Did you hear about the Bidayuh who voted for DAP?

By June Rubis
April 22, 2011

We were like a bad bar joke: two Bidayuhs, a Lun Bawang, an Iban, and two Malays walk into a DAP ceramah in Kuching. The crowd is mostly Chinese, and the speeches so far are all in Mandarin.

“I don’t understand what they are saying,” I complain to my fellow Bidayuh.

“Neither do we, and that is why we drink,” he replies, handing me a can of beer.

The next day is Election Day for Sarawak, and we, the motley crew representing the urban non-Chinese, cast our votes for DAP.

Times have changed for urban Sarawakians who all this while have embraced DAP as a home-grown party despite it having its origins in West Malaysia. We have seen the party struggle to grab a foothold in the state political arena for many decades.

It may be a Chinese-based party but for many of us urban voters, it represents the best possible choice for change of a state governance that we have grown weary of. Plus, you have to admit, their mascot is very cun.

Unsurprisingly, DAP has done very well in the urban areas (and 30,000 Ubah plush toys have sold out in less than two weeks), and soon everyone’s jumping on the bandwagon about how the Sarawak Chinese have rejected Barisan Nasional.

I jokingly tweet about feeling neglected as an urban Dayak who had voted for “ubah”, and how the Chinese are getting all the credit.

And then, it starts to get a bit nasty. The Chinese community in Sarawak are accused of rejecting multi-racialism. Seriously?

I ask you, pick any Sarawak Chinese and ask them whether they have indigenous relatives, either by blood or marriage, and they will answer you in the affirmative. Sarawakians are a plural society, and we are proud of it. We may identify ourselves as Chinese, Bidayuh or Lun Bawang but at the heart of it, we are always Sarawakians first.

Blaming the divide between the urban and rural votes in the state election on race is lazy analysis.

It is all too easy to blame a group of people — either the Chinese for “rejecting multi-racialism” and voting for DAP, or the rural indigenous population for being “short-sighted, and naive” and voting for BN — than to acknowledge the real issues on the ground.

Let us put aside, for now, the obvious vote-buying, intimidation, trickery and unfairness during the electoral process that we all know happened during the election.

What we have to acknowledge and try to understand is that for the most part, the rural population still identify and support BN as the only genuine state government. Dismissing the voting results from the rural areas to the corruption process is simplistic and lazy because it absolves do-gooders from having to go on the ground, and try to understand why the rural peoples feel beholden to BN. We need to go beyond tweeting/facebooking/blogging about our outrage of the state election results.

Years of indoctrination cannot be undone in one state election, yet please do not mistake me for being dismissive about the results.

As a Sarawakian who has lived most of her life in this state, I am quite happy with the outcome. We may not have the government that we had hoped for but yet 45 per cent of my fellow Sarawakians voted for a change of government.

And this has given me hope.

I acknowledge that Pakatan Rakyat has given Sarawak a collective hope that we have not seen in years. That a change of government is indeed possible.

It is not the fiery speeches from the ceramahs that has inspired me per se, but the thousands of my people — Chinese, Bidayuh, Melanau, Iban, Malay — that came out despite the fear of being seen as “opposition”.

And now we, urbanites of Sarawak, ARE the opposition. There is some beauty in this.

For those two short weeks of intense campaigning, I would hope that those who came from West Malaysia with the genuine intent to help Sarawak, had a quick glimpse at what we have lived with for the past 30 years. You may not understand why we see things the way we do, but I do hope that this is the beginning of what will be a long process of trying to understand and help.

To my fellow Sarawakians who were outraged with how our brothers and sisters came from West Malaysia with their own ideas of doing things, let us at least acknowledge that their abrasiveness, lack of protocol, enthusiasm, and yes, naiveté, of how things work in Sarawak, and overcome our own inhibitions of “this is just how things are”. They helped us get our voices back. Their speeches, while at times biased towards West Malaysian issues, inspired us so that we too can speak out, loud and proud, and not be afraid. And yes, a lot of us were afraid for many years.

Instead of being angry and outraged at the huge interest in Sarawak, let us use this to inspire ourselves to be more involved in our state issues.

We do not like how the West Malaysians are doing things? Then let us lead the way.

Let us find the humility that there are still things we need to learn. Do not worry about the condescension that they sometimes show towards us. I am beginning to realise lately that it is more of their reflection of fear and confusion than anything else.

There is so much to do for Sarawak, on the political and civil society front, and we have to realise that it starts with us Sarawakians, but we do not have to do it alone.

And maybe, one day, we can move on beyond being a bad bar joke, and prove to the rest of the country that when we cast our votes, we indeed cast our votes for the representatives that we felt were best suited for the job, and not because of the colour of her skin.

* June is very sad that she did not manage to get an Ubah plush toy.

1. #1 by St Peter on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 5:48 pm

Mamakthir keep repeating DAP is racist, please ask the nation who is the actual GIANT racist. Well, the answer is cleared enough —> Mamakthir. Ask again the Sarawakian and Sabahan, the answer is still ==> Mamakthir. Lui, c’est la merde!

2. #2 by ktteokt on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 6:03 pm

Who in Malaysia can be more racist than King Mamak? He has to be racist because he knows that if he is not, then his 22 years cheating the Malays would become a debt from him. Why? Because he is NOT MALAY AT ALL!

3. #3 by hallo on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 6:19 pm

In 1977, Abdul Rahman became the chairman of The Star, a newspaper which was banned in 1987 by Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad because of its provoking columns that were harshly critical of the Malaysia’s government. Following a rift with in UMNO, he unsuccessfully tried to establish a new party UMNO Malaysia. In the general election of 1900, Abdul Rahman actively participated and widely campaigned against Mahathir Mohamad despite his worsening health. He died on 6 December 1990, aged eighty seven and his body was buried at the Langgar Royal Mausoleum in Alor Star.

4. #4 by hallo on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 6:20 pm

In 1977, Abdul Rahman became the chairman of The Star, a newspaper which was banned in 1987 by Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad because of its provoking columns that were harshly critical of the Malaysia’s government. Following a rift with in UMNO, he unsuccessfully tried to establish a new party UMNO Malaysia. In the general election of 1990, Abdul Rahman actively participated and widely campaigned against Mahathir Mohamad despite his worsening health. He died on 6 December 1990, aged eighty seven and his body was buried at the Langgar Royal Mausoleum in Alor Star.

5. #5 by michael chiu on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 6:40 pm

It is indeed a mis-perception that DAP is a mere chinese party or that urban = chinese community whereby rural = Bidayuh, Melanau, Iban, Malay, all because for so many years media are saying that, until internet era come.. yet our BN big brother still to having this mis-perception and fallen into their own trap of shouting for 1-Malay, 1-Bumi, come on, now is new era of globalisation, “borderless” due to esp internet and intensified international trade..

6. #6 by william62 on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 6:40 pm

YB Lim Kit Siang, invite June Rubis to join DAP and make DAP more multiracial

7. #7 by yhsiew on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 7:47 pm

June Rubis’ testimony debunked Mamakthir’s allegation that DAP is a racist party.

8. #8 by loo on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 8:00 pm

I bet this does not appear in Malaysia chronicle, the propaganda arm of PKR. I always of PKR as USA. They turn out to be France. Allies but not allies

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&id=11130:the-buck-stops-here-for-dap-be-less-loud-and-more-inclusive&Itemid=2

9. #9 by hallo on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 11:53 pm

Before independence,

Without the chinese, indian, other fortunate donate and support merdeka.

Malay where got money capable to gain independence from British leh.

10. #10 by hallo on Friday, 22 April 2011 - 11:55 pm

Malay where got money financially capable to gain independence from British leh.

Do you think without financial money possible to run independence campaign activities?

11. #11 by tak tahan on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 12:23 am

Bark bark bark

Run run run

dog dog dog

Dei dei dei

Moo moo moo

Graze graze graze

Lu lu lu

Come come come

On on on

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 1:16 am

Which one is you?

13. #13 by monsterball on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 7:15 am

hi LKS…pack a Ubah plush toy and get Feddex to deliver one by hand to June Rubis la.
    I will bear all the costs….if DAP does not give free gifts.
    Just tell me the total charges and where to pay….you got it…or we can have our promised tea tarik for you to collect the money.
    Be sure you issue me a receipt…hahahahahaha
    No response from you means…you think an idiot is talking to you.
    Lets see.

[Offer accepted but must establish contact with June Rubis. Anybody can help? – Kit]

14. #14 by Comrade on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 9:30 am

Yes, do send an UBAH plush toy to June Rubis
    A non-racist Malaysian like many, she really is
    Thank you for voting DAP/PR, our dear friend
    Our journey towards justice must never end

15. #15 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 11:49 am

Here is the proof UMNO is racist:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iMND_59OkKU

See UMNO in their assembly: we don’t need Chinese and Indian votes.

• #16 by ktteokt on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 1:15 pm

This idiot is talking big and he has not even finish kindergarten by the way he is calculating. If he says UMNO does not need Chinese and Indian votes, then he is talking RUBBISH.

Assuming no Chinese or Indian vote BN, they would lose a total of 17,000 votes. One thing this idiot forgot is that NOT ALL MALAYS WILL VOTE UMNO. Given a fair ground, UMNO will have to share its Malay votes with Pakatan Rakyat and if they share 50:50, then UMNO will only get 24,875 votes! So how to win lah???????

Send this idiot back to nursery and teach him how to count and stop all his “NAK TAK NAK!!!” Anyway, he forgot one more sentence, i.e. “Nak tak nak, UMNO dan BN akan MAMPUS!”

16. #17 by monsterball on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 4:05 pm

hi Kit…Thanks for responding.
    You have so many assistants and June Rubis must be a Sarawakian.
    You put out the post….you go and find ways and means to maker sure she gets the UBAH toy…AND make sure you sign your famous name too!!
    I wait your good delivery system!.You can go all over Sarawak…and cannot find June Rubus?
    First thing for you to do..is to HP or email to her.
    How to get that?..why my dear school mate….that’s yor problem…hahahahahaha

17. #18 by monsterball on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 4:06 pm

hi Kit….my reply to you about UBAH toy..also got moderated!

18. #19 by monsterball on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 4:52 pm

kit…You can easily get more help..if you yell for it than ordinary folks like us.
    I think Rubis is a Sarawakian and a journalist..judging by the way she wrote.

19. #20 by monsterball on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 5:46 pm

kit…Maybe you should email to Steven Gan of Malaysiakini for assistant.
    His email address is..”[email protected]

20. #21 by monsterball on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 5:48 pm

Steven Gan of Malaysiakini maybe able to assist.
    His email address is “[email protected]

21. #22 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 6:01 pm

I think that plush toy is a good mascot for all PR parties and a clever way to raise funds.
    It should be adopted for the GE to raise awareness that Sarawak has been a breakthough.
    Unless massive fraud and vote-rigging occurs, Malaysians will vote out the BN government…..we owe that to our future generations.

22. #23 by ktteokt on Saturday, 23 April 2011 - 8:57 pm

Thank you administrator, for not censoring my article. I was speaking from the bottom of my heart and the calculations were indeed SIMPLE, right?

23. #24 by monsterball on Sunday, 24 April 2011 - 6:32 am

For the coming 13th GE..what about a right foot size 10 boot toy?
    It will remind all voters to kick BN out.