10 questions about 1Malaysia Email

Oon Yeoh | Apr 26, 11

There’s been a lot of negativity about the 1Malaysia Email project to be handled by Tricubes. Perhaps a big part of that has to do with the fact that there aren’t actually that many facts released by Tricubes or the government about this controversial project.

We’ve heard bits and pieces about it through news reports, and an interview on BFM89.9 has shed some light on the project. But many questions remain.

Here are 10 key question that, if answered properly by either Tricubes or the government, would probably go a long way towards stemming the tidal wave of criticism the project has attracted thus far.

1. Why is it called 1Malaysia Email?

Apparently, the registered and approved domain email address will be [email protected]. So why isn’t it called MyEmail instead of 1Malaysia Email? Besides, doesn’t Tricubes know that roughly half the popular votes in the last election went to Pakatan Rakyat? That being the case, isn’t it a foolish strategy to brand an email service with name that is so incredibly politicised that it would alienate roughly half the electorate?

2. Will Tricubes guarantee the database will not be used for political purposes?

With a brand name that is as polarising as “1Malaysia Email”, many people will naturally question whether they will be spammed with political messages, especially during election campaign periods.

3. What does it mean to be a private sector initiative that the government supports?

Many people, including the prime minister, have stressed that the project is a private initiative that does not involve public funds. So, how exactly is the government supporting the project? According to Pemandu director Fadhlullah Suhaimi Abdul Malek, in his BFM 89.9 interview, it would not be correct to say that Tricubes was awarded a contract. Then what exactly was it awarded? A blessing?

4. Why wasn’t the tender more publicised?

Fadhlullah explained that Tricubes was chosen (again what does it mean by “chosen” if it’s a completely private sector initiative) because of the five companies that bid for the project, Tricubes was the only one that was listed. If what the government wanted was for more listed companies to bid for the project, why wasn’t the tender more highly publicised to attract more listed companies. Better still, why not just make a requirement that only listed companies should apply?

5. Can other companies really set up competing services?

During the BFM 89.9 interview Fadhlullah was asked if other companies wanted to undertake a similar private initiative, would they be allowed to do so, and he replied in the affirmative. Does that mean the government would similarly support rival services? If so, what’s the point of having a tender in the first place?

6. Is a portal involved?

The project has widely been referred to as a free email project. But there has also been mention of a portal involved. What exactly will that portal offer? What features? What functionalities? What type of content?

7. What are the fee-based value added services?

It’s been revealed that while the email account is free, there will be premium value added services that people can pay for. What exactly are these? Do you have to pay, for example, to be notified if you’ve received a “saman ekor”? Or will the police be the one that pays for sending you the notice? Or will both parties have to pay?

8. What is Tricubes’ privacy policy regarding use of its database?

Presumably there will be more than one revenue stream (other than the vaguely articulated fee-based value added services). Will there be advertising? And if so, will it be based on keywords contained in your message or will it be based on your authenticated profile? Will the database be sold to the highest bidder? Or will it only be available to government agencies?

9. Will it ensure prompt responses?

It’s been reported that one of the reasons for having this authenticated e-mail service is to ensure “direct and secure” communication between citizens and the government. Can Tricubes also ensure that the reply from the government is also prompt? If not, what’s the point?

10. Can we choose vanity names?

How will the e-mail names be assigned once we opt to register for our free 1Malaysia email? Will it automatically pull our names from the National Registration Department? Or can I, for example, choose to have a customised email address like [email protected]?

OON YEOH is managing editor at AsiaReach Media. You can follow him at www.twitter.com/oonyeoh

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 7:22 am

[email protected]

The idiots can’t even lie properly. Of course this is a government sponsored project because the basic payments come from EPF, Inland Revenue and PDRM. The “savings” on postal services that these agencies currently use get transferred to Tricubes.

The other 4 companies that ostensibly bid for this project should come out and help explain how the bid process was conducted. The suspicion is that they had already decided to award this project to Tricubes and then they called the tender to try to masquerade the whole shameful opaque process.

2. #2 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 7:39 am

That’s 50sen per junk mail from this goons whether you want it or not. this pokey muck government is beyond rescue anymore. it is best to make a compost and chuck it down the toilet. too poisonous even to be used as a fertilizer.

how I hate this corrupted regime.

3. #3 by hallo on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 7:40 am

A service control by the DARK side (injustice, dishonor, liar, robbery) sure will definitely drag people to the DARK side

The dark do not like the LIGHT (JUSTICE, HONEST)

4. #4 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 7:46 am

The whole thing sounds like ALL the Piratization schemes we have all along. What else can you ecpect from people who can only slogan all the way to 2020?
    This will give an impression that at least we are doing something along the line of Silicone Valley [?]. When the main aim of the leadership is to siphon the Treasury, even harebrain schemes are propogated like “Eureka!” discoveries. We will continue to ask ourselves, if 2020 is realistic, I would reckon to add a 1 after the the first number. Whatever said and done, we are definitely rolling towards Zimbabwe!

5. #5 by dagen on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 8:18 am

How I detest this phaaarking umno gobermen. And I only wish GE13 could come much much sooner. Since ibrahim bin perkasa has been talking of may 13, well why not? Lets maythirteen this umno gobermen to timbaktu. If GE13 could not come soon enough, then ibrahim bin perkasa lets bring on your may13 thingy.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 8:25 am

It’s a crony project.

7. #7 by k1980 on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 9:15 am

Imagine getting 10 junkmail a day from jibby and co.
    Then have to fork out RM5 everyday ===> RM150 every month.

8. #8 by setu on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 9:34 am

U get upfront monies to launch,
    (just like upfront $ prior to casting votes),
    then, force authorities and citizens
    to subscribe to and pay for its business,
    when actually all these should be free for the citizens, especially, when it is from the
    government departments, and when the information/data are all highly confidential, when it is the duty / responsibility of the
    govt. to link up with the masses.
    Why why the 3 rd party ?
    Smell of something fishy.
    Information can be misused, abused, by
    some crooked 3 rd party, esp. lower ranking
    staffs.
    Then, the 3 party will drag their feet,
    if it fails, definitely bound to fail,
    blame it on the rakyat,
    get bail-out, get compensations,
    get other suspicious newer contracts,
    (like toll concessionaires, crooked bridge,
    glc. bail-outs etc ), just keep hiving off
    the tax payers $ .?
    It is better than doing some real business,
    this way, it easier to make millions. billions ?

9. #9 by k1980 on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 10:03 am

Example of junkmail from jibby

Hi there, i am jib, master of the universe. Greetings from me and loh see mah. You hep me, i hep you. Vote bn and hep to keep the nep in place forever. And thanks so much for your 50sen to pay for this junkmail. Cheerio, sucker!

10. #10 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 10:25 am

It’s not just simple as those ten points from OON YEOH! There are more complex than we thought as we pursue further!

Security and privacy is one damn big issue and headache! Pretty sure that they cannot resolve and handle the security issue securely!!! Private data information storing in Database will be hacked eventually. Our top military in the world, USA Pentagon databases had been hacked in even with numerous firewalls and other preventive measures and strategies!! Please don’t tell me our Bolehland IT Computer expertise is more advanced than those in the USA and the West?

The BN/UMNO suckers pursue and implement this project mainly for two purposes:

1) Ripoff more money from Tax Payers’. Apparently, Tricubes has been awarded without any open tenancy! It is being awarded collaboratively without full evaluations of its performances and expertise! Initially, RM$50 million is estimated. Down the road, it could rip up to RM$80 million, and it could spiral up more… I would say RM$50m investment won’t service exactly as that amount! It could be only RM$20 millions type of services. The other RM$30 millions go someones’ pockets! Obviously, the suckers are seeking to implement projects to rip off Tax Payers’ money!! Every initiated projects never have any fruitful results, always have problems of completion or completion with much problems.

2) With the initial email system, you can see the government already start controlling and manipulating you rakyat! Perhaps, it is one of good channel for spying reports. As the BN/UMNO suckers desperately want to hold on to powers, they try every mean to collect valuable information from rakyat servicing as the BN/UMNO spying agents. Later on, more unfavorable features will be included and forcing each of every rakyat to use it compulsorily. Of course, more Tax Payers’ money will being ripped off!

Well, simple question put it to you. There are plenty of FREE and secured email systems, such as Gmail, Yahoo and etc, available to you freely. Why our moronic BN/UMNO suckers eagerly to implement their own email system and waste millions of Tax Payers’ money!!!??? With those FREE email system, rakyat can communicate with those suckers securely and freely without spinning a single dime and nickle off into someones’ pockets!!!!

Look like our Bolehland is more advanced than those in the West! We have FREE porn movie TV Channel. Pretty soon, we are going to have FREE and manipulative email… Ha ha ha!!!!!

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 11:45 am

I want to know

1. Why Mavcap invested in something (a mobile CRM idea that also stinks to high heavan) that mgmt of Tricube has no faith in and divert the funds for 1Msia email? When are the people who made the decision going to be fired?

2. When is Tricube officers going to be charged for fraud and embezzlement?

12. #12 by omeqiu on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 12:19 pm

Thank you Oon Yeoh for such questions. Don’t hold your breath. Whatever answers you will get, if ever, will be a lot of jumbled words that don’t make sense. Do those decision- makers (those who make statememts so far) understand what it is all about other than briefings given to them by their ball-carrying underlings? Most of the time they don’t even know a thing about IT!

13. #13 by DCLXVI on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 8:37 pm

Civil servants in Putrajaya are spending most their working hours social networking on the net. It doesn’t look like they need ‘1 Malaysia Email’, do they???

14. #14 by vsp on Thursday, 28 April 2011 - 10:31 pm

Entice people with free e-mail account but charge 50¢ for every bit of email received or sent. What a sickening scam is this?