn’t seem to know which way to turn . . . I wonder if he has aides . . .because if he does he really needs to hire new ones . . .

15. #15 by Jong on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 11:08 pm

“So he knows in his heart that it pays to be a racist (a Malay Champion), and it pays to do corrupt deals and get rich fast (so he can buy more votes for himself later and get even richer). It is just the normal things to do.” -lks

– He also knows it pays to marry the daughter of Deputy PM. He was going after Anwar’s eldest girl at one time, remember? But backed off after knowing Anwar was not going to be the next PM.

Silly Nori thought she striked gold marrying him, but it’s the other way round. I pity her baby, what a k’j for a father!

16. #16 by mendela on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 11:34 pm

Read from Malaysia Today that Kurang Jar uses Apple I-Phone. commutes using heli, wears branded clothing always, loves fast cars, etc.

Just wonder how the self-declared unemployed Kurang Jar got so much money for all the extravagance?

17. #17 by devilmaster on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 11:39 pm

welcome M Manogaran, President, Malaysian Tamil Education & Research Foundation into DAP.

18. #18 by Jong on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 11:45 pm

Did he declare himself “unemployed”? I thought the new word is
    “freelance”. Well when he is free, he collects rent.

19. #19 by mendela on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 11:53 pm

By the way, all the so-called main stream media are really bullshiting and telling lies in a much bigger scale nowsaday. The news are totally reported in a lop-sided way. Truths are totally skipped!

I have stopped reading and watching all main stream media from yesterday!

20. #20 by izrafeil on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 12:01 am

the fact that mat rempits are marginalised lots and now they have a master, change a lot in politics, just imagine where BN lost by a mere few votes, with a few bucks, these mat rempits will give BN the winning majority. who says Oxford grad dont use their grey matters? DAP can do the same by going to fengtau discoteqes and recruit them as members…

21. #21 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 12:07 am

Khairy Jamaludin is a failure, that’s why he is very good with Mat Rempits, the failure of all failure of UMNO. God saves Malay!

22. #22 by AhPek on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 1:03 am

‘When yoa have class,Oxford will bring out the best in you. When you do not,not even esteemed Oxford can do much for you.’
    …………………………………………………………………………..
    ‘While “class” is an elusive quality and thus difficult to define, nonetheless we know it when we see it, to borrow the phrase of an American jurist.We would definitely know it when it is not there.’
    ……………………………………………………………………………….’Nelson Mandella has class, his nemesis the buffon P.W.Botha did not.’
    ……………………………………………………………………………….Thank you Bakri Musa and Din Merican.What a superb piece of exposition to demonstrate clearly what this elusive quality called “class” is.You have brought out succintly that class is the result brought about by good upbringing and genetics has nothing to do with it.The example you gave is Mahatma Gandhi whose noble act of non violence has brought down the mighty British.That’s a class performance.It has nothing to do with one’s station in life as implied by Jeffrey. Bill Gates has class but I can’t say so for some of the cronies of powerful politicians who are made multimillionaires by their associations.Tan Chee Khoon has class but can you say so for Najib you cried for Chinese blood in 1987 with M2Taib(who claimed he did not know English when caught with 2 million dollars in a suitcase) to pander to the crowd to win popularity.M Jegathesan has class but can you say that to the gynaecologist in Penang who also deal with human trafficking.
    Raja Nasrin has class but not the brother of Sultan of Brunei.Likewise one can compare people from different stations in life as well as from different walks of life.For class is solely about the person stripped off whatever labels he carries in life,it’s about his breeding(upbringing), it’s about his decency, it’s about his humanity, it’s about how caring he is. Measured against this KJ falls so short for he has non of those.Thus for all of us who is for Malaysia, we have to make sure that this maverick must not attain his ambition for this person is an evil Malaysia can do without.

23. #23 by trashed on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 2:15 am

The Apple iPhone is certainly a luxury as it can only be activated thru AT&T’s Cingular phone network. Does this mean that KJ is paying US$ to AT&T for the use of this phone and “gasp” roaming charges in Malaysia ???

It is possible that the phone is “unlocked” to be used by a GSM system in Malaysia but I am not sure if that is legal.

24. #24 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 8:06 am

Yes, Nazrin is class vs KJ crass. But class is an ideal that either everyone is willing to support OR you can pay for it yourself. If Nazrin does not systematically build his support, he will be taken down by crass. Do not underestimate our divide and apathy in Malaysian. We don’t have a strong tradition of civil society. All major real changes in our society have either been by the autocratic class. The closest we have come by real grassroot movement by Anwar and he ended up being coopted and later destroyed.

Nazrin represent a Malay ideal but let me ask the question, how much of original Malay ideal of the Tunku is left in Malaysia? Not much…

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 8:22 am

Read “Gandhi: Behind the Mask of Divinity” and there are researchers like G. B. Singh Mahatma Gandhi who thought otherwise of Gandhi.

Non violence was a personae cultivated to meet expedient requirements of the situation to attain a specific political goal.

Non violent civil disobedience was politically most expedient when Britain was, comparatively speaking, a nation after World War II keen to divest Colonial responsibilities and gave independence to countries like Malaya without such equivalent mass nonviolent civil movement. Gandhi had deep respect for discipline and professionalism British troops against which he would not never advocate waging war.

His detractors might also not be surprised to learn that as independence neared, Gandhi changed tune and reportedly half-welcomed civil war that broke out in the last days – even a fratricidal “bloodbath” (Gandhi’s words) – and suddenly Gandhi began endorsing violence. During the rioting in Calcutta he gave his approval to men “using violence in a moral cause.” He reportedly blessed the Nawab of Maler Kotla when he gave orders to shoot ten Muslims for every Hindu killed in his state.

To say he was anti racist is inconsistent with him being diehard supporter of the caste system in which the lowest rung Untouchables were still several notches higher than African blacks that he described in his journals as savage Kaffirs (native people) and Chinese prisoners he knew when in South African jail were “wild, murderous and given to immoral ways”………

I agree that “class” is an elusive term but if one does not think that so called “station in life” and power has anything to do with anything, then how does one explain Gandhi’s behaviour after he became supreme leader, he (still an ascetic in loincloth) reportedly used to sleep in buff with naked young girls to perform experiments to test his celibacy. Now whether the test turned out successful or failure, no one knows…………….And how does it compare to helmsman Mao Tse Tung who after becoming emperor scoured the landscape of his country for virgins to help restore and reinvigorate his health with some willingly being brought to his bed and some not? Well classy or not Ghandi had a less prosaic method of reinvigorating his health : he drank his own urine, a therapy that subsequent premier Sh. Morarji Desai unabashedly advocated and practiced.

So what is class? Does it depend not on interpretation, station in life, context, whether one is pursuing or not pursuing power whether one is ensconced in power or not attained it yet?

What and when is the true measure?

26. #26 by sotong on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 8:25 am

When one mislead and lies about democracy to the ordinary people……..the country and her ordinary people will suffer.

27. #27 by sotong on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 8:34 am

KJ, like many, are misguided by decades of bad leadership and damaging political environment.

He is young, with good guidance and direction, he could be a good leader too.

28. #28 by pamelaoda on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 8:42 am

first of all, how could Raja Nazrin be compared with “you know who” and you even insulted the toad for that matter.

I disagree with lks
    “There is a famous saying in Chinese “One who stays near vermilion gets stained red, and one who stays near ink gets stained black”.

there is another chinese saying “if the cow does not wish drink water, you can force his head down” The “you know who” is born vicious, greedy and cunning. He is so distasteful that if compared him with MAt Rempit..I guess I side Mat Rempit as least I could term the Mat as uneducated.

Another chinese saying ‘ I rather born a char siew and eat it than this rascal”!

Dont know how the malay felt if seeing a creature like this..me..dig a hole and hide my hide.

29. #29 by pamelaoda on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 8:42 am

“hide my head”!

30. #30 by sotong on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 8:44 am

We are witnessing the products of NEP with good education, knowledge and wealth – generosity of tax payers money – running the country with rampant corruption, gross abuse of power, gross excesses, crime including white collar and etc. destroying the country.

They are brought up to think they have a right to the country wealth and opportunity with no/little responsibility, irrespective of their contribution to the society and country.

There is no quick fix from past bad leadership which already taken root!

31. #31 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 9:08 am

The authors made a good case of comparing and contrasting the two Oxon graduates. However, they made the cardinal sin of attributing the differences of the two Oxonians to having passed through the portals of Oxford.

Oxford and Cambridge do admit a tiny minority of undergraduates who would otherwise not made it into their august halls and quadrangles. These are either scions of wealthy businessmen or politicians. Two examples will suffice – Tunku Addul Rahman and Prince Charles.

But the real moulder of character is the company one keeps after coming down from Oxbridge. One cannot remain pure and unsullied if one is immersed in a cesspool known as UMNO.

The outcome is that one is a crown prince, and the other a clown prince-wannabe. One is witty, and the other a half wit. One is clever, and the other too clever by half. One fights for the country, the other fights for the cunt-tery.

So, Bakri Musa and Din Merican – please be truthful in your writing and amend the title of your article to “What has UMNO done?”.

32. #32 by Jong on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 9:28 am

No, no I think more appropriately should be, “What has KJ done to Oxford?”

33. #33 by sotong on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 9:34 am

Where one graduate from does not make one a good leader!

34. #34 by grace on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 9:49 am

Very good comparison.
    It is just comparing Rolls Royce(YTM Raja Nazrin) with Kancil(Khairy ‘Jar).
    The former elegant and classy while the latter? zzzzzzzzzzzz!
    Very good writeout. I like it

35. #35 by sotong on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 9:53 am

” Kurang Ajar “……what about ” Bangsat “, may be it is a more appropriate description!

36. #36 by orangetribal on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 10:10 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BtfFlT0fb68

Maybe this vid will help DAP to reach out to the young adults for the upcoming elections.Just my 2 cents.Love DAP to bits and i’m still a sec student loving politics.heheh

37. #37 by Toyol on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 10:21 am

We should not compare class with ‘crap’. ‘Crap’ do not do justice to Oxford! At best, ‘crap’ is just a baboon in human form. Stirring up racial sentiments for personal gain…I guess that’s what UMNO and BN defines patriotism. Yes, I am sure ‘crap’ will fly a Jalur Gemilang in front of his ‘cage’.

38. #38 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 10:44 am

Good to be home again. Enjoyed the game between Liverpool Chelsea at Anfield. For those who have never watched a live EPL match, I strongly recommend it. :)

Well, I can see a lot of unhappy people with regards to KJ.
    But anyway, no worries as I believe elections will be soon. We will all be given the opportunity vote.

Let the rakyat decide.

39. #39 by grace on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 10:45 am

Khairy, after reading what the comments on you, do you still have the cheek to go and brag about your lousy self? If you still can, I believe your ‘face skin’ is thicker than the hipopotemus hide!!!

You are really tak malu !!!! Go hide under your bed!!! Even without the article, most people ‘segan’ offend you because you are SIL of the sleepy PM. But Bakri and Merican do not bother about him!!! Ha!ha!

40. #40 by blackacre on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 11:02 am

I say, this whole wayang kulit is reminisence of STAR WARS, the tussle between good and evil, the boy wonder turn Darth Vader and the new kid on the block. Having watch the entire George Lucas production I would submit, borrowing the phrase “Something is Rotten….”

Maybe the time has come for a truly democratic process, back to the early days where every grown adult had a vote in the decision making..i.e not elect representatives to vote for us but making each executive decision a referendum. With the advancement of Technology, this is not only possible but ideal..

41. #41 by Godfather on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 11:14 am

RealWorld:

While you were gone and enjoying yourself in the UK, many things have happened in Bolehland. Get yourself up to speed with your UMNO masters.

42. #42 by YY88 on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 11:22 am

In any manufacturing line, there is the so called core or premium products and the by-products or waste. The main products are marketed at premium prices while the waste are disposed off or sold as scraps. Make a guess where KJ belongs. At best he could only be an imitation product sold at great discount.

43. #43 by k1980 on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 11:34 am

This waste-product can only survive by virtue of being the s-i-l of the cuckoo pm who rules over CuckooLand

44. #44 by ipohfly on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 12:14 pm

Well said, that’s the difference between the true prince and the forged prince.

Lets hope that with the influence of the Raja Muda, there will be plenty more people to stand out and fight against the corruption and injustice in our own land.

Long live the Perak Royals!

45. #45 by AhPek on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 1:21 pm

“So what is class?Does it depend not on interpretation,station in life,context,whether one is pursuing powerwhether one is ensconced in power or not attained it yet?”Jeffrey.
    Of course ‘class’ cannot measure like one measures substance A and come out with the result ‘Weight is 1.1253gm.Nothing of that sort but then again the question ‘What is class.’cannot be raised on to the pedestal as any of the great philosophical questions demanding the minds of great philosophers since the time of Socrates.In short suffice it to say “WE wuold definitely know it when it is there.We wuold also know it when it is not there.”
    We can,however,say how this product called ‘class’ can be brought.We can gauge to a good extent the product of good upbringing by the way one conducts oneself, by the way one acts out one’s life.One’s decency and humanity also have their roots in one’s breeding and this has nothing to do with one’s station in life.I am sure many of us have examples of children from poor families turning out to be much better people than children from well-to-do backgrounds.
    Educationhas a part to play too for in a good educational environmentlike Oxford one is given excellent exposures that will certainly help to mould him towards being a class product.Unfortunately this does not appear to do for KJ.Maybe his ways resulting from his upbringing are so set that Oxford failed to undo it.We can even cite some of the products from the School of Hardknocks that have produced such illuminaries eg Li Ka Seng and Jackie Chan.I am also sure many of you can name some other examples.
    The best means of identifying a “class’ product is ask some relevant questions like:-
    (1) “Does he use genuine or foul means to achieve his goals?” or “Does he bring out the best in people around him?” or “Does he give back to society(not necessary in financial terms)?”
    (2) How does he compare with some of the people with class likeAbraham Lincoln,Nelson Mandela,Mother Therasa,Martin Luther King,Tenku Abdul Rahman,Dr.Albert Schwartze, Tan Chee Khoon?His impact may not be as large as these people but nevertheless does he act out his life like these people?
    (3)Or is he like Najib,Krishammudin,M2Taib,Mugabe or Papa Doc of Haiti?
    If yes in quetions (1) and (2) and No in question (3) then in all likelihood we have got a class product.And that is what I think Musa Bakri and Din Merican is trying to drive home and warn us all to watch out for this young prick KJ.
    Jeffrey, your account of Mao Tse Tung,has brought back memories of a book I’ve read about ‘The roving eyes of Mao Tze Tung’ by an American who has spent some time in China. Of course many people in China knew about his womanising but no Chinese would dare write about it.However this is not important since his womanising is his private affairs.But what he did to China was incredibly destructive despite the fact that he finally unified China
    in 1949 —- killing millions including Lin Piao, paralysing Deng’s son,destroying China’s treasure and setting back China higher education by decades.Even the work of the brilliant Tsien Hsue Shen the father of china’s space technology space was set back by a decade.

46. #46 by Woody on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 1:31 pm

dawsheng Says:

August 21st, 2007 at 00: 07.31
    Khairy Jamaludin is a failure, that’s why he is very good with Mat Rempits, the failure of all failure of UMNO
    ——————————

There is a saying that “Birds of the feathers flock together” or translated to ” ONE COCK COLOUR”

47. #47 by Joetan on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 2:10 pm

KJ is a very dangerous man. This man uses whatever means to fulfil his political ambition. He knows that only thru politic he can gain wealth. From his past records, we find that his favourite subject is using racial issue to promote his image in UMNO in order to climb the political ladder in that party. If this man achieve his ambition then Malaysia is heading towards destruction. Unfortunately, he manage to woo AB’s daughter and now become his son-in-law and in a certain extent his adviser. Now, the nation can only pray hard that this evil man will failed in his mission.

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 5:13 pm

The acid test is also whether if ‘Yang Teramat Mulia’ Raja Nazrin were the UMNO Youth Deputy chief, could and would he be allowed to appeal to idealism and embrace an “enlightened vision of Malaysia”?? And if the position were switched and Khairy were the crown prince would he have acted and spoken differently?

Look at Tun Dr Mahathir. Today as an ordinary citizen he told bloggers, “You (bloggers) have to gather force. You have to talk to people. Even if you are arrested, you go and talk … If you have only one person doing that, it’s not good enough. If you want to do something that is positive, you have to get everybody, as much as possible, and do it openly and say it loud and clear”.

Could you imagine him saying this when he was UMNO president and PM?

OK it is alright to criticise KJ based on strictly what he acted and spoke. But when comparisons are brought in, to say that he too had the benefit of Oxford education and turned out the wrong way is to completely ignore the effect of the system under which he operates, and by attributing “kurang ajar” to him, is to indirectly insult his parents – and in some way even Oxford University for not making him a better man – which I feel is unfair when under what system and rules one operates is the issue!

49. #49 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 - 5:26 pm

Godfather,

Hey dude, how are you? Great to see you still lounging around here.
    Oh yes, the UK was great. Nice weather, great food, shopping paradise and fantastic football. Live from Anfield, man!

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 1:48 am

“The likes of Harun Idris, Ghafar Baba and so forth were taken care of by a man who had control of the cabinet he was in charge of … today we have Mr. Flip Flop..” The Thinker

We not only have Mr. Flip and Flop as PM but he is one who is a compete flop.

51. #51 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 1:50 am

The dereliction of duty by the Prime Minister is so serious that some say it is ground to declare a state of emergency.

52. #52 by Godfather on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 7:41 am

Hey RealWorld, what do you think of the Port Klang Authority scandal ? Your Boss says that he needs to ask Chan Kong Choy, and CKC says he will come up with a statement “soon”. Get yourself up to speed on this matter, dude. Ask yourself who “cakap tak serupa bikin”. Ask yourself if this does not constitute “theft”.

Can you also tell Azim, your beloved Treasurer, to come up with a statement ?

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2006

53. #53 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 9:34 am

One is class.
    The other is crass.

54. #54 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 9:50 pm

simian. uncivilized. uncouth.
    belittiling to the august name of Oggsford.