What will happen to Kampung Buah Pala?

By Lilian Chan

A lot of questions were being asked and many are still asking the same questions until today. So, I take the liberty of downloading the exclusive interview Maran Perianen of Malaysiakini had with Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng on July 15, 2009 and uploaded it to my Facebook.

(if the video doesn’t show up, it means Facebook site is down)

Tomorrow (Monday) will be the D-day. Will the landowner Koperasi and the developer Nusmetro send bulldozers to demolish the houses there? Will the supporters of Kampung Buah Pala lie in the path of the bulldozers? Will there be tear gas and water canon courtesy of FRU? Will Special Branch nabbed all those who made mischief?

My fellow citizen journalist from Ipoh who is a Hindraf supporter talked to me over the phone just now. He joked with me to make sure I video him if he has to sleep on the road to prevent the demolition. We are going to be there. I will be there because I don’t want anything bad to happen to those adorable Indian old ladies who were so sweet to me. To me, SOME of the people living there deserves our moral support. Like Uncle I-Pasu (not sure if that’s how his name is spelt) who walked with a limp. He is a newspaper delivery man. He said, “Saya sudah tua, kalau kasi saya satu rumah, pun cukup lah….” Now, the Penang State Government has tried to negotiate for a house, a corner of the land and a community hall for the villagers. Will they get that? Will they have time to move their things and stay elsewhere when demolition begins at a time when things are less chaotic?

I have attended many press conferences by CM Lim and Prof. Ramasamy. I have faith that they are nice people and will not allow any harm to come to the villagers there.

I don’t know. But I have prayed hard for a happy ending. I pray for the CM and his Excos/ADuns to have wisdom to solve this sticky situation. And this morning, during Sunday mass, our priest Father Fabian also prayed with all of us that the issue in Kampung Buah Pala will be settled.

(P/S : There is a lot of static sound in the video because of the external mike used for the CM. Nothing can be done, sorry.)

CJ Chan Lilian packing her gears :
Salt – check
Wet towel – check
Running shoes – check
Camera + memory card + battery + charger – check
Helmet
Gas mask

Citizen Journalist gear

Muahahahar…you think I play play wan meh? I really got industrial gas mask one….And salt in tiny sachets, ‘borrowed’ from McD. I’m lovin’ it!

1. #1 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:17 pm

Hi Lim Guan Eng, don’t worry about your being punished for helping a Malay statutory rape victim. We all know what actually happened, what more Allah. That guy will meet his maker soon and he will pay dearly for all his misdeeds, this I am very sure… unless one doesn’t believe that Allah exist. In any case, you are today the Chief Minister of Penang and this is your just reward.

2. #2 by A true Malaysian on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 6:33 pm

Lilian Chan,

You are just marvelous . Wonderful job. Keep it up.

To CM Lim, many people have faith in you. Don’t worry, do what you think you should do, like helping the Malay girl then ended you up in prison.

3. #3 by A true Malaysian on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 6:34 pm

correction,

“like helping the Malay girl that ended you up in prison”.

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 7:41 pm

Stick this video into the brains of some people who talk too much. Such as HINDRAF, MIC, villagers’ spokesman, villagers themselved etc. There are also real legal idiots out there who say so many stupid things. Here is one:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/25221/84/

This Nagaran is speaking without using his brains.

5. #5 by chengho on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:39 pm

LEG and DAP keep your election promise…. do u know what is buah pala?…

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 12:22 am

I have got the perfect solution.

Move them all (goats, cows, chickens etc etc) out to Sungei Siput where Samy Vellu, the “wira” of all the Indians is dying to welcome them.

MIC can spend the RM 3.2 million to buy a few acres of land in Sungei Siput for the villagers to settle down and live their heritage life there. They can supply Samy with a lifetime supply of cow’s and goat’s milk.

They can all live happily ever after.

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 12:56 am

I visited the village two weeks ago to see for myself the conditions there.

The village is on the side and bottom of a hill. On the top there are bungalows. At the bottom, there are several high rise flats for the Customs people. And there is also some simple government quarters just beside the village. A road runs down the hill cutting the village into two. Both sides of the village are dead ends. There are about of 20-25 houses there which are nothingmuch to shout about. There are kandang kerbaus there which are in a dilapidated condition. The place can do with a good clean-up. Clearly, this village is out of place.

There really isn’t very much to shout about or speak about of this village. Clearly, they are sandwiched between two modern housing estates. My impression is that to call this a “cultural and heritage” village would be stretching things a bit.

Clearly the problem is that the villagers feel that they have no place else to go and live and to earn a living. They are also not receiving any (or inadequate) compensation so they fear they will be destitute. So they are turning to the government to save them and to provide for them. And LGE has a big problem to solve as the developers have got a court order while his hands are tied in many ways.

My feelings is that it is time for the villagers to move on to another place. The development all around the village only means they will be isolated even more.

From what I can conclude, it is a matter of compensation and to find another place for them to live and to earn a living. The developers have promised sums up to RM 200,000 per family. Let’s say each family gets RM 100,000. MIC is willing to put up RM 3.2 million, that works out to RM 140,000 per family. So if each family gets RM 240,000, I am sure many of them will be OK. And if the state government can assist them with a once-off some financial and non-financial assistance with their relocation, and I am suggesting they all move to Sungei Siput to be near Samy Vellu, I think the problem will be solved. The villagers on their part should not demand and threaten those who can help them and they must also act responsibly.

After this, go after everyone who created this mess. The previous BN government has got a lot of answering to do. Until there are answers, development should be stopped.

8. #8 by albert308 on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 1:47 am

The villagers are victims of ‘land robber’ for work done by previous BN state government without proper compensation and negotiation. We have to accept to the facts that High Chapparel squatters issue had happen in many other places in this country when squatters occupied state land without land title, BN politicians are continueosly seeking these opportunity to get richer. It happen in many squatters area especially high land value like Selangor, KL and Penang. These are the past and normal practices of BN politicians without given satisfactory compensation as power in their hand.
    LGE as the CM of Penang has done enough for the villagers as the middleman to negotiate with the developer. The Federal Court had ruled that villagers have to move out of the land not belong to them legally. THIS KIND OF DECISION HAD VICTIMISED MANY SQUATTERS NOT ONLY HIGH CHAPPERAL. LGE instead should be more decisive in making his stand clear for developer and villagers as the CM of Penang without further drag this issue for too long, both the villagers and developer will only have state government to blame. Penang need stability for development.

I follow the reports on this issue. I believe LGE had made his stand clear earlier for villagers to reach consensus with developer as the Federal Court had ruled a decision. Only with intervention of a respected DAP senior leader make it more difficult and issue became more sensational. Pragmatism has to come into picture. If this issue drag into lawsuit againts the Penang state, people generally see weakness on the part of leadership.

9. #9 by House Victim on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 4:47 am

1. Accordingly to the Sequence of Events under
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/7/10/nation/4295192&sec=nation
    a) The place was not to be for Highrise.
    b) It should be for a “Cooperative”. (Which should be taken as to solve the housing problem of their members and not for a commercial project of making money”)
    c) The approval issued on July 12, 2005 was for a Premium of RM6.4million AND to take care of the needs and welfare of the squatters.
    d) Part-payment was done in January 2006. (indicating the terms were accepted). Therefore, the application and approval for 50 % discount due to the Compensation required by the “Cooperative” to the squatters is NULL & VOID!
    e) The Compensation offered by the Cooperative only started in March 22, 2007 with maximum compensation of RM89,000 per family.
    f) The “Balance” of 2.4 million was paid on March 14, 2008.
    g) The market value of the piece of land at RM200/sq ft is around RM55million.

2. Basically, the preliminary Land Owner – the Penang State Government should vacate the land before selling. It will set a bad example to encourage squattering without a fix governmental policy.

3. The alienation should be voided:
    a) On basis of points 1. a) b) g), the alienation had violated the original terms and conditions.
    b) The applicant was acting with Fraudulent in declaring them as a Co-operative but taking the land for a Commercial Project.
    b) Fraud representation of applying for 50% on the Premium.
    c) It is an UNFAIR deal or ACT of BIAS by the BN EXCO on the alienation at such a price.

4. According to NLC Section 116 1?a), the building(s) should be erected withing two years. The Government should lift the alienation as the approval was given in July 12, 2005 and their balance of payment of premium was only on March 14, 2008. Where the approval for alienation should had been expired!

5. After the issue of Title in March 27, 2008, Can the Project go through the necessary procedures and get the S&P done when they have
    a) To convert the use of land from Kampung to Residential/Condo.
    b) Then, Development Order subject to Public Objection hearing with notice to the neighborhood under TCPA.
    c) Then, Sales & advertising Permit from Ministry of Housing before they can sell and sign S&P?

6. The Squatters have no legal Rights as declared by the Federal Court. The Penang Government should only consider Humanity assistance if Fairness should be applied for All Penangites.

WHY SHOULDN’T THE GOVERNMENT LIFT THE ALIENATION WITH THE RIGHTS MENTIONED ABOVE FOR THE FAIRNESS OF ALL PENANGITES?
    When the Frauds are on the Applicant!!

10. #10 by k1980 on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 7:57 am

//sheriff singh– MIC is willing to put up RM 3.2 million, that works out to RM 140,000 per family//

The RM 3.2 million is to purchase the whole Kg Buah Pala, not to be divided up as gifts to the individual families. The MIS’s real purpose is to build the Samy Vel Memorial Palace there. And ask any landlord in Penang whether they are willing to re-sell their property at their original purchase price

11. #11 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 10:45 am

Wah, Lilian, Looking at all your gear you really are prepared. But you left something very important out.

Didn’t your mother ever tell you to carry a spare condom or two with you at all times?

Sorry boss.

12. #12 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 11:17 am

Albert go and learn some law before you speak. Land robbers do not exist in this case. Please la … if you are not well acquainted with the legalities here do not speak about it. The villagers here have no rights. PERIOD.

The FC is not on the take, not for such matters ok. Nonsense!

13. #13 by simonho on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 11:21 am

One must understand, this is a “money world” .. every one see opportunity and will try to grab max. Kg Pala got the loterry ticket, riding on DAP, PKR, PR.. and to grap the developer. we know they are bad guys, the ugly was previous state.. so patience.. handle with care.. what Kg Pala want is 1 million or eqv. and they are well actor and actress. If Mr Lim won.. they hate him as they loose the opportunity.. sometime a good decision is not the best but .. if you are doing right thing .. do it..

14. #14 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 12:48 pm

People who support Kg Buah Pala do not care about what is really right. They only want what they want and that is RIGHT!

15. #15 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 12:52 pm

LGE is working very hard:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/8/4/nation/4448128&sec=nation

Still they wanna kutuk him … sad case man

16. #16 by Prasad on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 1:27 pm

Hindraf and Kampung buah Pala people are to blame also. If they worked to DAP to press BN to take responsibility for illegal sales. But you bash DAP and LGE, do you think DAP enemies are going to let the issue be solved and make LGE the hero. They are going to cucuk the developer not to accept any compromise.

17. #17 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 1:43 pm

Prasad … you think the HINDRAF and villagers think like you? Their village is a HERITAGE site ok! They have a right to live there, its their right. The Federal Court is wrong. Everyone is wrong, only they are right.

18. #18 by Prasad on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 3:27 pm

Hey SpeakUp of course Federal court is wrong, how long have you been living in Malaysia. All cases depend on you political influence. You want to fight for justice is like banging your head againts a brick wall. What you want to do continue to bang your head until you pengsan or get a a sledge hammer and try to bring down the wall.
    In Malaysia you have to fight smart, life is not fair for the poor in this country. What can LGE do with limited resource.

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 3:35 pm

Prasad … sorry but you are too blind. The FC would not sully their hands on something this small. Squatters in Penang are the worst. I have seen too many cases. Try to practice law and handle squatter cases before you even try to speak on this matter of a ‘dirty’ FC in this instance.

Lawyers know the law on squatters, they know where squatters stand but some are dreaming of huge settlements so they get their nice fat (unlawful) cut. Very very few squatters in such instance can even have a leg to stand on, its rare. When they do have it, the courts have always upheld the law.

20. #20 by Prasad on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 3:39 pm

I can’t believe still got Malaysians want to cry Federal court screw me. Perak MB case, Perak Speaker case , Anwar’s case should give you a good idea what to expect in court. Why do you think all these case went to Federal court.

Just looks at the news now. MIC giving statement “LGE don’t cheat the Indians”. Want to me make puke, MIC of all parties giving out this statement, really make sick.
    Is this enough to make you see that there very powerful parties involve to insure that there are no settlement and LGE / DAP is to blame.
    If Penang were still under Gerakan, FRU and bulldozer would be in Kampung buah pala clearing everything.

21. #21 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 9:59 pm

Prasad … read what I wrote, FC do that for one puny Coop? Think think … those cases you talk about are POLITICALLY INCLINED I would not be surprised with the outcome. Too many grey areas there, in this Kg Buah Pala case there are NO grey areas. No interpretation of statute.

I dealt with many squatters, I know what they are like. UNREASONABLE. Even when I represented squatters I will never let them end up with NOTHING.

I find the villagers to be ungrateful, one moment they say LGE is good next they slam him. Why? Because the villagers are uneducated and are played by those around them. I shall not name them but you all should know how. People who claim to be there to ‘help’ the villagers.

Its simple … get the land, later all agree to sell it and some make millions!

LGE has made it clear, he is putting the state on the line for 23 families. Even that is not good enough. Send in the bulldozers! Flatten it. After 1 month its all forgotten. Deserves to be forgotten.

22. #22 by Prasad on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 12:14 pm

SpeakUP who gave you the idea Buah pala was not a political issue. Any issue in PR states are now being made into a huge political issue by BN and their gov. branches and their media division.
    You really think the sale of kampung buah pala below market price was not a shady deal.