99-Day Countdown to 13GE – Make Corruption one of the top election issues for first time in 13GE

Yesterday, I suggested that the 100-Day Countdown to the 13th General Elections be computed from New Year’s Day and that all Malaysians take part in the daily countdown to the 13GE because of the historic significance and possibilities of this event.

On the 99-day Countdown to the 13th General Elections, I call on the 13.1 million electorate to make corruption one of the top election issues for the first time in 13 general elections in the past 53 years.

Last Saturday, Bernama carried the following report:

All BN candidates for the 13th general election have been found to be free of corruption and other crimes, BN secretary-general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said today.

He said the candidates for the 222 parliamentary and 505 state seats had undergone screening by the police, Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) and Department of Insolvency to ensure that they were “clean” and did not have any problems.

Tengku Adnan spoke to reporters after presenting school aid and People’s Volunteer Corps (Rela) uniforms at a gathering of the people here where a durian feast was also held.

He also said that the background of the candidates was subjected to scrutiny to ensure that they were the people’s choice.

“We want the candidates to be whom the people want, not whom the party or individuals in the party want. We want candidates whom the people feel they can represent them,” he said.

This Bernama report which provoked widespread public scorn and contempt has provided proof, if proof is still needed, that the UMNO/Barisan Nasional is incapable of being serious or being trusted in any campaign against corruption.

Malaysians should not forget the 2004 general elections when the Barisan Nasional took out full-page advertisements confessing that the government was “corrupt and rotten to the core …with no aspect of life untainted by corruption” and urging the Malaysian electorate to give Pak Lah the mandate to be a “modern-day Justice Bao” in an “all-out war against corruption”.

Abdullah did not become a “modern day Justice Bao”. Instead, Malaysia sank further every year in the Transparency International (TI) Corruption Perception Index (CPI), falling from No. 37 in 2003 when Tun Mahathir stepped down as Prime Minister to No. 47 when Abdullah was forced out of Seri Perdana, to the four worst TI CPI rankings ever recorded for Malaysia all under Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s premiership from 2009 – 2012 (i.e. No. 56 for 2009 and 2010, No. 60 for 2011 and No. 54 for 2012).

Can Najib credibly claim that he could succeed where Abdullah had failed – to become a “modern-day Justice Bao” to conduct an all-out war against corruption and uproot a system “corrupt and rotten to the core …with no aspect of life untainted by corruption” as far back as two general elections ago in 2004?

Tengku Adnan’s statement as reported by Bernama last Saturday is testimony that the UMNO/Barisan Nasional have turned the serious issue of corruption in Malaysia into a mockery and a farce.

How could all the 222 BN parliamentary and 505 State Assembly candidates for the 13GE be screened and cleared of any corruption or other crimes by the MACC, the police and the Department of Insolvency when it is public knowledge that the BN and its member parties haver not yet finalised their 222 parliamentary and 505 State Assembly candidates?

What Tengku Adnan probably meant is that all the 222 BN parliamentary and 505 State Assembly candidates for the 13GE would be found to be free of corruption and other crimes as the MACC and the police would be required to issue “a blank cheque” of clearance for all of them.

This is final proof why the issue of corruption should become a top election issue in the 13GE as there can be no serious war against corruption so long as Putrajaya is run by UMNO/BN – as only a change of system with a Pakatan Rakyat government in Putrajaya can begin the long, arduous but necessary clean-up of the government and country.

1. #1 by cseng on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 5:16 pm

//modern-day Justice Bao” to conduct an all-out war against corruption and uproot a system//…

Instead of becoming modern Justice Bao, he unbecomingly turn MACC into carpet, so that all dirt well kept under it. Even the carpet trader fail to flip it out.

2. #2 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 5:19 pm

Are we surprise by the verdict of the UMNO Sec-Gen? NO! what they had siphoned off the nation was just their accepted NORM, which they considered fair and equitable. Can you imagine what their REAL Corrupt Practices would be?? This is the gist of his message to all Malaysians who have not awaken from their slumber!

3. #3 by chengho on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 5:21 pm

Pakatan must announce list of candidates now, for public scrutiny as part of CAT .

4. #4 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 5:45 pm

Now this is definitely chengho’s Keadah2 Kerajaan Poker-style at work.

5. #5 by drngsc on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 5:46 pm

Yes, wiping out corruption is important, but also show the people how wiping out corruption will benefit their lives. The new corruptionless economy to benefit the people is even more important. Witch hunting must rank low on the priority list. People’s welfare and food on the table must rank first priority.
    Please lead us in that direction.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. GE 13 is coming. First to PR 121, then to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we will.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 6:25 pm

Imelda Marcos had a fascination with shoes, ours have a fascination with jewelry..Shoes, even Jimmy Choo’s is not as bad…

7. #7 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 6:43 pm

“…All BN candidates for the 13th general election have been found to be free of corruption and other crimes, BN secretary-general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said today. ….”

Lets say I am in my most generous mood and accept at face value Tengku Adnan’s statement above. But then this statement was uttered by him and I am curious about his role as mentioned in the Lingamgate tapes saga.

They may be clean now. But once they are elected, they are part of the cesspool that is BN. In no time they will be corrupted as proven by a former MB who was touted as Mr Clean when he was appointed but certainly was not quite so clean when his tricks were revealed after he left office.

8. #8 by chengho on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 7:44 pm

Both side of the coin must announce , their political fund coming from ?

9. #9 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 9:03 pm

The 222 BN parliamentary and 505 State Assembly candidates may be clean prior to GE13. However, that does not guarantee that they will remain clean after they hold office (esp the high-ups in BN condone corruption and turn a blind eye to such practice).

10. #10 by monsterball on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 10:36 pm

Devil’s funds are all stolen from Malaysians.
    Freedom Fighters funds are donations from Malaysians and from all over the world…helping them to free Malaysia from a very corrupted government.
    I think Chengho’s brain have not improve at all..after so many years.

11. #11 by monsterball on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 10:41 pm

There is a song….”A hundred miles away from home”
    It’s about a wounded man..keep struggling…..walking…to reach home to die happily.
    As for us…we will be singing…walking… talking a hundred miles…to experience a life we never had for 55 years.

12. #12 by tuahpekkong on Wednesday, 2 January 2013 - 10:51 pm

If all BN candidates for the 13 General Elections were found to be corrupt free, then our TI CPI should be no. 5 or 4 in the world and not 54. He didn’t feel at all embarrassed when he made that statement. What a consummate politician he is! It is quite the contrary. I think the next GE will probably be held after the disbursement of BR1M 2 and the announcement of dividend for EPF members, expected to be not less than 6% again, may be slightly more, just to please the voters.

13. #13 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 3:56 am

Religions failed because they did not ban the corruption

14. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 5:44 am

Religions did not fail.
    It’s the Devils using religions to capture weak minds..divert attentions…and steal the National money.to use money to enhanced their objectives ..to make Malaysia a Devilish country.
    They behave like good Muslims…but they are not Muslims at all.
    And in that sense….you are right….corruptions…over powered the Islamic religion….not religions.
    Do not forget…. who is the mastermind for all things evil.

15. #15 by chengho on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 6:14 am

Corruption is colorless , just take a long boat to the ocean , look at the star and deep sea . You may see your own reflection . You may be one of them.

16. #16 by cseng on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 7:51 am

Corruption is an industry, it reflects the governance and policy, when your country exported 871b of illicit outflow, even the way you view the star and sea is corrupted.

When you dominate and control the corruption industry, you do not need to compete? When you lost all abilities to compete, you blame the star and sea but yourself… and you are proud of what and who you are? Pathetic!

17. #17 by monsterball on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 8:48 am

Chengho is wise and yet stupid.
    Corruption involves an act. How can that be colorless?
    However….if that corrupted person controls the country…the corruptions he performs can be like a magician….not easily detected.
    He controls the police and the judges.

18. #18 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 10:38 am

13 million voters will vote in the 13th GE on 13th April of the 13th year of this century.

Must be damned lucky for the ruling party – shudder, shudder………….

19. #19 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 11:09 am

////Last Saturday, Bernama carried the following report:

All BN candidates for the 13th general election have been found to be free of corruption and other crimes, BN secretary-general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said today. ///

heeheehahahaHAHAHAHAHAHAHEEHEEHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Sometimes I wonder if these imbeciles really think people are that stupid to believe them. Orang kampong nowadays not that stupid too.

20. #20 by tak tahan on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 11:21 am

Any lesser fool than chengho fool will tell you that when you have rampant corruption in a country, no matter how hard and skilfull the best workers produce goods of high quality and at the lowest cost, the result of their efforts will remain unproductive.
    In short, corruption negates productivity.

http://malaysiansmustknowthetruth.blogspot.com/2013/01/rm900-has-less-buying-power-than-in-1997.html

21. #21 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 12:28 pm

I could still recall the last time I saw his precious jar containing the preserved remains of his manhood. It was crushed under the wheels of a car.

Now you people see why he is way way way off in all his views?

22. #22 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 1:16 pm

Chengho has sold his soul and mind to UMNO/BN; hence could only recognize whatever signals UMNO/BN sends him; anything that requires even an iota of grey matter will surely be beyond him. The basic component of UMNO/BN is rant collection: easy, clean and best of all, no responsibility to anyone. All he needs to do is to sit under either the durian or rambutan tree to make his dream comes true. And this is the training UMNO/BN has been planted by the dictator since the early 80s so we can hardly faulted Chengho for his understanding of such worldly issue like fairness, equitable behaviour, honesty and sincerity of political leaders> Indeed well beyond him!

23. #23 by Winston on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 1:36 pm

The death knell has already started for the crooks!
    For whom the bell tolls?
    It tolls for UMNO/BN!!!!

24. #24 by Winston on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 2:02 pm

#5 by drngsc
    Witch hunting must rank low on the priority list. – End of quote

Regret to disagree on this point.
    If the Philippines recent booting out of the corrupt government of Arroyo is anything to go by, the first thing he did was to haul up his predecessor to answer for her crimes against her people!
    And the crimes were plentiful.
    In fact Philippines is a good reflection of the type of corrupted government that has dogged them for so long and are taking place in our country!
    And Aquino put Arroyo on trial in no time!
    That should be done BEFORE they can flee the country or destroy all incriminating evidence!!!!!
    A special task force should be set up to trace and recover the wealth that should rightly belong to the people.
    With this setup, the politicians can still continue administer the country and look after the welfare of the people.

25. #25 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 2:47 pm

Who ? What ? Me ?

chengho

26. #26 by monsterball on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 2:53 pm

aiyoo yoo….first chengho…now Mahathir said give PR 5 years to govern is dangerous.
    This means his UMNO b should govern forever.
    Howcome all BN idiots talk like that?

27. #27 by cseng on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 3:41 pm

When idiot talks, he presumes all listeners are idiots, that makes everyone look like idiots.

But, when idiot listens, he choose to believe only the idiots, that confirmed him an idiot.

Hence, talks idiot or listened to idiot are no idiots, but believing in the idiots is definitely an idiot. Like who?

28. #28 by cseng on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 3:43 pm

Unlce Kit, this is only day 98… where is your piece? we have thrown out star, nst, utusan… what more to read la?

29. #29 by chengho on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 4:50 pm

Cseng, are you talking to the mirror

30. #30 by cseng on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 5:34 pm

Chengho, No, I am talking to whoever feels fit, and you reply. Why?

31. #31 by john on Thursday, 3 January 2013 - 10:14 pm

CORRUPTION is one major issue. But, must do a listing with pertinent details (ministry, company, amount, people involved, status, etc.) of yearly cases past over 50 years.

32. #32 by monsterball on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 4:51 am

chengho replied because he felt the bee sting… from cseng..backside very itchy…needs wagging.

33. #33 by chengho on Friday, 4 January 2013 - 12:14 pm

Evidence, evidence otherwise you are gossiping here

34. #34 by monsterball on Sunday, 6 January 2013 - 11:23 am

As if he is not gossiping…….HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

35. #35 by monsterball on Sunday, 6 January 2013 - 11:26 am

All we need is to play along with chengho..and he will leave this post and go elsewhere..no answer.
    It’s like sweeping rubbish away.