Musa Hassan given 48 hours to announce that he will not seek another renewal of term as IGP or a parliamentary and civil society roundtable for a new IGP to create a safe Malaysia would be convened

I am giving Tan Sri Musa Hassan 48 hours to announce that he will not seek another renewal of term as Inspector-General of Police and will give way to a current serving police officer or a Parliamentary and Civil Society Roundtable for a new IGP to create a safe Malaysia will be convened.

The reasons why the country needs a new IGP would have the support not only of the Malaysian public at large, but also the majority of the police personnel, and would include the following:

• Failure of Musa in Key Performance Indicators (KPI) as IGP in the past three years, in all the three core police functions to keep crime low, eradicate corruption and protect human rights. In fact, it is no exaggeration to say that under Musa, Malaysians are even more unsafe from street crimes now than when he became IGP in September 5, 2006.
  • The re-appointment of Musa for another term of IGP cast an adverse aspersion on all the senior police officers, as if there is not a single one out of the eight top police officers occupying key police positions below the post of IGP who are qualified or competent enough to become the new IGP to provide a new police leadership and culture to roll back the tide of crime in the past five years.

I am going one step further, and am asking the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak to emulate his father, the second Prime Minister Tun Razak to appoint a new Inspector-General of Police still with four or five years of service brimming with ideas to plan out and implement police reforms instead of the current practice of appointing senior police officers left with one or two years’ service more interested about post-retirement arrangements.

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 2:22 pm

Not only a new IGP, but also a new untainted macc head

2. #2 by All For The Road on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 2:43 pm

Run a poll to know the results!

3. #3 by newchief on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:06 pm

uncle lim,u look at the mirror and ask this question and see if there’s a reply :D

though you mean well, musa will never leave becuase of his ‘special dealings’ with bn. if its other countries, not only him but macc head will step down voluntary because they should feel very ashame and be accountable for their down-fellowmen.

believe me that they won’t step down even they are paralysed!!!

the only thing uncle lim should worry now is to persuade anwar to nominate a ‘new leader’ to lead pk IN CASE anwar goes to jail which i think, based on malaysian jungle law, HE WILL !!! saiful will just get fined for sure and then disappear like bala who we now don’t know whether his whole family is alive or dead except rais yatim and musa hassan.

i fear there will be more internal qaurelling and even worst, all teams will spilt if this new leader is not nominated in time!! bn will laugh while we the rakyat will cry and suffer then. think about it uncle lim.

4. #4 by steamwasher on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:15 pm

Well, I do agree with newchief. Musa has been a great weapon for BN for the past 3 years. He has be a puppet for now, there will be no reason for him to step down besides he being catch red-handed. Imagine if Musa being catched red-handed, a new IGP assigned will it solve the problem? The answer is no. I will be new knife/keris for BN only.

5. #5 by ekompute on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:34 pm

Musa is not fit for the job. Do you think a below average guy who is not fit for a job will give up the chance of warming a cushy job, just because he is given 48 hours? Once given the opportunity to extend, he will grab it like clinging to a tree for dear life. Monkeys, after all, are monkeys.

6. #6 by vincent on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:58 pm

For god sake, this kind of human should be kick out a long time ago for failure to commit his responsibilities.

7. #7 by Joshua on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 7:44 pm

Whether Musa stays or not, a roundtable should be held to alert the people of the crimes in the last few years..

pw: flooded FRANKLIN

8. #8 by phat on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:23 am

(if its other countries, not only him but macc head will step down voluntary because they should feel very ashame and be accountable for their down-fellowmen.)

ofcourse they will..because they’re humans with hearts and feelings.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:46 am

The reappointment of Musa Hassan will inevitably damage BN performance in the 13th General Election.

In fact Musa Hassan was one of the factors which led to Tsunami 308.

A smart Najib should have a solution to the problem.

10. #10 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:51 am

“I am giving Tan Sri Musa Hassan 48 hours …” LKS

You’re embarrassing yourself here! What are going to do if he doesn’t?? If Malaysia is a true democracy, and if every Malaysian were to vote on the issue of fitness of this particular IGP for the job, it is likely he would lose it. But we are not.

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:17 am

According to the considered wisdom of LimKaput, “I am giving Tan Sri Musa Hassan 48 hours …” is a wrong strategy for the Oppsoition to take: the proper stance is: Tan Sri Musa Hassan should be given another 48 months of renewed contract. :)

12. #12 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:22 am

What?? If I have my way I’d have him booted out yesterday and not tomorrow. I don’t mean Musa.

13. #13 by House Victim on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:24 am

Even if Musa does not seek renewal, will any “New” IGP” does his job? The Police have been used to ignore Proper Procedures and Laws for over so many years, will they change just because they have a “New” IGP” appointed by the Rotten Government?

Especially the existing Laws have too many loopholes for the Police to bully. KUP and the AG should be the Departments regulating the Police. They are also BIAS, not regulating the Police. So, everything done will still be back to Square One.

The key question is: Will BN/Umno allow an IGP to work according to work as they should? Same for MACC?

WHO CAN BE THE RIGHT CANDIDATE? And, can be Independent even Ignoring the BIAS and Bully KUP and AG and …….?

14. #14 by donplaypuks on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:52 am

YB

God works in grand, mysterious and wonderful ways.

Teoh’s sad and untimely death, the PKFZ scandal, Altantuya case, Balkis and Selcat inquiries, the Police Commission and Judiciary RCI’s and numerous financial scandals all have given DAP, PKR and PAS enough ammunition to bring down any corrupt and racist regime.

You now have to sit back calmly and formulate a non-violent mass movement to achieve Pakatan’s objectives earlier or come GE 2013.

First on your list of priorities is to establish a Pakatan Secretariat so that all speak with 1 voice and disputes are resolved peacefully and quietly behind closed doors so as not to give UMNO/BN and their MSM any gifts. Don’t let Pakatan renegades shoot their mouths off publicly and blast all the allies in their feet!

Mend some bridges with loose cannons like Wee Choo Keong and to some extent Teresa Kok and the like. It’s obvious that UMNO and the MSM see in Teresa Kok a patsy target to get the natives going restless and are targetting her. Even though Wee had not named anyone, why did DAP members jump the gun and implicate Ronnie Lie publicly?

I have not a clue as to Romnie Liu and any connections he may have with any underground movements; but the UMNO MSM and bloggers have milked it for all it’s worth and shifted suspicion on Teoh’s death from possibly some rogue elements within MACC to Ronnie Liu. That’s unforgivably bad strategy on the part of DAp and Pakatan!

Please also hold back anyone the likes of Karpal Jr from making unsubstantiated or unprovable accusations in Parliament or State Assemblies or outside. That’s what they want so that they can suspend more Opposition MP’s and emasculate the movement against them. There was also no necessity for the Selangor Speaker to brag about Toyo’s suspension last night. It’s like holding a red rah to a bull and inviting retaliation elsewhere! And they do have many trump cards in their hands. So why taunt Goliath?

All Pakatan MP’s, Aduns, Councillors and Reps must take a Ghandhian approach and not be allowed to be provoked into any precipitate or rash actions that will provide more opportunities to BN to trip Pakatan up.

I think LGE and Ramasamy could have handled the High Chapparal incident in Penang better instead of publicly showing their irritation and lashing out at the previous Administration. The Indians in Malaysia already told the whole nation in Nov 2007 and GE 2008 that they will not vote for MIC or PPP anymore. So, why attempt to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory?

It needs cool heads & minds and extremely good PR to handle these provocations. And that’s why Pakatan needs a Secretariat led by a person of considerable experience in the art of leading, governing and political strategies.

I trust you will reflect on the foregoing and act with more haste, but less speed. Please talk to the leaders of DAP, PKR and PAS for a united, well-formulated strategy to take back Perak and form the next Govt. for a millennium to come.

Do not provoke MACC and the Police anymore on Teoh’s death. Take a breather for a few days. Give it some time to see what explanations they come up with. Then you will know what the next step should be.

You don’t want to lend credence to the agent provocateurs’ misinformation and misdirection that this is a Malay – Chinese clash. It never was nor must you allow the UMNO MSM and bloggers to spin and hang it around Pakatan’s, and especially, DAP’s neck!!

I think this is also the time to go for a membership drive and really go for an all races approach. DAP still suffers from the image that is a one-race party! Don’t believe it? Go take a poll amomng the nation’s Malays and you will realisethe truth,

Thank you.

dpp

15. #15 by jsaiban on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 2:41 am

This guys are like “Lalang” you can only trim away but the roots remain.

Tranparency is the way beat them. For any event held, publish how the budget being allocated / Open tender where public can have access. I am sure this is something they can’t you ……… not even in 12 million years!!!

Set up a board and rate the “performace” level of these efficient officers, especially the one say “Tangkap, tangkap” with no reason being said. The guy next to him was like,, errr under what charge??

16. #16 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 3:06 am

Wise words from Donplaypuks.

17. #17 by anna brella on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 3:14 am

IMO:

Due to the level of internal rot from corruption and patronage politics together with the damaging/dysfunctional focus on ketuanan/race shite plus the low morale and real potential for internal guerrilla warfare resistance/sabotage tactics against ANY change initiatives that may be introduced, you need to hire a right someone with the right credentials from almost certainly outside of Malaysia and put them in charge of both forces as a Joint Commander of both organisations.

Give that Joint Commander person the remit to turn-around the two organisations within three years, give them carte blanche to get the job done and then get out of their way, with only six monthly reviews to ensure the job is on track.

You then might have the possibility of getting a professional PDRM and MACC at the end of that three-year period.

Doing it any other way will only be fooling yourselves and a futile, nonsensical exercise because any home-grown Malaysian accepting that role will be forced to focus on all the wrong issues and so will be set up to fail from day one.

“Imagine Power To The People” John Lennon.

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 4:34 am

I too agree that a roundtable is good even with a NEW IGP for there is really still so much to do.
    I thought the Home Minister promised to work out the remaining items of the IPCMC?
    No wonder so few trust the police probe into Teoh’s sudden death.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/07/malaysiakini-not-surprised-at-publics.html

19. #19 by mother of three on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 7:44 am

Safe Malaysia my foot.The crime is everywhere and we’re damn worried to go out of the house.Even staying in the house is not safe.My personal experience,yesterday we parked our new Myvi infront the house and two rempit bastards break the mirror with helmet and took away laptop and digital camera.We made police report but are we going to see any result?The answer is a big “NO”.Daily we hear similar incidents in surrounding area.The cops can’t even deal this rempit bastards and what can we expect for other crimes.My heart still pains as we lost most of important datas and confidential files in the laptop.

20. #20 by mother of three on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 8:00 am

When we made the police report, they advised us not to park the car outside the house and not to keep valuable things inside the car.Maybe they’re right but what kind of country is this if you can’t even park the car outside your own house. The best part is when the rempits hit the car mirror my husband was at upstairs balcony shouting at them but they ignored him.I ran out and shouted at them near the gate,they ignored me also and continue to hit and pull the laptop bag.I’m really suprise that they’re not scared of anyone.This is because the cops reluctant to punish this boys.The reason given,they’re still schooling and they’re malay boys.One day if I manage to get these boys,I’ll punish them first.

21. #21 by k1980 on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 9:48 am

This is not because the cops are reluctant to punish these “boys”. These boys are the cops’ sons! Probably have their dads’ pistols to commit crimes

22. #22 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:37 am

The BN’s more than half century 52 years rotten system needs to be changed before we talk about justice as crooks are promoted to run the show and to keep the show going!!!
    It is better to start with a clean slab and build it up rather than to find a few good guys among the rotten!!! First thing first, truly competent people with integrity must be placed in all the ministries and agencies, Musa Hassan which had been proven incompetent in fighting crimes should have been sacked long ago instead of being promoted and prolong as IGP !!! Things that need to be done should have already been done by now to bring down the crime rates etc!!! No more excuses by Musa Hassan!!! He should feel shamful for not been able to perform rather than continue to stay put!!!

23. #23 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:42 am

Musa Hassan did the things right in the eyes of his boss in killing off all the political opponents rather than doing the right things for the good of the Rakyat in fighting crimes!!! Got it!!!
    It is not MACC but MABB (Malaysia Boleh Bunuh)

24. #24 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:53 am

No one is indispensable – Dont tell me that there’s no one else qualified to be IGP in Malaysia other than Musa Hassan??? May be those who are qualified dont want to be the tools to be used by the one who always like to use kris to show his power!!!

25. #25 by Cinapek on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:53 am

I hate to be a pessimist but appointing a IGP from the present serving officers is “getting out of the frying pan and into the fire”. The new man is from the same rotten organization and it will be a miracle that he will think any differently. Furthermore, he is appointed on the recommendations of the PM and it is not rocket science to deduce where his allegiance and loyalty lies. It will be a very special man who will dare to be his own man and do what is right. Even even he does, can he last? First thing you know, MACC or any other tools of the BN Govt will be used to frame and finish him off. Unless the system of appointment is changed such as a transparent appointment approved by Parliament will there be some hope of improvements.

The root cause of all this is the BN Govt. and the police state they perpetuate. Any decent person who stays in the system eventually has two choices. Become the depraved, corrupt and evil servant doing the bidding of an even more depraved, corrupt and evil boss or get out. One can clearly see this depravity spreading across the entire Govt. machinery and supposedly “independent” instutions and the mass media.

26. #26 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:55 am

I got gastric after reading many negatives news about the state that our beloved Malaysia is in!!! Time to take five!!!

27. #27 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:05 am

When the Master is not so clean, they dont like to have those who are very clean to be near them, least they will be a hugh contrast or felt threaten!!! Who knows the clean guy could be a whistle blower!!! Bottomline is the Master must lead the way!!! Not the wrong way but the right way!!! Actual and not seen to be right!!!

28. #28 by negarawan on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:07 am

I don’t understand the point of getting a new IGP? As long as UMNO is in power, you can be rest assured that whoever is chosen as the IGP, or for that matter any position in our institutions, will be to their advantage so that UMNO can continue to rape and plunder the country. Whether it is the current or new IGP, it won’t make any difference. The key thing is to boot out UMNO. Period

29. #29 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:19 pm

“As long as UMNO is in power, you can be rest assured that whoever is chosen as the IGP, or for that matter any position in our institutions, will be to their advantage so that UMNO can continue to rape and plunder the country.” (negarawan)

I disagree with this statement of negarawan. An old IGP who is about to retire will have to please the Prime Minister because he wants to seek patronage of the PM for approving to the IGP’s retirement plan. A young IGP who still has many years to go for serving in the position as the IGP will only have to serve the Yang Dipertuan Agong and the Rakyat diligently and dutifully, without fear or favour and without treats or tricks!

30. #30 by frankyapp on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:52 pm

Look guys,there are pros and cons for NR to keep the bad guys with him. As long as these bad guys like Nazri,IGP,MACC chief and JC etc are around,the malaysian voters will remember that Umno/Bn is a bad choice and hence will vote for PR. SpeakUp always reminds me that malaysians easily forget and I think he may have a good point here.Our target is to help PR to win,hence our strategy is a kind like hopping NR continues to keep all these and other badies around him to keeping reminding the voters to vote the badies out during the next general election.This is quite similar to the chinese saying “do not wake him up to urinate”. On the other hand,if we continue to tell or advise NR to do this and that and should he acted accordingly to our wishes,then the forgetful voters will come around and say oh he a good guy,lets vote for him and BN. If you want the nail to rod,never grease it.

31. #31 by taiking on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 2:23 pm

I am with frankyapp on his last entry. Yeah. Let them keep all the wrong guys so that they can continue to score all those own goals.

32. #32 by limkamput on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 2:29 pm

//What?? If I have my way I’d have him booted out yesterday and not tomorrow. I don’t mean Musa.//woooooof

sorry i don’t get it, you mean who? undergrad2? tomdumb? jonnypok? or woof?

33. #33 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 4:28 pm

Ah Long is more competent than Musa Hassan!!! Ah Long is able to recover what they had loan out, but Musa Hassan is not able to capture all the wrong doers or to reduce crime rates. No wonder all the arrogant Ah Longs are carrying out their recovering operations so open & blantantly. Not only Ah Long is more competent than Musa Hassan, but others like snatch thief, illegal DVD sellers, illegal 4 digits, illegal workers etc etc. are a lot more competent than him. May be one of them should be asked to help to carry out national service by being appointed the IGP instead of Musa Hassan!!!