The brilliance of Zahid Hamidi

by Aerie Rahman
MAY 20, 2013

Move aside Khairy Jamaluddin and Saifuddin Abdullah — we have a new poster boy for change within the Barisan National power structure. Not used to flamboyance and only recently baring the fangs of radicalism, Zahid Hamidi has sparked a debate on a new form of politics: migratory politics.

With his decree demanding that those who are unhappy with the current political system migrate to republican states, this man is a maverick. He is braving the tide by countering Najib Razak’s efforts to stem the pernicious brain drain beleaguering this nation. We need more mavericks within BN! Not mere “yes men” whose servitude are repulsive, but men with independent minds. Zahid fits the bill. This is a man to watch, Malaysia!

I see that Zahid is a very clinical man who is impetuous and wants a better Malaysia as fast as possible. The prime minister has called for a national reconciliation. This is echoed by the spokesperson for Umno, Khairy (a rare breed within Umno, where he can string a sentence without any grammatical error).

But let’s be realistic here. National reconciliation doesn’t happen overnight. With a heterogeneous nation like Malaysia, finding the right balance is extremely difficult. It’s a long process which happens gradually. We’ve been trying for 56 years and we still identify each other by our racial identities. I don’t think I’ll be seeing “national reconciliation” in my lifetime. And I’m 22!

Throw a rock at Jalan TAR and it’ll probably bounce off a great many who are dissatisfied with the political process. Based on this Jalan TAR thought experiment, Zahid’s idea implies a mass exodus. This is wonderful for national reconciliation! Don’t you see? Those who are unhappy are gone, leaving a homogenous nation whose political ideologies are crony capitalism and lemon socialism! Race and religion is probably not an issue anymore since everything has become one. A united Malaysia, at last.

To oil the wheels of migration, your humble servant has a few proposals that Zahid should forward to the Cabinet. The first is to freeze the efforts of Talentcorp. Don’t get me wrong, Johan Merican is a smart guy. But luring in people who left the country by providing material incentives screams of disingenuousness. Once the incentives are gone, they’ll migrate away again. So Zahid, take note, please stop whatever Talentcorp is doing.

Alternatively, a bit of rebranding for Talentcorp could help. To do this, utilise the government-linked public relations firm Pemandu to burnish Talentcorp’s image. Change its name to Migratecorp. Amend the memorandum of association to reorient their goals, to helping Malaysians who are dissatisfied with the political process to migrate abroad.

Looking at the conditions of the global economy, decent employment is hard to come by. It’s difficult for non-EU citizens to secure jobs in the UK. Since Malaysia’s economy is doing relatively as BN claims, this is the opportune time to facilitate migration abroad. Use the petroringgit from Petronas to help Migratecorp resettle migrants into their country of choice. Create new jobs in the West exclusively for Malaysians.

This is going to be the largest social engineering project undertaken by the BN administration since the NEP. I’m excited!

I have no qualms if Zahid wants to take credit for these modest proposals. No need to mention my name. Maybe putting me as top priority for this mega-project would be a kind gesture. I’ve always wanted to try and live in New Zealand. I’ve never heard of racist attacks there compared to Australia or the UK.

So Zahid, let’s make it happen! Pretty soon you’ll engrave your name in the history books as the home minister who created homes for Malaysians abroad. Now that’s radical. — loyarburok.com

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Monday, 20 May 2013 - 8:11 pm

Zahid is a descendent of Javanese immigrants from Yogjakarta. He might want more Javanese to come here to fill the vacancies as people leave.

He does have a PhD from UPM I think but what he wrote on I don’t know. At least he didn’t buy his degree on-line as is usual of UMNO / BN Ministers and leaders. But he is sure shy of being referred to as a ‘Dr’.

Whether he has charisma, well he does attract certain kinds of people, and flies as well. As they say, birds of a feather group together.

Did you all catch him apologising and confessing live on TV many years ago to the power there be then? He was pathetic.

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 20 May 2013 - 10:15 pm

Zahid, brilliant?

Ha, ha… the cow has jumped over the moon.

3. #3 by bruno on Tuesday, 21 May 2013 - 4:23 am

Zahid Hamidi is so very smart.So very smart that his service is apple polishing Najib’s coat-tails and shiny shoes.This stupid guy would not know the difference betwen a donkey and a mule.Go figure.

4. #4 by bruno on Tuesday, 21 May 2013 - 4:29 am

Maybe this moron named Hamidi should be nominated for “Froggy” of the year.He has served so many political masters.From Mahathir,Anwar,Najib,Badawi and now Najib again.He makes his mark by sucking up to his political masters.On his own he will be selling kachang putih by the sidewalks.

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 21 May 2013 - 5:58 am

Zahid…. I think I have met this guy.

Bloomin’ racist!

6. #6 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 21 May 2013 - 7:36 am

He can’t even take care of his home let alone be home minister. Umno/bn is very good at putting people where they don’t belong. Mostly Otak udang and apple polishers.

7. #7 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 21 May 2013 - 11:35 am

Zahid, don’t you dare pick on a small boy, Adam Adli.

You want to pick a fight, pick one with Anwar. He said what Adli said and said it earlier. Arrest Anwar too; after all, Anwar also said everything and, in addition, akso said this is not your father’s country. To that you replied that this is also not Anwar’s father country. See how stupid you are – nobody is talking about fathers per se as LKS rightly pointed out. This is bahasa figurative-lah. Suruh you belajar tak nak, tapi nak berlagak seperti orang bijak…..amboi.

8. #8 by PoliticoKat on Wednesday, 22 May 2013 - 8:27 pm

I wouldn’t called Zahid Hamidi brilliant.

He is just using the same old idea of “You Tak Suka, You Keluar” that was first proposed Badruddin Amiruldin. Also known for calling Indians “keling.”

Nothing new here.

As for setting up a Malaysia Luar Negara, already done that. Been doing so since 1970! Go to any country in the world, and you’ll find a Kopi Tiam / Malaysian restaurant. Malaysian really are an international bunch.

9. #9 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 22 May 2013 - 11:26 pm

This person was Anwar’s guy, and even got thrown into ISA detention. Then he changed his soul to become Mahathir’s strong supporter. He is like this Hindraf guy and Paul Low. If you give me title and position, I can be reborn for you. BN is full of this kind of opportunists.

So the conclusion is Zahid Hamidi was not real Anwar’s supporter. He merely wanted to gain something by associating himself with Anwar. That is how he was UMNO Youth Chief.