Inept/irresponsible mishandling of Meng Chee Negaraku rap confirms Mahathir’s indictment of “half-past-six Cabinet”

The Cabinet’s inept and irresponsible mishandling of undergraduate Wee Meng Chee’s six-minute rap music video on Negaraku in creating a new and major cause of national dissension especially among the young generation of Malaysians on the occasion of the nation’s 50th Merdeka anniversary has vindicated former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad’s epithet of a “half-past-six Cabinet”.

It has made more and more Malaysians, particularly the young generation, disgusted with the MCA, Gerakan, Umno and other Barisan Nasional Ministers and leaders who are unable to differentiate between the important from the less important issues.

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi confirmed that the Cabinet on Wednesday discussed at length (“kita bincang lama” — Utusan Malaysia) Meng Chee’s public apology to the government and Malaysians for his rap video because it was “an important or big issue”. (Sun)

Nobody can fault the Cabinet for discussing Meng Chee’s Negaraku rap video clip, but when Ministers had no time for bigger and more important national issues, Malaysians have a right to demand to know why the country does not have a more dedicated, competent, professional and more patriotic Cabinet!

The country is at present drowned by a plethora of bigger and more important national issues than Meng Chee’s six-minute Negaraku rap video which should have been the focus of the Cabinet attention last Wednesday, such as:

• The failure of the Prime Minister and his Cabinet to make the 50th Merdeka anniversary really meaningful by “walking the talk” in the past 45 months to deliver the pledge of a clean, incorruptible, efficient, accountable, trustworthy, just, open and democratic administration which is prepared to “hear the truth” from the people;
  • The RM4.6 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal, the breach of Abdullah’s pledge of no mega-billion-ringgit bail-outs and the top-most question among Malaysians – why no one had been arrested or brought to book for the biggest financial scandal in the start of any Prime Minister.
  • The shocking comment by the nation’s most famous Inspector-General of Police and Deputy Chairman of the Royal Police Commission, Tun Hanif Omar on Sunday that 40 per cent of the senior police officers could be arrested for corruption without further investigations based “strictly on their lifestyles” and the total lack of action by the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) in the past 27 months to arrest a single one of the 1,400 out of the 3,502 (i.e. 40 per cent) senior police officers from the rank of Assistant Superintendent to Inspector-General of Police since the publication of the Royal Police Commission Report.
  • The unilateral, arbitrary and unconstitutional revision of the Merdeka social contract and Malaysia Agreement on the fundamental nation-building principles agreed by the forefathers of the major communities on the attainment of Independence half-a-century ago.
  • Malaysia’s continued omission from the World’s Top 500 Universities ranking for the fifth year in succession in the Academic Ranking of World Universities 2007 just released by the Shanghai Jiao Tong University.
  • The constitutional crisis and impasse with the Prime Minister’s nominee for the post of Chief Judge of Malaya unable to get past two meetings of the Conference of Rulers since the retirement of Tan Sri Siti Normah Yaakob on January 5, 2007, raising the question whether the Conference of Rulers is mere rubber stamp or has important check-and-balance role to ensure good governance.

Did the Cabinet on Wednesday have time for these bigger and more important national issues than Meng Chee’s six-minute rap video, and if so, why there had been no proper public accounting of the Cabinet decisions?

Next is the manner and outcome of the Cabinet’s “long discussion” of Meng Chee’s rap video. I presume Meng Chee’s video clip would have been shown to the Cabinet.

The Star reported: “Student must face the law — Cabinet, however, accepts his apology” . The Sun has a different take on its front-page report: “Who’s sorry now? — CABINET CANNOT ACCEPT APOLOGY AND RAPPER WHO MOCKED NEGARAKU MUST FACE THE MUSIC”.

The Cabinet has made a total mockery of itself. Has it accepted Meng Chee’s apology or has it not. If it has accepted the apology, why are Ministers still demanding action to be taken against Meng Chee and for him to be prosecuted by the Attorney-General — which is the clear message from the Prime Minister and UMNO Ministers including Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, Datuk Zainuddin Maidin and Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim that there should be prosecution. In fact, according to Zainuddin, this was also the stand of Datuk Seri Dr. Lim Keng Yaik in Cabinet on Wednesday!

MCA Ministers must explain why they put such great pressures on Meng Chee and his family when they are unable to get Umno Ministers and the Cabinet to accept the apology?

Why was there double-standards here, when the Cabinet could accept the insincere “apologies” of two Barisan Nasional MPs, Datuk Mohd Said Yusuf (Jasin) and Datuk Bung Mohtar Radin (Kinabatangan) who made crude, derogatory, sexist and gender-offensive remarks in the infamous “bocor” scandal without demanding any follow-up disciplinary action to be taken against them in Parliament?

Meng Chee can be faulted for the rough language, irreverent expressions and even the use of the national anthem and national flag in the rap, but it is utterly disgraceful that the entire weight of the Malaysian government machinery, going up all the way to the Cabinet, should be used to criminalize, demonise and crush a 24-year-old undergraduate for the rap video clip, when he had already tendered a public apology.

In fact, Meng Chee should be commended for his very clear expression of patriotism in articulating the frustrations of the ordinary rakyat at police corruption, civil service bureaucracy, discrimination against Chinese education and the insensitivity of the authorities — which must also be the concern of all Malaysians who love the nation.

The least MCA Ministers should have done is to ask the Cabinet to address the frustrations and exasperations of Malaysians expressed by Meng Chee in his rap, but this had not been done, and the Cabinet had completely ignored the real message of the rap — an indictment of a “half-past-six Cabinet”!

The continued demonisation and persecution of Meng Chee will cast a dark shadow over the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations creating even more alienation, dissension and disunity among Malaysians particularly among the young generations.

Abdullah should cut the Gordian Knot, accept Meng Chee was acting in a very patriotic manner and meant no disrespect to the national symbols although his methods could be faulted, end the public ruckus over the rap music video and advise all parties concerned to learn the right and positive lessons from the incident to contribute towards greater national understanding, tolerance, resilience and unity with respect for diversity of views and freedom of expression.

1. #1 by democratic junkie on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:01 pm

BN is leading malaysia to the path of a failed state.

Meng Chee rapped the truth. What is wrong with that? If the wheel is broken you say its broken. But that is not the case in Malaysia. BN wants the rest of the world to think that malaysia is a model state when it is not.

2. #2 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:07 pm

What happen to those UMNO peoples who make very racist and seditious speeches? Nothing happen, of course.
    What will happen to Wee Meng Chee who make not so seditious song? The whole Government machineries will go after him. They just want to put him in jail.
    This is a rotten government headed by a sleeping Prime Minister.

3. #3 by kleptocrats on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:13 pm

I am equally disgusted.

This whole episode also shows that MCA is weak, totally unable to represent and protect the Chinese community.

4. #4 by raverus on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:15 pm

Big issue, they will spend another 3 months working in it.
    Others big crook, later!

5. #5 by boh-liao on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:17 pm

To the UMNO-led BN government, Wee Meng Chee’s six-minute rap music video on Negaraku is a god-sent diversion to get Malaysians, especially less-opportuned Malays whose share of the nation’s wealth has been diverted to their own richer kind, to forget about the many current corruption-related issues and to ramp up their rage against this young man, who sang about some obvious problems that exist in Malaysia.

Wee Meng Chee is the perfect bogeyman and sacrificial lamb for the UMNO-led BN government. What UMNO wants, UMNO gets and their lap-dog partners will just wag their tails.

6. #6 by mendela on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:25 pm

We MUST bring down the world’s most corrupted and most imcompetent UMO-led Gomen in the next GE.

Enough is enough!
    Let’s bury all the hyenas and running dogs alive!

7. #7 by greatstuff on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:33 pm

THe Meng Chee Rap was an opportunity for [deleted] politicians to gain maximum “brownie points” via their self righteous whinings and pandering to the gallery, whislt ignoring the ever liklihood of decaying skeletons in their own cupboards!
    What an immature lot, really! Far better for them to move on with more important issues that plague the nation, for the interests of all and betterment of society!

8. #8 by sabah tun on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:45 pm

This is a very biased decision…yet i m not surprised. Badawi has really turned our government from respectable to despicable.

9. #9 by greatstuff on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:46 pm

The “howling” politicians have shown what an immature lot they really are, intent on scoring self-righteous points for political gain. Really, there are so many more urgent issues to focus precious time on, instead of what a 24 year old student presented, cheeky as it seemed to some, creative and democratic as it seemed to others. Instead, the governing cabinet has exploited the issue by furthering “the storm in a tea cup”, and made an embrassment of itself in the eyes of many! Lets please focus on more important issues..please government lah……….

10. #10 by dawsheng on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:55 pm

Meng Chee is not at fault at all, you cannot fault someone for speaking out the truth, in this case singing about the truth nothing but the truth. So what rough languages was used??? It is the truth!

11. #11 by sotong on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 2:56 pm

Like Sharks, once they smell bloods they want bloods!

12. #12 by grace on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:02 pm

Cabinet is like a big bully. Taking on Meng Chee is like using a sledge hammer to kill a fly. Shame on you Nazri. So many of your cabinet ministers and UMNO delegates and members uttered more seditios words than Meng Chee and Nazri and Rais Yatim have keep their dirty , stinky mouth shut!!!
    The country’s economy is real sick now and you choose to focus your attention on a minnow like Meng Chee. When our youths particularly UMNO burn and insult other countries , you just to keep quiet.
    Oooh, God help us!

13. #13 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:18 pm

Mr. Wee meng Chee .

clearly you have done something quite inappropriate with using the national anthem as the song for rap. whatever your frustration or certainly unpleased with. mind you,in thailand, any insult , verbal or otherwise to their king can be death sentence. most recently, a qweilo was sentenced to jail for that. i am too very unhappy, that after 50 years of merdeka, we are getting so paranoid about being a true malaysian. but i would have use another song maybe by mawi or siti or amei.

i am sure you understand that.

To all bloggers and writers.

The bn government will used meng chee to the maximum, to get at local bloggers. my oh my, what a good example was provided by our dear meng chee, that now, as someone stated god send , to punish all bloggers and writers. this will certainly give the excuse, that the hammer must be used to kill off the mosquitoes, and set an example to all the rest.

wrong timing. right thing. wrong song. right expression.
    i think raja petra would be a martyr very soon.

TO ABDULLAH BADAWI AND THE CABINET MINISTER.

as if the country is in such a good state, that an entire cabinet was required to discusssed this issue of meng chee. the listing of problems raised by yb lim as above is CLEAR AND NEEDED TOP PRIORITY ACTIONS FROM THE ENTIRE CABINET.
    WHERE ARE YOUR PRIORITIES ?

yb lim, at least from the CABINET MEETING, you could see very well, how mca is treated in the barisan nasional spirit of cooperation. chua soi leck, a minister held a press conference a day before and accepted meng chee apology on behalf of mca and call for the end of this episode. this is NOT SO THAN. now this is god send, that the mca are useless in defending the very chinese that the party claims to represent. all those seditious statement by the umnos and the keris, were not even brought to the cabinet, less any Umno Minister saying i am sorry. make good use of this . THIS SHOWS THE MCA IS TOOTHLESS TIGER./ PAPER TIGER.
    the mca ministers, how are you going to defend meng chee?

According to the media, one minister brought up. i guess it must be soi chai. what about fong chai / kating chai. /kong chai. ?
    elegent silent.

meng chee, i feel sorry for you. but you have learnt something.
    MALAYSIA, I FEEL SORRY FOR OUR COUNTRY, THAT OUR LEADERS NEVER LEARN.
    MALAYSIAN THAT LOVE MALAYSIA, I MOST SORRY, THAT WE MUST EXECRCISE OUR VOTE WITH CLEAR CONSCIENCE.

sad day.

14. #14 by Jeffrey on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:19 pm

Agree that the Cabinet has made a total mockery of itself if it accepted the apology of and yet cried for blood for investigation and prosecution against Wee Meng Chee without internal consistency in treatment of the two BN MPs, Datuk Mohd Said Yusuf (Jasin) and Datuk Bung Mohtar Radin (Kinabatangan) let off for their sexist remarks after a public apology.

It is a definite “overkill” showing that our leaders are not magnanimous. Otherwise why would they want to be seen trying to destroy a young undergraduate future by seeking prosecution against him for an alleged offence that he has apologized under auspices of MCA?

It is hardly fitting in the context of the 50th Merdeka celebrations where more magnanimity or forgiveness ought to be shown than meanness, not to mention a slap being delivered to the component party, MCA’s face to have such an outcome, which hardly help its cause in the coming elections.

But whether Meng Chee’s future is permanently impaired by this controversy is the moot question.

Thanks to the attendant publicity generated by the controversy, this is good start for Meng Chee to commercialise his pain and suffering by starting a business to market his copyrighted compositions/musical videos on “political rap and hip hop” music…

15. #15 by malaysia born on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:19 pm

This is what happens when one says/rap about the truth.

Attention is being deflected from the medium of how the truth is mentioned (the song) instead of the content of the song (lyrics).

Amazing that there has been no focus on the truth that is being told here.

One of the comments stated that ,’Cabinet is like a big bully. ….using a sledge hammer to kill a fly.’ Don’t forget that we, the people, are the bigger sledge hammer and we will crush them.

We need to make our support for Meng Chee known. We need to make more noise. There may have the main stream media for that but we have the internet. Make FULL use of it. One thing for sure, we can’t depend on mca, gerakan or whatever-kan.

God help those who help themselves…and their fellow brothers & sisters.

16. #16 by lbn on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:35 pm

The young man had apologised, and the Information Minister had pardoned him. It should stop there. What precedent? The truth is the truth! The whole world knows. Everyone has to be treated equal. When this fair treatment is not accorded, the affected party is unhappy. It’s only normal. The non-Malays have been very accomodating and tolerating all this while. Certain point in time, it has to give way. The unfair treatment is from bad to worse. Best MCA and MIC buck up, otherwise they would be badly thrashed this coming election. Best they leave BN and stand as independent. Not so nice to join the opposition. Don’t be the “mah chai”!

17. #17 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:41 pm

actually, how many of the CABINET ministers have seen the video clip by meng chee to call for blood?

please raise the hands.

i think only soi chai saw it.
    pm- where got time to see.
    sami- see no point , no understand mandarin
    other malay cabinet minister ? how many know mandarin? do they know what was rapped?
    mca/gerakan- did the ministers seen it.?

18. #18 by iStupid on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:42 pm

My take of the Negarakuku rap incident is : UMNO says Go to hell you Chinese voters! The Malay votes is enough to see us through the next GE.

My dear Malay bethren, you decide who rules this Tanah Melayu, who does not. 50 years of UMNO misrule is enough! You dont want to be ruled by imbeciles any more. Use your votes to boot them out!

19. #19 by sotong on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 3:43 pm

Some criminals do things to threaten or incite aggression, hatred and may be violence against innocent people, nothing happened to them.

This speaks volumn of the mentality of the government.

20. #20 by guessin on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 4:03 pm

well some of the politician accept bribe but did not get punished why?
    because he is malay.Our goverment is full of corrupt people and useles those so called minister.mca n gerakan is half past six n the goverment is half past six too. i think all malaysian are wake up to fact that the whole goverment is helpless n we should cast our to opposition party. such small matter needed all those stupid minister to discuss at length.

21. #21 by Toyol on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 4:33 pm

Our Ministers are really NOW showing the world how stupid and immature they are. Going after a 24 year old student who actually showed how patriotic he was albeit in an unorthodox way.

The Ministers leave it to the AG, thats the law they say…I say what about the seditious statements made by the Education Minister and Deputy Prime Minister. Shall they leave it to the AG as well since the law of the land applies equally to all. They throw the book at Meng Chee for speaking the truth while the real scums get away with lies and sedition. This is the real law in Malaysia! No wonder we are behind in everything!

The sickening thing about it is that they are so proud of it!!! I think the time has come for the Rulers to step in before all hell breaks lose. They have to stop these ridiculous behaviour of our Ministers and change the top if Malaysia is to go forward.

22. #22 by smeagroo on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 4:49 pm

not that they are inept but they are smart to divert the attention form those scandals that besieged their OWN PEOPLE aka UMNO goons and MCA lapdogs.

They are always swift in handling such issues apart from governing the country properly.

Everyday I read all these news makes my heart ache and wanted to shout at their face all those 4-letter words. DARN!

Wee Meng Chee did a rap and will surely bring down the economy for 10 years. Oh maybe it has started. Look at the BUrsa today. Yea go after him!

It is ok for ppl to screw the economy via bail-outs especially if those ppl are the elite umno scums!

Way to go PAC Lah.

All I can say under ur administration, we are all PAc LAH!

23. #23 by oki on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 4:56 pm

what ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH said.
    “wrong timing. right thing. wrong song. right expression.”

government full attention on the cyber threats recently only explains their concern towards continuation of power lusting.

namewee’s creation in fact tested the tolerance and fragility of the bangsa malaysia idea. it should be up for the rakyat to discuss under a forum or something likewise. it doesn’t need the full attention from the government and full coverage of the media on an issue like this. like what have mentioned above, your priority, mr?

being this sensitive is like digging their own grave. bunch of half past six.

24. #24 by St0rmFury on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 5:22 pm

Heh, I have a hunch that UMNO is using the “good cop, bad cop” tactic here to fish for votes.

First MCA squeezed an apology out of Wee and asked everyone to forgive him, gaining favour from the Chinese population.

UMNO then rejects his apology and continue to persecute Wee, gaining the Malay’s favour (the fanatical ones at least). “Melayu tidak boleh dicabar” at work here.

Later MCA will successfully persuade UMNO just drop the whole thing. UMNO will say they are willing to put this behind them because National Day is coming and Wee should consider himself lucky.

Both Chinese and Malay will rejoice. Chinese because MCA still cares for them and Malay because it will show that they are gracious and merciful.

Behind the stage, UMNO and MCA will congratulate each other for putting up one of the finest charade the nation has ever seen. Bravo.

25. #25 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 5:42 pm

Barisan government………………….. hahahahahaha!

wanna tangkap YM RPK, made him really really famous,
    wanna tangkap Tian Chua on fake photos, also make him famous,
    tangkap NATTAN, now he’s a household name.
    tangkap NAMEWEE, now he is famous world wide, household name in Malaysia, Singapore, China & Taiwan. Tangkap him and international backlash.

whatever the propagandalist of these cock party can think of, they just do it big time wrong.

I wonder who will they tangkap next? me perharps? will they make me famous?

26. #26 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 5:49 pm

Meng Chee ,

When you do something that have big possibility could land you in hot soup in this Bolehland you should consider this:

1. You should wear Zorro style mask made of Malaysian flag too
    2. You Should use a proxy from ISRAEL to upload your video clip…. yeah… you know the level of cooperation between Israel & Malaysia….

27. #27 by witoutprejudice on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 5:49 pm

storm

it will be a wasted that the story didn’t buy into the bollywood, or at least Amir or Yasmin got some inspiration what’s the next movie title. what a clown. well, if it is 5-6 years ago, i probably will believe the MCA / UMNO story via the The Star/NST/Utusan/B. Harian/TV1&2&3.

But now, i believe the urban and internet-access- non-urban netizens can see the real story behind all these tai-chi-story. This really prove we have a HP6 govt with 3rd world mentality. Stamp right on their forehead. muhahaha. what a day.

28. #28 by fido on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:02 pm

Actually what we are seeing here is the same repeat and repeating actions from the govt.

The whole idea is to …..divert attention to non important stuff so that they will not be questioned on those BIG issues which they do not have solutions to. Buying time and take their salary, what else is new?

They can’t even solve a simple problem like our bus and taxi problem, how can they solve any other complex issues?

29. #29 by badak on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:07 pm

Mr Lim ,Namewee is a god sent to the chinesss , now we can really see how UMNO is treating MCA,Even after his father said sorry with the help of MCA , this bunch of bigots in UMNO still want thier pound of flesh.Are they in UMNO really
    defending king and country,and the rest of us are traitors.

To me the real traitors are the guy who drew the kriss and the other guy who said when are you going to use it.The real traitors are the guys in power who build a palace on land meant for the poor.

So all you chiness out there who think that MCA are looking after your interest please think again.UMNO is so scared to loose the election just because all the scaletons in their in the cupboard will start falling out one by one

30. #30 by Bobster on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:13 pm

WMC has made a mistake by making fun of the way our Muslim friends pray and he has apologized. Our Muslim friends have shown their maturity for not getting so emotional and create riots. People are ready to learn from the mistake and move on.

Unfortunately some of our cabinet ministers still trying to find fault harping on the issue. PM unable to make up his mind saying out loud whether yes or no and put a stop on his men. We have seen our cabinet ministers making bigger blunders too but we have never seen them apologize in the Parliament or to the public. WMC mistake carries 3 yrs jail terms? What kind of justice are their taking about when we have hardcore traffic offenders, criminals and corrupted civil servants escape the law unpunished? People are suffering even died because of failure of the government system and they still have time harping on this issue?

Let us not getting too emotional about the whole incidence. The way it goes we might witness a 24 yr old young man making a fool out of our ‘learned doctorate’ ministers. We might even witness a 24 yr old young man bring down the credibility of the whole Parliament due to half past six ministers and failure of Parliament to uphold injustice and law. All Malaysians should not be afraid but keep a clear conscience mind and watch what our cabinet ministers going to do next.

31. #31 by burn on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:23 pm

this is what you get, few tiga suku mentris…
    there are bigger issue out there, but instead they take longer time to discuss petty issues. cantak betul…

orang mati kerna kelembapan pihak mentri. dah nak 50 tahun merdeka, masih macam tu jugak. kemana perginya mentri mentri tiga suku ni. perkara tentang bas bas awan, bas bas sekolah, lori lori hantu, lori lori pendek yang boleh ditukar jadi lori panjang sudah lama menjadi. dulu heboh! lepas 3 bulan, senyap! karang orang dah mati, nak heboh balik.

kalaulah tak tau macam mana nak jadi mentri, lebih baik letak jawatan. ikutlah cara jepun!

32. #32 by Bobster on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:32 pm

Memang cakap Burn, orang akan mati, tengah mati, sudah mati kerana tiga suku metris punya kerja.

Sampai hari ini circus show dekat Parliament masih belum henti. What next? Rakyat sudah cukup bosan sama tiga suku mentris.

33. #33 by grace on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:36 pm

I would suggest that M. Chee stay back in Taiwan. When he comes back, he would be hounded like a dog. Poor young man. Just for a moment of anger, he had stirred up the hornet’s nest.
    It is a crying shame shame that UMNO would want to pick on this helpless guy.
    With ministers already passing the verdict on him, what chance does he stand in the court of law? You and I should know better our judiciary system!

34. #34 by Bobster on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:45 pm

The way it goes let them punish, the more they punish the more foolish they get themselves into. Like Malay proverb says crab teaching smaller crabs how to walk straight.

It is a good wake up call for the whole country to watch how their cabinet ministers perform and making a mockery out of themselves.

35. #35 by requiem87 on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 6:46 pm

I really dont understand why they take all the problem to extradite a nice guy like Namewee from Taiwan and yet the robbers , rapists , murderers , thieves , speed demons and etc. still roaming the streets ?? who poses more danger to our society ? you be the judge ~! I still haven’t heard bout the news of the rapists who gangraped a 19 year old girl in ipoh being caught ~!! Where is justice ???

36. #36 by boh-liao on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 7:19 pm

In Mandarin 危机 (crisis) = danger + opportunity.

The opposition parties should use this god-sent opportunity to showcase the biasness, double standard, and no-principle attitude of the UMNO led-BN government.

Put Wee Meng Chee’s video and some infamous UMNO politicians’ seditious videos (e.g., blood-thirsty kris-waving incidence and others) together and show people the action (and the speed of reaching a consensus to take action) or non-action taken by our cabinet against each case. Also show how lame, meek, and limp the non-UMNO cabinet ministers towards the response in each case.

Wee Meng Chee should also turn this crisis to his advantage. Be innovative and global, that’s what our government wants our citizens to be. Good luck.

37. #37 by Godfather on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 7:22 pm

Priorities for the Badawi cabinet (in order of importance):

1. How to cover up the PKA scandal
    2. Should they revoke a young kid’s passport
    3. What to do with bloggers
    4. Who gets what contracts
    5. Trade mission to Latin America
    6. Who to blame for the worst traffic accident in Bolehland.
    7. How to shut up Mahathir and Hanif

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2006

Cemerlang, Gemilang, Temberang

38. #38 by k1980 on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 7:59 pm

“We are not in the business of cheating the people. But we are in the business of cheating the rakyat”

When thieves fall out
    http://www.harakahdaily.net/bm/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=9331&Itemid=85
    Mahathir dengan tegas mengkritik pelancaran Koridor Utara yang dilancarkan Abdullah baru baru ini. Beliau dengan tegas menyatakan kekesalannya, pada ketika zaman pentadbirannya melancarkan projek sejumlah RM 2 billion yang dianggap mega Mahathir menerima kritikan yang pedas.

Namun katanya, apabila Abdullah melancarkan projek jauh lebih mega sehingga berbelas billion, semua mendiamkan diri dan tidak berani menegur Abdullah. Secara sinis Mahathir berkata, PM begitu rajin mengumumkan projek mega untuk pembangunan negara, “but nothing on the ground.”

Begitu juga dengan Syarikat Berkait Kerajaan (GLC) sekarang itu tidak wujud untuk kepentingan rakyat jelata, malah ia disalahgunakan untuk memperkayakan individu tertentu dari kalangan keluarga, katanya.

39. #39 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 8:13 pm

Yes, agreed, half past six cabinet as said by all now and then.

40. #40 by UFOne on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 9:15 pm

In Kota Bahru, P.M. talked about human assets once again. Do these human assets include
    non-Melayu and Namewee ? The government is more interested in self glorification, self excellence and self praise. That is why it cannot stand shame and embarrassment for all the wrong things done in this country. Malaysia may be cemerlang, gemilang and terbilang in the eyes of the Muslim world but definitely not in the whole world. There was once when some mat salleh praised our present P.M. for his management skills which are different from the other former P.Ms. Should not this management skill include letting people voice out their frustrations because if there is no Namewee and others like him, the government would think that being in power is so easy. If the government knows how to threaten their very own people in various ways and to make them compete unhealthily, shouldn’t they take their own bitter medicine also ?

41. #41 by mwt on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 9:16 pm

The apology initiated by MCA, encouraged by Zainnuddin and arranged by the Health Minster backfired. Cabinet spokesman Nazri said Wee committed an offence against the Nation and the Rule of Laws applied.
    Yes the laws be applied but must be fairly and not selectively. DAP Sec Gen Lim G E suffered for it and when the seditions act was applied to the SMS woman, Raja Sherina, what happened? – Nothing, no offence & no prosecution.

It was really a sham. When the news surfaced in Nov 06, there was a hue & cry over this SMS incitement when than 500 Muslims gathered to protest in front of a Catholic church in Silibin here following the spread of an SMS rumour that national mariner Datuk Azhar Mansor would be participating in the baptism of a group of Muslims there. The FRUs were there to maintain Public Order
    The keris wielding party and other groups have been organizing protests to disrupt meetings and dialogues. The police always cited worries of Public Order and denied permits and venues for opposition & NGOs meeting. More details at
    http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/08/more-pics-video-namewee-rapper-apology.html
    and a 17 sec clip (extracted by Bernama) from Wee’s video

42. #42 by devilmaster on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 9:39 pm

i was ROFLMAO when i read de facto Law Minister Nazri Aziz’s statement of action should be taken against YouTube and bloggers for posting images and contents that overstepped the boundaries on sensitive issues.

This totally confirmed Nazri as a HP6 cabinet minister. If Nazri could take any action against YouTube, I will salute all UMNOputras and their supporters. This type of statement if directed to hoodwink those kampung folks, maybe can la.. but dont try to insult the intelligence of the learned one like us.

43. #43 by sheriff singh on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 10:45 pm

Atom bomb the helpless small fry!! Atom bomb the helpless small fry!!

Thats about what the Cabinet did. The situation has turned about somewhat. Its not about the appropriateness of the rap. Its now about big government bullying an ordinary, helpless citizen using all the resources in its power.

They were “offended” by Meng Chee’s rap on our National Anthem. But really what Meng Chee said reflects the reality, but the Cabinet just cannot fathom it. Maybe they are old, belong to another era, just don’t and can’t get it anymore. Cobwebs clouding whatever’s left of their shrivelled brains.

Pak Lah says “tell me the truth” and our rapper raps it to him but the old geezer just don’t get it. Truth finds it very difficult to enter his mind, for him to digest. Is he senile?

One wonders what Samy Vellu (the Indian “hero”), Ong Ka Ting, Lim Keng Yaik, Minimouse Ongkili, Barney Dompok etc said at the meeting. Or were they just shivering in their pants?

Is Nazri (the “stupid, stupid, stupid”, “racist, racist, racist”, Minister)and Rais (the “Culture” Minister, honest) more powerful than Zam, the Minister of “Infotainment”?

And when somebody said last year that the Negaraku sounds like an old Hawaiian song, Mamula Moon, our “Culture and Heritage” Minister said “Shaddup. Don’t talk about it. Be patriotic. Be proud of our Heritage”.

Is MCA now confirmed dead or in a deep coma and the Minister of Health cannot help anymore? Is Lim Keng Yaik and the Gerakan now speechless for lack of saliva? And did Samy say “Its not an Indian problem, don’t get it into my “hair” “?

And will the Internal Security Department, the Immigration Officers, the Police, Rela members, Mat Rempits, the Culture Minister, the Law Minister, all the jing bangs, go after them illegal and legal Indonesians on some barmy night for singing “Terang Bulan” with gusto after they have had a few drinks with their girl friends?

Will our Hawaiian expatriate friend be arrested for singing “Mamula Moon” while playing his ukelele on his verandah?

Are them Indons and Hawaiians or any loyal, law abiding Bolehlanders be insulting their motherland if they do so and be liable for sedition?

Wah, this small episode has really turned into the “mother of all molehill issue”. Enough to cause unease in the Cabinet. They are really worried. Whats gonna happen to them at the next elections?

Itchy, itchy, ache!!

44. #44 by requiem87 on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:20 pm

UFOne , the human assets Pak Lah mentioned are bloodthirsty-kris-wielding umnoputras , HP6 ministers , elegantly silent ministers , yesmans and also mat rempits :)

45. #45 by requiem87 on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:22 pm

i forgot to mention , the legendary cyber-troopers….

46. #46 by badak on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:48 pm

Ahh ya.. why only made noise on the net B.N skin so thick nothing we say can hurt them.. let us talk with our votes during the General election

.But then again the way they cheat during election how to win because when come to election time the amount of money they throw around can make you forget the rape ,the corruption, and all the money they have rob from you.

B.N next time can buy my vote … dream on

47. #47 by Jonny on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:59 pm

We have to thank Namewee in one way or another.

Not condoning his action or what. But the reaction from the full giant machinery of the govt and them continuously making a full of themselves.

It just speeds up the end being nearer to them.

48. #48 by kun9999 on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 12:00 am

Next GE, vote any1 beside BN.

49. #49 by requiem87 on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 12:01 am

Namewee is my hero ~!!

50. #50 by Bigfoot on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 12:06 am

Doesn’t the Cabinet have many more important things to discuss than Namawee’s video? There are so many other pressing issues, but this is all they discuss. It doesn’t say much for our Cabinet.

If UMNO is serious about supporting its fellow BN partner, MCA, they would drop this matter. More so in the light that General Elections are coming up. However, UMNO is showing great disrespect for MCA, which went out of its way to get Namawee to apologize, which he did.

In fact, Namawee’s video is tame compared to many things that keris-waving UMNO members have done. Yet none of them have ever been brought to justice.

What’s more, if UMNO wishes to speak about desecration of the National Anthem, they should look at how our beloved Malaysian flag was desecrated by Indonesian protestors, which incidentally included Islamic school students. Not only was it trampled on, it was burned as well. So where was our PM, and UMNO in general, when all this was occuring? Why didn’t they send a formal diplomatic protest note to Indonesia? Why the double standards, in how they treat something that is far worse, ie. flag burning by Indonesian protestors, to something that is relatively tame, Namawee’s video?

http://www.malaysia-today.net/Blog-e/2005/03/malaysian-flags-trampled-on-burned-in.htm
    http://www.suanie.net/2005/03/24/look-here-my-indonesian-neighbours/

51. #51 by ablastine on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 1:02 am

I do not know whether the BN understands that the action they have taken so far and the threat of prosecution of Wee Meng Chee will come at a huge political cost. He was nobody a while ago but now he becomes the hero and martyr of the underprivilege, marginalised and prosecuted in the country. He embodies all the sufferings, injustice, corruption and mismanagement in the country and the voice of frustration of minority groups.

Using the entire Government machinery to crush a helpless student can only stir up sympathy from his community. This is especially so when the country is already encountering so many other more important problems as has been pointed out earlier. MCA has been made to look very bad in the eyes of their community because instead of protecting their sacred cow, they forced him, no doubt to satisfy their master UMNO, to apologise. It is going to cost MCA many votes, this one single event, mark my words.

This entire episode of pining down WMC is really absurd. Even Singapore, usually the no nonsense country has a better sense of humour and realise how stupid and useless it is to waste time and energy on these things. Just go to Youtube again and see for yourself the many videos that have been made ridiculing and making fun of the country, Prime Minister and even Mr LKY. They even produce entire movies to satirize the country and leader. What happens after that. Everybody had a good laugh and took it in the ride spirit. I personally think WMC did a good job and if he got anymore video flicks come I will definately watch them – for entertainment more than anything.

52. #52 by AhPek on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 1:50 am

Wonder how dense in the head this chap called Nasri is when he says action should be taken against YouTube?What are you trying to prove–that you are powerful?I tell you what… you are just [deleted]!!So is that minister of culture with a law phd.
    To take on a small fry by a mighty government over a rap which you interpret as seditious whereas no mention of any sedition on that kris-waving minister screaming his heads off? Where is the sense of fair treatment?Worse still you do not even understand what is in the rap and the rap is done on a tune shared by Negaraku,Terang Bulan and Memalu Moon.We have far bigger issues to worry about and you place undue attention to this rap on YouTube.Your bunch of Umnoputras are going to mow this blessed coutry to the ground!

53. #53 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 2:27 am

Rumour has it that this is actually a turf war between UMNO and MCA. Certain parties in UMNO are out to hit the MCA who had dared to challenge UMNO e.g. Ong Ka Chuan’s “secular country” statement against Najib.

This provoked Hishamuddin who came out in support of his cousin, Najib, to tell the MCA to “shut-up”. Now that MCA’s Chua had “accepted” Meng Chee’s apology, the sensitive UMNO fellas with chips on their shoulders see it as an opportunity to put the MCA down again by contradicting their minister.

It is very obvious UMNO is showing off its strength and power over a second-rate and subservient supposedly “equal” partner in the BN, to remind them of their inferior place in the pecking order.

That the MCA tolerates these reprimands in silence only confirms their puppet position and inferior status. How they can tolerate these snubs and dressing downs is not a mystery but a confirmation that they are no longer being treated with honour and respect. They have lost the respect of their community.

Perhaps its time to go.

54. #54 by art-upon-mu on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 2:49 am

Come the general erection time, please circulate Wee Meng Chee’s rap widely for people to realise the many ills and corruptions of negara ku. Hopefully the young voters will be inspired to vote wisely, regardless of cemerlang, terbilang, …. etc – the meaningless and cheating slogans.

55. #55 by goldenhub on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 3:14 am

When are they going to arrest Razak Idris for threatening another May 13 that will make KL into a graveyard? I dun think graveyards are filled with McDonalds, do you?
    When are they going to arrest Hasnoor Sidang Hussein for saying that UMNO will risk lives and bath in blood? I dun suppose the blood comes from blood donors, do you?
    When are they going to arrest Hashim Suboh for asking Hisha to use his keris? I dun suppose they use keris to cut vegetables, do you?
    Until they have done so, whatever they do to namewee will show all of them (BN) as the true double faced liars that they are.

56. #56 by ianlyy on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 3:20 am

I saw a short interview from ntv7 news today, one of the old MCA leader says that during Merdeka that time, all leaders from races are equal, so Chinese and Malays , Indians were once equal.

This really gives me a shock! I do not know much about history on this, and i wonder why such a change, since when and why we are not equal anymore??

And for this, whats wrong with namewee’s song?? He already apologized, but they still want to catch him under law??!!!! WTF???! This is a big disappointment indeed!

It’s obvious that they want to gain votes from the majority here, so, what can we do to help him?? I don’t think MCA can do much at all!!!

Poor namewee, someone please saves him!!

57. #57 by Beh Sai Kong on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 8:08 am

Having read a number of translations, I find it odd that this rap has been often described as in “poor taste”. Undoubtedly, such sentiments also must be taken seriously and deserve much heart searching. Such grievances should be articulated clearly and I hope that detractors should have thoroughly viewed the video first.

For myself, the rap has been very well constructed. The social critique it engenders in today’s genre is very well done and executed. The following emphases could be readily discerned:

a. He declares his love for his country. Indeed, he sings the National Anthem without any change to its lyrics and with much feeling and respect.

b. He is aware that his individual existence must be rooted in a country which he can call home.

c. He cautions that his rap may seem threatening on the outside but hearers should rather discover the truth inside which is palatable and fragrant (the excellent metaphor of the durian).

d. For every negative he brings up, there is a positive side and the philosophy he is propounding is simply that for every instant of discontent or complaint, there is a brighter side, there is something to gain, to benefit from. There are two sides to a coin. You see it from one side, you will get one perspective, often the negative. You see it as two-sided, you will have discovered the positive.

e. Attitude will make the difference.(”It only depends on what kind of nostrils you have”)

f. “NegaraKuku” is simply translated as “My NegaraKu”, that is, my version and my nation through my own eyes

g. The rap is placed within the context of Visit Malaysia Year with tourism pictures pasted as background including mosque and temple.

h. The social critique also touches on his own race, the chinese, working too hard and should learn to relax more like their Malay neighbours:
    ”The most important is to live happily; the most important is to live comfortably
    Don’t be like the Chinese
    Busy the whole day, so very tough
    We really cannot, not admire this spirit
    Because this is their attitude in life
    (Attitude, attitude)”

i. The rapper is no extremist, he espouses a “Live and let live” philosophy:
    “I’ve been saying good things in this song
    I believe those of you who are pissed at me will like this now
    The world is peaceful, and full of hope
    No one is hurt, neither are there any riots”

j. In any genre in literature or art, when social comments are made, there is some humour, irony, sarcasm, exaggeration all mixed together. This is why we read novels, poetry or listen to songs.

k. Where this young man is hurting is this:
    “It’s so very tough to get admitted into local universities” but he is quick to say “Actually we don’t have to get pissed about this issue” because like everything else he mentions, there is a positive gain.

l. Here is the punchline, the bottomline, here’s the young man’s patriotism:
    “… went to Taiwan, Learnt about things, and got ready to come back to repay my country” and then:
    “I stood on the streets of Taipei with my guitar
    But my mouth still sings
    Rahmat Bahagia
    Tuhan kurniakan
    Raja kita Selamat bertakhta.”

m. Throughout the presentation, the composed rap and the national anthem were kept as two distinct tracks. He did not alter the lyrics or melody of Negara Ku at all.

Friends and neighbours, I submit that many who are crying “Foul” and “Wolf, wolf” have responded to what some people have been reporting about this rap but have not necessarily viewed the video or taken the trouble to look at the lyrics as a whole for themselves.

A young patriot is put on trial based on hearsay in a kangaroo court when he should be entertaining and espousing positive attitude to the youths in national service camps.

He is condemned because the powers that be says he has insulted this and that, so and so… (Shades of Raja Petra, etc.) Do his critics know that in similar vein, this young man has socially critiqued his own race as well in earlier raps?

Taking quick offence is not a sign of maturity. The inability to laugh at oneself is not a virtue. The happenings in today’s Malaysia is not a sign of a 50 years old nation. Grownups should be able to tell the literal from the literary meaning of verbal expression.

Grow up Malaysia!

58. #58 by hanuman on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 8:50 am

I also watched the Negarkuku video and I agreed with Beh Sai Kong that Meng Chee is patriotic and loyal to Malaysia. I could not have put it so clearly better than you.

He is patriotic and loyal to Malaysia.
    BN is not Malaysia.
    BN is BN.
    UMNO is not Malaysia.
    UMNO is UMNO
    Malaysia is Malaysia.
    Malaysia is my homeland, this where I was born. I will defend Malaysia with my blood if I have to.
    I only pledge my loyalty to the Agong and Malaysia not to BN nor any political party.

That brings to mind the 2nd principle of Malaysia’s Rukun Negara :
    KESETIAAN KEPADA RAJA DAN NEGARA.
    That is what Meng Chee did in his rap.

This whole episode of Negarakuku by the government is a diversion of the grave current issues Malaysia is facing

59. #59 by grace on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 9:38 am

I agre with hanuman that the song was sung very well. To be frank I haven’t heard Negara Ku being sung so passionately and full of feelings. In fact the minister should listen to the way he sang the song and they willknow how much feelings and patriotism towards Malaysia. i , for one, was really fired up by the way he sang- really patriotic!!

Come on, Ministers, get on with your work and leave this issue to rest.
    Find solution to the rampant corruption, ever increasing crime rates and also the increase in number of accidents.
    Shame on you all to hound a small fry!!!

60. #60 by Bobster on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 12:11 pm

When the whole country in dilemma and crumpled due to half past six ministers on board, we rakyat have to continue to hold on to few principles set up by our forefather. Among them Rukun Negara principle 1 & 2 says:-
    1. Kepercayaan Kepada Tuhan
    2. Kesetiaan Kepada Raja dan Negara

When you conscience is clear with God, you have no fear. When the government fail to take care of the country and rakyat, rakyat have to continue to be faithful to the Raja and country and kick the government out of the administration. Elect a new government that represents all races. Time to get the royalty to stop the circus show in the Parliament before the whole country continues the downward spiral into destruction.

61. #61 by smeagroo on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 12:29 pm

it is okay for these patriotic Ministers to accept bribes and condone corruption BUT Dont you ever ever play with the flag nor sing Negaraku out of tune.

MSia “Sinisters” BOLEH!!!

62. #62 by AntiRacialDiscrimination on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 1:02 pm

MCA should demand that the standard that apply to Wee Meng Chee case be also applied to deal with the extremely racist Son-In-Law of the sleeping Prime Minister for his extremely seditious remarks.
    Of course the Ong Brothers & Co. will not be so stupid.

63. #63 by madmix on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 3:25 pm

this young has got the attention of everyone including the PM and his entire cabinet. This is a good thing as he has brought the frustrations of non-Malay youths into focus. in the process, he got himself into big trouble and became a martyr.

64. #64 by salukis on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 3:33 pm

sad, sad, sad. sad, sad, sad barisan politicians… i still figuring out whether they know how to run the country or not? they have so many things to to build the economy and many big issues like crime, corruption on Port Klang Free trade zone and more and etc await them.. instead they including sleeping PM taking up the most important time in the CABINET MEETING to discuss to convict a student meng choo saying he is unpatriotic on the song.. come on accept the fate that happen here. that is no wrong.. y BN so scare? afraid they will lose in the coming election. are they a bully?? Vote the alternative to correct our states of mind. be correct.

65. #65 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 6:06 pm

Nazri argued that Wee Meng Chee insulted the national anthem, which is a symbol of the nation, and therefore could not be forgiven and must be punished by law.

But which law? He seemed to suggest the Sedition Act.

By why Sedition Act? Is it because it imposes heavier penalties of a fine not exceeding RM5,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or both?

The National Anthem is protected under the National Anthem Act 1968. Any person who knowingly shows disrespect towards the National Anthem in any public place or commit any act or omission which would tend to lower the prestige of the National Anthem without good and sufficient cause would be liable to a fine not exceeding one hundred ringgit or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding one month.

The more relevant enactment appears to be the National Anthem Act which carries lesser penalties.

But it is not impossible that authorities may proceed under Sedition Act carrying heavier penalties.

Meng Chee might be intending a satirical social commentary (from perspective of a Malaysian Chinese describing his experiences in his hometown) via internet medium of rap expression rap but his reference to Muslims calling to prayers (adzan) might be seized upon as an excuse that it was sensitive and an insult to Muslims.

Our leaders should take cognizance that in Malaysia we have a large multiracial segment of educated and cosmopolitan citizenry who do not feel overly sensitive at this particular parody by a young Malaysian artistically expressing his discontent with the state of nation from his perspectives.

Of course we also have a segment of ultra conservative and narrow minded people who over the slightest pretext of their sensitivities being impinged, call for punishment of those responsible.

That is not tolerance. If, for political expedience, one keeps on pandering to the whims of this latter group by invoking the sedition act selectively, then our society and nation will increasingly be more intolerant and less democratic. (I say ‘selective’ because those who brandished the keris and made seditious statements based on Ketuanan had in the past be seen let off from the rigours of the Sedition Act).

We should nurture the tolerance of the cosmopolitan and broad minded sector of citizenry – not pander to sensitivities and hegemony of the conservative and narrow minded sector.

For this reason, authorities should desist from contemplating proceeding under the Sedition Act.

Whether to proceed against Wee under the National Anthem Act is of course as much a prosecutorial as a political decision.

I will not dwell on techical aspects whether there’s a case in context of YouTube and the defences but lets look at larger spirit of things.

The National Anthem is a national symbol. It is respected because it is an embodiment of our own aspirations as a nation and also defines Malaysia in the world.

True, Meng Chee may have very unwisely chosen the National Anthem as a medium with which to express either his discontent as a Malaysian Chinese or reflect the truth about our society.

But his intent to reflect the wrongs of society whether they pertain to wrong policies or ineptness or corruption of authorties is ultimately in service of the nation’s higner interest.

If what is wrong is not spoken or parodied or is denied how could the nation address its own malaise and move to a higher order of organisation?

To punish him after he tendered his apology will only divide the nation more – not unite!

This is simply not in accord with the underlying purpose of the National Anthem which is intended as a symbol to unite not divide the citizenry. It will violate the intent and purpose of the National Anthem as a national symbol to now use the pretext of protecting its sanctity to proceed with criminal prosecution of a 24 old talented young Malaysian for his alleged indiscretion.

Yes, he is past the age of majority of 18 to be able to vote or marry without his parents’ consent but he is still a young man of 24 years old whose only offence is his lack of experience to tread in this world of mine fields laid by more experienced hypocrites and whose only defence is honesty to reflect the truth as he sees it unaware of how that may be twisted against him.

To appease the people offended he has already apologized and that should be the end of the matter instead of continuing to prosecute him to give the young man a criminal record!

I will end by saying that the National Anthem as a national symbol not only embodies our aspirations as a people but define us as a nation.

It is supposed to embody our aspirations to be more tolerant as a cosmopolitan people, able to accept the truth and see humour as well in our failings, and it is supposed to reflect our generosity of spirit rather than meanness.

By proceeding to punish Wee in spite of his apology shows that we are not capable of forgiveness and tolerance in wanting to exact our pound of flesh heedless of the extenuating circumstances of inexperince and youth and reflects a meanness of spirit in our national character.

It is unusual that in the name of protecting the sanctity of the National Anthem – and symbol – that is supposed to define our unity and tolerance as a people and nation, our leaders are doing exactly the opposite in violation of the higher purpose and meaning which the National Anthem is supposed to symbolize!

66. #66 by k1980 on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 6:10 pm

Judges in Malaysia Boleh!
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Saturday/Frontpage/20070818075847/Article/index_html
    “It is absurd and unbelievable for the judge to have not written the grounds as it concerns the lives of persons.” He said it was mental torture for those on Death Row because the convicted persons’ lives were in a state of uncertainty. “The least judges could do was to ensure that they wrote judgments speedily so that the aggrieved parties could exhaust the appeal process. This will also bring a finality to the outcome of criminal cases.”

He said this in response to the two men languishing on Death Row because the trial judge had yet to provide written judgments after more than five years.Their counsel had filed appeals but the Court of Appeal could not hear their cases without the grounds of decision.

67. #67 by oki on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 6:19 pm

bah, enough! getting sick reading all this. vote anything else besides bn.

68. #68 by ablastine on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 8:40 pm

Ha ha k1980. Don’t think the two death row prisoner mind too much the delay. If I am the death row prisoner and have to choose between uncertainty of death (which by the may applies to the rest of the world not on death row) or a definate death penalty, I will choose the former. Maybe the trial judge will take another 10 years, the appeal judge another 20 years. In the end they may end up dying a natural death lol.

69. #69 by hanuman on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 10:39 pm

The purpose and role of Negaraku.

(From the Malaysia Government’s Official Portal)
    http://www.gov.my/MyGov/BI/Directory/Government/AboutMsianGov/NationalAnthem/

The national anthem of Malaysia, “Negaraku” (My Homeland) plays an important role of inculcating patriotism while asserting the ambitions, aspirations and hopes of the people of Malaysia. The lyric to “Negaraku” encourages the peoples of Malaysia, who represent different ethnicities, creeds and cultures; to live in unity and harmony in pursuit of progress.

The lyric to “Negaraku” is as follows:

Negaraku
    Tanah tumpahnya darahku
    Rakyat hidup bersatu dan maju
    Rahmat bahagia Tuhan kurniakan
    Raja kita selamat bertakhta
    Rahmat bahagia Tuhan kurniakan
    Raja kita selamat bertakhta.

(From Malaysian Monarchy website)
    http://www.malaysianmonarchy.org.my/portal_bi/rk1/rk1a.php?id=rk1_6&titleBI=National%20Anthem
    It is disheartening to find our beloved Negaraku lyrics in English in Malaysian Monarchy website.

NEGARAKU
    (LYRIC)

OH, MY MOTHERLAND
    THE LAND WHERE MY LIFE BEGAN
    WHERE PEOPLE LIVE IN HARMONY AND PROSPERITY
    WITH GOD-GIVEN BLESSINGS OF HAPPINESS
    OUR KING REIGN IN PEACE
    WITH GOD-GIVEN BLESSINGS OF HAPPINESS
    OUR KING REIGN IN PEACE

RULES TO PLAY NEGARAKU

The rules on how Negaraku is to be played are described in the National Anthem Act, 1968. According to the Act, the National Anthem consists of three versions as follows:

* the Full Version or the Royal Version of the National Anthem
    * the Abridged Version of the National Anthem comprising the
    first eight lines and the last eight lines
    * the Short Version comprising the last eight lines.

SHOWING RESPECT FOR THE NATIONAL ANTHEM

* When any version of the National Anthem is played or sung, all
    present must stand up as a sign of respect.
    * If the National Anthem is broadcast, such show of respect for
    the anthem is not expected.
    * Anybody who deliberately does not show respect for the
    National Anthem at any public place may be fined not more
    than one hundred ringgit or imprisoned for not more than one
    month.
    * Any act which appears to belittle the National Anthem in the
    eyes of the public, is considered as not respecting the
    National Anthem. The Police officers are empowered to arrest
    without warrant anybody found to be disrespectful towards
    the National Anthem.

Side track, here is our Rukun Negara.
    (From Wikipedia. Can seem to enter JPN site)

Rukun Negara
    BAHAWASANYA NEGARA KITA MALAYSIA mendukung cita-cita hendak :

* mencapai perpaduan yang lebih erat di kalangan seluruh
    masyarakatnya ;
    * memelihara satu cara hidup demokratik ;
    * mencipta satu masyarakat adil di mana kemakmuran Negara
    akan dapat dinikmati bersama secara adil dan saksama ;
    * menjamin satu cara liberal terhadap tradisi-tradisi
    kebudayaannya yang kaya dan berbagai corak ; dan
    * membina satu masyarakat progresif yang akan menggunakan
    sains dan teknologi moden.

MAKA KAMI, rakyat Malaysia, berikrar akan menumpukan seluruh tenaga dan usaha kami untuk mencapai cita-cita tersebut berdasarkan atas prinsip-prinsip berikut :

* KEPERCAYAAN KEPADA TUHAN
    * KESETIAAN KEPADA RAJA DAN NEGARA
    * KELUHURAN PERLEMBAGAAN
    * KEDAULATAN UNDANG-UNDANG
    * KESOPANAN DAN KESUSILAAN

“MAKA KAMI, rakyat Malaysia, berikrar …”, berikrar here means taking an oath. It is not a recital.

70. #70 by badak on Saturday, 18 August 2007 - 11:38 pm

Ah yah cabinet do also wrong don,t do also wrong , Meng Chee ahhh next time time sing a song about all the B.N monkeys , but make sure its all good lah, so when you come back from Thiwan They will wait for you with bunga manga and a compang group being le by Datuk Khairy ” never mind lah i give him Datuk now ” you to young to get Datuk lah but maybe they will give it to your father, just like Sidek ,s father .

But when you come back, must join M.C.A.lah ..join D.A.P where can make money one, only saw chai join D.A.P what.ahh yaa after all Malaysia is lost already , police corrupt,A.C.A like a toothless tiger, huh huh M.I .C , what Mr Samy says the indian follow wan, if not, sure get pukul wan ,ahh ya i know wat.. my gud fren got share in MAIKA he went for meeting wanted to ask a question before he can open mouth 4 guys ask him to sit down and shut up.so Mr Meng chee do the right thing join M.C.A vote opposition lah, take the money laugh all the way to the bank, but give me some can ahhh

71. #71 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 2:34 am

Go here to read about how Americans respect their flag http://www.usflag.org

72. #72 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 2:43 am

It is sad to see the national flag being identified with policies of the current national coalition run government.

The government is separate from the political party that runs it. But since we have not adhered to the concept of “Civil Service Neutrality, it is understandable how the flag has come to be abused.

73. #73 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 2:58 am

Go here to listen the hispanic version of the U.S. national anthem
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/04/27/
    AR2006042702505.html

The “Nuestro Himno” (the hispanic version of the Star-Spangled banner) has altered the lyrics of the Star-Spangled banner to reflect the rights of all Americans.

74. #74 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 7:30 am

Bristling with humiliation – no doubt in small measure from your attacks over a host of current issues such as the Islamic state debate and the parodying of the national anthem – MCA Youth tried to evince some vertebrae in its annual meet, on 18th August in which Khairy Jamaluddin was one of the guests.

According to Malaysiakini’s reports, MCA Youth chief Liow Tiong Lai reiterated that the relationship between BN component parties was not one of ‘master and slave’. In an apparent reference to Umno Youth, Liow – while leading his committee members to wave copies of the Federal Constitution – also said people should wave the constitution instead of brandishing the keris. Delegates then took UMNO to task with one of them asking “Is Umno trying to get rid of the MCA brand name? I wonder how long MCA can continue to play this firefighter role and whether “Are they looking down on us (MCA) because they think we will never withdraw from the BN coalition?” Federal Territories delegate Tan Kok Eng also commented “What we are facing is not only challenge from the opposition but Umno.” A Perak delegate Ding Siew Chee questioned aloud as to why the authorities adopted double standards by not prosecuting Umno leaders who make racially inflammatory remarks. Ding also presented a theory as to why Umno leaders, particularly de facto law minister Mohd Nazri Abdul Aziz, kept harping on the matter. “That’s because Wee is Chinese,” said Ding bluntly. One of the resolutions called on the government to stop pursuing the matter since he had apologised. Johor delegate Gan Hong Szu argued there is no need to use “the whole country’s machinery” against a vulnerable student since Wee has had already done the honourable thing to apologise. “Wee’s apology showed he is a responsible citizen if you were to compare him with those corrupted, yet unapologetic, government officials,” Gan added. Negeri Sembilan delegate Siow Koi Voon said the whole issue had become a platform for the opposition parties to take potshots at the MCA.

Don’t know whether it was on purpose but MCA Youth had done a number on Khairy. He was “speechless” made to look like a fool.

Khairy only had the Bahasa Malaysia portion of Liow Tiong Lai’s address which did not include criticisms against UMNO Youth. The translated version of the speech in mandarin was not given to Khairi until after the event!

In his press conference earlier, Liow explained that there was no need to repeat the entire speech in two languages as he had prepared a written translated version to be distributed to the non-Mandarin speaking guests and the media.

In Liow’s speech delivered in Bahasa Malaysia earlier, he also praised Hishammuddin who is Umno Youth chief and education minister for approving a RM14 million allocation for Chinese schools under the MCA Youth school programme.

The MCA Youth leader was wrong to be selective : it was impolite not to give Khairy a guest in advance the full text in translated form of his speech in Mandarin that contained the criticisms against UMNO. It only embarrassed him for not being able to respond when reporters asked him for his reaction.

Even if the show of spine was ‘sandiwara’, do it propertly lah with transparency and sneaky way.

Which is why it is predictable that UMNO esp UMNO Youth would surely respond and “hentam” the MCA Youth in days to come, and the circus will begin on this ‘master servant’ relationship issue, a lot of interesting things will happen, we’ll see whether the part that stuck out during the meeting was actually bottom part of vertebrae or a tail, though I am inclined to think the latter, judging from the fact that on the whole they cowardly took advantage of Khairy not knowing Mandarin!

75. #75 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 7:31 am

Typo omission in 1st line – “no doubt in NO small measure from your attacks”

76. #76 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 7:35 am

2nd last para – “Even if the show of spine was ‘sandiwara’, do it propertly lah with transparency and NOT sneaky way.”

77. #77 by k1980 on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 7:58 am

When slaves give speeches in the presence of their masters
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/71349
    “We in MCA and MCA Youth won’t be easily bullied by others…“In the ‘BN family’, we are brothers, there is no master and slave, there is no question of who is being scared of who or whom should kowtow to whom….Liow suggested the authorities should do away with labels like ‘Muslims and non-Muslims’, ‘bumiputeras and non-bumiputeras’ among Malaysians to eradicate racism and advocate the spirit of ‘rakyat Malaysia’.

Among the VIP guests who were present this morning include Umno Youth vice-chief, the Son-in-Law. And Malaysiakini journalist Beh Lih Yi made the following observation: The delivery of Liow’s hard-hitting remarks however were only confined to Mandarin. The Bahasa Malaysia portion of his address made at the meeting did not include those criticisms

78. #78 by grace on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 8:49 am

Nazri said namewee’s song is an insult to the nation.
    But. I say Nazri and the cabinet are a disgrace to the nation.

You are a bloody damn chicken , taking on a helpless soul and hounding him.
    The nation is ashame of you and the cabinet.

When Former IGP said that almost 40% of the police force is living beyond their means, why wasn’t any disxcussion on the issue???

79. #79 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 9:12 am

If they discussed it, why is MCA Youth against going after Namewee? Clearly its bull and the PM just went along with it because he is indecisive, without vision and cowardly.

Here is a tip to the PM: You let the bully beat you up once, they will come after you again. First your pocket money, then they will ask more and more until no one cares whether you are innocent or not…

80. #80 by ktteokt on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 10:27 am

Who initiated or “pushed” the Minister of Health to become a middle man in the first place or did he do it out of his own initiative? If he had approached Meng Chee’s father on his own accord, this outcome is excuseable but if he had done it in any other capacity – as a MP of Muar, as the Minister of Health, as an MCA member, as a representative of the Malaysian government, then he should be ashamed for his action.

How can he “persuade” Meng Chee’s father to apologize on behalf of Meng Chee and then the government turns around and say that is not enough. I am sure there were terms and conditions applying to the “peace talk” and one of them must be that if Meng Chee apologized, he would not be sued.

This incident goes to show another scene of “the left hand chopping the right” when one side of the government disagrees with the other side of the government. So does that mean we have two “governments”?

81. #81 by ktteokt on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 10:34 am

From Jeffrey’s report, we can see that MCA no longer enjoy an “equal partner” status in the BN and this has resulted from its unfirmed stand all these while, being the “Yes man” to UMNO. With all these insulting actions from its so-called partner, how long can MCA remain in BN? Even its members are seeing these insults and if this is continued, just how many of them can tolerate and carry on as “dogs” in BN?

82. #82 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 10:37 am

After all things are said and considered, it is Namewee who has reason to celebrate his newly found celebrity status – all for the cost of a song!

I don’t see how anyone could skyrocket himself to instant celebrity status in such a short period and at the cost of a song. Do you??

So while it lasts Namewee should enjoy his fifteen minutes of fame.

83. #83 by ktteokt on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 10:48 am

In response to hanuman’s comment, let’s study the Rukunegara closely:

BAHAWASANYA NEGARA KITA MALAYSIA mendukung cita-cita hendak :

* mencapai perpaduan yang lebih erat di kalangan seluruh
    masyarakatnya ;
    * memelihara satu cara hidup demokratik ;
    * mencipta satu masyarakat adil di mana kemakmuran Negara
    akan dapat dinikmati bersama secara adil dan saksama ;
    * menjamin satu cara liberal terhadap tradisi-tradisi
    kebudayaannya yang kaya dan berbagai corak ; dan
    * membina satu masyarakat progresif yang akan menggunakan
    sains dan teknologi moden.

MAKA KAMI, rakyat Malaysia, berikrar akan menumpukan seluruh tenaga dan usaha kami untuk mencapai cita-cita tersebut berdasarkan atas prinsip-prinsip berikut :

* KEPERCAYAAN KEPADA TUHAN
    * KESETIAAN KEPADA RAJA DAN NEGARA
    * KELUHURAN PERLEMBAGAAN
    * KEDAULATAN UNDANG-UNDANG
    * KESOPANAN DAN KESUSILAAN

On this “mencapai perpaduan yang lebih erat di kalangan seluruh
    masyarakatnya”, how can the government ever hope to achieve this when there is so called “bumiputera privileges”. How can you achieve unity in a society which has been “divided” by the government itself. This is a situation similar to the “Caste system” in India.

“Memelihara satu cara hidup demokratik” is nothing but a mirage. How democratic is the BN government if they insist on maintaining the use of the ISA?

“Mencipta satu masyarakat adil di mana kemakmuran Negara
    akan dapat dinikmati bersama secara adil dan saksama” – Just what is “adil”, the BN government should issue free dictionaries to all its MP’s to make them look up the meaning of “adil” and what is this jazz about sharing the prosperity of the Nation fairly and equally. Look at what the government did when Petronas was incorporated. It transferred the nation’s wealth (petroleum) to a group of cronies to allow them to enjoy exclusive rights.

“Menjamin satu cara liberal terhadap tradisi-tradisi
    kebudayaannya yang kaya dan berbagai corak” – This is a big joke. The “kompang” of the Malays can be beaten at any time without any restrictions but look at the lion dance of the Chinese. You need to apply for permits to hold a lion dance. Aren’t these two at par as far as cultural traditions are concerned?

A good look at the above will tell you that the “Rukunegara”, although in existence for centuries has not been utilized or followed by the government who formulated it. The Rukunegara is no essay of any primary or secondary student but was an official document of the government, formulated by the government and approved by the government itself. Wouldn’t this amount to “the one who formulated the law, broke it”? Why then take the trouble to formulate such a useless thing. Today, the Rukunegara has been totally forgotten but those who have been made to swear it under the hot sun during school assemblies those days would definitely not.

84. #84 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 12:21 pm

The Rukunegara was introduced at the time of the Chinese Cultural Revolution when Mao Tse Tung was waving his Red Book and when Indonesia had their Panjatsila.

Given todays circumstances there are good reasons to have it resuscitated.

85. #85 by kimpossible on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 5:59 pm

This is what happen when the rakyat is not to know how the taxpayers money are being spent. Our cabinet putting full attention into the wrong issue. A very sad country! People is dying everyday due to lack of enforcement in all areas,e.g recent bus crash, murder…….. Do we have our cabinet’s attention in discussing of a safer Malaysia to live?
    Obviously, these are not “so easy” because there are so many holes to cover”. It’s easier to pick on a 24 year old lad whom has no one to defend. We should be proud of our Bolehland!

86. #86 by goldenhub on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 9:21 pm

erm, undergrad2…namewee has been famous among local chinese for more than a year now due to his previous hit songs “Muar Chinese” and “My Friends/Kawanku”. I don’t think he has what you say 15 minutes of fame like say William Hung, because he is a seriously talented rapper in the same mould as Eminem.

And just as a heads up “My Friends/Kawanku” has started to stir up trouble.

—————

19/08: Rapper riles Malays again with new song
    Category: General
    Posted by: Raja Petra
    The Straits Times

PROVOCATIVE Malaysian rapper Wee Meng Chee has riled his countrymen again with a new song which hits out at Malays for being lazy and backward, the Harian Metro newspaper reported yesterday.

Titled Kawanku/My Friends, its lyrics are a blend of Mandarin, Malay and English, with the Malay portion of the rap translated as: ‘Talk some more lah/Chinese go back to China/If all go back ah/This would not be Malaysia/I fear where you will find work/But it’s usual lah Malays also don’t like to work/All go into the jungle/Live like Sakai.’

‘Sakai’ is what Malaysians call primitive people.

The rap ends with: ‘But this is my true feeling/It’s already been 50 years/Sleeping every day/Look forward lah/2020.’ 2020 is an apparent reference to Malaysia’s vision of becoming a developed nation by 2020.

The four-minute rap and Mr Wee’s earlier parody of Malaysia’s national anthem are on a possibly pirated CD titled Pasar Malam Chart Hits which costs RM7 (S$3). Checks by local media on Friday showed at least one shopping complex here was selling it.

The Taiwan-based Wee, 24, had apologised last week for hurting Malaysians’ feelings with his 5-1/2-minute rap parody Negarakuku, which has been airing on YouTube since last month and pokes fun at corrupt cops and lazy civil servants, among others.

Amid angry letters in the forum pages of Malay papers on his raps, yesterday’s New Straits Times quoted Foreign Minister Syed Hamid Albar as saying that Mr Wee will not be stripped of his citizenship because to do so would be ‘to act emotionally, not rationally’.

87. #87 by goldenhub on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 9:22 pm

Cakap lagi lah
    Cina balik Cina
    Kalau semua balik ah
    sini bukan Malaysia
    Saya takut mana kamu pergi cari kerja
    Tapi biasalah
    orang Melayu pun tak suka kerja
    Semua masuk hutan
    hidup macam sakai
    Mahu main guitar
    pun takde kedai buka
    Mahu jadi met rempit
    pun takde motor sikar
    Kurang satu holiday
    kerana takde tahun baru cina
    Jangan gaduh lagi lah
    budak buka kepala
    Negara ini bukan satu bangsa saja
    Cina
    jangan cakap lagi lah
    tapi cakap betul ha
    bak kut teh sangat sedap lah
    Bahasa Melayu saya cakap
    macam tahi
    Tapi ini yalah saya punya
    betul feeling
    Sudah lima puluh
    tiap-tiap hari tidur
    Tengok hadapan lah

*Chorus*

We are friends
    but we’re making mistakes
    cause of i don’t understand you you don’t understand me
    We are friends
    but we’re making mistakes
    if we solve the problems
    everything will be free

19/08 20:45:40
    goldenhub wrote:
    Notice how the media selectively omit the sections where he sings “Jangan gaduh lagi lah, budak buka kepala, negara ini bukan satu bagsa saja, cina babi, jangan cakap lagi lah” and “We are friends, but we’re making mistakes cause of i don’t understand you you don’t understand me, We are friends, but we’re making mistakes, if we solve the problems, everything will be free”

Selective ommision to sensationalise news eh? And they also forgot in the same song he hentam why chinese in kl all speak cantonese but don’t speak their own mother tongue, and also hentam singaporeans and equate mao tze dong to lee kuan yew. No wonder The Straits Times have a vendetta against him eh. They’re no better than NST and The Star by selectively omitting relevant sections of the song.

19/08 20:49:47
    goldenhub wrote:
    Now to all the people in Malaysia Today who bash him without even giving him a chance to defend himself or even to hear and understand the full contents of the song (not from what the MEDIA tells you – Singaporean, Malaysian or international), what makes you any different than Zam or Khairy of Mohd2 Taib or all the others from BN???

88. #88 by backhome on Sunday, 19 August 2007 - 11:52 pm

I dont know how the world will look at Malaysia… especially if the “government” gonna punish Wee.

Chinese has a saying, “to kill a chicken, you dont use the same knife that you use to kill the cow”. Also, another saying: “to teach monkeys a lesson, kill a chicken.”

Some of these “leaders” are zooming in on this timely event to drive home a message to us all: “Do not say anything that doesnt sound nice, especially if it has some degree of truth.” What can we ordinary Malaysian do? You will surely have your way.

One more Chinese saying, (those in power can) “point to a deer and call it horse” and you have to accept it is a horse if you want your life.

Lets get Wee into jail. Strip of his nationality… where are your priorities, leaders? Alarming crimes – ok la, not too bad…many countries worse than ours. Government inefficiencies – not true what, they are improving… corruption? where got, we are clean country…. Unfairness? Impossible, we are all equal and we are fair to all…

OK, it is a horse, not a deer.

Anyway, like Wee’s parents, I am holding my breathe. I am concerned about what is going to happen next. If he gets punishment bigger than his “crime”, I am leaving.

89. #89 by backhome on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 12:12 am

Hey everyone!

Malaysia has NO corruption, get it? It happens only in some 3rd world country, not here. Also, our police NEVER take bribes, how dare someone sings about it, it hurts you know. About Chinese going to foreign universities? Those greedy foreign countries “stealing” our brains, but is ok, we have lots of brains, we can afford to be generous with our human capital. What garbage Wee just rap! Lets keep him in jail for 3 years, and pass the law that only “positive” remarks can ever be made, as our government is the best one around, how dare anyone says anything so …. true about them!!!

90. #90 by undergrad2 on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 12:21 am

Namewee has decided to use his songs to make a political statement. This is not new. There are consequences.

One consequence of the choice people like Namewee makes is that he will be liked by some, even hero worshiped and disliked by others and made an enemy of the state even by others. If those who dislike him are in positions of power and are prepared use that power to punish him for the choices he makes, then it should be seen as a consequence of the choice he makes. No one forces him to make such choices.

Bob Dylan in the 60s used his songs to make his political statement. His songs were about racial sufferings etc. In a country which values freedom of speech above everything else, Bod Dylan and those like him rose to be an icon in their chosen field.

Today it is rap music. At one time it was rock music.

In Malaysia, to make a political statement through music and songs is a choice that carries with it potentially grave consequences to the singer and his or her family especially when that message accuses the ruling regime of serious wrongdoings and injustice to one particular ethnic group. One can only hope that Namewee is aware that there are consequences to his choice or choices.

We all make choices everyday. There are consequences to those choices we make for ourselves.

Is Namewee prepared to face the consequences of his choice? It appears so now that he has come out with another song. The rest of us must respect the choices he makes just like we expect the same for the choices we make.

91. #91 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 1:36 pm

Wee Meng Chee’s Negaraku rap which got him the rap, crap and claptrap from the politicos’ traps can be summarised thus:

“I love my country, but why does my country not love me?”

From the reactions of the politicians, it proves beyond a shadow of doubt that Meng Chee’s was spot on in his sentiments.

92. #92 by juarezfkw on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 1:52 pm

meng Chee’s has said what most of us don’t dare to say! I agreed that no one is above the law! if u r found violating the law then you have to face the consequences! the question here is if a young malaysian is found to violate the law with one song then someone important like a minister waving a keris in the public should face the law also! Please think before you act! Don’t behave like a small kid! can someone like that lead us to a better future! I doubt so. MCA and UMNO , please stop all those sandiwara! it’s all bullshit and irrelevant!

93. #93 by wizzerd on Monday, 20 August 2007 - 2:07 pm

Wee Meng Chee – A case of wrong timing.

At the height of the clamouring for seats in the forthcoming GE, some people from who know who party will be busy making themselves heard, desperately playing to the gallery, thus proclaiming themselves guardians of race, religion and the country.

What’s new.
    Result- Real issues in the country diverted.

94. #94 by ShiokGuy on Thursday, 23 August 2007 - 12:30 pm

Why should my family adults and 2 children contribute to this bailout, let it sinks and die. Don;t take my money!

5Billion/26million approx = RM200.00, so my family been rob of RM800

Why should my special children (OKU) contribute to your inability? Or why should we contribute to your pocket?

Let it sinks and i don’t care! Just let it sink or bankrupt.