98-Day Countdown to 13GE – Malaysia deserves higher ranking than No. 36 placing in the EIU “Best country to be born” index

On the 98-Day Countdown to the 13th General Elections, Malaysians are reminded that the nation deserves better on all fronts of national life, whether political, economic, educational, social, cultural or environmental.

Malaysia definitely deserves higher ranking than No. 36 out of 80 nations in the “Best country to born in 2013” index by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) attempting to measure which country provides the best opportunities for a healthy, safe and prosperous life.

The 10 top-ranking nations in the EIU “Best country to be born in 2013” index are:

1. Switzerland
2. Australia
3. Norway
4. Sweden
5. Denmark
6. Singapore
7. New Zealand
8. Netherlands
9. Canada
10. Hong Kong

Malaysia is outranked by Taiwan (No. 14), United States (No. 16), UAE (No. 18), South Korea (No. 19), Kuwait (No. 22), Japan (No. 25) and Britain (No. 27).

Malaysia drew 6.62 out of a 10-point scorecard in the study of life-satisfaction survey, which seeks to quantify how happy people say they are based on a list of 11 economic and socio-political indicators such as a country’s income per capita, cost of living, human rights, life expectancy, literacy and education levels, crime, trust in public institutions and the health of family life.

Malaysia can do better than being ranked no. 36 in the EIU “Best country to be born in 2013” index as well as other global indices, whether on clean and incorrupt government, crime statistics, human rights, rule of law, independent judiciary, press freedom or green environment.

These are among the many issues to be decided in the impending 13th general elections.

1. #1 by chengho on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 4:54 pm

Look at happiest nation , you are 2 nd in SEA .

2. #2 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 4:56 pm

And numero uno (or umno?) in Malaysia

3. #3 by yhsiew on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 5:19 pm

Why worry? Aren’t we better than Zimbabwe?

4. #4 by monsterball on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 5:21 pm

chengho is getting more ad more idiotic.
    This is a serious matter concerning all Malaysians….and out come his nonsense again.

5. #5 by monsterball on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 5:34 pm

Under British rule….Hong Kong was most corrupted.
    Back to China…look at the ranking…top 10 best managed country in the world.
    I wonder does chengho knows what the post is talking about.
    More than 33.8% Malaysians are not happy…and why so…chengho?? Can you tell us why?
    And the 66.2% satisfied Malaysians does not mean they are happy with UMNO b government.

6. #6 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 5:41 pm

Please FORGIVE Chengho, he could only count up to the 10 which incidentally includes the Asean members. About the same standard as Cintanegara, if you all still remember him/her. So for people of such caliber, many of whom naturally fall into the CRONY standard, we should sympathize with them. Our only concern is to find out the number of such people in the nation as when Malaysia is no longer competitive even within the Asean Scenario, we may have to export them to work overseas. Being unable to compete because they have totally refused to note the progress of others, so what job can they offer? Your guess is as good as mine!

7. #7 by john on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 5:44 pm

It all depends on whose perspective it is view from, eg. from the UMNO/bn’s will hold no water / implications as long as the nation’s monies bags are in their hand/control. Any counter denials or ‘play-dumb,non-response tactics (we know, all false/sandiwara) are due mainly to minimise fallouts with G13 in mind. (particularly, their ‘fix-deposit’ voters).
    Message of ABU with clear pointers must be spread to every corner now – PR should know.

8. #8 by cseng on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 6:00 pm

Singapore is just few kilometers north of M’sia at no.6 and we are 30 placing apart.

Sarawak joint the federation in 1963, Singapore out in 1965. Five decades later, Singapore 30 placing in front of us.

Maybe, like they say, Singapore is small, can’t compare, but you can always cut down Sarawak into many small equal sizes of Singapore, then, compare them la… bro. but Singapore can’t grow into Sarawak’s size, so you can’t compare, said the idiots.

Nevermind we are still no. 2 in SEA… m’sia boleh!.

9. #9 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 6:35 pm

Best country to be born as bumiputra

10. #10 by rjbeee on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 6:39 pm

Now we have cowwoman No 2 Ms Ropiaah..
    big money ..Mamak tongkang is very Quiet

11. #11 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 1:46 am

Not bad what, 36 out of 80, U know
    NR gonna declare 1-day public holiday 2 celebrate dis achievement

12. #12 by chengho on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 2:20 am

If u are travelling abroad , people will alway say , You are lucky to live in Malaysia , well manage country . The entire Singapore people call it , well manage hospital . If you are sick u should live in hospital , that analogy mind you.

13. #13 by monsterball on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 4:48 am

If u are drunk…try not to talk too much.
    Go and sleep it off… like a good boy.

14. #14 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 9:05 am

No worries mate. We have rambutans and angkasawan. And yes we can play poker with chengho! Paradise sini.

15. #15 by monsterball on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 11:01 am

chengho play poker with me ….will loose his trousers.
    I can read him like a book.
    His face will turn green with lousy cards and red with excitements….thinking his double twos will win the stake.
    All you need is to make him talk….have a conversation…face …eyes… will reveal all.

16. #16 by chengho on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 12:11 pm

Pls propose your shadow cabinet and do not change later like CEC after 2 weeks election

17. #17 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 3:13 pm

chengho :
    Pls propose your shadow cabinet and do not change later like CEC after 2 weeks election

changehole – I suggest you go consult Cesar for your obsession with shadow.

http://www.cesarsway.com/askcesar/obsession/Shadow-Obsession

18. #18 by chengho on Saturday, 5 January 2013 - 12:48 pm

What to expect from people who even cannot manage their own party election , just like Adil party election before , all by design