Social Contract between the Malays and UMNO

By Hussein Hamid

My friends we are witnessing the slow and messy end of Najib and gang, who for reason best known to themselves, have decided to commit Har-rah-kee-ree in public. Whether this was ordered by a greater authority (ahem…Mahathir?) as a form of punishment or chosen in preference to a dishonourable and certain death at the hands of an enemy (Us and Pakatan Rakyat!!) is anybody’s guess. But this particularly painful act of self- destruction is being acted out now even as I write but it is being done without honor, courage, moral character and etiquette which is an integral part of such an act as practised by the code of Bushido and the discipline of the Samurais of Japan. But then again with those familiar with the ways of UMNO, this lack of finesse is nothing out of the ordinary for UMNO.

Today I want to talk as a Melayu – without the constrains of having to worry about what anybody else in Malaysia will feel. Without having to worry about good manners, politeness and being nice – all the qualities that we Malays are noted for. With that out of the way I will begin.

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away as a Melayu I knew this for as a fact. The Chinese were from China. The Indians from India. The others were from where they came from. As a Malay, this is my country. The Malays control the Army, The Police and all facets of Government. The Chinese only the business and the economy. With the Dasar Ekonomi Baru (NEP) we had twenty over years to catch up with everybody else. Together we (the Malays and UMNO) would slowly but surly claim back our rightful place in our own country which has been taken away from us by the British.

We (the Malays and UMNO) started of well. After the May 13th Riots it could only get better! Education, rural development etc – all the relevant apparatus for the success of the DEB/NEP started to be put in place. Words such as “The Malay Agenda, “Malaysian Social Contract” started to be used with much frequency by UMNO. Business became the ‘buzz word’ in every Malay vocabulary and always that word “Bumiputra” keeps coming up in any discussions we had with the others when talking about business. There was Bank Bumiputra. OUR bank. Pernas was formed to encouraged Malay business. Petronas was there to go head to head with Esso, Mobil, Shell and Caltex. The rapid and very high profile establishment of Petronas Petrol Stations was a source of pride to us Malays.

How do we match the non Malays in population growth? Easy – bring in the Indonesian initially as pendatang asing – to provide the country with much needed cheap labour – then give them PR status – then citizenship.

What about winning elections for the Malays/UMNO? Suffice for me to say with the Election Commission we were able to manipulate the election process for our own gain. The one man one vote principle was conveniently neutralized.

So far so good. So what went wrong? Fast forward to today.

The most significant shift in the equation of the Malay being UMNO and UMNO being Malay is that right from its early days, the “SOCIAL CONTRACT” between the Malays and UMNO has become a means to an end – rather then the end to which we should have all worked towards.

It was the means through which UMNO, not the Malays achieved unheard of richness, sated their greed for all things materials and achieved, during the time of Mahathir, complete dominance over all things Malaysians. Because UMNO had the inclination and the opportunity, this power that they had in their control was used not for good but for evil. UMNO went on a reckless binge of acquiring money, money and more money on the fringe of lunacy. Those whom the Gods wants to destroy, he first makes mad. As a Malay I felt used and there is anger in myself for letting UMNO do this to me and my race.

The Indonesians brought in to bolster the Malay population has now become a social problem because like many Government policies, the pros and the cons of assimilating them into the local population was not thought of in detail. No checks and balances were in place to ensure that they will fit into the Malay scheme of things.

Now I am done talking as a Malay.

That is why today I, as a Malay, am done with UMNO. A lot of Malays are done with UMNO. Without the Malays to support them UMNO is on its way out – bar the time left before the next elections. Will they use what time they have left to regroup and galvanized what they have left to try and turn their fortunes around? Not possible. UMNO has become the sum of what its members and leaders need and want. What they need and want is not compatible with what we need and want – Justice, freedom and the right to live a decent life. So we will not be spared the spectacle of an UMNO committing Har Rah Kee Ree in public for they know not what they do. When they are almost done, we will be their Kaishaku or assistant, and cut off their head to spare them too much sufferings. Amen.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 11:34 am

Jib and gang better look east now…. Japan’s LDP due to be dumped in elections after 52 years in power

2. #2 by mendela on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 11:48 am

Yes, UMNO is a dead meat in GE13.
    Japan LDP will be out by August 30th.

But it is very wrong to compare LDP with UMNO. It is like comparing a beauty with a beast!

3. #3 by KeenWatcher_01 on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 11:52 am

If it is good to be true that more Malays like you realised that you are the one who was being made used of by the “Umnoputras”. Do tell all to your own and in your own words to wake up the rest. There is always light at the end of the tunnel. Good Luck!

4. #4 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 12:34 pm

Dear Hussein Hamid,

You are among a growing number of Malays who speak without fear or favour; one having a great sense of justice Honestly, although a Chinese by race, I consider myself as Malaysian first like most other Malaysian Chinese. Having said that, I wish to make clear that I do not have a problem living alongside my fellow Malaysians regardless of the race they belong to.

I can give plenty of reasons why I hate Umno Baru leaders, but I do not think it necessary as Malaysians have woken up to see what UMNO Baru stands for. More importantly, I want my Malay friends and fellow Malay citizens to know that my hating UMNO Baru leaders has nothing to do with their being Melayu. As a matter of fact, I am also disgusted with MCA leaders.

Both UMNO Baru and MCA are the real traitors to the country, not Anwar. The have become too materialistic, plundering the nation and neglecting the vast majority of poor Malaysians with Malays making up the bigger number.

Lastly, if Malay leaders governing the country are like you-Hussein Hamid- Mana masalahnya? My family and I will be at the polling station long before polling startsTO VOTE FOR YOU-HUSSEIN HAMID.

5. #5 by vsp on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 12:56 pm

“The Indonesians brought in to bolster the Malay population has now become a social problem…” Hussein Hamid

———-

Not only a social problem but a thorn in the flesh for the Malays themselves and in the foreseeable future, a nemesis and downfall for the Malays. UMNO is putting the whole country on the path of hara-kiri.

Remember, the Indonesians are a hardy breed and they can withstand hardships many times better than the Malays. They don’t need economic tongkats to survive and they breed like rabbits. If you don’t believe me, go to the pasar malams, the day-markets in Chow Kit Road and all over the country, the Indonesians are slaughtering the local entrepreneurs. And do you know why they can do it? Because the local enforcers are working in collusion with them. The Indonesians are willing to pay toll to these leeches while the locals are left alone.

Indonesians also have a history in the beginning of the Malacca Sultanate. In fact Paresmewara is an Indonesian prince from Palembang who founded Malacca. So it a matter of time the Indonesians will swamp everything. And who will be responsible for all this? – the UMNOputras.

6. #6 by Bobster on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:06 pm

UMNO and Sarawak CM too busy and too greedy sucking the state dry.

Calling all caring Malaysians to help our poor Penan kids in Kapit.

http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2009/08/24/how-many-anak-bangsa-malaysia-must-die-before-you-are-moved/

7. #7 by badak on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:11 pm

As a none muslim should i or should i not worry about what is happening about the way things are happening as far as Islam is concern..
    Even in Port Dickson the “powers that be” are stoping sundry shops from selling beer and some food stalls from selling pork..

8. #8 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:11 pm

Oooooops, now Umno just remembered that we now have a kaki arak in the US
    Drinking alcohol, grabbing boobs and buttocks
    If cane woman Muslim drinker here, then what about that guy there drinking in front of all diplomats and grabbing hooters?
    Hoot, hoot, chop off fingers aah?

9. #9 by taiking on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:58 pm

Mahathir wanted to have 70million people in malaysia. Remember that? How frightening! Imagine if they are all relatives of toyo what would we turn into? Would bahasa indon replace bahasa malaysia?

Hussein is right. We all know that. And I suspect even umno supporters would secretly agree with him. But how do we make them come out into the open with their displeasure towards umno and umnoputras? That is the question.

Umno still has sizeable support base. Despite that umno would still sink because no amount of support would be able to keep a rotting vessel from going under. Umno will go under because it is a failed political party. And Pakatan must court their supporters.

10. #10 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 2:21 pm

“Toyol” race will soon become the majority in Toyoland, while the Malay race will become obsolete, due to their laziness.

11. #11 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 3:21 pm

Why cane a woman who drank a little wine to keep herself warm and in front of her own husband at that. Why not go catch the others in all the Kedai Hiburan Dan Minuman operated by Malays. On second thought I could be wrong about those places. They can have GRO’s and joget, but they serve only plain water? heeheehee.

Double standard hypocrites!!

12. #12 by Loh on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 3:46 pm

///How do we match the non Malays in population growth? Easy – bring in the Indonesian initially as pendatang asing – to provide the country with much needed cheap labour – then give them PR status – then citizenship.///– Hussein Hamid

What came into Sabah through project M were Philippine and Pakistani Muslims. They now outnumber the local in Sabah, numbering at least 1.5 million. There are 1.5 million illegal workers and given time they will again become Bumiputras.

1969 May was the turning point of the nation’s history. Since then there has been a switch in population with two million mostly non-Malays leaving and they have been amply replaced by Muslims who become Malays and accepted by the constitution in a matter of time. In fact there are 1.4 billion potential Malays in the world, and they are as good as anybody else. UMNO leaders knew all about this, and instead of using NEP to make local Malays catch up with others, if catching up is needed, they led Malays into easy life while the leaders took the lion share of national resources, with the only condition that Malays should show gratitude and vote them back in power. That never failed for the past five decades. Further, they chose the short-cut by facilitating the entry of successful Muslims from the outside world. They have recently suggested that government forms do away with the column under race, even when racial preference continues. The reason is that Muslims by virtue of their name would be given privilege without having the persons concerned to perjure by masquerading as Malays.

Malaysia will over time become mono-religion and mono-culture with mixed ethnicity in blood lineage. It would be united Muslim nation, the first in the world. The strength in diversity is shown only by their physical features and a spectrum of different shades of white to black when Malays get lined up.

13. #13 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 4:23 pm

I think this piece needs to be viewed with the following premises:
    1. Whether we are talking about short term expediency or long term sustainability;
    2. Whether we are talking about personal or societal interests;
    3. And finally, whether we are talking about public policies aiming at alleviating poverty or making people rich.

UMNO has no statesmen. The party was/is helmed by people who could only think short term benefits at the expense of long term objectives. Hence, to face the “threats” of non Malays, they opened the door wide for large influx of Indonesians and other Muslims into the country. The long term consequence is of least concern because they could not see it or live long to experience it. Sometimes I wonder if Sabah is still part of Malaysia.

UMNO was/is helmed by people who have no intellectual prowess to see that between personal and societal interests, personal interests will always take precedence, unless appropriate check and balance mechanisms are put in place. They rely too much on the will of god and the goodness of individuals to do good for the society, which to me is wishful thinking. We provide moral and religious education (and I am not even sure we have provided the correct ones) and by doing that we think we could solve all deviant problems. Look around us, the whole nation is filled with trash and garbage. We have drains and back lanes infested with rats and oozing stench that kills. While we live in total oblivion to all these, we are preoccupied with what can be sold in our neighbourhood store or what women should wear in public. In the midst of all these, the tragic is some of us are lulled into believing that we are indeed on the threshold of becoming a developed nation.

UMNO has massed up most public policies on poverty alleviation. Public policies should at most help people so that they are less poor. Public policies can not help people to become rich. It is the right of citizens to be less poor (i.e. to have a decent living). It is not their right to be millionaires. Look at award of government contracts, APs, taxi permits, other licences and permits, Bumi share allocations, special price to buy bungalows, positions and perks in government and GLCs, all these are essentially “enriching”, not poverty eradication programmes.

14. #14 by setu on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 5:13 pm

look around, the good, the bad, the ugly, there are millions of them around, the crime scenes are dominated by them, the squatter areas are packed like sardines by them, the day markets / night markets / small businesses are occupied by them as owners and as helpers, in these retail sectors, they are both legal and illegals.
    the construction sectors are full of them.
    now many are owners and bosses on their own.
    they cannot employ anybody else, but more illegals. the multiplying effect. they will take over a major portion of the economy in time to come. they will overtake the poorer and lower income local population and become the master / lord over the weaker locals.
    they are hardy lot, if they cannot survive the proper way, they could also do it the criminal way. they can choose to stay on , keep low profile, and enjory life, or they can still return to their own homeland, reitre, and become filthy rich.
    this is heaven on earth and best of all worlds, in their own hard-working hands.
    the locals can remain unemployed in the lower ranking sectors.
    the locals have no where to go, but remain, suffer, discriminated, bullied, shove aside, die in vain.

15. #15 by k1980 on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 5:38 pm

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/20090826120102/Article/index_html

Hey, what about black money stashed by Malaysians in Swiss banks? From the PKFZ scandal, Scorpene submarine scam, BBF ect

16. #16 by monsterballssgoh on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 6:40 pm

Yes….Malays were taught to be mild and polite.
    I taught my Muslim workers to speak up…say their piece…and boy…once they get the confidence…bosses can expect to be told off too.
    I like it….we battled and true democracy practiced in a small company.
    Reading Hussien Hamid message….Malays are more out spoken and once that happen..the think and see and judge for themselves.
    Hamid is a smart bloke. More like him..Malaysia is in good hands with powerful Muslim voters to tell the truths. That’s most effective..to vote UMNO out.

17. #17 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 7:32 pm

Hi Hussein Hamid, I have been studying quite a bit on the History of Malaya and the Malays and your explanation is grossly oversimplified, reinforcing the misconception that the Malays were in Peninsula Malaya since time immemorial.

I think Kerishammudidin has the facts, and that’s why he was worried when the Bar Council wanted to organize a forum to debate on the validity of Ketuanan Melayu. And in typical behavior, he banned it.

As we all know, Parameswara founded the Melaka Sultanate in around 1400. Prior to that, the densely-forested and swampy Peninsula was largely uninhabited, with aborigines in the interior and mainly orang laut pirates along the coasts. Are orang lauts considered Malays or bumiputera? And of course, there were some settlements here and there but overall, the population was indeed very small and insignificant.

Huge migration of Sumaterans to the peninsula occurred in the 17th century, according to History of Malaya by J. Kennedy (while in Negri Sembilan, “Minangkabau Malays had made settlements in the 15th and 16th century” but “because this took place gradually and peacefully, their history is obscure”). The word “Melayu” which until the 17th century meant the royalty (of the Melaka Sultanate) slowly began to refer to “race”. And then there were the Bugis from Sulawesi who came in large numbers when their homeland was attacked and occupied by the Dutch.

Geographically-speaking, Indonesia was created by the Dutch and Malaysia by the British. Had there been no British, I am very sure the present Malaysia would have become part of Indonesia (or even, with some areas such as Kelantan and Kedah becoming part of Thailand).

The claims to Ketuanan Melayu, to me, holds water if Malaysia is part of Indonesia in which case, migration from Sumatera and Celebes to the peninsular can be treated as an intra-movement from Melaka to Kelantan, for example. But when one treats the Malay Peninsula as separate from Indonesia, then it is a migration from one entity to another… and so in essence, they are no different from Chinese and Indians as far as their claims are concerned.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 8:02 pm

In retrospect, many nonMalay families in Malaysia have to say a big THANK YOU to MMK n Umnoputras
    Yes, nonMalays originally came to M’sia from other places
    But they were prepared to live here, work here, contribute to the progress here, n die here
    They were not even thinking of returning or contributing to the land where their ancestors lived
    But luckily MMK and Umnoputras forced them to be adventurous again, just like their forebear
    Because of the NEP and incessant bullying from MMK n Umno, many nonMalay families encouraged their children to be global in outlook – speak English, study overseas, work overseas, and earn foreign currencies
    A high percentage of nonMalay families have at least one child working overseas n migrated to another country that appreciates their talents
    Thanks to MMK and Umno, many nonMalay families are economically better off than had their children remained in Malaysia
    Yes, our destiny is in our hands
    Don’t just sit on our buttocks and grumble and ‘tan si’
    Eventually in Malaysia there will be a class war, between the rich corrupted Umno Malays + Indons and poor nonUmno Malays
    Not between Malays and nonMalays, cos the number of the latter is shrinking everyday and will soon be insignificant

19. #19 by Jaswant on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 8:34 pm

Why is it that when a Malay comes out to bash his own people, he is lauded as a hero??

20. #20 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 10:15 pm

“Why is it that when a Malay comes out to bash his own people, he is lauded as a hero” – Jaswant.

Hussein Hamid was brave enough to point out the faults and wrong doings of leaders in UNMO which happens to be a Malay-based political party. If you choose to call it “Malay bashing” so be it. Many would readily agree with what he wrote, including Deo Singh, Kapal singh and all the Singhs. You are Jaswant Singh who sees it in a different light. Again, that is your right. Cheers!

21. #21 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 10:55 pm

Jaswant asks: Why is it that when a Malay comes out to bash his own people, he is lauded as a hero??
    People are hoping it will encourage people who self-identify with other in-breeding groups to do the same. It could yet happen.

22. #22 by lee wee tak_ on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 10:58 pm

Dear Hussein Hamid,

I like your mindset but I am afraid that there are more in numbers that is stuck in the old mind set.

Withdrawal from any addition is difficult, painful and extremely tricky. I am sad to say that it would be much easier for anyone to continue with addiction that going through cold turkey to get rid of addiction and progress into a more healthy, strong and independent frame of mind and body.

Funny thing is that I came across some very enterprising and hardworking Indonesians. This proof that the Malay stock (apologies for bit of Darwinism here) can stand on their own feet and capable of what they have been told they are not capable of in Malaysia.

The Malays here have been educated, mould and casted in such a way that I think 50 years is needed to change over completely.

I hope I am very wrong.

23. #23 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 4:32 am

ekompute…You are right..and there is no such thing as a Malay race..except in Malaysia…only 500 years old..but Hamid is very open minded.
    It is proven Chinese and Indians came first..but interested to cari makan..and feed family..and the so call Malay gangsters were fighting for rights..to rule.
    Winner…accepted by Chinese and Indians…no problem….and the so call gangster chief..not the Sultan…accept the non troublesome others.
    Who is the first in Australia…USA?
    I wish Malays do not keep thinking they own Malaysia..and we are second class citizens…taught by UMNO for 52 years.
    That’s bunkum.
    That I like.

24. #24 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 4:34 am

ekompute…You are right..and there is no such thing as a Malay race..except in Malaysia…only 500 years old..but Hamid is very open minded.
    It is proven Chinese and Indians came first..but interested to cari makan..and feed family..and the so call Malay gangsters were fighting for rights..to rule.
    Winner…accepted by Chinese and Indians…no problem….and the so call gangster chief..not the Sultan…accept the non troublesome others.
    Who is the first in Australia…USA?
    I wish Malays do not keep thinking they own Malaysia..and we are second class citizens…taught by UMNO for 52 years.
    That’s nonsense..and distorted history.
    But it is a subject..vast majority Malays accepted it..and prefer to be call Malaysians.

25. #25 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 4:35 am

LKS…please delete the first one…Thanks.

26. #26 by Jaswant on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:24 am

I would like to ask this Hussein Ahmad if he had benefitted in any way from UMNO’s NEP and other racist policies. And if so how?

Where would he be today if there were no such policies?

27. #27 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:27 am

The Hang Jebat-Hang Tuah story is often used to describe the Malay political delima even today. Is loyalty to king (which is defacto state) more important than loyalty to larger general governance/human principles?

The truth is the existence and often talked about comparison indicate the Malay mindset is NOT fixed on any idea/principle. They are competing idea/principles to the Malay. But the story is not followed by equally famous work on what are the determining factors which decides which is the winning principles in any given time. In that sense, its likely that we are looking, at this very moment, the intellectual discourse equivalent to Munshyi Abdullah in Malay intellectualism..

It is historic and its a sign of good hope to the Malays that they are capable of making these intellectual discourse about themselves now..Its historic change already.

The fact of the matter, at this time, the winning principle is Hang Jebat view simply because there is no strong hero to defend the prodigal kings of UMNO, they have no Hang Tuah. The last great Malay hero is Dr. M and he is tainted and not in the same league.

Hence its inevitable that the Hang Jebat view will eventually prevail, bringing the Malays to a new period in their history. And us other races in this country should remember the curse that to live in interesting times…

28. #28 by Jaswant on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:32 am

Generally, when taxpayer funded education is involved we would expect someone like Hussein Ahmad to be able to write better English and to be able to spell harakiri.

29. #29 by Jaswant on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:36 am

“It is historic and its a sign of good hope to the Malays that they are capable of making these intellectual discourse about themselves now..Its historic change already.”

Condescending and offensive, don’t you think?? Hussein Ahmad?

30. #30 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:34 pm

There isn’t any change without a bloodshed.

A dictator must order its engines to stir up small small matter which is less than a millionth and cause a ruckus, this can be a good propoganda to win supporter. This is the old trick used by Musolini and Adolf Hitler (political murder). There’s a saying old trick never scare to use, jus scared you don’t use. It is the last resolution and option available. It can be a history repeat how Communist beat KMT when KMT invited Communist into the parliament to fight the Japs, it ended up the communist overwhelmed KMT led by Sun Yat Sen, they have to fled to Taiwan and never be able to regain control of CHINA.

Let’s pray for god blessing so that we can see change this generation and hope the next generation of M’sian can have better life.

31. #31 by Loh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:29 pm

Jaswant :I would like to ask this Hussein Ahmad if he had benefitted in any way from UMNO’s NEP and other racist policies. And if so how?
    Where would he be today if there were no such policies?

It is because Malay voters who considered NEP must stay forever that we see 45% of them voting for UMNO candidate in Permatang Pasir.

But when Malays stop to think how NEP has adversely affected them, they want change, and 55% of them voted for that.

The first mistake with NEP was lowering of standards for intake of trainees to teachers training colleges, and the universities. The second mistake was lowering of standards for passing and the awards of certificates and degrees. When the graduates under such environment became teachers, students suffer as they would not achieve the desire results with the effort put in, under the half pass six teachers. TDM’s half pass six PPSMI policies made two million students suffer and NEP must have affected more, non-Malays included. Well, Malays might rationalise that since non-Malays suffer at the policy, it must be a good policy.

Zaid Ibrahim was accused of being ungrateful because UMNO considers his achievement a result of NEP. Hussein Ahmad faces the same comment too, as though without NEP he could not be what he is. Indeed, if there was no May 13 and hence no NEP, the standards of English among Malaysians would have been better.

Without NEP Malays can compete freely in all fields, but with NEP only those Malays with the right connection can gain unfair advantage. But then they have NEWMalays to contend with. The NEWMalays who could succeed in UMNO are formidable even without the privilege provided to Malays. With those advantages, they are like tigers which grow wings; too powerful even for the Jews. Malays are said to be satisfied seeing other Malays become rich; would they feel the same about NEWMalays who hijacked their benefits.

UMNO members were brainwashed into thinking that they were weak and they needed Article 153 and later NEP. Mahathir recently said that if Malays are only those who are weak and poor, he considered it good riddance if they disappear from the earth. So Mahathir only wants to see strong Malays, and they include any Muslims that eat Malay food, speak Bahasa Malaysia, and practice Malay culture which nobody could define. When imported Malays overtake Malays and be the king in the country why should local Tulen Melayu allow them the privilege to edge them out of their native land, and when they did not worked hard enough to satisfy Mahathir, they are actually free to disappear. Why can’t ordinary Malays be Malays like their forefathers did in choosing the right balance of material and spiritual wealth as they please? Why should Malays be guided so that a few of the so-called leaders are laughing to the banks, and they attain some happiness seeing them counting their money; may be they are denied that opportunity as well? But they are certainly allowed to watch the latest expensive model of sport cars zooming at Sepang.

Malays should be free from the burden of having the responsibility of saving the Malay race, but to achieve ones potential in a real world environment. Without those obligation Malays do not have to be polarised to support the government that have been using NEP to provide them cover to enrich themselves through corrupt practices with impunity.

32. #32 by ekompute on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:30 pm

Jaswant:
    “Why is it that when a Malay comes out to bash his own people, he is lauded as a hero”.

Elementary, Mr Watson. If someone is given some benefit, what is the chance that he would say anything that would jeopardize it, especially if he knows that the benefit is unjustly obtained. It is easier to be on the other side of the fence and complain and complain that it is unfair but once they get an unfair advantage, I bet most will fail the test. This separates Hussein Hamid from the rest.

Your question, “Why is it that when a Malay comes out to bash his own people, he is lauded as a hero” breaks Rule 1 of “Straight and Crooked Thinking” by Robert H. Thouless, i.e. “use of emotionally toned words” in order to solicit the response that you want. What answer do you expect to receive if you were to ask a question like “Will you buy anything from a kanina throat-slitter?”

But I can understand your motivation for asking that seemingly naive question, LOL. You have just scored 1 buddy point from UMNO.

33. #33 by Jaswant on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 8:52 pm

The idea that UMNO has been using the NEP to enslave the Malays making them think that they couldn’t survive without it and that the real truth is that their leaders are using the NEP as cover for their corrupt practices is part truth and part spin.

And you Mr Loh and Hussein Ahmad have added new spins to an old overworked idea.

34. #34 by Jaswant on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 1:32 am

ekompute,

Yes, it is like asking Hussein Ahamd if he would buy his prophylactics from a second hand shop.

35. #35 by Ramesh Laxman on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 9:50 pm

Dear VSP the proposed bridge by the MB of Melaka will help us.

36. #36 by Puzzled on Saturday, 29 August 2009 - 2:24 pm

Would anybody agree to this? “….as a Melayu I knew this for as a fact. The Chinese were from China. The Indians from India. The others were from where they came from. As a Malay, this is my country.”
    How many of us will agree probabaly 40% of the so called Malays are not even Melayus in the first instance. They are either from Middle East, Arab (the Syed), Mongolia (the Khan’s), Kuwait, India, Indon, ect ect that migrated here many just 1 generation ago! The natives Malays should be the Dayak, Iban, Kadasan, ect ect was here even before 1400.