LKS, Get Well Soon

By Wong Ho Leng

Because of the Sarawak election, he delayed his cataract operation…

That fateful morning, we were put up at Kingwood Hotel, Kuching. I wasn’t surprised that LKS had called at 7 something in the morning. He does that quite often to me, to exchange political views. But this was an exceptional morning. He said something was wrong, and he wanted to meet me at the cafeteria of the hotel. 15 minutes later, he called again, and asked me to be in his room. I saw LGE, in his pyjamas, with his dad. LKS had a serious eye infection. We earnestly looked for a specialist. It was too early, and it was a Sunday. Anyway, we managed to get one. CSC would be coming to fetch, and I accompanied LKS to his breakfast. We shared about his fear. From outside, he was cool as a cucumber. He obliged when hotel guests requested photo shoots with him. None of them knew that one of LKS’s eyes had suffered a serious vision impairment from a rare infection. To me, it was a long breakfast. As Siew Chiang’s car drove him off, I offered a silent prayer for LKS.

LKS is a workaholic. Despite his eye operation, he still worked with his iPAD, and, we still communicated over the phone. Each time, before we delved into politics, I asked him about his condition, and he would give me the most elaborate detail. He must have gone through unthinkable pain, and, reading the text of LGE’s statement, I can understand LGE’s feelings towards his dad…

Sdr LKS, our prayers are with you. Do Get Well soon.

伤在父身,痛在儿心

为了砂州大选,我展延了到国家心脏中心的年度体检,而我的父亲林吉祥也将预定的眼角膜切除手术延后。

选战结束后,砂州12支火箭升空,我的体检报告也出炉,一切还好,连医生也没兴趣跟我汇报医药报告的内容,想当然必是没什么坏消息了。

父亲也在战后(砂州选战后)进行切割眼角膜手术。手术一切正常,只不过他这个工作狂,手术后的一天就忍不住频频开iPad及黑霉手机看资料,搞到我母亲成天碎碎念。

4天后,我和父亲就飞往砂州赴宴及谢票,并在周六入住古晋的Kingswood Inn酒店。隔天清早7点从浴室出来时,我发现手机有父亲的未接来电,感觉“有点不妙”。

用酒店内线电话找老爸时,他告诉我:“冠英,这次大灾难啦!我睡醒揉了眼睛一下,什么都看不到了……”

不清楚电话是否有盖好,也不理身上是否还穿着睡衣,我就这样奔到同层的父亲房了解情况。

往古晋看眼科医生的途中,我一直联络不上当医生的弟弟,只因他正在参加骑脚车运动。古晋的专科医生以抗生素先给吉祥撑着,试试看能否有效。虽然当天是公共假期,但医生和医院皆不愿收费。

古晋专科医生和我弟弟皆同时表示,动眼膜手术发生眼内炎的案例只有0.1%,而且很大可能是发生在名人身上,这是医学的数据,果然“很巧“。

周日回槟后,在另一个专科医生的劝告下,父亲以打针对抗细菌方法治疗无效后,隔天就需立刻动手术。不巧那天也是槟州立法议会的口头问答环节,我先奔到医院探望老爸,然后赶回州议会回答问题,休会期间、父亲手术前,又赶到医院给爸爸加油。

手术前,我们全家守在病床前,面对种种未知数,场面肃静得可怕。这时我竟然双眼泛红,说不出一句话,只能握住爸爸的双手,真希望躺在床上的是我,而不是他。

父亲动手术期间,我在手术房外批文,以度过那难熬的时光。手术成功了,医生告诉我们,他最大的压力不是来自首长,也不是吉祥,而是他那两个不到二十岁的儿子,因为林吉祥是他们的偶像。

社会需要有正义感的政治人物来治社会的病,但是却更需要医生来医病、救人。纳闷的是,砂州大选败下阵的人联党沈桂贤心脏专科医生竟然说败选后失业。要是砂州容不下他,我真的要把他请来槟城,救救我们的命。

吉祥在手术后,一样面对太太的“监视”。一看到我母亲走进病房探病,握在手中的iPad就会在一秒半内被藏到床单下,担心会被“充公”。可是主治医生第二天说,手术后进展不错,眼睛需要多多运动,多看iPad也无妨,结果老爸就以医生的“圣旨”说服老妈让他继续看iPad工作,弄得老妈无话可说,但老爸却比中彩票更开心。

老爸在康复中,我在此代表我的家人,向所有为吉祥祈福的民众说声谢谢。

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 9 May 2011 - 2:08 pm

Any bn politician afflicted by such a serious eye infection would had flown off for overseas medical treatment (at the taxpayers’ expense). Remember former transport minister Chan Kong Choy who went for medical checkup in Australia and hence absented himself for 2 weeks just when PKFZ was debated in Parliament?

2. #2 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Monday, 9 May 2011 - 3:03 pm

Get well soon. we need you to witness the upcoming tsunami in GE13

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 9 May 2011 - 3:23 pm

YB LKS, the people understand that the Sarawak election was a momentous point in history. Yr personal sacrifice came at this hour of great need. Few would have understood the depth of yr sacrifice if the stories are left untold. So. thanks YB Wong HL.

We truly hope you will not lose the sight of that eye under stress. We will all pray for yr speedy recovery. At this point it would be more prudent to take a good rest and allow yr body to heal before the next great GE effort.

May God bless you richly and keep you in His grace.

4. #4 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 10 May 2011 - 1:20 am

We’ll always be by your side.Please rest as well as we need you to lead the battle to UBAH.Kit,Kit Boleh!