Talking Malay on false premises

Sakmongkol AK47
May 25, 2011

MAY 25 — Let us demolish one pet belief of Umno people and those who think they speak for Umno. It’s time for the real Malay to speak for the Malay. Where have the real Malays gone?

How can we force ourselves to suffer fools by allowing ourselves to consume the hate spewing writings of some bloggers whose Malay-ness are questionable? Why isn’t the peddler of rancid curry speaking on behalf and for Kimma members? He looks more kitol-ish that the person he castigates as Kitol. Why isn’t the gold nugget seller doing the same? We thank you but no thanks.

Jadi jadi lah kita orang Melayu kena tipu.

I find myself in strange territory listening to people like Reezal Merican, or Azeez speak for the Malays. I would have thought, Malays are better off if these people speak on behalf of KIMMA. I think Malays have got enough talented people to speak for ourselves.

Then we have those who pretend they speak for Umno but are themselves not Umno members. Can they have the same thinking dynamics of an Umno member? And I am not even differentiating between good and bad thinking- just undifferentiated Umno thinking. Why is this important?

It’s important because then, what we say can be leavened with realistic assessment. Then we can appreciate the Umno spirit.

Without the Umno spirit, what you write is mechanical.

The real Umno man wouldn’t speak of an imagined clash of Christians and Muslims or spun the story about Christians taking over this country. I think Malays are already suffering from an overdose of ghost stories and will NOT want to add to their consumption , manufactured tales about DAP becoming PM or Christians taking over this country.

Does a Malay cease to be a Malay if he is not Umno member? Being Umno is not an absolute requirement to fight for a Malay cause. Even being Malay is not an absolute guarantee that Malay interests are taken care of. Both require the right Malay with the right values and the Umno Malay with the right values.

Consider the record before us. From the day we got independence, most of our MBs are Malays. The top bosses in the Police and the army are Malays. The KSUs and TKSUs are almost invariably Malays. The top government officers are Malays. All the District officers are. All penghulus are Malays. All the Kings? All are Malays.

Now, one would be justified into assuming that given the fact that almost all the important office bearers are Malays and the governmental institutions we have are peopled by Malays, the lot of the Malays would be greatly improved or would have been vastly improved. Wouldn’t it?

Well, in terms of control of the economy, Malay economic interest is just about 20 per cent. That’s 20 per cent of the overall wealth being shared by 65 per cent of the population.

We would further imagine that Malays would own more land in this country. We would also imagine that Malays owned better housing. Their education would be of higher standard.

With Malays in power, there would have been more rich Malays than rich non Malays. Yet in the top 20 richest in Malaysia, you would find probably one fellow. In the top 40, you start getting more Malays but you also get more non Malays.

So what conclusion can you deduce from these observations? The only valid and justifiable conclusion, is having Malays up there does not readily translate into Malay prominence in any of the fields we mentioned. It follows from here, that positioning Malays in strategic offices is not necessarily beneficial and advantageous to Malays.

The other conclusion is those Malays in power have not helped other Malays. So if Umno insists that Umno is Malay and Malay in Umno, then by extension, Malays in power do not help the rest of Malays will also mean, Umno in power does not help the rest of the Malays.

Umno people must be realistic on this. One doesn’t stop becoming Malay if one dismisses Umno. People are already doing that if you still don’t realize it. 1.5 million Umno members protested by not voting in Umno candidates. That should be interpreted as a rejection of not merely the candidates but perhaps more so of the policies and vision that Umno projects. 1.5 million members didn’t share in the vision of Umno. 3.7 million Malay (including the 1.5 million) voters didn’t subscribe to the Umno ideals peddled by Umno leaders.

Yet the leadership is hyping themselves, aided by a pliant audio visual and print media into believing all is well. Ignorance is really bliss. — sakmongkol.blogspot.com

* Sakmongkol AK47 is the nom de plume of Datuk Mohd Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz. He was Pulau Manis assemblyman (2004-2008).

1. #1 by dagen on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 12:02 am

Punchline of the centuary:

“Does a Malay cease to be a Malay if he is not Umno member?”

Of course he does not. It’s in the constitution, you idiot. Umno cant do anything about it. Well not since 308 as it takes a 2/3 majority vote to change the constitution. Then is this really necessary? Because umno, by its practise and culture, has pregnated the country with a new race type and in consequence the country has since dr mamak’s time given birth to that new race now known to all as umnoputras. There AK47, go back and try to figure that one out. See how your argument fits the real situation.

2. #2 by Thor on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 12:49 am

“Melayu mudah lupa!”.
    And that’s what Mahathir said before.
    Seems that the real malays have almost forgotten their roots here and they even tend to think that those “pendatang” mamaks and indons are the rightful ones.

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 3:03 am

A mamak whose grandfather came from India became the self-styled king of the Malays, no ?

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 8:00 am

Bumiputras have been replaced by Beliputras, consist of Azeez, Sheiks and mamakuttis. crusade Ali. just a moneyputras who would sell himself for 30pcs silver coins thrown to him by Beliputras.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 8:13 am

Because Mamak perverted and subverted them, in the name of progress but in reality for his own self-centred reasons.

6. #6 by k1980 on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 8:15 am

Just like the USA which has been hijacked by the pseudo-Irishman, Barak O’Bama. Also Pakistan which is still reeling from the ramifications of the murdered pseudo-Irishman, O’sama!

7. #7 by artemisios on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 9:17 am

Interesting fact:

**”Malay economic interest is just about 20 per cent.”**

So that’s 65% of the population sharing only 20% of the pie? Malays are at a disadvantage indeed…. but it gets worse!!

What about the BN cronies “disguising” as Malays? They used that 20% of the pie to buy personal super mansions, yachts, 44 luxury cars, spend on mistresses, kept in foreign bank accounts!

So in truth, the REAL Malays share far, far less than the 20%……

8. #8 by novice101 on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 9:47 am

UMNO was formed to look out for the interests of the Malays when UMNO, MCA and MIC were negotiating with the British for independence.

When independence was obtained this coalition has ruled the country since then. To keep itself in power and to keep its dominance UMNO defined Malay to mean one who speaks Malay and who follow the Malay customs. This move allow the camouflaged-Malays to flood the party.

Now these camouflaged Malays have become more “Malay” than the real Malays. They have taken over UMNO, in fact. To perpetuate their rule these people in the party are now said to make Indonesians and even Thais as voters.

9. #9 by wanderer on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 10:07 am

Materialistic benefits have changed the once warm hearted malay folks…UMNO “imported” malays have taken full advantage of human failings. I have never seen so many barking Black Melayu of late, creating lies and mischief, are they fearing their evil intentions will be exposed?

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 11:02 am

The truth is, that its possible for someone like Anwar to be still so successful despite the onslaught, tells a lot about what the Malays have got going for them. Anwar who once was part of the perverted machinery, re-found his ultimate calling, even rising above perversion that had seek to subvert it, doing what other leaders of other communities in this country cannot. Real Malay leaders like Khalid Samad, Nasir Hashim, Dzulkefly Ahmad, Khalid Ibrahim truly reflects the best of what Malays has to offer.

11. #11 by Loh on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 11:08 am

///Well, in terms of control of the economy, Malay economic interest is just about 20 per cent. That’s 20 per cent of the overall wealth being shared by 65 per cent of the population.///-SAK 47

The 20% wealth was divided by 65%, and they are not actually shared by all the Malays who might number 65%. Similarly the wealth said to be owned by Chinese are not shared by all the Chinese who form 25% of the population. The irrelevant statistics are conveniently utilized by politicians to justify dividing the people to achieve their opportunistic designs.

12. #12 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 8:11 pm

Bumiputras stakes have been stolen by Bumi-pura puras consist of mamaks. ask mamakkutti. he will tell you. And he bought his lapdog Ali for peanuts.