Can Hishammuddin wipe out the endemic crime in Johore Baru’s Fleet Street (Jalan Maju) within a month and wipe out JB’s notoriety as the capital of crime by end-2010 in an expanded NKRAs in fighting crime?

Nanyang Siang Pau today reported that its photo-journalist Loh Chen Chiang is the latest victim of snatch theft in Johore Baru’s “Fleet Street”, Jalan Maju (known also as News Bureau Street) yesterday. He lost a laptop and a 3G adaptor.

He is the fourth Nanyang Sian Pau journalist-victim in the locality within two years – the other three being Tan Sion Yen, Woo Kek Ching and Soh Xin En.

There have been at least 22 victims from snatch theft from the various newspaper offices in the locality, as four Chinese and one English newspapers, Nanyang, Sin Chew, Guangming, China Press and the Star (as well as the circulation office of New Straits Times) are located in Jalan Maju while other newspapers like Kwong Wah and Oriental Daily have their offices nearby.

It is sad and a terrible commentary on the crime situation in Johore Baru that reporters not only report on the galloping incidence of crime, particularly snatch theft in the Johore capital, but are often themselves the victims of these crimes – as if to provide more realistic coverage with first-hand victim reports!

The Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein hails from Johore Baru but he seems to be blissfully unaware that Johore Bahru has become the capital of crime in Malaysia – with everyone in Johore living in fear of crime and the incidence of crime.

Can Hishammuddin wipe out the endemic crime in Jalan Maju in Johore Baru within a month, to make it as the safest street in Johore Baru to liberate Johore Baru journalists from the omnipresent fear of crime?

Can Hishammuddin wipe out the notoriety of Johore Baru as the capital of crime by the end of next year and ask the Cabinet to expand the National Key Result Areas (NKRA) for fighting crime by end-2010 to include wiping out the notoriety of Johore Bahru as the capital of crime in Malaysia?

Hishammuddin’s record and legacy as a Home Minister will depend on his ability to declare war on crime and to roll the tide of crime in the past five years rather than establishing a dubious record of declaring war on defenceless peaceful patriotic Malaysians who exercise their human rights to free expression and assembly to demand the abolition of draconian laws like the Internal Security Act.

1. #1 by taiking on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 4:46 pm

Didnt lee kuan yew comment years ago that jb is a cowboy town full of rapists, carjackers and kidnappers. Will all those umno ministers and umnoputras, mca and gerakan people who protested so strongly against that statement pls stand out now so that lee kuan yew and the whole of singapore can now laugh at you lot only and not at malaysia as a whole. For the sake of our foreign image pls do so. Losing your face is a small price to pay for protecting the image and good name of malaysia.

2. #2 by jbozz on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 4:57 pm

That’s one of JB attraction on weekend many Singaporean flocked the lawless state and enjoy nightlife. It’s the new Shanghai shore, where syndicate fight for territory & fortune from gambling den to prostitution den. The vice activity is cheaper in JB compare to the republic. Do we still have foreigner image when DSAI black eye case was filed?

3. #3 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:00 pm

How Krismudin is going to fight crime when he is only using a kris to do so, but using water cannons and tear gas with 5000 FRU etc against peaceful protesters!!! Which one is more important??? the one that causes harms to Rakyat or the one that causes no harms to anyone except those who hide behind ISA!!!

4. #4 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:04 pm

“Can Hishammuddin wipe out the endemic crime in Johore Baru’s Fleet Street (Jalan Maju) within a month and wipe out JB’s notoriety as the capital of crime by end-2010 in an expanded NKRAs in fighting crime?”

Well, give him 10 more years and like Abdullah Badawi, Whenever I think of him, I always wonder how his father would feel if he had seen his son waving that keris. I think he would have died on the spot.

5. #5 by MGR1940 on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:06 pm

It’s not only Jalan Maju, what about Jalan Wong Ah Fook,Jalan Meldrom which is so famous for crimes,drug addicts,Call girls,pimps which is just 300 meters away from Hishammuddin,s righthand man Musa’s JB police station is located. Nothing has been done for the past 10 years because the police are part of it.

6. #6 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:06 pm

Awww, don’t know how to use the HTML tag!

Well, give him 10 more years and like Abdullah Badawi, he would still say that he need more time. Whenever I think of him, I always wonder how his father would feel if he had seen his son waving that keris. I think Bapa Perpaduan would have died on the spot to see Anak Perpecahan.

7. #7 by sheriff singh on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:06 pm

I say. You are all very late lah.

Harry Lee of the “Little Red Dot” near the equator said 25 YEARS ago that JB is the capital of crime, car-jacking and the like. And Dr M blew his top and has a grudge since then.

Looks like nothing has changed even after the increased number of policemen sent there some years ago together with new police stations etc. In fact, things just got, worse, worse, worse.

And what about the JB MP that Shahrir fellow? What is he doing? Why is he so silent as if he is condoning the crimes. Why keep electing him, for what?

For a State Capital to be branded a “Crime Capital” is indeed a great dishonour. What more in the International Iskandar Development Zone. We must have attracted international criminals (as well) who have come to work there without need for work permits. But why should Hisham care? What’s his incentive? After all his cousin is in charge.

8. #8 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:09 pm

“The server is under considerable load, therefore the switched to a simpler theme so that the blog is more responsive. The regular theme will be back soon.”

Keep things simple is the best of my advice. We don’t need too much sophistication. To me, the earlier simple layout was better. This is a hot site and we are all attracted here not because of the layout but because of LKS.

9. #9 by Taxidriver on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:30 pm

Johore Bahru-a city of criminals, corrupt law- enforcers and sleepy MPs and state assemblymen.

10. #10 by donplaypuks on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 6:23 pm

YB

My apologies for digressing. But this is important.

Several bloggers, MSM and commenters have been wildly spinning and accusing that Gobind Singh and WW’s lawyer advised their clients NOT to provide DNA samples and that the only reason they later complied was because of a Court Order or would have been ordered by a Court.

Let me set the facts straight.

The DNA (2008) Bill was passed in Parliament on 23 June 2009. It does NOT become LAW until passed by the Senate, receives the Royal Assent by the King AND is published in the official Govt Gazette. It becomes LAW the day after it is Gazetted. Whether the DNA Bill has retrospective effect depends on whether it is so Gazetted.

At the moment, the DNA Bill has NOT been Gazetted and so it is NOT LAW in Malaysia yet.

So, no Court, Judge, Magistrate or Coroner in Malaysia could have issued a Court order to Tan Boon Wah or Wye Wing, to compel them to provide DNA samples.

The Police requested late on Tuesday 28/07/09 that TBW and WW provide their DNA samples on Wednesday 29/07/09. Gobind and WW’s lawyer, after failing to re-connect with the Police, advised their clients NOT to go to the Police on Wed to provide DNA samples as they had also been SUMMONED as a witnesses for the Inquest on TBH’s death.

So, to stop exactly at saying that Gobind and WW’s lawyer advised their clients not to provide DNA samples, period, is highly misleading, scurrilous and a deliberate slant on th efacts. Gobind and WW’s lawyer CORRECTLY advised that they nor their clients could go the Police on Wednesday because by LAW they were required to be at the Inquiry, and that took precedence.

On the same evening Gobind and WW’s lawyers reiterated at a press conference televised on NTV1 and RTM 1 that their clients would provide their DNA samples as soon as practicable, which they have done now.

So, simple questions.

Does this look like 2 persons guilty of murder as suggested by many scurrilours bloggers and commenters? They gave their DNA samples voluntarily within a reasonable time period (2 days)of being requested to by the Police to do so. There was NO COURT ORDER! There could not have been!!

If they were guilty, do you think they would be hanging around for the Inquiry. WW actually returned from China (check Jebatmusdie’s blog) and then complied with the Police request for DNA. Would a guilty person do that or would he have stayed abroad?

The are the facts as I know it. I stand to be corrected by facts, not wild spinning and distortion.

11. #11 by Callum on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 6:25 pm

I don’t think he can achieve anything in JB. While he was the Education Minister, he could not even make a decision on the english teaching for Maths/Science after so many years.

Next, if those Ministers canoot achieve the KRA or KPI

12. #12 by Callum on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 6:26 pm

I don’t think he can achieve anything in JB. While he was the Education Minister, he could not even make a decision on the english teaching for Maths/Science after so many years.

Next, if those Ministers canoot achieve the KRA or KPI, what is the action plan from the government ? No salary increment ? Service termination ? Does this rule of the games transparent to the public ??

13. #13 by SpeakUp on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 7:43 pm

In JB you can find bars that have Phillipino women who work in the bars are GRO, I am told they give you a REALLY good time! Anyways, they are working illegally because they are suppose to be contract workers for F&B but end up working as GROs. All this can be found widely in JB. Nice huh?

14. #14 by c730427 on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 7:47 pm

The following are my assumptions about Johor Bahru as the wildest sin city in Malaysia;

1. The highest number of pirated DVD per capita in Malaysia.
    2. The highest number of ‘Tempat Hiburan dan Urut Batin’.
    3. Highest concentration of karaoke lounges and night clubs
    4. High number of foreign female workers are working in the entertainment sector

Those who supporters who contribute to the the syndicate will have their business licenses secured and undisturbed. They also enjoy the protection from the PDRM where those who are not within the group will be hunted down. Through this way, the group enjoys monopoly status.

Why PDRM under IGP Musa is not interested to clean up Johor Bahru??

Cleaning up Johor Bahru means cutting off the lucrative income??

If you are true follower of the book, then please show me your worth!

15. #15 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 8:47 am

It is hard to wipe out crime syndicates in Malaysia as the police are linked to these syndicates.

16. #16 by jbozz on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 9:52 am

If you go to the bank in JB, you will see runner in short pant some look old, some look young, deposit bundled of notes, who are these people, they are the runner.

Tail each of them, then you know the faces of these runner, either drugs, personal loan, vice, protection fees

17. #17 by jbozz on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 9:55 am

Watch the movie “I CORRUPT, ALL COP” starring Eason Chan, there is a saying from the syndicate “Where got cat don’t eat fish”

18. #18 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 1:46 pm

yhsiew :
    It is hard to wipe out crime syndicates in Malaysia as the police are linked to these syndicates.

Hahahahahaaaa … how true!

19. #19 by MGR1940 on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 - 2:16 pm

In JB you can find bars that have Phillipino women who work in the bars are GRO, I am told they give you a REALLY good time!

There must be at least 2000 in the bars and another few hundred working on free lance at the Duty Free compex in JB.
    All it cost is RM40 to dig in your fingers anywhere in their private parts or annother RM40 to get a hand job.
    When the girls walk off when you are in the bar, it’s the pre arranged time for the corrupt police and other dept. to check the bars.
    Just look at police with their pay how lucrative living they have and free sex with these girls.
    Malaysia is planning to bring in 20,000 Phillipino maids which will make the police more happy.