Kit Siang: Soi Lek killing the people’s hope for change

By Clara Chooi
Apr 29, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, April 29 — Lim Kit Siang accused Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek today of destroying the people’s hopes by dictating that they had no choice but to accept the status quo in the present administration under Barisan Nasional (BN).

This, said the DAP adviser, was reflected in Dr Chua’s recent reminder to the Chinese community that their hopes should be based on the political realities in Malaysia.

Lim insisted that the MCA president had missed the point when he challenged PKR to abolish Malay privileges, pointing out that the opposition had never argued over the special position of the Malays as enshrined under Article 153 of the Federal Constitution.

The point of contention, said Lim, was the BN government’s “blatant abuse” of the New Economic Policy (NEP) and refusal to implement needs-based affirmative action policies.

“His (Dr Chua’s) theatrics interest no one. Article 153 is not an article of controversy… it does not arise. The point of controversy is that the NEP must go.

“Dr Chua is just trying to create something out of nothing so that the people are distracted from the focal issues.

“Now that the people have some hope that for the first time, they have a proper alternative, he is trying to quash that hope,” Lim told The Malaysian Insider today.

He said Dr Chua should stop avoiding the reasons behind the “political awakening” of Malaysians across creed and colour, which was mirrored in the just-concluded Sarawak polls.

In the April 16 election, the DAP caused an electoral upset when it doubled its seat representation in the BN fortress of Sarawak by clinching 12 of the 15 seats it contested, most of them Chinese-majority areas.

Collectively, Pakatan Rakyat (PR) managed to capture 15 seats in the 71-seat assembly and garnered an impressive 45.5 per cent of popular votes.

Lim said the significant vote swing for the opposition proved that Malaysians were ready for change and have spotted “the light at the end of the tunnel, the glimmer of hope that there can be changes and improvements in the country’s political and economic climate”.

“So I think that what Dr Chua is trying to do is to distract attention from the real issues… portraying that there is no hope and telling the people to give up hope.

“He is saying that the people should be resigned to the injustices and corruption in the country,” he said.

Lim was responding to Dr Chua’s message in a video uploaded by the MCA on broadcast site YouTube.com recently in which the party president declared that he would be the “first to raise my hands to vote for PKR” if the party “dares to amend the constitution and cancel Malay privileges”.

In the 84-second clip, the former health minister appeared to suggest that the Chinese community should accept the current political scenario dominated by Umno and BN as the promises propagated by the opposition created a false sense of hope.

“I admit that the opposition’s words reflect the wishes of the younger generation because they create a sense of hope. But over time people will see that it is a lie.

“So you can have your hope but the hope should be based on the political realities in the country,” Dr Chua had said.

Lim said that Dr Chua’s words appeared to suggest that those who were not willing to accept the status quo or who saw no future in a nation under BN’s rule were welcome to leave the country.

“It means that those who want to migrate should migrate and those who see no future can leave so that the present government can continue unchecked,” he said.

According to a World Bank report yesterday, more than one million Malaysians currently live abroad.

The report stated that policies favouring the majority Malays were contributing to the country’s brain drain while holding back its economy and limiting foreign investment.

“I think it is necessary to put right all these wrongs for the benefit of Malaysians so that everyone, regardless of race, can look forward to justice and equality.

“The poor Malays, for instance, will be able to get affirmative assistance on the basis of need and the non-Malays will be able to feel that they have a rightful place under the Malaysian sun,” said Lim.

He pointed out that this formula was outlined in the Najib administration’s New Economic Model but the government had failed to see its reforms through.

1. #1 by hallo on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 6:33 pm

Bark…bark…bark….

Oh….Master…what your wish

Bar….bark…bark…..

Go attack the DAP/PKR with chinese issue as dirty as you can, stop, confusing human beings mind to UBAH

Bark….bark…bark…..

Yes…Master…..
    Bark…bark…bark…..

GOOD DOGS…go now
    Bark…bark…bark…

2. #2 by Not spoon fed on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 7:37 pm

Chua Soi Lek is supporting UMNO’s and Barisan Nasional’s corruption and cronies practices among BN components. Just like Ling Liong Sik was caught for corruption.

Chua Soi Lek prefers to see Malay being robbed and poor. Just like Sarawak rural people are robbed and they do not have computer to get all these facts and see the billion Ringgit property of Taib at http://www.sarawakreport.org.

Urban people are well informed and aware of BN’s corruption. BN has never received a praise from Transparency International while Mahathir has never been able to raise the Ringgit compared to zero natural resources like Singapore.

Singapore has recently distribute state surplus in thousands dollar back to their citizens.

Where are all those money gone? Take out from country: illicit money taken out from Malaysia from 2000 to 2008, reported by Global Financial Integrity : US$261 billions: http://iff-update.gfip.org/

Pakatan Federal Government will distribute state surplus to Malaysians. Just like Penang and Selangor did.

3. #3 by tak tahan on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 7:53 pm

Wow…wow…wow…
    Boss…bark…bite..or phark?

Big Big..Go bite and phark Ah Leg deep deep

Wow..wow..boss

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 8:42 pm

beggar dogs soil lek is entitled to be umno lapdogs. this guy no longer has any integrity left and a disgrace not only to the chinese but to his ancestors as well.
    He is selling our rights wholesale for crumbs on umnos table.

5. #5 by Winston on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 9:16 pm

He should go back to what he does best.
    And everybody sure knows what he’s really good at!
    Don’t we?

6. #6 by wanderer on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 9:49 pm

Do we seriously think this MCA pornstar has the nation at heart…especially, the Chinese community.
    We of Chinese decedents in Malaysia have long ago abandoned these ar*elickers…

7. #7 by omeqiu on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 10:18 pm

Kit, Chua Soi Lek will not be able to understand what you say no matter how.
    As a politician under UMNO, he has to hit you by any means just to please his masters. Don’t waste your time arguing with him. Prepare for GE13. He will be history even in Johor, together with MCA.

8. #8 by Mike Tee on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 11:01 pm

Dr Chua is a good actor(I like his double act with a young miss in that CD a while ago ), his MCA stands for Mumpuskan China Asssociation, any good common sense Malaysian will not join MCA to get themself classed as fifth or sixth class Malaysian citizens; after Malay, Sabah, Sarawak and Malaya natives.
    MCA is only best serves as a financial institution for majority of her poor members
    If Dr.Chua dares to challenge his masters to redefined bumi for all Malaysia born citizen irrespect of race and sex, I wll trully be his supporter.
    Show us that you are man not NF dog(mouse),
    show us that you can do more rather than just acting, shouting hollow promises. Stop coning general public !
    Your MCA had hindered many generations of able and talented Chinese students who would be otherwise qualified to study at local universities top faculties, resulted we are now severely short of qualified doctors and medical professions.

9. #9 by joehancl on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 11:12 pm

Watch this video, people from M’kini, judge yourselves mca can speak for others including the chinese. They must have known perkasa was going their place. One phone call could have stop it. It could not be done. Link…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uv6J4fu38OE&feature=player_embedded

10. #10 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 29 April 2011 - 11:26 pm

By now, CSL should just enjoy his privilege as a dimishing party leader given a free ride because the UMNO Gomen wants to look good; especially now that China is our biggest importer of palm oil. As Chairman of PPC, he gets to travel 1st Class; hence the scramble to hold ssuch position[ well all ex-BN politicians]. What is his contribution to PPC, you need not ask, for that matter not even the MOT knows and from we all heard in the market, the whole Ministry itself. To keep those privileges, he must keep the boat afloat and the best way is to try to frighten members of his own community’ forgetting that today is thw world of TABLET; even Gates’ micro-computer is being seen as obsolete! What else can he talk?

11. #11 by ablastine on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 12:20 am

I am really surprise how Chua Soi Lek got into medical school. How could a person of his low intelligence ever qualify in the first place. His compartmentalised thinking still hold the idea that the way forward is to have everything in term of race, quota and special privileges. Perhaps he can never detach himself from these obsessions because he is a member of a racist party in BN. Does he not know that the world is evolving and all these stupid notions about special rights, racial quotas and supremacy ideas will not be able to stand the test of time and definitely drag the country down. The sooner everybody thinks of himself as Malaysian instead of being of different races requiring special treatment the faster we can get out of this rut. That is the only way forward. Calling for racial unity in a multi-racial country is recipe for disaster because there is no end to havoc that can be wrecked when emotion is stroke by racial and religious sentiments.

In the first place we are so racial today where everything is divided according to races because the BN itself is racial. As the MCA was headed by weak leaders all this while UMNO had taken full advantage and relegated the second largest party in the coalition to obscurity. MCA has lost respect not only from those they seek to represent by also from UMNO itself. UMNO doesn’t give a hood to what MCA thinks on any matter. MCA has no fighting spirit and will always be a slave to UMNO. MCA got it all wrong. DAP does not fight for the rights of Chinese. It fights for the rights of all Malaysian especially the downtrodden from every race. You see mostly Chinese in DAP because they happen to be to see the whole picture and they are the patriots who do not want to country to be drown by poverty brought about by destructive racial policies as we go forward. If Chua can find one policy in DAP that sounds that they are pro-Chinese I challenge him to bring it up. I will vote for MCA in the next election if he can do so.

12. #12 by born in Malaya on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 12:42 am

As BN is a race base government, there is no reason to vote this government anymore.
    Vote for a Malaysian Malaysia government, vote for PKR.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 6:21 am

While CSL certaintly tried to shake those who are less confident and critical minded. Actually the truth is for the intelligent, all he showed was ultimate Narcissism..The man is in love with himself.

Polticians are suppose to translate principles to administrative realities. its NOT always about realities. Its suppose to be about ideas and causes. That is why political heros die for their causes.

But its clear as daylight that the likes of CSL is confused between being a political leader and a political trader. He think his job is to represent power and take his cut of it. Minimal risk, no heavy downside for himself. Other people take all the risk and pay the price when things go wrong.

His threat to take MCA out of the govt is clear example how he threaten his ‘supplier’ (i.e., rakyat) to not represent to his customer (i.e., UMNO). (BTW Customer is king). Even in the world of commerce, such behaviour is considered unethical and hardly the behaviour of the noble trademens, mere shylocks, opportunist and monopolist.

No, the problem with CSL is not his threat, its his narcissism..Like Narcissus, he will not recognize Nemesis until its too late..

14. #14 by cemerlang on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 6:26 am

Chineses can learn a lesson from him. He knows what Barisan Nasional wants. Do Chineses know what Barisan Nasional wants ?

15. #15 by CK-LA on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 7:07 am

An old quote by Dr. Adrian Rogers:

“What one person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving. The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else. When half of the people get the idea that they do not have to work because the other half is going to take care of them, and when the other half gets the idea that it does no good to work because somebody else is going to get what they work for, that my dear friend, is about the end of any nation. You cannot multiply wealth by dividing it.”

Sounds familiar? BN keep wondering about the brain drain and try to remedy with laughable incentives. The big elephant sitting in their living room they don’t see: NEP!!!

16. #16 by limkamput on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 7:47 am

CSL, MCA has failed, BN has failed. This is a fact clearly demonstrated. So, please just shut up. Let others who are willing and capable to step forward. Don’t worry about the opposition may not be capable or may destroy things built over the years. The country is already at the verge of disintegrating – economically, socially and governance wise. Just shut your gap. No one cares any more, just like no one cares whether it was Anwar in that tape.

17. #17 by k1980 on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 8:34 am

Astro Beyond should show CSL’s hotel room romp in 3D and sense-surround acoustics.

18. #18 by k1980 on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 8:39 am

//I am really surprise how Chua Soi Lek got into medical school.//

During his time in the early 1950s, 2 Principle Es at Advanced Level HSC were more than enough. Look at Dollah, who entered university but failed Statistics 101

19. #19 by Loh on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 1:21 pm

If Chua Soi Lek’s balls are still attached to his body, he should have said that MCA would not only withdraw from the Cabinet, it would withdraw from BN too. That way UMNO can decide whether MCA is still needed and change its polices so that MCA candidates can still be elected. But he had no balls to utter those words. He now dares the Chinese to ditch them, thinking that Chinese who were scared of another riot in 1999 put Mamakthir back in power would be scared again. The Malays today were not like in 1969 when bus loads of them could be brought to Kuala Lumpur based on what the leaders told them. Now Malays know the truth. There will be no riots just because UMNO loses the election. That riots cannot be so easily arranged, and the targets can no longer be big houses and big cars.

Chinese will certainly bury MCA comes the next election. We have enough of UMNO leaders telling the outside world that government policies had the agreement of Chinese representatives. Chinese should no longer offer MCA the convenience for the leaders to sell the race for their own interest.

It is fairness that we talk about. If that fairness happen to have race at the point of departure, one has no choice but to think about race.

20. #20 by Ray on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 2:34 pm

Lets forget about all these Unless Hopless MCA MIC GERAKAN BN Lapdogs Parties.
    Lets together united as ONE Rakyat and Stop BN from winning 13thGE
    Look>>>> >>Malusia had been under 53yrs Umno leadership rule langsung No other Progress,everything damn things were done for their Umno benifits and $$$gains>> corrupting TAX PAYERS MONIES and squandering of Billions Ringgits(thro’ Mega projects commissions ) for these morons Umnoputras …there is NO MORE FUTURE for the minority race…all professional career propects were vanished and hardly any jobs created for these minorities citizen …
    Rakyat Malaysia >>Time to wake up >>Only by Voting PR (DAP PKR PAS) into Putrajaya … You will begin to see Reformasi/ Ubah by PR comes the next 13 GE ..
    Rakyat…Please Please
    Vote PR for your Future, Meritocracy ,fair treatment transparent ,efficient and Democrative constitution Government for the good of the Rakyat regardless of Race and religion and also let yr voices heard thro PR in the Parliament ….You are the secret weapons for PR
    No Fear ..>>>Yr Vote Is Secret>>…God’s Soveirgnty Watch ,Guide and leading

21. #21 by rockdaboat on Saturday, 30 April 2011 - 2:36 pm

Either that porn star doesn’t know what to do or dare not do what he knows is the right thing to do.

Easy way out: tolak to Pakatan lor.

22. #22 by Mike Tee on Monday, 2 May 2011 - 7:08 am

Sorry chaps, I have to say that our BN’s special rights for majority race do not work in other Commenwealth countries , United Nation or EU(Except Brunei who does recognise anyone borned under non-citizen parents). WE CAN CHALLENGE these racist rules in EU or UN court of Human Rights. Don’t delay!!!!!
    Write to Nelson Manela if he approves such special rights in South Africa before he dies of old age????
    If so called bumi/b–i can have 31 years of special rights over other NON-BABI, can other-non babi have apportioned 12 years of sepcial rights like university medical/engineering faculties, full 100% scholachips for over thousands of scholarshios each years to universities in UK, US, Australia , Newzelands, Middle Easterns countries, Parkistan, India, Indonesia, Egypt, Europe countries, Canada, Japan etc for the past 31 years like bumi did, and less than 40 % of bumi passing students taken up 90% university places???? We must be wondering as to why our Malaysian universities droped out of top 100 world universities??!!!
    What has MCA(Mati Cee(dead) Altogether)”See-Liau -Liau” did in the past 31 years?? NOTHING but got themselives fat-fat choy, ousing with grease.
    I will said it for the last time, if those racist rulers in Malaysia cannot accepts other non-babi in the country, we should introduce somethings like Pakistan and India in India subcontinent did in the 1940’s, do a PARTITION- ie you go one way and I go another way, split between either East/West.
    Malaysia or North /South or east/west coast Malaya.I (We could even go to Patani Thailand and troublesome southern Thai move to Malaysia)
    It was a big missed opportunity that I was unable to attend Premier Wan’s press conference in KL in front of Muhiddyn & Najib, otherwise I would have asked premier Wan whether he had given special right to his Han race before other minorities in China like MALAYSIA BOLEH did in the past 31long long years; robbed the minorities’s rights of education, jobs and business opportunities/licences.
    Dr Chua would never dare to approch anti-corruption bureau about ALLEGATIONS of BF members, ex-PM & ex-cabinet ministers just incase he will be the first to be called up for interview at floor 13th and ended up lying on the ground floor car park.( Treating oridinary people’s life like dirt for non existing crime while letting big big fishes be back seat driver on present goverment’policies)
    Dr. Chua & Muhiddyn and Taib do not why non-babi deserted them??? I wonder why too!!!
    How do these people’s cronies now managing to running and control big financial corporations in Malaysia, how and where did the monies comes from??
    How could companiy like McDonald, KFC, 7-11 etc chain stores refuseed franchiecies for the non-babi???? Can we speak to the UN & EU about that racist practise???
    REMEMBER brothers & sisters supporting MCA , MIC & UMNO means admitted that you are fifth casts in the Malaysia society if you are non-babi, matikan your own and future generation’s livelihoods; be slaves for the few families who control the power and on rich gravey trains in the country in the years to come.
    Where is the right to have full 100% subsidies of Tamil & Chinese primary school????
    Use your vote wisely and said “F— U racist UMNO, MCA, MIC, and other racist parties”. YOU SHOULD FINISHED THEM OFF FOR GOOD. Just like the dracula movies, put a wooden dagger(votes) in their heart. THE FUTURE IS IN YOUR HANDS
    Like a saying “GOD HELP THOSE WHO HELP THEMSELVES”
    If you still don’t understand what is going onand want to be remain anonymious, then “GOD HELP YOU”!!

23. #23 by bush on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 9:57 am

Why we have a stupid chinese leader from MCA to give the malaysia chinese to choose either from DAP or MCA?

As aware, most chinese will choose malay, india, bengali, iban to be our PM if the candidate able to transform malaysia into a world class country like singapore. We chinese want a transparent, progressive and fair government to lead malaysia into next century.

To Mr.Chua SL, please use your brain to think like a chinese and not giving a stupid statement to win vote.

Malaysia Chinese don’t need a chinese leader if he is unable to make a change to the corrupt system that will bring backward to the country.

24. #24 by bush on Tuesday, 3 May 2011 - 10:07 am

To prove that chinese want transparant, progressive, fair goverment. Any opposition candidate from any race will win vote in urban area.