I have come to Alor Gajah for the media conference by the family of Teoh Beng Huat who has just announced that they reject the Cabinet decision yesterday on the mysterious death of Teoh Beng Hock, who went to the MACC Hqrs as a healthy, vigorous and idealistic political worker but ended up as a corpse.
The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the Cabinet Ministers seem to be Malaysia’s David Copperfields, creating the illusion of a Royal Commission of Inquiry (RCI) in Teoh’s death when actually there is none.
Like Teoh’s family members, I had at first welcomed the Cabinet decision when there was at first news that it had decided on a RCI on Teoh’s death but when the details of the Cabinet decision became known, we were all dumb-founded, shocked and outraged.
What is the use having two inquiries, with an inquest into Teoh’s death but a Royal Commission of Inquiry strictly prevented from delving into the causes of Teoh death but only to probe into the MACC’s investigative techniques?
I support the Teoh family’s stand to reject the Cabinet decision as it does not represent what is wanted by the family and the people – a RCI into the causes of Teoh’s unusual death.
The Teoh family has called on Najib to respect their wishes and those of the Malaysian public for a comprehensive Royal Commission of Inquiry into Teoh’s death and to alter the Cabinet decision accordingly.
Najib has said that he wants “the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth” about the causes of Teoh’s death, and if he serious and sincere, let him accede to the wishes of the Teoh family to have a comprehensive RCI into Teoh’s death.
Najib said he would meet with the Teoh family after the outcome of the inquest into Teoh’s death and the Royal Commission of Inquiry. What is the use of meeting the Teoh family when the damage had been done.
Najib should meet with the Teoh family to hear their wishes for a comprehensive Royal Commission of Inquiry.
I will write to Najib conveying the Teoh family’s request for a meeting with Najib and I am prepared to accompany the Teoh family to a meeting with Najib.
(Media Conference Statement at Alor Gajah press conference on Thursday, 23rd July 2009 at 12.30 pm)

#1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 6:28 am
BTW, Muhyiddin says “AP won’t last forever”. Not very clever statement. Forever can mean another 50 years!
Typical barrage from a 7-year old, taught to ask smart questions:
“Why?”
“What is the rationale for continuing the AP?”
“When?”
“Who – who is benefitting from APs?”
“How – how are APs allocated?”
“Where – where can a 7-year old get some? I want to give my daddy some as a birthday present.”
#2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 6:35 am
Can Najib constitute an RCI to investigate MACC for corruption and conspiracy?
Think Najib should grab the bull by the horns or the balls, whichever hurts most. MACC is as recalcitrant a bull as any and needs to be castrated lest the bull sires more bull-ies.
#3 by chengho on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 7:03 am
uncle Kit
u should counsel the family not to instigate them…
#4 by Bigjoe on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 7:33 am
To be honest, this is going to turn out badly. I see another Ops Lalang happening very soon. UMNO/BN is bend on racialising this thing and then invoke ISA to put everyone into jail
But this time, Najib the intellectual peon will learn why he is a prodigal son because he will get it all wrong. He will see the people’s rage when he does it.
This is going to get very very bad. And its still going to be worth it…
#5 by taiking on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 8:53 am
Najib is a liar. And he better think 100 times before putting into motion any operation that resembles ops lalang or that may instigate the umno orchestrated may 13 incident. This is now 2009. People’s expectations are different. People’s outlook is different. People’s intelligence (although suppressed by umno’s (-)meritocracy system) is better. Umno is using its papers to fan the fire. They are doing so by relating every action and response by the people esp by the opposition to race.
#6 by SENGLANG on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 9:23 am
Former Law minister, Datuk Zaid Ibrahim has hit out at BN. What the people on street may not carry that much weight to BN and they may just laugh at what we have said so far. But they simply just can not ignore a man like Zaid Ibrahim who know exactly how BN works.
There is no point of just talk and this again another opportunity for reform. But. sad to say, the political will is too weak after so many years of siting in comfort abusing all the system available to them.
What Zaid said is a reflection of the general public feeling. What he said is not new but an affirmation on what the public perfection on another cover out.
The question is very simple in need. If and only if, you have nothing to hide, what then since you have agreed on RCI, WHY its that so difficult to insert another term of reference to determine the cause of Teoh’s dead ? But you ask a magistrate to do it under the inquest parameters?
That was simple question hanging over the heads of all concern Malaysian.
If and only if, as what MACC has said, they have nothing to cover, why then they did not insist on RCI to clear their names?
#7 by wesuffer on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 9:38 am
BN found themselve body with shit.
if MACC,BN believe teoh death is nothing to do with them. and even said he is suicide.
why najib so nice call his polical secretary to pay last respect to teoh and najib willing to meet teoh family after RCI investicated. in this country so many people were suicided and even rape and murder case. i never see najib BN show thier sympathy to these victim.
#8 by ktteokt on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 9:48 am
Najib celebrated his 56th birthday on 24/7/09 but it would appear that he has “wasted” 56 years of his life by refusing to the formation of a RCI to investigate the death of Beng Hock! This shows how wise our PM is! He is still in his INFANT stage!
#9 by House Victim on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 10:35 am
This is another “typical” case of “What Should Be” will not be!
“Logic” or “Rightfulness” are NOT in UNMO/BN’s Brains!
Is a Deer a Horse?
————————————
The Push for RCI is a logical and Rightful procedures even if NOT being asked as there is no Governing Body over MACC for investigating MACC!
The Differences of “What should be” and “Not to be Provided” when putting together will help People to see how “BIAS” or “Twisting” the UNMO/BN ruler and their cronies are Operating and Running this country as their “own pockets”.
NO Reasonable minded Malaysian will expect this Crony Government to be sincere to “Find” out the Truth as they already know the “Truth” which they understand they are the one in DEEP faults. Or, why said otherwise, when they have obligations to let the Truth be
investigated through ALL MEANS and NOT through the Means that they CAN & HAD MANIPULATED!!
Right in Front of Every Malaysian, NJ is playing “The King with his NEW CLOTHES”!!
============================
A RCI with the Right Panel, recommended by PK and the Right Scope of Investigating should be demanded. The more Twisted counter offer are going to be NJ’s “King with his NEW Clothes”!
=============================
SHAMES when every Literate person can put NO MORE Trust on the POLICE/AG and COURT. What can the Government wear to show the People?
#10 by dstme on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 10:48 am
Lim/DAP/All that visited this blog,
I totally appalled by the fact Malaysia has turn into this state of no return.
I voted DAP in last election and will vote for them again. The reasons are very clear as most of us complain about Umno, BN, MCA, MIC, gerakan, Najib, Badawi, Mahathir for everything they did to us. The way they treat rakyat is unbelievable!
Why then, they are still in power if most of us know they are crooks.
Reasons: There is no other leader that can fill the space if BN tumbled. For one, Anwar is far away from being a good and effective leader. He can’t even control his own party’s members, let alone Pakatan parties or the whole country. Look at the mess he created when he lauded for frog jumping. Although, some of his members are good sincere and doing excellent to Rakyat but most of his crews are all sitting on the fence waiting for someone to push them over. All have different personal goals. How can one allow them to govern the country. Yes, mind you it is to govern a country not party nor states.
2. DAP is great but do you think majority of Malay goes for a Chinese leader? Try not to compare M’sia and US. There is no way to compare these countries. M’sian mindset is still way behind. If DAP wants to lead, then the party needs to have more members from different ethic background, more groups that represent different ethics. Till now, most Malays still see DAP is chinese/indian party only. DAP needs to change strategies and structures so they can change how they are being viewed.
3. PAS on one hand is “we” as in general will not accept their leadership. They are TOO leftist or rightist (depending which way you look at). There are TOO many hidden agenda behind the party curtain. TOO many issues that general M’sia (Malay, Chinese, Indian…) will not able to accept. TOO many ideologies that will bring Malaysia to a standstill and TOO many ridiculous regulations/laws that will collapse the entire Malaysia economy.
Well, who else that can turn M’sia around?
We can complain all we want now but if we do not have a clear strategies how to handle the next elections, we as rakyat will continue to suffer.
Ummm, or shall we wait for a new 4th party that will sweep all parties as in “The Romance of Three Kingdom”?
I would strongly suggest Pakatan create a internal and external (open to public) elections to find out what rakyat wants and who will be the real, NEW suitable leader that can glue all parties together and be acceptable by all M’sian. I don’t know but maybe we can really find a great leader from the haystack.
Until then, god bless us all.
#11 by Cinapek on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 11:58 am
Najib, a young man in the prime of his life has been killed. His parents have lost a son. His fiance has lost a husband. His unborn child has lost a father. Please do not insult his memory with this charade. If you cannot do the decent thing to find out the truth (or want to find out the truth), please do not try to spin a story for his parents and make use of them to justify your sleight of hand. It is the lowest thing you can do.
As for Teoh’s parents, my suggestion is to snub him and refuse to see him if the RCI is not to investigate the truth of Teoh’s death. It is a waste of time. Do not give legitimacy to his manipulations. You owe this much to your son’s memory.
#12 by jbozz on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 12:50 pm
How many people has died and went missing went Najis took over as the PM?
Don’t forget Najis is from the military and it is better to kill wrongly than let go any chance.
The reason why they don’t want RCI to be involved in TBH death might be clear that it will tarnish the Police credibility, therefore let the police do their job to proof first.
No doubt police forces has bad image but why not give them a chance.
#13 by jayenjr on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 1:20 pm
Dear YB Lim
As you write the letter, may I suggest that you remind our good old PM that he must be willing to allocate time to see Teoh’s loved ones, since he had so much time for a bogus sodomy victim?
Thank you
#14 by sightseeing on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 1:45 pm
To the family of Teoh,
If and when you meet with Najib, focus on the demand to have a comprehensive RCI into Teoh’s death. Let Najib says whatever he wants but you must not digress or compromise from the demand of RCI into Teoh’s death.
#15 by somethingStirring on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 2:16 pm
Najib is a two faced hypocrite. that’s what he is.
someone should start a online petition to reject his 1malaysia crap.
Saw a MTV the other day promoting this crap where he and a bunch of people raising their forefingers. I’d raise a finger too but it’s going to be the middle finger.
#16 by negarawan on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 3:53 pm
NR is the biggest conman in the country now. There’s just too much BS coming from him since he took over. This RCI is another con job.
#17 by americangirl on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 4:49 pm
which m*ron’s dirty hands started this blog???
Truth for Teoh Beng Hock
http://www.t4tbh.blogspot.com
those so-called-evidences of DAP’s “corruption modus” can be done with anyone that has Microsoft Excel, a printer and a scanner!
YB Lim… please do not let these ppl crush DAP & PR!!!
#18 by Bobster on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 5:32 pm
When call up by the police to give statement, it is a standard procedure that after statement was taken, officer will ask us to read thru thoroughly prior to signing. Thereafter we are free to go.
MACC claimed they have released TBH at 345am but where was the document signed by TBH after statement taken?! If no signature mean TBH still in MACC custody and MACC is fully responsible for his safety.
Why his hp still with MACC after ‘being released’?! MACC needed more than 10 hrs to investigate hp records?!
Please dont think rakyat Malaysia are bunch of fools like MACC.
We shall not let Murders and Killers in the highest institutions escape just like that.
These creatures are worst than terrorists harassing and killing lives of innocent Malaysians.
Najib shall ensure thorough investigation of TBH death in MACC failure which we RAKYAT MALAYSIA shall ensure Najib and MACC go down with Beng Hock!
#19 by OrangRojak on Friday, 24 July 2009 - 9:56 pm
americangirl suggests Microsoft Excel
The file Exif data has been added by Picasa, but there’s also an empty ‘Photoshop 3.0′ 8BIM section visible in a hexdump. Perhaps someone with some Adobe products could confirm. I don’t use them.